View Full Version : Barstool facepalm

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

06/09/2011, 11:10 AM
I think maybe we need to do a 'Dealing With Barstoolers' article.

06/09/2011, 8:53 PM
Never heard LOI fans singing in English accents.
What English regional accent is most commonly used out of interest?

I find it tends to go by the club it's lifted from. 'United' chants have that distinctive sound of Old Trafford for example.

poster
06/09/2011, 9:18 PM
Never heard LOI fans singing in English accents.

I have..alot.

monsexile
07/09/2011, 3:09 PM
Think it is still perfectly possible and reasonable for fans in Ireland to support their local LOI team and the British team they may have grown up supporting.

bluemovie
07/09/2011, 3:44 PM
My take on it is that there's a MASSIVE difference between being a 'fan' and a 'supporter'. For all my moaning about barstoolers, I've been a Liverpool fan to some degree since childhood. I don't kid myself thinking I matter to LFC in the greater scheme of things, I don't contribute financially and Kenny Dalglish doesn't know I exist. I support Waterford United in every sense of the word - spend as much money as I can on them, spend WAY too many of my waking hours thinking about the club and do everything I can to help them and, in return, I have my own place at the club. Oh, and I go to all their games.

I'm a fan of Liverpool, not a supporter. I'm also a fan of Sour Cream and onion crisps, Jameson whiskey and the smell of fresh cut grass.

gormacha
07/09/2011, 9:18 PM
Think it is still perfectly possible and reasonable for fans in Ireland to support their local LOI team and the British team they may have grown up supporting.

I agree. Trouble is (stating the bleedin obvious here), most people skip the supporting their local LOI club bit, and go straight to the supporting an English club bit.

07/09/2011, 9:28 PM
That's the problem. Support all who you want. Be a fan of who you want. Just don't belittle the LOI with absoltely no basis whatsoever.

07/09/2011, 10:54 PM
:bulgy::sick:

IRISH FOOTBALL fans spent approximately €145 million last year visiting Premier League

Irish spend €145m on visits to Premier League

RONAN McGREEVY

IRISH FOOTBALL fans spent approximately €145 million last year visiting Premier League grounds and made 164,000 visits, with an average spend of £776 (€884.64) each, according to VisitBritain, the UK’s state tourism agency.

The Irish accounted for one-in-five football fans who visited a Premier League ground from overseas last year. Though the Irish are by far the most popular visitors to Premier League grounds, a similar survey in 2008 found 267,000 Irish fans attended a match in the UK, so the numbers travelling (down almost 40 per cent) have clearly been hit by the recession.

In that year 400,000 Irish people visited a sporting event in the UK, which may be accounted for by the huge influx to Cheltenham and other race meetings every year.

The Premier League is arguably the most popular football league in the world and is beamed into 212 different territories with an audience reach of nearly four billion people.

Last year 750,000 overseas fans attended a Premier League ground. That was worth €678 million a year to the British economy. After Ireland, Norway (77,000), the US (56,000), the Netherlands (41,000) and Germany (39,000) provided the greatest number of visitors.

Unsurprisingly, Old Trafford, the home of Manchester United, was the most popular venue – attracting 114,000 visitors. This was followed by Anfield, the home of Liverpool, which attracted 89,000 visitors; Arsenal’s Emirates Stadium (88,000), Chelsea’s Stamford Bridge (54,000), and Tottenhams White Hart Lane (38,000).

Surprisingly, Celtic’s ground, Celtic Park, which is a huge draw for Irish fans, did not figure in the top 10 grounds.

Patricia Yates, the director of strategy and communication at VisitBritain, said the results showed the impact of a partnership between itself and the Premier League going back to 2008 with many footballers extolling the virtues of the country on the VisitBritain website.

“It has given us access to some of the stars of the British game who have promoted Britain to their fans back home – and encouraged them to come and visit,” she said.

08/09/2011, 12:29 PM
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056369298

08/09/2011, 12:34 PM
Where's Jean Luc when you need him...

Straightstory
08/09/2011, 12:36 PM
My take on it is that there's a MASSIVE difference between being a 'fan' and a 'supporter'. For all my moaning about barstoolers, I've been a Liverpool fan to some degree since childhood. I don't kid myself thinking I matter to LFC in the greater scheme of things, I don't contribute financially and Kenny Dalglish doesn't know I exist. I support Waterford United in every sense of the word - spend as much money as I can on them, spend WAY too many of my waking hours thinking about the club and do everything I can to help them and, in return, I have my own place at the club. Oh, and I go to all their games.

I'm a fan of Liverpool, not a supporter. I'm also a fan of Sour Cream and onion crisps, Jameson whiskey and the smell of fresh cut grass.

Excellent. Sums it all up perfectly.

freewheel30
08/09/2011, 1:34 PM

You gotta give REALFan a bit of credit on that thread, he definitely had his Weetabix that morning.

TiocfaidhArmani
08/09/2011, 1:42 PM
There is some fair point on that thread for both sides of the argument in fairness.

08/09/2011, 1:46 PM
You gotta give REALFan a bit of credit on that thread, he definitely had his Weetabix that morning.

But he's set the anti-Barstool brigade back 20mins with his mental ramblings!

Guinney
08/09/2011, 4:39 PM

The thread title should be renamed 'Rovers away, at Home in Ireland'.

bullit
08/09/2011, 4:52 PM
As they like to say over on boards tl;dr

:cool:

08/09/2011, 8:52 PM
Where's Jean Luc when you need him...
http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2010/4/23/129164952429291808.jpg

Jinxy
09/09/2011, 12:21 AM

I usually combine all three at the end of a typical night out.

bullit
09/09/2011, 12:25 AM
You cut your grass on a night out ?? I cant find one of these grinders since the demise of the headshops ;)

27/09/2011, 3:17 PM
Barry Glendenning really is an insufferable prat. After assuring his colleagues on the Guardian Football Podcast that he was a Shamrock Rovers fans and therefore best qualified to talk about their game at Spurs this week, he then goes on to forget exactly who they played in the first league stage on the EL, one of the biggest games in his club's history, before having a wild stab at Dynamo Kiev. It annoys me every week to hear him talk about 'we' and 'us' in relation to English football on the show, but you'd think in this of all weeks, he'd be shamed into doing even a little bit of research.

PartySaint
27/09/2011, 3:34 PM
He is a clown, A bit like Dunphy on RTE he isn't really there to talk about football, They just keep him to make stupid comments that everyone has a laugh at before the people who actually know what they are talking about start actually talking about football

Big Sunderland 'fan':rolleyes:

27/09/2011, 3:51 PM
Glendenning used to write for Hot Press, which pretty much says it all for me.

27/09/2011, 3:51 PM
If you've ever seen it, it reminded me of that scene in The Office Christmas Special when Gareth asks Brent if he's travelled:

"Traveller?"
"All the time"
"What? When?"
"Oh pfft, *little DB laugh*, I'm always out there on the road, travelling"

The face, and the voice and the noise he makes all remind me of Glendenning.

Mr Maroon
28/09/2011, 10:00 AM
An Irish Chelsea fan.

If Chelsea do move site and build a new stadium I'm sure the tickets prices would rocket up, aren't we already one of the most expensive teams to go see? I can't imagine the fans that are season ticket holders and regulars at the bridge would be too happy about that.

28/09/2011, 11:27 AM
Chelsea can't move.

Google the Chelsea Trust.

As a Chelsea fan he knew that of course.

28/09/2011, 1:43 PM
Barry Glendenning really is an insufferable prat. After assuring his colleagues on the Guardian Football Podcast that he was a Shamrock Rovers fans and therefore best qualified to talk about their game at Spurs this week, he then goes on to forget exactly who they played in the first league stage on the EL, one of the biggest games in his club's history, before having a wild stab at Dynamo Kiev. It annoys me every week to hear him talk about 'we' and 'us' in relation to English football on the show, but you'd think in this of all weeks, he'd be shamed into doing even a little bit of research.
I'm surprised they didn't get their pal Ken Early on as their expert.

cornflakes
28/09/2011, 2:06 PM
I'm surprised they didn't get their pal Ken Early on as their expert.

Newstalk have live coverage of the game tomorrow. It would be cringe worthy having to listen to Ken for the whole game, nearly worse than Pat Dolan on TV3

28/09/2011, 2:11 PM
To be fair to Early, he hasn't jumped on the bandwagon like Glendenning and others. He's just not interested in domestic football.

Mr Maroon
29/09/2011, 3:57 PM
Two Irish people talking about Carlos Tevez.

One says: "He's been here [England?!] for years now and still doesn't speak a word of English."

29/09/2011, 4:54 PM
Do you need to hide out Mr Maroon, I mean, after the inevitable murder you have just committed?

gormacha
29/09/2011, 10:28 PM
Glendenning

He seems to be trading on a very small amount of talent.

I wish they'd take him off the FW podcast. He seems pretty much uninterested in football, and revels in his own near total ignorance. It gets very wearing after a while. After you've heard "I don't like Italian football" a few times, it stops being funny.

I still think he has a thing for James Richardson, and we may never really know what went on in that apartment during the 2008 Euros.

Phillip Auclair rules.

freewheel30
30/09/2011, 12:20 AM
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74666949&postcount=105

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74667220&postcount=112

bluemovie
30/09/2011, 3:18 PM
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74666949&postcount=105

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=74667220&postcount=112

Should be deported.

18/11/2011, 9:15 PM
Lad on take it like a fan on sky sports there. In his Ireland Jersey kissing the crest and covered head to toe in Man City tattoos. Has a massive tattoo on his back for Ricky Hatton and Man City and it says England on it. He is is asked whats the story with England written on his back and he says "I was stitched up by a mate that was doing the tattoo" he put down England instead of Ireland. Is it really much of a stitch up that a guy who has an English team tattooed all over his body gets England tattooed accidentally on his body. Taking supporting an english team to a whole new level. The guy was from Dublin by the way. I'm not trying to really criticise the guy because I don't care who he supports but it was likely a walking contradiction.

The guy after him though was in his Shams jersey and said he will spend his winnings on a season ticket to the Irish Champions Shamrock Rovers.

Guinney
19/11/2011, 1:02 PM
He must know this guy so

http://www.whoateallthepies.tv/man_utd/49864/wayne-rooney-tattoo-fail-dumb-man-city-fan-blows-500-on-rooney-ink.html/attachment/wayne-rooney-man-city-fan-tattooo

Hairy Bowsie
19/11/2011, 1:17 PM
Lad on take it like a fan on sky sports there. In his Ireland Jersey kissing the crest and covered head to toe in Man City tattoos. Has a massive tattoo on his back for Ricky Hatton and Man City and it says England on it. He is is asked whats the story with England written on his back and he says "I was stitched up by a mate that was doing the tattoo" he put down England instead of Ireland. Is it really much of a stitch up that a guy who has an English team tattooed all over his body gets England tattooed accidentally on his body. Taking supporting an english team to a whole new level. The guy was from Dublin by the way. I'm not trying to really criticise the guy because I don't care who he supports but it was likely a walking contradiction.

The guy after him though was in his Shams jersey and said he will spend his winnings on a season ticket to the Irish Champions Shamrock Rovers.

You'd want to get your ears syringed if you think that was a Dublin accent

sorbothegreek
24/11/2011, 9:00 AM

I'm fairly sure that guy is the current manager of Mullingar Town FC..

24/11/2011, 12:38 PM
I'm fairly sure that guy is the current manager of Mullingar Town FC..

yeah ur right, G Hynes, dont know much about him

gormacha
13/01/2012, 11:39 AM
Just the ticket. It's just like being there.

http://thescore.thejournal.ie/the-future-of-football-on-tv-move-the-cameras-yourself-327105-Jan2012/?utm_source=shortlink

13/01/2012, 11:42 AM
Wrong. It's better than being there.

13/01/2012, 4:53 PM
New technology will allow TV viewers to watch matches as though they’re at the ground themselves

LOL..

25/03/2012, 4:23 PM
Dunno if this is barstooler related, but that Carlsberg EURO2012 ad makes my skin crawl..

25/03/2012, 7:17 PM
Yeah. Every time they ask what would you do to attend Euro 2012? I can't help thinking "book flights, time off, accommodation, secure tickets and make it happen". It's not feckin rocket science.

25/03/2012, 9:34 PM
Anyone looking forward to Euro 2012 in Poland?

Apparently around 200,000 polish will be flying in to see it.

27/04/2012, 9:59 PM
The cheer Steven Gerrard just got on the late late show would rival the appearance of Jesus himself. For shame.

marinobohs
30/04/2012, 11:18 AM
The cheer Steven Gerrard just got on the late late show would rival the appearance of Jesus himself. For shame.

......but sure we are such a football loving country (as long as its someone elses football)

peadar1987
01/05/2012, 6:41 AM
And facebook is alive with people this morning who have decided that "they" were robbed my Man City. It's impressive that City managed to find the time to come over to Ireland and rob a load of people who have never set foot in England, on the same night they were beating Man U to put themselves in pole position for the league title!

02/05/2012, 8:19 AM
And facebook is alive with people this morning who have decided that "they" were robbed my Man City. It's impressive that City managed to find the time to come over to Ireland and rob a load of people who have never set foot in England, on the same night they were beating Man U to put themselves in pole position for the league title!

United robbed? Ha. I bet these clowns were watching the game on SSN!

Was talking to United fan yesterday (replete with his United ring) and he reckons Fergie should go.
I mean... come on!!!

harpin
02/05/2012, 10:08 AM
United robbed? Ha. I bet these clowns were watching the game on SSN!

Was talking to United fan yesterday (replete with his United ring) and he reckons Fergie should go.
I mean... come on!!!

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m0jz3novys1r8ffrs.jpg

02/05/2012, 10:56 AM
It says it all when you HAVE to facepalm in the facepalm thread.