View Full Version : Barstool facepalm

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24

12/08/2013, 1:24 PM
Yeah highlighted that paragraph because I think it's the worst part of the article. There seems to be a growing perception that the League of Ireland is a closed off little secret society and new faces are shunned and it couldn't be further from the truth. Although maybe Social media etc. where harcore fans are venting their frustration are actually having a negative impact in putting the idea out there that those with a more passing interest are not welcome?
Perception or an excuse? People have to justify dismissing the LoI, so when all else fails blame the people that do bother their holes to go to games. If they don't want to go, don't go - it's their loss - it's the coming up with absolutely pathertic reasons that really bugs the crap out of me. The media run this rubbish as it helps them to justify ignoring the league too.

We're supposed to believe that someone won't got to a LoI game as they might get slagged for being a part timer or johnny come lately, but will pay €100's to go once a season to somewhere like Old Trafford, where they're despised by all but the money men. And it's the LoI fans with the problem?

ger121
12/08/2013, 1:30 PM
What brought you there in the first place?

My sister is a big Liverpool fan so I go over to a few games with her each year and she'd come to Dalymount with me. She has a bad back injury so didn't make it over last season, so this was the next best thing... To be honest she was cringing too at the match. I've no problem with people supporting foreign teams, I'd be fond of the Pool myself, I just think it's sad that a lot of these fans don't/won't give the league a chance:-/

12/08/2013, 1:38 PM
Delighted to get as many fans in the gate as possible. The only annoying thing I have found is found this new phenomenon of people booing the team off if we lose or play poor. In all the years and rubbish we were served up in the first I can never remember the team being booed off. There has always been a few disgruntled groans heading out of the ground as you'd expect but never actual booing. It's definitely come hand in hand with the never supporters that expect top football all the time and to win all the time.

I saw someone giving out the other day that a tenner can be better spent on a few cans than watching the ****e LOI throws up. That the standard is rubbish and will never be good. Where they think the money will come from the bring up the standard I'll never know.

12/08/2013, 1:41 PM
Delighted to get as many fans in the gate as possible. The only annoying thing I have found is found this new phenomenon of people booing the team off if we lose or play poor. In all the years and rubbish we were served up in the first I can never remember the team being booed off. There has always been a few disgruntled groans heading out of the ground as you'd expect but never actual booing. It's definitely come hand in hand with the never supporters that expect top football all the time and to win all the time.
Careful now, you'll drive all those newer supporters away with that kind of abusive talk. They just want to enjoy the game, they don't need rabid LOI fans like you giving them dogs just because they're booing the team.

12/08/2013, 1:47 PM
Careful now, you'll drive all those newer supporters away with that kind of abusive talk. They just want to enjoy the game, they don't need rabid LOI fans like you giving them dogs just because they're booing the team.

To be fair to these intrepid newcomers we're currently bottom of the top half of the table in our first season back in the top tier in almost two decades. Massive underachievement clearly.

What irritates me a little, unreasonably if I'm to be honest, is the element of new support who feel to need to make up for their newness with a show of bravado and bluster designed to give the impression that they care at least as the much as the handful of saddos (myself included) who trudged up to watch us getting hammered that second year in Pike Field (a true nadir). Nobody actually cares, after where we were in the very recent past I'm utterly delighted to see people coming out to watch the team and I think any of the pre-existing support is the same.

12/08/2013, 1:47 PM
What nonsense. When Rovers moved to Tallaght, 2,000 new fans turned up out of nowhere and nobody batted an eyelid. Limerick fans seem to have absorbed their 1,000 extra weekly atttendees without taking their ball and going to Pike Rovers.

This is the same trite crap that's trotted out every time there's a big barstooler occasion in Ireland. "League of Ireland fans think X whereas EPL fans think Y, but in fact the answer is somewhere in the middle blah blah blah." Give that man a ****ing PhD.
I was right. Aidan O'Hara did write the exact same article two years ago: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/plastic-fans-should-be-wooed-not-slated-26672367.html

He even opens with the same ****e about x,000 number of people going to a gig.

12/08/2013, 2:13 PM
I was right. Aidan O'Hara did write the exact same article two years ago: http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/plastic-fans-should-be-wooed-not-slated-26672367.html

I just found it there. Knew it sounded familiar.

Of all the the things to blame for LOI crowds being ****e, the people who actually go to the games is easily the worst.

Eminence Grise
12/08/2013, 2:19 PM
Oh, the iron knee of it all! Hack plagiarises himself.

Ezeikial
12/08/2013, 2:38 PM
Season ticket holders at The Showgrounds do not have a reserved seat. First up, best dressed.

Obviously other grounds may not work the same way - In Oriel Park season ticket purchasers have a choice to buy a reserved stand seat by paying a premium or to opt for an unreserved seat at the normal price.

Its a non-issue for visiting supporters who enter through the designated away section.

For those who enter through the home entrances it is possible to mistakenly sit in a reserved seat - although they are marked with the season ticket holders name.

DannyInvincible
12/08/2013, 2:52 PM
People have to justify dismissing the LoI...

Do they though? To whom do they have to justify their lack of interest? There are an infinite number of things in the world in which I take absolutely no interest; I surely don't have to justify my lack of interest in them to anyone else.

Maybe some people will feel they need to justify their lack of interest out of some sort of guilt and they may well come up with what we view as spurious excuses as to why, but there's no necessity to explain oneself to anyone.

That must be that rugby crowd yous're drawing in now you're playing in Thomond. :p

I saw someone giving out the other day that a tenner can be better spent on a few cans than watching the ****e LOI throws up. That the standard is rubbish and will never be good. Where they think the money will come from the bring up the standard I'll never know.

That would assume they have an interest in seeing standards rise. I suspect they couldn't care less.

On a minor semi-related point, we were looking for a hotel room in Dublin for the night of the Ireland-Sweden qualifier and settled on the Pearse Hotel. Having a more in-depth look on the hotel's website, I came across the following page outlining what Dublin has to offer on the sports front: http://www.pearsehotel.com/sport.html

Whether you want to watch a game, play a game or tour a stadium, Dublin has so much to offer to the sports enthusiast:

•Gaelic Football & Hurling: Croke Park (Traditional, fast-paced exciting summer sport native to Ireland).
•Horse Racing: Leopardstown Racecourse
•Greyhound Racing: Shelbourne Park & Harold’s Cross
•Swimming: National Aquatic Centre
•Athletics: for full listings of all fixtures
•Basketball: National Basketball Arena
•Boxing: National Stadium
•Showjumping: RDS (August)
•Rugby: Aviva Stadium - Tours also available
•Rugby: Leinster Rugby

It's as if football (even international, surprisingly) simply doesn't exist in Dublin. I just thought it a bit odd that something like showjumping, limited to August in the RDS, would be promoted with absolutely no mention of the numerous League of Ireland clubs playing in Dublin every weekend for three quarters of the year.

12/08/2013, 3:06 PM

Ha well spotted, wonder is this O Hara a regular in the Ireland forum here!!;)
Think Peader made a good point a while back - some like to bitch and moan about lack of support for the LOI, myself included, but after we get over all that we still end up chatting about football when all the dust has settled. This excuse is a load of rubbish and obviously he must be getting it in the neck from a few of his mates! His conscience is getting to him. He is a god awful tipster too - Think he nearly went a year once with a huge minus record

12/08/2013, 3:13 PM
Do they though? To whom do they have to justify their lack of interest? There are an infinite number of things in the world in which I take absolutely no interest; I surely don't have to justify my lack of interest in them to anyone else.

Maybe some people will feel they need to justify their lack of interest out of some sort of guilt and they may well come up with what we view as spurious excuses as to why, but there's no necessity to explain oneself to anyone.

They shouldn't have to, but it's my opinion that they feel the need too - they can't just say they have no interest in going to watch football and would rather watch it on the TV. Why that is, ultimately you'd have to ask them.

DannyInvincible
12/08/2013, 7:19 PM
They shouldn't have to, but it's my opinion that they feel the need too - they can't just say they have no interest in going to watch football and would rather watch it on the TV. Why that is, ultimately you'd have to ask them.

Fair enough. My misunderstanding.

13/08/2013, 9:11 PM
Perception or an excuse? People have to justify dismissing the LoI, so when all else fails blame the people that do bother their holes to go to games. If they don't want to go, don't go - it's their loss - it's the coming up with absolutely pathertic reasons that really bugs the crap out of me. The media run this rubbish as it helps them to justify ignoring the league too.

We're supposed to believe that someone won't got to a LoI game as they might get slagged for being a part timer or johnny come lately, but will pay €100's to go once a season to somewhere like Old Trafford, where they're despised by all but the money men. And it's the LoI fans with the problem?

Spot on. Go or don't go, your choice, but spare us the lame justifications please.

Brusher
16/08/2013, 12:21 PM
Just listening to the end of the Colm Hayes show, and when signing off his show he related to plenty of sport this weekend to look forward to, there's the hurling and the Premiership to look forward to, jeez these gob sh1tes should be told to mention our own bloody matches on this weekend, as it is our National broadcaster!

Strongbow10
18/08/2013, 6:10 PM
Brace yourself for it lads, we will soon see "the greatest fans in the world" flocking towards UFC now. Hype is already at a fever pitch, have heard school teachers, farmers, stock brokers, event junkies the lot telling me the basics of an arm bar and Kimura lock :D

The FAI should follow the mantra "make it a hot topic in the pub and they will come"

Trainee
18/08/2013, 8:15 PM
What a retard

https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn2/1151040_596530957056243_1515824734_n.jpg

18/08/2013, 8:30 PM
Sarcasm or a genuine moron?

18/08/2013, 8:39 PM
I would think thats sarcasm.

ger121
18/08/2013, 9:20 PM
I thought sarcasm

19/08/2013, 1:03 AM
It is indeed sarcasm reading into it a bit more through his page.

DannyInvincible
25/08/2013, 11:29 AM
http://s3.thejournal.ie/media/2013/08/bolton-6-630x411.png

The official tweet was subsequently deleted. (http://thescore.thejournal.ie/bolton-twitter-account-sky-sports-bother-1052866-Aug2013/)

27/08/2013, 11:13 PM
Says a lot about how beholden we are to English football that Trevor Welch started the coverage of Arsenal-Fenerbahce by announcing that Bruno Alves had cost the Turkish side "five million pounds" from Porto (it's actually Zenit) despite the fact all transfers outside England are conducted in euros and, you know, whisper it, we use euros in Ireland too.

dong
28/08/2013, 4:48 AM
Trevor Welsh is one disgusting human being.

DannyInvincible
28/08/2013, 10:54 AM
Says a lot about how beholden we are to English football that Trevor Welch started the coverage of Arsenal-Fenerbahce by announcing that Bruno Alves had cost the Turkish side "five million pounds" from Porto (it's actually Zenit) despite the fact all transfers outside England are conducted in euros and, you know, whisper it, we use euros in Ireland too.

That's just bizarre.

13/02/2014, 11:50 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-26039380

Reminds me of the ones on boards.ie who selected the MLS team to follow. Slightly more depressing (and wrong) that this involves children.

Straightstory
13/02/2014, 12:17 PM
Everything about this story is horrible.

14/02/2014, 3:31 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-26039380

Reminds me of the ones on boards.ie who selected the MLS team to follow. Slightly more depressing (and wrong) that this involves children.

They picked Go Ahead Eagles in the Netherlands.

Sure there's [insert all foot.ie memes] in Derry!

Absolutely odious decision by the school.

SwanVsDalton
14/02/2014, 8:25 AM
Odious? The teachers are trying to teach the kids maths and literacy - this isn't a handy job. Presumably the aim is to catch the kids' imagination. The reality is that using the attention of Premier League footballers is a much better way of doing that than a trip to the Coleraine Showgrounds or Moyola Park (fyi Upperlands is in the middle of nowhere).

I don't like the implications of it, if anything it reminds me of that Simpsons episode where, in the future, the school syllabus is sponsored by Pepsi. But from a football point-of-view, these kids are long gone already. And if I was a child at the school, or a parent, the idea of PL coaches coming over would be fairly thrilling.

14/02/2014, 10:48 AM
They picked Go Ahead Eagles in the Netherlands.

Sure there's [insert all foot.ie memes] in Derry!

Absolutely odious decision by the school.
To be fair, it's hardly a uniquely Irish problem. I didn't hear you sneering when that school in China adopted Termonbarry Alberts.

15/02/2014, 7:22 PM
Odious? The teachers are trying to teach the kids maths and literacy - this isn't a handy job. Presumably the aim is to catch the kids' imagination. The reality is that using the attention of Premier League footballers is a much better way of doing that than a trip to the Coleraine Showgrounds or Moyola Park (fyi Upperlands is in the middle of nowhere).

I don't like the implications of it, if anything it reminds me of that Simpsons episode where, in the future, the school syllabus is sponsored by Pepsi. But from a football point-of-view, these kids are long gone already. And if I was a child at the school, or a parent, the idea of PL coaches coming over would be fairly thrilling.

I understand what you're saying but it still sticks in the craw though when you stuff like this happpen. Odious was pretty strong. I was reading about Jonathan Vilma at the time I reckon.

To be fair, it's hardly a uniquely Irish problem. I didn't hear you sneering when that school in China adopted Termonbarry Alberts.

Eh. I was one of the few who protested. I mean they've managed to bag €150m for shirt sponsorship as a result of the Chinese tie-in. Sickening. Never will pass FFP.

legendz
22/03/2014, 9:38 AM
I was talking to a Premier League barstooler yesterday. He was initially dismissive of the LoI. I didn't make any issue of it. I just discussed about how half the current Irish team came through the LoI ranks and on how the FAI do little to promote the talent coming from the league and how they could possibly work with Irish international who've played in the LoI to do some promotional work for the league. The Premier League barstooler in fairness opened his eyes a bit after that, acknowledging talent has come from the league. I'd be of the view speaking about the league's positives than attacking people for having an eye on the global game is the best approach. It's a free world, to a degree!

23/03/2014, 1:15 AM
I was talking to a Premier League barstooler yesterday. He was initially dismissive of the LoI. I didn't make any issue of it. I just discussed about how half the current Irish team came through the LoI ranks and on how the FAI do little to promote the talent coming from the league and how they could possibly work with Irish international who've played in the LoI to do some promotional work for the league. The Premier League barstooler in fairness opened his eyes a bit after that, acknowledging talent has come from the league. I'd be of the view speaking about the league's positives than attacking people for having an eye on the global game is the best approach. It's a free world, to a degree!
Probably worth pointing out it's not a recent thing either. Ronnie Whelan, Paul McGrath, Roy Keane, all came through the LOI.

23/03/2014, 9:45 PM
I like the expression "attacking people for having an eye on the global game". Surely Irish parochialism is just as bad as an Irishman who only watches English football? One of the things that has always attracted me to football is its global reach and what it has taught me about the world. The fact that football is a metaphor for many of the world's political, cultural and ideological differences has always fascinated me.

I fully accept that consuming everything British whilst ignoring, or worse, ridiculing, our domestic game is as irritating as anything, but watching the global game (as legendz called it) is a great thing.

Pablo Escobar
23/03/2014, 9:50 PM
I like the expression "attacking people for having an eye on the global game". Surely Irish parochialism is just as bad as an Irishman who only watches English football? One of the things that has always attracted me to football is its global reach and what it has taught me about the world. The fact that football is a metaphor for many of the world's political, cultural and ideological differences has always fascinated me.

I fully accept that consuming everything British whilst ignoring, or worse, ridiculing, our domestic game is as irritating as anything, but watching the global game (as legendz called it) is a great thing.
I think most LOI fans keep an eye on world football, in general. What I question consistently is people who comment negatively on the league despite not having seen a game in years. In fact, it's ironic that the people that put the league down, never actually see it.

23/03/2014, 10:09 PM
Yep, that must be unbelievably frustrating.

Am I right in thinking, from afar, that there seems to be a buzz about the start of the LOI season maybe a bit bigger than usual? Or is it just early season optimism? Crowds seem good, games seem good...

23/03/2014, 11:29 PM
Yep, that must be unbelievably frustrating.

Am I right in thinking, from afar, that there seems to be a buzz about the start of the LOI season maybe a bit bigger than usual? Or is it just early season optimism? Crowds seem good, games seem good...
Strip out Cork's brilliant early attendances and the obvious addition of Galway and Shels to the First Divison, and I'm not sure things are really that far ahead. The league champions have, if anything, gone backwards attendance-wise and Sligo and Dundalk haven't really kicked on. Rovers opening attendance seemed pretty decent and Sligo up next so will be another good one, but after that we'll see if they keep up or tail off. From talking to some Bohs fans, there seems to be a bit of excitement going around the fanbase with some of the things the club is doing. Certainly Friday night was the biggest Dublin derby I can remember in half a decade or more, though I'm sure having a normal Friday night kick-off for once helped.

24/03/2014, 12:09 AM
If clubs could afford to promote every game the way Cork did their first home game, we'd see a much, much healthier attended league in my opinion.

24/03/2014, 12:19 AM
If clubs could afford to promote every game the way Cork did their first home game, we'd see a much, much healthier attended league in my opinion.
Well the corollary of that is that if it was worth so much to Cork (or any other team), they'd do it every week. A one-off effort will only ever lead to a one-off result.

edit: I should clarify I don't know how much advertising they've been doing since the first game. I really hope they keep it up and show us all how it's done.

ger121
24/03/2014, 5:01 PM
Great article on the bbc website about dealing with the psychology of defeat and expecatation of winning and what it means to be a fan through the highs and lows.

Some great points in it that would relate to LOI supporters and our barstooling/league knocking brethren

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/26704856

02/05/2014, 1:21 AM
Was at the Off The Ball Liverpool special in Vicar Street tonight. Was... interesting. A lot of people from Ireland proudly calling themselves scousers.

02/05/2014, 4:55 AM
Was at the Off The Ball Liverpool special in Vicar Street tonight. Was... interesting. A lot of people from Ireland proudly calling themselves scousers.

...an yer childers childer, calm down, you-ihll bee aout in chree munts!

DannyInvincible
03/05/2014, 8:45 AM
'Irish Liverpool fan to fly 10,500 miles from Australia to Anfield for final league match - and he DOESN'T have a ticket': http://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/liverpool-fan-trevor-hines-pays-3475807

A die-hard Liverpool fan has forked out €1,200 to watch his beloved Reds play their final game on May 11 – and he doesn’t even have a match ticket.

Trevor Hines, an Irish expat working as a hotel manager in Australia, secretly bought a plane ticket in the hope of seeing Liverpool become league champions for the first time in 24 years.

Basking in the glory of their 3-2 victory against Norwich last week, 32-year-old Trevor purchased flights from Melbourne to Manchester without telling his friends or family.

The soccer fanatic, who emigrated from Drogheda, Co Louth, to Melbourne six years ago, watched the game and enjoyed a few pints in the pub before buying the tickets on a whim.

He said: “I didn’t tell anyone, I just walked straight out of the pub and bought the flights on my phone.

“I was worried people would try and talk me out of it. They would have said, ‘What are you doing you crazy man?’

“But I don’t regret a thing.”

Trevor admitted he is “disheartened” about the Reds’ prospects after they lost 2-0 to Chelsea at Anfield on Sunday, ending an 11-game winning streak.

He is now pinning all his hopes on Liverpool lifting the trophy when they clash with Newcastle on May 11.

Trevor said: “Just to be in the city during the last game of the season with the potential to win the league is beyond any emotion describable.

“The thought that we could be champions has just taken over my life during the past three months. I would be absolutely devastated if we lost.” But Trevor is still willing to travel a 60-hour round trip on his own to see his favourite team win.

Since moving overseas, he has made sure he hasn’t missed one match by getting up in the middle of the night to watch games on Foxtel, Australia’s equivalent of Sky Sports.

Thankfully, he is in good company.

Trevor said: “My girlfriend Rachel often gets up with me at 4am and wears my football shirts to watch the match on TV.”

According to a comment under the story, "half of Drogheda" has "been waiting 20 odd years for this" and is flying over to Liverpool for the final day of the Premier League season, similarly ticketless.

03/05/2014, 9:24 AM
Hasn't missed a game....on tv. What a line.

03/05/2014, 5:57 PM
'Irish Liverpool fan to fly 10,500 miles from Australia to Anfield for final league match - and he DOESN'T have a ticket':

According to a comment under the story, "half of Drogheda" has "been waiting 20 odd years for this" and is flying over to Liverpool for the final day of the Premier League season, similarly ticketless.

Would it be mean of me to hope that none of them get tickets :D

03/05/2014, 9:29 PM
Would it be mean of me to hope that none of them get tickets :D

Not at all. I'm actively hoping for an unfortunate delay in Abu Dhabi for him.

bizarre stuff.

I wonder has he managed to take in a Victory or Heart game since moving to Melbourne 6 years ago.

In fairness, I did stay up to watch games on Fox when I lived in Oz.

Fivesilver
04/05/2014, 9:41 AM
"he has made sure he hasn’t missed one match by getting up in the middle of the night to watch games on Foxtel"

Magnificent piece of satire - I wonder if he moves the sofa into another room for away games.

04/05/2014, 2:28 PM
"he has made sure he hasn’t missed one match by getting up in the middle of the night to watch games on Foxtel"

Magnificent piece of satire - I wonder if he moves the sofa into another room for away games.
To be fair, he is flying halfway around the world so he can get to Liverpool and watch the match in the pub with other true diehards.

oldfan
06/05/2014, 8:21 PM
" - I wonder if he moves the sofa into another room for away games.
;):D Nice one

DannyInvincible
08/05/2014, 8:16 PM
Trevor Hines must be snapping with how things have panned out. I'd love an update on the story. I wonder if he'll still bother travelling.