View Full Version : The Steve Staunton Discussion thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

08/02/2007, 10:36 AM
Hard to take protests seriously when just a reaction to defeat.

A lot of people predicted the idiocy of appointing a former player who has no management & almost no coaching experience.

Staunton also said he would not have considered his position even if he had lost.

Will cost 2-3m+ to remove Staunton & his backroom team. Add another 2m if want to add Delaney to the package. :(

Dr. Ogba
08/02/2007, 10:42 AM
Yeah I'll sign it but have a feeling it won't really make a difference. Fair play to ye though, at least give it a shot.

Would like to get down to Merrion Sq at lunch but its a fair ould walk from the office and its bloody freezin outside!

Still not going to take up that ticket allocation (if I get it) - don't have the money to be throwing around on watching a bunch of over-paid players who obviously don't give a $hit about playing for their country....

HolylandsMan
08/02/2007, 12:01 PM
we don't have the reputation nor cash to afford anyone decent so we will persevere with Stan until he shames us even further. Sad but true. O'Leary is no better. Bryan Robson would apply and maybe Kenny but that is it.

Aldo would have jumped at the job. And O'Leary has his faults but to put him in the same bracket as Staunton is ridiculous.

KopKiller
08/02/2007, 12:21 PM
Hes a semi professional, like the FAI. Bunch of amateurs looking after professional people. In saying that some of the players should take blame for last night, Ireland & Finann apart no one else performed.

Bring back Mick!
All is forgiven

First
08/02/2007, 12:23 PM
Apologies if this has been posted already

http://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Steve_Staunton&oldid=106416674

Soper
08/02/2007, 12:25 PM
The Irish players are the amateurs.Time to let some professional domestic players and management in.

Dublin12
08/02/2007, 12:38 PM
Staunton is Irelands answer to Les Reed,at least he realised he couldn't do the job at Charlton and stood down,Staunton should do the same and Delaney should pay the money to get a proper experienced qualified international manager that the players fear and respect,not some mumbling fool who handed out the bibs at training once and suddenly he fancies himself as the gaffer.SORT IT OUT DELANEY.

DannyInvincible
08/02/2007, 12:55 PM
I was on RTÉ.ie there now and saw the sport headline, "Staunton relieved after last-gasp win". For a minute I thought he'd been relieved of his position, but no such luck.

Delaney's Wiki page. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Delaney_%28football_administrator%29)

fergalr
08/02/2007, 1:24 PM
"I just felt that I fell short of what was required in the job. It's a massive job. Lots of the parts I was adequate with and some parts I did very well, but not in the key part of getting players to win football matches.
"Tactically at this level, results will tell you that I have struggled. […..] So I always felt we had to start this qualifying tournament off well. I knew things were not right (in the first half) but couldn't find in myself a way of solving them I don't want people criticising me because they think I'm inadequate."
"The fans did more than anyone else to get me this job and I think they felt after this game that it was the time to go."

"The first person I have to be honest with is myself. I have really enjoyed the job and it has been stimulating at times, but there is someone out there who can take it onto the next stage that [I] can't do.
"They can be successful as the players are good enough and it is an exciting time with a lot of good young players coming through. It requires someone to pull it together in a different way to the way I have as I must be judged on results. My one regret is that I wasn't more successful.
"I want to spend some time with my family now. They have always been my top team. Then I will think about my future. I wouldn't say I will never be involved in football again, just that I won't be at this level. I didn't want to outstay my welcome."

Kevin Keegan October 2000 (http://216.239.59.104/search?q=cache:kKkJniPPFJUJ:www.i-resign.com/uk/halloffame/viewHOF_37.asp+Kevin+Keegan%27s+resignation&hl=en&ct=clnk&cd=1&gl=ie)

carloz
08/02/2007, 1:38 PM
Good point, i said it on another thread. He would keep my respect if he said this. No doubt he will not. The legend status he had from his playing days have now been destroyed

macdermesser
08/02/2007, 2:06 PM
xlS1Nsx9sA8

Ordinary Fan
08/02/2007, 2:06 PM
Wow! That should be Stan talking.
Sadly he is to stubborn to know it is time to go

Noelys Guitar
08/02/2007, 11:12 PM
Thats what we have in charge of Irish football.

The Legend
08/02/2007, 11:31 PM
awight Dave...

Billy Lord
08/02/2007, 11:50 PM
Who cares? International football is purely for people who get their faces painted, think that leprechaun outfits are cool, and that pricey Irish pubs are worth visiting. I'm a lobotomy away from relating to those losers.

The Legend
08/02/2007, 11:52 PM
Back to the cricket then is it Billy Lord?

Noelys Guitar
09/02/2007, 12:04 AM
Who cares? International football is purely for people who get their faces painted, think that leprechaun outfits are cool, and that pricey Irish pubs are worth visiting. I'm a lobotomy away from relating to those losers.
Don't buy it..Remember the white butchers coats in the 70's or the air horns against Belgium in 81?Shane long, Hunt, Doyle and Stokes to me are going to be the soul of this team..We just need to get rid of Stan and Delaney..The latest generation of Irish fans should be able to travel around the world supporting something that we all believe in..We have the players and still some great fans..Giles resigned because he had and still does have class..This **** and his "owner" have none and will have to be forced out

Noelys Guitar
18/03/2007, 3:42 PM
Is it possible for Stan to get the Irish team playing to its maximum. Introducing a team spirit into this side that has been lacking for some time. Digging out results even when we play badly. Playing well and winning well. Having fans believing that we will beat any other team on any given day. I don't care what your views are on how good or bad our currnet squad is. It is what it is. So can Stan do a Lazurus? And no I have not been on the soup and am not currently taking any mind altering substances.

RiffRaff
18/03/2007, 5:44 PM
I hope so but i doubt it. However i seem to remember that Mark Hughes had a pretty disasterous start as Wales manager before almost getting them to a finals and he's since developed into a good manager, so maybe there is some slight hope.

brine3
18/03/2007, 9:44 PM
Stan has redefined disastrous.

Kivlehan
18/03/2007, 10:05 PM
I just don't think this guy has any leadership capability. When you see him in the interviews, he looks like a man with no confidence. How can he inspire others when he barely looks convinced that Ireland should do well himself?

billybunter
18/03/2007, 11:39 PM
Intersting question noelys guitar. I believe the team can resurrect him. I think as much as Stan has felt the heat lately, i really think the players have had a wake up call, and the one good thing about the barrage of negative press is there is no place for them to hide now. They are all under the spotlight, and for once and for all we will see what they are made of - both the players and Stan. Saturdays game against wales will tell us the answer - and I hope to jaysus once he gets out of the tomb, he locks the door behind him.

Student Mullet
18/03/2007, 11:42 PM
Can Stan do a Lazarus?
Didn't Lazarus eventually die in Cyprus?

macdermesser
19/03/2007, 8:00 AM
well .. if we are still in with a chance of qualifying when Cyprus come to visit again, I think his job will be safe

carloz
19/03/2007, 11:22 AM
i really think the players have had a wake up call, and the one good thing about the barrage of negative press is there is no place for them to hide now.

The abuse they got from the Cyprus defeat should have been enough for them, that was their wake up call. Instead they came out and put in a decent performance(only decent, we really had to beat the Czech's at home) and then go back to their old ways against San Marino. They are representing their countries, they shouldnt need a wake up call every two games

19/03/2007, 3:00 PM
They are representing their countries, they shouldnt need a wake up call every two games :) good point. Lazarus only needed one wake up call whereas I can't count the number of times over the years I thought that ah finally we know what game to play only to drop into the dead zone again.

The Legend
19/03/2007, 7:11 PM
If Ireland does do well, it will be purely down to the players.

Ever had a teacher that was so bad, that you decided to learn all the crap yourself in order to do well? its something like that...

craig7042
19/03/2007, 10:19 PM
Intersting question noelys guitar. I believe the team can resurrect him. I think as much as Stan has felt the heat lately, i really think the players have had a wake up call, and the one good thing about the barrage of negative press is there is no place for them to hide now. They are all under the spotlight, and for once and for all we will see what they are made of - both the players and Stan. Saturdays game against wales will tell us the answer - and I hope to jaysus once he gets out of the tomb, he locks the door behind him.

Great comment! I agree that he can survive this. The criticism has been completely over the top. Daggers out from the word go. There is every chance they'll perform well against Wales and Slovakia. I really do long for him to come through this and prove people wrong. He deserves better from us...
Pls check out my site-www.theboysingreen.blogspot.com

Donal81
20/03/2007, 8:06 AM
With more coverage than ever of the rugby this year, the GAA championship rolling around again and even cricket getting attention (:eek: ), Stan and his team will have to convince a lot of people that they really give a damn the way others do. I didn't think anyone could top the lack of affection felt for the players under Brian Kerr but Stan - and the players - have managed it.

citizenerased
20/03/2007, 10:07 AM
I would love nothing more to see two inspiring performance from the team in the next week...the environment is set, a sell out crowd that will no doubt give their full support to the team despite being continiously slapped in the face...I have a feeling they will come through

craig7042
20/03/2007, 9:41 PM
I would love nothing more to see two inspiring performance from the team in the next week...the environment is set, a sell out crowd that will no doubt give their full support to the team despite being continiously slapped in the face...I have a feeling they will come through

Good...yes....we need to get behind the team. Everything has been way over the top. They can get 6 points here...

DubJohn
21/03/2007, 10:23 AM
Isn't Stan Lazarus an Australian?

He used to play for Birmingham.

RogerMilla
21/03/2007, 11:00 AM
if we get 6 points then i will certainly re-assess my current appraisal of stan.
he then has the tour to the states to blood a few more players in and to prepare for eastern europe in september by which time some of bobby robson tutorship may be starting to sink in.

21/03/2007, 1:41 PM
We can get 6 points this week there is no doubt about it. If the current squad of players play to potential we will beat wales and slovakia every time
The problem is do the players want to get 6 points knowing that it'll mean Stan will keep his job. now I know proffessional footballers are not reknowned for their intellegence but they'd need to be blind,deaf,dumb, Drunk and stupid not to notice that their international carrers are going nowhere under stan. Would you work for a boss you knew wasn't up to the job or would you go out of your way to see him out of the job

citizenerased
21/03/2007, 3:23 PM
i think ina funny sort of way the players are behind stan, many stuck up for him after the san marino debacle

The Legend
21/03/2007, 4:13 PM
Irrespective of how the results go, it has to end badly for Stan at some point. The guy is simply retarded and always has been, there's no getting around that.

youngirish
21/03/2007, 4:16 PM
I actually believe that Stan is using his hidden tactical genius to lure the Germans and the Czechs into a false sense of security and then when they least expect it we'll pounce like a wounded animal and finish top of the group and win the European Championships.

It's a similar plan to what he was setting at Walsall when they were bottom of the league but unfortunately he left for the Ireland job before it could be sprung into action and they ended up getting relegated.

It appears everyone here has also been snared into believing his little trap.

Watch this space.

The Legend
21/03/2007, 4:19 PM
I actually believe that Stan is using his hidden tactical genius to lure the Germans and the Czechs into a false sense of security and then when they least expect it we'll pounce like a wounded animal and finish top of the group and win the European Championships.

It's a similar plan to what he was setting at Walsall when they were bottom of the league but unfortunately he left for the Ireland job before it could be sprung into action and they ended up getting relegated.

It appears everyone here has also been snared into believing his little trap.

Watch this space.

Yeah, as likely as Stan Laurel being President of the U.S.
.........YIPPEEEE........ We're going to make it afterall!

youngirish
21/03/2007, 4:19 PM
Great comment! I agree that he can survive this. The criticism has been completely over the top. Daggers out from the word go. There is every chance they'll perform well against Wales and Slovakia. I really do long for him to come through this and prove people wrong. He deserves better from us...

Robbie Keane if you're going to post on this site at least use your real name.

Murpholini
21/03/2007, 7:16 PM

couldn't agree more. I expect the crowd to get behind the Stan and the team from the start and support him through this low time. The most vocal opposition will not come from the Welsh on the Hill but from the press hacks in the Hogan. Let's hope we can silence the both of them.

Student Mullet
21/03/2007, 7:25 PM

I think you're right, it's like the time Gary Kasparov beat Deep Blue. Only Smarter.

Noelys Guitar
21/03/2007, 7:39 PM
Stephen Hawking is trying to work out what goes on in Stan's head. Infinite Black hole.

dr_peepee
27/03/2007, 8:18 AM
I seen what he did with the media yesterday. Not ideal but has he finally got a sense of conviction now? Non of this passive non commital rubbish.

Even his quotes before the wales game asking questions of the players (i.e If they can't motivate themselves for croke park etc). After the Wales game (It wasn't pretty!!) These were the type of statements he wouldn't commit to earlier in his regime. He needs to bite back. Show he has a back bone. Show that he believes in what he's doing. Sure we can question his selections but every manager is subject to that. I didn't agree with the team that started on Sat but on some level I want the same team (with Doyle instead of Keane) to start wednesday purely because i want to see a level of consistency/commitment/conviction from the man.

Dawn_Run
27/03/2007, 8:20 AM
Welcome to the 2nd last full day of Stauntons managerial career - he's done and dusted now.

craig7042
27/03/2007, 8:26 AM
I think its laughable that the media are slagging him for only giving them 30 seconds of interview yesterday. What do they expect? He made every effort when he took over to get the players to do interviews after Brian Kerr's time - to get the media on his side. They've abused him from his second game and twisted his words, so I think he's right to give them very little. He cant win.

I think he will turn this corner. This is the first group of games when the truth of his management ability will come out. It was far too early to judge prior to this.

I would dearly love a win on Wednesday to sicken a lot of people. Things change in football. Remember Alex Ferguson survived in the early days. Jack Charlton got a piece of luck when Scotland beat Bulgaria for us in 1987. (20 yrs exactly ago...)

Dublin12
27/03/2007, 8:38 AM
I turned on the radio this morning and Stan was doing that 30 second interview,I seriously thought it was gift grub.

27/03/2007, 8:44 AM
I think he will turn this corner. This is the first group of games when the truth of his management ability will come out. It was far too early to judge prior to this.
You couldn't judge on the basis of shipping five goals to Cyprus?!?! (good thing we weren't playing the entire island!!!)

You couldn't judge on the basis of San Marino ...a game barely won against a pub side who had 48% possession of the ball and were robbed of a draw by a ref who added on a ridiculous amount of injury time.

I would dearly love a win on Wednesday to sicken a lot of people.
Me too ...the Slovaks. They'll be totally sickened (and will call for their managers head) if they lose to us going on all evidence available to them.

Things change in football....) That's all that's keeping me going ...the reassuring words of Gordon Strachan pointing out that the only certainty in football managment is that sooner or later you'll be sacked for something.

Remember Alex Ferguson survived in the early days. Jack Charlton got a piece of luck when Scotland beat Bulgaria for us in 1987....

No Jackie Charlton team or Alex Ferguson team ever shipped five goals to fcking Cyprus. Even when Charlton put out a team that drew in Vaduz the team had 70% possession and 35+ shots on goal.
They were sh1te that day exactly beacause he HAD NOT been managing them. Not because he COULD NOT manage them ala Stan.

citizenerased
27/03/2007, 9:01 AM
I thinkl that pro-stan argument is laughable, how can you compare him in any sort of way to ferguson or charlton for than matter...He has not shown one single shread of any football managerial skills...He is a complete joke, a laughing stock!!! he actually is the personification of the circus that is the FAI. He looks like a caricature for god sake!!

Dont go feeling sorry for him either! he took the job understanding the consequence, and he is getting well paid aswell 500,000 a year...Stan your having a Giraffe!!!

galwayhoop
27/03/2007, 9:05 AM
the manager of the national team has a responsibility to the supporters. he is in charge of a group of men who for the vast majority represent their nationality on a global scale. he is a nit-wit. his only form of communication with the supporters is through the media. 30 seconds! is that all we are worth to this eegit. he is a useless manager and in addition he has no carisma or personality which might endear him to some even if results and performances are bad. in short he has no redeeming features at all.

oh and yes stan we would like you to 'go into tactics and stuff for wednesday' but then again not as much as the players would want you to i think!

27/03/2007, 9:25 AM
I dont want him to go into tactics with the media. That way the slovaks will find out our gameplan if we have any.