View Full Version : The Steve Staunton Discussion thread
Pages :
[
4]
DonegalDub
10/10/2006, 3:45 PM
Passion is part of players' pysche but does not equate to everything. I have seen bad players play with passion and get turned over. And I have seen good players play without passion and get turned over. There is no black and white answer to this one, guys. Passion is not a constant thing. Having a passionate manager does not instil passion into players either.
Closed Account 2
10/10/2006, 3:56 PM
Palmer hit the nail on the head with this:-
'There once was a fella called Stan, who claimed to have a four-year plan, but some trouble ensued and we came to conclude, he didn't know his bum from his hand'.
Full story here:-
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/columns/story?id=384291&root=euro2008&cc=5739
EalingGreen
10/10/2006, 4:00 PM
If passion isnt there, I dont think anybody can instill it.
But I dont subscribe to the idea that players lose their passion simply because they get rich.
Anybody who starts playing and continues to play football, at whatever level, does so because they love the game.
And I believe that maintaining that passion is key to being able to reach the heights that professional footballers reach. Without passion, your career wont take off, or will fade away. (for example Nicolas Anelka).
I certainly agree that eircom league players (and those at lower levels) are as passionate about the game as players at the highest level, but it is wrong to think it doesnt work the other way too.
For every player who seems to have lost the passion for the game, I'm sure we can find one who has been passionate throughout a successful career.
Well said. For every Stan Colleymore who loses his passion when the money rolls in, there is a Frank Lampard for whom the money only keeps rolling in because the passion is still there.
I actually think a lot of people are confusing "passion" with "conviction". When NI were playing so badly under McIlroy, there was still a reasonable degree of passion (effort) on display. However, what they lacked was conviction, or self-belief.
I'm sure that the NI players looked at McIlroy and said to themselves: "Nice guy, Sammy, and I want to play for him, but he's not up to it".
I guess that it's the same in the ROI camp with Stan.
In fact, thinking about it, it's the same at every level, probably in every sport.
When I used to play Sunday League Football many years ago, no-one was more passionate and committed than me. But when I used to look at the succession of no-hopers we had as managers, deep-down, I knew we had no chance of ever doing anything. (Oh, and I was a pretty mediocre player, as well...;) )
Noelys Guitar
10/10/2006, 5:10 PM
Just heard on newstalk that Delaney has refused to give his full backing to Staunton.
galwayhoop
10/10/2006, 5:13 PM
so the rats prepare to leave the ship..........................
gnasher
10/10/2006, 5:15 PM
Judging by the way Delaney got where he is now and what happened to Fran Rooney i'd agree with you. He's out to save his own skin and Stan is now the perfect patsy. I say keep Stan until he does so much damage that Delaney can't escape either. That's probably too much to ask though, after all, it's the bleedin FAI. They could re-write the book on gorey bloodletting and sell it all over the world - Feck All Interest.
Noelys Guitar
10/10/2006, 5:31 PM
So who is going to be the new manager? This should be very interesting
Dallasirish
10/10/2006, 5:51 PM
Delaney Is ****** And Should Resign Is Stan Goes
Noelys Guitar
10/10/2006, 5:54 PM
Hey Dallas. How is Ronnie O'Brien playing?
Dallasirish
10/10/2006, 6:23 PM
He has been brilliant. He is rated as the best right midfielder in the league by the MLS And ESPN. His fitness levels are at an all time high after suffering a hamstring injury in mid season. Dallas just finished top of there group and have homefield advantage in the playoffs and Ronnie is again at the top of the league in assists this season. He stated he would not play for Ireland under Kerr due to problems between the two but would say lookin at our current status he would have been a good option tomorrow! Not sure why he was not called up for friendlys considering some of the people that were! Will post recent article in Dallas mornin news on O briens performances this season!
theworm2345
10/10/2006, 9:27 PM
Are you sure?
When asked about Staunton's future, Delaney said: 'In terms of Stephen managing the team, the FAI support that, I support it, and David Blood as president. That's as it is today. No problems.'
http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=384491&cc=5901
sonofstan
10/10/2006, 9:32 PM
That's as it is today
doesn't mean it couldn't change tomorrow
deadman
10/10/2006, 11:01 PM
it sounds like the worm is starting to turn
big up for brayman ronnie o'brien though. 100 up for dallas. what happend to stan's 'world wide web' approach. draft him in now
citizenerased
10/10/2006, 11:36 PM
in fairness he should have thought about that before being paid 500,000 to relegate ireland into the international doldrums for the next 10 years, my heart bleeds, he also foocked keano over in the world cup so to expect some false sense of loyalty is absurd
theworm2345
11/10/2006, 12:30 AM
it sounds like the worm is starting to turn
Why is that? Because I posted a quote? I still wish he would leave, I was just posting an article
Philo
11/10/2006, 12:42 AM
In real terms, that clown delaney did the equivalent of placing a graduate accountant as a Financial Controller of a Major Company..
Hmmmmmm... interesting analogy!
Sooner or later Staunton will be gone from the post whether it be Wednesday evening or st some other low point along the Euro 2008 campaign trail. Stan should not be Ireland manager but no one can blame him for wanting to rise to the challenge of taking THE dream job for any aspiring manager.
Whatever about the gaffer, that is just a sympton of the cancer that has built himself a cosy little stronghold in Merrion Sq and is prepared to backstab, divide and conquer without punity to hold onto his position of power. It would be a welcome sound to hear 35,000 singing for Delaney's head at Lansdowne when the final whistle goes but somehow, it's sad to say, everyone knows the mindless armchairists that make up 90% of the international following will do the predictable thing and bay for Staunton's P45 to be signed by the man who should be dragged from his bed and shot in the gutter.
keenanboy
11/10/2006, 7:13 AM
Why apply for a job you can't do..
I suppose he saw it, as most people would, as a great opportunity. I have to say I felt for him in the press conference yesterday asking reporters to get off his parents back. There's one thing to criticise his competence but some of the tabloids are getting personal. Didn't like the Kermit the Frog muppet picture on Monday morning either....it stinks of British gutter press and we all remember the pic of Graham Taylor with the turnip head.
People forget that Steve was a fantastic servant for Ireland and quite a good player. Eaten bread is soon forgotten.
greendeiseboy
11/10/2006, 9:12 AM
latest media rumours are reporting that should we be defeated tonight then staunton will go. These rumours are never far off the mark. I would go as far to say that stauntons fate has already been decided and that no matter what the result is tonight that he will go in the coming weeks if not days.
Let's hope though the FAI - L have learned their lesson this time and deliver with a proper management structure.
I think Stauton is doomed, must admit to feeling very sorry for the Guy, could ruin his career before its started. delaney knows that if Stans stays on the FAI could lose a fortune by not selling out Croker, so I would expect if he does go, a big profile name to take over, who would initially fill croker based on expectations.
greendeiseboy
11/10/2006, 9:36 AM
agree fully with you. didnt think i would feel sorry for him but as the week has gone on i relaise more and more that the mess is not entirely his fault and that if he does go i'm sure he'll come out with his side of events and maybe we'll see a different side to the whole debacle.
but the important thing tonight is to get behind the team because there is still a long way to go and who is to say that the top three above us wont drop silly points as well. after all we still have to play them at home so who knows if we have the right structures in place - look at o'neill at villa!
greendeiseboy
11/10/2006, 9:45 AM
i agree that he should go as well - the point that i was making is that he is not the only one to blame - and to be fair anyone losing their job would get a certain amount of sympathy from me - he was naive and ill advised in applying and taking up the position in the first place - but he's not gone yet so lets not be too presumptious
11/10/2006, 9:48 AM
can't see why he would be appointed just to fail in fairness. i know delaney is an eegit but can't see him appointing someone just to fail as there would be no reason for that.
I probably wasn't as clear on this as I should have been. I think Delaney felt that due to the seeding we would fail no matter who we had in so he decided to pay peanuts and get a monkey basically
DonegalDub
11/10/2006, 9:51 AM
does anybody know what was the shortest period that an international manager got before he got the sack? I don't think the FAI could lose that much face by sacking him now. He will be paraded around as Delaney's donkey (old Val Doonican song ...look it up ...it's appropriate really) until another one is found to deliver the FAI "vision".
Calcio Jack
11/10/2006, 9:53 AM
Feel sorry for him...no way... he's a unqualified accident waiting to happen.. anyone who attended the Dutch game could see that.. in Stuttgart we were poor but saved by a combiantion of Given's brilliance and poor finishing by the Germans.. his only contribution that night was to get sent off for behaving like a 3 year old... and of course his pathetic performance in Saipan left him in the position where half or more of the fans have been waiting in the long grass to see him fall .... was interesting to hear Mr "world class manager" Delaney on radio this morning distancing himself from Staunton... maybe Stan should stick to property investment !!
keenanboy
11/10/2006, 9:57 AM
does anybody know what was the shortest period that an international manager got before he got the sack? I don't think the FAI could lose that much face by sacking him now. He will be paraded around as Delaney's donkey (old Val Doonican song ...look it up ...it's appropriate really) until another one is found to deliver the FAI "vision".
Well a few years ago John Toshack left the Wales job after 30 something days i think. But not sure wether he took a walk or was sacked..
greendeiseboy
11/10/2006, 10:00 AM
the donkey in the song actually won in the end - this one hasn't a hope
11/10/2006, 10:02 AM
the players shouldn't need any fcuken motivation from anyone but themselves when they are playing for their country. its your fcuken country for fcuk sake.
kingp35
11/10/2006, 11:41 AM
I think that he will more than likely be sacked if we dont win the game and definitely be sacked if we lose the game. I have a small bit of sympathy for him because he is clearly in way over his head and will probably never get another management job after this. Then again he took on the job when he should have known that he was desperately under qualified to do the job.
Delaney wont back him so the end is near.
Dallasirish
11/10/2006, 1:56 PM
IS OUT OF HIS DEPTH but cannot be judged on tonights performance - we are missin 14 players. If Monaghan were missin 14 players the game would be called off!!
Do think he will be gone by friday mornin! (must check paddy power - see if at least one of stautons action can make me happy!
Docboy
11/10/2006, 4:33 PM
Just get the lads to give a bit of effort, a proper go!
czarner
11/10/2006, 6:20 PM
In fairness, I reckon that Staunton running things on his own was never the plan, in his or anyone else's head. I've heard/read a few times that the original plan was Bobby as manager (hence all the 'world-class' talk from Delaney) and Stan as sidekick/apprentice, but for appearance's sake (i.e. to appease the anti-Brit brigade) the roles were switched about. If that's the case, it's fair to assume that the switch was only meant to be in name, and that neither Delaney nor Stan himself expected him to be running the show at this early stage.
For the one game where (from this perspective) Bobby was running things, we kicked Sweden's asses. Since ill-health took him out of the picture, we've been up crap creek. Sure, you can crib about the wisdom of hiring a man in his 70s to run an international football team, but if this was the intended scenario, you gotta have sympathy for Stan - he didn't plan to be really managing the team at this early stage and no doubt is very painfully aware that he doesn't have the necessary knowledge or experience but has to do his (woeful) best to talk the talk.
Billsthoughts
12/10/2006, 11:31 AM
Still think he should be gotten rid of. Last nite only goes to show the lack of effort they have been putting in so far. It was also 2 points lost. A win and we would have been back in with a shout. A draw is no use to anyone. Staunton out. Bring in a proffesional.
12/10/2006, 12:34 PM
I'd still prefer a top manager in obviously but I think he now has a 2nd chance. For one, I've no doubt he listened to the opinions of others as for this match he actually fielded a central midfield. If he takes the advice of others, fields our best team possible in every game and him and his staff get the best out of the players then we can't ask for much more.
Billsthoughts
12/10/2006, 1:05 PM
I'd still prefer a top manager in obviously but I think he now has a 2nd chance. For one, I've no doubt he listened to the opinions of others as for this match he actually fielded a central midfield. If he takes the advice of others, fields our best team possible in every game and him and his staff get the best out of the players then we can't ask for much more.
Why has he a second chance?
Three games into our qualifying campaign we are dead in the water.
One point from 9.
If he takes the advice of others as opposed to knowing himself what is right then whats the point of him bein "Dah gaffhur"?
A lot of "if"s there.
12/10/2006, 1:55 PM
Why has he a second chance?
Because I'm fickle. :) A lot of countries would have sacked him before last nights game but since he was given the chance and the team did very well I think he has another chance to prove himself. He's still learning his trade and must take the advice of more experienced people like Robson.
kingp35
12/10/2006, 2:00 PM
the plus is that he actually realised that he needed to play a balanced midfield and Douglas and Carsley provided that. i still dont think he is up to the job but there is no doubt in my mind that he will be given a stay of execution now.
Calcio Jack
12/10/2006, 2:04 PM
the plus is that he actually realised that he needed to play a balanced midfield and Douglas and Carsley provided that. i still dont think he is up to the job but there is no doubt in my mind that he will be given a stay of execution now.
Based on his selection process so far I don't he realised anything ... Stan is a bit like the room full of monkeys with typewriters...leave them there long enough and they'll produce the complete works of Shakespeare...
Dr. Ogba
12/10/2006, 2:25 PM
That he did but now I'm just wondering/dreading that he'll revert to type against San Marino and "keep faith" with the guys that made a mockery of our nation on Saturday...watch this space!!!
12/10/2006, 10:38 PM
Good to see Stan get back on track with last nights performance. I actually think it could be a situation of him improving with every game. He changed formation and personnel and it paid off. Hopefully he just didn't listen to the media though!
However I still think he is a tosser when it comes to dealing with the media. He always said that Paddy McCarthy was not called up because of his discipline, but Paul McShane has earned 2 yellows and 1 red this season compared to McCarthy's gotten 4 yellows. :confused:
Paddy Garcia
13/10/2006, 10:33 AM
I'd like someone to put these two questions to Stan:
1. Can you confirm that had Steven Ireland had not suffered an injury, Lee Carsley would not have been called up ?
2. What is your assessment of Ronnie O"Brien's current performance ? When and where did you last see him play?
13/10/2006, 3:32 PM
I'd like someone to put these two questions to Stan:
2. What is your assessment of Ronnie O"Brien's current performance ? When and where did you last see him play?
I'd be pretty sure it was the constant mentioning of Carlsey's name on the likes of foot.ie that got his name back out in the open so I'm sure we could do the same with Ronnie. :)
Carsley came out of retirement 12 months ago. Kerr:
"I had a call from Lee and I told him that I would go over to meet him soon. I am glad that he had decided to come back because I thought he had a good season,"
"He is a very good fellow and since I have been involved I have found him to be very committed, very honest and good to have around the squad. He always puts his heart and soul into everything."
We kept his name in the open here on this forum when it seemed everyone still thought he was retired.
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=38614
Because of that we then had reporters calling him up and asking him if he'd be willing to come back and play for Ireland. Then suddenly he had to declare himself out of retirement again:
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=413298&plid=1247&clid=116&cpid=219
http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=418704&plid=1247&clid=116&cpid=219
I'm sure if O'Brien got a few mentions on here we'd have journalists asking Stan about him. Whether he's good enough or not I don't know but he is an out and out right winger, something we're missing.
13/10/2006, 3:38 PM
He always said that Paddy McCarthy was not called up because of his discipline
Is that accurate?
I thought it was the likes of Paul Hyland and Gerry McDermott who speculated that this was the reason & it then became accepted as fact. As far as I know Staunton has said nothing on the matter, thus prompting regular McCarthy watchers such as CraftyToePoke to speculate that there's a deeper reason for his omission.
13/10/2006, 3:55 PM
This is the only quote I could find from Stan regarding McCarthy:
“We’ve had Paddy McCarthy watched but I don’t think he’s ready for the step-up yet. It might be a little bit too much for him at the moment. We’ll see how he goes with Leicester this year.
“I have to think of who we might go into the campaign with. I think it’s too much to ask to throw a younger member in there because it’s such a vital position.
“When you’re the last line of defence, it’s important that you’ve got experienced players there.
“I’ve said from day one that you can’t buy a centre-back. When I first got the job I was aware of the way Gary [Breen] was thinking so I knew that void was there. I could move John O’Shea back but hopefully I won’t have to think that. We’ve got one or two options but we’ll cross that bridge when we come to it.”
Maybe there is more to it but I'd say he's just afraid to call him up after saying he's not ready. :) I'd say we'll be seeing him in the B match if his club manager allows it.
13/10/2006, 4:04 PM
[http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/stories.php3?ca=94&si=1667515&issue_id=14471
McCarthy's international record is far from impressive either. In the qualifying campaign for the 2006 European U21 Championship McCarthy picked up three yellow cards in four games and missed the away game against Israel because of suspension.
It's a record not even a desperate Staunton is prepared to gamble on as he explained yesterday when he excluded McCarthy from the 24-man squad for next week's friendly international against Holland.
"Well that's part of it. You have to look at them sort of things. As we know from the World Cup, there are plenty of players out there that can manipulate the system," said Staunton.
Paddy Garcia
13/10/2006, 4:37 PM
I'm sure if O'Brien got a few mentions on here we'd have journalists asking Stan about him. Whether he's good enough or not I don't know but he is an out and out right winger, something we're missing.
Fair enough, we should therefore have a go. At the very least he deserves a try. And must present a better option than his namesake Alan.
Midgit
13/10/2006, 4:46 PM
Stan out. its dat simple. He hasnt a clue about tactics.
da preformance on wednesday was good but it doesnt make up for wat happened on saterday. Look at N.Ireland dey can win against Spain with a bunch of ameteurs!! a draw at home 2 Czech Rep is not dat gud, considering we wer lookn 2 beat dem at home when da draw was made!!!!!!!!!!!
Midgit
13/10/2006, 4:47 PM
Stan out!
The Man Himself
07/02/2007, 8:39 PM
theres no more excuses, the man is the biggest joke the fai ever appointed.
poxed tonight to get out of that game with a win..
whats your view?
07/02/2007, 8:41 PM
Absolutely no doubt about it. If he's not gone within the next few days we have to do something about it.
The Ref
07/02/2007, 8:42 PM
theres no more excuses, the man is the biggest joke the fai ever appointed.
poxed tonight to get out of that game with a win..
whats your view?
I agree, last kick of the game to get a win against the worst side in Europe
Failed
Arrogant
Incompetent