View Full Version : The Steve Staunton Discussion thread
Pages :
[
5]
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 8:43 PM
Who cares about results when its so blatantly apparent that everything is in disarray? Get a bloody professional in there quick. I actually wish we drew just so there'd be a more a concrete and frank assessment of his position after this turgid affair. I'm sick to death of being the butt of joke results. Its embarrassing and our suffering as fans does not seem to be ending anytime soon. I wish he was just sound enough to admit he wasn't up to the task. Its gonna start getting very libellous if I continue!:mad:
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 8:45 PM
Actually eirebhoy wanna get a petition on the go just to quicken up the process, I believe you could have the neccessary esteem to make it happen! Starting it will be the hard part, I mean its not like we're going to struggle to find advocates!
07/02/2007, 8:46 PM
I was definitely hoping we drew. We're not going to qualify with Stan in charge. a last minute winner is just as embarassing as a draw. At least if we drew there would be no other choice but to sack him. Now there's a chance he might stay on. We seriously can't let that happen.
The Man Himself
07/02/2007, 8:46 PM
roddy collins would have picked a team from the eircom league that would have hammered them.
john delaney would want to get his head out of his arse and get rid of that clown.
07/02/2007, 8:47 PM
I agree, last kick of the game to get a win against the worst side in Europe
Failed
Arrogant
Incompetent
i'd swap apathetic for arrogant
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 8:47 PM
I feel the urge to go to the FAI headquarters tomorrow but am missing my petrol can
07/02/2007, 8:48 PM
roddy collins would have picked a team from the eircom league that would have hammered them.
roddy would've, somehow, managed to get us relegated from the european championship qualifying
dodgycanadian
07/02/2007, 8:49 PM
fook, i think im gunna be the next to go and try and set myself on fire at the FAI headquarters tomorrow
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 8:50 PM
cavan fan I'll sort you out, I've got a nice zippo lighter as well...Whatever it takes.
07/02/2007, 8:55 PM
I've won the league before on football manager so have more bloody experience than Stan!!!
He has to go, have the decency to do the right thing for the good of the team and nation. His players (bar one or two exceptions) never helped but he appears clueless and completely out of his depth.
cavan_fan
07/02/2007, 9:00 PM
Has there been a stan interview yet
OwenGoal
07/02/2007, 9:01 PM
At some point even Dr Frankenstein realised his creature was not going to be the model citizen he hoped it would be. Delaney has reached that point. Look out the window, John. That's the burgomeister and a crowd of angry villagers in eircom jerseys at the gates.
The Legend
07/02/2007, 9:01 PM
I feel the urge to go to the FAI headquarters tomorrow but am missing my petrol can
Seriously, if I was living in ireland right now, i'd be outside hq tomorrow morning protesting with a banner....
A fans group should be organised to do this if he is not sacked in next 24 hrs...
07/02/2007, 9:02 PM
The important thing is that he brought the passion and the craic and the SCOOPS back to the Irish football team (along with his faithful sidekick Mick Byrne). Just take a look at the eyes of the opposition in the next game - you will surely see the FEAR that John Delaney promised and Brian Kerr failed to deliver.
Never forget the immortal words of Aldo
We're good enough to win in Czechoslovakia
07/02/2007, 9:02 PM
Has there been a stan interview yet
They're waiting for him to extricate his head out of his a*se!
finnpark
07/02/2007, 9:03 PM
The referee was a disgrace. He played over 5 mins injury time while 4 mins was the call. Cost me 500 as I laid Ireland at 1/50..
Yes Staunton must go. Otherwise we will have to march to Merrion Square and light ourselves in fire. Irish fans must stand up to the FAI and get rid of this useless donkey. What will happen is that Ireland will beat or draw with a very poor Wales team and he will remain until there are a few more humilitations.
Why are eircom league players being ignored?
07/02/2007, 9:04 PM
fook, i think im gunna be the next to go and try and set myself on fire at the FAI headquarters tomorrow
cavan fan I'll sort you out, I've got a nice zippo lighter as well...Whatever it takes.
At some point even Dr Frankenstein realised his creature was not going to be the model citizen he hoped it would be. Delaney has reached that point. Look out the window, John. That's the burgomeister and a crowd of angry villagers in eircom jerseys at the gates.
Good work lads - we know that Maxi won't turn on his own kind so someone else will have to step up to the plate.
finnpark
07/02/2007, 9:04 PM
Seriously, if I was living in ireland right now, i'd be outside hq tomorrow morning protesting with a banner....
A fans group should be organised to do this if he is not sacked in next 24 hrs...
This is a good idea. I reckon you would get 10000 there no problem
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 9:07 PM
TV3's Expert pundits are sticking up for him "Irish fans are expecting too much from this crop of players, we don't have the same players as the 80's and 90's" What?! We're expecting too much by asking for a clean sheet or 3-0 victory over SAN MARINO ?! Let alone have someone who can actually be classified as a Manager. Hardly too demanding. Ronnie Whelan:"Thats what Stephen Ireland does best, sneaks into the box and scores goals" What?! No interview with the goon yet, no doubt its gonna be so enlightening.
07/02/2007, 9:08 PM
"A win is a win." Tosser. Interview on now.
07/02/2007, 9:10 PM
This is a good idea. I reckon you would get 10000 there no problem
i doubt it. there arent enough irish football fans in dublin for that. there are the ****ing barstoolers who will whinge and moan and buy the newspapers but wont get up off their arses for the good of football in their country. this will be just another ****ing reason to buy a mancherster united or liverpool jersey
07/02/2007, 9:10 PM
"A win is a win." Tosser. Interview on now.
"San marino are going to be a handful in this group from now on"
what the ****
are you for real
does he honestly believe this ****
07/02/2007, 9:11 PM
Question of the Day (Based on the TV3 interview):
Stephen Staunton - Mentally ill or just on crack?
Discuss.
someone should start a petetion
07/02/2007, 9:11 PM
i wouldnt call him a tosser..thats unfair
its just he isnt good enough...yet[im being nice to him here,thanks to stephen ireland cos otherwise id be organising thats fans group!].he should never have been appointed...delaney is the bigger disgrace.
still....we should win the group from here;)
07/02/2007, 9:12 PM
I don't think anyone[with a brain] can defend him now. Complete joke. He cant even manage a successful interview never mind a National side. After the game tonight, he wasn't answering the questions which were asked, he kept just saying "We got the three points". FFS:mad:.
07/02/2007, 9:12 PM
Question of the Day (Based on the TV3 interview):
Stephen Staunton - Mentally ill or just on crack?
Discuss.
Just a fúcking gobshíte.
07/02/2007, 9:13 PM
"San Marino will be a handful" :lol:
republicofwhite
Interview was sickening. More 3 Points Boll*cks. He said he feels he's got the full backing of the Association. The guy is as devout as a born again, not a chance he's going. No offence to any born again's by the way. Can't believe he's gonna be in charge for the momentous occassions that are the Croker matches.
TV3's Expert pundits are sticking up for him "Irish fans are expecting too much from this crop of players, we don't have the same players as the 80's and 90's" What?! We're expecting too much by asking for a clean sheet or 3-0 victory over SAN MARINO ?! Let alone have someone who can actually be classified as a Manager. Hardly too demanding. Ronnie Whelan:"Thats what Stephen Ireland does best, sneaks into the box and scores goals" What?! No interview with the goon yet, no doubt its gonna be so enlightening.
Another thing, one of those three would be Stan's likely replacement as manager. :eek:
The only one who seemed genuinely p!ssed-off was Kerr but again he was hampered by not wanting to look like he was rubbing it in.
JimmyP
07/02/2007, 9:14 PM
He's really not helping himself by defending that performance. He needed to put a hand up and he didn't.
KopKiller
07/02/2007, 9:15 PM
This is beyond a joke now. We have had enough embarrasment under this muppet, something has to be done.
that idiot delany can go with him
get some professionals in, its a joke, we will end up as bad as northern ireland ... lets face it, no one wants that ;)
carloz
07/02/2007, 9:18 PM
I ripped up my form, which i had tpo send away tomorrow, to guarantee me tickets for the wales and Slovakia games, and to tell the truth im glad i did. I have waited months to see Ireland in Croke Park, but now it has all changed. I refuse to pay 200 euor, which i have worked hard for, to see a squad of players that obviously care little about the jersey and a manager that says the things in an interivew that i would expect a 5 year old to say. This for me is as dark a day as Cyprus. I mean these guys have lost something likt their last 35 European games, there is no excusing that performance whatsoever. it says it all about Staunton that Kilbane seemd a hell of a lot more angry than staunton in their interviews. incidently did anyone hear the abuse bing hurled by the fans during Kilbanes interview. I feel sorry for those fans after spending hard earned moeny to see that
brine3
07/02/2007, 9:19 PM
according to the commentators san marinos last goal in competitive football was in 1998. nine years ago. that's not even a handful stan, you can count a decade of their goals on two fingers. the same virtual two fingers you gave your own supporters with that unacceptable interview.
he better get a right slating in the paper 2morow
07/02/2007, 9:19 PM
"San marino are going to be a handful in this group from now on"
SAN MARINO 0
GERMANY 13 (THIRTEEN)
What an absolute cretin you are Staunton
I always said we should give him a chance for a while and see what he can do ! NOW ! **** off Staunton, that match was a disgrace and your interview was even worse, when I though it couldnt get any worse !!!!!
Dun Laoire
07/02/2007, 9:20 PM
I hope this makes sense.
Technically we scored 37 seconds after the game was over. So really it was a 1-1 draw so i think without question Stan is sacked. This time next week we are discussing who will be the next manager but at the same time we got the 3 points and have the slightest chance to qualify. Will the FAI see it this way i wonder?
What i'm saying is lets look at this result as a 1-1 draw but we have the 3 points.
I hope someone understands what i'm trying to say:D :D
Dr. Ogba
07/02/2007, 9:22 PM
I ripped up my form, which i had tpo send away tomorrow, to guarantee me tickets for the wales and Slovakia games, and to tell the truth im glad i did. I have waited months to see Ireland in Croke Park, but now it has all changed. I refuse to pay 200 euor, which i have worked hard for, to see a squad of players that obviously care little about the jersey and a manager that says the things in an interivew that i would expect a 5 year old to say. This for me is as dark a day as Cyprus. I mean these guys have lost something likt their last 35 European games, there is no excusing that performance whatsoever. it says it all about Staunton that Kilbane seemd a hell of a lot more angry than staunton in their interviews. incidently did anyone hear the abuse bing hurled by the fans during Kilbanes interview. I feel sorry for those fans after spending hard earned moeny to see that
Thats a waste, as soon as I get my form I'm gonna smear it in dog sh*t and send it back to them and hope that Delaney handles it personally...
Orangecelt
07/02/2007, 9:23 PM
Crumbs of comfort, but's it's good to see the positive in these things. Three points and stan still walks. I like it
07/02/2007, 9:24 PM
If that's what he says in interviews, what bolx is he whispering to his players?? We are stuck with him until 2010, while our world ranking slides down to 150-ish, and our seeding is Rank 6. I have never seen or heard a worse coach in my life.
Still, the posts criticising him are hilarious. :D Unfortunately, they're also accurate. :(
republicofwhite
07/02/2007, 9:25 PM
Fair play to you Carloz, Its an admirable stance. Beautifully illustrates our apathy at something which should be heralded as an glorious departure. Croker will have no true significance now... Fans can't get more dejected than this.
joe316
07/02/2007, 9:26 PM
if you want a petition
http://www.petitiononline.com/stanout/petition.html
DeNiro
07/02/2007, 9:26 PM
To be honest in times of such crises I think interviewers should go to the fans. We know what that clown is going to say so go down to the fans who forked out to watch it. Let them have their say - it's every bit as valid as the 3 points sh*t.
The Man Himself
07/02/2007, 9:27 PM
give me the job, i garuntee i would pick a team out of the eircom league that would beat wales in the next match.
staunton is a donkey.
brine3
07/02/2007, 9:28 PM
unfortunately i don't see stan walking out on the job and the fai gave him a very long contract, so sacking him would be an expensive affair.
this is all delaney's doing
07/02/2007, 9:29 PM
if you want a petition
http://www.petitiononline.com/stanout/petition.htmlWaste of time. Online petitions aren't worth a ****.
unfortunately i don't see stan walking out on the job and the fai gave him a very long contract, so sacking him would be an expensive affair.
this is all delaney's doingIf Staunton cared in the slightest about his country, he would hand in his resignation right now. Wont happen though:(
Seagull
Delaney won't sack Staunton cos he was the one appointed the World Class Manager. Delaney should go too.
DeNiro
this is all delaney's doing
More expensive than an empty Croke Park?
Dave77
07/02/2007, 9:30 PM
What a joke, only time we seemed to try was when they (WORST team in europe) equalised. The players looked disinterested and off the pace.
Stans interview was a joke. Happy with 3 points and all that, he is a joke. the team must play at the same intensity against the 'minnows' as the top euro teams. that surely comes down to the manager which stan seems to be always be telling us that is what he is.