View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2006/07
leather
13/11/2006, 12:09 PM
From what i have read on this tread and from speaking to people at the match.there is no comparison between the 2 incidents.. lets try and be a little objective and not look thru blue tinted glasses..
allab
13/11/2006, 12:17 PM
From what i have read on this tread and from speaking to people at the match.there is no comparison between the 2 incidents.. lets try and be a little objective and not look thru blue tinted glasses..
a punch was thrown and u cant see the comparison between the incidents?
pearse4t3
13/11/2006, 12:34 PM
I doubt if Hartnett has to visit the dentist like Galvin had to.
Roadend
13/11/2006, 12:53 PM
Maybe he has better gums......
leather
13/11/2006, 1:06 PM
PROBABLY DIDN'T HAVE TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL EITHER... LETS WAIT AND SEE WHAT THE REF HAS TO SAY
silvercircle
13/11/2006, 1:08 PM
a punch was thrown and u cant see the comparison between the incidents?
Was at the match...saw the incident, a punch was not thrown..P mitchell's reaction was wores than the actual incident, a good clean performance by both sides..to compare this to Earls incident is like comparing bateman to the Pike field
gaidin
13/11/2006, 1:13 PM
But you see that is the problem. Was Earls banned for the punch or for what resulted from the punch?
Earls threw a punch which I personally think should be an automatic 12month suspension. But he hit him so hard he knocked his teeth out.
If another player throws a punch but he doesnt do as much damage as what Earls done does that mean he should get a lesser sentence. I dont think it should.
A punch is a punch.
BTW I didnt see the Conway incident so I cant say anything about it. But my opinion is that if a punch is thrown no matter how hard the person deserves 12months.
Goals4fun
13/11/2006, 1:16 PM
Was at the match...saw the incident, a punch was not thrown..P mitchell's reaction was wores than the actual incident, a good clean performance by both sides..to compare this to Earls incident is like comparing bateman to the Pike field
yes a punch was thrown ! I can asure you of that !
Goals4fun
13/11/2006, 1:21 PM
But you see that is the problem. Was Earls banned for the punch or for what resulted from the punch?
Earls threw a punch which I personally think should be an automatic 12month suspension. But he hit him so hard he knocked his teeth out.
If another player throws a punch but he doesnt do as much damage as what Earls done does that mean he should get a lesser sentence. I dont think it should.
A punch is a punch.
BTW I didnt see the Conway incident so I cant say anything about it. But my opinion is that if a punch is thrown no matter how hard the person deserves 12months.
the logic is right in what you are saying. Do you get your suspension on the injury caused to a player of the action. It has to be the action really.
So if conway does get a big ban it will be a sad thing but it will mean the league will have some sort of consistancy.
Would be interesting if the lDMC has a matrix of some sort,
2 yellows (off) = 1 match
1 red= 3 matches (depending on action)
spitting = 5 matches
punching = 3/6 months
head butting = 3/6 months
etc. at least everybody would know where they stand but at the moment you never know what you are going to get ? You can be lucky or not. Surely it should be more transparent!
silvercircle
13/11/2006, 1:37 PM
yes a punch was thrown ! I can asure you of that !
Conway was trying to hold off Hartnett he raised his arm and caught him in the face happens every match, the lad went over to hartnett after his red card to apologise...The Earls incident was a cowardly punch..this was not.
MitreSize5
13/11/2006, 1:54 PM
this has been blown completely out of proportion, if keith wasnt in the processes of falling over he'd have tickeled his belly - I'd be very suprised if he got more than three matches
leather
13/11/2006, 2:02 PM
Might be shot for saying this, but Fair Play to the hoops supporters for not trying to screw conway, maybe i am misreading some of the posters affiliations but the general tone from hoops supporters is that there was nothing in this incident and just get on with it..Fair play...
pearse4t3
13/11/2006, 2:03 PM
We can speculate as much as we want,the LDMC will look at 2 things- (1) .the refs report. Will he report a punch was thrown or that it was a push, that will be the difference between 3games and 3months. Another thing that everyone is forgetting is the (2) players previous record,Barry Conway has never been sent off in a game before which must stand in his favour.
Goals4fun
13/11/2006, 2:21 PM
Conway was trying to hold off Hartnett he raised his arm and caught him in the face happens every match, the lad went over to hartnett after his red card to apologise...The Earls incident was a cowardly punch..this was not.
no you are wrong. he turned into hartnet and swung him fist in anger at being fouled. he did not catch him full on in the face.
I am not comparing the incidents. But if it was a cowardly act or straight on (toe to toe) it does not matter a punch is a punch.
It has gotten out of hand on here alright but what do you expect.
as i said it will be harsh if barry gets more than 3 games.
as i said there needs to be clear and concise punishments in black and white !
lim abroad
13/11/2006, 4:16 PM
just reading through the posts about the pike v regional incident,who here was actually at the match?maybe somebody could confirm whether it was a punch or a slap cos there seems to be conflicting reports here
lim abroad
13/11/2006, 4:18 PM
Might be shot for saying this, but Fair Play to the hoops supporters for not trying to screw conway, maybe i am misreading some of the posters affiliations but the general tone from hoops supporters is that there was nothing in this incident and just get on with it..Fair play...
ya i agree credit where its due to the pike lads i say
PROBABLY DIDN'T HAVE TO GO TO THE HOSPITAL EITHER... LETS WAIT AND SEE WHAT THE REF HAS TO SAY
it dont matter if he lost 10 teeth a punch is a punch at the end of the day
thomas72
13/11/2006, 6:45 PM
any truth in the rumour that albert slattery and david dunphy came to blows in the first min from what i heard carew should of beaten balla off the field that mullins screwed carew from start to finish anyone got a match report on this one??
draw definately a fair result there was nothin much wit the 2 lads jus handbags stuff
halo16
13/11/2006, 8:40 PM
lads there must have been very little else happening in the premier league over the weekend.all there seems to be getting posted is gossip about the conway and hartnett incident.is that what this site is now all about?the last two pages have had nothing but rubbish posts about a silly incident which happens nearly every week at one match or another.get back to talking about the good open football being played and stop dwelling about a stupid sending off in which nobody got hurt.
see's it
14/11/2006, 7:48 AM
ya whatever,who got the line in the carew game? Hartnett and Conway would not be the 2 toughest guys in the league,i wasnt at the game but im sure it was a girly slap,doubt he'll get more than 2 games
thomas72
14/11/2006, 7:30 PM
ya whatever,who got the line in the carew game? Hartnett and Conway would not be the 2 toughest guys in the league,i wasnt at the game but im sure it was a girly slap,doubt he'll get more than 2 games
jamie o sullivan (excuse spelling)
see's it
15/11/2006, 7:31 AM
what did sully go for? i hear jonners was in goal what happened with hickey?
hickey is injured, sully off for two yellows(late tackles)
RouteOne
15/11/2006, 9:15 AM
Anyone know if there are any fixtures in Premier this weekend ?
abbeyvale
16/11/2006, 9:49 AM
Anyone know if there are any fixtures in Premier this weekend ?
Herbertstwon v Charleville
Will all MJC games go ahead on Sunday even though the OT are playing Saturday night in Cork??
Goals4fun
16/11/2006, 9:56 AM
Herbertstwon v Charleville
Will all MJC games go ahead on Sunday even though the OT are playing Saturday night in Cork??
old keeper advised that teams had the option off or could still play. see MJC thread
whitestripe
16/11/2006, 2:10 PM
3 match ban - could prove costly for Regional in the FAI
pearse4t3
16/11/2006, 2:55 PM
At last the ldmc seem to have given a proper punishment to fit the crime.
I agree with you whitestripe,Barrys a massive loss to regional,his suspension could be the difference in the carew v reg fai match.
whitestripe
16/11/2006, 3:10 PM
Conway is a tough player and I'm surprised he does not react more often, he invites challenges the way he plays, and in fairness he takes alot of punnishment. JOC must be happy with that suspension!
the dazzler
19/11/2006, 6:59 PM
when are those fai matches down for pearse4t3
next week fairview+pikes games off
abbeyvale
20/11/2006, 7:23 AM
Any result in the Herbertstown v Charleville game??
thomas72
20/11/2006, 8:54 AM
you can add regional v carew park that match is also OFF does anyone know the reason for this
RouteOne
20/11/2006, 9:28 AM
Game finished 1-1. Herbertstown scored in first few minutes. They then scored a deflected free kick shortly afterwards.
Not alot else in game, although the ref gave them a ridiculous penalty in the
last few minutes. They scored initially but I think ref had realised at that stage what a mistake he made and asked the penalty to be retaken for a Charleville player encroaching. Retaken penalty was saved.
the dazzler
20/11/2006, 11:02 AM
you can add regional v carew park that match is also OFF does anyone know the reason for this
we have a few players missing carew dat is
HuRya
20/11/2006, 11:50 AM
Why do you care, ye are definately going down :rolleyes:
abbeyvale
20/11/2006, 12:10 PM
Why do you care, ye are definately going down :rolleyes:
And what division do you play in? if at all
If we can repeat yesterday's performance in 5 of our 12 league games left we will stay up.
themerryman
20/11/2006, 1:23 PM
And what division do you play in? if at all
If we can repeat yesterday's performance in 5 of our 12 league games left we will stay up.
true ye will stay up but the question is can ye repeatit , im sure you will
say ye can but proving it is another thing but only time will tell,hope ye do
stay up you get a lot of stick on ths site so then you can have the last laugh.
if not we can all have the last laugh
Old keeper
20/11/2006, 2:59 PM
Pike, Fairview and Carew Park requested free weekends from the FAI for the 26th Nov so all 3 games with these teams are OFF, this is not to say that the opposition will not be playing in the league.
More Anon
Limeref
20/11/2006, 4:44 PM
Game finished 1-1. Herbertstown scored in first few minutes. They then scored a deflected free kick shortly afterwards.
Not alot else in game, although the ref gave them a ridiculous penalty in the
last few minutes. They scored initially but I think ref had realised at that stage what a mistake he made and asked the penalty to be retaken for a Charleville player encroaching. Retaken penalty was saved.
Did the ref say this?, if not, then what you say is pure speculation and please retract!
booster 03
20/11/2006, 7:45 PM
do teams lose home advantage if games are called off due to inclement whether conditions??looking forward to the game against herbertstown...should be a good game?! any predictions, doubt many neutrals will reckon we can get a result!
Old keeper
20/11/2006, 8:05 PM
do teams lose home advantage if games are called off due to inclement whether conditions??looking forward to the game against herbertstown...should be a good game?! any predictions, doubt many neutrals will reckon we can get a result!
Hi Just for Info you can down load the FAI junior cup and MJC rules in the downloads section of www.ldmc.ie
abbeyvale
21/11/2006, 8:57 AM
Hi Just for Info you can down load the FAI junior cup and MJC rules in the downloads section of www.ldmc.ie
Hi Oldkeeper
Are the fixtures on the ldmc website final, and will there be additional fixtures before the weekend for other prem teams?
Old keeper
21/11/2006, 11:46 AM
Hi Oldkeeper
Are the fixtures on the ldmc website final, and will there be additional fixtures before the weekend for other prem teams?
As I understand it these are the fixtures for the weekend there are no additional fixtures planned at this time for the weekend.
abbeyvale
21/11/2006, 12:00 PM
As I understand it these are the fixtures for the weekend there are no additional fixtures planned at this time for the weekend.
Cheers boss
Edgey
21/11/2006, 12:10 PM
Take particular note of the "As I understand it" in Old Keepers reply, abbeyvale!
Old keeper
21/11/2006, 12:52 PM
Take particular note of the "As I understand it" in Old Keepers reply, abbeyvale!
Dont be so edgey, edgey It would be very unusual for the fixtures secretary to add additional fixtures to the pot after the publication of the lists in the national and local papers, and if this was done it would only be in agreement with the clubs concerned.
Aplogies Old Keeper. Just thought you were being diplomatic. Hadn't seen at that stage that there were fixtures posted for Premier and 1A.
greenandwhite
21/11/2006, 1:30 PM
Aplogies Old Keeper. Just thought you were being diplomatic. Hadn't seen at that stage that there were fixtures posted for Premier and 1A.
No bother Edgy I was thinking the same cause it happend to us a few weeks ago we had a match that was called off and then were asked to play another but some of our players were gone away
Old keeper
21/11/2006, 1:51 PM
I will not hold it against you!!:p
Greenandwhite I dont know your club but I dont recall such an incident in the last few weeks or even months. If you feel you were treated unfairly please let us know and we will look into it. No team can be expected to be on standby right up to the weekend.