View Full Version : Limerick Premier Division 2006/07

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40

whitestripe
26/04/2007, 9:42 AM
Dec Considine has put a good side together and from what I have seen this season are playing some good football but there is nothing won so far and alot of important games yet to be played.

gaidin
26/04/2007, 9:46 AM
Dec Considine has put a good side together and from what I have seen this season are playing some good football but there is nothing won so far and alot of important games yet to be played.

To be honest I think Pike will win the league and the Munster junior.

That would be a very good return for them. They will also probably win the lawson.

For me they are the best team in Limerick.

whitestripe
26/04/2007, 9:54 AM
You could be right and fair play if they manage to do it, correct me if I'm wrong but they still have a semi final to play and Balla to meet in the final. They also have to meet the Boro and Regional in the league and they have yet to face a full strength Aisling team this year - Lawson

gaidin
26/04/2007, 10:04 AM
You could be right and fair play if they manage to do it, correct me if I'm wrong but they still have a semi final to play and Balla to meet in the final. They also have to meet the Boro and Regional in the league and they have yet to face a full strength Aisling team this year - Lawson

Oh ya I know they have a semi to play and they have to play those teams in the league. They also have balla in the league. But I just think they will be too strong for those teams.

Its just my opinion but I think they will win the league and the munster junior. If they get to the final I feel they will be too strong for balla. Balla dont have a big squad, and I dont the players they have are good enough to beat Pike.

But like I said its just my opinion.

see's it
26/04/2007, 10:21 AM

who was missing when pike beat ye in the FAI?

limericklad
26/04/2007, 11:01 AM
Oh ya I know they have a semi to play and they have to play those teams in the league. They also have balla in the league. But I just think they will be too strong for those teams.

Its just my opinion but I think they will win the league and the munster junior. If they get to the final I feel they will be too strong for balla. Balla dont have a big squad, and I dont the players they have are good enough to beat Pike.

But like I said its just my opinion.

just wondering why you reckon balla's players arent good enough? saw them a few times and if they play the way they can they wil deff give pike a run for it! Are you a pike man?? And before you ask im not a balla man!

halo16
26/04/2007, 11:41 AM
thats 3 games you mentioned hardly there fault you ass:mad:

well the carew match was as much pikes fault as carews.all the crap about whether it was wednesday night or thursday night fixture.only 1 the main point i was trying to get across is that if you ask me pike seem to be able to get matches postponed at very short notice for a hundred different reasons and as far as i can see they are always accomadated by the council more so than the other clubs.there still only playing there one match a week when everybody else is playing 2 and 3.

halo16
26/04/2007, 11:49 AM

in fairness to pike they are always there or there abouts and they do have a good squad assembled,i just think there is alot of ball to be played before anything is decided this season.correct me if im wrong but have balla not won the premier twice in da last 3 years?and did they not win 2 local cups last year?Thats alot of trophies they have won to count them out of munster junior and local cups.

gaidin
26/04/2007, 12:40 PM
just wondering why you reckon balla's players arent good enough? saw them a few times and if they play the way they can they wil deff give pike a run for it! Are you a pike man?? And before you ask im not a balla man!

No Im not a Pike man. I watch a bit of junior football. Wouldnt say every weekend but most weekends ill get to a game.

Ive seen both teams this year and I just feel pike have the better team and squad.

In the munster junior balla are lacking a squad. The lads that came back from limerick cant play and their subs wouldnt instill great confidence. They brought on a B player in the semi when Frankie went off. He looked good but it kinda shows their lack of a squad.

I just think Pikes overall first team is better than Ballas. Balla are missing Robert Earls to score their goals and they finding it hard to score without him.

As for Ballas players not being good enough, I prob shouldnt have said that, cos to get to the final they must be handy. But I dont think many of the balla players would get in Pikes first team.

Having seen both play I would tip Pike for the munster junior if they get to the final, which I think they will.

gaidin
26/04/2007, 12:43 PM
in fairness to pike they are always there or there abouts and they do have a good squad assembled,i just think there is alot of ball to be played before anything is decided this season.correct me if im wrong but have balla not won the premier twice in da last 3 years?and did they not win 2 local cups last year?Thats alot of trophies they have won to count them out of munster junior and local cups.

Yep they won the league 2 years in a row. They have had a successful few years. Still have the majority of those squads that won those leagues as well.

And balla still have to play Pike in the league.

Dirk Diggler
26/04/2007, 3:11 PM
well the carew match was as much pikes fault as carews.all the crap about whether it was wednesday night or thursday night fixture.only 1 the main point i was trying to get across is that if you ask me pike seem to be able to get matches postponed at very short notice for a hundred different reasons and as far as i can see they are always accomadated by the council more so than the other clubs.there still only playing there one match a week when everybody else is playing 2 and 3.

The three games they've had cancelled this year. Carew park fixture secretary made a mistake. Fairview game, ya pike got the council to break john whites leg so the match could be abandoned. The third against balla, one of the pike players direct relative passed away.
They've played alot more games than anybody else so far this season, because they are still in all the cups apart from the FAI in which they got to the last 16.

da General
26/04/2007, 7:58 PM
pike won 2-0 against granville and the boro lost 1-0, sunday should be a good battle but i still fancy pike, is sounds like boro are starting to lose there bottle but that dosent surprise me.....they always struggle at the end of the end of recent seasons

abbeyvale
26/04/2007, 9:08 PM
(Max Pts)
1.Janesboro.......pl 18 / Pts 40 (52)
2.Regional Utd....pl 18 / Pts 39 (51)
3.Pike Rvs.........pl 15 / Pts 36 (57)
4.Ballynanty......pl 18 / Pts 35 (47)
5.Fairview.........pl 18 / Pts 27 (39)
6.Corbally Utd....pl 18 / Pts 27 (39)
7.Granville Rgs....pl 18 / Pts 21 (33)
8.Aisling A'cotty..pl 18 / Pts 19 (31)
9.Star Rovers....pl 19 / Pts 18 (27)
10.Carew Park......pl 17 / Pts 16 (31)
11.Herbertstown..pl 18 / Pts 14 (26)
12.Charleville........pl 18 / Pts 6 (18)

Thurs 26/4/07……...Results
Janesboro 0-1 Regional Utd
Ballynanty 2-1 Corbally Utd
Aisling A'cotty 1-2 Star Rvs
Granville Rgs 0-2 Pike Rvs

Fixtures
Saturday april 28th
Carew v Herbertstown

Sunday april 29th
Pike v Boro
Charleville v View
A/A v Balla

We'll gladly drop down to 10th postion if Carew can beat Herbertstown on Saturday evening and if Carew do beat Herbertstown then anything but a Charleville win v Fairview on Sunday and they will officially be relegated.

lim abroad
27/04/2007, 5:12 AM
a couple of great results for ye lately abbeyvale,looks like ye're safe almost

HuRya
27/04/2007, 6:12 AM
Star Rvs- Pld 19
Home- Charleville
Away- Granville. Janesboro

Charleville-Pld 18
Home- Fairview. Regional
Away- Star Rvs. Corbally

Herbertstown-Pld 18
Home- Granville. Aisling
Away- Pike Rvs. Carew Pk

Aisling -Pld 18
Home- Ballynanty
Away- Carew Pk. Herbertstown. Fairview

Carew Park -Pld 17(missing 1 fixture)
Home- Herbertstown. Aisling
Away- Pike Rvs, Regional Utd

Granville Rgs-Pld 18
Home- Star Rvs
Away- Herbertstown , Janesboro, Ballynanty

whitestripe
27/04/2007, 10:18 AM
Bad result for AA last night, cracking strike from John Barry to win the game. Should be an interesting end to the season.

widow
27/04/2007, 11:03 AM
if herbertstown beat carew saturday night, things are going to get very interesting. This is the best league season in many years, with multiple sides involved in both ends of the table.

leather
27/04/2007, 12:08 PM
if herbertstown beat carew saturday night, things are going to get very interesting. This is the best league season in many years, with multiple sides involved in both ends of the table.

Have to agree...

pike have to be fav's to win league,, but sqeaky bum time for relegation..

Noddy
27/04/2007, 1:33 PM
pike still have alot of games left and alot of points could be dropped from now until the end of the season. They could easily have dropped two points last night, only for 2 late goals. All to play for still. Pike win Sunday it'll be a big blow to boro. It'll mean they can only get to a maxium of 49 points. I don't think a team has ever won the premier league with that amount of points. It's usually in the 50 points range.

Noddy
27/04/2007, 1:34 PM
who scored for regional last night?

MitreSize5
27/04/2007, 2:01 PM
We've dropped handy points at this stage over the last few seasons (we lost to hill celtic this time last year) so nobody at pike will be taking anything for granted.

Theres still a huge amount to play for considering we still have to play our biggest challengers boro and regional as well as a visit to our dear fiends in bateman park

abbeyvale
27/04/2007, 5:45 PM
a couple of great results for ye lately abbeyvale,looks like ye're safe almost

Yeah some good results of late in the league, we beat View 3-1, Corbally 3-1, A/A 2-1 and drew with Carew and Balla both 1-1.

If Carew win tomorrow night we'll be 4pts clear of Herbertstown with 3 agmes to go each, but its a big IF the way Carew are playing lately,

Carew need the win themselves tomorrow, coz if they lose then they will drop into 2nd bottom, and still with Pike, Regional, A/A, Corbally all still to play it will be tough for them too.

abbeyvale
27/04/2007, 5:47 PM
Star Rvs- Pld 19
Home- Charleville

Charleville-Pld 18
Home- Fairview. Regional
Away- Star Rvs. Corbally

Herbertstown-Pld 18
Home- Granville. Aisling
Away- Pike Rvs. Carew Pk

Aisling -Pld 18
Home- Ballynanty

Carew Park -Pld 17(missing 1 fixture)
Home- Herbertstown. Aisling
Away- Pike Rvs, Regional Utd

Granville Rgs-Pld 18
Home- Star Rvs

Carew's missing fixture is at home to Corbally. And I also think their game v Regional is at home too.

macca
27/04/2007, 5:54 PM
I would like to voice my opinion on gaidin remarks about not many of balla s team getting on pikes eleven.Balla have won at least five or six trophies in the last three years.In my opinion Balla are a very consistant team to du that.How many pike players would get in the Balla team,let me rephrase that ho many EX Park ,Mungret ,Hill Celtic ,Desmond league and foreign nationals get in the Balla team.Thats why the rest of limerick dont like to see pike du well,because they steel other clubs players.Apart from sniffer,ma garry,and morris the rest of the team when they win a trophy could not celebrate the way they would if they won it with the clubs the gave the years to.See the problem with pike is they think they are the biggest club in the country,so they think every tournament they play in they should be favourates.

Dirk Diggler
27/04/2007, 9:48 PM
very few of that balla team would walk on the pike team if any. proven by pike beating balla in most of the big games they have played against each other over the last 3 or 4 seasons. this year pike have the best squad they've had in years and balla are not as strong as they were a couple of seasons ago. You talk about players joining pike, its hardly pikes fault players want to play for them. The success they've had coupled with the facilities they have, why wouldn't players want to play for them. True balla have had a successful few years, but its the same group of players year in year out and who would want to play out in bateman every second week. In a few more years balla will be like carew are now. Pike have the best squad in limerick. no one can deny that. proven by them being the team still involved in the most competitions.

allab
27/04/2007, 11:35 PM
very few of that balla team would walk on the pike team if any. proven by pike beating balla in most of the big games they have played against each other over the last 3 or 4 seasons. this year pike have the best squad they've had in years and balla are not as strong as they were a couple of seasons ago. You talk about players joining pike, its hardly pikes fault players want to play for them. The success they've had coupled with the facilities they have, why wouldn't players want to play for them. True balla have had a successful few years, but its the same group of players year in year out and who would want to play out in bateman every second week. In a few more years balla will be like carew are now. Pike have the best squad in limerick. no one can deny that. proven by them being the team still involved in the most competitions.

wel dirk lets hope your predictions are the same as they were from the MJC thread!! and players that would want to play wit balla every second week out in bateman are players that are dedicated to their club that have been wit them since underage.. not that ye would know anything about that :p

backodanet
28/04/2007, 7:50 AM
pike and balla are both good teams but the pike people can come on here year after year blabbing on about how good they are - and lets face it no other club has people coming on saying how good they are with the exception of summerville in the 1A thread, but unless another club wins the FAI there is only one big club in limerick

also you saying balla will turn out like carew in a few years is nonsense, because balla have a b team c team and numerous under age teams and a good club structure despite having no base

greenandwhite
28/04/2007, 10:57 AM
pike and balla are both good teams but the pike people can come on here year after year blabbing on about how good they are - and lets face it no other club has people coming on saying how good they are with the exception of summerville in the 1A thread, but unless another club wins the FAI there is only one big club in limerick

also you saying balla will turn out like carew in a few years is nonsense, because balla have a b team c team and numerous under age teams and a good club structure despite having no base

Balla are ful of S**te ye had a base and P***ed it away as for ye having a srtong club ye are akways whinging and whining the club was a big backer of h o niell and the removal of the old committee and then o niell wrote a letter of apology for what he done all bull he was wrong and ye were led down mick noonans path like blind sheep and as a pay back the player who signed legally with ashling was suspended but ye refused to cooperate by submiting signatures i think the mfa will have a thing or 2 to say to balla i will wait for the issue of legal action like ye threatned the council with and just like o niell did

allab
28/04/2007, 12:32 PM
Balla are ful of S**te ye had a base and P***ed it away as for ye having a srtong club ye are akways whinging and whining the club was a big backer of h o niell and the removal of the old committee and then o niell wrote a letter of apology for what he done all bull he was wrong and ye were led down mick noonans path like blind sheep and as a pay back the player who signed legally with ashling was suspended but ye refused to cooperate by submiting signatures i think the mfa will have a thing or 2 to say to balla i will wait for the issue of legal action like ye threatned the council with and just like o niell did

who is the player that was meant to of signed??

the dazzler
29/04/2007, 1:25 PM
boro 2 pike 1 boro deserved 2 win but game turned when pike were 1 up and denied a clear penalty ref kily is finished all prem teams are saying it ps heard houlihan was illegal he is playing still with the guards in dublin even though he has got transfered thats wrong

Nesta
29/04/2007, 4:03 PM
Charleville 0 - 3 Fairview

Only other one I heard was that Carew beat Herbertstown last night (dont know score) so that should be the end of the two country teams.

allab
29/04/2007, 4:05 PM
Charleville 0 - 3 Fairview

Only other one I heard was that Carew beat Herbertstown last night (dont know score) so that should be the end of the two country teams.

think it was 4-1 to carew

starbar
29/04/2007, 4:12 PM
i think the game is up for carew park even though they won saturday nite they are in free fall they mite survive this year but i think they havent got long left in top flight football.joc tried his best to change things but i dont think he has the rite resourses .i think who ever takes over carew would be clearly have a lota sleepless saturday nites next year . i dont think joc done himslef any favers taken the job he ll probaly never get a job with a top club now .. not saying his a bad manager.

lim abroad
29/04/2007, 6:34 PM
i'll be glad to see charleville go down

gaidin
29/04/2007, 7:24 PM
I would like to voice my opinion on gaidin remarks about not many of balla s team getting on pikes eleven.Balla have won at least five or six trophies in the last three years.In my opinion Balla are a very consistant team to du that.How many pike players would get in the Balla team,let me rephrase that ho many EX Park ,Mungret ,Hill Celtic ,Desmond league and foreign nationals get in the Balla team.Thats why the rest of limerick dont like to see pike du well,because they steel other clubs players.Apart from sniffer,ma garry,and morris the rest of the team when they win a trophy could not celebrate the way they would if they won it with the clubs the gave the years to.See the problem with pike is they think they are the biggest club in the country,so they think every tournament they play in they should be favourates.

You still didnt answer my question though. I honestly dont think any of ballas first 11 would get in the Pike team. Maybe Dunphy. Apart from that I dont the others would.

Your basically ranting about Pike taking players from all over town.

And I agree with you about Balla being a consistent team. They won the league 2 years in a row and a lot of other trophies. So they must have some sonsistency. But Im saying THIS years team isnt as good as Pikes.

abbeyvale
30/04/2007, 6:58 AM
(Max Pts)
1.Janesboro.......pl 19 / Pts 43 (52)
2.Regional Utd....pl 18 / Pts 39 (51)
3.Pike Rvs.........pl 16 / Pts 36 (54)
4.Ballynanty......pl 18 / Pts 35 (47)
5.Fairview.........pl 19 / Pts 30 (39)
6.Corbally Utd....pl 18 / Pts 27 (39)
7.Granville Rgs....pl 18 / Pts 21 (33)
8.Aisling A'cotty..pl 18 / Pts 19 (31)
9.Carew Park......pl 18 / Pts 19 (31)
10.Star Rovers....pl 19 / Pts 18 (27)
11.Herbertstown..pl 19 / Pts 14 (23)
12.Charleville........pl 19 / Pts 6 (15)

Results
Saturday april 28th
Carew 4-1 Herbertstown

Sunday april 29th
Pike 1-2 Boro
Charleville 0-3 View
A/A OFF Balla

Remaining Fixtures
Star Rvs- Pld 19
Home- Charleville

Charleville-Pld 19
Home- Regional
Away- Star Rvs. Corbally

Herbertstown-Pld 19
Home- Granville. Aisling
Away- Pike Rvs.

Aisling -Pld 18
Home- Ballynanty

Carew Park -Pld 18
Home- Aisling
Away- Pike Rvs, Regional Utd, Corbally

Granville Rgs-Pld 18
Home- Star Rvs

leather
30/04/2007, 7:03 AM
Any one of the top 4 can still win the league...

abbeyvale
30/04/2007, 7:39 AM
Any one of the top 4 can still win the league...

top 3 being realistic, what are pikes remaining fixtures?

leather
30/04/2007, 7:44 AM
I think that pike have to play the following, Corbally,Regional,Balla,Carew,Herbertstown & Fairview..
I think that the regional & view games are away, not sure about other games?

Boro have Granville & star at home, with Fairview away..

MitreSize5
30/04/2007, 7:53 AM
we lost an opportuntiy to more or less win the league yesterday especially after going one nil up and looking comfortable at half time .... no complaints though, boro deserved it over the 90 minutes

as far as I know our remaining fixture are
Home: Carew, Herbertstown, Corbally
Away: Regional, Balla, Fairview

..... a handy enough run!!!!

MitreSize5
30/04/2007, 8:26 AM

I have to reply to this horse sh!t as well ....

Balla, and only Balla, are the only one of the bigger clubs in Limerick who can say that there players are born and bred clubmen. All the other clubs in limerick take players from 'smaller' clubs who want to play at the top level.

That bullsh!t above is typical of some of the stuff on here .... blame pike for everything from the war in iraq to the price of a pint.

leather
30/04/2007, 8:38 AM
we lost an opportuntiy to more or less win the league yesterday especially after going one nil up and looking comfortable at half time .... no complaints though, boro deserved it over the 90 minutes

as far as I know our remaining fixture are
Home: Carew, Herbertstown, Corbally
Away: Regional, Balla, Fairview

..... a handy enough run!!!!

Would expect you to win your 3 home one handy enough..
if you win the 3 away's you will deserve the title..

boro's downfall could be the corbally match when leading 1-0 with 10mins to play and lost 2-1..

I wonder what order the F/S with run off the remaining fixtures...????

see's it
30/04/2007, 9:17 AM
what order do you think would be fair?

leather
30/04/2007, 9:50 AM
what order do you think would be fair?
the order in which the 1st round fixtures were played

foxtrot
30/04/2007, 10:59 AM
i wouldnt say the corbally game will be a handy one for pike... corbally have already taken points of the boro and twice taken points off regional i nthe league so far this season. pike should win all there other home games handy enough though..

themerryman
30/04/2007, 12:15 PM
[QUOTE=gaidin;675555]You still didnt answer my question though. I honestly dont think any of ballas first 11 would get in the Pike team. Maybe Dunphy. Apart from that I dont the others would.

Was Quinny not in the pike team a couple of seasons ago,when they had maybe a better team then thay have now:confused:

gaidin
30/04/2007, 12:29 PM
[QUOTE=gaidin;675555]You still didnt answer my question though. I honestly dont think any of ballas first 11 would get in the Pike team. Maybe Dunphy. Apart from that I dont the others would.

Was Quinny not in the pike team a couple of seasons ago,when they had maybe a better team then thay have now:confused:

I dunno? But he wouldnt get in the Pike team this season going on a lot of his performances. Just my opinion.

Im not saying Balla are a bad club and that their teams in the last few seasons were bad. How could they be if they won 2 leagues? In fact I think they are a good club. Always have good schoolboy teams and always have a good A team. They also have a B team in 1A and a C team that just won promotion to 2A(I think).

Im just saying THIS season I havent been impressed by them and I feel that Pike have a stronger team.

How many of the current balla A team do you think would get in the Pike first 11?

magpies
30/04/2007, 1:42 PM
How did the irish junior team get on the other day?

halo16
30/04/2007, 2:15 PM
anymore reports on the pike and boro game?heard boro really upped the tempo in the 2nd half and that they had 2 0r 3 more chances to score.a neutral told me that alot of pikes supposedly better players werent up to much and that hartnett spent half the game cracking up.

new leaf
30/04/2007, 2:35 PM
anymore reports on the pike and boro game?heard boro really upped the tempo in the 2nd half and that they had 2 0r 3 more chances to score.a neutral told me that alot of pikes supposedly better players werent up to much and that hartnett spent half the game cracking up.

pike started the better and took advantage of boros poor start by getting the early goal , should have had a clear cut peno which could have put the game beyond them. the second have was a completely different story and over 90 mins boro should have won by more. i wouldnt blame hartnett, he tried his best but was just totally outplayed and out muscled by the lad in midfield for boro.