View Full Version : Westport United FC
Thunderblaster
09/10/2006, 6:08 PM
The FAI Junior Cup starts for Westport on Sunday. We are away to S&F United and what is your thoughts on this game? Will the real Westport that beat Celtic turn up or will it be the limp Westport that preceded that? Likely 11 (not my 11) is Dave Hoban, Colin Navin, Eoghan McHale, Brendan O'Connor, Joe Lawless, David Cameron, Danny Scahill, Brian Fahy, Gerry McLoughlin, Vinny O'Malley, Dessie O'Malley. Anyone beg to differ?
Thunderblaster
09/10/2006, 6:10 PM
Some very tough underage games this weekend for the club. The U.12s are away to Salthill Devon, the U.14s are away to Skyvalley Rovers and the U.16s are at home to Mervue United.
Thunderblaster
09/10/2006, 6:18 PM
Did some research the other day and Westport United have had a total of 16 managerial changes over the last twenty years at the most senior level between Mayo AFL and Connacht SL. Here's the list.
1986-87 John Herrick
1987-88 Sean McLoughlin
1988-89 Mike Flaherty
1989-90 Danny McLaughlin
1990-91 Paul Large
1991-92 Paul Burke
1992-94 Padraig Burns
1994-95 Michael McDonagh
1995 Christy Walsh
1996-97 Noel Moran
1997-98 Jim Mullen
1998-99 Jim Cameron
1999-00 Sean Jordan
2000-02 Kevin Cusack
2002-03 Noel Moran
2003-06 Kevin Cusack/Padraig Burns
2006- Brendan O'Connor
Thunderblaster
12/10/2006, 9:23 PM
There are rumour circulating around Westport concerning Paul Fitzpatrick. Gnasher, Proud Cove, Mpondo, Turbotimmy, anybody hear anything?
swift
13/10/2006, 12:31 AM
The FAI Junior Cup starts for Westport on Sunday. We are away to S&F United and what is your thoughts on this game? Will the real Westport that beat Celtic turn up or will it be the limp Westport that preceded that? Likely 11 (not my 11) is Dave Hoban, Colin Navin, Eoghan McHale, Brendan O'Connor, Joe Lawless, David Cameron, Danny Scahill, Brian Fahy, Gerry McLoughlin, Vinny O'Malley, Dessie O'Malley. Anyone beg to differ?
Who gives a s**t
13/10/2006, 6:38 AM
Who gives a s**t
If you don't care don't post.Who wants to see the above type post?.
gnasher
13/10/2006, 10:30 AM
Who gives a s**t
I do you jerk. Negative vibes already about the FAI JC? you could be in for a busy few months 12th man!
gnasher
13/10/2006, 10:33 AM
There are rumour circulating around Westport concerning Paul Fitzpatrick. Gnasher, Proud Cove, Mpondo, Turbotimmy, anybody hear anything?
Have not heard anything as of yet - is this the guy who left S&F then went to Celtic and then disappeared? Is he another unwanted mercenary? Regardless of the Celtic thing (which I can't fathom) he would be a welcome addition. Saw him play a few games last year and he is strong, fast, skilful and lethal - perfect for a side who plays ball like us.
swinfordfc
13/10/2006, 11:57 AM
Have not heard anything as of yet - is this the guy who left S&F then went to Celtic and then disappeared? Is he another unwanted mercenary? Regardless of the Celtic thing (which I can't fathom) he would be a welcome addition. Saw him play a few games last year and he is strong, fast, skilful and lethal - perfect for a side who plays ball like us.
Good player but his head is not right
swinfordfc
13/10/2006, 11:58 AM
Who gives a s**t
swift is mad cause they lost the AIB Cup - grow up :D
texas ranger
13/10/2006, 12:26 PM
Hello from all your mates in Killester, how is the team looking this year?
Thunderblaster
13/10/2006, 10:45 PM
Change of management. Can only finish runners up in the league at best and won the AIB Mayo FA Cup. Didn't play particularly well this year and some of our lads are heading Down Under in two weeks. Well done to Killester in the FAI Cup, did junior football really proud. Hope you have another great junior cup run this year and if we don't win it, let's hope you do.
Thunderblaster
14/10/2006, 8:28 PM
We travelled to Salthill Devon with our U.12s shorn of four players involved in the County U.13 Gaelic football final. Lost 7-1 to a very good team, held out well for 22 minutes and went in at half time 2-0 down. It was an experience for the kids and they can learn from it, but the Jaffa Cakes and easi-peeler oranges did not have the usual desired effect at half time!!:eek: :D Lads stuck to a good game plan during the first half. Brilliant to see the kids using their own initiative in doing a good warmup routine. Keep it up lads.:)
The U.14s won on penos away to Skyvalley Rovers.
The U.16s lost 4-3 at home to Mervue United and I was told that it was a cracker of a game. Anyone watch it?
Thunderblaster
15/10/2006, 9:16 PM
FAI Junior Cup R.2: S&F United 0-3 Westport United (O'Connor, Cameron, Scahill (pen)).
Thunderblaster
17/10/2006, 11:14 PM
Eoghan McHale got a four match suspension for his sending off against Castlebar Celtic.
Thunderblaster
17/10/2006, 11:16 PM
Hello from all your mates in Killester
Westport United/Killester United-In Friendship!!
renovater
20/10/2006, 8:24 PM
Eoghan McHale got a four match suspension for his sending off against Castlebar Celtic.
With all due retrospect your club got away lightly some of your so called supporters did not conduct them selfs to well on the day.as reported to me.
Proud cove
20/10/2006, 8:31 PM
I think you should not bother commenting on a match that you did not attend.
renovater
20/10/2006, 8:42 PM
I think you should not bother commenting on a match that you did not attend.
You are now condone bad mouthing. by the way how do you no I wasnt there.
Let me tell you I was but in conversation with someone else who over heard what was said by R.R was not in a sporting manner.The reaction from of your own supporter to Celtic followers was also poor. by the way I dont ap prove of bad behavior from section of supporters regardless who they come from.
BY the way incase you forgot the game is sport.
just another thought, I will comment on what I think is just!
Proud cove
20/10/2006, 9:36 PM
to hearsay. If not, then it's never too late to take it on board, it's really good advice.
renovater
21/10/2006, 7:34 PM
to hearsay. If not, then it's never too late to take it on board, it's really good advice.
I will treat your comments to contraire:)
Mad Moose
24/10/2006, 10:21 AM
Just going back in time here to the 5th August 1995 and a game between Westport Utd and Preston North End in Westport when Preston were over for a pre-season friendly.I have always had a soft spot for PNE and I remember wanting to get over and see this game.The game was over when I made it to Westport.I cant really remember what happened that day but I missed the game. Anyone at Westport care to jog my memory on this one. The game and the profile of PNE coming to Mayo always stuck in my mind.
Thanks.
Proud cove
24/10/2006, 2:22 PM
Sam Allardyce was their manager at the time and it was from his connections with Limerick that the game was organised. It was a good occasion, decent crowd and a great opportunity for people to see full time pros in action. They brought their full squad at the time and spent a few days here doing some pre-season.
Mad Moose
24/10/2006, 11:21 PM
Sam Allardyce was their manager at the time and it was from his connections with Limerick that the game was organised. It was a good occasion, decent crowd and a great opportunity for people to see full time pros in action. They brought their full squad at the time and spent a few days here doing some pre-season.
Thanks very much for that.Just amazing the things that stick in your mind and I'll always remember the game and the fact Preston North End played in Mayo albeit a friendly.
Thunderblaster
25/10/2006, 9:12 PM
Preston won 2-0 and Ronnie Ring had a goal disallowed. It was memorable for the fact that it was poorly attended despite the hype at the time.
Mad Moose
26/10/2006, 12:20 AM
Preston won 2-0 and Ronnie Ring had a goal disallowed. It was memorable for the fact that it was poorly attended despite the hype at the time.
TB that was the score I'm sure I had at the back of my mind. Thanks for that.I was telling a friend of mine from Preston and when asked the score i had it in the back of my mind it was 2-o.
Thanks for that TB.
Thunderblaster
30/10/2006, 2:18 PM
Westport United's Mick Wallace appointed Mayo Oscar Traynor Cup manager. Takes charge with immediate effect and will select squad for forthcoming Oscar Traynor Cup tie away to Roscommon on October 19th. Mick Wallace becomes the first Westport United player or manager to manage the Mayo Oscar Traynor Cup side since Niall Halpin between 1978-1984.
renovater
01/11/2006, 6:47 PM
Westport United's Mick Wallace appointed Mayo Oscar Traynor Cup manager. Takes charge with immediate effect and will select squad for forthcoming Oscar Traynor Cup tie away to Roscommon on October 19th. Mick Wallace becomes the first Westport United player or manager to manage the Mayo Oscar Traynor Cup side since Niall Halpin between 1978-1984.
Thunder thats a little over the top come on you only signed him for cover this season. That hardly makes him a westport man!
Thunderblaster
03/11/2006, 9:08 PM
Thunder thats a little over the top come on you only signed him for cover this season. That hardly makes him a westport man!
The current club always blows the loudest trumpet!!;) :D
Thunderblaster
03/11/2006, 9:09 PM
Well done to the kids on their recent results.
Thunderblaster
03/11/2006, 9:11 PM
This weekend's lotto jackpot is a record equalling €13,300.:eek: Get out there and buy them envelopes for €2!!:D:D
Thunderblaster
05/11/2006, 7:31 PM
Wasn't at the game but the guys advanced 2-0 with The Gaffer and the Louisburgh Lion netting. Was told that it wasn't a classic.
Thunderblaster
06/11/2006, 6:56 PM
Westport United's lotto now stands at a record breaking €13,500!!:eek: The lotto was not won and there will be a huge surge in demand for them famous white envelopes, so get out there and but them tickets for €2.00. It could be you!!:D
leftoutside
06/11/2006, 8:26 PM
TB.I see 4 wesport players made the inaugural team of the year. but how can you explain that one of them is a B player and got man of the match in the Touhy cup final this season ?
renovater
06/11/2006, 9:13 PM
The current club always blows the loudest trumpet!!;) :D
Well the notes sound flat!:mad:
Thunderblaster
07/11/2006, 6:42 PM
TB.I see 4 wesport players made the inaugural team of the year. but how can you explain that one of them is a B player and got man of the match in the Touhy cup final this season ?
Didn't the clubs nominate their squads? The player in question is not a designated A player so he could move between A and B.
leftoutside
07/11/2006, 8:02 PM
Didn't the clubs nominate their squads? The player in question is not a designated A player so he could move between A and B.
apparently it was his first and only game for the B team, shades of trying to crack a nut with a sledgehammer. Once again proof of the blatant abuse of the B team ruling. never thought that the wesport club were just trophy hunters. Shame
Proud cove
08/11/2006, 1:15 PM
It might help if you knew your subject before you post. For your information, same player, David Horkan, is on a full soccer scholarship with NUIG, therefore has no option but to fulfil all collegiate and domestic league and cup requirements with NUIG before registering with Westport. As the Mayo season starts well before the Galway season finishes, it is not possible for him to be registered as an A player. Hope that clarifies the matter. And by the way, Westport United are not trophy grabbers. If that was the case, maybe we'd be signing players from all over the place.
leftoutside
08/11/2006, 7:50 PM
It might help if you knew your subject before you post. For your information, same player, David Horkan, is on a full soccer scholarship with NUIG, therefore has no option but to fulfil all collegiate and domestic league and cup requirements with NUIG before registering with Westport. As the Mayo season starts well before the Galway season finishes, it is not possible for him to be registered as an A player. Hope that clarifies the matter. And by the way, Westport United are not trophy grabbers. If that was the case, maybe we'd be signing players from all over the place.
touched a nerve have I, but you know what they say, if the cap fits wear it.
Proud cove
08/11/2006, 7:59 PM
No nerves here. Just pointed out the salient facts that tore your very petty argument to shreds. That's all. Night, night.
The Don
09/11/2006, 8:34 AM
As the Mayo season starts well before the Galway season finishes, it is not possible for him to be registered as an A player. Hope that clarifies the matter.
What are you talking about, of course he can sign A. It just makes no sense to do this when 16 players are already signed A.
swinfordfc
09/11/2006, 11:18 AM
What are you talking about, of course he can sign A. It just makes no sense to do this when 16 players are already signed A.
Hey the Don,
How are ye fix for the big 6 pointer on Sunday?
Thunderblaster
13/11/2006, 5:43 PM
Well done to the U.14s on their penalty shootout win in Roscommon on Saturday. Heard that the keeper had a great game.:D
Thunderblaster
13/11/2006, 5:49 PM
Came back from the dead with the gaffer getting a brace. Nice to see Austin O'Malley, Keith Ruddy and Tomas McGing getting a run out. The linesman on the Kop side of the ground was like Bakhmarov, three times, awarding goals that crept over the line and cleared away. Geoff Hurst would have been happy!!:D Wasn't a bad game for the half a team.
By the ways, get well soon to Seamus Higgins after his injury against Glenhest on Sunday morning.
Thunderblaster
13/11/2006, 5:50 PM
Lotto not won!!:eek: Now €13,700.:D
irishyop
14/11/2006, 1:03 PM
TB - Is that Austin O'Malley the GAA player who lined out?? Any good of a soccer player?
Thunderblaster
16/11/2006, 10:04 PM
TB - Is that Austin O'Malley the GAA player who lined out?? Any good of a soccer player?
No it is not THAT Austin O'Malley that plays bogball for Mayo. This Austin O'Malley is noted for boxing and he is not a bad centre half. He was voted man of the match on the Connaught Telegraph this week.
Thunderblaster
20/11/2006, 7:53 PM
Big game on Sunday boys. Will we do it?
renovater
20/11/2006, 8:55 PM
Big game on Sunday boys. Will we do it?
Well for anyone that has seen what went on recents weeks I hope ye knock football out of there heads, and teach them that its good sportmanship to go and at leased try and win every game.
Thunderblaster
26/11/2006, 11:39 PM
Did the bizz: 2-0 with the Louisburgh Lion getting a brace. Kinda lucky and defended well.
Lotto now worth €14,100. Cracking jackpot just before Christmas.
Hard luck to the U.12s after losing 2-1 to Swinford. Youse can put your feet up for the winter.
Heatmerchant FC in Athlone on Sunday to get our Connacht Cup campaign on the road to end a 20 year famine. Anyone know anything about them?