View Full Version : Westport United FC
Thunderblaster
10/06/2006, 11:20 AM
On the underage scene, the U.12 A team beat Claremorris 1-0 away while the U.12 B team were beaten by Castlebar Celtic C. The U.14 A team beat Bangor Hibs 2-1 and the U.14 B team beat Snugboro 6-3 while the U.14 C team were defeated but they are still plugging away at it.
Thunderblaster
10/06/2006, 11:21 AM
Westport United lotto is now worth €9,100!!:) :D
highlander
10/06/2006, 5:27 PM
It has not been a brilliant start. Easily disposed of Killala 6-1 on Thursday night but there hasn't been any five star performances yet. As for players leaving and players coming in, it may happen, it might not. Definitely looking for a goalkeeper anyway and more than likely he will be an outsider. Injuries, well when you look at Danny Scahill, it is more or less the same injury all the time. Alan McLoughlin came on against Ballyheane and aggravated his hamstring injury. Gerry McLoughlin got injured from a bad tackle against S&F but has this mantra of rushing back into action. Goals for the future from what I gather is to win the Big Four of the AIB Cup, Elvery's Super League, Connacht Cup and FAI Junior Cup. The Sports Park is definitely not up to standard for Eircom League football IMO and if we were considering going into the Eircom League, we would need a solid underage structure. Having said that, we are turning the corner there by appointing a Youths Development Officer. A number of people around the town have been disappointed with BOC so far.whatswrong withthekeeper u nicked of the boro
renovater
11/06/2006, 4:32 PM
good to see John Moran back in football and doing what he does best, however John had his sites set on looking after the first team. May be this is a good move by Westport to cover pu the cracks that were appearing.
With his appointment it may reduce the gap between Celtic and Westport.
On another matter I see Hastings and Co have had a change of heart for the good and to continue there sponsorship with the Mayo Youths which is a postive move by them.
Hope your Manager by the way gets his Van?
We should hope there was a lesson in this for everyone concern
Once again fair play to Hastings in seeing sense:)
irishyop
12/06/2006, 10:05 AM
Nice lad John Moran, he was looking after us when I played youth football with United.
I presume u mean a new B team keeper? What happend the lad who was in goal, he was handy enough when we played them early in the year.
Fairkop
12/06/2006, 12:06 PM
good to see John Moran back in football and doing what he does best, however John had his sites set on looking after the first team. May be this is a good move by Westport to cover pu the cracks that were appearing.
With his appointment it may reduce the gap between Celtic and Westport.
On another matter I see Hastings and Co have had a change of heart for the good and to continue there sponsorship with the Mayo Youths which is a postive move by them.
Hope your Manager by the way gets his Van?
We should hope there was a lesson in this for everyone concern
Once again fair play to Hastings in seeing sense:)
What is this gap your`e on about between westport
and castlebar.westport won the fai last year and ye
haven`t won much, if that is the gap you see.
Local scout
12/06/2006, 5:58 PM
Westport United B beaten 4-1 by Mulranny. Tried a few kids out, missing some players due to being cup-tied, vacation and a couple are gone to the USA for the summer. Had chances but Mulranny's experience came out trumps.
who are the kids ye tried? any of them good enough for the first team?
Local scout
12/06/2006, 6:01 PM
i think he meant the gap at underage level.
celtic underage teams have been very good lately. westports havent been getting the results.
renovater
12/06/2006, 8:23 PM
Fairkop I am refering to youth structure that john's new roll Castlebar won everything in site at this level.
and thats surly holes good for the future.
Fairkop
13/06/2006, 9:51 AM
Fairkop I am refering to youth structure that john's new roll Castlebar won everything in site at this level.
and thats surly holes good for the future.
Sorry about that, I thought you were having
a go at westport again.
pixiehead
15/06/2006, 11:37 AM
whatswrong withthekeeper u nicked of the boro
Nobody Knows. you tell us Mick :p Hee Hee
highlander
17/06/2006, 6:02 AM
NOTHING WRONG WITH ME MARK ......it does look like theres more than me using this name.....for your info i was on holiday when last H post was done....ask your mate joe how many people have the password to this name???????????
Thunderblaster
17/06/2006, 9:29 AM
Just back from the Kennedy Cup. Westport United drew 1-1 with Ballyheane, was at the game and should have won. The sending off was silly. Heard that the B team match on Thursday evening against Achill Rovers was called off. The U.12B team lost 2-0 at home to Ballyvary B.B while the U.12A team beat Kiltimagh/Knock United 3-1. Westport United jackpot is now worth €9,300!!:D Don't know of any other news.
Thunderblaster
18/06/2006, 11:19 AM
whatswrong withthekeeper u nicked of the boro
At the time of the post, Mick Wallace was out injured and everyone thought that he could be out for six weeks. Martin McGreal had to hang up his boots, Eamon Scahill is gone to the US for the summer and Danny Fadden plays for the Kilmeena bogball team, so we need reliable cover for Mr. Wallace.
Thunderblaster
18/06/2006, 11:22 AM
Westport beat Crossmolina 4-2 in the league last night. Vinny O'Malley got two with Dessie O'Malley and future British Prime Minister David Cameron also netting.
Local scout
18/06/2006, 2:20 PM
Westport beat Crossmolina 4-2 in the league last night. Vinny O'Malley got two with Dessie O'Malley and future British Prime Minister David Cameron also netting.
why " future British prime Minister" ?
FahyForever
18/06/2006, 2:30 PM
Come on man...read a newspaper for God's sake. David Cameron... Coldplay-loving, mountain-climbing Tory hopeful?? ...plays for Westport.... etc
18/06/2006, 10:47 PM
So how is Brendan O'Connor doing up there?
Proud cove
19/06/2006, 9:40 AM
Doing well now, took him a few games to settle as was understandable, but team looks in fine shape now. They played some excellent stuff on Saturday against Crossmolina and should have won by an awful lot more than they did. Word is that the players are impressed with the manager, training is supposed to be excellent and don't rule United out of the running for the league yet. Overall, he's doing a fine job with a good group of players.
Local scout
19/06/2006, 2:37 PM
Come on man...read a newspaper for God's sake. David Cameron... Coldplay-loving, mountain-climbing Tory hopeful?? ...plays for Westport.... etc
ohh sorry, fancy him do you?
Thunderblaster
20/06/2006, 6:45 PM
Doing well now, took him a few games to settle as was understandable, but team looks in fine shape now.
Welcome aboard to the best footy forum in the country Proud cove. :) The legendary dahamsta has formally baptised you into the community:D and you are now one of us. Keep on writing!!:D
Thunderblaster
20/06/2006, 6:50 PM
Westport United are taking on an excellent Castlebar Celtic U.16 team in the final of the Mayo Cup in Milebush on Friday evening at 7:00. I have to rule with my head on this one and Celtic would be far too strong for the Westport lads.
PS. The ladies were defeated 4-2 at home by S&F United in the league and Westport's second goal near the end was greeted with white smoke going across the pitch, Serie A style, by a...........chimney fire!!:eek: :D
Thunderblaster
25/06/2006, 6:01 PM
The week that was in it saw the ladies defeat Kilmore United 3-2 away on Thursday night, the U.14s defeated by Castlebar Celtic 5-0, the U.12A team defeating Swinford 4-1, the U.12B team defeated 2-1 by Kiltimagh/Knock United B and the big news of the week was the U.16 team beating roaring hot favourites Castlebar Celtic 2-1 in the U.16 Cup final in the big upset of the year. Congrats to all. Lotto jackpot is worth a whopping €9,500.:D
Fairkop
26/06/2006, 12:00 PM
The week that was in it saw the ladies defeat Kilmore United 3-2 away on Thursday night, the U.14s defeated by Castlebar Celtic 5-0, the U.12A team defeating Swinford 4-1, the U.12B team defeated 2-1 by Kiltimagh/Knock United B and the big news of the week was the U.16 team beating roaring hot favourites Castlebar Celtic 2-1 in the U.16 Cup final in the big upset of the year. Congrats to all. Lotto jackpot is worth a whopping €9,500.:D
Well done to the under 16`s.great achievement against all the odds.:
renovater
28/06/2006, 8:15 PM
Well done to the under 16`s.great achievement against all the odds.:
Well done to Westport on winning the under 16 cup no one expected Celtic to lose, what a pitty it was poorly suported.
Thunderblaster
30/06/2006, 12:21 AM
The week so far saw this season's U.16 A team get off to a flyer against Manulla, winning 5-0 with Matthew Dempsey netting twice, Philip Keegan, Lewis Cawley and Ciaran O'Reilly scoring. Former Republic of Ireland U.14 international Eoin Torpey is now playing for the team.
The lotto now stands at an incredible €9,700!!:eek: :D
Juniors beat Manulla 1-0 in the AIB Cup with Brian Fahy scoring and Lovejoy was suspended. Westport had plenty of chances but Braveheart Wallace kept Westport in it with a terrific second half save.
Haven't heard any other underage results.
There is a 5 a side tournament starting in McConville Park next month in memory of Ed Hopkins, former chairman of the McConville Park Committee. The tourney is organised by Ronnie Ring, John Duffy and Ollie Hopkins.
Thunderblaster
03/07/2006, 10:52 PM
The U.12s were beaten 4-1 at home by Castlebar Celtic B in the cup on Friday night!!:eek: Admittedly, Celtic B are a good team and when the squads combine for the external cups later, Celtic would have to be fancied for the FCS Connacht U.12 Cup and a good run to the business end of the SFAI Norton Cup.
Club lotto was not won. Now €9,900!!:D
Cam, Gerry and Vinny took part in Regional Trials for the Irish Amateur Squad on Saturday in Sligo. Heard that all played well and that the future British Prime Minister scored (Blair must be quaking in his boots!!:D ).
Thunderblaster
10/07/2006, 5:37 PM
Mixed week on the underage scene, a few wins and a couple of defeats. Juniors beat Manulla 3-2 and were lucky at the end. The B team drew 2-2 with Fahy Rovers. The Club Lotto now stands at a whopping, mind boggling, thunderous €10,100!!:eek: :D Yours truly did the Kick Start 2 Course over the weekend.:p. The U.18s are looking for recruits and anyone interested are advised to get in touch with Sean McLoughlin and Jim Cameron. Also, get well soon to Westport United U.16 footballer, C.Quinn.
Thunderblaster
12/07/2006, 5:45 PM
Today is the 11th anniversary of a special goal scored by the legendary Bobby "Roberto Baggio" Walsh. Westport United were playing Claremorris away in a top of the table league match and with the score at 1-1 in the last minute, Martin "Sparky" Halpin crossed from the left, everybody missed the ball but Walsh came rushing in and connected beautifully with the head to send a bullet from the penalty spot into the back of the net.:D There was a back page spread about the goal on the Mayo News the following Wednesday.:D
Local scout
17/07/2006, 7:50 AM
Today is the 11th anniversary of a special goal scored by the legendary Bobby "Roberto Baggio" Walsh. Westport United were playing Claremorris away in a top of the table league match and with the score at 1-1 in the last minute, Martin "Sparky" Halpin crossed from the left, everybody missed the ball but Walsh came rushing in and connected beautifully with the head to send a bullet from the penalty spot into the back of the net.:D There was a back page spread about the goal on the Mayo News the following Wednesday.:D
Are you for real?
Thunderblaster
17/07/2006, 11:29 PM
Are you for real?
No, I'm fake!!:D :D :D
Thunderblaster
24/07/2006, 11:05 PM
Underage results were pretty mixed, the main talking point is the under 14C team that are basically U.13 kids that have cut down their losing margins down to more respectable scorelines and they played into the face of adversity all season. Junior B team's win away to Swinford on Thursday evening was special as it means another cup final and the game had to be transferred to Swinford. Won 4-2 with goals from Colin Cameron, Lee Keegan (2) and Seamus Higgins and it sets the team up nicely for the final against Killala. The juniors defeated Snugboro 3-0 without breaking sweat. Gerry McLoughlin netted twice and Brian Kennedy netted. Michael Wallace pulled off a terrific penalty save against his former club. The juniors are home to Erris United in the AIB Cup semi final on Thursday evening but the game has to be played in Milebush. They are at home to Ballyglass in the league on Saturday evening while the B team are away to Conn Rangers on Sunday.
The Ed Hopkins memorial cup is getting into the business stages of the competition. A lot of lopsided results but there is a team made up of Brazilians in it. Didn't make it out of the group however. The final is down for Friday night and the Presentation takes place in Walsh's pub, Mill Street afterwards.
There is talk of a Slovakian keeper joining the club, interesting times ahead. Heard on the grapevine that he is meant to be big, brave and agile.
Lotto still not won. Jackpot now worth €10,500.
Sean Davis soccer camp was held in McConville Park last week and there was 158 boys and girls taking part.
Thunderblaster
29/07/2006, 11:52 AM
Westport United beat Erris United 2-0 AET on Thursday night. Dave Horkan and Gerry McLoughlin both netted in each period with the latter smacking a spectacular volley. Played the ball on the deck and Gerry made the difference when he came in. Roll on Ballina Town in the semi final.
Thunderblaster
29/07/2006, 11:55 AM
The Asgard Rovers defeated The Chieftains 4-1 in the final of the Ed Hopkins tournament. Ger McGreevy got the Golden Boot and Micheal Gibbons got Player of the Tournament. All monies raised went to the Heart and Lung foundation.
Thunderblaster
30/07/2006, 8:19 PM
A great win for the boys last night against Ballyglass. Dave Horkan opened the scoring and Gerry McLoughlin made it 2-0. Ballyglass got one back before the break from a corner that never was.:eek: It was not all doom and gloom however as David Cameron, just back from vacation, made it 3-1. Dessie O'Malley made it 4-1 with a thunderblaster. Lovejoy is out for a month through injury. It was a good performance and the flags fluttered well in the Holy Temple. Cup semi final on Sunday afternoon at 2:30 against Ballina Town in the Holy Temple. Shall be interesting.
The B team suffered a shocking 2-1 loss to Conn Rangers, a result that was not helped by the fact that most of the strikeforce are on vacation. Danny Murphy lookalike, Stephen Cowley, netted the equaliser. The B team are at "home" to Castlebar Celtic B on Thursday night at 7:00 but owing to the situation in the Sports Park on Thursday evenings, the game will be played elsewhere.
Was chatting to Leo Finn of O'Donnell's pub in Gort recently and he is asking for all the Westport United faithful!!:D
Proud cove
31/07/2006, 8:28 AM
Anyone got any info on what's happening between WUFC and WAC, seems crazy that Utd have to play important games away from home. Are there any moves being made to sort it out?
Thunderblaster
02/08/2006, 6:34 PM
WAC sought a court injunction a number of weeks ago to prevent WUFC from playing on their training nights. The injunction was granted and subsequent hearings had the matter adjourned on each occasion. The case is adjourned again until a later date and I'm not inviting further discussion on this out of potential repercussions in any future case on this matter.
Thunderblaster
03/08/2006, 10:08 PM
Westport United B beat Castlebar Celtic B 1-0 tonight with a Joe Kelly volley. The game was played in Milebush Park and there was a good Glenhest contingent at the game. A couple of the kids impressed as subs tonight with L. Beirne tricky and C. Ryder pacey.
Thunderblaster
07/08/2006, 10:24 AM
Westport United made it to the AIB Cup final after defeating Ballina Town 4-3 on penalties. Westport went 2-0 up through Danny Scahill and Brian Fahy before Ballina made it 2-2. Penalty heroes were David "Spiderman" or "Crouch" Hoban in goal, Brian Kenno, Dessie, Gerry and Cam. Game was a real cup tie before a crowd of approx 200; very passionate. The match officials came in for a lot of stick from the crowd and the story is that the club may be reported to the Mayo League as a consequence. The two sending offs were baffling. I did not see David Horkan's tackle but the word was that it did not warrant anymore than a booking. However, the sending off of Levi Tierney was somewhat absurd. I didn't see him do anything to warrant a red card. Leo Tierney's anger after the game was justified IMO.
Roll on Castlebar Celtic on August 27th!!:D Classic Cup Final!!:D
T-19:D
Proud cove
07/08/2006, 10:46 AM
Who was the ref and who were his linesmen? Surprised to hear about David Horkan sent off, he's hardly a malicious player. Good to get to the final though, should be a good day out against our good friends.
Thunderblaster
11/08/2006, 4:42 PM
Who was the ref and who were his linesmen?
Damien McGrath was the man in the middle. Jimmy Blake and Liam McEntee were the two assistant referees.
T-17:D
11/08/2006, 4:47 PM
Is counting down to your 1000th post really necessary?:rolleyes::D
renovater
13/08/2006, 6:39 PM
Damien McGrath was the man in the middle. Jimmy Blake and Liam McEntee were the two assistant referees.
T-17:D
mover over steve mc Queen last saturday evening you pulled off your own great escape.
title must be sliping from your grasp, and heading down to the capital of Mayo
castlebar celtic. having taken 6 pionts in the last two games. the gray one will be the happier manager when he comes back from hoildays.
good luck to 1000 :)
Thunderblaster
14/08/2006, 12:33 AM
Is counting down to your 1000th post really necessary?:rolleyes::D
Ara bejaysus, welcome back!! Long time no post!! Really looking forward to the elusive 1,000th post and I'm on the first team. Will be celebrating it by singing Old Lang Syne and getting plastered in the alehouse!! I was actually waiting for a comment on the countdown!!
T-16:D
Thunderblaster
14/08/2006, 12:38 AM
mover over steve mc Queen last saturday evening you pulled off your own great escape.
title must be sliping from your grasp, and heading down to the capital of Mayo
castlebar celtic. having taken 6 pionts in the last two games. the gray one will be the happier manager when he comes back from hoildays.
good luck to 1000 :)
It is up to Celtic to see whether they can handle the pressure. The League is within their own hands but the big question is, can they do it psychologically? There could be an element of doubt in their mind. They can physically do it, but mental aptitude on the pitch is a different game. The ability to perform under serious pressure to deliver the goods will come under severe scrutiny from all and sundry.
T-15:D
Local scout
14/08/2006, 2:20 PM
It is up to Celtic to see whether they can handle the pressure. The League is within their own hands but the big question is, can they do it psychologically? There could be an element of doubt in their mind. They can physically do it, but mental aptitude on the pitch is a different game. The ability to perform under serious pressure to deliver the goods will come under severe scrutiny from all and sundry.
dont westport and celtic have to play each other twice yet?
its not over by a long shot.
Bestie
14/08/2006, 7:05 PM
dont westport and celtic have to play each other twice yet?
its not over by a long shot.
Yes there will be three great games to look forward to over the next few weeks between Celtic and The Port (2 in the league and the cup final). From recent reports it seems that both sides have been short a number of regular players and maybe both sides are not showing their true form. Lets hope both teams along with Erris and Ballina Town remain in contention, and then we will have a great battle in the final weeks.
renovater
17/08/2006, 7:59 PM
Alot of what you say is right but phsychologically applys to all teams with a burning ambition to win leagues the same may be said of Westport.Is there an element of doubt in there camp.
One thing is for sure if Celtic win there games in hand no one will stop them.
renovater
17/08/2006, 8:03 PM
Yes there will be three great games to look forward to over the next few weeks between Celtic and The Port (2 in the league and the cup final). From recent reports it seems that both sides have been short a number of regular players and maybe both sides are not showing their true form. Lets hope both teams along with Erris and Ballina Town remain in contention, and then we will have a great battle in the final weeks.
written like a true paper man:)
Bestie
17/08/2006, 10:05 PM
Like most posts on this thread and others, you have got this wrong as well.