View Full Version : Westport United FC
Thunderblaster
01/09/2008, 8:23 PM
Congrats to the U.10s on winning the Eamon and Teresa Duffy Memorial Cup yesterday, beating Castlebar Celtic 3-2 after extra time in a pulsating final.:D
Leveller
02/09/2008, 9:07 AM
Its payback time! The season is over, where do I start?
Leveller
02/09/2008, 9:16 AM
Was at the game yesterday and thought that the Port are gone well back
The Heane started well and were on top for the first 30 but then the Port got the ball down and started to take control. In fact they totally dominated the last Ten. Although in fairness the keepers had little to do.
A good few regulars missing for the Port and the back ups dont seem quite good enough just yet. Coyne and Conroy both out missing through injury for the Heane but Chris and Mark filled in admirably. Ash also played solidly and held the ball up well.
The Spanish lad introduced by the Port added a little colour to an otherwise dour occasion. The large away support was as vibrant as ever despite the lack of vibrancy on the field.
Heane to finish sixth. The port Third. Relegation decided already..... season over really :D
Wrong! Westport First.
Season over!:D
renovater
02/09/2008, 8:14 PM
Wrong! Westport First.
Season over!:D
You must have dug that one up out archives Thou Mossy is colourful
keith.henn
02/09/2008, 8:49 PM
any word on the fai junior cup draw, iheard it was on tonight
Westport First indeed :cool:
Snuggies fell away and Celtic in transition would be their defence but the Port won by a canter in the end despite an average start. However the Port end of season team does not compare to its initial offerings.
Some of the Players from Westport are excellent but questions remain whether the best players are picked on the day. Certainly there are one or two players that the opposition like to see in the dug out and if this is because they do not train or discipline matters or otherwise then so be it as we as opponents cannot surmise the reason as we are not privy to same.
If so fair play to the management for making these calls :D
'Short term loss long term gain'
Leveller
03/09/2008, 9:44 AM
Westport First indeed :cool:
Snuggies fell away and Celtic in transition would be their defence but the Port won by a canter in the end despite an average start. However the Port end of season team does not compare to its initial offerings.
Some of the Players from Westport are excellent but questions remain whether the best players are picked on the day. Certainly there are one or two players that the opposition like to see in the dug out and if this is because they do not train or discipline matters or otherwise then so be it as we as opponents cannot surmise the reason as we are not privy to same.
If so fair play to the management for making these calls :D
'Short term loss long term gain'
Many of the squad were carrying injuries all season, at times even the bench was pretty bare, many of the players playing were carrying injuries and were hardly training but were playing if they were at all able (D Scathaill, Martin Geraghty, Joe Lawless, Gerry McLoughlin, Dessie OMalley, Martin McGreal, plus all the usual niggles and knocks). This week I believe is the first full fit squad they had all season.:D
Thunderblaster
08/09/2008, 9:12 PM
any word on the fai junior cup draw, iheard it was on tonight
Away to Ballyvary Blue Bombers on October 12th. Last time we played up there, we won 13-0.:eek::D
Thunderblaster
08/09/2008, 9:13 PM
Big game in the Sports Park on Saturday when Westport United takes on Westport United in the quarter final of the Mayo U.16 Cup.:confused: Do not adjust your computer; it is the A team against the B team!!:D Wonder who should we cheer on then?:confused:
The A team beat the B team 3-1.
thunderblaster your talkin to yourself again......... thats becoming a bit of a problem for you.............
Cloggs
10/09/2008, 6:01 PM
thunderblaster your talkin to yourself again......... thats becoming a bit of a problem for you.............
its not the talking to yourself thats the problem-its when you start answering yourself back when you should be getting worried!!:D
Thunderblaster
17/09/2008, 12:17 AM
its not the talking to yourself thats the problem-its when you start answering yourself back when you should be getting worried!!:D
How did Fahy do on Saturday evening??:D
GoodFootball
17/09/2008, 10:10 AM
How did Fahy do on Saturday evening??:D
Quite well I thought! :D
Apart from not finishing the numerous chances we created, I thought we controlled the game ;) Some nice football played at times from both sides, ye have a nice few young lads coming through...
Thunderblaster
17/09/2008, 7:15 PM
ha ha ha!!!:D
Thunderblaster
17/09/2008, 7:15 PM
Next please!!:D:D
Thunderblaster
17/09/2008, 7:16 PM
The Lotto was won again...Sam Walsh walked home with €1500 in his back pocket.
Cloggs
17/09/2008, 9:21 PM
Next please!!:D:D
took a while for that one to sink in!:D
Thunderblaster
21/09/2008, 12:50 PM
The Connacht underage cups kicked off yesterday with the U.12s beating Castlebar Town 6-0 in a reversed fixture. The lads were meant to be at home but the Sports Park was shut down for two weeks. The U.14s beat Moyvilla 9-0 away, the U.16s got a bye while the U.18s got a walkover against Claremorris. How do you fancy Westport's chances in the Connacht and SFAI Cups this year?
Thunderblaster
29/09/2008, 6:35 PM
The Supergaffer's U.13 team beat Iorras Aontaithe 3-1 and the U.15s surprisingly lost 4-1 to Charlestown Ath.
Quinny and Johnny Walsh banged in the goals as Westport C drew 2-2 against Ballyheane B. Heard that the 'Heane scored a goal from a corner that was actually a goal kick. I'm sure that Renovater can explain that on in his most harmonious English!!:D
The Galacticos stuffed Ballinrobe Town 5-0 with the Louisburgh Lion (2), El Matador (2) and Philly grabbing the goals to bring the curtain down on another successful league campaign.
Thunderblaster
03/10/2008, 10:53 PM
Did the Galacticos get a walkover in the FAI Junior Cup?
Fireball
04/10/2008, 1:37 AM
Well, why don't you tell us???
Thunderblaster
05/10/2008, 6:34 PM
Well, why don't you tell us???
I heard a rumour of that nature.
Macc74
06/10/2008, 10:11 AM
You know before anyone because you get the fixtures emailed to you. If we got a walkover, just say it.
Thunderblaster
06/10/2008, 1:53 PM
You know before anyone because you get the fixtures emailed to you. If we got a walkover, just say it.
Email did not come across very clearly on the laptop. A clash of configuration on the program, but it did read like a walkover and I just wanted confirmation on that.
Underage teams did well over the weekend!!:D
swinfordfc
11/10/2008, 12:13 PM
how did the under 16 get on against Snugboro last weekend in the FAI Barry Cup?
Thunderblaster
12/10/2008, 7:13 PM
how did the under 16 get on against Snugboro last weekend in the FAI Barry Cup?
4-0 to Westport.
swinfordfc
12/10/2008, 9:53 PM
4-0 to Westport.
who have ye next and who ye playing in the connacht next week?
Thunderblaster
14/10/2008, 7:23 PM
who have ye next and who ye playing in the connacht next week?
U.12s home to Ballinrobe Town
U.14s home to Ballisodare Utd
U.16s away to Ballina Town
U.18s home to Corrib Celtic
I saw the SFAI draws but I lost that email.
swinfordfc
15/10/2008, 10:29 AM
U.12s home to Ballinrobe Town
U.14s home to Ballisodare Utd
U.16s away to Ballina Town
U.18s home to Corrib Celtic
I saw the SFAI draws but I lost that email.
Cheers,
we're home to Athenry in the U.16s on Saturday
Thunderblaster
15/10/2008, 11:33 PM
Boys and girls, what do you think of the new hoodies?
swinfordfc
19/10/2008, 4:30 PM
Cheers,
we're home to Athenry in the U.16s on Saturday
How did ye get on against the Ballina under 16's last saturday?
Thunderblaster
19/10/2008, 6:29 PM
How did ye get on against the Ballina under 16's last saturday?
Connacht Cup results:
U.12s: Westport United 1-4 Ballinrobe Town
U.14s: Westport United 7-1 Ballisodare United
U.16s: Ballina Town 3-0 Westport United (AET)
U.18s: Westport United 0-2 Corrib Rangers
Thunderblaster
19/10/2008, 6:47 PM
Westport United V Ballina Town or Inver United.
Winners away to Moy Villa or Mulranny United.
Looking at the top draw, omen or what?:D
Thunderblaster
21/10/2008, 7:34 PM
Westport United V Castlebar Celtic in the U.18 FAI Cup on Saturday at 2:00 in the Sports Park.
Castlebar Celtic V Westport United in the Mayo U.16 Cup semi final on Sunday at 2:00 in Celtic Park. Would be nice to see a Covey victory in both games but my head suggests that both sides are really up against it.
Reading the Westport/Celtic stuff on the Ballyheane thread, I am very proud of Westport United but there are a couple of points that I read and I feel that there is no choice but swallow our pride. We cannot be using the same mantra "we won the FAI Junior Cup" in every argument.....it sounds like a worn out record player. The only ways we will get ahead of Castlebar Celtic is to work twice as hard with our young players in our coaching and development. Leveller used the argument on population. Corrib Celtic, who beat our U.18s comes from Annaghdown, hardly a big town and Ballinrobe Town beat our U.12s, another area with a smaller population base than Westport. Kiltimagh/Knock United, who does well in competitions, also do not come from towns bigger than Westport. Quality of coaching beats population figures any day. We could say that the World Cup final should be China v India on population figures alone. This Celtic/Westport argument needs a broader-minded discussion.
kingkong
21/10/2008, 8:39 PM
good point.i belive eleven a side matches should not start untill under 13 and before that they should be an 8 a side league. In training they should not go straight into a match but rather do technique drills and a have a match at the end.
threefivetwo
23/10/2008, 10:04 AM
Westport United V Castlebar Celtic in the U.18 FAI Cup on Saturday at 2:00 in the Sports Park.
Castlebar Celtic V Westport United in the Mayo U.16 Cup semi final on Sunday at 2:00 in Celtic Park. Would be nice to see a Covey victory in both games but my head suggests that both sides are really up against it.
Reading the Westport/Celtic stuff on the Ballyheane thread, I am very proud of Westport United but there are a couple of points that I read and I feel that there is no choice but swallow our pride. We cannot be using the same mantra "we won the FAI Junior Cup" in every argument.....it sounds like a worn out record player. The only ways we will get ahead of Castlebar Celtic is to work twice as hard with our young players in our coaching and development. Leveller used the argument on population. Corrib Celtic, who beat our U.18s comes from Annaghdown, hardly a big town and Ballinrobe Town beat our U.12s, another area with a smaller population base than Westport. Kiltimagh/Knock United, who does well in competitions, also do not come from towns bigger than Westport. Quality of coaching beats population figures any day. We could say that the World Cup final should be China v India on population figures alone. This Celtic/Westport argument needs a broader-minded discussion.
well said, hopefully all this arguing can stop now so, childish stuff!!!! both teams have quality teams, full stop!!!! either team could beat the other team on the day!!
Leveller
23/10/2008, 10:51 AM
well said, hopefully all this arguing can stop now so, childish stuff!!!! both teams have quality teams, full stop!!!! either team could beat the other team on the day!!
Chill out. Easy on the punctuation.:D
Thunderblaster
23/10/2008, 11:32 PM
The Galacticos make the pilgrimage to Inver United on the 30th November in the third round of the Connacht Cup. This is the time to end the famine and hurt of no Connacht Cup success. Go baby, go!!!
Cloggs
24/10/2008, 12:38 PM
The Galacticos make the pilgrimage to Inver United on the 30th November in the third round of the Connacht Cup. This is the time to end the famine and hurt of no Connacht Cup success. Go baby, go!!!
presumably yee'll be wary of them especially at their home patch?
Thunderblaster
24/10/2008, 1:42 PM
presumably yee'll be wary of them especially at their home patch?
We got them on the fourth anniversary of our previous visit to them. We got out of jail that time.
Thunderblaster
27/10/2008, 11:26 AM
U.18s didn't play, the U.13s beat Willow Park 3-1 and the U.16s were beaten by Castlebar Celtic.
threefivetwo
30/10/2008, 1:00 PM
do ye know who's on the oscar traynor from westport lads?
threefivetwo
30/10/2008, 1:02 PM
leveller, whats a short name or nickname for an electrician??
GoodFootball
30/10/2008, 2:09 PM
Probably about 5 and then 6 from Celtic, thats normally the way he does it anyway, nothing has changed this year id say
theboy
30/10/2008, 3:06 PM
Probably about 5 and then 6 from Celtic, thats normally the way he does it anyway, nothing has changed this year id say
there first game is on the 16th of nov, so id say the squad will be named soon enough. any thoughts on who'll be in it??
threefivetwo
30/10/2008, 3:21 PM
i know 4 celtic lads anyway, can't really say who they are yet, there will probably be 1 r 2 more. no keeper has really shined in the league this year, who'll get the keeper spot?
theboy
30/10/2008, 3:43 PM
i know 4 celtic lads anyway, can't really say who they are yet, there will probably be 1 r 2 more. no keeper has really shined in the league this year, who'll get the keeper spot?
Think thats goin to be the hardest spot to fill.
GoodFootball
30/10/2008, 3:59 PM
Think thats goin to be the hardest spot to fill.
Each club nominates its best players, they go for 1 day trial over in milebush, split it down further, have a 2nd trial following week and name a panel. Doesn't take much organisation and it should be forced on the manager to do it this way...he picks who he wants then but at least everyone can try to impress whose good enough!
If you ask me Oscar Traynor is the pick of the top 4 clubs in the super league with about 2 or 3 players from outside...has been for as long as ive followed it...its a fcukin disgrace!
threefivetwo
30/10/2008, 4:48 PM
all players and most teams have been watched it's not just the big teams, if a player is playing good enough and is better than any of the players that are picked they will be noticed obviously. i don't know if you agree i'm just giving my opinion!!
Thunderblaster
30/10/2008, 11:29 PM
Scah, Gerry, Lovejoy, Louisburgh Lion and Flawless.