View Full Version : Westport United FC

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37

swift
29/10/2007, 11:09 PM
He got more pride than that, he never join Westport in a month of sundays.
His boss would not stoop that low, or even question da celt.
He works for him not own him.:o

Listen here renovater i have it from a good source that is the truth. He did a blinding interview and that was the choice he had to make, Hogs or Westport and his main job won out. So dont come on here with that sort of English, at least have some intelligence about it. Maybe some of the crap you are cleaning out of those beer lines is starting to affect your "brain".

Leveller
30/10/2007, 10:26 AM
I dont think the dynamic duo will be able to take up the offer either, not this season anyway. I believe KC will stay and try to get the gaelic team up. They were threatening to get themselves relegated for the last few years, if they had stayed up he would have left.

the grape vine
30/10/2007, 10:44 AM
its definatly not kilkelly. i'm led to believe his boss that he works for wanted a guarantee that the bar would not suffer from him being manager of westport ad he could not give him the assurance so he has pulled out. otherwise he was a shoe-in

if the people in celtic are so concerned about DK taking the westport job, why wont they give him a post in there club,if they rate him that highly??

renovater
30/10/2007, 3:28 PM
Listen here renovater i have it from a good source that is the truth. He did a blinding interview and that was the choice he had to make, Hogs or Westport and his main job won out. So dont come on here with that sort of English, at least have some intelligence about it. Maybe some of the crap you are cleaning out of those beer lines is starting to affect your "brain".
now now swift don't stoop so low and attack me with your low life comments. What grounds have you to say It was boss or Westport, are you trying to cover up. Who want a poison chalice. regards to your source, its not him is saying it. its you. what he say to you private, and public are two differant things.

renovater
30/10/2007, 3:30 PM
if the people in celtic are so concerned about DK taking the westport job, why wont they give him a post in there club,if they rate him that highly??
Has'nt he got the Mayo Job

hardcore
30/10/2007, 5:34 PM
now now swift don't stoop so low and attack me with your low life comments. What grounds have you to say It was boss or Westport, are you trying to cover up. Who want a poison chalice. regards to your source, its not him is saying it. its you. what he say to you private, and public are two differant things.

Stop your ramblings. You dont have a monopoly on any "rumours" or truths. Swift is merely informing any reader of what he's heard. Dont attack him for it. (and if you are, try to make some sense. not the first time i've said this-Learn to spell!)

hardcore
30/10/2007, 5:35 PM
Has'nt he got the Mayo Job

What does that matter? Its not full-time.

hardcore
30/10/2007, 5:43 PM
[quote=terrier;803139]
I would be talking from experience regarding the matter J.M. he even let me down, so I can understand why the com, would have no faith in him.He would struggle to get any referance's from me or M.U-16 OR even R.D.O.

Would these be written "Referance's"??? Hope he would'nt have to rely on those to get a position. Most employers in this country speak in english.

Thunderblaster
30/10/2007, 9:41 PM
Hot off the press!! The news has come through that the new manager of Westport United has been appointed and I'm sure that he is formally informed at this point, or they for that matter. The appointment is local and even a no-brainer could work out who got the job.

Leveller
31/10/2007, 8:11 AM

I cant see where DK is going to get the grief from in cbar, because you have no fans. You could only muster a paltry thirty or so fans for your cup final. If all these bar stool moaners got off their high stools and went out supported their club they would be better off. What a load of rubbish.

Leveller
31/10/2007, 8:20 AM
Hot off the press!! The news has come through that the new manager of Westport United has been appointed and I'm sure that he is formally informed at this point, or they for that matter. The appointment is local and even a no-brainer could work out who got the job.

Is it a he or they?

Closing Time
31/10/2007, 9:51 AM
I cant see where DK is going to get the grief from in cbar, because you have no fans. You could only muster a paltry thirty or so fans for your cup final. If all these bar stool moaners got off their high stools and went out supported their club they would be better off. What a load of rubbish.
Celtic supporters have lost their interest in the very poor standard of Mayo junior football (getting worse by the year, Utd won the league playing at 60% & will win next season at 50% if Celtic show the same lack of interest as this year) and perfer to watch quality football teams playing in the Eircom U-21 League. On on our best day we would not match the numbers that support Utd but we will keep plugging away and were happy with the increase in numbers at the U-21 games. Hoping for bigger crowds next year for the U-20 league.

Closing Time
31/10/2007, 10:01 AM
TB what is the story with your excellent web site. It is only up dated with PB articles. No info on youth games or what is happening in the club. Maybe I am looking in the wrong section. Its a pity as its a great site. I really enjoyed the well written youth history section. Need more up dates to let us all know whats going on at Utd.

quay heart
31/10/2007, 11:07 AM
pb and kc back in charge of utd.while im glad its local its a step back.kc has been in charge of utd now 3 times,pb will start his 4th term now.utd are stuck in limbo living on past glories why did these men leave their posts before? nothing has changed.utd need a new committee.i shall listen at next game for crys of sack the board :(

quay heart
31/10/2007, 11:18 AM
also i wish too address a comment by renovator about jm.i belive he lacks confidence the way utd treated him was appaling.the youth of the town adore him and his coaching methods.my son would travel to any club where he was in charge.i hope someone out there gives him a break at a junior club because he can do well.

Leveller
31/10/2007, 4:14 PM
pb and kc back in charge of utd.while im glad its local its a step back.kc has been in charge of utd now 3 times,pb will start his 4th term now.utd are stuck in limbo living on past glories why did these men leave their posts before? nothing has changed.utd need a new committee.i shall listen at next game for crys of sack the board :(

Do you ever give up?
How long has Alex Ferguson been in charge of Man United? How successful is he?
You are a typical covey moaner, and there are plenty like you in the town who just moan and do little else for the club, if people like you were at the helm all we would have is debate after debate without anything getting done. You will always look on the negative side of things no matter what.

PB won the U18 Connacht Championship in 1989, and with KC he has won superleagues domestic cups and the Junior Cup.

It wasnt just luck by the way that won the Junior Cup, contrary to what some former greats at the club have said (they are jealous that they did not win it themselves), it was a quality team and good management and hard work. Nothing is good enough for some people.

PB had to give up the post due to family circumstances (and you know well what I am talking about), Kevin needed a rest considering all that they done and with work and their family commitments do you blame them?

They are the best candidates for the job by a country mile. Everyone is delighted they are back with the exception of yourself and others like you, you should go over and join the moaners for a drink in the Hogs (different supporters same attitude).

As for cries of sacking the board? You better turn your hearing aid up to 11.

FahyForever
31/10/2007, 4:42 PM
Lads, can anyone tell me whether Danny Scahill and Gerrry Mc Loughlin will be on the Westport United squad for the crunch match with Fahy Rovers in the 11th? I heard they were both sent registration forms when they were in Oz and are now eligible. Heard Dave Horkan will be playing too. Any truth in this do you reckon? Those players would certainly be of great benefit to the team if so. Although it would be tough for whichever lads missed out on the chance to win the title on their home ground. There should be a big crowd there anyway, as long as the A team are not playing at the same time.

Thunderblaster
31/10/2007, 5:07 PM
Is it a he or they?

They. The two men that can be compared to Jesus Christ in footballing terms in Westport. The two legends.

Thunderblaster
31/10/2007, 5:11 PM
i shall listen at next game for crys of sack the board :(

If people wants the committee to step aside, they ought to canvass replacements and put their names forward. Rewind back to 2005; TT and MK both agreed to become chairman and secretary, respectively, two months after the AGM because no one else wanted to take them two posts at the original meeting.

Thunderblaster
31/10/2007, 5:13 PM
Lads, can anyone tell me whether Danny Scahill and Gerrry Mc Loughlin will be on the Westport United squad for the crunch match with Fahy Rovers in the 11th? I heard they were both sent registration forms when they were in Oz and are now eligible. Heard Dave Horkan will be playing too. Any truth in this do you reckon? Those players would certainly be of great benefit to the team if so. Although it would be tough for whichever lads missed out on the chance to win the title on their home ground. There should be a big crowd there anyway, as long as the A team are not playing at the same time.

It shall be an interesting contest between Westport's ball mastery:D and Fahy's "Thunder Football"!!:eek::D

Thunderblaster
31/10/2007, 5:17 PM
TB what is the story with your excellent web site. It is only up dated with PB articles. No info on youth games or what is happening in the club. Maybe I am looking in the wrong section. Its a pity as its a great site. I really enjoyed the well written youth history section. Need more up dates to let us all know whats going on at Utd.

I don't think most of the underage managers furnish match reports to the website, apart from KG with his team.

r.rover
01/11/2007, 10:11 AM
It shall be an interesting contest between Westport's ball mastery:D and Fahy's "Thunder Football"!!:eek::D

this "thunder football" you speak of leaves us unbeatin in 5 games against ye, so maybe ya shudnt mock it!!

Closing Time
01/11/2007, 12:05 PM
Saw both sides this year and will be evenly matched. But if Utd play DH, JMcL & DS the league should be Westports, it might make up for the loss to Celtic in the AIB cup final but I don't think so.

kennedmc
01/11/2007, 12:05 PM
Gents,

apologies this is slightly off topic but it does relate to Westport and Football! Myself and about 10 friends are going down for a weekend in a couple of weeks time and we are trying to look for a pitch so we can play a game of 5 or 6 a side amongst ourselves - sweat out the beers.

I am pretty sure there is no astroturf pitches in Westport (closest is castlebar I believe) but is there any 5 / 6 side pitchs that are available to rent for an hour?

A friend of mine showed me a map that said six a side pitch kind of below the harbour area - Any help greatly appreciated?

Thanks
Michael

quay heart
01/11/2007, 5:16 PM
[QUOTE=Leveller;804470]Do you ever give up?
correct me if im wrong but the great sir alex didnt take breaks for a rest or when the going got tough.im well aware of pb,s problems and he cant possibly give100% to the soccer.i wouldnt expect him to.kc has done a runner from our gaa team because things got too tough.boc was the worst coach in westport since paul bourke but he even won the double with this team.this current group of players are the best in utd history anyone could win trophys with them.as for the board they dont do away games no monies in it for them.never mind the fact none of them played the game.

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 6:47 PM
as for the board they dont do away games no monies in it for them.never mind the fact none of them played the game.

As far as I'm aware, AK played in the local leagues in the 1950's, DL played in Dublin, for Claremorris (and once got a hat trick against WUFC at the ripe old age of 40) and the B team, and FG played for Glasnevin FC during the 1980's.

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 6:51 PM
Gents,

apologies this is slightly off topic but it does relate to Westport and Football! Myself and about 10 friends are going down for a weekend in a couple of weeks time and we are trying to look for a pitch so we can play a game of 5 or 6 a side amongst ourselves - sweat out the beers.

I am pretty sure there is no astroturf pitches in Westport (closest is castlebar I believe) but is there any 5 / 6 side pitchs that are available to rent for an hour?

A friend of mine showed me a map that said six a side pitch kind of below the harbour area - Any help greatly appreciated?

Thanks
Michael

There is McConville Park, which is closer to town, at the back of an old housing estate beside the Leenane Road.

Closing Time
01/11/2007, 7:06 PM
[QUOTE=Leveller;804470]Do you ever give up?
correct me if im wrong but the great sir alex didnt take breaks for a rest or when the going got tough.im well aware of pb,s problems and he cant possibly give100% to the soccer.i wouldnt expect him to.kc has done a runner from our gaa team because things got too tough.boc was the worst coach in westport since paul bourke but he even won the double with this team.this current group of players are the best in utd history anyone could win trophys with them.as for the board they dont do away games no monies in it for them.never mind the fact none of them played the game.

QH, Yes anyone could have managed this group of players to win the Mayo League but this is not good enough anymore for Celtic or Utd, the real question is, can this group of players get back to the level they were at in 2005 and what I have seen this year I can not see it, maybe the dream team will be able to do it. I was surprised that kc left the GAA after getting them demoated out of Senior football, I would say a lot of unhappy GAA folk in Westport, that can't be a bad thing can it? As for your silly point of having to be footballer to run a club is madness. What is required is a mix of people from various back grounds.

kennedmc
01/11/2007, 7:13 PM
There is McConville Park, which is closer to town, at the back of an old housing estate beside the Leenane Road.

Cheers - is that just a public park ot a sports complex or something - what kind of pitches are there?

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 7:38 PM
Cheers - is that just a public park ot a sports complex or something - what kind of pitches are there?

Town Council own it. It is one seven a side grass pitch with a clubhouse that is closed, only used for a playgroup these days. No floodlights.

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 7:41 PM
What is required is a mix of people from various back grounds.

Particularly of a business, secretarial/clerical or educated background.

kennedmc
01/11/2007, 7:50 PM
Town Council own it. It is one seven a side grass pitch with a clubhouse that is closed, only used for a playgroup these days. No floodlights.

THanks for the help - one last question!! - do you need to book it?

Cheers

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 8:11 PM
THanks for the help - one last question!! - do you need to book it?

Cheers

It is largely unused and most people never ask. Might be no harm as a gesture to inform Brendan Mulroy. I don't have a phone number for him but if you correspond through Westport Civic Offices, Altamont Street, Westport, I'm sure he will help you.

kennedmc
01/11/2007, 8:22 PM
Brilliant - thanks again for all the help!! :)
I copied the info from this thread if somebody wants to remove the offi topics bits thats fine

renovater
01/11/2007, 8:52 PM
Stop your ramblings. You dont have a monopoly on any "rumours" or truths. Swift is merely informing any reader of what he's heard. Dont attack him for it. (and if you are, try to make some sense. not the first time i've said this-Learn to spell!)
when someone finds fault you attack them rambling no.you can't inform something unless its based on fact, not fiction.
If there was any truth in the ramblings of his job. Then he would have a case for unfair dismissal, I don't think any employer would like to go down that road.

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 8:56 PM
when someone finds fault you attack them rambling no.you can't inform something unless its based on fact, not fiction.
If there was any truth in the ramblings of his job. Then he would have a case for unfair dismissal, I don't think any employer would like to go down that road.

I'm a little bit lost here!!

renovater
01/11/2007, 9:00 PM
What does that matter? Its not full-time.
Now look who is rambling now. Are you trying to tell us that the Westport job is full time, I doubt this to be the case. All these football jobs are on a part time basics with expenses, I doubt Westport is any differant.

terrier
01/11/2007, 9:01 PM
qh please stop.this is getting mad.these threads are great fun but some are crossing the line to insult people a lot of it is hurtfull.ive had things said about me this week and its not nice.we can all have a bit off rowling without this messing.pb and kc are friends of mine and it was an honour to come 2nd to them in interviews.they are class coaches and be honest the correct appointments records prove it.the com. threated me with nothing but respect during interviews at the end of the day none off them are getting paid.cs keep up the rowling your what makes the site entertaining.

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 9:04 PM
Are you trying to tell us that the Westport job is full time,

A question ends with a question mark, not a comma!!;):eek::D

terrier
01/11/2007, 9:05 PM
sorry ive turned in to reno,cs should have been ct.closing time.

Thunderblaster
01/11/2007, 9:13 PM
qh please stop.this is getting mad.these threads are great fun but some are crossing the line to insult people a lot of it is hurtfull.ive had things said about me this week and its not nice.we can all have a bit off rowling without this messing.pb and kc are friends of mine and it was an honour to come 2nd to them in interviews.they are class coaches and be honest the correct appointments records prove it.the com. threated me with nothing but respect during interviews at the end of the day none off them are getting paid.cs keep up the rowling your what makes the site entertaining.

The appointment has been made with widespread approval around Westport and once the two boys gets their teeth into it, we will be flying into more silverware again. Remember, when we won the FAI Junior Cup, our earlier rounds weren't exactly hot at the time but from the Leeside game, we showed our authority. Same could happen again in either of our two external competitions. The squad is better than 30 months ago.

Leveller
01/11/2007, 10:23 PM
[quote=Leveller;804470]Do you ever give up?
Alex Ferguson is a full time manager as his career. The boys are part time, a big difference. As for KC, the gaa team is crap, I have watched them play, there is nothing he could do with them players, in fact I am confident that the WUnited first team would beat them in a game of gaa as many of them were good gaa players as well.

Speaking of doing runners......

Leveller
01/11/2007, 10:28 PM
As far as I'm aware, AK played in the local leagues in the 1950's, DL played in Dublin, for Claremorris (and once got a hat trick against WUFC at the ripe old age of 40) and the B team, and FG played for Glasnevin FC during the 1980's.

Good on you Thunder! AK was a fulback, and I am sure that FG was a great target man!

Leveller
01/11/2007, 10:32 PM
Brilliant - thanks again for all the help!! :)
I copied the info from this thread if somebody wants to remove the offi topics bits thats fine

We might have a game on that weekend, you guys should come along if there is one on. We can keep you posted or check our website www.westportunited.com (http://www.westportunited.com)

juan pablo
02/11/2007, 11:51 AM
Just wondering how are Westport 'B' all set for that title match against local rivals 'Fahy'

Hear a few familiar faces are returning from America.

Leveller
02/11/2007, 1:41 PM
Just wondering how are Westport 'B' all set for that title match against local rivals 'Fahy'

Hear a few familiar faces are returning from America.

It is going to be a typical cup final, with the long time gap since the last game, form goes out the window, we will see what happens on the day. There are lads back from travelling, but whether they play is another question, I would say DL will stick to the lads who have been playing all season, and maybe spring these lads from the bench if needed.

renovater
02/11/2007, 6:18 PM
I'm a little bit lost here!!
Dont worry the real thread bearer will understand what it means.

renovater
02/11/2007, 6:22 PM
Your dead right j.m even I over step, but not ment to be untastedful, I was look n on the funie side.:p

Thunderblaster
05/11/2007, 10:26 PM
After that grinding 1-0 win over S&F with Bourkie scoring, the 3 in 1 Oil was applied to the mechanisms that run the famous junior team and the iconic saints returned to the dugout against Kiltimagh/Knock United. Westport finally started to play the slick football that was devoid for a very long time and there were some welcome faces back. We cruised it 9-1 with the Louisburgh Lion bagging FIVE goals, Spiderman grabbing a brace and one each for Gerry and Lovejoy. The word is that the mean machine is ready to roll and the opposition will quake in their boots.:D

Thunderblaster
05/11/2007, 10:29 PM
Not such a good weekend for the kids with the U.18's losing 4-2 to Corrib Celtic and the U.16's losing 3-1 to Kilmurray in the U.16 Mayo Cup Semi Final.

The U.12's have a trip to Sligo coming up. The coach of Ballygawley/Innisfree is a close buddy of the Westport United Youth Co-ordinator!!:eek::D