View Full Version : Westport United FC

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37

jackd
13/10/2007, 6:18 PM
Well lets get on with the football, We have a massive game tomorrow against S + F which we have to win.
anyone any idea of possible starting team
are Danny + Gerry going be far off the first team with coming back yesterday from australia
any idea on a permanent manager

Leveller
13/10/2007, 6:42 PM
Your'e right Jack, it is a massive game tomorrow, I am expecting the lads will have something to prove considering the events of the past week, I think what has happened will galvanise the team. We will see a different Westport tomorrow.

As regards Gerry and Danny, I think once they start training again with the team they will be gradually introduced, they are badly needed.

The job is advertised, so we will have to wait and see, hopefully one of the ususal suspects who have been recently been made jobless will take the post.

I think once the real truth is out to why BOC was removed from his duties (only half the story is public knowledge), they will look at the situation differently, if they are reading this, talk to the club and dont believe all the media coverage.

See you at the game!

renovater
14/10/2007, 2:36 PM
I enjoyed your thread Levy, I hope his psi and contributions are in order, as you described as Westport were the Employers.
However, I do agree don't believe what was written about B.O.C. that he was stabbed in the back.I think local poeple know why he was removed, only to say it was a moral one rather than a football one.J.L. would no what moral grounds are.
Once you cross the line, you no longer have control of the dressing room.
From my point of view from what I have learned, The Club had no Choice but to relieve him of his dutys.Shame on him B.O.C.
I hope he has learned his lesson.

Leveller
14/10/2007, 5:01 PM
I enjoyed your thread Levy, I hope his psi and contributions are in order, as you described as Westport were the Employers.
However, I do agree don't believe what was written about B.O.C. that he was stabbed in the back.I think local poeple know why he was removed, only to say it was a moral one rather than a football one.J.L. would no what moral grounds are.
Once you cross the line, you no longer have control of the dressing room.
From my point of view from what I have learned, The Club had no Choice but to relieve him of his dutys.Shame on him B.O.C.
I hope he has learned his lesson.

Thanks for that Reno, the word is out and people know what the story is as regards his departure. It has been a long 10 days for some people at the club, people at the club and team members took alot of flak on the chin during this time trying to do what was right. Its time to get on with playing football and get back to basics.

I was at the match today against S&F they put in a spirited performance, we played terrible but managed to grind out a result from a Peter Burke header which came from a corner, Dessie OMalley had a penalty saved, we were lucky. Busty made a second half cameo and Dave Cameron played the whole game. We will take the result but will need to improve.

theboy
14/10/2007, 10:14 PM
Thanks for that Reno, the word is out and people know what the story is as regards his departure. It has been a long 10 days for some people at the club, people at the club and team members took alot of flak on the chin during this time trying to do what was right. Its time to get on with playing football and get back to basics.

I was at the match today against S&F they put in a spirited performance, we played terrible but managed to grind out a result from a Peter Burke header which came from a corner, Dessie OMalley had a penalty saved, we were lucky. Busty made a second half cameo and Dave Cameron played the whole game. We will take the result but will need to improve.

yes i also was at the match, westport were'nt terrible, S&F didnt let them play and made them look very average. westport dont like to be under pressure or hit hard which S&F done, maybe its a less to be learnt for other teams, put them under pressure and they crumble. westport are a good side dont get me wrong, but they are nothing special. thought burke had a very good game for westport with alan mcdonnell, gerry gaughan and john jordan standing out for s&f. its a pitty s&f hadnt that team out all year. they wouldnt be where they are now.

Closing Time
15/10/2007, 10:18 AM
You must have a crystal ball? We will be back for our title and we will win by a greater margin than last year. Bet on it.

Yes Utd will be the team to beat again next year, about a greater margin will depends on Celtic and if they will use the U-20 playeres . Celtic will have to decide which league to go for SL or Eircom U-20. As far as I am aware it will be the U-20 league and this should leave the SL wide open for Utd. If Celtic used all the players availabe to them I think the league would be close and a hard one to call.
Lever as for you point about Celtic signing outside players yes GD did bring in a number of players some good some not so good but Celtic will always be happy to sign players from other clubs for both the senior & youths teams. It is not our fault that these players are willing to come to Celtic to improve themselves. I think you used 4 new players yourselves this year to help win the double. If you look at all the big clubs in the country they all sign players every year and I see no one whinging about it. As for losing the Junior cup semi, yes Atherny were the best team on the day and we took this defeat on the chin and moved on. We didnt need to go to court to help us win a title.

Closing Time
15/10/2007, 10:38 AM
What a load of ******....so your saying the players got the manager sacked ? You agree with this ? B team players...you won the league ! what more do you want....i'd put money that you won't win it next season
I think that Utd have the right to sack their manager for what ever reason. If the players are not happy with a manager the players views always wins out, be that right or wrong. The type of football been played by Utd over the last year has been very direct and not like the style taht won them the JC. I dont know, was this because they lost the 3 players to OZ, time will tell on their return.

Leveller
15/10/2007, 12:29 PM
[quote=Closing Time;790464]Yes Utd will be the team to beat again next year, about a greater margin will depends on Celtic and if they will use the U-20 playeres . Celtic will have to decide which league to go for SL or Eircom U-20. As far as I am aware it will be the U-20 league and this should leave the SL wide open for Utd. If Celtic used all the players availabe to them I think the league would be close and a hard one to call.
Lever as for you point about Celtic signing outside players yes GD did bring in a number of players some good some not so good but Celtic will always be happy to sign players from other clubs for both the senior & youths teams. It is not our fault that these players are willing to come to Celtic to improve themselves. I think you used 4 new players yourselves this year to help win the double. If you look at all the big clubs in the country they all sign players every year and I see no one whinging about it. As for losing the Junior cup semi, yes Atherny were the best team on the day and we took this defeat on the chin and moved on. We didnt need to go to court to help us win a title.[/

Leveller
15/10/2007, 8:55 PM
It might be close, but don’t forget that the LOI U21 league is an underage league, which is restricted by age and limits the type of player that they will face, many of these players will struggle once they come out of the constraints in terms of age and have to face stronger and just as able players as themselves.
What would concern me at Celtic is that once the U21 players become over age they have no LOI Senior team to go into. So where do they go? Back to the Junior team? I bet that they would love that. I would say that some of the players have expectations of playing in the LOI and beyond and will result in great disappointment when it does not happen in many cases. In a few years as the players come over age you have a situation where you have greater player turnover due to the club having a LOI U21 team and a Junior team with the U21 players pushing out the Junior players. I am sure that when this situation starts happening it will discourage players coming to the club.
We used two players, Peter Burke, and Johnny Obrien.
Closing; we all play, watch/ support the game of football, in doing this we all agree to play and be bound by its rules. In the Junior semi final we played a team which fielded and ineligible player. During the game VOM was sent off for a hand ball clearance off the goal line, and, by the rules of the game he was duly sent off, during his sending off the opposing team made a substitution which turned out to be an ineligible player, this player duly dispatched the resulting penalty, itself a double irony. We played for 60 minutes with ten men and equalised, were the better team. The game went to penalties and who scored one of the penalties? Our friend. By the laws of the game he should not have been on the pitch and the club proved this in the court of law by the laws of the game, which bind us.
The same laws, which allowed SR to play in the Cup final, he should not have been at the ground let alone on the pitch as he was given a 12 month ban for his conduct at the sideline of last years final. The same laws allowed him to play.

the grape vine
16/10/2007, 3:17 PM
is there any truth in the talk of D Kilkelly taking the westport post?

Leveller
16/10/2007, 7:41 PM
I dont know, but I suppose the the Nic and Kilkelly are the most likely candidates as they are jobless, whether they want the position I dont know. I cant believe that they gave the junior job to Wallace over him Kilkelly.
PB and KC have their hands full and will not take the position. Mind you it would not do any harm for them to coach them for a couple sessions to try to get the team to stop playing this direct football that they have been playing of late until somebody comes in.

Closing Time
17/10/2007, 10:10 AM
Well the great leveller, Are you telling me your are Alan Hanson in disguise (Kids will win nothing) say no more on that point. It is great to have so many players coming through our U-21 ranks, as far as I am aware the club will be hoping to enter a senior team into the Eircom Regional Division due to be up and running in 2009 (TBC) that should ease your concerns on this issue, but we are happy to have this problem as you see it. That is something Utd will not have for a while. As for only using 4 outside players I didn’t know that your ex player manager BOC and your keeper were from Westport. SR was never given a players ban only a supporters one. Mayo League never banned him from playing (Be that correct or not that’s the way it was).

Closing Time
17/10/2007, 10:13 AM
I dont know, but I suppose the the Nic and Kilkelly are the most likely candidates as they are jobless, whether they want the position I dont know. I cant believe that they gave the junior job to Wallace over him Kilkelly.
PB and KC have their hands full and will not take the position. Mind you it would not do any harm for them to coach them for a couple sessions to try to get the team to stop playing this direct football that they have been playing of late until somebody comes in.
Is Dec Kilkelly not the new Mayo Manager. MW was not picked over DK. It was GD or DK was the choice for the U-20 job.

Closing Time
17/10/2007, 10:15 AM
Who is doing the talking?

the grape vine
17/10/2007, 10:26 AM

lots of people in castlebar that are involved in the local club's, maybe just pub talk, but "no smoke without fire" !!! the mayo oscar traynor will be all over before the super leageue starts,so no clashing there .

quay heart
17/10/2007, 4:52 PM
lots of people in castlebar that are involved in the local club's, maybe just pub talk, but "no smoke without fire" !!! the mayo oscar traynor will be all over before the super leageue starts,so no clashing there .

i hope utd keep it local no more paying for a manager.killkelly would only take the job to get at celtic not the correct reasons for westport.

swift
18/10/2007, 4:00 AM

I was the one that started that one.:D

swift
18/10/2007, 4:10 AM
Well the great leveller, Are you telling me your are Alan Hanson in disguise (Kids will win nothing) say no more on that point. It is great to have so many players coming through our U-21 ranks, as far as I am aware the club will be hoping to enter a senior team into the Eircom Regional Division due to be up and running in 2009 (TBC) that should ease your concerns on this issue, but we are happy to have this problem as you see it. That is something Utd will not have for a while. As for only using 4 outside players I didn’t know that your ex player manager BOC and your keeper were from Westport. SR was never given a players ban only a supporters one. Mayo League never banned him from playing (Be that correct or not that’s the way it was).

We cant win our own league and now we entering a competition that will drive the club under. The worst thing to happen to Celtic was Westport winning the FAI Junior Cup. I mean we entered the U-21 league just to keep the manager happy along with his ally and further to your mentioning of players will always win out thats pure bulls**t. Players were not consulted about the sacking of Nixy or K Murphy/ B Redmond, it was done with cloak and dagger stuff.

Closing Time
18/10/2007, 10:12 AM
We cant win our own league and now we entering a competition that will drive the club under. The worst thing to happen to Celtic was Westport winning the FAI Junior Cup. I mean we entered the U-21 league just to keep the manager happy along with his ally and further to your mentioning of players will always win out thats pure bulls**t. Players were not consulted about the sacking of Nixy or K Murphy/ B Redmond, it was done with cloak and dagger stuff.
No one was sacked. Advise if you have info to prove any sacking. Celtic are not run based on what Utd have done. Best of luck to them. Are you saying you want to see Celtic playing Glenhest and not Derry City cop on young man and get real. The SL is standard is rubbish and I see no improvement. Any true Utd fan would say that their team won the SL playing about 40% below par.

renovater
18/10/2007, 1:01 PM
Having been in the Celtic camp, it would have been unlikely that he was approached, or that he would apply.
The man has pride, it would be like surrendering to the enemy.

irishyop
18/10/2007, 4:07 PM
Having been in the Celtic camp, it would have been unlikely that he was approached, or that he would apply.
The man has pride, it would be like surrendering to the enemy.

There is more chance of Ireland been managed by a inexperienced ex player and getting 1 point from 2 games against Cyprus. :cool:

I would be shocked if he took it, more likely to be Nix than Dec.

Leveller
18/10/2007, 7:58 PM
"The great Leveller" thanks for calling me great anyway Closing, although I sense just a little hint of sarcasm.
Well on the issue of the outside players, OConnor was there last season, the keeper has been in Westport for a while but could not play for us until he got clearance from the Slovakian FA.
Closing time I would take the point of swift on board, your club will probably bankrupt itself, considering that you could only manage thirty odd supporters at the AIB cup final (which was a home fixture for you guys) compared to our 300 or so, where is the money going to come from? Sponsorship? No chance. You are deluding yourself if you think you will go LOI. You can’t even get people to go out into their front garden to see a game.
As for cloak and dagger stuff, if you were reading mine Rennos (he knows the story) threads we made it clear as to the circumstances to BOC departure.
DK is the new Mayo manager but tell me what club takes the competition seriously, he is not exactly going to be flat out, especially when we get knocked out in the early rounds, the competition is a joke.
I think DK was deluding himself if he thought that he was going to get the U20 post that was always going to be GD’s, GD is not ready to go step upstairs and become the director of Hoofball at Celtic yet.
Quay Heart, I agree with you about the paying thing with the manager, but to get one in from outside sometimes requires compensation (expenses etc – like the GAA) to cover for the time away from home, wife, etc. The Junior game is becoming more professional whether we like it or not. Celtic had to pay to get Ravenelli to take the job and we are going to as well.
As a matter of interest and this goes out to you all in the land of Junior soccer (be honest) what SL managers to you knowledge were paid this season?

swift
19/10/2007, 6:26 AM
No one was sacked. Advise if you have info to prove any sacking. Celtic are not run based on what Utd have done. Best of luck to them. Are you saying you want to see Celtic playing Glenhest and not Derry City cop on young man and get real. The SL is standard is rubbish and I see no improvement. Any true Utd fan would say that their team won the SL playing about 40% below par.

I'd prefer them playing Glenhest any day of the week than us going to the wall and playing no-one at all. Cop on yourself if you think that we are a LOI Club, far from it. Just because Dykes says jump it does'nt mean we have to ask how high?. It goes to show that you are reading from the same hymn sheet as Fergie, who is also driving the LOI issue

Closing Time
19/10/2007, 9:50 AM
I'd prefer them playing Glenhest any day of the week than us going to the wall and playing no-one at all. Cop on yourself if you think that we are a LOI Club, far from it. Just because Dykes says jump it does'nt mean we have to ask how high?. It goes to show that you are reading from the same hymn sheet as Fergie, who is also driving the LOI issue
Swift, I don't want to take over the Utd tread with Celtic issues, but my last comment on our discussion on this tread. I do not think that Celtic will ever play in the LOI Premier & 1st Div due to the cost & lack of support in the Town for football, but I do think they should join the next level which is the proposed Regional Div's which would be like the Conn/Ulster U-21 league and the cost would not be that high. As for reading from the same hyme sheet as the above mentioned far from it but I do believe that SL is not the way forward for Celtic. If that is all we have to offer the players coming through we will loose them to the GAA. I have seen so many good young players go down hill once they start playing in Mayo Junior football.The ball spends more time in the air than on the ground and that gose for all teams so anyone who thinks different want to take their blinkers off. Last real Junior football team I saw was Killester Utd. Yes Utd are the best team in Mayo but nothing to boost about at the moment.

the grape vine
19/10/2007, 10:37 AM
Swift, I don't want to take over the Utd tread with Celtic issues, but my last comment on our discussion on this tread. I do not think that Celtic will ever play in the LOI Premier & 1st Div due to the cost & lack of support in the Town for football, but I do think they should join the next level which is the proposed Regional Div's which would be like the Conn/Ulster U-21 league and the cost would not be that high. As for reading from the same hyme sheet as the above mentioned far from it but I do believe that SL is not the way forward for Celtic. If that is all we have to offer the players coming through we will loose them to the GAA. I have seen so many good young players go down hill once they start playing in Mayo Junior football.The ball spends more time in the air than on the ground and that gose for all teams so anyone who thinks different want to take their blinkers off. Last real Junior football team I saw was Killester Utd. Yes Utd are the best team in Mayo but nothing to boost about at the moment.

great post CT, totally agreed with players going down hill when they start playing in the SL, i have seen and played with some super players up to u-20 level, but most seem to slip by the waste side or rot in the lower division in mayo leageues,what a waste !!!

Thunderblaster
21/10/2007, 8:32 PM
First things first, welcome aboard to the leveller.

The local gossip and the newspaper articles concerning the sacking aren't even worth the reply and some of the allegations that I heard over the last week should have not come into the public fold.

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days.

On a more serious note, the vandal(s) that entered the Sports Park on Friday night and caused damage to the crossbar on the Pavilion End goal ought to be condemned for their actions. The club nearly had to find an alternative venue for an U.13 game yesterday. These goalposts cost serious money and this was not only an attack on the ground, it was also an attack on the rights of anyone wanting do don the red and black and to enjoy a game of football. Anyone with any information can report to a member of the Westport United committee or to the police.

quay heart
21/10/2007, 8:38 PM
[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;796695]First things first, welcome aboard to the leveller.

The local gossip and the newspaper articles concerning the sacking aren't even worth the reply and some of the allegations that I heard over the last week should have not come into the public fold.

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days

any news on who went for the job ?

Closing Time
21/10/2007, 8:59 PM
TB, Sorry to hear about the damage at the Sports Park, hope they are caught.

Closing Time
21/10/2007, 9:05 PM
[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;796695]First things first, welcome aboard to the leveller.

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days

any news on who went for the job ?

I heard that no one applied for the job, which is common for Junior clubs. As the norm in these cases the committee will have a short list and will approach each potential manager until they get a yes. The advert is just so that supporters will not be giving out it was not advertised. I suppose the dream team would be KC & DB after that NM. Will they go for another outsider couldnt see them going for a Fish Head. Time will tell. They will find it hard to fill the position and might have to pay more that they are willing. Maybe they might go for GD. Good managers are thin on the ground.

Leveller
22/10/2007, 8:02 PM
First things first, welcome aboard to the leveller.

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days.

On a more serious note, the vandal(s) that entered the Sports Park on Friday night and caused damage to the crossbar on the Pavilion End goal ought to be condemned for their actions. The club nearly had to find an alternative venue for an U.13 game yesterday. These goalposts cost serious money and this was not only an attack on the ground, it was also an attack on the rights of anyone wanting do don the red and black and to enjoy a game of football. Anyone with any information can report to a member of the Westport United committee or to the police.

Thanks Thunder, I look forward to joining with you in discussion and debate, on the thread of the best Club in the land!

Leveller
22/10/2007, 8:08 PM
[quote=quay heart;796698]

I heard that no one applied for the job, which is common for Junior clubs. As the norm in these cases the committee will have a short list and will approach each potential manager until they get a yes. The advert is just so that supporters will not be giving out it was not advertised. I suppose the dream team would be KC & DB after that NM. Will they go for another outsider couldnt see them going for a Fish Head. Time will tell. They will find it hard to fill the position and might have to pay more that they are willing. Maybe they might go for GD. Good managers are thin on the ground.

I agree Closing, that is the way it has panned out so far for the club. The Nic might find it easier to cross the divide as he has managed at another SL club besides Celtic. There are rumours that the dynamic duo will be approached to see if they are interested, but they are only rumours. We should know next week.

Closing Time
22/10/2007, 9:27 PM
[quote=Closing Time;796708]

I agree Closing, that is the way it has panned out so far for the club. The Nic might find it easier to cross the divide as he has managed at another SL club besides Celtic. There are rumours that the dynamic duo will be approached to see if they are interested, but they are only rumours. We should know next week.
Yes Nicky managed Ballyglass & Ballina. I wouldnt see it a problem in Celtic if Nicky took the job but I was thinking it might be a issue with some Utd supporters if things didnt go according to plan. Would be a good manager to get and he might see it as a chance to win the SL his coaching deserved (finished 2nd 3 times) at last. Any info who they might be approaching as I cannot see KC leaving the GAA after losing their senior status.

quay heart
24/10/2007, 6:52 PM
i read an article in mayo news by mossy lally .it is spot on i agree 100% all sl clubs should have managers from within,its not the english prem after all.celtic being the exception,that they are looking to establish themselves as a loi club.i believe westport will appoint kc and pb again although maybe being a step back there isnt many others inside club fit to do it.jm caretaker after the two lads left being the only other.

Thunderblaster
24/10/2007, 10:21 PM
[QUOTE=quay heart;796698]

I heard that no one applied for the job, which is common for Junior clubs.

One did definitely apply and had his interview. He confirmed that with me. There were others being interviewed too, whether they were applicants or head-hunted for the job, I don't know.

Closing Time
25/10/2007, 11:15 AM
i read an article in mayo news by mossy lally .it is spot on i agree 100% all sl clubs should have managers from within,its not the english prem after all.celtic being the exception,that they are looking to establish themselves as a loi club.i believe westport will appoint kc and pb again although maybe being a step back there isnt many others inside club fit to do it.jm caretaker after the two lads left being the only other.

I am not sure on this one. On one hand I agree once a Celt always a Celt and as a club Celtic have the personnel to carry out this policy no matter how blinkered it is. Did he not contradict himself by saying it was OK playing against your club but not to manage. He did sign a lot of players from other clubs during his excellent spell, as Manulla manager (stayed to long) and he didn’t see an issue with this policy. Sometimes clubs will not have a managers available within the club and will need to go outside, what is wrong with this. Outside manager can bring in new ideas and structures to a club. Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take. In an ideal world we would love if all players who play for your club would die for the cause and then become committee members or youth managers. But as we all know it’s quite the opposite in the real world.

Thunderblaster
25/10/2007, 5:02 PM
In an ideal world we would love if all players who play for your club would die for the cause and then become committee members or youth managers. But as we all know it’s quite the opposite in the real world.

Every club in the country would say exactly the same thing.

Leveller
25/10/2007, 9:08 PM
Every club in the country would say exactly the same thing.

True, players and ex players very often dont get involved at a bureaucratic or a coaching level at their respective clubs, I suppose they feel that they have done their duty by purely playing, which is a pity as many of them would be an asset, particularly in coaching.

swift
26/10/2007, 1:43 AM
Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take

Do you think that Celtic getting an outside manager was a good move? If so how has it made a difference?

Leveller
26/10/2007, 8:09 AM
Thats true Swift. As regards an outside manager, it might be a good move for your LOI ambitions as he has played at this level and would probably have connections within the league and FAI, but how highly regarded he is I dont know. I think all the LOI players he had before was a step backwards and it stifled the young talent coming through, but now the club are using their youth which is good for the club.

Closing Time
26/10/2007, 9:50 AM
Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take

Do you think that Celtic getting an outside manager was a good move? If so how has it made a difference?

Celtic were forced to get an outside manager at the time. A short (long) list of ex players/ ex managers (the ones not already involved with other clubs at the time) was drawn up and no one was willing to take on the Junior team (money was on offer). It was then that the committee started looking for someone outside the club. Was it a good move, I think so, won 5 Mayo titles.

quay heart
26/10/2007, 1:01 PM
any news on westport utd new manager ?thought he was to be in by the weekend.

Leveller
26/10/2007, 3:48 PM
any news on westport utd new manager ?thought he was to be in by the weekend.
Should know by monday or tuesday.

Thunderblaster
28/10/2007, 1:10 PM
I think the new man will be informed after Wednesday night's meeting. How did the interviews go?

renovater
28/10/2007, 11:57 PM
[QUOTE=Closing Time;796708]

One did definitely apply and had his interview. He confirmed that with me. There were others being interviewed too, whether they were applicants or head-hunted for the job, I don't know.
J.M definitely applied but I believe he was not suscessful.I believe they have led a head hunted all the way to castlebar for d.k.

renovater
29/10/2007, 12:02 AM
I am not sure on this one. On one hand I agree once a Celt always a Celt and as a club Celtic have the personnel to carry out this policy no matter how blinkered it is. Did he not contradict himself by saying it was OK playing against your club but not to manage. He did sign a lot of players from other clubs during his excellent spell, as Manulla manager (stayed to long) and he didn’t see an issue with this policy. Sometimes clubs will not have a managers available within the club and will need to go outside, what is wrong with this. Outside manager can bring in new ideas and structures to a club. Yes they can also have a negative affect on teams but that is the chance you sometimes have to take. In an ideal world we would love if all players who play for your club would die for the cause and then become committee members or youth managers. But as we all know it’s quite the opposite in the real world.
Well said C.L. have to agree with you, club players should take a hard look at them selves. Hope they get to read your view

terrier
29/10/2007, 1:33 PM
[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;800113]
J.M definitely applied but I believe he was not suscessful.I believe they have led a head hunted all the way to castlebar for d.k.

i believe your correct there reno.jm has had too many fallouts with com. over coaching or lack of it in the club.i hear pb and kc had meeting with com. but it ended in dissagreement.so it looks like another out of town job.if it was a normal com. there wouldnt be a hope of a castlebar man getn job but then again nothing will surprise me with this lot.

renovater
29/10/2007, 2:58 PM
[QUOTE=renovater;802844]

i believe your correct there reno.jm has had too many fallouts with com. over coaching or lack of it in the club.i hear pb and kc had meeting with com. but it ended in dissagreement.so it looks like another out of town job.if it was a normal com. there wouldnt be a hope of a castlebar man getn job but then again nothing will surprise me with this lot.
I would be talking from experience regarding the matter J.M. he even let me down, so I can understand why the com, would have no faith in him.He would struggle to get any referance's from me or M.U-16 OR even R.D.O. However he not a bad sort, he just doesn't no what he wants. So untill he make a commitment he will struggle
The two amigo's were never going to take the job due to there own personal reasons.
So it looks like an outsider,for the job.Nicky is taken time out. Dec well he only knows if he is interested or not. but its highly unlikely.
They will have to spread there wings much further.

Thunderblaster
29/10/2007, 3:41 PM
So it looks like an outsider,for the job.

I heard differently from a respected source. The story I got that it is a local. However, I do not know who the local is that is formally going to be installed.

swift
29/10/2007, 4:33 PM
its definatly not kilkelly. i'm led to believe his boss that he works for wanted a guarantee that the bar would not suffer from him being manager of westport ad he could not give him the assurance so he has pulled out. otherwise he was a shoe-in

renovater
29/10/2007, 10:30 PM
its definatly not kilkelly. i'm led to believe his boss that he works for wanted a guarantee that the bar would not suffer from him being manager of westport ad he could not give him the assurance so he has pulled out. otherwise he was a shoe-in
He got more pride than that, he never join Westport in a month of sundays.
His boss would not stoop that low, or even question da celt.
He works for him not own him.:o