View Full Version : Westport United FC
Thunderblaster
05/02/2007, 9:28 PM
there was poor show at agm i believe.......?
While a motion to notify members of the AGM in writing was defeated.
gnasher
06/02/2007, 11:19 AM
Going by the proceedings at the AGM last Tuesday, you were proven absolutely wrong in that statement.
Hardly TB - they only started reading it cos they heard they were being slagged off. Does not count in my book. Anyway, why do they need to read it when the PRO has taken over the bloody site with his own Port thread! I'm sure they get enough updates from different sources but as they say in Castlebar 'Connacht Cups are ok but they are no substitute for the real thing!'
HOWZAT!
Closing Time
06/02/2007, 1:52 PM
Hardly TB - they only started reading it cos they heard they were being slagged off. Does not count in my book. Anyway, why do they need to read it when the PRO has taken over the bloody site with his own Port thread! I'm sure they get enough updates from different sources but as they say in Castlebar 'Connacht Cups are ok but they are no substitute for the real thing!'
HOWZAT!
Just wondering what Castlebar has to do with the westport committee not be able to take criticism. I think they say in Castlebar lets move on to the Eircom U-21 League and not let our youth be slowly strangled by a poor SL.
pixiehead
06/02/2007, 3:18 PM
Just wondering what Castlebar has to do with the westport committee not be able to take criticism. I think they say in Castlebar lets move on to the Eircom U-21 League and not let our youth be slowly strangled by a poor SL.
Is that what they say in Castlebar. Well then let me tell you a little story.:mad: Ronan O Boyle was not even givin a look in when Celtic played Shamrock Rovers and one of his relations asked a certain "High Figure" in celtic park why this was . The reply was not only shocking but disgusting " Because we were Afraid he might be Spotted" said the certain Figure. To add insult to injury the grey one also told O Boyle he Shouldnt sign for a certain Eircom League Club because he would " Find him a better Club". Guess What...... He never did. :mad: So Obviously the plan in celtic is to keep your best players in the (your Quote) " Poor Super League" Thank God He looks now set to Join us in Terryland but it dosent overlook the fact that he may not have been allowed progress for selfish reasons!!
Thunderblaster
06/02/2007, 5:49 PM
Full report on the Westport United AGM on http://mayo.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=860.
Thunderblaster
06/02/2007, 6:09 PM
when the PRO has taken over the bloody site with his own Port thread!
And have had over 13,000 hits!!!:D :D :D
Closing Time
07/02/2007, 11:35 AM
Is that what they say in Castlebar. Well then let me tell you a little story.:mad: Ronan O Boyle was not even givin a look in when Celtic played Shamrock Rovers and one of his relations asked a certain "High Figure" in celtic park why this was . The reply was not only shocking but disgusting " Because we were Afraid he might be Spotted" said the certain Figure. To add insult to injury the grey one also told O Boyle he Shouldnt sign for a certain Eircom League Club because he would " Find him a better Club". Guess What...... He never did. :mad: So Obviously the plan in celtic is to keep your best players in the (your Quote) " Poor Super League" Thank God He looks now set to Join us in Terryland but it dosent overlook the fact that he may not have been allowed progress for selfish reasons!!
Why are you so angry. Why are you getting so upset by what what is happening in Celtic. I did hear the ROB story so I cannot comment. As far as my experience Celtic are always delighted to see players moving to a higher standard and we would be delighted if ROB signed for Galway Utd as long as it is the first team and not the U-21. The reason we want to go U-21 is to give players like ROB a better standard to play in and if some of thes young players get good contracts with Eircom League clubs that would be great. New stepping stone to the UK. I think you see red every time you see Celtic name. Did some Celtic player stand on your toes when you lined out for the Boro or Galway. Cant make out which club you are involved with?
Closing Time
07/02/2007, 11:38 AM
Why are you so angry. Why are you getting so upset by what what is happening in Celtic. I did hear the ROB story so I cannot comment. As far as my experience Celtic are always delighted to see players moving to a higher standard and we would be delighted if ROB signed for Galway Utd as long as it is the first team and not the U-21. The reason we want to go U-21 is to give players like ROB a better standard to play in and if some of thes young players get good contracts with Eircom League clubs that would be great. New stepping stone to the UK. I think you see red every time you see Celtic name. Did some Celtic player stand on your toes when you lined out for the Boro or Galway. Cant make out which club you are involved with?
Sorry meant to say I didnt hear the ROB story. We should move this discussion from this thread.
gnasher
07/02/2007, 12:17 PM
Lordy! - Obviously you went to a misinterpretation school. Figure of speech anyone?:confused:
Second hand information being given to a perosn regarding what is posted here is no substitute for the real thing. Just like Connacht Cups really.
Now don't let me stand in your way, best of luck in the U-21 (yeah right!):o
Thunderblaster
07/02/2007, 1:58 PM
I'm sure they get enough updates from different sources but as they say in Castlebar 'Connacht Cups are ok but they are no substitute for the real thing!'
HOWZAT!
The junior team does not make up the club-there are nearly 300 kids involved too. Scoring political points on winning the FAI Junior Cup will not help to bring the club forward to a new level in the future. Past success never won a trophy for any club.
pixiehead
07/02/2007, 1:58 PM
Not getting angry always happy :D . Ok then are you prepared to drop your guard and say whether or not you are 100% Happy with the Grey one and the current set up and why?? ;) And no have no problem at all with Celtic just didnt like the ROB story when i heard it cause every lad Should be givin a chance
renovater
07/02/2007, 10:19 PM
Quay Heart. Its my oppion that you should have gone to the A.G.M. AND defended your postion. how ever I think it was wrong of you to come on this site to air your views about your club,without at leased the club the right to reply.I would rather you kept your views in house. but some times we lose control of our selves,after all we are only humans,but the next time think before you comment.I know deep down you proberly wished you hadn't written it, but thats life, and you cant take it back.
gnasher
08/02/2007, 8:38 AM
The junior team does not make up the club-there are nearly 300 kids involved too. Scoring political points on winning the FAI Junior Cup will not help to bring the club forward to a new level in the future. Past success never won a trophy for any club.
TB - I'm not a politican so I have zero interest in scoring points - we'll leave that up to the 'doorbell ringers' who'll be calling soon. I was making a point about the differences between primary and secondary terms of reference. Apologies if you don't like my way of saying it.
As regards to 'bringing the club forward' - surely we've scored a serious og by not using the 'past successes' to build effectively for the future? Many other clubs won't get withing spitting distance of a Junior Cup yet they have progressed - what retards us in this repsect - enlighten me.
Thunderblaster
08/02/2007, 5:23 PM
As regards to 'bringing the club forward' - surely we've scored a serious og by not using the 'past successes' to build effectively for the future? Many other clubs won't get withing spitting distance of a Junior Cup yet they have progressed - what retards us in this repsect - enlighten me.
Giving a history lesson is great to immerse the children about the proud traditions of Westport United FC but giving a history lesson is great to immerse the children about the proud traditions of Westport United FC and have a structure of development within the framework of the FAI Technical Development Plan and getting kids to a level that they become part of FAI Emerging Talent set ups and play at the highest possible level they could (cross-channel or Eircom League). Winning an FAI Junior Cup, signing three hundred kids and supposedly putting on an old school training session (pick two teams and have a game) is not progression. Implementation of coaching from KS1 and KS2 courses and Youth Cert is a model of progression. The long term objective of the club is to have it's own ground and to aim for the highest aspiration any club should aim for and that is playing in your own national league. The FAI Junior Cup is a fantastic achievement but it should be used as a stepping stone to take the club to the next level. Clubs may be progressing and it would be foolhardy to write off other side's chances of the FAI Junior Cup. They may progress to intermdiate level or Eircom League level and that is the aspiration that has to be looked at in the long term. Along with a sound and stable finacial structure and adequate facilities, you need to have a very strong underage structure and no disrespect to Westport United, Castlebar Celtic are ahead of Westport in this department and it is a major reason behind their move to go Eircom U.21. It's great to win the FAI Junior Cup, but it is time to move on and look at the bigger picture.
Closing Time
09/02/2007, 9:25 AM
Giving a history lesson is great to immerse the children about the proud traditions of Westport United FC but giving a history lesson is great to immerse the children about the proud traditions of Westport United FC and have a structure of development within the framework of the FAI Technical Development Plan and getting kids to a level that they become part of FAI Emerging Talent set ups and play at the highest possible level they could (cross-channel or Eircom League). Winning an FAI Junior Cup, signing three hundred kids and supposedly putting on an old school training session (pick two teams and have a game) is not progression. Implementation of coaching from KS1 and KS2 courses and Youth Cert is a model of progression. The long term objective of the club is to have it's own ground and to aim for the highest aspiration any club should aim for and that is playing in your own national league. The FAI Junior Cup is a fantastic achievement but it should be used as a stepping stone to take the club to the next level. Clubs may be progressing and it would be foolhardy to write off other side's chances of the FAI Junior Cup. They may progress to intermdiate level or Eircom League level and that is the aspiration that has to be looked at in the long term. Along with a sound and stable finacial structure and adequate facilities, you need to have a very strong underage structure and no disrespect to Westport United, Castlebar Celtic are ahead of Westport in this department and it is a major reason behind their move to go Eircom U.21. It's great to win the FAI Junior Cup, but it is time to move on and look at the bigger picture.
If all clubs followed your strategy it wouldnt be long before we would have full internationals playing for Ireland. Isnt that what it is all about seeing a player you developed playing for Ireland. In my mind thats want we should be striving for not looking back on allthe trophies the clubs win. It will be great for Mayo youth football to have a strong Westport in under age grade.
Thunderblaster
09/02/2007, 5:58 PM
Hear that pre-season training is commencing on Sunday 18th Feb. at Rice College for both teams.
Thunderblaster
09/02/2007, 6:02 PM
finacial
Typo error!!:eek: financial!!:D
quay heart
10/02/2007, 5:00 PM
please someone from westport utd committee put this into pratice and ill die happy
renovater
11/02/2007, 6:28 PM
Having spoke to close friend I here there is poeple in our beloved Westport the heart of Mayo are considering pulling out there finances that helps to finance the Junior Manager BOC.
It appears they are not happy with the way the club is going forward.Leased of all the bad run of results in internal and external Competitions:o
Thunderblaster
11/02/2007, 8:32 PM
Having spoke to close friend I here there is poeple in our beloved Westport the heart of Mayo are considering pulling out there finances that helps to finance the Junior Manager BOC.
It appears they are not happy with the way the club is going forward.Leased of all the bad run of results in internal and external Competitions:o
Don't know anything about this. I heard that there are people giving BOC the benefit of the doubt and are keeping up the payments.
renovater
12/02/2007, 7:31 PM
Don't know anything about this. I heard that there are people giving BOC the benefit of the doubt and are keeping up the payments.
You are only listening to what you want to here, rather than what is being said.
Have spoken to a true Westport die hard today, and he comfirms what I say.
Thunderblaster
12/02/2007, 8:07 PM
You are only listening to what you want to here, rather than what is being said.
Have spoken to a true Westport die hard today, and he comfirms what I say.
People are inclined to say things and do the opposite. I heard of one guy backing out only to keep on investing. My big concern would be is if there was a shortfall of punters putting in the money, what direction would the club then take? Hopefully the club would not need to dip into its own reserves to keep the project afloat.
Thunderblaster
12/02/2007, 8:17 PM
How many people joined the scheme and how many did actually pull out of the project?
Thunderblaster
12/02/2007, 8:20 PM
The U.14s are away to Strand Celtic in the quarter final of the Connacht Cup on Saturday in Sligo with a 2:00 kick off. Thanks to feo123 on giving me a pm about the opponents.
renovater
13/02/2007, 6:45 PM
How many people joined the scheme and how many did actually pull out of the project?
I dont have the numbers, firstly dont go down the road of the club to pick up the tab.
All I can tell you that some supporters of the fund are not happy with the way the club is being structured. between youths and juniors. also that the club did not progress after wininng the F.a.i. Cup. It seems some section feel that Castlebar Celtic have stolen the march,by going into the Eircom League.even thou they didn't win the F.a.i. Cup
Thunderblaster
14/02/2007, 11:10 PM
All I can tell you that some supporters of the fund are not happy with the way the club is being structured. between youths and juniors. also that the club did not progress after wininng the F.a.i. Cup. It seems some section feel that Castlebar Celtic have stolen the march,by going into the Eircom League.even thou they didn't win the F.a.i. Cup
How would you work to resolve this?
renovater
15/02/2007, 6:56 PM
How would you work to resolve this?
Its not my problem, but if it where I would go back to the drawing board, and listen to what the real westport supporters think?
Thunderblaster
15/02/2007, 10:14 PM
I hear that the underage registration night is coming up shortly.
Closing Time
16/02/2007, 9:23 AM
I dont have the numbers, firstly dont go down the road of the club to pick up the tab.
Everyone at Celtic would love to win the Junior Cup. I think the Port are progressing at youth level. They have 3 teams at 12 & 14 and this will progress into 2 teams at 16 & 18. The quality might not be there at the moment but give them time. The majority of the lads that won the FJC came from two super youth teams. Hard to believe they never won a Connacht Under age cup.
Closing Time
16/02/2007, 9:25 AM
Not getting angry always happy :D . Ok then are you prepared to drop your guard and say whether or not you are 100% Happy with the Grey one and the current set up and why?? ;) And no have no problem at all with Celtic just didnt like the ROB story when i heard it cause every lad Should be givin a chance
Very Happy with the Grey One as you call him.
Thunderblaster
18/02/2007, 6:48 PM
Heard that the U.14s were beaten 3-0 away to Strand Celtic yesterday. Anyone at the game? Heard that the scoreline did not reflect on the game.
Thunderblaster
18/02/2007, 9:56 PM
Race Night in the Asgard, Westport, on Saturday night at 9:00. There is a horse in it called Foot.ie Talk Balls, which is ridden by dahamsta and owned by Thunderblaster. Lots of money will go on this horse if the foot.ie punters turn up. Should be a great night and lots of fun.:D :D :D
swinfordfc
19/02/2007, 8:36 AM
i heard we have ye at home next saturday in the cup - hear ye have a nice team - so how much will ye beat us by? :D
Thunderblaster
19/02/2007, 6:59 PM
I hear that there may be an extraordinary general meeting coming up. Didn't get the full lowdown but apparently it is meant to be something to do with the kids.
Thunderblaster
19/02/2007, 7:00 PM
i heard we have ye at home next saturday in the cup - hear ye have a nice team - so how much will ye beat us by? :D
Swinford are the favourites. We don't have a great U.18 side, largely propped up by U.16-U.17 players.
Thunderblaster
19/02/2007, 9:45 PM
I hear that there may be an extraordinary general meeting coming up. Didn't get the full lowdown but apparently it is meant to be something to do with the kids.
Got the full lowdown on mayo.fai.ie.
swinfordfc
20/02/2007, 9:20 AM
Swinford are the favourites. We don't have a great U.18 side, largely propped up by U.16-U.17 players.
No offence but ye did get to the Connacht Cup quarter finals and did ok against Salthill Devon. - anyhow hope its a good game!
Thunderblaster
21/02/2007, 5:47 PM
Westport United Underage Registration Fees: U.10's €50, U.11-U.18's €85, Two kids from same family €125 and three or more kids from same family €150. Only checked this out on the newspaper after hearing stories that a lot of parents were angry with the club.
pwestport
21/02/2007, 8:58 PM
Westport United Underage Registration Fees: U.10's €50, U.11-U.18's €85, Two kids from same family €125 and three or more kids from same family €150. Only checked this out on the newspaper after hearing stories that a lot of parents were angry with the club.
Stop stirring the crap . Bring it to a meeting if you have any comments.
Thunderblaster
21/02/2007, 10:26 PM
Bring it to a meeting if you have any comments.
I'm sure someone possibly did that.
renovater
21/02/2007, 10:55 PM
So is this to fund the first team , since a number of those who put in money to pay your manager expenses?
Hate to be parent!!!:mad:
What's the story on the E.G.M.
Will ya brake away from the junior team? does that mean they will run out of monnies to pay you no who????
Hay will make a collection for ya"""
Save the man a ger:D
renovater
21/02/2007, 11:02 PM
Stop stirring the crap . Bring it to a meeting if you have any comments.
Hay mate have a little respect for one of our thread bearer, who do you think you are coming on hear trying to persume you no it all.we are not here to expose people, only to listen to there point of veiw.
even if we disagree.we have the right to reply,just like you.:mad:
Thunderblaster
21/02/2007, 11:04 PM
Stop stirring the crap.
I'm sure that posters have the right to remain anomynous.
renovater
21/02/2007, 11:07 PM
Got the full lowdown on mayo.fai.ie.
Like the song
Listen to what the man said!!
Paul Mc Carthy**
Thunderblaster
21/02/2007, 11:13 PM
Juniors are home to Whitehall Celtic in a challenge game on Saturday at 2:00. The first pre-season friendly before the new season.
renovater
21/02/2007, 11:37 PM
Juniors are home to Whitehall Celtic in a challenge game on Saturday at 2:00. The first pre-season friendly before the new season.
Any new signings?:)
gnasher
22/02/2007, 5:06 PM
So is this to fund the first team , since a number of those who put in money to pay your manager expenses?
Hate to be parent!!!:mad:
What's the story on the E.G.M.
Will ya brake away from the junior team? does that mean they will run out of monnies to pay you no who????
Hay will make a collection for ya"""
Save the man a ger:D
Totally wrong - I know the junior team are basically self financing as they draw crowds for games at home that others can't reach. Then there's the lotto which is spread around.
Managers expenses continue to be paid and fair play to him. If that stops then we can talk but it's not bleeding the club dry as you purport to tell it.
You seem to have it in for managers who get paid - jealous that someone outfoxed you or overlooked you perhaps?:p
renovater
22/02/2007, 8:19 PM
Race Night in the Asgard, Westport, on Saturday night at 9:00. There is a horse in it called Foot.ie Talk Balls, which is ridden by dahamsta and owned by Thunderblaster. Lots of money will go on this horse if the foot.ie punters turn up. Should be a great night and lots of fun.:D :D :D
ge I have a horse running in ya race night. do you know him
renovater
22/02/2007, 8:25 PM
Totally wrong - I know the junior team are basically self financing as they draw crowds for games at home that others can't reach. Then there's the lotto which is spread around.
Managers expenses continue to be paid and fair play to him. If that stops then we can talk but it's not bleeding the club dry as you purport to tell it.
You seem to have it in for managers who get paid - jealous that someone outfoxed you or overlooked you perhaps?:p
Thats not the word on the street. Jealous no, just remind you this is not a professional League.and there is A place for clubs who think they are. Called the Eicom try it. no you wont you missed the bus. When you won The F.ai. Cup. Did you get cold feet.couldn't take the next step
Thunderblaster
22/02/2007, 10:18 PM
ge I have a horse running in ya race night. do you know him
The Nags Head?!!!:D :D :D