View Full Version : Westport United FC
Thunderblaster
09/11/2008, 8:44 AM
Pitch inspection at 11:00 folks.
Thunderblaster
09/11/2008, 7:52 PM
Well, the game went ahead and goals from the Louisburgh Lion, Cam and an own goal put us through 3-0. Ballina even missed a penalty. Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It's off to Corraun we go!! As we shall take on Mulranny United...Bring 'em on!!:D
FahyForever
09/11/2008, 8:04 PM
Well done to westport. How did today´s other games go?
GoodFootball
10/11/2008, 8:47 AM
Good Football, did you get the chance to watch any other superleague games this season or was it strictly limited to the Celtic v Westport games?
I watch as many Westport games as I can. But I play for Fahy Rovers so it limits the amount of games I go to ;)
theboy
10/11/2008, 8:52 AM
westport 3-0 ballina
s&f 4-0 banger
Leveller
10/11/2008, 8:52 AM
it's nice to know that stevie is so important anyway, i love it!!!!! if any player got talked about so much it must mean he's good and theres a few jealous people from it!!! muppets dont talk about players that mean nothing so keep talking please i love the attention u wasters. stevie goes hidin ya???? and only turns up sometimes!! thats why he has an irish cap and scored for ireland who else can say that???????? please keep sayin things obviously he's important....... i love it..... nobodys!!!!
You are a legend!:D
Leveller
10/11/2008, 8:53 AM
Well, the game went ahead and goals from the Louisburgh Lion, Cam and an own goal put us through 3-0. Ballina even missed a penalty. Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It's off to Corraun we go!! As we shall take on Mulranny United...Bring 'em on!!:D
It was an understrength Ballina team, but the lads played well.
GoodFootball
10/11/2008, 8:56 AM
it's nice to know that stevie is so important anyway, i love it!!!!! if any player got talked about so much it must mean he's good and theres a few jealous people from it!!! muppets dont talk about players that mean nothing so keep talking please i love the attention u wasters. stevie goes hidin ya???? and only turns up sometimes!! thats why he has an irish cap and scored for ireland who else can say that???????? please keep sayin things obviously he's important....... i love it..... nobodys!!!!
Why do you speak about Stevie Ryan in the first person and the third person in one quote. Sounds like a bit of superman and clark kent there ;)
Although with a slip up like that your more like banana man :D
Love all your talk about Fahy, cant wait to play Celtic, hope the ref brings his cards this time :D
FahyForever
10/11/2008, 9:05 AM
Wow, you´re class.
I for one think that S.R is a fine footballer and fully merits a place on the Mayo squad at least.
I also think that he should stop rising to any bit of bait that is dangled in front of him and concentrate on football.
If only he read this forum.....
GoodFootball
10/11/2008, 11:28 AM
I for one think that S.R is a fine footballer and fully merits a place on the Mayo squad at least.
I also think that he should stop rising to any bit of bait that is dangled in front of him and concentrate on football.
If only he read this forum.....
I agree Sean Reilly is a fine footballer :D
Pity he's injured, Celtic aren't as good without him and Mayo will miss his influence...
Thunderblaster
11/11/2008, 11:38 PM
U.18s lost 1-0 to Celtic tonight in the FAI Youths Cup.
Thunderblaster
15/11/2008, 11:07 PM
Best of luck to the Covey contingent later on today.
GoodFootball
17/11/2008, 11:15 AM
Are you a nobody too? Or are you a somebody like Stevie Ryan :D:D
Heard he had a good game at centre back yesterday, when he concentrates on his football he can be good ;)
threefivetwo
17/11/2008, 7:06 PM
Are you a nobody too? Or are you a somebody like Stevie Ryan :D
Heard he had a good game at centre back yesterday, when he concentrates on his football he can be good ;)
i must be a somebody like stevie so!! ;) i'd prefer to be somebody like you though and have all your knowledge about football.
concentrates on football?? sure what else would anyone be concentrating on during a game??
GoodFootball
18/11/2008, 10:25 AM
i must be a somebody like stevie so!! ;) i'd prefer to be somebody like you though and have all your knowledge about football.
concentrates on football?? sure what else would anyone be concentrating on during a game??
Rhetorical question!
GoodFootball
18/11/2008, 10:55 AM
Rhetorical question!
Enough sh*te talk about average players anyway!
Any predictions for the junior cup this weekend?
I look at all your quotes and none of them really relate to football,if you dont like people here fine,
If you are on about stevie Ryan being an average footballer,then you have a lot to learn.Im not sticking up for him,but he has played at the highest level in junior football and also played in the league of Ireland.Everything you say is anti Celtic and pro westport.
GoodFootball
19/11/2008, 7:00 AM
I look at all your quotes and none of them really relate to football,if you dont like people here fine,
If you are on about stevie Ryan being an average footballer,then you have a lot to learn.Im not sticking up for him,but he has played at the highest level in junior football and also played in the league of Ireland.Everything you say is anti Celtic and pro westport.
Sorry if I offended any of your heroes, entertaining all the same ;)
Its a forum for opinions not just sucking up to players like some seem to do!
GoodFootball
19/11/2008, 7:05 AM
I look at all your quotes and none of them really relate to football
Do I have to put the word football in the quote??
Last quote was any predictions for the weekend in the junior cup?
Dont be a smart ass,Im on about your quote re average Players,where I said were you on about Steven Ryan.
You always get personal especially about him if indeed you are talking about him.When you have done as much as he has at Junior Level,please do let me know.Otherwise give it a rest
GoodFootball
19/11/2008, 8:49 AM
Dont be a smart ass,Im on about your quote re average Players,where I said were you on about Steven Ryan.
You always get personal especially about him if indeed you are talking about him.When you have done as much as he has at Junior Level,please do let me know.Otherwise give it a rest
Firstly, I have nothing against Stevie Ryan "personally", I dont know him and I'm sure he doesn't know me! Its a bit of banter between me and 352 which is just messing, obviously I rate him as a player as I have said before.
Secondly, we are all average players at this standard, good players play in England or get paid to play. So maybe its a compliment to him!
I hope your interest in Stevie Ryan is only on a football level, recent comments could prove otherwise.
Have a nice day 1924 :)
theboy
19/11/2008, 10:46 AM
Mulranny vs Westport
Celtic vs Swinford
Manulla vs Fahy
Erris vs S&F
would be good to see some mayo teams do well this year in the FAI cup.
mayo-man
19/11/2008, 12:19 PM
Swinford man here,
anyone any tips on how we go about beating Celtic on Saturday.
the grape vine
19/11/2008, 12:47 PM
Swinford man here,
score more goals then them ..
Leveller
19/11/2008, 1:58 PM
Swinford man here,
Set pieces are their specialty, do not concede freekicks outside the area and corners likewise. They have their own Rory Delap in Deccie Flynn so watch his long throws.
Keep the ball on the ground in open play and keep possession the best you can, as they are very good in the air an will win everything.
Press them in midfield and prevent them sending balls over the top at you.
Test their keeper, the young guy they had in goal in the summer was error prone.
Firstly, I have nothing against Stevie Ryan "personally", I dont know him and I'm sure he doesn't know me! Its a bit of banter between me and 352 which is just messing, obviously I rate him as a player as I have said before.
Secondly, we are all average players at this standard, good players play in England or get paid to play. So maybe its a compliment to him!
I hope your interest in Stevie Ryan is only on a football level, recent comments could prove otherwise.
Have a nice day 1924 :)
My point is that this is a football forum,you are entitled to your opinion on everything football!!!!
Even then your opinions are totally biased,as I have said before Pro Westport, anti Celtic.
I actually am a football person and dont really know stevie on a personal level.However he is not what you would regard Average!!
"and likewise about your remarks about westport"
Keep it about football,thats what it is about!!:ball:
GoodFootball
20/11/2008, 7:23 AM
Mulranny vs Westport
Celtic vs Swinford
Manulla vs Fahy
Erris vs S&F
would be good to see some mayo teams do well this year in the FAI cup.
Mulranny vs Westport - Away
Celtic vs Swinford - Home
Manulla vs Fahy - Draw (Away on pens) ;)
Erris vs S&F - Away
Thunderblaster
20/11/2008, 8:30 PM
They have their own Rory Delap in Deccie Flynn so watch his long throws.
And cannot keep two feet on the ground when he takes the throws. Also, expect your forwards to be deafened by the screams of "Hold It" and "Watch His Touch". He was the rock that held the defences of Ballyvary BB and Snugboro Utd. Could a move to Westport United be on the cards??;):D
Thunderblaster
20/11/2008, 8:41 PM
I got to see a bit of the game. The football wasn't of substantial quality; technically, it was limited enough but there was drama all the same with Westport coming from 4-2 down to win 5-4 after extra time. Brian Fleming got two goals, one of them came with his back turned to goal, Ciaran O'Reilly netted a free kick, PJ Calvey netted a penalty but the goal of the game came from Liam Posiner, who made a fabulous slalom run past two players and executed a wonderful finish. The guys are away to Galway Hib on Sunday at 2:00.
swinfordfc
25/11/2008, 3:51 PM
I got to see a bit of the game. The football wasn't of substantial quality; technically, it was limited enough but there was drama all the same with Westport coming from 4-2 down to win 5-4 after extra time. Brian Fleming got two goals, one of them came with his back turned to goal, Ciaran O'Reilly netted a free kick, PJ Calvey netted a penalty but the goal of the game came from Liam Posiner, who made a fabulous slalom run past two players and executed a wonderful finish. The guys are away to Galway Hib on Sunday at 2:00.
see ye under 16 got a bye in round 3 of barry cup - who they playing in round 4?
Thunderblaster
25/11/2008, 9:16 PM
see ye under 16 got a bye in round 3 of barry cup - who they playing in round 4?
Away to Salthill Devon.
Thunderblaster
25/11/2008, 9:30 PM
If and when we beat the Tom Molloy led Mulranny United outfit, it is a trip into the unknown in the FAI Junior Cup against Cork opposition; the winners of Dillons Cross Ath or Ballyvolane.
Thunderblaster
25/11/2008, 9:32 PM
Connacht Cup on Sunday boys and girls. It is the long trip to Inver United and we shall get the show on the road, and without the scare please.
Thunderblaster
29/11/2008, 4:40 PM
Oscar Traynor Trophy - Group Stage
Mayo League V Galway League - Sunday 7th December at Milebush Park, Castlebar - Kick Off 2.00pm.
Come out and support the lads.
Thunderblaster
29/11/2008, 4:41 PM
Away to Inver United tomorrow with a mind-bending kick off at 11:45am!!:eek: Game is in Kilmore Utd's ground.
Thunderblaster
29/11/2008, 4:43 PM
The U.14s beat Ballinasloe Town 5-0 to reach round four of the competition, joining the U.16s and U.13s. The prize is a home tie to Ballymahon.
Leveller
01/12/2008, 9:38 AM
Another walkover in the Connacht Cup to Inver. Called off at the last minute once again, with a club as small as Inver I would say they had a good idea could not field a team during the week, a friendly could have been organised instead if proper notice was given.
This has to stop, they should fine the club as a penalty in this situation (excluding extenuating circumstances), you would be amazed at how they could find players then.
It is not helping clubs try to compete in these competitions.
Thunderblaster
01/12/2008, 2:02 PM
Another walkover in the Connacht Cup to Inver. Called off at the last minute once again, with a club as small as Inver I would say they had a good idea could not field a team during the week, a friendly could have been organised instead if proper notice was given.
This has to stop, they should fine the club as a penalty in this situation (excluding extenuating circumstances), you would be amazed at how they could find players then.
It is not helping clubs try to compete in these competitions.
The squad were travelling through Tiernaur, near Mulranny, when they were informed. It is very poor form and a total lack of respect to the competition and a lack of respect to the teams that harbours an ambition to win the competition. I expect that the CFA lay down the appropriate penalties to Inver, because this lack of organisation has cost us valuable match practice.
GoodFootball
01/12/2008, 4:05 PM
The squad were travelling through Tiernaur, near Mulranny, when they were informed. It is very poor form and a total lack of respect to the competition and a lack of respect to the teams that harbours an ambition to win the competition. I expect that the CFA lay down the appropriate penalties to Inver, because this lack of organisation has cost us valuable match practice.
Beating Inver 10-0 is hardly going to do anything to help ye for the next round!
Maybe they could've given ye more notice though, im sure they tried to round up people and couldn't field on the day, not everyone has 40+ players to choose from ;)
keith.henn
01/12/2008, 9:09 PM
We (Ballygawley Celtic) had the privilge of a trip to Kilmore in the Con Cup yesterday, a long f'n trip from a few miles shy of Sligo town. Lovely pitch out there and some fine Thunder too........We won 3-0 and were rarely troubled, I'd imagine they didnt have there strongest team out, f they did they will really struggle next year in the Super League......Anyone know when the next round draw will be done???
Leveller
03/12/2008, 9:35 AM
Beating Inver 10-0 is hardly going to do anything to help ye for the next round!
Maybe they could've given ye more notice though, im sure they tried to round up people and couldn't field on the day, not everyone has 40+ players to choose from ;)
They dont have 40 plus players, thats the point, I am sure they knew they wouldnt field a team so why bother entering the competition in the first place?
The club should make Inver pay for the bus.
theboy
03/12/2008, 12:55 PM
Any thoughts on the Mayo game this weekend??
Thunderblaster
14/12/2008, 9:12 PM
Goals from Cam (3), Vinny, Gerry, Kipper, Spiderman and El Matador were enough to set up the Red and Black with a trip to Dillons Cross on January 4th:D in a very close and entralling contest!!:rolleyes:
Thunderblaster
14/12/2008, 9:23 PM
It was a mixed weekend on the SFAI front.
The U.14s beat Ballymahon 6-2 to advance to the last 32 of the SFAI U.14 Goodson Cup. The national draw for that will be made on Wednesday night.
The U.16s were defeated 4-0 away to Salthill Devon. Season over for them.
The future Ronnie Ring is on hand on the production line!!:D
Thunderblaster
17/12/2008, 7:07 PM
The U.14s beat Ballymahon 6-2 to advance to the last 32 of the SFAI U.14 Goodson Cup. The national draw for that will be made on Wednesday night.
U.14s got a home tie against DDSL Major Division outfit, Templeogue United with the game to be played on or before W/E 31st Jan/1st Feb.
Thunderblaster
30/12/2008, 12:03 PM
Hi ho, hi ho, it's off to Cork we go!! To beat Dillons Cross on Sunday in the FAI Junior Cup. Kick off is at 2:00 on Sunday in either Dillons Cross or Mayfield. Pre-match reception for the supporters on Saturday evening in the Shelbourne Hotel on MacCurtain Street in Cork. Heard that there are two bus loads travelling down. As they say, they don't talk in Cork boy, they sing, you langer.:D
Anyhow, yours truly will not be at the game!! aaawwwww!! I'm in Liverpool and the last time that I was in Liverpool when Westport United were playing an FAI Junior Cup game, Westport United won the FAI Junior Cup that season. If anyone thinks that Westport United has an easy ride on Sunday, I shall post a particular team as a reminder....Heatmerchants of Athlone. We were expected to beat them but came out with the tail between our legs.
Thunderblaster
30/12/2008, 12:05 PM
The U.14s are at home to Corrib Celtic in the Connacht Cup on Saturday at 2:00. A win will put them into the quarter final against Merville United of Sligo in the quarter final. Should be an interesting game.
Thunderblaster
02/01/2009, 10:41 AM
Two days to go and Westport are psyching themselves up for the long trip to Cork. The players are determined and focused, the supporters are going to drink the city dry. Extra consignments of liquor has been deployed into the clubs and pubs. Extra strippers are brought into the city to keep the broody blokes happy!! On behalf of the Liverpool Branch of the Westport United Supporters Club, I wish the team good luck and God speed as Westport United embark on the mission to regain the Holy Grail of Irish Junior football, the holy grail that denied so many players in the past, but the holy grail that we are so hungry to see come back to Westport. Only when we win the FAI Junior Cup again will we be remembered as a great club; in the same league as Fairview Rangers.
Thunderblaster
03/01/2009, 11:14 AM
Kick off is at 2:00 on Sunday
Kick off is brought forward to 12:00. As I type, the team are on the bus heading south to beat the boys of Cork.