View Full Version : Westport United FC
Thunderblaster
19/08/2006, 4:00 PM
Touhy Cup Final in Milebush Park at 5:00 tomorrow evening. Westport United B V Killala. AIB Cup Final postponed due to a WFAI Cup Final the following weekend.
T-13:D
Thunderblaster
21/08/2006, 9:05 PM
Westport did the bizz in the Touhy Cup Final beating Killala 3-0. Keith Ruddy could have got a hat trick, coor blimey but Lee Keegan put the Coves in front, James Fahy made it 2-0 and the Man of the Match, David Horkan wrapped it up at the finish. Played good football and deserved the win. There was a minutes silence for Joe Kelly's father and in a fitting tribute, the victory was dedicated to him. Both Joe Kelly and James Fahy both went on to lift the cup. There was a good party in Walsh's pub with karaoke afterwards. Bit unusual to have the Angelus played at half time, but worse still, the supporters were treated to the death notices!!:eek:
T-11:D
Thunderblaster
21/08/2006, 9:07 PM
Westport United Lotto now stands at €11,300!! For €2, you could end up being a rich boy (or girl)!!:D
T-10:D
Thunderblaster
21/08/2006, 9:11 PM
Westport United's Polish star Domonik Zareba is departing from town and on Wednesday night, he is inviting his friends within the club to Walsh's pub for a going away drink. Domonik is heading to Denmark. Lets hope he leaves with plenty of good memories of Westport United. To date, the only non-national to have won a medal for the club was the legendary Czech midfielder, Jozsef Tomanchak in 2002.
T-9:D (Single figures now!!):D :D
Proud cove
21/08/2006, 9:27 PM
Weren't there a few lads from 'London' Derry on the United side that won the Connacht Cup against OLBC in the early 70s? Last time I looked 'London' Derry was in Britain, which probably qualifies them as 'non-nationals'. What ya think Thunder?
Thunderblaster
22/08/2006, 10:52 PM
Last time I looked 'London' Derry was in Britain, which probably qualifies them as 'non-nationals'. What ya think Thunder?
I think that the Bogside folk may take offence to that line. Talk to the Waterside crew. Non nationals seems to be referred to anybody not from Ireland, Britain or the United States.
T-8:D
Thunderblaster
23/08/2006, 4:39 PM
Congrats to the U.14B team on winning their division!!
T-3:D
Thunderblaster
23/08/2006, 4:42 PM
The Jerry Murray 5 a Side tourney is kicking off on Monday 4th September. Non registered players only need apply. Should be good fun.
T-2:D
Thunderblaster
23/08/2006, 4:55 PM
We have lift off. The Thunderblaster has hit his 1000nd post on Foot.ie. It is time to swish the gargle and party the night away. First team at last. Jez, it was writing worth waiting for!!:D
Should auld acquaintance be forgot,
And never brought to mind?
And days of auld lang syne?
And days of auld lang syne, my dear,
And days of auld lang syne.
And days of auld lang syne?
We twa hae run aboot the braes
And pu'd the gowans fine.
We've wandered mony a weary foot,
Sin' auld lang syne.
Sin' auld lang syne, my dear,
Sin' auld lang syne,
We've wandered mony a weary foot,
Sin' auld ang syne.
We twa hae sported i' the burn,
From morning sun till dine,
But seas between us braid hae roared
Sin' auld lang syne.
Sin' auld lang syne, my dear,
Sin' auld lang syne.
But seas between us braid hae roared
Sin' auld lang syne.
And ther's a hand, my trusty friend,
And gie's a hand o' thine;
We'll tak' a cup o' kindness yet,
For auld lang syne.
For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne,
We'll tak' a cup o' kindness yet,
For auld lang syne.:D :D
HAPPY 1000 POST TB.
swinfordfc
24/08/2006, 4:02 PM
Well done TB :D
Thunderblaster
24/08/2006, 10:49 PM
Just a bit of fun. A good sense of humour on Foot.ie will keep dahamsta and the boys happy.:D
24/08/2006, 11:14 PM
Well done TB :D
T-352 :D
Have to keep the boys happy.
T-793 :D
Thunderblaster
25/08/2006, 10:11 PM
Would love if a first time poster marked down.......
T-999:D
That would be the quickest post of the month ever on Foot.ie!!:D :D
lim abroad
26/08/2006, 3:12 AM
i'm living in san francisco and was at work today on a building site where i got talking to the contrctor during the tea break,we were on the subject of golf when i asked him if he'd ever played in ireland cos it has some great courses.he told me he was in mayo last year when westport won some soccer cup he said,turns out that his cousin was on the team,can't remember his name but he said he was a young lad of about 19 and is in australia at the moment.he also added that there was a major **** up in celebration of what later dawned on me the fai junior cup which i also won myself with fairview.just thought i'd let ye know the story,best of luck for the coming season
Thunderblaster
28/08/2006, 9:42 PM
i'm living in san francisco and was at work today on a building site where i got talking to the contrctor during the tea break,we were on the subject of golf when i asked him if he'd ever played in ireland cos it has some great courses.he told me he was in mayo last year when westport won some soccer cup he said,turns out that his cousin was on the team,can't remember his name but he said he was a young lad of about 19 and is in australia at the moment.he also added that there was a major **** up in celebration of what later dawned on me the fai junior cup which i also won myself with fairview.just thought i'd let ye know the story,best of luck for the coming season
Players in question that went to Australia were Colm Keane and Colin Navin. They're back in Ireland again.
renovater
31/08/2006, 7:45 PM
Like most posts on this thread and others, you have got this wrong as well.
we will leave it there for now!:D
renovater
31/08/2006, 7:48 PM
thunder will ya be reporting from Germany?
31/08/2006, 7:49 PM
stop stirring.;)
Thunderblaster
05/09/2006, 12:50 PM
I heard in Austria that the boys lost 3-2 to S&F Utd. Anyone at the game?
Thunderblaster
12/09/2006, 11:08 PM
Read the report on the Mayo News. Not a great performance by the article; wasteful in front of goal and poor defending from set pieces-S&F's strong point-cost us dearly.:( Have to get maximum points.
Thunderblaster
12/09/2006, 11:09 PM
Lotto still not won. Now €11,900. What a prize!!:D :D :D
Thunderblaster
12/09/2006, 11:12 PM
Congrats to Frank Gillivan and Chris McGauley with the under 14 B team that won the Dalton Inn U.14 League Div.2 South. In the SFAI Norton Cup, Westport United got a walkover against S&F Utd. The Goodson Cup saw Westport overcome Snugboro 3-0.
Thunderblaster
12/09/2006, 11:21 PM
Westport United are currently in the process of setting up a website. Anyone with any contribution (ie. photographs, archieved documents or programmes) towards the site can contact Brian Cusack.
Thunderblaster
12/09/2006, 11:26 PM
A couple of Westport expats in the United States have been singing the praises of the Westport United thread on foot.ie from my recent conversations with them in Westport. They found it useful in catching the football news from home. Thanks to Rev. Fr. Ger Burns and Martin Coghlan for the wonderful feedback on the site.
Thunderblaster
18/09/2006, 2:13 PM
The big one is on in Celtic Park at 12:00 on Sunday morning. What's your thoughts?
Bestie
18/09/2006, 5:20 PM
The big one is on in Celtic Park at 12:00 on Sunday morning. What's your thoughts?
It is going to be a hard one to call. The Port have stuttered a bit, and it looks like Celtic are coming back into form with the introduction of the young players. I read on the Mayo League website that Joe Lawless and Des O'Malley will be missing, and that might turn the game in Celtic's favour. I do not think home advantage will play much of a part, and I can see plenty of goals. Hope there will be big crowd for the game.
renovater
20/09/2006, 10:17 PM
It is going to be a hard one to call. The Port have stuttered a bit, and it looks like Celtic are coming back into form with the introduction of the young players. I read on the Mayo League website that Joe Lawless and Des O'Malley will be missing, and that might turn the game in Celtic's favour. I do not think home advantage will play much of a part, and I can see plenty of goals. Hope there will be big crowd for the game.
when you say younger players does that mean poach younger players as well
you might explain how young Price has ended up in there ranks
.I am sure the likes of Donal Benson and the people who post on this site would like to here your views on how he ended up at celtic.
Thunderblaster
21/09/2006, 9:40 PM
There are two games in the Sports Park to whet the appetite on Saturday. At 2:30, the U.13s are at home to Manor Rangers and at 4:30, the U.17s are playing Castlebar Celtic. Would be nice to see a crowd at the matches. The U.15s are away to Charlestown Ath. All these games are in the SFAI National Cups.
Bestie
22/09/2006, 10:11 PM
.I am sure the likes of Donal Benson and the people who post on this site would like to here your views on how he ended up at celtic.
Why do you always have to have another agenda, and make sinister comments. The good young players that I was referring to were....the 2 O'Boyles, Fitzgerald, Minogue, Curry and Tom King when he was at Celtic. You probably wouldn't know about the quality of those players as I have not seen you at any of the Celtic matches in recent months. As regards the Swinford chap, who is also an excellent footballer, I have not seen him play with the junior side. I wouln't know how he ended up at Celtic, but can only presume that he has been brought in to make up a strong squad for the Youths team in the FAI Youth Cup, as suggested on another post.
Spot Kick
22/09/2006, 11:33 PM
Yes, I would have to agree with Bestie as regards your comments. Although I am a newcomer to this, I have read many of your previous posts, and they are full of snide and sinister comments. The Celtic young players that Bestie refers to are all home grown, and came up through the underage ranks at the club - they are all going to be top players in the future, and none of them, to my knowledge, were poached.
Back to Sunday's game. I think that it could be the match of the season, and let the best team win.
Thunderblaster
23/09/2006, 8:44 AM
let the best team win.
Westport United, of course!!:D :D :D
Thunderblaster
23/09/2006, 9:18 AM
I've seen the word "poaching" popping up a few times. That is a serious and very dangerous allegation to be made against any coach or club. If the club/coach is cleared of such allegations, it could lead the way for a libel case. The question would be, was the player requested, encouraged or influenced unfairly or improperly to approach their parents/guardians to seek a transfer to another team or participate in any training, coaching or games under the auspices of another team? If the answer to that is "no", then this "poaching" allegation must be scrubbed. The other lads that were listed came through the ranks and I know a number of them. It would be wise to move on.
swinfordfc
25/09/2006, 3:01 PM
What happen to Westport B team yestarday loss 5-1?
Proud cove
25/09/2006, 3:46 PM
That whole thing of the B team not able to get promote must be very deflating to players. The lads don't really have a lot to play for after winning the Cup.
Thunderblaster
25/09/2006, 6:25 PM
Mixed fortunes for the club over the weekend. If you were 15 years of age or under, things were rosy in the garden.:D Above that, it was frightening.:eek: Did not see any junior game due to commitments but took in the underage scene on Saturday. U.13s were full value for their win, heard about the U.15s winning but the U.17s were a little bit out of their depth against a more physical Celtic team. Finding positive vibes on the performance against Castlebar Celtic on Sunday was the equivalent of finding a crow with a set of teeth.:eek:
Thunderblaster
25/09/2006, 6:26 PM
Lotto Jackpot is now worth a cool €12,300!!:D :D :D
Thunderblaster
25/09/2006, 6:29 PM
What's your thoughts on the final boys and girls? Will Westport exact retribution on their old rivals? Will Celtic be ultra-hungry again on Sunday? Who will stand up and be counted or who will be the weakest link?
renovater
25/09/2006, 10:39 PM
Why do you always have to have another agenda, and make sinister comments. The good young players that I was referring to were....the 2 O'Boyles, Fitzgerald, Minogue, Curry and Tom King when he was at Celtic. You probably wouldn't know about the quality of those players as I have not seen you at any of the Celtic matches in recent months. As regards the Swinford chap, who is also an excellent footballer, I have not seen him play with the junior side. I wouln't know how he ended up at Celtic, but can only presume that he has been brought in to make up a strong squad for the Youths team in the FAI Youth Cup, as suggested on another post.
I would say you would no less? well aware of the tallent that is at Celtic I just think they should leave other clubs alone
Fair Play
25/09/2006, 10:39 PM
What's your thoughts on the final boys and girls? Will Westport exact retribution on their old rivals? Will Celtic be ultra-hungry again on Sunday? Who will stand up and be counted or who will be the weakest link?
It is hard to know if we saw the real Westport yesterday. They could turn it around in the Cup Final, but they will need to change their tactics and adopt a different approach. They were creative enough in the first 20 minutes but did not exploit the weakness at back for Celtic i.e. lack of pace. I think the big pitch at Milebush will suit Westport better, but they will also find it difficult to stop Ronan O'Boyle. It is hard to predict a winner. Let us hope we have a better game of football next Sunday.
renovater
25/09/2006, 10:46 PM
Yes, I would have to agree with Bestie as regards your comments. Although I am a newcomer to this, I have read many of your previous posts, and they are full of snide and sinister comments. The Celtic young players that Bestie refers to are all home grown, and came up through the underage ranks at the club - they are all going to be top players in the future, and none of them, to my knowledge, were poached.
Back to Sunday's game. I think that it could be the match of the season, and let the best team win.
So what can you tell me how so many players have ended up at celtic from other clubs, including young price.
dont tell me he join them to play U-18 football. this guy has been playing U-21 for the last two years. surly he would want to raise his game. More to the point show some respect towards his club who has given this player every chance to play at higher level.
Snide and sinister comes from people who disagree with sound comments I make in defence of others :mad:
Fair Play
25/09/2006, 10:50 PM
I would say you would no less? well aware of the tallent that is at Celtic I just think they should leave other clubs alone
I think it is time you called a halt to your comments Reno. Looking at all the various posts, people are fed up of your attacks on Celtic and any others that you disagree with. (Opinions are one thing, but character assassination is another). Keep it to football matters on the field.
renovater
25/09/2006, 10:53 PM
I've seen the word "poaching" popping up a few times. That is a serious and very dangerous allegation to be made against any coach or club. If the club/coach is cleared of such allegations, it could lead the way for a libel case. The question would be, was the player requested, encouraged or influenced unfairly or improperly to approach their parents/guardians to seek a transfer to another team or participate in any training, coaching or games under the auspices of another team? If the answer to that is "no", then this "poaching" allegation must be scrubbed. The other lads that were listed came through the ranks and I know a number of them. It would be wise to move on.
Don't want to think any player was poached, lets face up to the fact that it goes on, there are people in clubs making the call wealther you agree or not but it must cross your mind as to how some of these players end up at other clubs.
renovater
25/09/2006, 10:56 PM
well good luck to westport on Sunday hope you wipe the grin off the Gray one sunday.
Thunderblaster
27/09/2006, 10:06 PM
Anybody read the newspaper reports on the match last Sunday?
Thunderblaster
01/10/2006, 8:33 PM
Hail to the AIB Cup winners 2006, Westport United after defeating Castlebar Celtic 2-0 in the final with Cam and Dessie netting. Dave Horkan got the Man of the Match award. Game was overshadowed by Gerry Bourke's injury and the club extends a get well message to him.
Bestie
01/10/2006, 9:54 PM
Hail to the AIB Cup winners 2006, Westport United after defeating Castlebar Celtic 2-0 in the final with Cam and Dessie netting. Dave Horkan got the Man of the Match award. Game was overshadowed by Gerry Bourke's injury and the club extends a get well message to him.
Yes, well done to Westport Utd - they fully deserved their win. It was a much improved performance from last Sunday's game. The pitch in Milebush suited them well. It didn't appear as if Celtic wanted the game after Gerry Bourke's unfortunate injury. Let's all hope that Gerry recovers fully.
red metal
02/10/2006, 12:24 AM
Yes, well done to Westport Utd - they fully deserved their win. It was a much improved performance from last Sunday's game. The pitch in Milebush suited them well. It didn't appear as if Celtic wanted the game after Gerry Bourke's unfortunate injury. Let's all hope that Gerry recovers fully.
Well done Westport!They deserved it!Dykes is not have much luck in cup final,s is he!!!!!!!!!
Thunderblaster
04/10/2006, 11:44 PM
Club lotto is now worth a cool €12,500.:D :D :D
renovater
05/10/2006, 8:58 PM
I think it is time you called a halt to your comments Reno. Looking at all the various posts, people are fed up of your attacks on Celtic and any others that you disagree with. (Opinions are one thing, but character assassination is another). Keep it to football matters on the field.
SOUNDS LIKE A PRO MAYO LEAGUE MAN HATES POEPLE WHO DISAGREE WITH THEM. REGARDS TO CELTIC THEY ARE THE MAKING OF THERE OWN DOWN FALL
renovater
05/10/2006, 9:06 PM
FIRST OF ALL I AM SORRY FOR THE BALLINROBE BASE PLAYER WITH CELTIC HOPE HE MAKES FULL RECOVERY.
Well done to the champs of Westport on winning the A.I.B. Cup.
Well did the gray one go Red or did he see red.One thing is for sure ya wipe the grin of his face,here he on his way out?