View Full Version : Westport United FC

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37

Thunderblaster
23/11/2007, 5:51 PM
Who is missing Thunder?

Gerry, Flawless, Horks, Bourkey and I think Kenno.

Thunderblaster
25/11/2007, 11:14 AM
Great to see the Louisburgh Lion, Busty and Councillor Keane coming away with the big gongs last night. Eight players honoured is a good night's work for the club.

gunner1
26/11/2007, 8:00 AM
Great to see the Louisburgh Lion, Busty and Councillor Keane coming away with the big gongs last night. Eight players honoured is a good night's work for the club.

its a pity,that once you got your gongs you got up and left.spoilt a good night in my opinion

Leveller
26/11/2007, 8:10 AM
its a pity,that once you got your gongs you got up and left.spoilt a good night in my opinion

The lads had a game in the morning, you cant blame them for that.

west awake
26/11/2007, 12:52 PM
thunderblaster or leveller,can any of ye enlighten me to what glenhest rovers are like,my local team playin them in the next round of the connacht cup?

Leveller
26/11/2007, 2:30 PM
thunderblaster or leveller,can any of ye enlighten me to what glenhest rovers are like,my local team playin them in the next round of the connacht cup?

Glenhest are second bottom of the superleague, despite this, they make an effort to play football, however you might have the advantage as their season is over, I dont know how much training they are doing and you might have the edge in terms of fitness. They have a fantastic young goalkeeper. Dave McGreevy is an experienced midfielder/striker and their best outfield player.

west awake
26/11/2007, 8:12 PM
cheers leveller,if west united,my local club win there next 2 matches in the connacht cup and westport win there's,we will be away to ye!

Leveller
26/11/2007, 8:32 PM
cheers leveller,if west united,my local club win there next 2 matches in the connacht cup and westport win there's,we will be away to ye!

If it happens, get the team and yourselves to take the monday off, come and join in on the post match session in OGradys pub, we have a DJ etc and then we head to the nightclub, it is great craic, I missed it last night.

renovater
27/11/2007, 6:48 PM
Its a pitty the players had to leave in a hurry, Should try table manners.and pay more respect for your host, rather than tail gate out the door, It was well noted on the nite.
If you are going to leave try to do it with out the attention.

renovater
27/11/2007, 6:53 PM
The lads had a game in the morning, you cant blame them for that.
No excuse, it was the manner you left in. others had games to, the next day.
your players were well heel, by not drinking at all. was it nothing?
They seem to be on parade the moment they entered The Welcome Inn. As noted by Joe King

renovater
27/11/2007, 6:55 PM
Hard to beat, they will scrap for every thing.

juan pablo
27/11/2007, 7:52 PM
They seem to be on parade the moment they entered The Welcome Inn. As noted by Joe King

well said renovator, couldn't believe it myself, one mnute the room was full, the next it was more or less empty, total disrespect.

gunner1
28/11/2007, 2:22 AM
well said renovator, couldn't believe it myself, one mnute the room was full, the next it was more or less empty, total disrespect.

have to say erris stayed as ballinrobe,k&k and a couple of smaller clubs,dj made an effort the rest was a disgrace

Leveller
28/11/2007, 8:30 AM

Thats rubbish Renno, that is called begrudgery, that is a typical west of ireland small town attitude, because they are successful, and because they they did not wink and nod at every person they dont know in the place (including the fly on the wall) you are terming them as being shhhnnaaaby (as they would say it around here). We were on parade, how many awards did we win?

Get a life, why should we be bowing to the ML anyway, the majority of them begrudge our success and they did not help us a few years ago when we needed them (with the exception of JB). We are not grovelling to them, never!

If the players seemed standoffish, that is because they were thinking about the match the next day, they wanted to go to bed and be fresh for the opposition (no matter who they are) that is professionalism that is why they are successful. If the ML organised the function on a night when there were no matches on the next day you would have had the players stay, however it is beyond the ML limited capabilities to do this.

Its on the pitch where the hard work is done and the awards are won not in the ballroom.

jackd
28/11/2007, 9:12 AM
Leveller how many awards were won by the club and who won them??

Closing Time
28/11/2007, 11:03 AM
Thats rubbish Renno, that is called begrudgery, that is a typical west of ireland small town attitude, because they are successful, and because they they did not wink and nod at every person they dont know in the place (including the fly on the wall) you are terming them as being shhhnnaaaby (as they would say it around here). We were on parade, how many awards did we win?

Get a life, why should we be bowing to the ML anyway, the majority of them begrudge our success and they did not help us a few years ago when we needed them (with the exception of JB). We are not grovelling to them, never!

If the players seemed standoffish, that is because they were thinking about the match the next day, they wanted to go to bed and be fresh for the opposition (no matter who they are) that is professionalism that is why they are successful. If the ML organised the function on a night when there were no matches on the next day you would have had the players stay, however it is beyond the ML limited capabilities to do this.

Its on the pitch where the hard work is done and the awards are won not in the ballroom.

Well done on a great night for Utd. But I think Reno is correct with regard to lack of respect to the Mayo League and the other clubs, who make it possible for the league to take place. What would you be saying if the Mayo League did not hold this night. I do understand you had a game the next day but your B team would be expected to take care off an out of sorts Swinford side. All the talk the next day was not what Utd had won but the way they left the function. Look Celtic are no angels when it comes to this matter but maybe Utd should take note and maybe try to do things different the next time.

Thunderblaster
28/11/2007, 5:31 PM
We advanced to the open stages of the FAI Junior Cup for the seventh consecutive season with a 7-0 win over Swinford with goals from Cam (2), Spiderman (2), Razor (2) and Vinny. Very easy win really and played with nine men and bagged two goals from it. :eek::D

Thunderblaster
28/11/2007, 6:27 PM
Westport United have been drawn away to Dungarvan United in Round 5 of the FAI Junior Cup.

renovater
28/11/2007, 10:02 PM
have to say erris stayed as ballinrobe,k&k and a couple of smaller clubs,dj made an effort the rest was a disgrace
Ballyheane Stayed all 4 of them untill 1pm
The DJ was finding it hard.It was like a wake

renovater
28/11/2007, 10:15 PM

Sorry I find it hard to agree with you. Well the like of me went to pay homage to your club and others who were in attendance, who collected no cups or recognition for outstanding achievement's. Find it hard to stomach bad behavior, by those who do not show respect of your host. M.L or others in attendance. Just put your self in the other person shoes. how would you feel if every one decided to walk out on a funtion you organised.

Leveller
28/11/2007, 11:02 PM
Sorry I find it hard to agree with you. Well the like of me went to pay homage to your club and others who were in attendance, who collected no cups or recognition for outstanding achievement's. Find it hard to stomach bad behavior, by those who do not show respect of your host. M.L or others in attendance. Just put your self in the other person shoes. how would you feel if every one decided to walk out on a funtion you organised.

I take your point, but the ML should oraganise these things on a night when there are no games the next day, then we can all party, if they want Mayo teams to do well in external competitions they should not be having all their teams up to all hours the night before a game. Agree?

abbeyvale
28/11/2007, 11:15 PM
I take your point, but the ML should oraganise these things on a night when there are no games the next day, then we can all party, if they want Mayo teams to do well in external competitions they should not be having all their teams up to all hours the night before a game. Agree?

Lads
Any idea where Drumbar Utd or Moyville Celtic are from?

The Don
29/11/2007, 8:01 AM
Dont blame Westport lads for leaving, they won the superleague and premier league and still dont win club of the year. Bizarre to say the least !!!

Leveller
29/11/2007, 8:35 AM
Lads
Any idea where Drumbar Utd or Moyville Celtic are from?

There is a Drumbar in Donegal, and there is a Moyville in Rathfarnam in Dublin, but I would say, they could be any one of many in the country.

Leveller
29/11/2007, 8:40 AM
Dont blame Westport lads for leaving, they won the superleague and premier league and still dont win club of the year. Bizarre to say the least !!!

Thanks for the the support Don.

Manulla had to win it though, as they already won the FAI Club of the year. But they deserved to with all the hard work they have done on their facilities, considering they are located in a rural area, it is amazing what they have done both on and off the pitch, fair play to them.

quay heart
29/11/2007, 11:15 AM
the players had to leave if they had a game next day but chairman,vice chair,sec,tres...etc they should be still there to represent the club thats why they are in office.its appalling and once again puts the club in spotlight for wrong reasons.

Leveller
29/11/2007, 1:17 PM
the players had to leave if they had a game next day but chairman,vice chair,sec,tres...etc they should be still there to represent the club thats why they are in office.its appalling and once again puts the club in spotlight for wrong reasons.

Take the record off, the needle is jumping.

Leveller
29/11/2007, 1:18 PM
Would anyone have any info about Dungarvan United?

renovater
29/11/2007, 7:28 PM
Once again I can't agree with you.
You are digging your self into a bigger hole, you can't defend the def endless. do us all a favour and own up, look its the manner in which they left. We ordinary siblins don't have a problem in them leaving, but we were not given the chance to congratulate them.
It appeared they left in protest, it this you can not defend.even in your thread you condem the M.l

renovater
29/11/2007, 7:34 PM
Dont blame Westport lads for leaving, they won the superleague and premier league and still dont win club of the year. Bizarre to say the least !!!Sorry cant agree with you. You can't accept prizes on the basics that suits you. you have to except the M.L. DECISSION IN ALL MATTERS.
At the end of the day Manulla did win a national title, and one can only conclude the league only saw it fitting to honour them as club of the year.
Its the manner in which they left that has a bad tasted in every one mouth

Thunderblaster
29/11/2007, 8:46 PM
It appeared they left in protest

There was nothing to protest about.

Thunderblaster
29/11/2007, 8:49 PM

The committee members that were there remained well after the players left. Having said that, there were others present that had commitments early on Sunday morning.

Thunderblaster
29/11/2007, 8:51 PM
There is a Drumbar in Donegal, and there is a Moyville in Rathfarnam in Dublin, but I would say, they could be any one of many in the country.

I think that is a typographical error, it should read Moville in Donegal.

Leveller
29/11/2007, 9:50 PM
Once again I can't agree with you.
You are digging your self into a bigger hole, you can't defend the def endless. do us all a favour and own up, look its the manner in which they left. We ordinary siblins don't have a problem in them leaving, but we were not given the chance to congratulate them.
It appeared they left in protest, it this you can not defend.even in your thread you condem the M.l

There is no hole being dug Renno, they left for the reasons I mentioned earlier. and that is good enough, we were not expecting club of the year either.

I bet there were more first teamers of yours at the duet than you can put on the field though.

Leveller
29/11/2007, 9:52 PM
I think that is a typographical error, it should read Moville in Donegal.

There is Thunder you are right.

Thunderblaster
29/11/2007, 10:03 PM
Leveller, et al, check out the Martin Keane thread on Off Topic, Other Threads, to add comments about him.:ball::)

Thunderblaster
29/11/2007, 10:07 PM
Great article on Mozmir on the Mayo News this week. I hear that there is a going away party in Walsh's Bar, Mill Street next Friday night at 10:00. All supporters are welcome to pay homage to the legend!!:D

terrier
30/11/2007, 5:41 PM
just as a matter of interest why is the mayo lge dinner always in castlebar ? why not move it around a bit ?

juan pablo
30/11/2007, 7:31 PM
just as a matter of interest why is the mayo lge dinner always in castlebar ? why not move it around a bit ?

I would say they have it in Castlebar as it is a hub town to most of the clubs, in other words it is more or less the centre for surrounding clubs, would be nice to see it in the McWilliam Hotel in Claremorris in the near future.

Bestie
30/11/2007, 9:05 PM
I would say they have it in Castlebar as it is a hub town to most of the clubs, in other words it is more or less the centre for surrounding clubs, would be nice to see it in the McWilliam Hotel in Claremorris in the near future.
I doubt if that will happen, given the fact that the Welcome Inn sponsors the Mayo League.

Leveller
30/11/2007, 11:12 PM

Anywhere but the WI which is a kip, but then there is not a decent hotel in CBR anyway. The McWilliam is a fine hotel and a superior venue.

Thunderblaster
02/12/2007, 11:23 AM
Game is going ahead in Milebush, inspite of the meteorological conditions out there.

Thunderblaster
02/12/2007, 11:24 AM
Heard that the U.12s had a fantastic 3-1 win in Sligo yesterday after extra time. Must have been some slagging between Jim Rocliffe and Terry Delahunt!!:D:D:D

Thunderblaster
02/12/2007, 12:01 PM
Hot off the press!! Westport United's game is called off due to Galway Bohs bus apparently being cancelled by the tour operator, thinking that the game would be postponed. Westport are in Milebush and the match officials will be present and Westport are looking to claim the game.

renovater
02/12/2007, 1:43 PM
Anywhere but the WI which is a kip, but then there is not a decent hotel in CBR anyway. The McWilliam is a fine hotel and a superior venue.
You couldn't bring it to Westport due to the Westport team would more than lightly have no manners to there host.
Ending in red faces:D

renovater
02/12/2007, 2:00 PM
Hot off the press!! Westport United's game is called off due to Galway Bohs bus apparently being cancelled by the tour operator, thinking that the game would be postponed. Westport are in Milebush and the match officials will be present and Westport are looking to claim the game.
I wouldn't hold your breathe on this one. If they can show that it was cancelled by the tour operator, rather than the club, they have a sound case for the game to be refixed.you are giving your view rather than a club official view of Bohs.There will have support for there case.
If the bus broke down would it not be the same, beyond the control of the club.
Any way Westport would rather win the game on the field of play not in a smokey board room.

Leveller
02/12/2007, 6:52 PM
You couldn't bring it to Westport due to the Westport team would more than lightly have no manners to there host.

Yaaaaawwwwwnnnnnnn..............

Thunderblaster
03/12/2007, 9:22 PM
Any way Westport would rather win the game on the field of play not in a smokey board room.

Sorry, smoking in a public place is a prosecutable offence in accordance with the Tobacco Act 2004. The venue of the meeting would be liable under law with a fine of €1,000. The meeting room would have air as clean as the Alps.

Thunderblaster
03/12/2007, 9:23 PM
I wouldn't hold your breathe on this one.

If I held my breath long enough............I'd die!!!:eek:

Thunderblaster
03/12/2007, 9:29 PM

Westport team would more than lightly= Westport team, more than likely, would

lightly=likely

there=their

If the dinner dance was on a night that did not clash with anything, the players would wait on for as long as they wish. That happened in 2004 and 2005.