View Full Version : FAI Cup 2018

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

ger121
19/09/2018, 9:13 PM
She wore, she wore....

19/09/2018, 9:29 PM
Well, same old, same old in the Brandywell.

An entertaining game, with some appalling Derry City defending leading to goals. Bohs good value to be 2 up, then we decided to start playing well. Got a goal back, but couldn't get the second.
Had a few great chances, but just couldn't convert. The usual playing out from the back still not working.

Wouldn't normally complain, but there was some brutal refereeing tonight from Rob Harvey. From throw-ins being taken from the wrong spots, to two penalties not given, then to the double handball prior to Bohs third. Poor stuff now.

Biggest away crowd of the season from Bohs. For a Wednesday, hugely impressive. First time in a years we've seen their scumbag element though. Flares, pitch invasions, altercations with stewards. I'd thought that was gone from their support. Disappointing.

That's our season over so. Can't say it's been fun. And can't see much of a change for next year barring a change in management.

EatYerGreens
19/09/2018, 9:34 PM
Bohs were deserved winners tonight, but only because Derry were very poor. This did not look anything like the Bohs team that ran rings around Cork on Friday. For the last 30mins they were on the ropes, and the only thing that saved them was a 3rd goal on the break. If Cork turn up for the semi, they should win.

A very big Bohs travelling support btw - the biggest I can recall for a non-derby fixture - which was impressive for a Wednesday night. What was less impressive was the utter scumbag behaviour of quite a few of them, and seeing so many grown men acting like complete toddlers. Embarrassing stuff. I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morning.

Dalymountrower
19/09/2018, 10:46 PM
I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morning.
Luckily their wives are working in the Soy Milk and Avocado toast factories back in Phibsboro

Miaow!

I cant imagine how miserable you Derry lads would be if you hadn`t just won the League Cup three days ago?

EatYerGreens
19/09/2018, 11:33 PM
Luckily their wives are working in the Soy Milk and Avocado toast factories back in Phibsboro

Miaow!

I cant imagine how miserable you Derry lads would be if you hadn`t just won the League Cup three days ago?

It's not about us. It's about the pure scumbags you have hanging around your club.

Those hipsters and families you're spending so much effort on trying to attract to watch Bohs won't stick around if they have to encounter d!ckheads like those you had in Derry tonight.

You've had to deal with an unsavoury element in your support before in the past (and they've also caused trouble in Derry too before - with a few even ending up in court). To Bohs' credit, they have acted previously to weed them out. Time to acknowledge that there's an element that needs removing again, before they damage the promising vibe and project you've got going around the club at the moment.

20/09/2018, 1:16 AM
It's not about us. It's about the pure scumbags you have hanging around your club.

Those hipsters and families you're spending so much effort on trying to attract to watch Bohs won't stick around if they have to encounter d!ckheads like those you had in Derry tonight.

You've had to deal with an unsavoury element in your support before in the past (and they've also caused trouble in Derry too before - with a few even ending up in court). To Bohs' credit, they have acted previously to weed them out. Time to acknowledge that there's an element that needs removing again, before they damage the promising vibe and project you've got going around the club at the moment.
What did they do?

Ezeikial
20/09/2018, 6:19 AM
Embarrassing stuff. I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morning.

You'd hardly be having a rant without knowing all the facts, would you?

marinobohs
20/09/2018, 9:04 AM
What did they do?

Didn't stone every away bus anyway, because we all know that never happens in Derry :rolleyes: few flares let off (will somebody please think of the children) and a couple of idiots on the pitch 'celebrating' about the sum of it.Oh, and a large case of whine (home brewed) because Derry lost the game.

......hardly the football factory 2 ;)

marinobohs
20/09/2018, 9:23 AM
I guess it's easy to travel in numbers for a Wednesday night fixture when you don't have jobs to get up for the next morning.

Foot.ie - Thread - matches w/e 21 Sept. - page 2.

'I'm not one for hissy fits and assuming things I don't know' (by guess who ???????)

bohsmug
20/09/2018, 11:18 AM
Wouldn't exactly say scumbag :D

A flare lit when the teams came out. Not thrown on the pitch, not anything. Just a red flare held until it burnt out.

That win meant a lot to the club and people ran around a bit. Nobody looked for any trouble whatsoever and there was no trouble. Get over yourself. Maybe 2 or 3 ended up on the pitch but most just went to the barriers. Nobody should go on the pitch, fair enough. Derry City Stewards wouldn't let Bohs players warm down in front of us after the game. But most wished us well in the semis on the way out.

I saw some men aggressively hugging. Disgusting behaviour.

20/09/2018, 3:10 PM

A flare lit when the teams came out. Not thrown on the pitch, not anything. Just a red flare held until it burnt out.

That win meant a lot to the club and people ran around a bit. Nobody looked for any trouble whatsoever and there was no trouble. Get over yourself. Maybe 2 or 3 ended up on the pitch but most just went to the barriers. Nobody should go on the pitch, fair enough. Derry City Stewards wouldn't let Bohs players warm down in front of us after the game. But most wished us well in the semis on the way out.

I know in 2011 that there was trouble in flancare park in fai cup when ye played us but I think what Derry are saying is sour grapes.. their stewards are the worst in the league imo after the hassle we got from them years ago.. I would love to see Bohs get to a final as they havent being to one since 2010 when they won the setanta cup.

marinobohs
20/09/2018, 3:24 PM
I know in 2011 that there was trouble in flancare park in fai cup when ye played us but I think what Derry are saying is sour grapes.. their stewards are the worst in the league imo after the hassle we got from them years ago.. I would love to see Bohs get to a final as they havent being to one since 2010 when they won the setanta cup.

Bohs did historically have a problem element, and the club made huge strides to get rid of them (including multiple bans). we have worked with every club to ensure these people did not follow us away from home, often offering our own stewards to away stadiums. While there certainly was very vocal support last night (It was a FAI Cup qtr final) there was nothing dangerous at any stage and no more annoying than the Dutch Gold fueled masses demanding a Bureau de Change at every turnstile that was the Derry support of bygone years (I will not even mention those bl##dy drums :o)

As they say up north 'take your oil'. we had a horrendous run of ten defeats against Derry before the recent League game so a win or two was long overdue.

joey B
20/09/2018, 3:34 PM
Am I missing something or what have Derry said? The only thing I've seen from Derry fans is praise for the away support,and on here is the only criticism ive seen......

Dalymountrower
20/09/2018, 4:30 PM

Following your team away on a wet Wednesday night? You dole sponger , get a job!

Ezeikial
20/09/2018, 5:59 PM
Midweek football fans cheats us all

topia
20/09/2018, 9:40 PM

To be fair...that 2011 incident if it's the one im thinking of always stands out as one of the worst incidents of heavy handed policing I've ever seen.
I witnessed a couple of young lads asking to leave through a gate (they bizarrely decided they wanted to go to the pub) they had a very brief verbal disagreement with a steward, possibly about coming back...and next thing I knew a couple of guards were throwing them on the ground and pepper spray was being shot all over the place. Some narrowly missed my head and hit another person who like me was just heading to the toilet or wherever we were walking by all this to.
Then there were newspaper reports making out that bohs fans were rioting!

topia
20/09/2018, 9:43 PM
Actually a quick Google would have served me well. It seems as I was walking by I missinterrpreted why they were trying to leave:

http://www.rabble.ie/2011/09/27/witness-cop-thuggery-and-the-league-of-ireland/

Same end result

EatYerGreens
21/09/2018, 1:06 AM
What did they do?

From speaking to one of the stewards who was involved with trying to deal with the man who ran across the pitch a few times (in a very a comical chase with a different overweight steward). When he was finally caught by a few stewards as he tried to climb over an advertising hoarding to get back to the Bohs fans, a number of others fans left the stand and tried to start on the stewards whilst they were trying to deal with him. In his words, there was "continual aggro" from a section of the Bohs fans from the minute they arrived at the ground. Refusing to do whatever they were politely asked to do by stewards, continually jumping from the stands onto the out-field area/pitch, screaming in the face of stewards and pushing on them when they scored etc. They didn't try to do anything about the flares, as they didn't think it was worth the pain.

He described it as the only hassle they've had from any fans - home or away - all season.

EatYerGreens
21/09/2018, 1:10 AM
You'd hardly be having a rant without knowing all the facts, would you?

Oh FFS :rolleyes:

For those who are hard of understanding and lacking a sense of humour, the bit about Bohs fans not having jobs to get up for the next morning was clearly a joke.

I'm told a few of them have paper rounds :p

21/09/2018, 8:05 AM
To be fair...that 2011 incident if it's the one im thinking of always stands out as one of the worst incidents of heavy handed policing I've ever seen.
I witnessed a couple of young lads asking to leave through a gate (they bizarrely decided they wanted to go to the pub) they had a very brief verbal disagreement with a steward, possibly about coming back...and next thing I knew a couple of guards were throwing them on the ground and pepper spray was being shot all over the place. Some narrowly missed my head and hit another person who like me was just heading to the toilet or wherever we were walking by all this to.
Then there were newspaper reports making out that bohs fans were rioting!

As I remember it a couple of mini busses rocked up quite late to the game and the individuals on it were barred from dalier. A Bohs club official pointed this out to Longford who refused them entry as they were ****ed too. They kicked off and the Gardai pepper sprayed them but sadly it ended up hitting a few innocent supporters, can remember the medics having to run into the away end with huge water containers to wash lads eyes out

Dalymountrower
21/09/2018, 8:28 AM

For those who are hard of understanding and lacking a sense of humour, the bit about Bohs fans not having jobs to get up for the next morning was clearly a joke.

I get that joke , although maybe I am "hard of understanding" of the humorous quality of the use of the term "scumbag". We certainly have some characters in our fan base that I wouldn`t make excuses for, but everything that I heard and saw from the extensive footage of the Derry game, including your "rationale" above for your initial comments, suggests over exuberant well oiled fans seeing their team qualify for their first cup semi final in ten years ( ?) against the team that, up to a fortnight ago , had beaten them ten games in a row.
Having said that, I work , I wasnt there.

marinobohs
21/09/2018, 8:56 AM

Derry fan joking about not having a job ? clearly irony is not your strongpoint. Wife still working in the shirt factory ? (you see, we do clichés as well). as for Derry stewards 'politely' asking people anything, well that would be a first.

Just imagine, fans celebrating when their team score a goal in a cup quarter final (without any threat to anybody) wow, just wow, what is this league coming to ?:cool:

EatYerGreens
21/09/2018, 1:55 PM
Didn't stone every away bus anyway, because we all know that never happens in Derry :rolleyes:

It doesn't actually.

It sadly did on a few occasions a few years back, and was the result of local hoods/scumbags, and not Derry City fans. It was thankfully stamped out, and hasn't happened again since (fingers crossed). Even Irish league clubs bringing fans in numbers with union jacks etc haven't had any issues at the Brandywell this season (though touch wood, as we await the arrival of Linfield and Glentoran).

Well done for bringing some whatabouttery into the debate though. I'll return the favour by mentioning the time a group of 30 Bohs fans trashed a pub in Derry occupied by pensioners and tourists in a sectarian attack, which resulted in four of them being jailed. Unlike the unacceptable stoning of buses, that actually did involve supporters at a game https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/bohs-fans-jailed-over-bar-attack-331564.html

21/09/2018, 2:01 PM
Let's just agree both clubs are awful and move on.

EatYerGreens
21/09/2018, 2:01 PM
Just imagine, fans celebrating when their team score a goal in a cup quarter final (without any threat to anybody) wow, just wow, what is this league coming to ?:cool:

Is running around a pitch in the middle of a game and trying to start fights with stewards really the only way fans can celebrate a goal ?

You're making excuses for the poor behaviour of a minority of your supporters. And by so doing, contributing to an environment in which they can continue to do it unimpeded. There is some fantastic work happening at Bohs to create a great vibe around the club and attract new supporters to your games. And it's the envy of pretty much every other club in the league. No point risking all that for the aggressive behaviour of a few who seem to think you can't be a supporter or celebrate a goal without trying to pick a fight or act the tit.

21/09/2018, 11:24 PM
Well I for one am appalled and think they should be relegated.

Ezeikial
22/09/2018, 6:26 AM
This unfortunate how one or two can give club supporters a bad name.

In general Derry fans are great

marinobohs
24/09/2018, 10:11 AM
Is running around a pitch in the middle of a game and trying to start fights with stewards really the only way fans can celebrate a goal ?

You're making excuses for the poor behaviour of a minority of your supporters. And by so doing, contributing to an environment in which they can continue to do it unimpeded. There is some fantastic work happening at Bohs to create a great vibe around the club and attract new supporters to your games. And it's the envy of pretty much every other club in the league. No point risking all that for the aggressive behaviour of a few who seem to think you can't be a supporter or celebrate a goal without trying to pick a fight or act the tit.

Didn't see anybody 'picking a fight', although your stewards are not known for their gentle technique. It was wrong for anyone to enter the field of play - as has been acknowledged, but it was in celebration, in a cup quarter final away from home.No threat to anyone and no offence unless you were looking for I,t to say that constitutes a 'problem' at the club is bullsh1t of the highest order and, I suspect, you know that.

Given the drunken behavior of some Derry fans at almost every ground in the country over the years, your new found fundamentalism is a bit bizarre. Congrats on having stopped stoning away buses, you must be soooooooo proud.
.......anyway, we have a semi final to prepare for :p

EatYerGreens
24/09/2018, 12:54 PM
Didn't see anybody 'picking a fight'

Just because you didn't see it, doesn't mean it didn't happen though.

It was wrong for anyone to enter the field of play - as has been acknowledged, but it was in celebration, in a cup quarter final away from home.

"It was wrong - but here's a load of reasons why it wasn't really all that wrong.." :D

No threat to anyone and no offence unless you were looking for I,t to say that constitutes a 'problem' at the club is bullsh1t of the highest order and, I suspect, you know that.

No threat, except for the ones who tried to start on stewards.

Given the drunken behavior of some Derry fans at almost every ground in the country over the years

I'd happily put the behaviour of Derry fans up alongside that of Bohs fans to be judged at any time. We both know who the supporters of other clubs would say they have less issues with (by far).

Congrats on having stopped stoning away buses, you must be soooooooo proud.

And in return, congrats for having (temporarily) stopped smashing up pubs containing pensioners in sectarian attacks. Though admittedly, it's hard to do it when you find yourself behind bars. At least those lads finally discovered what it's like to have a queen ;)

.......anyway, we have a pitch invasion to prepare for

Fixed that for you :cool:

Banter aside, enjoy Cork!. Would be a good thing to avoid yet another Dundalk-Cork final pairing

24/09/2018, 1:00 PM
although your stewards are not known for their gentle technique.

Given the drunken behavior of some Derry fans at almost every ground in the country over the years, your new found fundamentalism is a bit bizarre. Congrats on having stopped stoning away buses, you must be soooooooo proud.
.......anyway, we have a semi final to prepare for :p

Bohs have issue with Derry stewards, Cork and Pats and Rovers with Dundalk's, Dundalk with Cork's and Rovers, Waterford, and Limerick have complained about stewarding probably in Cork etc etc. Give it a rest ffs, if people act like idiots they will be treated like idiots including drunk Dundalk fans outside of Turners Cross in the past, Bohs fan running on to pitch, Rovers fans running on to pitch. If there were less 'gentle technique' for gobsh1tes there might be a few less embaressments at games.

As for the 'drunken behaviour' of Derry fans over the years? Well drunk or sober they have been a pleasure to host, bring atmosphere and numbers to games, unless bashing on a big drum in every ground is drunken behaviour....my ears might have to agree on that one. Derry fans have always very welcome in Oriel and can use the Lilywhite Lounge most times too. Im sure most other grounds they have always been well received. Unless that bit about stoning buses is sarcastic, yes congrats on stopping that issue and indeed as Placid Casual mentioned having PSNI in the area too keep an eye on the drinking habits of visiting supporters.

marinobohs
24/09/2018, 3:38 PM
Meanwhile, back on topic, Bohs have announced all (home) tickets for the semi next Sunday are SOLD OUT nice to see such a high level of interest ( I guess they weren't scared off by our 'problem' fans ;)).

PS we even allow drinking at matches !

24/09/2018, 3:46 PM
That's fantastic work. Looking forward to it (kind of. Also half dreading it)

patrickccfc
24/09/2018, 4:29 PM
Will be great to see dalymount full. Although it is a pity the stand behind the dugouts can't be used. Should be a fantastic atmosphere.

Surely we can't be as bad as our last visit, but bohs are on fire right now so I'm not very optimistic.

Real ale Madrid
24/09/2018, 4:42 PM
What is the capacity of Dalymount Park?

Dalymountrower
24/09/2018, 4:54 PM
What is the capacity of Dalymount Park?

2750 Jodi and 800 in the Des Kelly stand. Certainly would have packed in 5,000, if we had the capacity. I reckon Cork will be up for it and if it turns out to be a physical battle, we will struggle.

Kingswood Rover
24/09/2018, 5:35 PM
Cant see cork selling their allocation, yiz may get some back but this tie could be towards 7 k if the capacity was there.

David BOHie
24/09/2018, 6:01 PM
Definitely. If we had the redeveloped Dalyer with a 6-8000 capacity then I reckon we'd sell that out.

ger121
24/09/2018, 7:33 PM
They could have sold the Jodi twice over if the capacity was there.

24/09/2018, 7:53 PM
Never stopped Bohs before...

24/09/2018, 9:03 PM
Get out the brushes and power-hose and clean up the Connaught Street side. Be grand.

bohsmug
24/09/2018, 10:07 PM
And get a few strong lads to hold the stand up. You might be on to something.

24/09/2018, 10:42 PM
Never stopped Bohs before...

That was just too easy :D

I'll be cheering on Bohs, purely because I'm fed up with Cork and Dundalk in the final. Real feel good factor about Bohs at the moment too, so I'm sure they'd bring a good crowd to Landsdowne.

patrickccfc
24/09/2018, 10:59 PM
I'll be cheering on Bohs, purely because I'm fed up with Cork and Dundalk in the final.

You'll be cheering on UCD too so yeah?😛

Kingswood Rover
25/09/2018, 8:31 AM
You'll be cheering on UCD too so yeah?
I will all Dublin final easy 50 k

ToberonaTornado
25/09/2018, 10:10 AM
I will all Dublin final easy 50 k

https://i.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/newsfeed/001/227/689/ef8.jpg

Straightstory
25/09/2018, 10:15 AM
2750 Jodi and 800 in the Des Kelly stand. Certainly would have packed in 5,000, if we had the capacity. I reckon Cork will be up for it and if it turns out to be a physical battle, we will struggle.
Incredible it's so low now. I've been there with a crowd of 35,000.

sbgawa
25/09/2018, 10:36 AM
Why is it not possible to spend 20/30k on a clean up and repair to one of the unopened ends.
If Bohs could sell another 2000 tickets at 20 that's 40k.
Is it really that bad or is it a case of heath and safety gone mad.
There are other grounds with very sketchy facilities that are apparently ok

25/09/2018, 11:06 AM
And get a few strong lads to hold the stand up. You might be on to something.

I was going to ask what the issue was with that side. Dundalk fans were that side in 2009 4th round cup replay (that went to penos and was under Sean Connor I think), large crowd from Dundalk too. Under the terrace was just messy but didnt look like it was crumbling, access was tight in unlikely need for a quick evacuation maybe. Im presuming from your post though that that terrace is structurally not sound rather than just a bit dilapidated and could be tidied up. Its a shame as 5 to 7k would be great for the competition and for Dalymount the famous old ground!
Is it bein super careful to keep such areas closed or absolutely necessary for safety reasons, would 'minimal' revision work bring things up to spec?

RathfarnhamHoop
25/09/2018, 1:26 PM
There may be weeds growing through it and underneath is a tip but surely the stands not condemned or they wouldn't be allowed to have the gantry on it. Could be an access issue?

Dalymountrower
25/09/2018, 3:13 PM
There may be weeds growing through it and underneath is a tip but surely the stands not condemned or they wouldn't be allowed to have the gantry on it. Could be an access issue?

No way DCC would allow it to open for any crowd, and they would be right. It is structurally unsound at the Phibsboro Road end ( the main entrance), that is supported by the pillars.
The bit down the gantry side is probably fine, ( if any RTE journo`s are reading this) pretty solid dry fill under that section...fingers crossed!