View Full Version : FAI Cup 2018
Pages :
[
12]
mcgonigle
06/10/2018, 10:11 PM
We sent up more tickets. Your club just didnt distribute them the way ye wanted. Not our fault.
You sent up 700 tickets?
Nah Nah Nah Nah
07/10/2018, 12:04 AM
The 500 sold out Thursday, we got an extra 100 and they sold out as well this morning, we currently have a director going to Cork to get 100 tickets to sell at tonight's match.
700 fans on a Monday night and still being on TV is incredible.
Wouldn’t it have made more sense just to collect them from them in Tallaght seeing as they were playing there?
It really does highlight the level of BS that was coming out of Cork as to why it was impossible to accommodate any more than 500 Dundalk fans at the recent league match at Turners Cross.
Great support from Bohs fans - fair play to all travelling
You had more than 500 in there. 500 sent up and any bought on ticketmaster transferred in there too. Can't imagine there'd have been too much in the difference from the 700 maximum. Apart from that, the Gardaí set different levels of segregation for different teams. They do that on a game by game assessment. If there were, for example, 100 less seats. That would be the reason
Ezeikial
07/10/2018, 9:07 AM
You had more than 500 in there. 500 sent up and any bought on ticketmaster transferred in there too. Can't imagine there'd have been too much in the difference from the 700 maximum. Apart from that, the Gardaí set different levels of segregation for different teams. They do that on a game by game assessment. If there were, for example, 100 less seats. That would be the reason
The list of possible reasons why Cork City dragged their feet and refused to sell available seats to fans of their league rivals (that were always going to be empty) is getting longer all the time:
1) The Gardai don't like Lilywhite fans
2) Bohs fans are more docile
3) Dundalk got loads of extra tickets but lost them.
4) Regular St Anne's end home fans have favourite seats ( but only for league games, not for cup matches) and might not come back
5) A 500 plus seat sterile zone beside away fans is essential in league games only.
6) The "fu*k Dundalk" rhetoric is now a critical part of the club ethos, and if we can't match them on the pitch, well just have to be awkward and petty off it.
7) Follow Trump tactics and deny the game ever happened - Its fake news!
Good luck to both teams in the replay. I imagine 700 + Bohs fans will make for a lively atmosphere
07/10/2018, 11:25 AM
Ah, the dundalk nonsense is alive and well, even after a league win.
1) the dragging of feet was because we waited to see if we needed the tickets ourselves
2) Dundalk fans seems to think tickets weren't sent up when they were. Their club chose not to publicise it.
3) Yes we refused to move regulars, and will continue to do so, as is also happening in the Bohs Game. Absolutely dead right. 2 St Annes sections is the maximum anyone will get.
4) Yes, the Gardaí view segregation and the amount of seats needed for it in their own special way. This is not new, as annoying as it is. How they compare Dundalk and Bohs? Probably not much in it, as proven by the very similar ticket numbers.
5) if the decision was just because They didn't want more dundalk fans, we'd hardly be denying it! In fact it'd likely be one of the more popular recent club decisions. Shock horror, fans don't really like their rivals. So, no, there's be no reason for some bizarre cover up.
I'm sure the 700 Bohs fans will create a fantastic atmosphere. As, to be fair, the 600 or so dundalk fans did. Hopefully they don't have as much of a reason for it though
CityBoy
07/10/2018, 8:14 PM
Fairplay to Dundalk fans for making the City and Bohs game about them anyway.
Great to see Bohs bringing down a big crowd. The league would be all the better if every club had a strong travelling support. Adds so much to the atmosphere. Hope they all enjoy their day in Cork
Looking forward to this game tomorrow, just great to have another live game to watch with interest and on a monday night.
Cork will be odds on, and they will be fully expected to win, I think Bohs will make it a better final though and probably might even take more fans to the Aviva, no pressure on them tomorrow, will all be on Cork to advance.
sbgawa
07/10/2018, 9:22 PM
Reckon Caulfield must be over the moon sadlier picked up s knock against rovers. Has an excuse not to play him now. When he leaves at the end of the season it will be no surprise
marinobohs
08/10/2018, 9:50 AM
Ah, the dundalk nonsense is alive and well, even after a league win.
1) the dragging of feet was because we waited to see if we needed the tickets ourselves
2) Dundalk fans seems to think tickets weren't sent up when they were. Their club chose not to publicise it.
3) Yes we refused to move regulars, and will continue to do so, as is also happening in the Bohs Game. Absolutely dead right. 2 St Annes sections is the maximum anyone will get.
4) Yes, the Gardaí view segregation and the amount of seats needed for it in their own special way. This is not new, as annoying as it is. How they compare Dundalk and Bohs? Probably not much in it, as proven by the very similar ticket numbers.
5) if the decision was just because They didn't want more dundalk fans, we'd hardly be denying it! In fact it'd likely be one of the more popular recent club decisions. Shock horror, fans don't really like their rivals. So, no, there's be no reason for some bizarre cover up.
I'm sure the 700 Bohs fans will create a fantastic atmosphere. As, to be fair, the 600 or so dundalk fans did. Hopefully they don't have as much of a reason for it though
Tremendous level of interest at Dalymount in this game and a great number travelling, especially for a Monday night. I don't want to get mixed up in the Cork / Dundalk 'love in' but speaking to people at Bohs on Friday night Cork have ben excellent to deal with over tickets.
Ezeikial
08/10/2018, 10:41 AM
I don't want to get mixed up in the Cork / Dundalk 'love in'
If Bohs win tonight it will just further accelerate the decline of the rivalry. Once a team are no longer challenging for honours the edge tends to get blunted a little.
I hope other clubs can step in to any breech that opens up by the possible decline of Cork City
seand
08/10/2018, 11:59 AM
Cork are gonna finish top two for the fifth year in a row, with 10+ points to spare. Reports of their demise are premature
If the history of the League of Ireland has taught us anything, apart from that the history League of Ireland generally teaches the League of Ireland nothing, it's that winning the league is far more likely to lead to a club's demise than not winning it!
joey B
08/10/2018, 1:13 PM
Very premature to talk about a demise at Cork, they did win the double last season, Id very much like Cork to win the cup this season be good for the league I feel.
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 1:37 PM
Corks problem for next season is the same as every other teams.....
you need a centreforward who can score 20+ goals to win the league.
Cork got lucky with Maguire and Dundalk have had several.
for Rovers or Cork or anyone the off season signing of someone who can score goals will decide if they can challenge for next season.
Kingswood Rover
08/10/2018, 1:46 PM
Looking forward to this on the box as a neutral, everyone saying Cork reckon it will suit the Dublin's number 3 or is it 2 to be the underdogs.
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 1:56 PM
Can't pretend to be neutral here, my default position would be to support whoever Bohs are playing anyway :) but with the euromillions possibly at stake if we manage to screw up against Waterford' ive no problem knowing who I am cheering for tonight.
I might even have a bet on Bohs to win on the night to make doubly sure of a Cork win
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 2:08 PM
so ive just had a decent bet at 11/5 on Bohs to qualify for the next round at 11/5 on PP .
Mission accomplished Cork to win easily tonight
Philosophizer
08/10/2018, 2:40 PM
Looking forward to this on the box as a neutral, everyone saying Cork reckon it will suit the Dublin's number 3 or is it 2 to be the underdogs.
I think you're right it will suit Bohs to be underdogs. They looked very nervous in the beginning in Dalyer after they had been built up a lot before that match.
Ezeikial
08/10/2018, 2:54 PM
If the history of the League of Ireland has taught us anything, apart from that the history League of Ireland generally teaches the League of Ireland nothing, it's that winning the league is far more likely to lead to a club's demise than not winning it!
I'm not sure if that is actually true - Shels and Bohs certainly got into deep financial trouble after winning the league, but for most of the rest it was a lack of success (along with low income or poor financial management) that was more pertinent.
Cork are gonna finish top two for the fifth year in a row, with 10+ points to spare. Reports of their demise are premature
Very premature to talk about a demise at Cork, they did win the double last season, Id very much like Cork to win the cup this season be good for the league I feel.
Apart from possibly Mr A's comment, I am not aware of any talk or reports of the demise of Cork City.
However, there is strong evidence of a decline in their league performances - they have already lost more league games than in any season since 2013 and currently have a lower points per match average than any recent season bar 2015
A defeat tonight along with reported budget cuts for 2019 may hasten that decline
placid casual
08/10/2018, 4:03 PM
Your some man for the semantics, Ezekiel.
Ezeikial
08/10/2018, 4:32 PM
Your some man for the semantics, Ezekiel.
You may be right PC, but you well know that there is a fundamental difference between suggesting that a team may be in decline and the potential demise of a team.
I gave an opinion and got a bunch of cliches in response.
There is currently an identical 12 point gap from Cork to Dundalk and between Cork to Shamrock Rovers & Waterford. Cork could re-galvinise and continue to be the biggest challengers to Dundalk or could decline further. I would be amazed if Cork were not top four in 2019, but I would also be surprised if they cut their budget and still mounted a credible title challenge next year.
Tonight's match is hugely important as defeat would leave the club very deflated - it could even lead to the departure of John Caulfield- while a win opens up the possibility of the season still being a success giving them a better platform to kick on from.
Kingswood Rover
08/10/2018, 5:02 PM
You may be right PC, but you well know that there is a fundamental difference between suggesting that a team may be in decline and the potential demise of a team.
I gave an opinion and got a bunch of cliches in response.
There is currently an identical 12 point gap from Cork to Dundalk and between Cork to Shamrock Rovers & Waterford. Cork could re-galvinise and continue to be the biggest challengers to Dundalk or could decline further. I would be amazed if Cork were not top four in 2019, but I would also be surprised if they cut their budget and still mounted a credible title challenge next year.
Tonight's match is hugely important as defeat would leave the club very deflated - it could even lead to the departure of John Caulfield- while a win opens up the possibility of the season still being a success giving them a better platform to kick on from.
Yes i would assume that defeat here would have the city supporters feeling that it was a poor year which may entice rumblings for maagerial change, if Caulfield is Marihino, Kenny is Klop or Pep, who is Bradley, i would love him to be pocchetxxxiii??? ...the Spurs manager, but he is probably a Sean Dyche
CorribsideSteve
08/10/2018, 7:05 PM
1-0 Cork. Good diving header from Cummins. Lets see what Bohs are made of now
CorribsideSteve
08/10/2018, 7:11 PM
2-0 Sheppard. Long way back now for Bohs
Philosophizer
08/10/2018, 7:44 PM
Bohs are very off their game tonight. Worst I've seen them all season.
White Horse
08/10/2018, 7:49 PM
Goal of the season.
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 7:50 PM
What a goal for bohs.
08/10/2018, 7:50 PM
Outrageous stuff there from Morris. What a goal
Game on again
CorribsideSteve
08/10/2018, 7:51 PM
What a goal!!!
Philosophizer
08/10/2018, 7:53 PM
Unreal goal from Ian Morris. Rifled in off the bar from just past the centre circle - about 40 yards.
Only thing is that it bounced down and hit a water bottle and came out so there was a few seconds where nobody knew if it was a goal or not which kind of spoiled the initial thrill everybody would have had if we had seen it hit the net.
I'm at the game right now and had a perfect view of that goal.
One of the best I've seen at the cross I must say.
Philosophizer
08/10/2018, 8:26 PM
Regba looks a better player than Dinny tonight. Interesting to see how he progresses next year.
CorribsideSteve
08/10/2018, 8:29 PM
Bohs just didn't do enough. Admirably attempted a neat short passing game but several of them were overhit. Shame for them they couldn't capitalize on rocking Cork with that Goal of the Season. Corcoran was poor. Very edgy stuff from Cork at times but there they are, in a 4th Cup Final in a Row.
08/10/2018, 8:34 PM
Bohs will be disappointed that they didn't manage to carve out a few real chances after Cork sat so deep for the last 20 minutes.
Ezeikial
08/10/2018, 8:47 PM
I thought Cork fully deserved the win. Bohs were simply unable to capitalise on Corks nervousness in the last quarter .
mcgonigle
08/10/2018, 8:55 PM
Bohs will be kicking themselves, should have finished the job at home and never showed up tonight. Hard to feel enthusiastic about another final v Cork, the last 3 have been awful spectacles, this will be no different. I'm sure I'll feel different closer to the game. It's bad news for neutrals anyway
Bohs missed the boat last Sunday. We rode our luck a bit to get the draw. Dundalk big favourites for the final I think.
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 9:08 PM
Chuffed with the result tonight but think I'll be missing first cup final in years, bizarre sequence of draws to keep cork and dundalk separate this long
Not bizarre at all. The odds of us avoiding each other for the past four years combined in 2/1. Hardly outrageous.
Absolutely delighted! What a night, what a result. Bring on the Cup Final!
Real ale Madrid
08/10/2018, 9:55 PM
Bohs will be kicking themselves, should have finished the job at home and never showed up tonight. Hard to feel enthusiastic about another final v Cork, the last 3 have been awful spectacles, this will be no different. I'm sure I'll feel different closer to the game. It's bad news for neutrals anyway
The last two finals were decent spectacles I thought. 2015 was dreadful alright.
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 9:59 PM
Not bizarre at all. The odds of us avoiding each other for the past four years combined in 2/1. Hardly outrageous.
Absolutely delighted! What a night, what a result. Bring on the Cup Final!
That can't be right. The odds of you avoiding each other in the semi final draw this year alone was even money. ...is there a mathematician in the house ??
08/10/2018, 10:28 PM
Yeah, you're right. I got the number mixed around.
The odds of us avoiding each other this year, we're a little over 1/2. So avoiding each other wasn't unusual.
But over the 4 years that would be 1/2 x1/2 X 1/2 x1/2. (I added them instead of multiplying).
sbgawa
08/10/2018, 10:36 PM
That's a 6.25% chance of avoiding each other 4 years in a row in the semi draw, but then you h as he to include avoiding each other in all t ghe other rounds......this is a spreadsheet job tommorow as an alternative to working....I'll report back
El-Pietro
08/10/2018, 10:43 PM
We only had a 33% chance of drawing Dundalk in the semi final. Three possible opponents. A one in 7 chance for quarter final and so on. It's surprisingly not as likely as you'd expect
El-Pietro
08/10/2018, 10:44 PM
And here's the thing. If the rest of ye are sick of a City-Dundalk final then there is a very simple solution. Beat one of us.
wonder88
08/10/2018, 10:54 PM
Cork really overpowered Bohs in the first half. Home side much the better team for me tonight. Good to see a decent crowd at a LoI match, combined with that goal it gives a good image of our game.
EatYerGreens
09/10/2018, 12:35 AM
But over the 4 years that would be 1/2 x1/2 X 1/2 x1/2. (I added them instead of multiplying).
Am I wrong to think that the number of times you multiply 1/2 is irrelevant, as you still end up with the equivalent of 1/2 anyway (just reflected in larger numbers) ?
09/10/2018, 6:05 AM
Yes. That's the equivalent of saying one Cork v Dundalk final is as likely as four Cork v Dundalk finals, which doesn't make sense.
If the odds of a coin coming up heads are 1/2, then the odds of four heads is 1/2×1/2×1/2×1/2 = 1/16
09/10/2018, 6:31 AM
In fact, feck it - let's do some maths.
The odds of Cork and Dundalk avoiding each other in any given round is (n-2)/(n-1), where n is the number of teams in the hat. So this means that for the semi-final (4 teams), the odds are 2/3 of them avoiding each other, because there are 3 teams they could draw (everyone other than themselves), and 2 non-Dundalk/Cork teams they could draw.
For them to avoid each other in four successive semi-finals, the odds are multiplied - 2/3 x 2/3 x 2/3 x 2/3 = 16/81
For them to avoid each other in four successive tournaments, the odds are (30/31 x 14/15 x 6/7 x 2/3) ^ 4 - or a 7.1% chance.
This assumes that they win all their matches, which as El-P says would be the easiest way to stop all this. If you start factoring in the odds of them actually losing a game, the 7.1% chance would drop a lot. So if you assume both sides must be in the first round draw, and then there's a 90% chance of each getting through to each subsequent round, I think the odds drop to 2.0%
09/10/2018, 7:02 AM
This assumes that they win all their matches, which as El-P says would be the easiest way to stop all this. If you start factoring in the odds of them actually losing a game, the 7.1% chance would drop a lot. So if you assume both sides must be in the first round draw, and then there's a 90% chance of each getting through to each subsequent round, I think the odds drop to 2.0%
Actually, this is wrong; it's the odds of them reaching four finals given a 10% chance either will get knocked out in the first round, but thereafter will beat everyone.
Given a 90% chance of both making it through each round - ie the odds are 1/20 they'll win any given game - then I think the odds drop to ((30/31)×(14×15×0.9)×(6/7×0.9×0.9)×(2/3×0.9×0.9×0.9))^4, which is a 0.56% chance of four successive finals appearances.
If you take an 20% chance of either side getting knocked out in any given round, then you getting to a 0.03% chance - Leicester-winning-the-league odds. The majority of which is down to Cork/Dundalk not losing a game as opposed to being kept apart in the draw.
Others may be able to refine that further.
I wonder if it's a record of some sort?
Edit - not a record, but only five instances of five or more successive repeated cup finals - http://rsssf.com/miscellaneous/cuprec.html#cfp