View Full Version : FAI Cup 2018

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19

04/11/2018, 11:04 AM
Just thought of Delaney, even though he was only on loan

Greg Bolger and Stephen Dooley too?

Dalymountrower
04/11/2018, 12:41 PM
You mean like ignoring the names of the U 19 Leaguewinners after calling out the officials and losers at the medal presentation ?

Look on the bright side , it is a vast improvement on the way our players were treated at the last underage final against Rovers in Tallaght, ( 4 years ago?)

marinobohs
04/11/2018, 12:57 PM
Look on the bright side , it is a vast improvement on the way our players were treated at the last underage final against Rovers in Tallaght, ( 4 years ago?)

Preaching and whining about “respect” but incapable of showing it to other clubs - the project 😁

You would expect that from fans or internet posters but would expect a little higher standards from a club.

04/11/2018, 1:15 PM
Was reading the extratime preview there and there's a lot of Caulfield's press conference in there. He mentions losing "5 or 6" of his starting 11 from last year. This seemed mad to me, I can only think of O'Connor and Maguire. Who are the other 4 he is talking about?

Seani, Kev, Dooley, Delaney, Bolger (to be fair was in and out, but quality player). So 4 starters really if you don't count Greg.

04/11/2018, 1:48 PM
Beattie out injured for us. Cummins on the bench, Shep up top and Sadlier out wide.

McGrath on the bench for Dundalk.

ger121
04/11/2018, 2:38 PM
Looks a decent crowd

red bellied
04/11/2018, 2:47 PM
Cork sections looks sparse enough.

dong
04/11/2018, 2:59 PM
Cork extremely route 1 here.

ger121
04/11/2018, 3:05 PM
We have a game

red bellied
04/11/2018, 3:36 PM
30,412 official attendance.

littlebray
04/11/2018, 3:39 PM
Where did the RTE commentary team get "who-ban"?

EatYerGreens
04/11/2018, 3:43 PM

Surprised it's that big tbh. Great to see.

samhaydenjr
04/11/2018, 3:46 PM

Terrific attendance - only the second time since 1964 that the attendance has broken 30000, the other one being the Rovers/Rovers final of 2010 - I thought the Bray v St Francis final had broken 30000, but wikipedia has it listed as 29000: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/FAI_Cup#FAI_Cup_Finals

04/11/2018, 4:02 PM
Where did the RTE commentary team get "who-ban"?
There was a big thread on here at the time I think; tis apparently how it's supposed to be pronounced

04/11/2018, 4:13 PM
Shame to see McEleney hasn't shown up again.

dong
04/11/2018, 4:15 PM
Shame to see McEleney hasn't shown up again.

POTY right there.

littlebray
04/11/2018, 4:23 PM
Found that older thread, which I missed at the time. So he himself uses "Who-ban": fine, that's sorted.

how it's supposed to be pronounced

Most Hobans I've met (admittedly a fairly small sample) use the other pronunciation, but everyone is entitled to stipulate his own. You check with the individual in question, not some presumed norm, even local norms.
Leinster House "Len-ster", though the Dukes apparently say "Lin-ster".

04/11/2018, 4:29 PM
Well, that's what I meant. His name is pronounced Who-ban (it's a Galway thing apparently); doesn't mean another person called Hoban can't pronounce it Hoe-ban

04/11/2018, 4:30 PM
Found that older thread, which I missed at the time. So he himself uses "Who-ban": fine, that's sorted.

Most Hobans I've met (admittedly a fairly small sample) use the other pronunciation, but everyone is entitled to stipulate his own. You check with the individual in question, not some presumed norm, even local norms.
Leinster House "Len-ster", though the Dukes apparently say "Lin-ster".
Not sure what Alan Dukes has to do with this.

Dalymountrower
04/11/2018, 4:52 PM
Good game. Congrats Dundalk.
Hard luck Cork, just shows that Caulfield can put a team on the pitch to play football when he wants to.

joey B
04/11/2018, 5:24 PM
Well done Dundalk,some achievement from Mr Kenny,surely a job at a higher level awaits at some stage,Cork played well but lacked a cutting-edge up front and Dundalk took their chance what when it came.

marinobohs
04/11/2018, 6:05 PM
Good game, in the balance until the death and an excellent crowd.
Kudos to Dubdalk but both teams made it a good day for Irish football.

patrickccfc
04/11/2018, 6:32 PM
Congrats to all dundalk fans here. Massively disappointed of course. Thought we played well first half, didn't create enough in the second and a mistake by Griffin has cost us unfortunately. Over 30k was a brilliant attendance.

And so begins the longest off season in the world....

ger121
04/11/2018, 6:50 PM
Happy for Kenny. I just find him a likeable guy and was also a good Manager while at Bohs.

04/11/2018, 7:25 PM
very unlike kenny to celebrate wildly. the crowd today is that bigger than the 2010 final?

patrickccfc
04/11/2018, 7:49 PM
very unlike kenny to celebrate wildly. the crowd today is that bigger than the 2010 final?
36,101 at the 2010 final

White Horse
04/11/2018, 7:54 PM
I thought Dundalk looked very ropey in the first half, so many players were off their game. Cork did press hard but we made far too many unenforced errors.

Ultimately, Cork just didn't have the quality to capitalise on this.

The second half was different, I thought Dundalk played well and looked the far more dangerous side.

patrickccfc
04/11/2018, 8:04 PM
The injury to Morrissey was the real turning point for me, he was having a brilliant game.

shep
04/11/2018, 8:26 PM
Was a great final..was in the balance right up to the last kick. I thought Jamie Mc Grath done very well when introduced. Dundalk deservedly won in the end I felt as they offered more of a threat in the second half. Gartland was immense at the back all day as was Chris Shields in the middle. Great crowd and a great advertisement for all that is good in the league.

sullanefc
04/11/2018, 8:46 PM
Fair play to Dundalk. Took their chances.

On RTE after the match, they did a voxpop with some fans coming out of the ground and one Dundalk fan has a pop at Shamrock Rovers. I'll admit, I wondered if it was Ezeikial. But how weird is that obsession? Enjoy your victory ffs.

04/11/2018, 8:57 PM
I thought Gartland was closer to 40 but apparently he's just a spring chicken at 32, just entering into his prime.
A slow burn of a game, ultimately ending with a fantastic move, finished off with a bullet header to win the game.

Next year, should Dundalk make the final I'd prefer them to play someone else in the final.

04/11/2018, 8:57 PM
I was at this as a neutral, really enjoyed it. Thought 1-1 was fair enough at HT, but Dundalk just got stronger in the second half and Cork never really created any clear-cut chances.

Shields was brilliant in the middle, Hoban is a workhorse and a beast. Thought Sadlier was lively for Cork, and needed more support.

Great crowd and atmosphere.

Jack B
04/11/2018, 9:24 PM
Thought Sadlier looked very good. In every cup final there's a handful of players that look so uncomfortable and out of place on the bigger pitch but even if he didn't have much of an impact by his standards he just looked one of the most composed and positionally aware players out there.

Even though everyone acknowledges him as one of the best players in the league I still feel like it goes understated just how good Morrissey is. Any time I see Cork they look a completely different team when he's not there. Bosses the midfield on his own and makes relatively middling players like McCormack look better next to him. Big moment when he went off.

Some ball by Gannon for the goal, glad the game was decided by a moment of quality, added to it being a better spectacle than the last few finals. A particularly gutting moment for McEleney to turn up against Cork, eh?

Real ale Madrid
04/11/2018, 9:49 PM
Well done to Dundalk fans on here.

Atmosphere was better this year because the game was better and the fact that people didn't have to concentrate on staying warm this year. Global warming reaches the Aviva.

Ezeikial
04/11/2018, 10:19 PM

On RTE after the match, they did a voxpop with some fans coming out of the ground and one Dundalk fan has a pop at Shamrock Rovers. I'll admit, I wondered if it was Ezeikial. But how weird is that obsession? Enjoy your victory ffs.

Rovers must be 'popped' at every opportunity

Ezeikial
04/11/2018, 10:26 PM
Congrats to all dundalk fans here. Massively disappointed of course. Thought we played well first half, didn't create enough in the second and a mistake by Griffin has cost us unfortunately. Over 30k was a brilliant attendance.

And so begins the longest off season in the world....

Well done to Dundalk fans on here.

Atmosphere was better this year because the game was better and the fact that people didn't have to concentrate on staying warm this year. Global warming reaches the Aviva.

Gracious in defeat - fair play.

Cork supporters played a big part in creating a cracking atmosphere today. Heck, RTE even headlined John Caulfield as being "magnanimous in defeat". To add to that the Cork team played some football.

Is the earth really flat at all?

PS - Feck Rovers

ger121
04/11/2018, 10:33 PM
So ends another LOI Season with all its drama and entertainment, highs and lows. Now time to hibernate during the long off season and sleep and dream of what may be next year. See you all in February:yawn:

EatYerGreens
04/11/2018, 11:17 PM
So ends another LOI Season with all its drama and entertainment, highs and lows. Now time to hibernate during the long off season and sleep and dream of what may be next year. See you all in February:yawn:

Pfft ! There's still the Irn Bru Cup to go, you know :)

05/11/2018, 12:04 AM
It's heartwarming to know that even when our football team is crap, we're still at the foremost of everyone else's thoughts when they should be enjoying themselves.

EatYerGreens
05/11/2018, 12:28 AM
It's heartwarming to know that even when our football team is crap, we're still at the foremost of everyone else's thoughts when they should be enjoying themselves.

We will never forget you, Shamrock Rangers.

marinobohs
05/11/2018, 3:32 AM

Yep, the smell of ill founded belief of adequacy from Tallaght lingers on 😎

El-Pietro
05/11/2018, 7:54 AM
Tough loss to take. We played well but not well enough. Bit of a what could have been game. Dundalk are an annoyingly good team. I think they are in for a sustained period of dominance now as they have established enough of a financial advantage that will be very difficult for anyone to catch, and with the rewards for CL qualification coming in they will only stretch that advantage year on year. We've done our best to put it up to them over the last five years and probably deserve more than one league title and two cups to show for it but Dundalk are a generational team and set records year on year.

Big rebuild job for Caulfield, I think he will be well up for it. We'll be top 2-3 next year and beyond but I think the league title is out of the question for the foreseeable.

05/11/2018, 7:58 AM

I was wondering who would have been first to almost break their necks to comment on that when I saw it back after, I have to say I expected Asterix or Placid maybe, but first prize to you Sullane (you should really change that to Sullen as it would suit better!). It wasnt Ezekiel but it was a fan who knew exactly what he was doing and would have that mischievous streak and do a bit of stirring!

05/11/2018, 8:16 AM
Cork right full didnt give Duffy a sniff most of the game, McCarthy was it? Cork were tenacious and really in the faces of Dundalk but keeping that level of intensity for a full 90 minutes is always tough. The atmosphere was great but with a decent game on show it helps. The 10 and 5 pricing of tickets boosted the attendance nicely - now if the final was fully and properly advertised and marketed by the FAI just think what sort of attendances could be achieved when considering this is the 4th installment of the fixture and the other 3 were drab affairs. There wasnt anyone from either club or neutral that I spoke to who hadnt enjoyed the match if not the result. There was generally a much more pleasant atmosphere between supporters this year, probably as there was little media interaction between managers and players for all the effort of JC and Sheppard during the week.

White Horse
05/11/2018, 8:47 AM
I have to congratulate both sets of players on putting on a good game and spectacle for the fans and television audience. The players from both teams devote themselves to their sport, train hard, and play in the region of 50 competitive games per year.

Even though they are at the top of their sport in this country, the financial rewards are very modest.

I'd also like to acknowledge a lovely moment when Mark McNulty went up to get his medal with his young son (I presume) and had the medal presented to the lad. He gets a lot of stick from Dundalk fans, but that was a nice touch.

oriel
05/11/2018, 11:12 AM
Great day out and obviously delighted with the win. Thought the first half was very even, didn’t look a pen at first, but when I watched it back, Hoare did indeed push his man, Cork def lost the MF in the second half, Morrissey going off was a big difference which Dundalk exploited down the right. Shields was like a man processed in the middle, just as well he calmed things as he was getting close to a red. Benson compliments him well, and he quietly went about his business in there, he was a welcome addition back after 4 games.

I’d have liked to have seen Murray introduced as that won’t help him making his mind up to stay, he’s only on a one year deal. McGrath was excellent though when he came on, the game passed Mountney by, as that right side continues to be probably the only weak spot on the team, neither he nor Connolly can nail it down, both playing vastly different styles too. A word for the defence also, that peno was the first goal conceded in the cup this season, with Sadlier creating his own record of first player to score in every round, since 1974 I read this am (Bradley)

Great crowd at just over 30k, nice to see so many kids there, had a few myself down, tough on Cork ending up with nothing this season, but I think a deserved win for Dundalk in what has been an excellent season, the cross by Gannon and the finish by McEleney was a great way to win the game.

CorribsideSteve
05/11/2018, 11:21 AM
Great day out and obviously delighted with the win. Thought the first half was very even, didn’t look a pen at first, but when I watched it back, Hoare did indeed push his man, Cork def lost the MF in the second half, Morrissey going off was a big difference which Dundalk exploited down the right. Shields was like a man processed in the middle, just as well he calmed things as he was getting close to a red. Benson compliments him well, and he quietly went about his business in there, he was a welcome addition back after 4 games.

I’d have liked to have seen Murray introduced as that won’t help him making his mind up to stay, he’s only on a one year deal. McGrath was excellent though when he came on, the game passed Mountney by, as that right side continues to be probably the only weak spot on the team, neither he nor Connolly can nail it down, both playing vastly different styles too. A word for the defence also, that peno was the first goal conceded in the cup this season, with Sadlier creating his own record of first player to score in every round, since 1974 I read this am (Bradley)

Great crowd at just over 30k, nice to see so many kids there, had a few myself down, tough on Cork ending up with nothing this season, but I think a deserved win for Dundalk in what has been an excellent season, the cross by Gannon and the finish by McEleney was a great way to win the game.

I like Shields a lot and think he's the best holding midfielder in the country, but he definitely should have been sent off, the last foul he committed where the ref backed out of giving him a second yellow, was a definite second booking. That aside, he was a colossus all the same. Great cross from Massey for McEleney's goal. He did just enough with his header for it to go in, but at that point Dundalk were very strong and fully deserved to win. Cork were just too negative. You can't gegenpress for 90 minutes without having an attacking threat. 30,000 + great attendance and atmosphere.

Edit : I'm not sure if Shields is a man processed or not, but he makes his role look easy-peas-y :p

Olé Olé
05/11/2018, 11:30 AM
O'Neill should have a look at Shields. Prone to losing the rag alright but his positioning is sound, his control is close and his passing is crisp. He bossed that midfield. When City stood off him and there was space in front of him he gladly carried it too. Quality.

05/11/2018, 11:47 AM
Im going to be a bit picky about McEleney's header, it was a good job that he got so much power behind it as he gave McNulty a chance to save from point blank range. Other than that the run from deep and the cross from Gannon was superb. Hoare's goal was impressive for the leap and the way he managed to hang and get above bigger players. He is strong in the air for a chap thats isnt a very tall defender. Dont know what was up with Mountney but he was off the pace and struggled as if he had an injury. His work rate wasnt what it usually was. Kenny must be finally losing faith in Connolly on that right side of midfield. In the first half especially Cork puts some good passaes of play together almost in a proving a point way. Sadlier was not getting an earbashing when he was running at players and he had defenders struggling to get back to cover as he was beating them on the outside. Hoare did well to get across to cover but it was that type of scramble to close off a wide attacke that led to the penalty. I think we will see Jarvis becoming first choice left back as Massy's form has been sketchy all season.

oriel
05/11/2018, 12:59 PM
I like Shields a lot and think he's the best holding midfielder in the country, but he definitely should have been sent off, the last foul he committed where the ref backed out of giving him a second yellow, was a definite second booking. That aside, he was a colossus all the same. Great cross from Massey for McEleney's goal. He did just enough with his header for it to go in, but at that point Dundalk were very strong and fully deserved to win. Cork were just too negative. You can't gegenpress for 90 minutes without having an attacking threat. 30,000 + great attendance and atmosphere.

Edit : I'm not sure if Shields is a man processed or not, but he makes his role look easy-peas-y :p

That was Gannon who crossed it, think you are mixing up the full backs ! Also I had forgotten this until i read it in the Indo, but Shields didnt make the starting xi in last years cup final, as SK went with O'Donnell and Benson in the middle.