View Full Version : FAI Cup 2018
Pages :
[
17]
05/11/2018, 4:27 PM
Yep, the smell of ill founded belief of adequacy from Tallaght lingers on
Nothing ill-founded about our adequacy in designing kits without getting sued.
05/11/2018, 4:48 PM
meant to ask was Josh O Hanlon even included on the subs bench for Cork? RTE didnt show a list of subs before the cup final...
Ezeikial
05/11/2018, 5:41 PM
meant to ask was Josh O Hanlon even included on the subs bench for Cork? RTE didnt show a list of subs before the cup final...
He's been sent to Coventry
CorribsideSteve
05/11/2018, 5:50 PM
That was Gannon who crossed it, think you are mixing up the full backs ! Also I had forgotten this until i read it in the Indo, but Shields didnt make the starting xi in last years cup final, as SK went with O'Donnell and Benson in the middle.
Just spotted that now. Makes it even better that Gannon crossed it, he's the best RB around IMO. Mad one about Shields, you automatically assume he'd start! Is there another season left in O'Donnell do you think? Very serious injury so late in his career and all.
patrickccfc
05/11/2018, 5:52 PM
No he wasn't, he was at the game though..
https://twitter.com/JoshOHanlon9/status/1059041152253509632?s=19
05/11/2018, 6:20 PM
Was great to see the 2 managers at FT react warmly to each other. Fair play to Caulfield as he was straight over to Kenny which Im sure wasnt easy. It would be a harder final to lose than previous ones as Cork played so well. It was Sheppard who was particularly gutted, the way he snatched the r-up medal from the Daily Mail rep was a tad rude if understandable. It hasnt really been mentioned by Massey could have beeen given a red card imo for the way he kicked the ball/Sheppard at the end, I dont think he was booked at all for it. I think he might have been in trouble if Gartland hadnt taken some of the attention away by getting involved. Shields was treading a fine line on a couple of occasions but ironically the tackle on Sheppard he did get booked for was a 50 50 and they both colided with studs up.
There seems to be a general cooling in such a heated rivalry. It was a genuine pleasure to chat with Cork fans throughout the day. Losing on penalties wasnt easy last season or a scuffed shot in extra time ye just have to accept those things but yesterday I'd have been completely gutted if we had lost so in that regard the Cork fans around us, and we were well outnumbered in that section, were incredibly gracious in defeat with hand shakes and offering congratulations.
On the way Cork played in general it was far less conservative than previous games over the season and previous finals, I feel that if Cork had played on the front foot like that during other games this season the title race would have been very nip and tuck right to the end. McNamee's body language when coming on looked poor - Caulfield had his arm around him as he was giving instructions and he was pulling away.
Im going to be a bit picky about McEleney's header, it was a good job that he got so much power behind it as he gave McNulty a chance to save from point blank range. Other than that the run from deep and the cross from Gannon was superb.
It was a lovely move,and a goal worthy of winning the final, but was it just me, or should. McNulty have done better ? It was straight at him. I take the point that it was a powerful header, but I'd have been disappointed if I was a Cork supporter.
05/11/2018, 9:42 PM
It was a lovely move,and a goal worthy of winning the final, but was it just me, or should. McNulty have done better ? It was straight at him. I take the point that it was a powerful header, but I'd have been disappointed if I was a Cork supporter.
Probably just you, it was unstoppable, at least imo.
A poor mistake allowed the move to develop but what happened afterwards was wonderful.
marinobohs
05/11/2018, 9:51 PM
Nothing ill-founded about our adequacy in designing kits without getting sued.
Or going bankrupt or pretending a club founded in 2005 has some history 😁
Who got sued by the way ?
Still waiting to hear how your joke club screwed up the U 19 medal presentation.
05/11/2018, 10:09 PM
He got a good hand on the ball just not strong enough or there was a lot of power in the header. Either way Im not complaining and McEleney himself was saying that heading the ball isnt his strong point if he had missed it by placing it to close to the keeper. I think Rogers should have done better for the penalty.
ToberonaTornado
05/11/2018, 10:18 PM
Agree with Geysir,it was unstoppable - McEleney caught it right on the meat of his magnificent bonce :D
Great day out at Lansdowne yesterday,specially if you were Dundalk supporter- but really was a trmendous atmosphere,excellent match & attendance and both sets of supporters made the day.Getting the business in 90mins an extra bonus.
Hard luck Cork.
05/11/2018, 10:26 PM
Or going bankrupt or pretending a club founded in 2005 has some history
Who got sued by the way ?
Still waiting to hear how your joke club screwed up the U 19 medal presentation.
Not sure which club you're referring to, but in answer to your final sentence, I replied to you days ago.
marinobohs
06/11/2018, 7:10 AM
[QUOTE=Charlie Darwin;1981416]Not sure which club you're referring to, but in answer to your final sentence, I replied to you days ago.[/QUOTE
Ah yes, after calling up each sham player and each official to collect their medal he “realized” he had lost the Bohs team sheet ? The one supplied to him before kick off ?
And that’s what you expect people to believe ?
Scumbag classless club, I blame the lack of history 😎 you can’t buy class (or history)
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 7:51 AM
If you honestly think anyone at Rovers could give a continental about calling out 18 year old kids names you need to get a new tinfoil hat. The truth is never as attractive as the conspiracy theory but 99 times out of 100 is right.
I think with all the carry on at bohs this year at underage not to mention your recent jersey saga you'd be better off not calling other clubs classless.
placid casual
06/11/2018, 8:11 AM
You get a certain type of keyboard warrior at the bozos.
They had their greatest season in years by finishing 6th/7th/whatever and got to a cup semi. Wow...
That seemingly gives them the bravado to inhabit this forum with gusto.
If it's a pat on the head you want I'll gladly supply it.
But don't for a second believe anyone even remotely near the top 3/4 teams even remotely take your club seriously.
Your team will sell its wares and players to the highest bidder every single season, because that is what your club amounts to. Like a manky tramp brasser on Dorset st.
Dalymountrower
06/11/2018, 8:55 AM
Good man PC. Is that the voice of regretted experience re the delights of Dorset Street?
disgruntled
06/11/2018, 9:14 AM
Congratulations to Dundalk on a great double season.
Hard to take being second in both competitions but that's football.
Roll on next season.
06/11/2018, 10:48 AM
They had their greatest season in years by finishing 6th/7th/whatever and got to a cup semi. Wow...
But don't for a second believe anyone even remotely near the top 3/4 teams even remotely take your club seriously.
Your team will sell its wares and players to the highest bidder every single season, because that is what your club amounts to. Like a manky tramp brasser on Dorset st.
Isnt that the hope for the project!? As for teams not teaking them seriously - Dundalk, Cork and Waterford did and never an easy game - Maybe if Rovers had taken them remotely seriously they wouldnt have dominated you the Dublin Derby all season!
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 11:13 AM
The hope for the project is to fill the first team with players whose lifes ambition is to play for Rovers (the exceptional ones will always go away but hopefully a bit later and with an education) and to provide facilities that gives them the best chance of doing that.
As for the taking seriously part on he pitch anyone who doesn't take any team seriously is deluded, its been a shocking year for us against Bohs but **** happens, it could easily be the other way around next season.
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 12:02 PM
Why are we discussing Rovers in the FAI Cup thread? Theres already plenty of threads for Bohs and Rovers bickering. This is the thread for Dundalk and Cork City bickering.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/11/2018, 12:17 PM
Ah yes, after calling up each sham player and each official to collect their medal he “realized” he had lost the Bohs team sheet ? The one supplied to him before kick off ?
And that’s what you expect people to believe ?
Scumbag classless club, I blame the lack of history 😎 you can’t buy class (or history)
You American marino or just unable to spell so let autocorrect do it for you? You do realise that only Americans spell realise with a z, yeah?
If he'd read out the team sheet it would have been the wrong order and you'd still lynch him so why bother wasting his breath? Win a bloody trophy and still all you can talk about is us.
Which clubs the scumbag one again? Might want to have a look in the mirror considering some of the people you lads have had involved in your underage setup this year and signed to play for you in recent years. That's before you even get to the latest legally questionable publicity stunt. People in glass houses.
The 9 years difference what makes history is it? I'd have thought it'd be the numerous more trophies won but there you go.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/11/2018, 12:27 PM
Why are we discussing Rovers in the FAI Cup thread? Theres already plenty of threads for Bohs and Rovers bickering. This is the thread for Dundalk and Cork City bickering.
Because apparently Dundalk fans can watch their club complete the double and we'll still be what they're thinking about immediately after.
oriel
06/11/2018, 12:28 PM
Ha, I like that one EL P, but on a serious note and contrary to all the ‘friendly’ bickering on here, have to say it was yet another very sociable day out at the final between both sets of fans. I met loads of Cork fans in Jurys (ballsbridge hotel) and again at Connolly that night and had great old chats with plenty of them, all decent football fans with good conversation, was actually the same when I was down for the league game on 21/09, the beer garden pub I think its called, TC area.
Anyway tough on Cork, but this was the exact position we were in last Nov, second in both competitions.
Super turnout last night in Dundalk for the double winners homecoming, very well organised event at the town centre on a school night.
White Horse
06/11/2018, 12:28 PM
Because apparently Dundalk fans can watch their club complete the double and we'll still be what they're thinking about immediately after.
One fan on a vox pop speaks for all Dundalk fans??
I can guarantee you that Shamrock Rovers were the further thing from my mind on Sunday.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/11/2018, 12:45 PM
One fan on a vox pop speaks for all Dundalk fans??
I can guarantee you that Shamrock Rovers were the further thing from my mind on Sunday.
Between your man and Ez, assuming they're not the same person which I think someone has confirmed, it's a pretty convincing argument they put forward
06/11/2018, 1:01 PM
If you knew where the stadium announcer was you'd realise why he wouldn't be able to see the back of players' shirts. Although I do concede he probably wouldn't have bothered reading out their names anyway, but it's nice that it's important to you.
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 1:01 PM
why are we discussing rovers in the fai cup thread? Theres already plenty of threads for bohs and rovers bickering. This is the thread for dundalk and cork city bickering.
lol :)
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 1:02 PM
lol :)
Did you take my post, and edit out all the capital letters? Why would you do that? That is bizarre.
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 1:04 PM
Between your man and Ez, assuming they're not the same person which I think someone has confirmed, it's a pretty convincing argument they put forward
I know the guy who was on the vid.A well known staunch fan of ours for prob near 60 years.(defo not Ez,who is a fresh compared with him :D )
IMO the context of what he was saying(or trying to say,prob half cut)was "Shams fans are crying in their cornflakes" because shams sacked Stephen Kenny and Dundalk had won 4 leagues and 2 cups since.
Give it a rest.
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 1:06 PM
If you knew where the stadium announcer was you'd realise why he wouldn't be able to see the back of players' shirts. Although I do concede he probably wouldn't have bothered reading out their names anyway, but it's nice that it's important to you.
They should have turned out the lights , now that would have been funny :)
Its a conspiracy i'm telling you its a conspiracy.
Scrufil
06/11/2018, 1:29 PM
Cork won the match on Sunday 99 flares to Dundalk’s 65 or it looked that way to me. Went with my grown up son to the game. First time for either of us at an FAI Cup Final. Unreal atmosphere. Decided to side with Dundalk on the day only because of Athlone man Robbie Benson. Decent lad and from a great musical family. I had the pleasure of recording his mother and sister a few times playing traditional tunes. Don’t know if he plays any instrument himself but I‘d say he could turn a hand to anything like that if it was his wont. He had a good game and unlucky not to score.
Brilliant craic from both set of fans. Was sitting in front of a bevvy of Dutch men who were there for the weekend. They were Ajax supporters and of all the players that caught their eye they thought Duffy was the standout participant and always willing to take a man on.
Really funny comment from a Dundalk man behind us who said something to the effect that Cork had risen about their station and needed to be taken down a peg. Sure weren’t both clubs scraping the bottom of the barrel within the last decade or so?
Watched the game back on the player. The Referee was very consistent and his team of officials must be praised for an excellent performance.
Was sitting behind a lad who was the spit of Bradley the Rovers manager. I would actually venture to think it is on the mind of Dundalk that if they can keep the current setup intact they could gain on Shamrock Rovers’ cup record.
With a greater marketing push I daresay the numbers might push 35,000 next year as the buzz from this year will encourage a great many schoolboy/girl clubs to attend and tons of neutrals. Having been without live football for so long I was on a high yesterday still after the game.
Congratulations Dundalk and commiserations to Cork City. Great value for money. Total trip cost including meals ticket and travel for us both just €125.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/11/2018, 1:34 PM
I know the guy who was on the vid.A well known staunch fan of ours for prob near 60 years.(defo not Ez,who is a fresh compared with him :D )
IMO the context of what he was saying(or trying to say,prob half cut)was "Shams fans are crying in their cornflakes" because shams sacked Stephen Kenny and Dundalk had won 4 leagues and 2 cups since.
Give it a rest.
I don't see your point, straight after a cup final his team won his first toughts were still about fans of a club other than his own, that's just plain sad, if not unexpected, no matter how you try and frame it.
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 1:44 PM
I don't see your point, straight after a cup final his team won his first toughts were still about fans of a club other than his own, that's just plain sad, if not unexpected, no matter how you try and frame it.
Dude,
He said more than that.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/11/2018, 1:54 PM
Dude,
He said more than that.
He didn't actually say it though did he? Still doesn't change the fact instead of thinking "God we're lucky to have Kenny" he was thinking "haha bef Rovers wish they had Kenny" and that is sad
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 1:59 PM
He didn't actually say it though did he? Still doesn't change the fact instead of thinking "God we're lucky to have Kenny" he was thinking "haha bef Rovers wish they had Kenny" and that is sad
we can see who the the sad one is here lad.
groannnnnnn
marinobohs
06/11/2018, 2:01 PM
You know all about buying - didn’t you buy your history after the club folded. Ireland’s SERVCO pretending to be a club that died with nothing but delusional of adequacy and self importance. A joke club. Desperately clutching onto a past it never had.
...and you think anyone takes the “cup specialists’ 😳 seriously ?
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 2:29 PM
great cup final :)
I'm calling it Placid 2 v 1 Marinobohs
Marino was sent off for losing the plot with the ref and Placid rather unsportingly scroed the winner........thats our first Dublin derby win this year
This is the cup final thread
Northsider
06/11/2018, 2:37 PM
Isnt that the hope for the project!? As for teams not teaking them seriously - Dundalk, Cork and Waterford did and never an easy game - Maybe if Rovers had taken them remotely seriously they wouldnt have dominated you the Dublin Derby all season!
To much truth there for yer man to handle :)
For all the bickering between all the clubs on here there is one thing that stands out. Fans of most clubs seem to be quite happy and fairly good at having a laugh at themselves and their club. With the exception of Rovers fans. You lot have got to be the most miserable shower on here by a long way. It must be what happens when "perennial also-rans" mixes with "delusions of grandeur".
With the exception of sbgawa who seems a decent sort overall.
sbgawa
06/11/2018, 2:56 PM
To be fair Stu, Rovers are a bit like Man U at the moment , down and everyone likes to have a kick at us.
It feeds our natural paranoia about you all being out to get us. (i know i'm not paranoid and you all really are out to get us by the way)
When we sign a centreforward who scores 20 goals a season we will all be in much better form as we assume our rightful position on top of the tree :) and even placid casual will be a bit more........eh........casual
101 days to go
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 4:16 PM
Cork won the match on Sunday 99 flares to Dundalk’s 65 or it looked that way to me. Went with my grown up son to the game. First time for either of us at an FAI Cup Final. Unreal atmosphere. Decided to side with Dundalk on the day only because of Athlone man Robbie Benson. Decent lad and from a great musical family. I had the pleasure of recording his mother and sister a few times playing traditional tunes. Don’t know if he plays any instrument himself but I‘d say he could turn a hand to anything like that if it was his wont. He had a good game and unlucky not to score.
Brilliant craic from both set of fans. Was sitting in front of a bevvy of Dutch men who were there for the weekend. They were Ajax supporters and of all the players that caught their eye they thought Duffy was the standout participant and always willing to take a man on.
Really funny comment from a Dundalk man behind us who said something to the effect that Cork had risen about their station and needed to be taken down a peg. Sure weren’t both clubs scraping the bottom of the barrel within the last decade or so?
Watched the game back on the player. The Referee was very consistent and his team of officials must be praised for an excellent performance.
Was sitting behind a lad who was the spit of Bradley the Rovers manager. I would actually venture to think it is on the mind of Dundalk that if they can keep the current setup intact they could gain on Shamrock Rovers’ cup record.
With a greater marketing push I daresay the numbers might push 35,000 next year as the buzz from this year will encourage a great many schoolboy/girl clubs to attend and tons of neutrals. Having been without live football for so long I was on a high yesterday still after the game.
Congratulations Dundalk and commiserations to Cork City. Great value for money. Total trip cost including meals ticket and travel for us both just €125.
Great neutral report on the match.
Watched the match back earlier and have to say that RTÉ really gave it the full BIG match treatment.Production was top class,excellent pundits.Thought Pat Fenlon was v.good,on the ball for everything and very fair on co-commentary.
RTÉ might be getting themselves together like!
Soccer Republic last night,Johnny McDonnell and everyone else excellent but will someone have a word with "top class" Pat morley and move him on to another pasture ffs!
Could this be a first on Foot.ie? = RTÉ doing good.
RathfarnhamHoop
06/11/2018, 4:31 PM
For all the bickering between all the clubs on here there is one thing that stands out. Fans of most clubs seem to be quite happy and fairly good at having a laugh at themselves and their club. With the exception of Rovers fans. You lot have got to be the most miserable shower on here by a long way. It must be what happens when "perennial also-rans" mixes with "delusions of grandeur".
With the exception of sbgawa who seems a decent sort overall.
If people were actually funny and not just spouting ****e they genuinely believe to be true then I'd happily laugh at some of the stuff we've done down the years. The vast majority of stuff posted by non rovers fans here about rovers falls under the ****e that they genuinely believe to be true and you have to shoot that down or it spreads and more people begin to think its true because nobody said it wasn't.
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 4:34 PM
Watched the match back earlier and have to say that RTÉ really gave it the full BIG match treatment.Production was top class,excellent pundits.Thought Pat Fenlon was v.good,on the ball for everything and very fair on co-commentary.
Soccer Republic last night,Johnny McDonnell and everyone else excellent but will someone have a word with "top class" Pat morley and move him on to another pasture ffs!
Its ok, they are getting slated for their team of the year over on our forum so the world is not completely out of balance.
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 4:43 PM
If people were actually funny and not just spouting ****e they genuinely believe to be true then I'd happily laugh at some of the stuff we've done down the years. The vast majority of stuff posted by non rovers fans here about rovers falls under the ****e that they genuinely believe to be true and you have to shoot that down or it spreads and more people begin to think its true because nobody said it wasn't.
ring me hun:phone2:
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 4:48 PM
Its ok, they are getting slated for their team of the year over on our forum so the world is not completely out of balance.
I'm usually a keen follower over there.To busy today though to have a snoot.Can imagine though. :D
06/11/2018, 5:04 PM
Can we just move this to the greatest league in the world thread?? You dont think you are sounding a little paranoid RH?
El-Pietro
06/11/2018, 5:19 PM
Actually on the team of the year can someone explain why Soccer Republic included Darragh Leahy?
The excuse they gave for not including Kieran Sadlier was that he was "in and out of the team". He played in 35 of our 36 league games, starting 27. He also started every cup game and scored in all but one (the Semi Final Replay). Four players in the team played fewer games than him. Burke (22), Hoare (27), Gartland (22) and Leahy (24 - one sub appearance) so clearly he played enough games to justify selection, and his peers felt he was good enough. He scored 26 goals across all competitions and was the second highest goal scorer in the league.
I don't agree with all their selections but I think you can make an argument for each of the above except for Leahy. I'd have McLoughlin in ahead of Gartland and Hoare but I wouldn't be overly upset with their selection. I think Burke was pretty good before he left, and he earned an Irish call up so I'll give them a pass there even if he wouldn't make my team but I can't understand the logic behind the selection of Leahy.
He didn't play all that many games, he started 6 games in which Bohs kept clean sheets and they actually conceded marginally fewer goals per game when he wasn't playing (1.26 vs 1.23). The only argument I can think of is Bohs had that good run to end the season, and they were struggling for a left back and included him as a sort of token but as far as I can tell he didn't play a league game after August 31st so he wasn't exactly key to that run. He did play in the two cup semi finals so there's that at least. Surely they could have picked one of the best left backs in the league at Rovers?
https://i.kym-cdn.com/photos/images/original/000/954/323/394.jpg
I saw a bit in the build up with Stuey Byrne and Alan Cawley and thought they were atrocious. Whatever they may know about football.. they know zero about what goes into running an LOI club. Except that spending more will solve everything.
ToberonaTornado
06/11/2018, 5:39 PM
I saw a bit in the build up with Stuey Byrne and Alan Cawley and thought they were atrocious. Whatever they may know about football.. they know zero about what goes into running an LOI club. Except that spending more will solve everything.
They were talking about investment in clubs and how well some clubs have done from it.
Of course some people and some clubs are adverse to any kind of progress unless its within their rules.