View Full Version : FAI Cup 2018
Pages :
[
15]
Philosophizer
30/10/2018, 1:27 PM
Hi all,
I've 2 tickets for the cup final in the middle of the premium section of the east stand but can't make it on Sunday now.
I see they cost €30 each now on ticketmaster, but i bought them for the early bird price of €10 each. I'll let them go for the price i bought 'em.
If anyone is interested just message me.
Ezeikial
30/10/2018, 5:13 PM
To give Caulfield his fair dues, he is probably right about Dundalk signing players they 'don't really need'
According to journo James Rogers, Dundalk have used 25 players over their league and cup campaign - anything above that clearly not needed
(Cork, on the other hand, have been more prudent in using 30 of the players signed to the club)
And so Cup final week begins. The complete lack of media attention and buzz isn't surprising, but we could certainly do with something to spark it a bit. Will have to be something more creative than that first effort though. A good player rumour or something.
mcgonigle
30/10/2018, 6:28 PM
And so Cup final week begins. The complete lack of media attention and buzz isn't surprising, but we could certainly do with something to spark it a bit. Will have to be something more creative than that first effort though. A good player rumour or something.
Agreed we need something and better than that. He just listed a load of things Cork have done and levelled them at Dundalk, very lazy.
vinnie
31/10/2018, 2:02 PM
Cork to win 7 - 0 against 8 man Filthy Dundalk team of Brawlers...With worst discipline in Cup final History. ;)
31/10/2018, 2:02 PM
But he says he is not looking at what other clubs do so he wouldnt really be that clued in, especially at the Dublin market. I'm at a loss as to why every player dont just sign for Cork for nothing, everywhere else is not Cork so how can other clubs compete at all. Pre-contract signings to be announced any time soon....
I'm with you Nesta. I don't understand it either. I think the problem is they haven't experienced Cork. Once they do, they swear off going elsewhere in Ireland, the sensible ones anyway, a la Steven Beattie.
Kenny back on the 'the better team lost' last year train again. Good man Stephen, why stray from the favourites. Also, it's not their fault the games of low scoring! How could anyone blame them for not scoring more. Its our fault, for not just letting them score!
Silly season is truly back with a bang for the week.
Easy for the club to have 2 statements prepared in advance of the game so they're sorted either way. 'we won, yay' or 'we lost but we wrre the better team. Its not fair'.
mcgonigle
31/10/2018, 3:19 PM
Kenny back on the 'the better team lost' last year train again. Good man Stephen, why stray from the favourites. Also, it's not their fault the games of low scoring! How could anyone blame them for not scoring more. Its our fault, for not just letting them score!
Silly season is truly back with a bang for the week.
Easy for the club to have 2 statements prepared in advance of the game so they're sorted either way. 'we won, yay' or 'we lost but we wrre the better team. Its not fair'.
Yeah but you lads just hoof the ball all day long......
mcgonigle
31/10/2018, 3:25 PM
I'm with you Nesta. I don't understand it either. I think the problem is they haven't experienced Cork. Once they do, they swear off going elsewhere in Ireland, the sensible ones anyway, a la Steven Beattie.
Actually there are very strong rumours linking Beattie with a move to Dundalk. Apparently he wants to move back home due to family commitments and no amount of money from Cork would make him change his mind. Now we don't actually need him but because of that and the fact that he is a Dub we have to sign him. He's expected to get a lift home in the Dundalk team bus after the game.
Ezeikial
31/10/2018, 4:36 PM
I thought Stephen Kenny's comments were fair and measured when talking about why he thinks many neutrals are not enthused about another Dundalk v Cork final. He identified Corks style of play as being a factor. Even most Cork fans acknowledge that Caulfields style is hard on the eye and is primarily about containment
He could easily have taken the bait provided by JC in relation to 'unnecessary signings' and 'monopolising the Dublin market', and ridicule him for his nonsensical comments, but chose to keep his powder dry
He may be less restrained in his comments on Sunday evening
CityBoy
31/10/2018, 5:38 PM
Ha, If Stephen Kenny called punched an old lady you'd say it's 'fair and measured' Ezekial. Kenny is giving out about our style because we don't bend over and take it.
Someone over on our forum mentioned that we've had 15 players in our squad this year who came through our youth system. There's no denying they cost less than lads coming from elsewhere.
Ezeikial
31/10/2018, 7:03 PM
Ha, If Stephen Kenny called punched an old lady you'd say it's 'fair and measured' Ezekial. Kenny is giving out about our style because we don't bend over and take it.
I disagree that Stephen Kenny was 'giving out' about the Cork style in his press conference; it was more a case of him identifying it as being one of the reasons for neutrals not being enthused by another final between Dundalk and Cork.
In point of fact, he complimented the work rate of the Cork team and highlighted that it was difficult to overcome:
"But you have to earn it. Cork won't hand it to you. They don't give you a minute in possession and you have to absolutely earn everything."
Someone over on our forum mentioned that we've had 15 players in our squad this year who came through our youth system. There's no denying they cost less than lads coming from elsewhere.
I really have no idea how this fits in with the comments of either manager this week; although maybe you simply wish to highlight that Cork's budget is less than Dundalk's. That will be of little consolation if Cork end up as double runners-up this season
sbgawa
31/10/2018, 7:24 PM
Stephen Kenny wasn't giving out about corks playing style just identifying cork as the reason the finals are so boring.....what could be more fair and measured than that... :) . I remember when we won the 4 in a row we didn't swoon at every utterance from mclouglin then...I blame sky sports.
Actually there are very strong rumours linking Beattie with a move to Dundalk. Apparently he wants to move back home due to family commitments and no amount of money from Cork would make him change his mind. Now we don't actually need him but because of that and the fact that he is a Dub we have to sign him. He's expected to get a lift home in the Dundalk team bus after the game.
This would be more believable if you picked literally any other player. Zero chance of it.
Ah yes 'fair and measured'. It's our fault ye don't score more. Well, yes Stephen. That is in fact half of the point of football. Stopping the opposition from scoring. Saying its not your fault you don't score more in those games is deflection and utter rubbish. Don't blame the opposition for your deficiencies in breaking them down.
The scrappy goal nonsense, measured? Better team lost? Measured?
It's not the best of wind up attempts, but pretending he wasn't looking to have a dig is nonsense.
Ezeikial
31/10/2018, 7:49 PM
I remember when we won the 4 in a row we didn't swoon at every utterance from mclouglin then...I blame sky sports.
Jim McLaughlin was a phenomenally successful manager and his 3-in-a-row titles in the 1980's are justifiably lauded by Rovers fans, both then and now. He too tended to be fairly measured and understated in his ways. I am just not so sure that the description extended to the Milltown fans
Ezeikial
31/10/2018, 8:03 PM
Ah yes 'fair and measured'. It's our fault ye don't score more. Well, yes Stephen. That is in fact half of the point of football. Stopping the opposition from scoring. Saying its not your fault you don't score more in those games is deflection and utter rubbish. Don't blame the opposition for your deficiencies in breaking them down.
If that is your interpretation of what he said, you should really re-check your comprehension faculties.
Here is another direct quote for you to mangle
"We've set out to play. They've had a game-plan to sort of stifle and try and keep it tight,"
If you think this is unreasonable observation, by all means say so. But please spare so the invented nonsense about 'fault' and 'blame'
His post match comments on Sunday may, however, be more interesting
sbgawa
31/10/2018, 8:52 PM
Jim McLaughlin was a phenomenally successful manager and his 3-in-a-row titles in the 1980's are justifiably lauded by Rovers fans, both then and now. He too tended to be fairly measured and understated in his ways. I am just not so sure that the description extended to the Milltown fans
The difference was when jim talked crap (which he did) the natural default of most rovers fans was to laugh and say "that's jim for you" not jim is a fair and measured genius that can do no wrong ....
If that is your interpretation of what he said, you should really re-check your comprehension faculties.
Here is another direct quote for you to mangle
"We've set out to play. They've had a game-plan to sort of stifle and try and keep it tight,"
If you think this is unreasonable observation, by all means say so. But please spare so the invented nonsense about 'fault' and 'blame'
His post match comments on Sunday may, however, be more interesting
You can take up your issues with the 'invented blame' with the person who actually wrote the article and presumably got that impression from the interview.
It's not my interpretation, it's that of the author.
sbgawa
31/10/2018, 9:37 PM
I'm surprised at you micls, don't you realise saint Kenny has never made a statement that wasn't the modern equivalent of the tablets on which the ten commandments were written. To be fair Einstein wasn't considered a genius by the locals
mcgonigle
31/10/2018, 9:48 PM
This would be more believable if you picked literally any other player. Zero chance of it.
The scrappy goal nonsense, measured? Better team lost? Measured?
It's not the best of wind up attempts, but pretending he wasn't looking to have a dig is nonsense.
It wasn't meant to be believable, the fact you think it was says a lot!
Nothing wrong with what Kenny said, nobody in their right mind will argue that Corks tactic in each final has been to stifle Dundalk to the detriment of the games as spectacles. Sunday will be no different this is the reason neutrals are not enthusiastic about it. If all previous games had been high scoring, end to end, everyone would be relishing another. Cork won't care if they win in the end but if they don't the reaction will be interesting.
For us, we should know what's coming, just have to keep plugging away, make no mistakes and hope for that bit of luck and class missing from previous finals
The enthusiasm of neutrals about the game won't be a consideration whether we win or lose to be honest!
Winning/Losing this final won't chsnge anyones mind on how we play, one way or another, unless it ended up a hammering either direction, which I doubt.
Ezeikial
31/10/2018, 9:53 PM
You can take up your issues with the 'invented blame' with the person who actually wrote the article and presumably got that impression from the interview.
It's not my interpretation, it's that of the author.
Apologies to you micls - I was making the assumption that you were presenting your own views, as opposed to picking them off some un-named article (maybe for the craic post up the link for the article you mentioned while your at it)
If you want to educate yourself on what Stephen Kenny said, if you have not already done so, you can check out the video of the press conference and form an original impression of your own
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XDdpevE47Bs&t=27s
sbgawa
31/10/2018, 10:10 PM
Actually to be completely fair some of the dundalk supporters did call him out as an feckin eejit when he issued an official whinge about not getting enough penalties last year so they aren't completely besotted.
I'd say even EZ thought he made an idiot of himself there.
Asterix
31/10/2018, 10:31 PM
Actually to be completely fair some of the dundalk supporters did call him out as an feckin eejit when he issued an official whinge about not getting enough penalties last year so they aren't completely besotted.
Threatening to ''take the team home'' during a match against Drogheda I think it was, is a personal favourite.
sbgawa
31/10/2018, 10:38 PM
Fair point asterix although I'm sure EZ will call him out on that as well , or maybe it was just a fair and measured response to the unbelievably biased officials for not giving a few penos
Real ale Madrid
31/10/2018, 11:52 PM
You would want to check your comprehension faculties if that's your interpretation of EZ's ruminations during that particular disputation.
01/11/2018, 4:21 AM
The difference was when jim talked crap (which he did) the natural default of most rovers fans was to laugh and say "that's jim for you" not jim is a fair and measured genius that can do no wrong ....
Eh thats exactly what Jim was!! Even his 'talking crap' was measured and arguably genius. Im sure there are plenty of board members over the years that would agree. The Kilcoynes were convinced to sell the family silver not long after MoneybagsMc departed.
Ezeikial
01/11/2018, 6:15 AM
Amid all the waffle, I hear few actually disputing or disagreeing with the comments on Cork's style of play.
I expect more of this agricultural turgid anti-football dross from Cork on Sunday. It would be great if a football match could emerge from it.
mcgonigle
01/11/2018, 10:03 AM
This is the magic of the cup, Rovers fans still contributing to the thread long after their teams annual exit. It really does bring fans together, heath warming.
Ezeikial
03/11/2018, 7:19 AM
Barbara O'Connell of the Evening Echo - widely regarded as being a partisan cheerleader for all things Cork City - gives an honest reflection of how shr sees the differences between the teams.
Is her call to Caulfield to 'have a go' the common view among Cork fans, or do most prefer Cork City to play the normal containment game in the cup final?
https://www.eveningecho.ie/corksport/I-can-handle-Cork-City-losing-to-Dundalk-once-they-have-a-real-go-and-play-attacking-football-f2912b94-d4a1-4e18-a731-116785c16fe2-ds
Absolutely not. City fans want to win 3 in a row. The best way to do that is the same way we've done the last 2 years. Last year in particular.
Plenty of city fans would like us to play a different style of football at times, but mostly that complaint is against the weaker teams in the league.
Against Dundalk, most are happy that Caulfield has overall gotten it right and it has worked, particularly in the cup.
That said, majority would want Sadlier to start, which will be the big decision.
Ezeikial
03/11/2018, 7:36 AM
Micls 1 Babs 0
Turgid agricultural hoofball ahead so far.
It would be great if Cork City would try to play some football and put Sheppard's theory of being the better footballing team to the test
Ezeikial
03/11/2018, 7:41 AM
Karl Sheppard hardly keeping out of the limelight as he talks about hatred, grudges and dislike among the fans.
I have always found Cork fans to be friendly, warm and knowledgeable in person, even if this is not apparent online.
Sheppard seems a strange chap wrapped up in his own personal war zone
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/karl-sheppard-insists-wont-act-13519382.amp?__twitter_impression=true
Micls 1 Babs 0
Turgid agricultural hoofball ahead so far.
It would be great if Cork City would try to play some football and put Sheppard's theory of being the better footballing team to the test
You're some man for misquoting people.
What Shep actually said:
When we’re at it, I don’t think any team in this league can match us.
Despite the wishes of dundalk fans that every team would play against them the way they'd like, and let them play their pretty football without annoying them, there's more than one way to play football and there's more than one way to win.
No need to worry, we'll be playing football tomorrow. If people don't like how we play it and don't like us winning Cups they need to start beating us in them.
Looks like the big marketing push for this has started. Saw an ad there on rte.
Ezeikial
03/11/2018, 9:38 AM
Unless Paul O'Hehir is quoting form an old interview in yesterdays Irish Mirror, it seems Karl Sheppard is still holding on to a lot of anger and resentment - this time from comments made by Keith Long in early October!
While most would we looking to embrace the opportunity to create history in the cup final tomorrow, it seems Karl is more perturbed about how others see this Cork team and seems to want credit for finishing in second place in the league:
Karl Sheppard hits back at Keith Long for Cork City comments
“We were going through a sticky patch and everyone was only too happy to jump on the bandwagon and have a pop off Cork.
“We’ve got to a fourth FAI Cup final in-a-row and finished second in the league.
“People need to take step a back and say if it wasn't for this Cork team, nobody would challenge Dundalk. It would be a very boring league.”
Warming to his theme he displayed his outrage about what he sees as abuse
“It was strange getting abuse from a Bohs manager who called us agricultural."
I'm not sure which team he is likening Cork to here, but its possible that his anger has flipped him over the edge
“Its the two best teams getting to the cup final. If it was Madrid-Barca getting to the final every year in Spain, I don't think people would be complaining.
https://www.irishmirror.ie/sport/soccer/soccer-news/karl-sheppard-hits-back-keith-13519249
ToberonaTornado
03/11/2018, 10:05 AM
Sooner the match gets going and all these build up quotes and features are consigned to history the better imo. the
we said - he said rubbish
21,500 attendance and Buttimer to invade the pitch naked still annoyed over his perceived snub as a top ref following the drogs v dundalk sf in 2013
White Horse
03/11/2018, 12:24 PM
Crazy stuff from Sheppard, going on about players hating each other.
The sooner players starting playing football and stop talking the better.
David BOHie
03/11/2018, 12:32 PM
Sheppard is an odious little man. I've a lot of respect for that Cork team. Some great players. Sadlier, Cummins, Bennet is solid at the back and I accept we were beaten by a better team in the semis down the Cross. But it's hard to support a team with Sheppard in it. He's a diver, he's a cry baby, he's an attention seeker. That Sheppard fella is a cod.
Gonna head along tomorrow myself as a neutral. Always a good occasion. Hopefully there's a bit crowd at it, baby
That statement Dundalk released (so quickly) after the final last year 'the better team lost' was absolutely ridiculous.
The match was lost on pens and that's a lottery, I think I said at the time it should have stated, 'disappointing outcome, thanks for your support' ........move on.
On tomorrow, I actually think for once it will be decided in normal time for a change, Dundalk with 3 league wins out of 4 against Cork this season would justify favs tag again, but it's not going to be easy, I think we will win though.
sbgawa
03/11/2018, 5:42 PM
Hopefully whoever loses this year shows a bit more class
marinobohs
03/11/2018, 6:14 PM
You mean like ignoring the names of the U 19 Leaguewinners after calling out the officials and losers at the medal presentation ?
ger121
03/11/2018, 7:43 PM
If only you could both lose tomorrow. This forum most of the time is like a bunch of teenage girls on Twitter having a bitchfest.
White Horse
03/11/2018, 8:01 PM
Nothing worse than losers going on about how they actually battered the other team.
sbgawa
03/11/2018, 8:15 PM
Yes indeed sometimes we are as bad as each other
Silly stuff from Shep, no need for it. I think the players get on OK, there haven't been many (if any) sendings-off in any of the games between us. The fans get on OK too; no problems down at the cross last time, Dundalk fans singing their songs in the pub next to the ground with no hassle.
Hope to hook up with a few of them tomorrow, always interesting to hear the views of other fans.
03/11/2018, 10:03 PM
The match was lost on pens and that's a lottery
Penos aren't a lottery, unless you're crap at them. Which, admittedly, Rovers are.
mcgonigle
04/11/2018, 10:21 AM
Was reading the extratime preview there and there's a lot of Caulfield's press conference in there. He mentions losing "5 or 6" of his starting 11 from last year. This seemed mad to me, I can only think of O'Connor and Maguire. Who are the other 4 he is talking about?
mcgonigle
04/11/2018, 10:48 AM
Was reading the extratime preview there and there's a lot of Caulfield's press conference in there. He mentions losing "5 or 6" of his starting 11 from last year. This seemed mad to me, I can only think of O'Connor and Maguire. Who are the other 4 he is talking about?
Just thought of Delaney, even though he was only on loan