View Full Version : FAI Cup 2018

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19

El-Pietro
27/08/2018, 9:32 PM
Third year in a row we've been drawn away to Longford. Finished 4-1 on each occasion.

oriel
27/08/2018, 10:12 PM
Also, irrational grrr at the FAI President referring to Premiership clubs in the draw. And generally not having a clue when it came to talking about the draw.

Noticed that also with his use of the 'premiership' he used it twice too, hate that term, also not so bad but some call the top division here 'the premier league' how hard is it to call it 'the premier division' he seemed to take a long time too opening the home draw balls.

On the actual draw, definite tie of the round is Derry v Bohs. Both Dundalk and Cork will be happy with their respective draws.

28/08/2018, 5:49 AM
Away to Longford 3rd year in a row. Can't complain.

sidewayspasser
28/08/2018, 1:24 PM
There's been a great response online anyway. Hopefully people put their money wgere their mouths are when they go up for sale.
Two jerseys (Sadlier and Daly-Bütz) up on ebay since last night. Both are over €400 already, with the auction open until Friday. So far it seems people do put their money in.

28/08/2018, 2:09 PM
Away to Longford 3rd year in a row. Can't complain.

the last time we were drawn against the same side 3 years in a row was Derry City and all at home.
87-88 fai cup semi which had to be held in Athlone for the home leg and derry for the second leg and also 88-89 and 89-90 which was first round ties. Alas we lost all three of them!!

seand
28/08/2018, 2:55 PM
Noticed that also with his use of the 'premiership' he used it twice too, hate that term, also not so bad but some call the top division here 'the premier league' how hard is it to call it 'the premier division' he seemed to take a long time too opening the home draw balls.

On the actual draw, definite tie of the round is Derry v Bohs. Both Dundalk and Cork will be happy with their respective draws.

A quality cup draw for the #greatestleagueintheworld hashtag. Our FAI president with his finger on the pulse there. The LoI has never had a Premiership, and the English top tier, which we must humbly genuflect before, hasn't been the Premiership since 2007. And it did look like he was going to be lapped at one stage with the prospect of the away teams being revealed first.

28/08/2018, 10:08 PM
We're all hearing that Derry-Bohs won't be Friday week due to international call ups, so it'll be a midweek fixture for that one.
The scheduling of the cup has not been great this season.

28/08/2018, 10:17 PM
the last time we were drawn against the same side 3 years in a row was Derry City and all at home.
87-88 fai cup semi which had to be held in Athlone for the home leg and derry for the second leg and also 88-89 and 89-90 which was first round ties. Alas we lost all three of them!!

The 88-89 game was my first Town game I think. I know it was Derry in Abbeycartron in 87 or 88, and I'm pretty sure it was in the cup. Huge Derry support from what I can recall.

29/08/2018, 7:34 PM
The 88-89 game was my first Town game I think. I know it was Derry in Abbeycartron in 87 or 88, and I'm pretty sure it was in the cup. Huge Derry support from what I can recall.

the only time in those years we played away from Abbeycartron was in 1988 as Abbeycartron wasnt safe enough to host the FAI Cup Semi Final first leg and Derry City match had to be played in St Mels Park.

29/08/2018, 9:30 PM
Must have been 87 or 89 so. I’m basing it on where we were living at the time, as we only lived in that house for a couple of years and we were there at the time. Anyway doesn’t really matter, just my first personal memory of the LOI.

marinobohs
31/08/2018, 11:35 AM
We're all hearing that Derry-Bohs won't be Friday week due to international call ups, so it'll be a midweek fixture for that one.
The scheduling of the cup has not been great this season.

Very disappointing for us that match changed (travel to Brandywell in midweek a lot more difficult due to work etc).

As others said the draw was shambolic. genuinely feel the RTE coverage of LOI (Soccer republic) has become much shoddier this season. The FAI President looked like he wanted to be somewhere else, anywhere else.

hollocaine
31/08/2018, 1:00 PM
Surely going to Derry midweek is handier than going to Peterhead midweek?

marinobohs
31/08/2018, 1:57 PM
Surely going to Derry midweek is handier than going to Peterhead midweek? I suspect slightly more would have attended the Derry game than our fixture in the Irn Bru Cup ;)

hollocaine
31/08/2018, 4:16 PM
I was thinking more of the "part-time" players that Bohs have, as compared to the supporters

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/09/2018, 2:17 AM
Very disappointing for us that match changed (travel to Brandywell in midweek a lot more difficult due to work etc).

As others said the draw was shambolic. genuinely feel the RTE coverage of LOI (Soccer republic) has become much shoddier this season. The FAI President looked like he wanted to be somewhere else, anywhere else.

How was the draw shambolic?

01/09/2018, 9:07 AM
The FAI President opened his mouth

marinobohs
03/09/2018, 9:57 AM
How was the draw shambolic?

Not having at least ONE of those involved looking like they wanted to be there. Not knowing the name/title of our League (nice one Prez).Delayed nature of drawing out teams. other than that it was perfect :rolleyes: probably nerves from those involved to be fair but just looked so amateurish

blueblood
07/09/2018, 6:12 PM
If tonight's games finish in a draw is there ET/pens?

ToberonaTornado
07/09/2018, 6:37 PM
If tonight's games finish in a draw is there ET/pens?

Yes,everyting to a finish tonight - replays a thing of the past.

refjohn
07/09/2018, 6:42 PM
Yes,everyting to a finish tonight - replays a thing of the past.

Are you sure? This article suggests a provisional date set for a Bohs - Derry replay. Seems they only in place for QF & SF

https://www.derrynow.com/soccer/new-date-confirmed-big-derry-city-v-bohs-fai-cup-quarter-final-clash-also-league-game-shamrock-rovers/246711

07/09/2018, 7:08 PM
Thought replays in for this round?

None needed as it stands though. Cork, Dundalk and UCD all winning

07/09/2018, 7:14 PM
Poor challenge by Meenan. Hardly any more than 600 or 700 in attendance at Longford either. Not a great showcase of the league for the cameras.

MattB11
07/09/2018, 7:14 PM
Think its replays not that it looks like there's any danger of any draws Cork, Dundalk and UCD all ahead by 2

ToberonaTornado
07/09/2018, 7:19 PM
My mistake it seems regarding replays. :(

ger121
07/09/2018, 7:38 PM
PS must be wetting himself out at Belfield.

ger121
07/09/2018, 7:42 PM
Waterford that bad lately, they couldn’t even give their fans a semi.

07/09/2018, 7:48 PM
Thought the red was harsh enough. Weakened team for us but the early goals ended the game really.

07/09/2018, 8:00 PM
Poor challenge by Meenan. Hardly any more than 600 or 700 in attendance at Longford either. Not a great showcase of the league for the cameras.

1,181 officially. 4-0 now. That’s enough now Cork, thank you.

07/09/2018, 8:08 PM
5 now. Goals from Morrisey, Sadlier x2, Coughlan and O Hanlon.

CorribsideSteve
07/09/2018, 8:17 PM
wow, WHAT a goal from Sadlier.

07/09/2018, 8:18 PM
What’s that, 6-0, 4-1 and 5-0 (so far) in the cup three years running? Go away Cork :cry:

Edit :cry: :cry: hopefully we’ll get over this before we play Drogs next week.

07/09/2018, 8:20 PM
7-0 is definitely harsh but delighted our lads have kept going. They have a point to prove.

07/09/2018, 8:21 PM
PS must be wetting himself out at Belfield.
Bricking it more like. 2-1 now; rash peno given away.

15 to go

07/09/2018, 8:26 PM
Sadlier gutted he didn't get man of the match. Hatrick and 2 assists!

07/09/2018, 8:38 PM
Waterford are out

07/09/2018, 8:43 PM
What a season for UCD.

07/09/2018, 8:52 PM
Could still end up with nothing yet.

But full value for the win I thought. Some aggro between Waterford fans and a player - was it Aborah? - afterwards; not nice to see, even if it likely was mutual frustration

07/09/2018, 9:17 PM
Dundalk in cruise control tonight, got their goals early to make it safe. Massive gulf in quality, and we couldn't compete in any way.

MattB11
07/09/2018, 9:20 PM
I hope UCD get a home draw in the semi final, win the semi final and then the final

07/09/2018, 9:25 PM
I'm...not sure of the catch there?

This has extended our season by a week as the semi is the week after the last day of the league...or else it clashes with the play-offs?

I think we could take Bohs/Derry based on tonight. They could beat us too of course. Cork or Dundalk would beat us

MattB11
07/09/2018, 9:52 PM
I'd just like to see UCD win the cup

total hoofball
07/09/2018, 10:07 PM
So if UCD in the First Division and then win their Semi-Final, they will have a nice 5 week gap doing f'all or playing friendlies and paying players extra wages until the cup final on November 4th

Gotta love the FAI's sophisticated scheduling of LOI football

07/09/2018, 10:12 PM
Probably play colleges league games

ToberonaTornado
07/09/2018, 10:16 PM
The draw on Monday on MNS anyone know?

07/09/2018, 10:19 PM
Please please please FAI, we'll forgive you just this once if you fix the semi final draw. It's the only way we're not getting yet another Cork/Dundalk final. Ok, they're the best two teams in the league by a distance, we all get it, but enough already !

CorribsideSteve
07/09/2018, 10:37 PM
The contrast between the muck the Irish team produces and the quality of some of the goalscoring in the Longford Cork game tonight was night and day.

07/09/2018, 10:38 PM
You can add our second in to that list actually

CorribsideSteve
07/09/2018, 10:42 PM
I look forward to seeing a clip of it :) It was described as stunning in the RTE report to be fair.

WoodquayBoy
07/09/2018, 10:56 PM
Could still end up with nothing yet.
Fake News!!!
Ah will you stop - 2 league games to go and ye are 5 points ahead of Harps and a goal difference of +12 compared to them.

07/09/2018, 11:14 PM
Ah you know yourself; it's the vertigo that comes with seeing the finishing line. Dundalk fans are doing the same thing. We've the division's two form sides to play - lose to Harps next week and we've to go to Longford, with McGlade scoring for fun, them chasing a play-off spot, and they beat us 5-1 last time out. There's easier run-ins.

But yeah, one point is not a lot to need, for sure, especially as we're on a run of nine wins and a draw in ten games