View Full Version : 2015 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 [23]

31/10/2015, 2:31 PM
The times reported 'nearly 3,000' but 2,013 was given in the Indo. Why would the club release an incorrect figure ?

Still a very good crowd and shows your potential.

There's any number of reasons to say the crowd was lower than it was, Gardai presence, money in hand at the gate rather than tickets, free tickets. Doesn't matter much in the grand scheme of things. Harps still get a nice payday, Finn Park was as full as it's been in years, and as you say, the potential was shown there that despite many years of mid table obscurity in the first division, Harps can still pull a crowd for a big game.

oriel
31/10/2015, 3:09 PM
Dundalk finished with a total of 53,494. Avg of 3,147. I make this an increase of 12,932 on last season.

If you want any figures I can send these to you over the weekend Nigel.

As always a big thanks for keeping this going all season.

31/10/2015, 4:24 PM
Will complete the updates tonight when I get home and on my laptop.

MattB11
31/10/2015, 6:20 PM
There's any number of reasons to say the crowd was lower than it was, Gardai presence, money in hand at the gate rather than tickets, free tickets. Doesn't matter much in the grand scheme of things. Harps still get a nice payday, Finn Park was as full as it's been in years, and as you say, the potential was shown there that despite many years of mid table obscurity in the first division, Harps can still pull a crowd for a big game. by the time I got to the ground about 10 minutes before kick off an extra 2 gates had been opened on Navennny street to ease congestion outside the main gate , well over 2000 there last night

31/10/2015, 8:45 PM
Nigel from what the star said it said attendance in CCS last night was 600! I for one think crowd was much less!

31/10/2015, 10:15 PM
Week 30:

Dundalk v Bray - 3,419
Shamrock Rovers v Drogheda - 2,000
Bohs v Cork - 1,960
Sligo v Limerick - 1,652
Galway v Pats - 1,231
Longford v Derry - 600

Play-off

Harps v UCD - 2,013

31/10/2015, 10:22 PM
Thanks again to everyone for helping out with attendance figures this year. Without your help this would be a lot more difficult.

Week 30: Final Update

PREMIER DIVISION

Bohs - 1,724 (1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 769 (718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 3,263 (3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,124 (1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 813 (1,064; 817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 3,158 (2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,290 (975 FD)
Limerick - 1,206 (757; 1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Longford - 803 (567 FD; 379 FD; 365 FD; 315 FD; 230 FD; 260 FD)
Pat's - 1,321 (1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 2,890 (2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,750 (1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)

FIRST DIVISION

Athlone - 314 (653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 610 (No previous)
Cobh - 366 (223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 784 (449; 479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Shels - 596 (713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 216 (397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 460 (470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 553 (331; 227; 302; 216; 343; 494)

PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,681 (1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 486 (495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)

OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,249 (1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)

TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 12,819 (including play-off)

OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 54,474 (55,408)
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 332,805 (297,334)

OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: ​387,279 (352,742)

31/10/2015, 10:52 PM
Few notes:

Highest Attendances: (Highest official in brackets if estimate is highest)

Premier:

Bohemians: 3,385
Bray Wanderers: 1,600 (1,421)
Cork City: 6,900
Derry City: 2,200 (2,050)
Drogheda United: 2,000 (1,226)
Dundalk: 3,957
Galway United: 2,254
Limerick: 2,647
Longford Town: 1,440
St Patrick's Ath: 2,591
Shamrock Rovers: 4,800 (4,484)
Sligo Rovers: 3,082

First:

Athlone Town: 700 (485)
Cabinteely: 1,420
Cobh Ramblers: 450
Finn Harps: 1,105
Shelbourne: 762
UCD: 400 (387)
Waterford United: 596
Wexford Youths: 1,321

Top 10 Highest Premier Attendances:

1. 6,900 - Cork City v Dundalk - April 24th
2. 5,104 - Cork City v Derry City - April 3rd
3. 4,817 - Cork City v Limerick - March 13th
4. 4,800 - Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk - October 9th
5. 4,500 - Shamrock Rovers v Dundalk - April 17th
6. 4,484 - Shamrock Rovers v Bohemians - March 27th
7. 4,341 - Shamrock Rovers v Cork City - March 20th
8. 4,138 - Cork City v Shamrock Rovers - May 22nd
9. 3,957 - Dundalk v Shamrock Rovers - September 1st
10. 3,749 - Dundalk v St Patrick's Ath - March 20th

Top 10 Highest First Div Attendances:

1. 1,420 - Cabinteely v Wexford Youths - March 6th
2. 1,321 -Wexford Youths v Athlone Town - September 25th
3. 1,186 - Cabinteely v Shelbourne - March 20th
4. 1,105 -Finn Harps v UCD - May 22nd
5. 1,035 - Wexford Youths v Shelbourne - October 9th
6. 983 - Cabinteely v Athlone Town - June 12th
7. 964 - Finn Harps v Shelbourne - April 24th
8. 962 -Finn Harps v Wexford Youths - June 12th
9. 857 - Finn Harps v Athlone Town - April 10th
10. 853 -Finn Harps v Waterford United - September 5th

oriel
01/11/2015, 10:07 AM
Great work Nigel. Very interesting to see the top 10 in each div. PD avg up by almost 200.

01/11/2015, 11:18 AM
Nigel from what the star said it said attendance in CCS last night was 600! I for one think crowd was much less!

No that seems about right

01/11/2015, 12:05 PM
Lads How many does the main stand hold in Oriel. We were surprised when they announced the figure. Was thinking Max 2500

jinxy lilywhite
01/11/2015, 6:07 PM
Lads How many does the main stand hold in Oriel. We were surprised when they announced the figure. Was thinking Max 2500

Why what was suprising about it?

I would reckon the main stand holds 1200 to 1400. The terrace in front it the stand was fairly full due to the rain and the shed was pretty full too. Coupled in with all ST holders get counted (1,000).

Seemed right to me. Had hoped the 4k mark would of been broke but the weather forecast was rotten and the game was a bit of a dead rubber

oriel
01/11/2015, 7:57 PM
I think the main stand is down to 1,100 now, but the terracing in front of it on the town side is very popular, that can hold up to 300-400. The other area with the open seating on the town side of the stand is also popular with families. The shed side has over 1000 seats also, not that many use them mind!

The figure of just under 3,500 was about right.

01/11/2015, 9:59 PM
After a bank holiday and before a cup final weekend for a nothing game anything over 2500 would be a minimum expectation, over 3000 was a good turnout.

01/11/2015, 11:20 PM
What!!There was near 2500 mascots at the match alone :) :D

https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpa1/v/t1.0-9/12189889_10153030128387084_5537116427088843763_n.j pg?oh=091bd9e12419de4a0247d61bdadf447e&oe=56BDC3D6

Going for another new LOI record for mascots here!

Kingswood Rover
02/11/2015, 1:47 PM
Afternoon all, first time posting here have been a serial lurker here for a few years and always interested in LOI attendances. As you can guess by my name my team are Rovers. Great figures from Dundalk this season success and decent attractive football always a help. Cork's crowds kinda fell away when the fans realized that they were never gonna to catch Dundalk, same with us although i think they were slightly up on last season eventhough our sideways one paced football is hard to watch, oh for the heady days under Mick O Neil.

NeverFeltBetter
02/11/2015, 8:39 PM
Didn't hear an attendance called out for Limerick/Harps, but must have been a monster crowd, saw one attendee claiming it could have been over 4.5 thousand. If Limerick could ever put a title challenge together...

thomas72
02/11/2015, 9:06 PM
Just over 5,000 at the Limerick v finn harps game I was told tonight by a club member

02/11/2015, 9:17 PM
...... If Limerick could ever put a title challenge together...
....The chairman would be on the pitch making a speech every fooking fortnight!!:o:rolleyes:

Scarlah for him (and yous)

02/11/2015, 11:59 PM
....The chairman would be on the pitch making a speech every fooking fortnight!!:o:rolleyes:

Scarlah for him (and yous)

That was utterly embarrassing. A real Delia Smith moment. Considering he banned half the fans at the start of the season, to praise them tonight was just a shambles.

Huge crowd in Markets Field though. Far too much it could be said. Great to see though and the noise from the main stand was excellent for the best part.

03/11/2015, 11:44 AM
That was utterly embarrassing. A real Delia Smith moment. Considering he banned half the fans at the start of the season, to praise them tonight was just a shambles.

Huge crowd in Markets Field though. Far too much it could be said. Great to see though and the noise from the main stand was excellent for the best part.

Pat has given a speech on the pitch about 4 or 5 times. At this stage we are used to it and most just let it in one ear and out the other. Now the announcer before the game sounding like he had about 10 pints in him was cringe.

03/11/2015, 11:46 AM
Now the announcer before the game sounding like he had about 10 pints in him was cringe.
That guy needs to shut the hell up.

'Let's make some noiiiiiiise.'

'Oi Oi Oi Oi Oi'

03/11/2015, 11:48 AM
Greatest League in the World.

The announcer is the only man to rival Cabo for the funniest in the league.

Must get our Chairman out for the Let's be havin ya moment in Finn Park on Fri night haha.

03/11/2015, 5:39 PM
Greatest League in the World.

The announcer is the only man to rival Cabo for the funniest in the league.

Must get our Chairman out for the Let's be havin ya moment in Finn Park on Fri night haha.

If Pat travels up be careful, if he sees a mic he will be out on the pitch giving the harps fans a speech.

bluewhitearmy
03/11/2015, 8:52 PM
Harps board lads were supposedly really impressed with the announcer so be careful.

04/11/2015, 12:18 PM
You could take our announcer on a season long loan to Markets Fields - you might be happy to give your announcer 10 pints before every game after!

joey B
04/11/2015, 12:21 PM
You could take our announcer on a season long loan to Markets Fields - you might be happy to give your announcer 10 pints before every game after!

UCDS is the worst I've heard, he sounds like he's reading out obituary's on a Sunday morning!!

seand
04/11/2015, 12:38 PM
UCDS is the worst I've heard, he sounds like he's reading out obituary's on a Sunday morning!!

Objection! The UCD announcer is the most laconic, laid-back PA guy out there. Reminds me of Peter Alliss covering the golf. One time, it may have been back in the Belfield Park days, I remember him reading out the UCD and Dundalk teams in numerical order, positional order and in the order they were printed in the programme. Must have taken him near ten minutes.

04/11/2015, 12:55 PM
Yep, Michael's great.

Also blind in one eye apparently, so half the time, he doesn't know who's scored. You can often see him hanging out of the press box after a goal shouting at the goalscorer's bench for info.

Dalymountrower
04/11/2015, 4:11 PM
Yep, Michael's great.

Also blind in one eye apparently, so half the time, he doesn't know who's scored. You can often see him hanging out of the press box after a goal shouting at the goalscorer's bench for info.

He is a class act, announces home and away goalscorers with the same precise deadpan delivery. Reason enough to hope that UCD make it up next year at the expense of Drogs or Shels.

WoodquayBoy
05/11/2015, 9:24 AM
Yeah, UCD announcer (if it is the same man who was there last year anyway) is by far my favourite announcer. It's a kind of a drawl professor-like delivery, perfectly apt for the venue in question

07/11/2015, 2:19 PM
Announced as 3,200 capacity crowd in Finn Park to a cackle of laughter from a section of the crowd. Thanks to the FAI for limiting the ground to that.

3,968 was the count given at the end of the game, but that was simply calculated as money brought in and average ticket cost. They reckon it was about 4,200.

A brilliant away crowd down of 400 Limerick fans in the end. Superb noise from them.

Kingswood Rover
07/11/2015, 5:19 PM
be magic if we got the harps away as our 1st fixture on a Sat night 300 hoops on the sauce for the weekend.

07/11/2015, 8:26 PM
Yeah, UCD announcer (if it is the same man who was there last year anyway) is by far my favourite announcer. It's a kind of a drawl professor-like delivery, perfectly apt for the venue in question
Same guy. Been there 20 years at least.

Go to a game in August and he'll tell you about his upcoming holidays as he apologises for missing the next game.

07/11/2015, 9:33 PM
Oh yeah I'd forgotten about him. He's a bit of a legend. He's almost apologetic when UCD score.

WoodquayBoy
07/11/2015, 10:41 PM
Same guy. Been there 20 years at least.

Go to a game in August and he'll tell you about his upcoming holidays as he apologises for missing the next game.
If memory serves me right - and beer was involved, so possibly not - I think he announced at play-off last year that he is originally from Galway, or at least has a connection with the place, so he couldn't really lose on the night!

01/12/2015, 2:26 PM
FAIs annual "look at how great we're doing".

Attendances for SSE Airtricity League matches rose in 2015 as interest in the domestic game continues to grow.

SSE Airtricity League Premier Division crowds increased by 9.8% with an overall 6.9% boost for attendances for the League across both the Premier and First Divisions.

A number of clubs posted notable increases on last season with Limerick (48%) leading the way in the Premier Division ahead of the likes of Longford Town (31%), and Galway United (28%).

In the First Division, Finn Harps (77%) attracted big crowds as they went on to win the Promotion/Relegation Play-Off, while Wexford Youths (62%) and Cobh Ramblers (44%) also enjoyed significant increases.

Both Cork City and Dundalk attracted an average attendance of over 3,000 spectators to their home games, while almost 375,000 people attended games across the League.

There was also increased interest in both the Irish Daily Mail FAI Cup and EA Sports Cup with the two respective finals seeing an increase on attendances from 2014 with the former attracting a crowd of 25,103 to Aviva Stadium.

The 2016 SSE Airtricity League season will kick off on March 4, 2016.

White Horse
01/12/2015, 2:59 PM
FAIs annual "look at how great we're doing".

Sure, why would they need any investment in facilities. People love the traditional feel and atmosphere of these grounds. They're flocking to them in numbers.

If these fans ever get serious about quality football, they can always go see our players in the professional English leagues or buy a premium seat in the Aviva for an Ireland game.

01/12/2015, 7:29 PM
We need to get back in the premier ASAP and really push for a relegation dogfight again. It's the way forward.

01/12/2015, 7:56 PM
In fairness the figures themselves are ok. It is the way the FAI imply that it is their doing rather than organic growth. Dundalk in particular for me obviously is on the crest of a wave that previous success didnt generate. It is far from the laughing stock that many try to label LoI with. Even those who refuse to go to games still have quit the scoffing after arriving in to the local post-match. Even the grumpiest chap I have ever met, obsessed with Donegal and Ulster GAA and the hand passing/awarm defence (shows how he tends to go against the general opinion) is now content to praise Dundalk FC and wants to know about the games. Imagine where we could be heading with proper interest from the FAI and had the sort of government financial backing that the Irish League and GAA are getting. €40mil investment that Stormont are releasing would do plenty here as long as it didnt get sucked up by say 1 Dalymount project and then hailed as an example of investment in League infrastructure. Nows the time for some lobbying from the FAI new clubs group pre-election and Euro 16 benefits. Even if with the FAI's improving coffers that their contribution is via prizemoney and not salary contribution for promotion officers. (yup i'm on a graveyard shift which so far means that I am killing time with rambling posts). 'tis very quiet on all fora as expected during an off season these days - I almost miss the legal wranglings post season sorting out the asterix here and there. Back to ground developments - If Dundalk were to build two wings to the main stand it would knock many complaints, mainly from away fans on the head, but I doubt there would be some direct correlation with increased attendance. Maybe a family friendly stand behind the town goal would have a few more up, but those that stand in that area anyway would really just move in to the new stand. Extending cover the full length of the seating in the shed would make damn all difference as you would still have the SSA all crowd in on top of eachother at the half-way line - that side would be full be full most games if people stood at each seat rather than in aisles, on seats, on each other etc. Extension of the main stand would properly fix the most whinge about issue about Oriel, the sight lines for the entire pitch. Even with development it will still seem like a very open ground with the views out over the Ardee Rd direction from the stand. It would also still catch every northerly breeze as long as the Carrick Rd end is open keeping it one of the coldest places after Bray to watch a game outside the few summer months. Anyways enough prattling for now...

02/12/2015, 1:16 PM
http://www.the42.ie/league-of-ireland-attendances-fai-2015-2478653-Dec2015/
Interesting analysis of the figures by John O'Sullivan, cutting through some of the spin.

02/12/2015, 1:59 PM
Haha our attendances were brutal but a 31% increase thanks to away crowds makes everything look ok. Got to love Irish football.

15/12/2015, 9:44 PM
695 Limerick v cork u19s

15/12/2015, 10:52 PM
695 Limerick v cork u19s

New name for Limerick?

19/12/2015, 12:14 PM
QED
http://www.esr.ie/article/view/452/119

oriel
20/12/2015, 2:35 PM
I'd say Finn Harps will do very well next season with strong away support in an lot of games. At a Xmas party last night in Dundalk, it was all everyone was talking about. When are the fixtures out for the away trip to Donegal!

DLK could easily take 300-400 to this. Loads talking about making a weekend out of it.