ATFC-1887
06/06/2015, 5:50 AM
Hard to judge one stand but maybe 400 in Athlone
tonight, about 80 Harps fans.
😂😂 80
06/06/2015, 6:12 AM
😂😂 80
Have you another smart comment to make? Must be an injury crisis with Athlones home support too.
ATFC-1887
06/06/2015, 6:49 AM
Well, yes. There wasn't 80 Harps fans. Ye had one mini bus. But I suppose the other 60 were in disguise. 30-40 max.
06/06/2015, 7:00 AM
Well, yes. There wasn't 80 Harps fans. Ye had one mini bus. But I suppose the other 60 were in disguise. 30-40 max.
Nobody in Donegal has cars? There was 30 on that bus alone, absolutely minimum that the same again next to us. Not sure how you could have seen that from the other end of the stand though..
Battery Rover
06/06/2015, 7:06 AM
Athlone Town vs Finn Harps 485 official
06/06/2015, 9:06 AM
I think we all know at this stage that when Nigel quotes a number of Harps fans at an away game you can just cut that in half for the actual figure and when he quotes a number of away fans in Finn Park you can just double that to get the actual figure.
Anyway, about 700/800 at Bray v Longford with about 4000 from Longford and 150 Spanish students who gave the players a rousing reception after the game.
06/06/2015, 2:41 PM
I think we all know at this stage that when Nigel quotes a number of Harps fans at an away game you can just cut that in half for the actual figure and when he quotes a number of away fans in Finn Park you can just double that to get the actual figure.
Anyway, about 700/800 at Bray v Longford with about 4000 from Longford and 150 Spanish students who gave the players a rousing reception after the game.
Wise up
Comic Book Guy
06/06/2015, 11:25 PM
About 380 at Ramblers v Waterford. About 40 from Waterford. Fair play to them for following their team through thick and thin
08/06/2015, 12:20 AM
About 380 at Ramblers v Waterford. About 40 from Waterford. Fair play to them for following their team through thick and thin
That the new names for Roddy and Roddy Junior.?
Sean South
08/06/2015, 11:49 AM
Wise up
Will you stop derailing the thread.
09/06/2015, 8:08 AM
So, attendances from the weekend then?
Dundalk v Bohemians - 3,105
Limerick v Drogheda - 2,308
Galway v Cork - 1,301
Athlone v Harps - 485
UCD v Cabinteely - 214
Estimates:
Shamrock Rovers v Sligo - 3,250
Shamrock Rovers v Derry - 1,500
Derry v Pats - 1,300
Bray v Longford - 750
Cobh v Waterford - 380
Wexford v Shelbourne - 300
Anyone able to correct with official figures? Seems less and less official figures are being released each week.
09/06/2015, 9:05 AM
Our official figure is dodgy out. There was at least 3,000 in the ground. Have heard lots of people saying it was way more. Still though 2,308 is a good bump for us.
NeverFeltBetter
09/06/2015, 9:26 AM
I remember the lads on the radio wondering why the official figure was so low. They were wondering if there was some sort of capacity violation occurring.
09/06/2015, 9:29 AM
I remember the lads on the radio wondering why the official figure was so low. They were wondering if there was some sort of capacity violation occurring.
That could be it. Before the game, Markets Field Facebook page stated capacity was a little over 3,000.
joey B
12/06/2015, 10:57 PM
962 at Finn Park tonight.
ger121
12/06/2015, 11:09 PM
3385 at Dayler tonight according to ET. Said to a lad at the game, that bet the official attendance is 3200-3300 and far lower than actual attendance.I haven't seen the ground that full in years. Still, great to see and hope all the Scots enjoyed themselves. I certainly did!
12/06/2015, 11:18 PM
1734 attendance in Sligo tonight,most Sligo fans just turned up to see who was in the dugout lol.Maybe about 100 Dundalk fans? too pished to notice :eek: quality trip over to the showgies as usual,class ground,great pubs,decent knowledgeable fans.
wonder88
12/06/2015, 11:57 PM
601 I think at Longford
PartySaint
13/06/2015, 1:36 AM
No idea what our official attendance was tonight but loads of Scots there
13/06/2015, 1:38 AM
1123 according to ET.
PartySaint
13/06/2015, 1:40 AM
1123 according to ET.
I'm on the phone so it doesn't give me the 'Thanks' option? So, Thanks.
patrickccfc
13/06/2015, 7:16 AM
3,006 at the cross last night
Dalymountrower
13/06/2015, 7:36 AM
I don't know where ET got that figure for Dalymount.At least 4,000 was the figure from the club given to us.The w
.Probably 200 Scotst who stayed in the bars.The same numbe,r at least , watched the game.Didn't get out of there till 1:30 a.m (I think)
Yossarian
13/06/2015, 9:24 AM
1734 attendance in Sligo tonight,most Sligo fans just turned up to see who was in the dugout lol.Maybe about 100 Dundalk fans? too pished to notice :eek: quality trip over to the showgies as usual,class ground,great pubs,decent knowledgeable fans.
I thought there was more than that from Dundalk, maybe 250. Hard to judge when your in the middle of it.
It really is a fine set up in Sligo, 3 great stands and the pitch was immaculate.
Nah Nah Nah Nah
13/06/2015, 12:10 PM
Looked like a couple of hundred Dundalk fans there
1123 according to ET.
Rubbish attendances for Pats really. The Scots who turned up were good craic. Could have sworn they were singing "Ginger pubes are unacceptable" at a ginger lad on the Limerick bench :D
red bellied
13/06/2015, 3:15 PM
I thought there was more than that from Dundalk, maybe 250. Hard to judge when your in the middle of it.
It really is a fine set up in Sligo, 3 great stands and the pitch was immaculate.
There was about 150-180 from Dundalk, you can't really make out from the photo but there was plenty of empty seats, I sit across from the away support, overall I thought the crowd was around the 2,000 mark.
Ezeikial
13/06/2015, 7:38 PM
Maybe about 100 Dundalk fans? too pished to notice
I thought there was more than that from Dundalk, maybe 250.
Looked like a couple of hundred Dundalk fans there
There was about 150-180 from Dundalk,
I just can't understand why people see this as important - 150/180/200/250? who really cares?
The more important question is - How wasted was Dunny?
13/06/2015, 9:53 PM
I just can't understand why people see this as important - 150/180/200/250? who really cares?
Its essentially a pishing match between club fans on how big (or small) away support is. Sure within clubs those who travel away see themselves as superior fans to others!
Dunny, wasted to the point of not being able to count past 100:p
13/06/2015, 10:30 PM
Shocking form to be arguing over attendance figures, especially that of away crowds. Grow up you lot.
14/06/2015, 10:07 AM
What would you know about it Nigel sure!
14/06/2015, 10:22 AM
Plenty, Longford have no fans, Dundalk crowds just a bandwagon, Cork people have nothing better to be doing, Dubs just head along hoping a riot breaks out, Galway are still in the honeymoon period only being a two year old club, Drogheda fans meet their 'lovely cousins' of which there aren't many, plenty of space for Sligo folk to park their caravans around the showgrounds so it's a nice meeting spot for a decent crowd, Waterford people too busy eating blaas to head to the football, same goes for Wexford and their sttawberries, Cobh is just a small suburb of Cork, Limerick folk afraid of being stabbed so late at night, besides the fact rubgy crowd are so much nicer anyway, Athlone is like a black hole, you get sucked in and can't leave so rightfully so, nobody wants to be seen there, lambing season around Finn Park has seen crowds rise, while news of the potential demise of they greyhound track in Derry has seen their numbers dwindle altogether.
I like to think I'm a bit of an expert really.
14/06/2015, 10:58 AM
and Bray are so significant you forgot about them and the falling wall, or their classy chairman and legal team...a complete history of Foot.ie then.
14/06/2015, 11:26 AM
Just minding my own back with that one..besides, they're basically Dublin anyway.
14/06/2015, 5:57 PM
983 at Cabinteely v Athlone
14/06/2015, 6:34 PM
So, midweek last week:
St Pats v Bohs - 2,000 estimate
Shamrock Rovers v Derry - 1,500 estimate
Wexford v Athlone - 600 estimate
UCD v Shelbourne - 400 estimate
week 14:
Bohs v Shamrock Rovers - 3,385
Cork v Bray - 3,006
Sligo v Dundalk - 1,734
St Pats v Limerick - 1,123
Cabinteely v Athlone - 983
Finn Harps v Wexford Youths - 962
Longford v Galway - 601
Shelbourne v Cobh - 467
Waterford v UCD - 365
Drogheda v Derry - ?
Again, anyone able to help, that'd be appreciated.
14/06/2015, 6:46 PM
Week 14: Missing Drogs v Derry
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,846 (1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 899 (718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 3,826 (3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,252 (1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 707 (1,064; 817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 3,215 (2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,455 (975 FD)
Limerick - 797(757; 1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Longford - 936 (567 FD; 379 FD; 365 FD; 315 FD; 230 FD; 260 FD)
Pat's - 1,608 (1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 3,148 (2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,797 (1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 349 (653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 870 (No previous)
Cobh - 374 (223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 881 (449; 479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Shels - 598 (713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 239 (397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 492 (470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 370 (331; 227; 302; 216; 343; 494)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,834 (1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 517 (495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,350 (1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 12,626 (Minus one game)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 29,443 (55,408)
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 179,765 (297,334)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 209,208 (352,742)
Its essentially a pishing match between club fans on how big (or small) away support is. Sure within clubs those who travel away see themselves as superior fans to others!
Dunny, wasted to the point of not being able to count past 100:p
I think he might have managed 10 using his fingers and thumbs but then lost count and accidentally added another zero when typing it.
983 at Cabinteely v Athlone
That is an excellent crowd, especially not long after getting battered by UCD. Fair play to Cabo, they've got a lot right since coming into the league.
gufcfan
15/06/2015, 1:55 PM
That is an excellent crowd, especially not long after getting battered by UCD. Fair play to Cabo, they've got a lot right since coming into the league.
That's what happens when a whole club is behind entry into the LOI, not a few lads helping their poor buddy on the committee out, who ignore the protests of the membership.
I think he might have managed 10 using his fingers and thumbs but then lost count and accidentally added another zero when typing it.
What you talking about Willis?
15/06/2015, 4:09 PM
Considering that Turners Cross is a lovely ground and Cork's marketing campaign is so good that it should be in a Forbes top ten is it worth the expenditure and effort considering Dundalk who have been weak with marketing yet there isnt a huge difference in attendance averages at the half way point. Crok have added about 100 to their average and Dundalk 700. Both being top 2 last season and so far this season in the league table. The football product at Oriel is arguably speaking for its self but Oriel isnt conducive to attracting the floating fan or barstooler.
Shamrock Rover are challanging for the title this season yet there has been a fall in average as the novelty factor of Tallaght has worn off to the hardcore support in averages terms but have added the guts of 1000 to this seasons average (dont know what they do in marketing terms).
Sligo's average is good in LoI terms again with great facilities but are struggling onfield losing about 1300 off their average from the championship season. A potential relegations season hasnt seen their crowds collapse and still higher than Pat's league winning season.
Bohs have seen an improvement with their on field performances and added about 400.
Galway isnt bad for a new club but i'd have expected a higher average due to the return of a united Galway club, newly promoted and not relegation fodder.
Harps promotion push has doubled their average and very impressive from Cabinteely so far again in relative term for LoI.
Considering all this, the much criticised lack of clubs getting out and marketing themselves the above would indicate why clubs dont see it as worth spending limited money without any obvious return. I'm nor talking abut a FAI or league led national ad campaign which may at least marginally increase average support across the leagues...maybe. Any thoughts? I was going to do percentages but couldnt be that bothered although this is the stuff of summer break boredom I suppose! The roughly 600 in the difference between Dundalk's and Cork's average attendance at say €15 entry is €9k, I doubt an extensive advertisment, billboards, bus stops, flyer drops etc could be done for 9 grand...I am shooting in the dark though as I wouldnt have much idea what these things would cost over a season.
Cork - 3,826
Dundalk - 3,215
Rovers - 3,148
Bohs - 1,846
Sligo - 1,797
White Horse
15/06/2015, 6:25 PM
The attendance figures in Cork have been over-hyped. For a city of it's size, an average of 3,826 is nothing special.
wonder88
16/06/2015, 12:34 AM
Very interesting observations Nesta. A LoI club can't justify spending big on marketing. However social media may give an opportunity to do a good campaign on the cheap, if you could get people with good skills/creativity to volunteer for the club. Paying an agency/company to do marketing/promotion work will not give a positive return.
Only been to Cabinteely once for a game, so no expert, but got a good impression of the club that night. Their crowds very impressive so far, fair play.
The influence of facilities on attendance figures in Irish soccer I think is exaggerated.
Pablo Escobar
16/06/2015, 8:43 AM
The attendance figures in Cork have been over-hyped. For a city of it's size, an average of 3,826 is nothing special.
You'll get no argument from me in that. But in reality the closer you live to the ground the more likely you are to go to games. People living in Mayfield would be far less likely to attend than people from Ballyphehane. It's just the way it is. We don't have the transport infrastructure to move/attract large numbers of people effectively in urban areas. Not to say that's the main issue, the culture just isn't there.
Real ale Madrid
16/06/2015, 9:15 AM
Who has been hyping the Cork's average attendances ? Apart from our manager having a cut off the Dublin clubs - I haven't seen anything else. Granted there was a lot of praise regarding the Dundalk game itself - but that was a great occasion in fairness.
Dundalk have excellent crowds in fairness to them, no doubt driven on by success and the quality of football. Our crowds have been great I think - in the context that last seasons average was higher than 05 and this season looks like it may exceed it if we stay in the title race.
16/06/2015, 9:40 AM
Would I be right in saying though, GAA and Rugby is probably far bigger in Cork than football, and there'd be the traditional scoffing at senior football from those involved with the MSL?
16/06/2015, 10:02 AM
Would I be right in saying though, GAA and Rugby is probably far bigger in Cork than football, and there'd be the traditional scoffing at senior football from those involved with the MSL?
Is that not every county in Ireland though?
The Donie Forde
16/06/2015, 10:22 AM
Cork is a GAA town.