View Full Version : 2015 attendances
17/10/2015, 11:31 PM
Ya our core support is about 500 people. The crowd started turning on the team at 1 down.
Shows the potential if we actually had a very good team challenging.
17/10/2015, 11:43 PM
Youths twitter say there was 100 Wexford fans there.
There's an awful lot of people that's had a great laugh at that.
17/10/2015, 11:50 PM
There's an awful lot of people that's had a great laugh at that.
I'm friends with the Wexford lads on snapchat, there was no more than 30 on their bus that's for sure. Some monster of a journey though they were on the beer from 9am this morning, brings back memories of our celebration last year
17/10/2015, 11:58 PM
No doubting the journey alright and fair play to them for a game that had no significance toward their season at all. Most Wexford fans I've come across are a good laugh and will be a welcome addition to the Premier Division and I only hope they can go from strength to strength.
18/10/2015, 12:03 AM
Yeah I don't know any of them personally to be honest but they've always seemed a good bunch who love their football. They deserve a crack at the Premier, they haven't thrown big money at it just got a shrewd manager and the best talent in the area. I'm not sure the expenses only model will work in the Premier but they deserve to be able to try it.
NeverFeltBetter
18/10/2015, 12:04 AM
Ya our core support is about 500 people. The crowd started turning on the team at 1 down.
Shows the potential if we actually had a very good team challenging.
You could hear on the radio the way the atmosphere just died after the first goal, and after the second even the commentators had to talk about how quiet it had gotten.
In the event Limerick managed to challenge for a title - and this being the crazy rollercoaster that is LOI, that could be next year for all I or anyone else knows - I'd bet money that you could get 3'000 in the gate for home games, capacity providing. Plenty of "soft" support there who would come along if they football was good and the team was competitive enough. Bandwagoners of course, but asses in seats are asses in seats.
But I suppose that true, to some extent, for every team in the LOI.
18/10/2015, 11:11 AM
You could hear on the radio the way the atmosphere just died after the first goal, and after the second even the commentators had to talk about how quiet it had gotten.
It was quiet all night really. The whole place was nervous.
18/10/2015, 11:14 AM
Yeah I don't know any of them personally to be honest but they've always seemed a good bunch who love their football. They deserve a crack at the Premier, they haven't thrown big money at it just got a shrewd manager and the best talent in the area. I'm not sure the expenses only model will work in the Premier but they deserve to be able to try it.
This totally amateur line floating about isn't totally true either, one or 2 of their lads are being paid, and I'd imagine if they want to compete next season a few more might need money
Nah Nah Nah Nah
18/10/2015, 1:07 PM
1,882 in The Showgrounds last night
sulywaterfordfc
18/10/2015, 5:51 PM
I know that attendances don't count for everything, that Wexford have done wonders of the last couple of years and deserve their place in the Premier Division, Limerick and Sligo have been poor for most the season... But... its a bit of a kick in the teeth for the top flight if both Sligo and Limerick are possibly replaced by Wexford and UCD.
Cannot see any first division team beating a premier division team tbh
18/10/2015, 6:33 PM
based on what I saw earlier in the season, Harps will cause a lot of difficulties in the playoffs and would make it hard for Prem Div sides to beat them in the playoffs. Even though I dont want it to happen I think Harps could beat Sligo in the playoffs!
18/10/2015, 7:12 PM
Yep if we had to play a play off harps would be the ones to avoid but as Marty said they are going to be hard to beat which means if you can get your defensive set up right then a chance should come along at some stage given the difference in standard from PD to FD all year. Don't take that chance though and nothing to say harps couldn't sneak through over extra time or penalties.
dublinwanderer
19/10/2015, 9:37 AM
I would estimate around 900 at the Bray Rovers game! Very poor crowd for it!
19/10/2015, 5:58 PM
Roundup of week 28:
Dundalk v Galway: 3,122
Limerick v Derry: 2,647
Cork v Longford: 2,011
Sligo v Bohs: 1,882
Bray v Shamrock Rovers: 900
Pat's v Drogheda: 836
Finn Harps v Wexford Youths: 540
Cabinteely v Athlone: 500
Shelbourne v Cobh: 406
Waterford v UCD: ?
19/10/2015, 6:15 PM
Updated to include Pats v Cork 19th Oct.
Week 28: Final round of First Division fixtures. Missing Waterford v UCD
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,712 (1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 775 (718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 3,305 (3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,146 (1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 767 (1,064; 817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 3,141 (2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,293 (975 FD)
Limerick - 1,159 (757; 1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Longford - 816 (567 FD; 379 FD; 365 FD; 315 FD; 230 FD; 260 FD)
Pat's - 1,345 (1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 2,946 (2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,756 (1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 314 (653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 610 (No previous)
Cobh - 366 (223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 784 (449; 479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Shels - 596 (713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 216 (397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 460 (470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 553 (331; 227; 302; 216; 343; 494)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,685 (1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 488 (495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,238 (1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 13,567 (Minus Waterford v UCD, including Pats v Cork midweek)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 54,124 (55,408)
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 313,477 (297,334)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 367,601 (352,742)
20/10/2015, 11:15 AM
723 at Pats v Cork last night. Updated above to reflect this.
trevy
21/10/2015, 10:24 AM
350 at Waterford v UCD.
oriel
21/10/2015, 10:31 AM
Roundup of week 28:
Dundalk v Galway: 3,122
Limerick v Derry: 2,647
Cork v Longford: 2,011
Sligo v Bohs: 1,882
Bray v Shamrock Rovers: 900
Pat's v Drogheda: 836
Finn Harps v Wexford Youths: 540
Cabinteely v Athlone: 500
Shelbourne v Cobh: 406
Waterford v UCD: ?
Was the Pats v Drogs game really that small, there looked to be a decent crowd in areas in some of the clips on soccer rep, fair few in the camera side and a few from the away side too. It must have been as they gave an actual figure but it looked more?
21/10/2015, 11:14 AM
Was the Pats v Drogs game really that small, there looked to be a decent crowd in areas in some of the clips on soccer rep, fair few in the camera side and a few from the away side too. It must have been as they gave an actual figure but it looked more?
I was watching the game live and was surprised the attendance figure was that high tbh..
21/10/2015, 11:27 AM
Without repeating the whole thing, since I can no longer edit the last post, updates of changes:
Waterford - 453 (470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 486 (495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,235 (1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 13,917 (including Pats v Cork midweek)
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 54,474 (55,408)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 367,951 (352,742)
redobit
21/10/2015, 12:40 PM
Sligo - 1,756 (1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
Interesting. Our attendance this year is exactly the same as 2009. Which was an Ok year, getting to a FAI cup final and a mid-table finish.
Sligo's crowds and especially fundraising have been one of the stories of the season. Both impressive in a very hard year.
Green&whitearmy
22/10/2015, 10:34 AM
973 the official attendance at the bray v rovers game.
NeverFeltBetter
23/10/2015, 8:23 PM
1960 at Limerick/Shams. Wonder how many in first game at MF next season...
23/10/2015, 9:47 PM
1960 at Limerick/Shams. Wonder how many in first game at MF next season...
A sellout at home to the champions or a derby to league and cup runners up - positive thinking Limerick fans!!
23/10/2015, 10:52 PM
Think I seen 479 as official attendance at the Bowl. At minimum, there was 200 of that Harps.
The Donie Forde
24/10/2015, 10:37 AM
2,618 at The Box last night.
Hopefully Bray will push for 1,000 again tonight for last home game vs Galway..
2,618 at The Box last night.
I think considering nothing to play for really, this was a decent crowd, as I'd imagine we had less than 100 at it, also if boot on other shoe, I'd have been reasonably happy with this.
However for stats, its a huge reduction on the game in April, I think that was 6,900. I was at it, my first trip to TC, perfect night for football, granted your crowds have dropped off significantly, but few clubs will ever get more than 5k at a league match. Our season high last year was 5,500 v Cork in the last game. This year with not so many big games having an edge, our highest was just under 4k, and I very much doubt we will exceed that on Friday for the trophy presentation.
I would also think, from the last 10 years, there won't have been too many higher than the Cork v Dundalk match last April for a league game, I think Cork v Derry for the final game when Cork won the league was bigger though ? Possibly as more could stand at the time, I could be wrong, anyway it would be interesting to see a list of the top 10 or so biggest league crowds for any games over the past 10 years. I might try and see if I can dig it out when I have more time.
Louth4sam
24/10/2015, 6:23 PM
as I'd imagine we had less than 100 at it,
We had at least three times that. The away section was overfilled. Also, not sure why they didn't open another section as there was nobody in the next two blocks.
I stand corrected, hadn't realised that many travelled down, that's excellent numbers really.
Looking forward to seeing the highlights on Monday night.
El-Pietro
25/10/2015, 12:10 AM
We had at least three times that. The away section was overfilled. Also, not sure why they didn't open another section as there was nobody in the next two blocks.
Those sections hold close to 700, there was maybe 350 in there, plenty of empty seats at the front of it.
Was a decent travelling crowd, but there was loads of room. An additional section would have been completely unnecessary
White Horse
25/10/2015, 8:08 AM
Those sections hold close to 700, there was maybe 350 in there, plenty of empty seats at the front of it.
The broken ones? No thanks.
Fair play to the 300 to 400 who made their way down to a meaningless match.
Olander
25/10/2015, 10:28 AM
About 500 in Bray last night, 200ish from Galway.
strikeforce
26/10/2015, 4:35 AM
lOOK AT THE GAME ON MONDAY NIGHT. Each section can hold 500, Dundalk didn't even half fill it ffs. 150 max. Remember 11.05 monday night.
White Horse
26/10/2015, 8:49 AM
lOOK AT THE GAME ON MONDAY NIGHT. Each section can hold 500, Dundalk didn't even half fill it ffs. 150 max. Remember 11.05 monday night.
Hundreds left in protest at Cork's lack of a guard of honour.
Louth4sam
26/10/2015, 4:18 PM
Why would I need to look at the game on Monday night? I was at it. Stand was packed apart from the front where the green net was. A couple of photographs here for your perusal. There was at least 300 there.
https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12049269_1014625095268802_4405527530050172028_n.jp g?oh=c3064629d350206fd37340c7e194469f&oe=56BECC06
https://www.facebook.com/306100726121246/photos/ms.c.eJxFysENwCAMA8CNKtvEIey~;WFWlwPd0BCNlzEqIYz78 YVlZBV3o4Q1s0AGhIT4wMsZgLTp8YDZwQ6DsEuIFJrka7g~-~-.bps.a.1014624948602150.1073742215.306100726121246/1015064408558204/?type=3&theater
El-Pietro
26/10/2015, 4:46 PM
Why would I need to look at the game on Monday night? I was at it. Stand was packed apart from the front where the green net was. A couple of photographs here for your perusal. There was at least 300 there.
https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfa1/v/t1.0-9/12049269_1014625095268802_4405527530050172028_n.jp g?oh=c3064629d350206fd37340c7e194469f&oe=56BECC06
https://www.facebook.com/306100726121246/photos/ms.c.eJxFysENwCAMA8CNKtvEIey~;WFWlwPd0BCNlzEqIYz78 YVlZBV3o4Q1s0AGhIT4wMsZgLTp8YDZwQ6DsEuIFJrka7g~-~-.bps.a.1014624948602150.1073742215.306100726121246/1015064408558204/?type=3&theater
Maybe zoom out a little....
30/10/2015, 10:45 PM
2,013 official in Finn Park.
At least another 500 if not 1,000 on top of that I'd have guessed but I could not give a fjuck!
ForzaHoop
31/10/2015, 8:44 AM
Great crowd at Harps game, 2015 was anounced but we just laughed that he picked the year Harps would go back up as there defo seemed way more than that
Dalymountrower
31/10/2015, 8:49 AM
1904 official attendance in Dalymount.
WoodquayBoy
31/10/2015, 9:12 AM
1,231 official at EDP
31/10/2015, 9:32 AM
3419 op tonight.
Would that be max capacity? I assume it nearly would be for a title lifting match.
Do Dundalk fans reckon he could get bigger crowds with another stand behind one of the goals? Even one similar to the one in the Markets Field.
White Horse
31/10/2015, 9:45 AM
Do Dundalk fans reckon he could get bigger crowds with another stand behind one of the goals? Even one similar to the one in the Markets Field.
The trick will be keeping the season average of 3,000 when things are not going so great.
If we stay in Oriel Park, the plan should be to extend the main stand the full length of the pitch and to put up a small stand for away fans behind one of the goals. To increase support any further will require a more comfortable match night experience.
ger121
31/10/2015, 10:24 AM
1904 official attendance in Dalymount.
Thought it was over 2k myself but still very good for last home game of the season.
White Horse
31/10/2015, 10:53 AM
Thought it was over 2k myself but still very good for last home game of the season.
Good attendances at Bohs this year. The fans know this is a club going places.
jinxy lilywhite
31/10/2015, 12:54 PM
Would that be max capacity? I assume it nearly would be for a title lifting match.
I think investment in facilities would certainly be required.
Especially facilties to cater for families.
The potential is there already with the club selling circa 7.5k cup final tickets. Who knows also how many were sold through ticketmaster
2,013 official in Finn Park.
At least another 500 if not 1,000 on top of that I'd have guessed but I could not give a fjuck!
The times reported 'nearly 3,000' but 2,013 was given in the Indo. Why would the club release an incorrect figure ?
Still a very good crowd and shows your potential.
A new stand behind the town goal would be ideal and for families, but nothing will happen until the lease is sorted.