View Full Version : 2015 attendances
29/05/2015, 11:35 PM
442 at CCS tonight, dreadful attendance again. Credit to the 40-50 harps fans or so that traveled made good noise at times
30/05/2015, 11:27 AM
There was minimum double that amount of Harps fans. There were at least 50 behind the nets, and another 30 or so in the main stand.
Absolutely dreadful attendance indeed from Longford. CCS is in poor shape as well, seats all broken and cracked and seen much better days. Whole thing rusted and awful looking. If ever a place needed a roof, or better care, it's that stadium.
I've seen Longford fans giving out about Finn Park, but honestly, I'd be looking much closer to home before giving out about Harps.
Ezeikial
30/05/2015, 1:53 PM
I've seen Longford fans giving out about Finn Park
Giving out about other grounds has become an obsession for some of them.
30/05/2015, 1:58 PM
There was minimum double that amount of Harps fans. There were at least 50 behind the nets, and another 30 or so in the main stand.
Absolutely dreadful attendance indeed from Longford. CCS is in poor shape as well, seats all broken and cracked and seen much better days. Whole thing rusted and awful looking. If ever a place needed a roof, or better care, it's that stadium.
I've seen Longford fans giving out about Finn Park, but honestly, I'd be looking much closer to home before giving out about Harps.
if our board listened to our fans stadium would be in better shape.. for god sake we havent had an AGM in six long yrs!
30/05/2015, 8:51 PM
That's actually laughable. CCS is one of the best grounds in the country yes it needs a roof for away fans but that is on the cards if we can finally secure some grant money. Ballybofey isn't even a stadium compared to it. Hope he get the new ground sorted but apparently that's hit problems? Pats, Dundalk and Sligo fans have all praised the facilities at CCS this season.
30/05/2015, 8:52 PM
if our board listened to our fans stadium would be in better shape.. for god sake we havent had an AGM in six long yrs!
That would be illegal, must be some sort of AGM taking place.
ATFC-1887
30/05/2015, 9:03 PM
That's actually laughable. CCS is one of the best grounds in the country yes it needs a roof for away fans but that is on the cards if we can finally secure some grant money. Ballybofey isn't even a stadium compared to it. Hope he get the new ground sorted but apparently that's hit problems? Pats, Dundalk and Sligo fans have all praised the facilities at CCS this season.
Agree that it is a great ground. Seats are in ****e, but that is expected obviously because of the lack of a roof. If it had a roof all round it would probably be the best in the country along with Turners Cross and Tallaght.
30/05/2015, 11:12 PM
Agree that it is a great ground. Seats are in ****e, but that is expected obviously because of the lack of a roof. If it had a roof all round it would probably be the best in the country along with Turners Cross and Tallaght.
If an athlone fan can come on here and admit it, surely a harps fan can see it.
31/05/2015, 10:35 AM
I'll stand by what I said.
A few points:
The only toilet facilities in the ground are under the main stand. What happens during segregation?
The lack of any hot food, all the crisps and minerals you want, but nothing else.
The seats are all cracked, broken, rusted and in poor shape. I understand that's simply because it's exposed but it doesn't look like much is done to help it at all.
I've said it before, it has serious potential to be one of the great stadiums in the league, but there's too much that lets it down. I'm not going to compare it to Finn Park, we're all aware up here that we've probably one of the worst stadiums in the league of Ireland, that's why we're building a new one.
31/05/2015, 10:47 AM
I'll stand by what I said.
A few points:
The only toilet facilities in the ground are under the main stand. What happens during segregation?
The lack of any hot food, all the crisps and minerals you want, but nothing else.
The seats are all cracked, broken, rusted and in poor shape. I understand that's simply because it's exposed but it doesn't look like much is done to help it at all.
I've said it before, it has serious potential to be one of the great stadiums in the league, but there's too much that lets it down. I'm not going to compare it to Finn Park, we're all aware up here that we've probably one of the worst stadiums in the league of Ireland, that's why we're building a new one.
Re: Toilet facilities, like Turners and Oriel and most away grounds we have portallos when segregation is in place.
Hot food is a premier division requirement and we have had at least 1 chipper if not 2 (one for away fans) at all our premier games this season.
The seats were getting broke by footballs hence the nets which not only make the place look tidy they also keep the time lost chasing footballs to a minimum.
Finally as stated earlier plans for a roof for away fans are on a list of stadium priorities for the club but as we all know money doesn't fall from the sky
Town Legend
31/05/2015, 11:00 AM
Also, during segregation ladies in the away section are allowed over to use the main toilets and are not required to use the portaloos.
31/05/2015, 11:56 AM
Also, during segregation ladies in the away section are allowed over to use the main toilets and are not required to use the portaloos.
I fear to think how ladies manage in Ballyboffey considering the jacks is a concrete wall
dublinwanderer
31/05/2015, 12:20 PM
Hot food is a premier division requirement and we have had at least 1 chipper if not 2 (one for away fans) at all our premier games this season.
there was no hot available when we played there... Tea or cup of soup only...
dublinwanderer
31/05/2015, 12:24 PM
200 max at the Bray v Limerick cup game! Shocking crowd at it!!!
31/05/2015, 4:57 PM
I fear to think how ladies manage in Ballyboffey considering the jacks is a concrete wall
You must have missed the toilets then. The best toilet facilities in Finn Park are in the designated away area. The chip van is also in the away area. And the best views of the match are from the away area.
Considering it's age, and how little upgrades have been done over the years, Finn Park is in excellent shape at the minute. While it's a crap stadium, it's well looked after.
Also, learn to spell Ballybofey. It's not that difficult.
31/05/2015, 5:26 PM
I don't think we'll have any friends by the end of the season, lads :(
31/05/2015, 5:37 PM
Pretty much none of this is attendance related, you monsters. I can't handle this, shame on you nigel as thread starter.
31/05/2015, 5:40 PM
We could try counting the amount of friends we have left?
31/05/2015, 9:31 PM
You must have missed the toilets then. The best toilet facilities in Finn Park are in the designated away area. The chip van is also in the away area. And the best views of the match are from the away area.
Considering it's age, and how little upgrades have been done over the years, Finn Park is in excellent shape at the minute. While it's a crap stadium, it's well looked after.
Also, learn to spell Ballybofey. It's not that difficult.
Finn park is in excellent shape. Wow. Only good thing about Finn Park is the chipper it's the best in the league by far
31/05/2015, 10:05 PM
Finn park is in excellent shape. Wow. Only good thing about Finn Park is the chipper it's the best in the league by far
FWIW, the best in the top division (by a mile) is the one at the away fans in Longford
Anyway in no way, shape or form is Finn Park a better ground than Longford.
31/05/2015, 10:09 PM
FWIW, the best in the top division (by a mile) is the one at the away fans in Longford
Nobody has suggested Finn Park is better than any ground in the league.
01/06/2015, 8:11 AM
Away out of that, Finn Park is a fookin' Palace.
You just don't see it's natural charm.
Town Legend
01/06/2015, 8:50 AM
I actually like Finn Park. It's got that old rustic feel to it. I've been in worse grounds to be honest but I always enjoy my trips to Ballybofey!
01/06/2015, 9:12 AM
Just don't go making any noise in the shed.
01/06/2015, 12:03 PM
They changed the chippy last season, nowhere near as good as the last one. Also, great toilets on the away side of the ground. Only league ground that provides sunscreen in the toilets; not that I've ever had the need to use it in Ballybofey, mind.
Anyway, back to attendances, bigger crowd than I thought would be at the Edenderry-Derry match yesterday afternoon. 300 maybe? About 40 Derry fans down. Handy, free shuttle bus from the main street too.
01/06/2015, 1:12 PM
They changed the chippy last season, nowhere near as good as the last one. Also, great toilets on the away side of the ground. Only league ground that provides sunscreen in the toilets; not that I've ever had the need to use it in Ballybofey, mind.
Anyway, back to attendances, bigger crowd than I thought would be at the Edenderry-Derry match yesterday afternoon. 300 maybe? About 40 Derry fans down. Handy, free shuttle bus from the main street too.
where in Edenderry is the ground as I know the town.
poster
01/06/2015, 1:12 PM
Wasn't announced, but 800 was the attendance at Rovers/Crumlin.
01/06/2015, 5:14 PM
Re: Toilet facilities, like Turners and Oriel and most away grounds we have portallos when segregation is in place.
The seats were getting broke by footballs hence the nets which not only make the place look tidy they also keep the time lost chasing footballs to a minimum.
Finally as stated earlier plans for a roof for away fans are on a list of stadium priorities for the club but as we all know money doesn't fall from the sky
The chipper inexplicably had gourmet burgers but no chips earlier in the season. It is one of the best away sections though.
01/06/2015, 10:37 PM
Good crowd in Finn Park tonight despite horrendous weather all day. Around 800-900 there with about 6 or 7 Longford fans.
01/06/2015, 11:57 PM
Away out of that, Finn Park is a fookin' Palace.
You just don't see it's natural charm.
Oh I didn't say it was missing charm. I spent part of my stag do there so I'm very fond of it
Anyway, if the Harps crowd in Longford was all behind the goal there was about 30 of them
02/06/2015, 12:03 AM
Oh I didn't say it was missing charm. I spent part of my stag do there so I'm very fond of it
Anyway, if the Harps crowd in Longford was all behind the goal there was about 30 of them
As already alluded to, 30 on a bus all behind the nets were joined by another 15-20, and there was another 30+ in the main stand.
02/06/2015, 12:22 AM
Funny, I spent part of my stag in Inchicore too. 2008. We were hammered then too.
we have excellent taste in social outings
02/06/2015, 2:50 PM
840 official in Finn Park last night. Considering the weather, and it was a Monday night with relatively no away support, that's a pretty decent attendance. Amazing what a good run of form can do for a team.
02/06/2015, 4:01 PM
840 official in Finn Park last night. Considering the weather, and it was a Monday night with relatively no away support, that's a pretty decent attendance. Amazing what a good run of form can do for a team.
ye might not have won the match but ye outshone us on both occasions vocal wise! I am sick of making excuses for the lack of atmosphere with us this season! for a match with no away support the support from ye was superb!
I would love to see ye up there with us next season!
03/06/2015, 9:27 AM
where in Edenderry is the ground as I know the town.
About 1km south, towards the canal.
03/06/2015, 5:54 PM
Didn't get any improved official attendances from the last league update so here's Week 12:
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,626 (1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 921 (718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 3,929 (3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,246 (1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 707 (1,064; 817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 3,230 (2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,477 (975 FD)
Limerick - 581 (757; 1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Longford - 984 (567 FD; 379 FD; 365 FD; 315 FD; 230 FD; 260 FD)
Pat's - 1,621 (1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 3,369 (2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,806 (1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 327 (653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 851 (No previous)
Cobh - 373 (223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 867 (449; 479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Shels - 619 (713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 216 (397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 513 (470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 338 (331; 227; 302; 216; 343; 494)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,816 (1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 517 (495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,354 (1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 12,198
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 24,287 (55,408)
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 154,402 (297,334)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 178,689 (352,742)
The FAI Cup attendance of the second round AWARD goes to Edenderry Town for their 1,237 vs Derry City.
That's a helluvaa an attendance for a non-league side and from what i could make out on SR on Monday there was only a handful of Derry fans at the match!
04/06/2015, 8:00 PM
I'm not sure if brendy_eire was hammered or is rubbish at counting given his estimate of maybe 300 for the Edenderry game above!
wonder88
04/06/2015, 11:10 PM
Will the revelation of the acceptance of a loan/bribe from FIFA by Irish soccer make it more difficult to attract more people to the league? Also how do folk on here feel about the involvement of Denis O Brien with soccer in this country? Same could be asked of rugby.
NeverFeltBetter
04/06/2015, 11:55 PM
Bit of an odd thread to raise those questions tbf. I doubt it would have any effect whatsoever.
Eminence Grise
05/06/2015, 9:20 PM
It's about the only place Menace O'Brien and his libel team aren't looking for trouble.:mad:
NeverFeltBetter
05/06/2015, 9:26 PM
Just over 2'300 announced for Market's Field opening. Radio guys were adamant there were more, and had a guy going around doing a count. He claimed to have over 3'000 counted before people starting leaving. 10 minutes early...
As always, there is an audience for LOI in Limerick, but they just aren't regular attendees.
05/06/2015, 9:30 PM
Hard to judge one stand but maybe 400 in Athlone tonight, about 80 Harps fans.
wonder88
05/06/2015, 9:32 PM
1301 at E Deacy Park on a cold windy night, my guess 45-50 in Cork section. Think I overheard in the club shop around 360 copies of the programme sold. 3 set piece goals by Cork, the Dennehy free on stroke of half-time crucial to the outcome of the game.
05/06/2015, 9:34 PM
3100 and a few in Oriel.
3105 at Oriel tonight.About 150 very noisy brats from Bohs.
wonder88
05/06/2015, 9:42 PM
That is great news from Limerick. Will the home games stay on Friday from now on? I always like to take in a few games down there, and usually it is Saturdays or weeknights that I manage to make the trip.
ger121
05/06/2015, 10:20 PM
3105 at Oriel tonight.About 150 very noisy happy brats from Bohs.
Fixed that for you.
05/06/2015, 11:22 PM
That is great news from Limerick. Will the home games stay on Friday from now on? I always like to take in a few games down there, and usually it is Saturdays or weeknights that I manage to make the trip.
All scheduled for Saturdays.
Couldn't play tomorrow due to the CL final