View Full Version : 2015 attendances
25/09/2015, 11:18 PM
Only 853 at Harps v UCD tonight. Disappointing crowd.
1,321 at Wexford v Athlone
26/09/2015, 12:06 AM
Cork v Derry - 2,380
Shels v Waterford - 513
Shamrock Rovers v Galway - 2,000 estimate on ET
26/09/2015, 12:14 AM
Only 853 at Harps v UCD tonight. Disappointing crowd.
1,321 at Wexford v Athlone
Capacity of FC Park? Club record attendance?
26/09/2015, 12:20 AM
Can't imagine capacity at much more than 2,000. They really need a second stand of some sort there, or at least some form of stepped terracing. There's only around 800 seats far as I know. Seen pictures of the game tonight that had crowds lined right around the pitch and the seats full.
Their record attendance was League cup final against Derry. 3,000 according to google. They had heaps of extra temporary seating for that game. Their first league game ever had a fairly big attendance too if I remember right.
Few images of the League Cup final. Ferrycarraig has potential to be a cracking little stadium if they could only have something like this a bit more permanent.
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF442/322651.jpg
http://www.sportsfile.com/winshare/w540/Library/SF442/322650.jpg
Nah Nah Nah Nah
26/09/2015, 1:01 AM
3,500 there for the league cup final according to Wiki (Or I could have read Nidges post properly - got too enthralled by the photos)
26/09/2015, 7:20 PM
Limerick v Dundalk - 2,178
26/09/2015, 7:34 PM
Hot on the heels of Cork City for the run n attendances. Do a bit better on the pitch next season and their average could be up nicely, Of course Dundalk having 1500 travelling support helps!
26/09/2015, 9:04 PM
Cork v Derry - 2,380
Shamrock Rovers v Galway - 2,000 estimate
Sligo v Bray - 1,522
Wexford v Athlone - 1,321
Harps v UCD - 853
Shels v Waterford - 513
Cabinteely v Cobh - 150
Drogheda v Bohs - ?
Longford v Pats - ?
26/09/2015, 9:06 PM
Hmmm I'd have expected 2000+ for such a big game for Sligo. Rugby must have had some pull in the west and great game it was.
27/09/2015, 9:02 AM
Hot on the heels of Cork City for the run n attendances. Do a bit better on the pitch next season and their average could be up nicely, Of course Dundalk having 1500 travelling support helps!
I presume your joking about the 1,500 travelling support.
Ezeikial
27/09/2015, 9:48 AM
I presume your joking about the 1,500 travelling support.
Of course he is........
it was way more than that
thomas72
27/09/2015, 12:14 PM
That stand the dundalk fans were in holds 300 350 it wasn't full I'd say maybe 200 250 dundalk fans still a good number long trip down.
White Horse
27/09/2015, 12:29 PM
That stand the dundalk fans were in holds 300 350 it wasn't full I'd say maybe 200 250 dundalk fans still a good number long trip down.
Sounds about right to me.
27/09/2015, 9:17 PM
Cork v Derry - 2,380
Shamrock Rovers v Galway - 2,000 estimate
Sligo v Bray - 1,522
Wexford v Athlone - 1,321
Harps v UCD - 853
Shels v Waterford - 513
Cabinteely v Cobh - 150
Drogheda v Bohs - ?
Longford v Pats - ?
a lot of our regular posters have gone into hibernation. I will get back to you tommorrow Nigel!
27/09/2015, 9:39 PM
I'd guess 350-400 max, awful but who's going to watch the sh1te we have to offer
I'd have said 300 or so but you'd have a better for the place than me so that could be right
28/09/2015, 9:47 AM
I'd have said 300 or so but you'd have a better for the place than me so that could be right
No your probably right although the stand can be hard to gauge and I would have said you brought around 50 so no higher than 350 either way
28/09/2015, 11:51 AM
I'll stick it down as 350 for now. Thanks lads.
Surely you will take that and more to the cup semi final on Friday night? Heard your stand allocation was selling, or at least a large area has been reserved.
28/09/2015, 4:55 PM
Surely you will take that and more to the cup semi final on Friday night? Heard your stand allocation was selling, or at least a large area has been reserved.
400 ticket sent down by Dundalk, one full 52 seater bus traveling and more driving. Wouldn't see anymore than 150-200 been there
28/09/2015, 7:31 PM
I'll stick it down as 350 for now. Thanks lads.
confirmed in star today attendance was 457!
28/09/2015, 8:52 PM
I think attendances in general are pathetic.
Harps were playing a 2nd v 3rd match, 2nd last home game of the season and there was under 900 at the game. In 2007 when we were in a similar position in the 1st Division we had easily treble that number in the ground.
It's very disappointing, especially for the committee who work so hard to keep the club afloat. They're praying each season for a good season on the pitch and when we get it, the crowds don't show up.
Last year we made the cup semi final and took a big crowd to Inchicore but never really had a decent home game throughout the cup run.
bluewhitearmy
28/09/2015, 11:51 PM
Any up to date averages flying around?
28/09/2015, 11:53 PM
Any up to date averages flying around?
Yep. Waiting on a figure from Drogs v Bohs before putting it up here.
29/09/2015, 12:11 AM
Week 26: (Missing Drogheda v Bohs)
PREMIER DIVISION
Bohs - 1,688 (1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488; 1,835; 2,366)
Bray - 766 (718; 891; 965; 1,121; 952; 1,169)
Cork - 3,398 (3,777; 1,965; 2,786; 2,128 FD; 1,693 FD; 2,681)
Derry - 1,171 (1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135; 1,965 FD; 2,436)
Drogheda - 800 (1,064; 817; 977; 811; 859; 1,106)
Dundalk - 3,143 (2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355; 1,877; 2,371)
Galway - 1,273 (975 FD)
Limerick - 1,059 (757; 1,649; 734 FD; 569 FD; 598 FD; 429 FD)
Longford - 782 (567 FD; 379 FD; 365 FD; 315 FD; 230 FD; 260 FD)
Pat's - 1,432 (1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346; 1,756; 1,631)
Rovers - 2,822 (2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779; 3,794; 3,611)
Sligo - 1,747 (1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103; 1,807; 1,756)
FIRST DIVISION
Athlone - 315 (653 PD; 754; 271; 200; 354; 462)
Cabinteely - 618 (No previous)
Cobh - 367 (223; 439; 2008 - 1,122 PD; 681; 368; 403)
Harps - 803 (449; 479; 429; 433; 644; 480) -
Shels - 611 (713; 1,114 PD; 1,187 PD; 781; 737; 972)
UCD - 221 (397 PD; 487 PD; 506 PD; 558 PD; 610 PD; 272)
Waterford - 460 (470; 478; 453; 466; 619; 434)
Wexford - 516 (331; 227; 302; 216; 343; 494)
PREMIER AVERAGE: 1,687 (1,502; 1,566; 1,630; 1,547; 1,512; 2,010)
FIRST DIVISION AVERAGE: 489 (495; 391; 372; 578; 682; 417)
OVERALL AVERAGE: 1,199 (1,160; 1,140; 1,125; 1,110; 1,095; 1,175)
TOTAL WEEKLY ATTENDANCE: 11,374
OVERALL FIRST ATTENDANCE: 50,840 (55,408)
OVERALL PREMIER ATTENDANCE: 279,008 (297,334)
OVERALL COMBINED ATTENDANCE: 329,848 (352,742)
confirmed in star today attendance was 457!
ha ha. I love this league. If you include all players, officials and anyone who drove by at match time you wouldn't reach 457
29/09/2015, 10:19 AM
ha ha. I love this league. If you include all players, officials and anyone who drove by at match time you wouldn't reach 457
Not the first time this season either, laughable
29/09/2015, 1:51 PM
Not the first time this season either, laughable
Perhaps Athlone's committee were on a night out?
Trainee
02/10/2015, 8:41 PM
GUFC v Sligo 1,351
Daycent enough attendance tonight in Oriel = 3526
02/10/2015, 9:12 PM
At least we get a few quid out of it I suppose.
02/10/2015, 11:47 PM
At least we get a few quid out of it I suppose.
except for our fine for the flares! three of our lads got escorted out of the ground and nothin done with Dundalk fans? flares lit at end of game as away fans fed up of being penned in yet again like sheep! then guards start cautionin one of the sect o lads and said he could be barred from attendin loi matches and then we got an armed escort from the guards comin out of Dundalk on the old Ardee rd until we gave them the slip near Ardee! sums up the entire night!
mcgonigle
03/10/2015, 9:12 AM
Thought I saw those lads being let back in. The stewards on the shed side are a joke, never throw anyone out. Myself and others have had to step in on several occasions to do their job for them
White Horse
03/10/2015, 9:15 AM
except for our fine for the flares! three of our lads got escorted out of the ground and nothin done with Dundalk fans? flares lit at end of game as away fans fed up of being penned in yet again like sheep! then guards start cautionin one of the sect o lads and said he could be barred from attendin loi matches and then we got an armed escort from the guards comin out of Dundalk on the old Ardee rd until we gave them the slip near Ardee! sums up the entire night!
I don't understand the Guards. No agro between the fans, then they insist on keeping the away fans back when they have a long journey ahead of them after a disappointing evening. No wonder tempers get frayed.
03/10/2015, 11:00 AM
Letting the flare off when we were held back was both hillarious and incredibly stupid. One of the stewards then threw the flare on to plastic (not the pitch) and started a little fire. You couldn't make it up.
Absolutely no reason to hold us back, separate exit with the busses parked right there, created tensions and a situation where some p'eed off drunk people could have done themselves or others harm, let alone get arrested if the Garda decided to throw their weight around.
03/10/2015, 11:16 AM
Being held back is something that away fans should really expect these days at any ground, if it doesnt happen bonus. For all the Longford fans knew the Gardai were dispersing a group of native pond dwellers.
dundalkfc10
03/10/2015, 11:20 AM
The Stewards on the Shed side are all mates with our singing section (one them is even one of the Shedsidearmy dad)
If I was a Steward I'd not go in to the shed myself, some very unsavoury characters in it!!
To be fair to them though, its a semi final of a cup. Flares were expected.
Wonder how the Stewards are gonna react in the Aviva with the Delaney banners (I know at least 3 groups of lads who are organising banners)
P.S. Come on Bray
03/10/2015, 12:23 PM
Thought I saw those lads being let back in. The stewards on the shed side are a joke, never throw anyone out. Myself and others have had to step in on several occasions to do their job for them
Nope they had to watch the game in Kennedys. Letting the flare off at the end was totally stupid and the lad in question was told not to do it but did anyway. My issue was the fact the idiot of a steward pulled it from his hand and it across several people's faces trying to take it off him, A few lads could have been burned because of the idiotic steward who as said above then started a little fire on the plastic bollards. Gardai throwing their weight around and stewards only adding to tension as they always seem to do in Oriel. Longford and Dundlak fans are always able to mix freely and it's a shame that wasn't allowed again last night, these are the things that put people off traveling to oriel
dundalkfc10
03/10/2015, 4:10 PM
Nope they had to watch the game in Kennedys. Letting the flare off at the end was totally stupid and the lad in question was told not to do it but did anyway. My issue was the fact the idiot of a steward pulled it from his hand and it across several people's faces trying to take it off him, A few lads could have been burned because of the idiotic steward who as said above then started a little fire on the plastic bollards. Gardai throwing their weight around and stewards only adding to tension as they always seem to do in Oriel. Longford and Dundlak fans are always able to mix freely and it's a shame that wasn't allowed again last night, these are the things that put people off traveling to oriel
99% of our fans hate our Stewards too..Nothings gonna change especially with Regina running the show
There's no need to be held back, but at least we were told this time. Didn't feel the need to go and wait at the gate, so won't comment on what went on there.
The lads lighting the flares pre match know the chance they're taking, although it's not really on if away fans are chucked out, and nothing happens to home fans.
Also a bit more common sense this time in letting the women into the stand rather than have to brave the portaloos.
Game went pretty much as expected.
jinxy lilywhite
03/10/2015, 4:48 PM
So in your opinion if that did happen and some poor unfortunate got burned then the clown who lit the flare would be absolved from any blame.
There are plenty of ways to follow your team than letting off a flare.
The idea of Longford fans being held back was pretty stupid. There is never any trouble with them. Especially since we had enough crisps and tea cakes for them
03/10/2015, 5:08 PM
I'll be honest. I didn't see any crisps for sale.
03/10/2015, 5:17 PM
So in your opinion if that did happen and some poor unfortunate got burned then the clown who lit the flare would be absolved from any blame.
There are plenty of ways to follow your team than letting off a flare.
The idea of Longford fans being held back was pretty stupid. There is never any trouble with them. Especially since we had enough crisps and tea cakes for them
No of course not but surely stewards should be trained with how to deal with such situations especially considering the history of excessive flare use in oriel park. It's the second time this season there has been large anger at the way fans have been treated there, a complaint we haven't made at any other ground this session, the stewards need to have a serious look at themselves
chickennuggets
03/10/2015, 6:29 PM
Personally, I had no problem with anything the stewards did last night. They moved in when the flares were lit at the start of the game and removed two lads they were certain to be involved. There were five or six so it would have been difficult to get everyone right without creating a problem with false accusation.
After the game, the announcement was made that we had to stay back. The stewards manned the barriers and there was no problem until a few eejits started getting restless and then a flare was lit. The abuse the stewards took was absolutely ridiculous. Embarrassing from a Longford point of view. What were the stewards to do? Everyone knew they had to wait yet a good few of our fans squeezed up towards the barrier seemingly unable to wait a few extra minutes. It was all very stupid.
White Horse
03/10/2015, 6:46 PM
There are three complaints from Longford fans:
1. Being kept in the ground after the end of game.
2. Manner and safety of the confiscation of a flare lit by a fan while being kept back.
3. Away fans who lit a flare before kick off were thrown out while home fans who did likewise were not.
Is that correct?
03/10/2015, 7:43 PM
My only complaint is that the steward who confiscated the flare on the way out didn't actually hit some of our fans in the face.
Ezeikial
03/10/2015, 8:28 PM
There are three complaints from Longford fans:
1. Being kept in the ground after the end of game.
2. Manner and safety of the confiscation of a flare lit by a fan while being kept back.
3. Away fans who lit a flare before kick off were thrown out while home fans who did likewise were not.
Is that correct?
4. Acornvilla was not directed towards where the crisps were on sale
5. TC did not blow enough kisses at the travelling fans
dublinwanderer
05/10/2015, 7:39 PM
2173 at the Bray v Cork cup semi.
Club expected a sell out but with a huge lack of promotion in the town I wasn't expecting to reach the 2k mark!!! Great to hear the Bray fans (at times) get behind the team, havent heard that in a long time and hopefully it continues!
wonder88
06/10/2015, 12:14 AM
Still a small enough crowd for a cup semi, you would hope for 3k as there was a good away support. The final should give a good boast for the overall cup attendance figure. However it seems that the FAI has lost some of its attraction for many Irish soccer fans, at least up to the final.
08/10/2015, 2:34 AM
except for our fine for the flares! three of our lads got escorted out of the ground and nothin done with Dundalk fans?!
Don't worry, the FAI are nothing but meticulous in giving out fines. If only they paid as much attention to the rest of their governance of the league.