View Full Version : 2015 attendances
White Horse
23/05/2015, 9:11 AM
The Gardai were searching all the Dundalk fans on the way into the ground last night.
I've been searched by stewards before but not the guards.
23/05/2015, 9:49 AM
Terrific turnout in Harps, well done. Could teach Cork City a thing or two about marketing.
patrickccfc
23/05/2015, 10:23 AM
Could teach Cork City a thing or two about marketing.
4,138 would say thanks, but no thanks were fine. That being said, it's great to see a four figure attendance in a first division game. Shows the potential harps have, in regards to attendance, should they get promoted. I, for one, hope they do.
23/05/2015, 11:47 AM
Well, to be honest, there was actually something more like 1,400 in the ground as official attendance doesn't include all the complimentary kids tickets handed out with a different school and underage football club brought along each week as guests of the club and Academy teams who all get in for free too of which there's around 100 players.
It's fantastic to see, and long may it last. There's a huge bandwagon support in Donegal, and if it continues it can only be good for Harps financially too as we've an incredibly low budget less than 2,000 a week.
23/05/2015, 1:20 PM
Those pesky Gardai charging €300 per man to police big attendances mean that all our attendances to date have been around 350.
eitoof
24/05/2015, 8:17 AM
502 at Longford v Linerick per RTE report.
24/05/2015, 12:30 PM
502 at Longford v Linerick per RTE report.
Sounds spot on must be an official attendance. We really need to do more to draw people in.
JC_GUFC
25/05/2015, 5:40 PM
Poor crowd in Drogheda - maybe 550 or so including the President. He's been to nearly as many games as Tom this season!
25/05/2015, 5:56 PM
Any corrections for the following?
Cork v Rovers - 4,138
Harps v UCD - 1,105
Derry v Sligo - 1,052
Shels v Waterford - 651
Longford v Limerick - 502
Pats v Dundalk - 2,000 estimate
Bohemians v Bray - 1,200 estimate
Drogheda v Galway - 550 estimate
Cabinteely v Cobh - 500 estimate
gufcfan
25/05/2015, 6:06 PM
Poor crowd in Drogheda - maybe 550 or so including the President. He's been to nearly as many games as Tom this season!
Nonsense, Michael D will forever be in Tom's shadow until he appears at two different LOI matches in the same evening.
DaveyPats
25/05/2015, 8:02 PM
Any corrections for the following?
Cork v Rovers - 4,138
Harps v UCD - 1,105
Derry v Sligo - 1,052
Shels v Waterford - 651
Longford v Limerick - 502
Pats v Dundalk - 2,000 estimate
Bohemians v Bray - 1,200 estimate
Drogheda v Galway - 550 estimate
Cabinteely v Cobh - 500 estimate
Well more than 2000 in Richer. I'd say 2500+
25/05/2015, 9:18 PM
Cabo getting nearly the same as us just goes to show we are not doing enough to market ourselves just like many LOI clubs. Cabo making a great go of it fair play to them.
Well more than 2000 in Richer. I'd say 2500+
I'd say about 2,500 as well
Cabo getting nearly the same as us just goes to show we are not doing enough to market ourselves just like many LOI clubs. Cabo making a great go of it fair play to them.
It isn't just marketing though. Stradbrook is a walk away for loads of people. The Flansiro isn't. Cabinteely have a huge schoolboy section. Longford don't.
Not saying clubs shouldn't do more marketing, but some clubs have more to offer fans anyway
oriel
26/05/2015, 10:20 AM
It isn't just marketing though. Stradbrook is a walk away for loads of people. The Flansiro isn't. Cabinteely have a huge schoolboy section. Longford don't.
Not saying clubs shouldn't do more marketing, but some clubs have more to offer fans anyway
Only noticed last night there was a bigger away support that it looked, as a lot of Dlk fans were also sitting in the away end of the main stand. Wasnt at the game, but others who were said it was in and around 2,500.
Any idea on the away support?
26/05/2015, 10:43 AM
I'd guess around 400 or so. 2nd biggest Dundalk crowd in Inchicore after the 2013 "play off" game
26/05/2015, 2:14 PM
Ah yeah of course but we simply aren't doing enough. The club don't seem to realise the importance of social media at all
JC_GUFC
27/05/2015, 9:05 AM
Ah yeah of course but we simply aren't doing enough. The club don't seem to realise the importance of social media at all
Yeah - your Twitter is terrible. Considering a few of your fans live on Twitter there are obviously "options". Shels are the same.
Maybe the importance can be overstated at times but a better effort needs to be made by those clubs.
Louth4sam
27/05/2015, 9:15 AM
financially too as we've an incredibly low budget less than 2,000 a week.
That's the same as Cork's according to John Caulfield, so you should be fine.
Briuk
27/05/2015, 10:54 AM
Yeah - your Twitter is terrible. Considering a few of your fans live on Twitter there are obviously "options". Shels are the same.
Maybe the importance can be overstated at times but a better effort needs to be made by those clubs.
Not only the twitter, the website is also poor. The supporters notes are alright, but only once per week. Small preview of the game with Cousins thinks about it, some small injury report, etc. Would be awesome.
Supporters notes after the match are alright, though a bit of report and Cousins opinions would be great. Galway, Sligo, Cork, are doing all this stuff very well.
27/05/2015, 11:45 AM
The club is rather wary about who has access to its social media. Those that look after it currently don't really have the time to dedicate to it in order to do it properly. Those that live on Twitter haven't been given the green light thus far!
27/05/2015, 2:25 PM
Not only the twitter, the website is also poor. The supporters notes are alright, but only once per week. Small preview of the game with Cousins thinks about it, some small injury report, etc. Would be awesome.
Supporters notes after the match are alright, though a bit of report and Cousins opinions would be great. Galway, Sligo, Cork, are doing all this stuff very well.
Cousins doesn't want team news online, I used to do match previews but was never allowed to put in injury news, which I had no problem with. Several people have offered to do the social media as the current man in charge is in England and finds it hard to stay in the loop from there. There's so much we could be doing like soundclloud interviews, March previews, special features etc.
patrickccfc
27/05/2015, 3:28 PM
March previews
I know we all look forward to March but may be a little early? Unless you've seen the future? If so how many points did dundalk win the league by? Did 5 Irish clubs qualify for European group stages? Did roddy manage to last the rest of the season in Waterford? Did the bray takeover go through?
**All this on the basis that you said March instead of match by mistake**
I thought it was in the participation agreement that clubs had to circulate match previews / team news every week?
27/05/2015, 4:28 PM
I thought it was in the participation agreement that clubs had to circulate match previews / team news every week?
We are one of very few that do not issue press releases, we have no media officer that I know of and since early last season there are no match previews posted on the club website.
White Horse
27/05/2015, 7:36 PM
We are one of very few that do not issue press releases, we have no media officer that I know of and since early last season there are no match previews posted on the club website.
Are the people on your web-site still reviewing the performance of ball boys/girls in opposition grounds?
The public berating of the ball girls following the opening day visit to Oriel Park was hilarious.
27/05/2015, 7:56 PM
Who's going to hold ball girls to account if not the Longford Town website?
27/05/2015, 8:25 PM
Are the people on your web-site still reviewing the performance of ball boys/girls in opposition grounds?
The public berating of the ball girls following the opening day visit to Oriel Park was hilarious.
it was the supporters club PRO that did that not the adminstatrator of our website. In hindsight that comment should be censored but its not fair on our person whos based in UK to do it!
27/05/2015, 10:06 PM
I was the first one to speak out about these 'ground reivews'. The oriel park review was particularly embarrassing as it criticised the fact oriels away end has no cover for fans or proper toilet facilities despite the fact we don't have them either. Really hope it's a segment we stop publishing
28/05/2015, 7:32 AM
That must have slipped through the cracks. As far as I'm aware those notes are usually edited in order to take out that kind of guff.
This probably explains the really poor effort of a match programme, the one I got at the Dundalk match was really not acceptable for a PD club. It reminded me of a Non Lge club putting one together for an FAI Cup match.
All of this is a real shame, as its a decent ground, and looks a good set up over there, however getting things right in the media area is very important too.
It is. The league's press office have to be included too.
28/05/2015, 10:51 AM
This probably explains the really poor effort of a match programme, the one I got at the Dundalk match was really not acceptable for a PD club. It reminded me of a Non Lge club putting one together for an FAI Cup match.
All of this is a real shame, as its a decent ground, and looks a good set up over there, however getting things right in the media area is very important too.
I can't criticise the fella behind the match programme he puts in incredible work but his hands have been left tied in the last year or so as he's pretty much had to do all the work himself.
gufcfan
28/05/2015, 5:54 PM
It is. The league's press office have to be included too.
I remember when I used to do it for a short while, the press office would be onto you if you didn't have it sent out by lunchtime on thursday or something like that. They must have just given up with Longford.
28/05/2015, 6:15 PM
The last couple of games there's been team news on extratime as far as I can recall. I don't check the papers etc but the league may have been onto the club about it.
28/05/2015, 6:51 PM
I think we are caught between two stools.. its not that long ago since 2003 when we were runners up in the programme of the year awards.. I know our editor well as hes one of the founding members of section o..he puts in a huge amount of work for one man! theres not enough contributions made to it and its the same people that contribute to it every two weeks..
up to a yr ago we had interviews with the players in it but that died a death thanks to a certain someone in the club who remains nameless who went over the top with one of our lads that post here who was doing a great job!that person who contributed hasnt being replaced..
28/05/2015, 9:19 PM
The last couple of games there's been team news on extratime as far as I can recall. I don't check the papers etc but the league may have been onto the club about it.
But that team news is commonly known or obtained by the reporter either through players or someone else, we don't actually physically send out team news to the press as far as I'm aware. I get all the club press releases but have never received one from LTFC as we don't seem to have a proper press officer. I'm sure that is a position clubs are required to have so it would be interesting to see who that is and if they are just filling it for the sake of it. Plenty of people would be happy to do it if asked.
gufcfan
28/05/2015, 10:08 PM
We've gone a long way from talking about attendances, but I'll just say that you will 100% get more and better coverage if you do press releases with some quotes and team news. Managers need to be put in their place at times too. If more or less everyone is doing team news but their own club is letting them get away with barring anyone from doing it, they will take advantage. Overall, I think it has a very negative influence.
28/05/2015, 10:37 PM
It's always a bad sign when a manager has such an influence in the way the club is run.
JC_GUFC
29/05/2015, 9:31 AM
Last season Tommy Dunne didn't want highlights of our matches put up on the website because he didn't want opposition manager seeing set piece routines etc. which is probably understandable but a bit frustrating for fans who missed matches.
For a club not to report team news seems very backward - why not just report incorrect team news such as "Osam is doubtful"? If a lad is suspended everyone knows he's suspended. If your keeper is suspended and the sub is carrying a knock there's no need to report that but at least send something out!
29/05/2015, 9:54 AM
Last season Tommy Dunne didn't want highlights of our matches put up on the website because he didn't want opposition manager seeing set piece routines etc. which is probably understandable but a bit frustrating for fans who missed matches.
For a club not to report team news seems very backward - why not just report incorrect team news such as "Osam is doubtful"? If a lad is suspended everyone knows he's suspended. If your keeper is suspended and the sub is carrying a knock there's no need to report that but at least send something out!
You can tell TC and Dunne are related anyway that's exactly why we don't have highlights online either.
29/05/2015, 9:55 AM
It's always a bad sign when a manager has such an influence in the way the club is run.
Either the club just uses the excuse Tony said so or he is actually against team news, match highlights and a fecking drum in the stand.
L.T.F.C.
29/05/2015, 10:24 AM
I'd be inclined to agree with that. I do hear about TC doesn't want this and that. Not great!
29/05/2015, 10:40 AM
I counted 12 people at the Salthill game there.....
29/05/2015, 11:48 AM
I, for one, fully support our Kim Jong-il-like approach to releasing information about the club.
29/05/2015, 12:53 PM
Maybe such grievances should be raised via the Supporters' Club at this stage if people feel strongly enough about their offers of help being ignored. Maybe nothing will happen but at least it would have been raised with the club.
We're gone too far off topic now I think so splitting the thread is probably necessary.
29/05/2015, 3:01 PM
Maybe such grievances should be raised via the Supporters' Club at this stage if people feel strongly enough about their offers of help being ignored. Maybe nothing will happen but at least it would have been raised with the club.
We're gone too far off topic now I think so splitting the thread is probably necessary.
Been there, done that. Roundabouts
29/05/2015, 4:47 PM
Fair enough. I'm Dublin based so I'm not really in the loop these days.
gufcfan
29/05/2015, 9:38 PM
so I'm not really in the loop these days.
So... the same as the people in Longford then?
Dundalk/Shels 1836.
Decent crowd from Shels maye 100
29/05/2015, 9:54 PM
So... the same as the people in Longford then?
How dare you sir. How very dare you.