View Full Version : 2015 attendances

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23

PartySaint
18/08/2015, 1:18 PM
If we lose to Cork on Friday or beat them and get an away draw in the Cup, we have no home game scheduled from the 28th of August until the 16th of October.

18/08/2015, 1:43 PM
Our crowds are going to drop off for the rest of the season I think, especially if we lose on Friday leaving us with nothing to play for
Do you not market your clubs down in Cork?

18/08/2015, 1:49 PM
While our own attendance have improved from last year we've only gone up by maybe 100 or so in terms of home support, the rest is all big away supports. Only a cup run will bring the people of Longford out these days

18/08/2015, 2:06 PM
While our own attendance have improved from last year we've only gone up by maybe 100 or so in terms of home support, the rest is all big away supports. Only a cup run will bring the people of Longford out these days

That in itself shows just how much it means to teams to get promoted.

18/08/2015, 2:24 PM

I know there was a promotional teen priced ticket at Oriel last night but 3700 has helped cancel out the disappointing crowd v Cork with the unusual ko time that evening. There maybe be a few remarks about bandwagon support but after the result, style of football played against top opposition - the teenager promotion could very well be a great, albeit a bit fortunate (weather etc) little future crowd builder. 2002 cup win generated just about an enough new generation of fans to keep us alive during the first division days. This little spell of success so far is topping things up again. A cup run will do just nicely as I believe the semi-final in 2002 was the catalyst for the final, and possibly with a lot of very hard work by a few really dedicated people behind the scenes at Oriel since, even this team!
That was a great promo by the club last night to attract youngsters and the parents away from the prem match on the tv,defo put 3/400 on the gate.Better to have 300/400 x five euros in our pockets than Skys .

nr637
19/08/2015, 2:41 PM
Some really good attendances by League of Ireland standards for the monday night fixtures. Nearly 4,000 at Oriel, nearer 2,000 at Limerick according to home fans, close to 2,000 for an improving Sligo, a TV game at Tallaght getting 2,500+ and maybe an extra 1,000 more only for the cameras, Bray would have only expected their usual hardcore 500+ while Galways attendance was the only disappointed attendance on the nite.

Not being an advocate for midweek games, but I was pleasantly surprised by the attendances, just goes to show that there is a market and audience out there for our league and all the promotion & advertisements by the clubs can only help.

Now we need the FAI to employ some professional group to show how best to promote this league and get the maximum audiences through the turnstiles, an extra few hundred people at games is a start as Dundalk did with the €5 offer.

Re-think the league format, less league games I think would allow more competitive weekend games and times to suit most fans routines.

Olander
19/08/2015, 4:17 PM
Galways attendance was the only disappointed attendance on the nite.
Awful attendance.

That's the only league game we've got under 1,000 at this year, which says a lot about our supporters, considering how poorly we've performed at home consistently and the amount of stupid goals we ship.

We've only really played well in one home league game all year (v Bohs 5-3). The other league games we won v Limerick and Drogheda, we made very hard work of. Watching us at home this year hasn't been enjoyable. It's not too much of a surprise to see our attendances plummet. We have a worse home record than Limerick FFS. 9 losses in 13 home league games, conceding 29 goals.

21/08/2015, 9:38 PM
761 in Galway tonight.
urgghhh

Olander
21/08/2015, 9:41 PM
761 in Galway tonight.
urgghhh
At least 250 Dundalk supporters. Bad times...

White Horse
22/08/2015, 12:33 AM
At least 250 Dundalk supporters. Bad times...

I don't know why as that is a decent Galway side to watch.

I spent a couple of hours in Galway before the game and there was no sign that a cup match was taking place. It probably doesn't help that the ground is so far out of the town. No buzz at all.

WoodquayBoy
22/08/2015, 12:49 AM
I don't know why as that is a decent Galway side to watch.

I spent a couple of hours in Galway before the game and there was no sign that a cup match was taking place. It probably doesn't help that the ground is so far out of the town. No buzz at all.
The ground is less than a mile from Eyre Square so that distance excuse is just piffle. The club does zero promotion, apart from the odd social media plug, which is poor form. Our home record has been shocking, so that doesn't help, but the club's lack of promotion doesn't help either. Apparently there is a marketing sub-committee in place. Only the members and God him/herself know what they do as marketing/promotion has been non existent

Yossarian
22/08/2015, 12:53 AM
The ground is less than a mile from Eyre Square so that distance excuse is just piffle. The club does zero promotion, apart from the odd social media plug, which is poor form. Our home record has been shocking, so that doesn't help, but the club's lack of promotion doesn't help either. Apparently there is a marketing sub-committee in place. Only the members and God him/herself know what they do as marketing/promotion has been non existent

I'm just home myself and I was very surprise at the poor attendance. There just seemed to be a lack of any kind of buzz, particularly in the ground, about the game.

Olander
22/08/2015, 1:03 AM
I'm just home myself and I was very surprise at the poor attendance. There just seemed to be a lack of any kind of buzz, particularly in the ground, about the game.
Our season has sort of petered out badly. I wouldn't agree with woodquayboy totally. I'd point the blame more on our atrocious home form.

As the season went on, the attendances gradually got worse. We were on an average of 1,500 for most of the season, which I think most United fans would've accepted as an average attendance. That has taken a huge hit in recent times with two attendances under 800. People want to see a team that's competitive and we have been awful at home all year. The league cup final doesn't make up for it. We're a harmless team.

White Horse
22/08/2015, 1:09 AM
We're a harmless team.

In my opinion, a couple of signings is all that is needed. If that side still had Barrett and Manning, it would be a different proposition.

Olander
22/08/2015, 1:18 AM
In my opinion, a couple of signings is all that is needed. If that side still had Barrett and Manning, it would be a different proposition.
Too late for signings now, our only hope is that we can get some of our influential players back from injury.

I'd say away teams must love visiting Terryland Park. There isn't one pig in our team (apart from maybe Stephen Walsh). We've got such a quiet squad.

Galway's a nice city to vist, Terryland is a nice little stadium, with a lovely pitch and nice dressing/facilities. Away supporters are well looked after.

You're almost guaranteed that our team will concede a few goals from set pieces (2 free headers tonight).

We are in deep trouble.

22/08/2015, 1:32 AM
1,778 at Cork v Pat's.

22/08/2015, 2:06 AM
1,778 at Cork v Pat's.
Kidding me ? Checks - no he's not :(

Sooner the better that ST holders can attend cup matches without having to pay.
Anyone got any mad ideas on how that would work ?

oriel
22/08/2015, 10:23 AM
I think it was the clubs who agreed with the FAI that ST are not valid for cup games, besides it would make things messy anyway as the gate is something like 40/40/20 split with home side paying officials.

This arrangement sees a reduction in Dundalk's recent seasons cup crowds also as we have around 1,200 ST holders, possibly a little more (and up to 500 free u12 ones), and a lot of these pick their cup matches also. I'm not sure what the ST figure is for Galway, but that was a desperately disappointing attendance, and worse if they said there was 250 or so from Dundalk.

Ezeikial
22/08/2015, 12:40 PM
Sooner the better that ST holders can attend cup matches without having to pay.
Anyone got any mad ideas on how that would work ?

Are you suggesting that season ticket prices should be increased to cover the cost of cup matches?

White Horse
22/08/2015, 1:16 PM
Are you suggesting that season ticket prices should be increased to cover the cost of cup matches?

They would have to, in the case of the "cup specialists".

22/08/2015, 5:14 PM
I don't know how the structures work regarding season tickets and the FAI cup but i think when you look at the awful attendances from last night you can see that there is an issue? No?

wonder88
22/08/2015, 5:36 PM
I think the recent crowds indicate that the Galway core support is around 500. Another 500-700 would turn up if the team could win more than the odd game (esp home) and not get regularly outclassed like Derry recently. Agree that Barrett and Manning would really improve the team, I mean we are talking about a group of players that finished 3rd in the 1st division behind Shels last year. I understand the "local player" policy but maybe it could be implemented over a number of seasons.
The Galway public are not great at supporting teams, I go to hurling/football games and it is the same story. Also ST not valid is a factor, by the way I missed the game last night so partly to blame.
The GUST lads do a bit of promotions by putting some signs up on routes into the city, maybe the other stakeholders could do a bit also? Location of ground not a factor I think.

22/08/2015, 5:38 PM
I don't know how the structures work regarding season tickets and the FAI cup but i think when you look at the awful attendances from last night you can see that there is an issue? No?
Well clubs can include cup games in STs if they want. I wouldn't expect that a lot of season ticket holders will skip a match just because they'd have to stump up €15 for it - more likely that many of them wouldn't have been there either way.

Ezeikial
22/08/2015, 5:47 PM

Adjusting Season Tickets is hardly the answer

If cup matches were to be included in a season ticket, it would either add to the cost of the ticket for the supporter, or reduce the retained revenue for the club (if 40% of the match ticket cost is due to the visiting club).

22/08/2015, 6:17 PM
Couple hundred at Cockhill v Longford.

Supposedly around 1,500 at Cobh Wanderers v Sligo Rovers

Comic Book Guy
22/08/2015, 7:01 PM
Couple hundred at Cockhill v Longford.

Supposedly around 1,500 at Cobh Wanderers v Sligo Rovers

Looks like it alright Nigel. Been a long time since I saw a crowd like that here. Just goes to show the appetite still exists, we just need to get it right off the field.

22/08/2015, 7:03 PM
Looks like it alright Nigel. Been a long time since I saw a crowd like that here. Just goes to show the appetite still exists, we just need to get it right off the field.

Would it be somewhat to do with any animosity in the town to Ramblers?

Comic Book Guy
22/08/2015, 7:14 PM
Would it be somewhat to do with any animosity in the town to Ramblers?

It Could be but there's big work going on in the background to try to change things. Time will tell.

22/08/2015, 9:36 PM
Would put Cockhill Longford at 300ish.

nr637
23/08/2015, 12:31 AM
I'd say about 1.000 at the Cobh game, and when it went 3-0 to Sligo after about 35 mins, many went to the bar in the club house and it was closer to 500 when the second half started. A lot of kids in the crowd helped swell the attendance.

Pity Wanderers season only started last week as it was really a miss match to be honest, which is the same I reckon for any of the non-league clubs that played league sides. Really its unreasonable to expect these junior clubs to be able to put up a fair challenge. The days of great cup up sets are well and truly gone in this competition now and for the future unless all leagues are run on similar seasons.

23/08/2015, 7:07 AM
Well clubs can include cup games in STs if they want. I wouldn't expect that a lot of season ticket holders will skip a match just because they'd have to stump up €15 for it - more likely that many of them wouldn't have been there either way.

Adjusting Season Tickets is hardly the answer

If cup matches were to be included in a season ticket, it would either add to the cost of the ticket for the supporter, or reduce the retained revenue for the club (if 40% of the match ticket cost is due to the visiting club).
Not advocating any of that really but i think clubs should be able to promote fai matches free from the rigid 40-40-20 split we have now.Its a diffcult poz and i understand that.

JC_GUFC
23/08/2015, 10:13 AM
I think the recent crowds indicate that the Galway core support is around 500. Another 500-700 would turn up if the team could win more than the odd game (esp home) and not get regularly outclassed like Derry recently. Agree that Barrett and Manning would really improve the team, I mean we are talking about a group of players that finished 3rd in the 1st division behind Shels last year. I understand the "local player" policy but maybe it could be implemented over a number of seasons.
The Galway public are not great at supporting teams, I go to hurling/football games and it is the same story. Also ST not valid is a factor, by the way I missed the game last night so partly to blame.
The GUST lads do a bit of promotions by putting some signs up on routes into the city, maybe the other stakeholders could do a bit also? Location of ground not a factor I think.

I wouldn't say that's true - the last two attendances have been shocking but we averaged nearly 1000 the year we got 6 points all season.

I think the team's dip in form hasn't helped at all with injuries etc. and the Drogheda game wasn't exactly an attractive fixture on Monday. Friday's was more disappointing but I suppose there wasn't much expectation of a win (the midweek league game against Dundalk saw a pretty decent crowd for the 4-2 loss about a month ago)

I would be expecting the League Cup Final to be close to a sell out and I think when we get Ryan Connolly back from injury we'll start to move the right direction - we've a huge game against Longford in two weeks and he's due back for that. We're a better team than Drogheda, Longford and Bray so I'm not too concerned about the relegation battle just yet!!

23/08/2015, 10:16 AM
I wouldn't say that's true - the last two attendances have been shocking but we averaged nearly 1000 the year we got 6 points all season.

I think the team's dip in form hasn't helped at all with injuries etc. and the Drogheda game wasn't exactly an attractive fixture on Monday. Friday's was more disappointing but I suppose there wasn't much expectation of a win (the midweek league game against Dundalk saw a pretty decent crowd for the 4-2 loss about a month ago)

I would be expecting the League Cup Final to be close to a sell out and I think when we get Ryan Connolly back from injury we'll start to move the right direction - we've a huge game against Longford in two weeks and he's due back for that. We're a better team than Drogheda, Longford and Bray so I'm not too concerned about the relegation battle just yet!!

You weren't better than us last season and I don't think you've been ahead of us in the table this year either 👍

brendy_ιire
23/08/2015, 10:27 AM
845 at Derry-Drogheda.
Our attendances are going to stay like that for the rest of the season.

Darklordsbane
23/08/2015, 11:56 AM
You weren't better than us last season and I don't think you've been ahead of us in the table this year either 👍

Let's save the bragging rites until the season is over shall we boys. it's probabley odds on at least one of us will be fighting the relegation battle
if Longford lose to Bray next week, and the teams below them win, Longford will be joint 2nd last in the table
Frightens the life out of me

23/08/2015, 2:04 PM

No, Bray are miles better than you.

nr637
24/08/2015, 12:32 PM
FAI Cup 3rd round fixtures & estimated attendances?

Friday

Bohemian FC v Bray W. 7.45pm 1,000+ Att. 1,218
Cork City v St.Pats (LIVE ON RTE) 7.25pm 2,000+ Att. 1,778
Derry City v Drogheda United 7.45pm 1,000+ Att. 845
Galway United v Dundalk FC 7.45pm 1,000+ Att. 761
Sheriff YC v Athlone Town 7.30pm 100-200+ Att. 350 est.
Tolka Rovers v Killester FC 7.45pm 100-200+ Att. 200 est.

Saturday

Cockhill Celtic v Longford Town 5pm 250+ Att. 300 est.
Cobh Wanderers v Sligo Rovers 7pm 250+ Att. 1,100 est.

Not much interest in the Cup really!

24/08/2015, 1:06 PM
Not much interest in the Cup really!

Interest in the cup will only kick on from Quarter Final stage really.

24/08/2015, 1:39 PM
Which is sad. Back when I started going to games interest in the cup was very high- crowds would improve on their normal levels, even playing a team from the same division. But we seem to have followed the English mindset that has seen less and less value in cups.

24/08/2015, 2:03 PM
It is sad if disinterest in the cups in a growing trend. Bit daft too considering the teams that are out and a potential draw opening up to a final. Making no assumptions on results potentially Dundalk and Cork drawing each other opens up a decent chance for a day out in the Aviva for others even the non league sides. If the current form guide sticks and Dundalk win the league and then the cup, do the cup runners up get the European slot or does it add to the league qualifiers? If it goes to the cup runners up, and nothing is a cert in a one off game, that is incentive enough for supporters to get out and help their side in the cup ties!

24/08/2015, 2:05 PM
In that eventuality Nesta, the European spot goes to fourth placed team in the league.

24/08/2015, 2:14 PM
Which is sad. Back when I started going to games interest in the cup was very high- crowds would improve on their normal levels, even playing a team from the same division. But we seem to have followed the English mindset that has seen less and less value in cups.

Yup. Probably doesn't help that season tickets/guestlists are cut down on quite strictly.

The one advantage we have over the English game, strangely, is little money. Maybe we could use that to help.

Let season tickets cover cup games. Share the (reduced) gate anyway. Then give prize money. Something like -

Knocked out in the first round = €1,500
Win first round = €2,500
Knocked out in the second round = €2,500 (this guarantees all teams some prize money)
Win second round = €5k
Win each subsequent round = €5k

That's a total prize fund of €227k I think. So for example, Bray getting to the quarters would have earned €10k prize money so far - €5k for each of their two wins. And if they beat Killester, that'd be another €5k. Killester would have earned €12.5k because they also won in the first round.

But where the FAI would come up with €227k from is another question - not as if their turnover is up €30m in the past decade or anything.

Oh, wait...

Yossarian
24/08/2015, 3:15 PM
In that eventuality Nesta, the European spot goes to fourth placed team in the league.

I don't have a source but I was of the belief that if the cup was won by the team already qualified for the Champions League then the runner up got the Europa League spot if they hadn't already qualified for it but if the cup winners were already qualified for the Europa League then the spot would go to the 4th place team.

JC_GUFC
24/08/2015, 3:21 PM
I don't have a source but I was of the belief that if the cup was won by the team already qualified for the Champions League then the runner up got the Europa League spot if they hadn't already qualified for it but if the cup winners were already qualified for the Europa League then the spot would go to the 4th place team.

From this season the only way to qualify for Europe via the cup is to win it. This applies across all UEFA members.

Previously if you had been cup runners-up to a team which had qualified for the Champions League you would get the Europa League place.

25/08/2015, 12:07 AM
From this season the only way to qualify for Europe via the cup is to win it. This applies across all UEFA members.

Previously if you had been cup runners-up to a team which had qualified for the Champions League you would get the Europa League place.

From this European season (15//16) so applied to last year's LOI season

No more cup runners up in Europe

ger121
25/08/2015, 5:08 PM
From this European season (15//16) so applied to last year's LOI season

No more cup runners up in Europe

You'd like to think this would generally mean we have our stronger sides in Europe.

25/08/2015, 5:29 PM
Same for other countries though...

Though that said, how often has the Cup runners-up actually qualified?

25/08/2015, 6:42 PM
We qualified in 2001 due to Bohs winning the double. Probably our most respectable showing to be honest!

28/08/2015, 10:53 PM
We qualified in 2001 due to Bohs winning the double. Probably our most respectable showing to be honest!
1,893 at Bohs v Dundalk.Wasn't there(currently on hols in France ;) ) but was listening to the commentary on DundalkFM and they said about 6/700 from Dundalk.Not like those lads to exaggerate or anything :D

White Horse
28/08/2015, 11:00 PM
1,893 at Bohs v Dundalk.Wasn't there(currently on hols in France ;) ) but was listening to the commentary on DundalkFM and they said about 6/700 from Dundalk.Not like those lads to exaggerate or anything :D

I'm useless at estimating numbers but that was the biggest support I can recall us having in Dalymount.