View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2011
Pages :
[
6]
01/03/2011, 10:00 AM
Im not condoning any form of sectarian chanting, full stop. All I heard was different rendition of "fields of athenry". Fair enough I shouldnt have attacked the poster but "I heard" is in that post so its unsubstantiated. It makes out Dundalk are the only offending side in this which is totally untrue.
01/03/2011, 10:02 AM
Haha, poor Dunny, what a joke of a post! You're just not the same without an exclamation mark after your, name like you have on boards.ie
The flag burning did happen I'm afraid. A Dundalk Shed regular I work with seen and heard everything
Stalking me now? Your just not the same when your not swearing WW.
01/03/2011, 10:11 AM
Im not condoning any form of sectarian chanting, full stop. All I heard was different rendition of "fields of athenry". Fair enough I shouldnt have attacked the poster but "I heard" is in that post so its unsubstantiated. It makes out Dundalk are the only offending side in this which is totally untrue.
BBC saying (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/9409098.stm) IRA chants "appeared" to happen anyway, and mentions other scuffles, though nothing about flag burning.
marinobohs
01/03/2011, 10:15 AM
Thanks for clarification Dunny, as I said i dont think sectarian chanting is as big an issue as some on here appear to (unless of course you WANT to be offended, of course :rolleyes: ) but then again recalling the outrage over Bohs "Invincible" chant I may not be in touch with the tender feelings of your average LOI fan.
Good win for Dundalk as Linfield have an excellent record in the SETANTA, must fancy their chances now ?
Hold on a minute....since when is....."...the I....the I.......the I.R.A" an IRA song????
01/03/2011, 10:33 AM
BBC saying (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/9409098.stm) IRA chants "appeared" to happen anyway, and mentions other scuffles, though nothing about flag burning.
The word appeared is mentioned twice in one line! I seen one or two 'incidents' but they were drunken idiots. Other fans could clarify but I was watching the game. I honestly did not see a flag being burnt, nor has anyone else I asked. A few flares were lit and I seem to remember the same accusation of flag burning in Windsor when flares where lit.
Thanks for clarification Dunny, as I said i dont think sectarian chanting is as big an issue as some on here appear to (unless of course you WANT to be offended, of course :rolleyes: ) but then again recalling the outrage over Bohs "Invincible" chant I may not be in touch with the tender feelings of your average LOI fan.
Good win for Dundalk as Linfield have an excellent record in the SETANTA, must fancy their chances now ?
It was always going to happen tbh. I will admit my post was a knee-jerk reaction but BOTH sides where at it.
eamoss
01/03/2011, 10:35 AM
I didnt see any flags being set a light but I did see a blue jersey on fire but seeing that it was clothing it didnt have a desired effect.
The sectarian chanting was very embarrassing.
White Horse
01/03/2011, 10:39 AM
I saw no scuffles or a flag burning.
There were a few bottles thrown by Linfield fans towards the stand, but it petered out quite quickly.
Alas there was plenty of sectarian chanting from thuggish elements of both sets of supporters.
It wasn't serious but was embarrassing and cringeworthy for the decent fans from both clubs who were there to watch a football match.
Ezeikial
01/03/2011, 12:29 PM
There was a cracking atmosphere in Oriel Park last night, and for the most part, it was a very enjoyable night, even if the 2nd half pettered out somewhat with Dundalk effectively 'home and hosed'.
It is understandable (if not paricularly acceptable) if some of the media will look to build up the tensions or spats. For example the BBC report is factually incorrect about "scuffles" between rival supporters and is imbalanced otherwise
A number of scuffles did appear to break out among rival supporters but the Garda managed to restore order. A small but vocal section of Dundalk supporters did appear to direct pro-IRA chants at Linfield fans in the first half and tempers appeared to flare on the terraces early in the second half before the Garda quickly intervened.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/irish/9409098.stmThe sectarian chanting from a small section was embaressing, and the flares being lit in the knowledge that it would cost the club in fines shows the limited intellectual capacity of some "supporters".
The flag burning yarns appear to have no foundation.
The security steps taken by Linfield (which included professional and Volunteer Stewards travelling with the supporters) were a credit to the club. Many clubs in the Republic of Ireland could learn a lot from them, including Dundalk, and especially Shamrock Rovers.
Not Brazil
01/03/2011, 12:37 PM
The sectarian chanting from a small section was embaressing, and the flares being lit in the knowledge that it would cost the club in fines shows the limited intellectual capacity of some "supporters".
The flag burning yarns appear to have no foundation.
The security steps taken by Linfield (which included professional and Volunteer Stewards travelling with the supporters) were a credit to the club. Many clubs in the Republic of Ireland could learn a lot from them, including Dundalk, and especially Shamrock Rovers.
In fairness, a few dodgy songs from eejits on both sides constitutes significant progress on from events the last time The Blues visited Oriel Park.
Good luck to Dundalk in the next round.
Agreed Not Brazil...both games passed with no trouble...you will hear worse on the terraces in domestic games.Police and Garda handled both games brilliantly and the night we had in Windsor was one of the best i have had as a Dundalk fan.Looking forward to a few more battles over the coming years and looking forward to playing "The Glens" next Monday.
01/03/2011, 12:54 PM
and the flares being lit in the knowledge that it would cost the club in fines shows the limited intellectual capacity of some "supporters".
AFAIK there are no fines for the Setanta. We certainly didnt get fined a couple of years ago, while getting fined every second week for league games.Or course this caused some people to take the **** and have a 10 fans and 10 fares scenario in one of the IL grounds at one game
punkrocket
01/03/2011, 12:58 PM
Distillery are now into their 131st year and I've only ever heard them called "Lisburn" on here.
There are definitely fines in the Setanta. Pats have been warned after flares in Cliftonville last week. Some fans involved have been banned from tonight's game.
Financial Stew
01/03/2011, 1:01 PM
Distillery are now into their 131st year and I've only ever heard them called "Lisburn" on here.
Sorry about that
White Horse
01/03/2011, 1:06 PM
I always know them as Distillery as well. Didn't they change their name a few years ago?
There are definitely fines in the Setanta. Pats have been warned after flares in Cliftonville last week. Some fans involved have been banned from tonight's game.
The rule must have changed since we were last in it, feels like a lifetime ago anyway!
01/03/2011, 1:16 PM
I always know them as Distillery as well. Didn't they change their name a few years ago?
They changed their name a while after moving out to Lisburn (from "Distillery" to "Lisburn Distillery") to try fit in in their new locality.
Edit - 1999 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lisburn_Distillery_F.C.) was when they changed name; 1980 was when they moved to Lisburn. So for "a while", read "19 years"...
The rule must have changed since we were last in it, feels like a lifetime ago anyway!
This came from our Communications Officer last week:
Dundalk have been reprimanded by the Setanta Sports Cup Committee in relation to the Flares and Smoke bombs ignited in Windsor Park, and have been warned that a serious view will be taken on any re-occurences.
Contrary to some suggestions, the rules of the competition allow for heavy financial penalties to be imposed on the club in these circumstances.
While Flares and Fireworks may well look spectacular and add to the atmosphere, the simple reality is that they are dangerous and usually result in fines for an offending club.
Best regards
Colm Crosson
Ezeikial
01/03/2011, 1:19 PM
An extract from Oriel Web post from last week:
http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/styles/poker_olympus/imageset/icon_post_target.gif (http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/viewtopic.php?p=148794#p148794)by Colm Crosson (http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=2301) on Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:48 pm
Flares in Oriel Park / Setanta Sports Cup
Dundalk have been reprimanded by the Setanta Sports Cup Committee in relation to the Flares and Smoke bombs ignited in Windsor Park, and have been warned that a serious view will be taken on any re-occurences.
Contrary to some suggestions, the rules of the competition allow for heavy financial penalties to be imposed on the club in these circumstances.
While Flares and Fireworks may well look spectacular and add to the atmosphere, the simple reality is that they are dangerous and usually result in fines for an offending club.
Mr_Parker
01/03/2011, 1:21 PM
There have always been such rules in the compatition.
White Horse
01/03/2011, 1:36 PM
So for "a while", read "19 years"...
Seems like yesterday.
Hold on a minute....since when is....."...the I....the I.......the I.R.A" an IRA song????
i always saw it as a song of solidarity with our American brothers whose pensions suffered due to the poor economic policies of the Bush administration.
WindmillWarrior
01/03/2011, 2:18 PM
I said it to my Dundalk supporting work colleague again and he has conceded that it may have been a jersey (as was previously mentioned) being burned and not a flag, so apologies for that. But he is in no doubt that there was something (of Linfield colours) being torched on a stick. (Also there were songs about the IRA shooting down helicopters and what have you.)
But anyway, back to the football...
Ezeikial
01/03/2011, 2:25 PM
But he is in no doubt that there was something (of Linfield colours) being torched on a stick.
Maybe a claret and blue shirt being burned by Magic Me?
White Horse
01/03/2011, 2:26 PM
I said it to my Dundalk supporting work colleague again and he has conceded that it may have been a jersey (as was previously mentioned) being burned and not a flag, so apologies for that. But he is in no doubt that there was something (of Linfield colours) being torched on a stick.
Also there were songs about the IRA shooting down helicopters and what have you.
I think you'll find that Dundalk football fans are disgusted by the sectarianism on display last night. Unfortunately, some idiots think it is fun. I don't know how anyone can get through to them.
On football matters, Ozzy was excellent last night. Defensively solid, quick, and strong in the tackle. He'll be a great addition.
WindmillWarrior
01/03/2011, 2:34 PM
On football matters, Ozzy was excellent last night. Defensively solid, quick, and strong in the tackle. He'll be a great addition.
Yeah, hes a good talent that lad.
Quayman
01/03/2011, 6:15 PM
That report is completely misleading. The only scuffles that occured was by a small minority of Linfield fans who attempted to re-inact what Rovers fans did last year by ripping down the gate and barrier into the stand. They flung numerous amounts of bottles and other debris at the glass sheet at the side of the stand. Im actually surprised the glass was not smashed and someone seriously hurt by falling shards of glass. A tool of a Dundalk fan put a tricolor up on the side of the stand which peee them off but they had Union Jacks everyone and we didnt react to that so.
Niall Farrell here in Tolka Park for Bohs and Portadown in the Setanta Cup. Starting XIs are coming soon...
What?
I said it to my Dundalk supporting work colleague again and he has conceded that it may have been a jersey (as was previously mentioned) being burned and not a flag, so apologies for that. But he is in no doubt that there was something (of Linfield colours) being torched on a stick. (Also there were songs about the IRA shooting down helicopters and what have you.)
But anyway, back to the football...
So if you say BACK TO FOOTBALL, why did you feel it so important to post your first message up without mentioning anything about the excellent achievement of us beating one of the biggest clubs in the Island?
I had a really enjoyable night in both grounds, and saw only minor and very minor issues last night, your initial post was pure fault finding, and gave the impression to others on here that the occassion was a negative affair.
Pats grab one before half-time through Mulcahy. Game on?
Portadown take the lead in Dalyer.
WindmillWarrior
01/03/2011, 7:31 PM
Jesus Oriel, I said "back to the football" because everything was more or less covered with regards to fans behaviour. Would have thought that was fairly obvious.
Like it or not there were negative aspects to the occassion. Am I not allowed mention them?! Yet you want me to mention your "excellent achievement"!! in case you missed it I am a Drogs fan - I was hoping for a Linfield win
Pats grab one before half-time through Mulcahy. Game on?
Portadown take the lead in Dalyer.
flippin hell
Bohemians 0 - 1 Portadown
44' - ...After a long ball upfield, Robert Bayly headed the ball against the ground. Braniff caught the ball on the bounce and hammered it in from 40 yards. Super goal.
Hibs4Ever
01/03/2011, 7:39 PM
Pats had a goal disallowed too. How it's not at least 4-0 is a mystery. Destroying Cliftonville
Dan6189
01/03/2011, 9:15 PM
Just got back from Richmond and ****ing hell we could have won that game 10 nil if we had a decent goalscorer on. Dave McMillan could have had 4 on his own if he had stopped skyin every attempt. Good long throws from anto murphy but so that's a threat at least, if we can sort out our finishing we,ll be a force this year.
monkey9
01/03/2011, 10:34 PM
Just got back from Richmond and ****ing hell we could have won that game 10 nil if we had a decent goalscorer on. Dave McMillan could have had 4 on his own if he had stopped skyin every attempt. Good long throws from anto murphy but so that's a threat at least, if we can sort out our finishing we,ll be a force this year.
Saying we'll be a force is probably an exaggeration to be fair. But i agree, if we'd had a striker of note, we'd have been comfortably through. I think Danny North will be up there amongst the league's top scorers come the end of the season, but he can't do it on his own. Hopefully, Ian Daly will be up to scratch!
SolitudeRed
02/03/2011, 12:13 AM
Not taking chances has been the story of Cliftonville's season thus far and we have been in the same situation Pats found themselves in last week a number of times. I am glad to see that they have taken their chances well in the Setanta cup at least. We have a small squad and its been beset by injuries of late so I was pleasantly surprised that we managed to hold out.
baddebt
02/03/2011, 7:34 AM
Agreed Not Brazil...both games passed with no trouble...you will hear worse on the terraces in domestic games.Police and Garda handled both games brilliantly and the night we had in Windsor was one of the best i have had as a Dundalk fan.Looking forward to a few more battles over the coming years and looking forward to playing "The Glens" next Monday.
yep both games passed of peacefully .............................but to read the grossly inaccurate BBC report , you'd thik there was all out war at the game,
as for Secterian singing..................ffs it was Dundalk V Linfield , both sides where at but what did people expect ,
secterians songs are belted out in a lot of NI league matches as well as Celtic V Rangers and lots of other matches across europe, freedom of speech really ,
to me it all Banter among rival fans .........................anyone offended by a chant may perhaps need to get a life
White Horse
02/03/2011, 8:05 AM
to me it all Banter among rival fans .........................anyone offended by a chant may perhaps need to get a life
Would monkey noises directed at a team of black players also be a "bit of banter"?
Should black players and fans just "get a life" too.
Your analysis of sectarianism in football is facile.
redobit
02/03/2011, 10:37 AM
Was the draw supposed to be last night?
Rasputin
02/03/2011, 10:41 AM
To consider IRA or UDA chants as sectarian is infantile.
The fields of athenry or I..I..IRA are not sectarian, they are political yes of course but most definetly not sectarian.
I dont really care tbh what was song its just brandishing anything remotely political that comes out of the North as sectarian is not only innacurate it is also disingenuous.
Chanting IRA is about as racist as South Africans chanting MK.
marinobohs
02/03/2011, 10:53 AM
Would monkey noises directed at a team of black players also be a "bit of banter"?
Should black players and fans just "get a life" too.
..... no problem just get the FAI to "investigate" it :rolleyes:
Decent match at Dalymount last night, a very patchwork Bohs side (think they only met in the tunnel) put on a good display against Portadown. Two cracking goals by Ports gave them an ill deserved win (think a draw would have been fair result) which makes them strong favourites to win the tie.
Killian brennan was (rather harshly in my opinion) sent off for an aerial challenge - ref said he led with his elbow - but after whinging at the distinctly average (and thats generous) ref, Mr T Connelly all game he was asking for trouble .
Not a great crowd (have not got official figure) but a decent game. No sectarian chants or incidents inside the ground and despite it being a rather chilly night neither set of fans saw the need to burn anything :o
Not all over but very much "advantage Portadown" at the half way point.
02/03/2011, 11:02 AM
What was the Bohs team? There's been all sorts of rumours about who ye're going to sign, but what have ye actually ended up with?
oriel
02/03/2011, 11:03 AM
Jesus Oriel, I said "back to the football" because everything was more or less covered with regards to fans behaviour. Would have thought that was fairly obvious.
Like it or not there were negative aspects to the occassion. Am I not allowed mention them?! Yet you want me to mention your "excellent achievement"!! in case you missed it I am a Drogs fan - I was hoping for a Linfield win
Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to beat a team in ours. Lovely.
Also, I stand over my first post, you simply could not wait to post up the only bad news story of the tie, and took delight in pointing it out. That was my point.
Get a life
marinobohs
02/03/2011, 11:13 AM
What was the Bohs team? There's been all sorts of rumours about who ye're going to sign, but what have ye actually ended up with?
starting 11 was
B Murphy
O Heary
O Cahill
A Price
K Feely
L Dixon
G O'Brien
R Bayly
K Brennan
K Somers
A Flood
Liam Burnes and Rossiter and O'Connor (keeper) injured (along with long term injury Cronin) after that its all a bit hazy :D with few trialists still around (obviously not registered for SETANTA)
redobit
02/03/2011, 11:23 AM
Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to be beat a team in ours.
tbh I was hoping Linfield would beat ye too. Only because we were supposed to play them in the next round if they won and they would be a bigger draw crowd wise. We will be sick of the sight of the LOI teams by the end of the season too.
legendz
02/03/2011, 12:09 PM
Was there complaints from the Irish League in previous seasons on the timing on the competition? I don't think they can have those complaints at the moment. I haven't heard League of Ireland clubs making an issue on it before. I suppose we can only tell after the tournament has completed but hopefully the Setanta Cup has found a settled format.
WindmillWarrior
02/03/2011, 1:26 PM
Good man WW, you wanted a club from outside our own league to be beat a team in ours. Lovely.
Also, I stand over my first post, you simply could not wait to post up the only bad news story of the tie, and took delight in pointing it out. That was my point.
Get a life
As Darby O'Gill would say woo whoo hullabaloo :D
You're gonna love this Oriel, I took great delight when yous were hammered in Europe last season as well!
And I didn't take delight in the disgraceful behaviour of your fans. It just didn't surprise me in the slightest is all.
Prove it WW, as usual you have nothing except an "I heard"...
Theres rivalry and then theres obsession but you take the biscuit. Not even funny anymore it's sad..:doh:
WindmillWarrior
02/03/2011, 2:09 PM
What can I do, yous fools keep replying! Even I'm bored at this stage. But if you wanna bury your head in the sand Dunny, fire away.