View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2011

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16

12/04/2011, 9:45 PM
Look, the grace in defeat of the Shams staff and supporters in The Aviva will not be easily forgotten and, for many of us, finally defeating Shams in an FAI Cup Final brought closure and we could finally decommission . Now, lets get together and start hating Bowez.

Ezeikial
14/04/2011, 9:23 AM
A special collectors item of half and half Dundalk / Cliftonville scarves have been produced by Dundalk as a memento of the Setanta semi-final meeting:

http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalkcliftonville-scarves-on-sale

Anyone looking for a colourfull ocassion and good value for money night could do worse then check out the €10 ticket deal for Monday nights match

http://www.dundalkfc.com/cliftonville-semi-final-e10-ticket-offer-extended

Mr_Parker
15/04/2011, 7:51 PM
A special collectors item of half and half Dundalk / Cliftonville scarves have been produced by Dundalk as a memento of the Setanta semi-final meeting:

http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalkcliftonville-scarves-on-sale

Cliftonville must be looking forward to receiving 50% of the £ sales. :good:

bullit
16/04/2011, 3:27 AM
Cliftonville must be looking forward to receiving 50% of the £ sales. :good:

EMF Cheque on the way,god knows yous lot need the cash !

Mr_Parker
16/04/2011, 10:47 AM
EMF Cheque on the way,god knows yous lot need the cash !

Well we are entitled to our share...:cool:

http://i56.tinypic.com/2qcl094.jpg

Ezeikial
17/04/2011, 11:20 AM
Monday nights match against Cliftonville is the first semi-final in Oriel Park since a magical night back in 2002 when Dundalk beat Shamrock Rovers 4-0 in the FAI Cup semi-final before going on to lift the cup in a memorable final against Bohs in Tolka Park.

The memories of that March night in Oriel Park are revived on the Dundalk website, and reminds me why supporters will endure the heartache of defeats, poor performances and crushing disappointments and still keep coming back. It is the hope of more nights like this one that make it all worthwhile:

http://www.dundalkfc.com/semi-memory-that-march-night-in-2002

bullit
18/04/2011, 3:30 PM
Link for tonights match.

http://www.myp2p.eu/broadcast.php?matchid=113523&part=sports

Fester
18/04/2011, 7:42 PM
Dundalk 0 v 0 Cliftonville HT

Fester
18/04/2011, 7:53 PM
Dundalk v Cliftonville:

Live stream: http://www.fromsportcom.com/v-2/4/56/v-245711.html

Fester
18/04/2011, 8:03 PM
Dundalk 0 v 1 Cliftonville '59

Fester
18/04/2011, 8:10 PM
Dundalk 1 v 1 Cliftonville '65 Jason byrne

Fester
18/04/2011, 8:37 PM
Dundalk 2 v 1 cliftonville '93 Breen

18/04/2011, 9:46 PM
Monday nights match against Cliftonville is the first semi-final in Oriel Park since a magical night back in 2002 when Dundalk beat Shamrock Rovers 4-0 in the FAI Cup semi-final before going on to lift the cup in a memorable final against Bohs in Tolka Park.

That game didn't happen :)

18/04/2011, 10:01 PM
Peter Hutton must be about 90 at this stage, right?

Johnny Breen looked very good when he came on, albeit against a tired makeshift defence. Took his goal very well. The Reading loanee at the back looks a prospect too - is he on loan until the end of the English season or the Irish one? Dundalk look like they have the makings of a good team and should be challenging for Europe, but their results this season have been poor in the league. Has Foster decided to get his meltdown out of the way early instead of building everyone's hopes up?

18/04/2011, 10:11 PM
Peter Hutton must be about 90 at this stage, right?

Johnny Breen looked very good when he came on, albeit against a tired makeshift defence. Took his goal very well. The Reading loanee at the back looks a prospect too - is he on loan until the end of the English season or the Irish one? Dundalk look like they have the makings of a good team and should be challenging for Europe, but their results this season have been poor in the league. Has Foster decided to get his meltdown out of the way early instead of building everyone's hopes up?

Michael Hector. I think he is only with us until July. Had a nightmare against Rovers at the start of the season but he is coming into some form it seems.

18/04/2011, 10:14 PM

I believe it did. :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psztotXksqE

Ezeikial
18/04/2011, 11:31 PM

I believe it did. :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=psztotXksqE

Dunny - sorry to have to tell you this, but I have it on good authority from reliable Rovers sources that the You Tube clip is actually doctored footage

bullit
19/04/2011, 12:51 AM
I would say a 2,000 attendance tonight for the Dundalk v Cliftonville match.
The club have to get a big slap on the back for the promotion off the match(E10/E5 in, and access to stand or ground)
Cliftonville had about 350/400 down with them.Some lads/lassies they are :cool:
Half-time was a bit of a love in in the Lilywhite lounge:love2: and the general goodwill and friendliness shown by BOTH sets of supporters should be an example to all other clubs.
Well done to Dundalk on reaching the final and i look forward to meeting whatever Rovers await in the Final.
http://www.orielweb.com/dundalktalk/images/smilies/col_dundalk.gif

bullit
19/04/2011, 2:45 AM
Can i also mention the best media coverage in the country

DundalkFC report on the match http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-cli...ort-april-2011 (http://www.dundalkfc.com/dundalk-cliftonville-report-april-2011)

Dundalk Manager(audio) http://www.dundalkfc.com/my-proudest...manager-foster (http://www.dundalkfc.com/my-proudest-moment-as-a-manager-foster)

DundalkFC Assistant Manager(audio) response http://www.dundalkfc.com/were-capabl...rovers-kierans (http://www.dundalkfc.com/were-capable-of-beating-either-rovers-kierans)

DundalkFC pics https://picasaweb.google.com/nigelca...inalSecondLeg# (https://picasaweb.google.com/nigelcaldwell/DundalkVCliftonvilleSetantaCupSemiFinalSecondLeg#)

Dundalk Democrat (Foster audio)

http://blackandwhitetown.tumblr.com/

dublinred
19/04/2011, 2:52 PM
Any travel tips on getting back from tallaght to beside the airport tonight without having to go in and out of city centre was looking at the flybus is that still on the go?

19/04/2011, 3:02 PM
Flybus is still going. Timetable and stops here: http://www.flybus.ie/timetables-page.html

19/04/2011, 3:03 PM
Any travel tips on getting back from tallaght to beside the airport tonight without having to go in and out of city centre was looking at the flybus is that still on the go?

mypost can put you in touch with a guy selling flying carpets and magic beans.

19/04/2011, 5:20 PM
Dunny - sorry to have to tell you this, but I have it on good authority from reliable Rovers sources that the You Tube clip is actually doctored footage

Clearly so. The supposed game took place before Youtube existed, so who knows what happened to the real tape...

19/04/2011, 6:26 PM
Richie Ryan on the bench for Sligo. Guess that means they're not going for it?

maksimir
19/04/2011, 6:43 PM
He probably would'nt have travelled if they were not going for it. Did he not make a few glaring mistakes at the weekend? I seem to remember at least one from the mns footage. Maybe he's been dropped.

Bunny Kelly
19/04/2011, 6:45 PM
Any link to watch this online?

cornflakes
19/04/2011, 6:55 PM
http://www.oleoletv.com/watch/live/stream/online/free/tv/video/channel/feed/link/broadcast/vivo/gratis/p2p/1/april/18/2011/6377-shamrock-rovers-vs-sligo-rovers.html

its not great, if anyone else has a better one

19/04/2011, 7:02 PM
He probably would'nt have travelled if they were not going for it. Did he not make a few glaring mistakes at the weekend? I seem to remember at least one from the mns footage. Maybe he's been dropped.
Maybe. Still their best player though.

I see Nutsy's in the stands (in the home section I think). Guess that means he's staying on at Bohs?

Fester
19/04/2011, 7:22 PM
League: Athlone 1 v 0 Finn Harps '35

19/04/2011, 7:24 PM
I see Nutsy's in the stands (in the home section I think). Guess that means he's staying on at Bohs?

just until they can work out his severance, dont ya know... ;)

Yawn, Nutsy.

harleyleeds
19/04/2011, 8:26 PM
Richie Ryan on the bench for Sligo. Guess that means they're not going for it?

They could be there for a week and would never score. utter rubbish.
Shams not that great could be Dundalks year.

Cuyahoga
19/04/2011, 8:36 PM
Full time shamrock rovers 2 sligo rovers 1 ( 4.1 agg)

1st time post
19/04/2011, 8:45 PM
They could be there for a week and would never score. utter rubbish.
Shams not that great could be Dundalks year.

I actually taught we were a lot better this week, at least this week we looked like creating chances and werent physically bossed as we were last week. Granted we couldnt be a lot worse than last week but taught we did ok. I also disagree bout Shams, they were impressive again tonight. They played really well in the period from bout 5-35 mins and then just saw out the tie professionally and still creating chances. Not sure where that team was on Friday against Bohs when i taught they were woeful but over the 2 setanta matches that was as impressive as ive seen them in the last few years.

19/04/2011, 8:48 PM
Shams not that great.

I see Sligo lost again.

harleyleeds
19/04/2011, 8:53 PM
I see Sligo lost again.

oh to have your vision.

harleyleeds
19/04/2011, 8:56 PM
I actually taught we were a lot better this week, at least this week we looked like creating chances and werent physically bossed as we were last week. Granted we couldnt be a lot worse than last week but taught we did ok. I also disagree bout Shams, they were impressive again tonight. They played really well in the period from bout 5-35 mins and then just saw out the tie professionally and still creating chances. Not sure where that team was on Friday against Bohs when i taught they were woeful but over the 2 setanta matches that was as impressive as ive seen them in the last few years.

Sorry I thought they were crap both games. Yes Shams wanted it and rovers didn't but while I thought they bossed it last week this week there was no opposition midfield.

19/04/2011, 9:08 PM
Thought yous were pretty poor. Error-ridden in defence (as were Rovers in the early stages) and bizarrely reliant on long balls for stretches of the match. I don't regularly agree with Felix Healy but the decision to have 4 men parked up front was just mindboggling and completely ineffective.

1st time post
19/04/2011, 9:26 PM
Thought yous were pretty poor. Error-ridden in defence (as were Rovers in the early stages) and bizarrely reliant on long balls for stretches of the match. I don't regularly agree with Felix Healy but the decision to have 4 men parked up front was just mindboggling and completely ineffective.be

Fair enough, i just taught this week we definitely seen more of the ball but yes the 4 up front tactic was very kamikase and for a while ye were just carving us open for fun. I taught when we scored that maybe for 10 mins we could have just played a regular 4-4-2 and just tried to frustrate ye for a spell and maybe get the crowd on your backs etc... In fairness to Cook if ever we were gonna try this out it may as well be in the 2nd leg of a competition where we are already 2-0 down. I certainly cant see the same set-up when we land next month.

Just to edit Finn is also different class.

born2bwild
19/04/2011, 9:34 PM
be

Fair enough, i just taught this week we definitely seen more of the ball but yes the 4 up front tactic was very kamikase and for a while ye were just carving us open for fun. I taught when we scored that maybe for 10 mins we could have just played a regular 4-4-2 and just tried to frustrate ye for a spell and maybe get the crowd on your backs etc... In fairness to Cook if ever we were gonna try this out it may as well be in the 2nd leg of a competition where we are already 2-0 down. I certainly cant see the same set-up when we land next month.
Four up front doesn't work unless it's something like the classic Brazillian 4-2-4 with seriously hardworking 'points on the diamond' in the middle (one each of the front and back four has to be seriously seriously mobile) but N'do looked so lazy tonight and Ronan Finn and Stephen Rice were in total control. Quite impressed with Shams. Worth the trip over. I was thinking at the end: if only Cook was in charge at Tallaght. I think he'd get more out of that squad than MON.

legendz
19/04/2011, 9:56 PM
It should be a good final. Dundalk are a good team. Where is the final likely to be played?

19/04/2011, 10:07 PM
It should be a good final. Dundalk are a good team. Where is the final likely to be played?

As long as Ian Foster is in charge, Dundalk will be no more than middling. Doesn't matter where the final is, Dundalk can't beat that Shams team. BTW, the final is in Tallaght, so he'll have an excuse.

19/04/2011, 10:14 PM
Nonsense. Anyone can win a football match in this league.

harleyleeds
19/04/2011, 11:13 PM
As long as Ian Foster is in charge, Dundalk will be no more than middling. Doesn't matter where the final is, Dundalk can't beat that Shams team. BTW, the final is in Tallaght, so he'll have an excuse.

Dont know about Dundalk but Sligo Rovers certainly cant. Hope there up for it against Bohs and for the love of god I hope they can start to score goals. I was gutted at this loss and more so at the lack of effort , as if it didnt matter.

Ezeikial
19/04/2011, 11:28 PM
Doesn't matter where the final is, Dundalk can't beat that Shams team. BTW, the final is in Tallaght, so he'll have an excuse.

Seems a very strange statement.

In the opening league game this season most observers acknowledged that Dundalk were the better team when it was 11 v 11 (and probably up to half time). Last season Dundalk won 3 out of 4 league ties including a 5-1 whipping in Oriel Park.

Boots9
19/04/2011, 11:37 PM

Bull****.

1. It's a cup final, anything is possible.
2. Depends which Rovers show up.
3. Dundalk bossed the opening game this season in Tallaght until they had their keeper sent off.

And by the way, they announced at full time the venue is still to be confirmed. Would imagine it will be Tallaght unless Dundalk kick up stink about it not being a neutral venue.

HulaHoop
19/04/2011, 11:45 PM
Doesn't matter where the final is, Dundalk can't beat that Shams team.

Living up to your username I see :rolleyes:

I think the final will be a great game. Dundalk are playing some good stuff and so are we (sometimes). Will be a tight game that could go either way.

20/04/2011, 12:37 AM
Good to see Rovers cross the ball and have the players to finish it in the first half. Finn was outstanding in the first half, great stuff. Oman should've been sent off for handball at 1-1 which might've seen a different game and after Mannus' great save from Greene, Rovers saw it out comfortably enough..

Dundalk with Kearns, Quigley and Byrne will be a danger..

20/04/2011, 1:15 AM
It's a cup final, anything is possible.
2. Depends which Rovers show up.
3. Dundalk bossed the opening game this season in Tallaght until they had their keeper sent off.

And by the way, they announced at full time the venue is still to be confirmed. Would imagine it will be Tallaght unless Dundalk kick up stink about it not being a neutral venue.

It probably will be in Tallaght. Where else could it be played?

It should be pointed out though, that we've already beaten Dundalk home and away this season, and have scored 7 goals in the last two fixtures against them in Tallaght alone. We're well capable of collecting the trophy in what I hope will be the last time the competition will be played.

Last night was our 10th game against Sligo in 13 months, we're now playing Dundalk a minimum 6 times this year. Last night was our 20th first-team game already since pre-season. It's ridiculous.

20/04/2011, 2:34 AM
It should be pointed out though, that we've already beaten Dundalk home and away this season, and have scored 7 goals in the last two fixtures against them in Tallaght alone.

It should also be pointed out that one game was in the Leinster Senior cup, and the other saw Dundalk down to 10 men for 3/4 of the match. Of course you are well capable of collecting the trophy - massive favourites, I truely hope your confidence translates into complacency throughout Shamrock Rovers FC!

As for the end of the competition tbh I'd rather see the end of the LSC and League cup. Increase the size of the league and get rid of 2 of the 4 league games against one another. Replace SSC with corss border League Cup comp or something, but sure that a conversation thats been done to death..

White Horse
20/04/2011, 3:31 AM
It probably will be in Tallaght. Where else could it be played?

Oriel Park.

If it is good enought for the Europa League, it should be good enough for the Setanta Cup.