View Full Version : Setanta Cup 2011
Pages :
[
3]
geezer
03/02/2011, 5:25 PM
Galway perhaps. If they don't go out of business, maybe Bray.
will not be going out of business. i have never seen the GUFC supporters so determined in 34 years to finally run a proper club. The CEO is gone (well 80% anyway) and the Supporters are laying final plans to take over.
Sean Connor the man, He is leading the fightback. Nothing like a bit of competition to stir people. Setanta Cup is ours watch this space
poster
03/02/2011, 8:49 PM
Sean Connor the man, He is leading the fightback.
I was beginning to believe Galway might have a chance this year. Then I read that.
03/02/2011, 9:08 PM
will not be going out of business. i have never seen the GUFC supporters so determined in 34 years to finally run a proper club. The CEO is gone (well 80% anyway) and the Supporters are laying final plans to take over.
Sean Connor the man, He is leading the fightback. Nothing like a bit of competition to stir people. Setanta Cup is ours watch this space
Meh good luck and all that but it doesn't seem so long ago ye were the model club with GUST running things and an example to everyone else. I'm not having a go I'm just bored of the cyclical nature of our clubs. "We're great, everyone should be like us" -> "we're f*cked please help" -> "we've new people in charge, we're now better than ever" blah blah..I'll still be there to "enjoy" it all over again though, sure what else would I be doing?!
Olander
03/02/2011, 9:10 PM
I was beginning to believe Galway might have a chance this year. Then I read that.
Oh god, no, really?
poster
03/02/2011, 9:13 PM
Oh god, no, really?
Ya. I'm tellin' ya!
Olander
03/02/2011, 9:16 PM
Ya. I'm tellin' ya!
Heavens to betsy, how on earth can we ever persevere now that a few slig's are doubting our chances? :(
poster
03/02/2011, 9:24 PM
Do try.
Mr Maroon
03/02/2011, 10:24 PM
Meh good luck and all that but it doesn't seem so long ago ye were the model club with GUST running things and an example to everyone else. I'm not having a go I'm just bored of the cyclical nature of our clubs. "We're great, everyone should be like us" -> "we're f*cked please help" -> "we've new people in charge, we're now better than ever" blah blah..I'll still be there to "enjoy" it all over again though, sure what else would I be doing?!
When were GUST ever running the club?
03/02/2011, 10:33 PM
Well perhaps they weren't running the club I could be wrong on that but were they not doing a lot of the work, running the match days etc? I remember a lot of talk about how smoothly the games were running, every penny was accounted for on numerous spreadsheets etc? Apologies if that was just the club itself but I thought there was Trust involvement. Before Leeson obviously.
Mr Maroon
03/02/2011, 11:05 PM
Well perhaps they weren't running the club I could be wrong on that but were they not doing a lot of the work, running the match days etc? I remember a lot of talk about how smoothly the games were running, every penny was accounted for on numerous spreadsheets etc? Apologies if that was just the club itself but I thought there was Trust involvement. Before Leeson obviously.
The Trust have never been in charge of the club but have always done almost all of the work.
Graemerz
06/02/2011, 5:27 PM
+ 1. One decent stand does not a stadium make (as I know from Dayler). Was at Windsor last year when Bohs played there and the "away" stand was appalling. Fortunately the crowd was so miniscule that the "facilities" were not over tested but nowhere near as good as Turners cross or SDCC Stadium in my opinion.
Although Windsor may not be perfect, its a hell of a lot better than Dalymount.
And the stand youse ones were in is better than anything at Dalymount.
bullit
06/02/2011, 6:26 PM
If the Health & safety crowd up there close anymore seats in Windsor that could well be the stand youse lot will be sitting in next season !!
OneForTheFuture
06/02/2011, 6:26 PM
Graemerz said:
Quote:Although Windsor may not be perfect, its a hell of a lot better than Dalymount.
And the stand youse ones were in is better than anything at Dalymount. End quote.
You forgot to say "So there!" at the end of that post.
marinobohs
08/02/2011, 11:09 AM
Sorry Graemerz i was not having a "pop" at Linfield or Windsor and as I said the Kop stand looked very impressive. unfortunately, like Dalymount you appear to have one decent stand (in our case the Jodi) with poor facilities elsewhere. i was giving my assesment based on the Bohs SETANTA Cup game (as I said) and the stand we were in was infinately inferior to the Jodi stand - although as good if not better than any other part of Dalymount, especially the Connaught Street side where you guys were sent in the first leg (courtesy of An Gardai - for "security reasons") which is awful.
legendz
08/02/2011, 4:38 PM
I like the timing of this competition. The start of the LoI is a bit too far away! Despite the speculation over Boh's, hopefully it'll be a good competition and the new format works.
09/02/2011, 11:21 PM
Is the return leg of Lisburn v UCD due to be played in Dalymount?
10/02/2011, 10:02 AM
Is the return leg of Lisburn v UCD due to be played in Dalymount?
Why would it be?
marinobohs
10/02/2011, 10:17 AM
Why would it be?
Possible requirement for two seperate stands for segregation purposes ? Not sure of requirements and have not heard of Dalymount being used so far.
judging by crowds at last season(s) SETANTA Cup games the Bowl will be well able to facilitate likely numbers
10/02/2011, 11:07 AM
Possible requirement for two seperate stands for segregation purposes ?
Good point. I'm sure they can use Tallaght or Inchicore though (bit closer)
marinobohs
10/02/2011, 11:24 AM
Good point. I'm sure they can use Tallaght or Inchicore though (bit closer)
Not sure Dodge if the "two stands" requirement is a SETANTA rule (think it does apply in Euro games). Yea Richmond or tallaght more likely destinations (if bowl is not viable) and, as I said, have heard nothing of proposal to use Dalyer todate.
10/02/2011, 12:30 PM
You'd hope that - given the crowd will be around 200 - common sense would prevail and we can just taunt each other from the far ends of the main stand.
marinobohs
10/02/2011, 12:37 PM
You'd hope that - given the crowd will be around 200 - common sense would prevail and we can just taunt each other from the far ends of the main stand.
Would make the most sense alright but after yesterdays fun and games in Bath Avenue (and surrounding area) common sense may be decidedly uncommon :rolleyes: unforutnately decisions are ofte made by people without a clue of likely crowd.
marinobohs
11/02/2011, 1:14 PM
according to one of the tabloids today (possibly the Star) UCD / Lisburn game on Monday night is in Dalymount as Belfield is unavailable due to a rugby match. UCD thanked Bohemian FC for their co operation in staging the match :cool: Surely a step too far by the collage for P Stu ? :p
11/02/2011, 1:20 PM
I wonder is the rent for Dalymount pre-paid by Fingal.
marinobohs
11/02/2011, 1:22 PM
Hey Schumi, its not just selling, we also rent it TWO times :cool:
“But we can facilitate the match thanks to the assistance of Bohemian FC who have granted permission for us to fulfil the fixture at Dalymount since the Bowl is required for a College Rugby Club match. It’s heartening to see clubs rallying round for the general good of the domestic game.”
http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/4906/
Pineapple, if i was home id gladly show up for our own version of this...
http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_VKUoAMdYTg0/Sd-chn0w99I/AAAAAAAACgU/-r1zyUcQlvY/s400/bono.jpg
I bagsy being Hume. :)
cornflakes
11/02/2011, 3:09 PM
Are Setanta showing any of the first round games live?
Nothing on their listings
http://www.setanta.com/ie/TV-Listings/
Ezeikial
11/02/2011, 7:42 PM
None of the first round first leg games are live on Setanta. Apparently they will re-consider a broadcast of the Dundalk V Linfield 2nd leg on Feb 28 after the first leg games.
On a related note here is an interesting audio promo for Dundalk FM radio broadcast on the Dundalk website:
http://dundalkfc.com/news/110211_RadioForPeace.asp
AUDIO: SPORTS RADIO FOR PEACE
Dundalk FM accompanied the Dundalk FC supporters who made the recent trip to Linfield to make a special recording. You can listen to a preview of the Sports Radio for Peace programme that will be broadcast at 1.00pm on Saturday 12th February on Dundalk FM and on the internet stream www.dundalkfm.com. PODCAST>> (http://dundalkfc.com/news/110211_RadioForPeace.asp)
11/02/2011, 8:09 PM
Will Dundalk FM be covering the 1st leg in Windsor?
If there's one thing I've missed in the off-season it's Larry and Gerry's commentary :).
bullit
11/02/2011, 8:18 PM
If there's one thing I've missed in the off-season it's Larry and Gerry's commentary :).
I would be 99% certain that they will be SM.
Betting on Mondays games
Linfield 4/5 Draw 9/4 DundalkFC 3/1
UCD 10/11 Draw 9/4 Lisburn Distillery 5/2
http://www.paddypower.com/football/football-matches/whopper-soccer-coupon
The Lep
11/02/2011, 8:32 PM
Bohs would be foolish not to charge Hogwarts for the game regardless of what money Fingal gave them.
5/2 for Distillery is a good price.
11/02/2011, 8:41 PM
UCD 10/11 Draw 9/4 Lisburn Distillery 5/2
Very optimistic odds on us. Do Paddy Power know we don't still have last year's squad.
bullit
11/02/2011, 8:55 PM
Very optimistic odds on us. Do Paddy Power know we don't still have last year's squad.
Seems like Boylesports do,they bet
UCD 5/4 Draw 9/4 Lisburn Distillery 7/4
Linfield 4/5 Draw 9/4 DundalkFC 3/1
Lisburn look a great bet with PP :cool:
http://www.boylesports.com/Areas/SportsHome/template_1_UK/index.html?navigationtypes=HOME#navigationtypes=FO OTBALL&bo-navigation=top,23.1,284.1,502.1
Graemerz
12/02/2011, 12:59 PM
Lisburn Distillery have about 70 odd fans at home games.
Rasputin
12/02/2011, 3:47 PM
Lisburn Distillery have about 70 odd fans at home games.
But do they have a fan who drinks Pineapple based beverages at games?
poster
12/02/2011, 8:23 PM
we can just taunt each other from the far ends of the main stand.
Or maybe nose someone PS?
bullit
12/02/2011, 8:32 PM
Just seen this on our forum
Dundalk FM will broadcast live for the Setanta Cup first leg match in Windsor Park on Monday 14th February.
This will be the link
http://www.dundalkfm.com/
13/02/2011, 6:36 PM
Bohs vs. Portadown has been postponed.
http://twitter.com/#!/Portadownfc
pauliek
13/02/2011, 7:20 PM
Dundalk putting out a full team? 3/1 looks great to me
Bohs vs. Portadown has been postponed.
http://twitter.com/#!/Portadownfc
Apparently the IFA have scheduled a Cup replay for tah night, hence the postponement
Yeah the boys are great, pure comedy entertainment, funniest one for me last year, and I only hear the first 5 mins as I`m at most of the home games. Think v Galway in Sept, 'ok we`ve to start this weeks show with an apology, after taking legal advise, we`d like to apologise to Ian Foster for comments we made last week.............now thats all cleared up, welcome to oriel park everyone for tonights game'..................classic
Looking forward to the trip to Belfast tomorrrow, think we have 7 or 8 coaches going, and more based in Belfast, should be a good night.
Pauliek : Yes we`ll have a full strenght team with the exception of Shaun Maher (signing not complete pending medical) & Stephen Maher (not fit) prob line up like this
Cherrie
Madden - Bennett - Hawkins - Murphy (Nathan)
Kearns - Bolger - Keith Ward - Gaynor
Jason Byrne & Mark Quigley
13/02/2011, 7:24 PM
Against H&W Welders. Brought about because Portadown equalised in the last minute. The Nordy Cup is great. (Linfield drew with Dunmurry Rec as well).
Really looking forward to tomorrow night now. Just a shame we're not playing in our own home. Genuinely no idea how we'll fare.
pauliek
13/02/2011, 7:42 PM
Cherrie
Madden - Bennett - Hawkins - Murphy (Nathan)
Kearns - Bolger - Keith Ward - Gaynor
Jason Byrne & Mark Quigley
Oh Jesus, thats some team with 3/1 odds. Scary stuff now, decide how big to go
Ezeikial
13/02/2011, 8:15 PM
Dundalk putting out a full team? 3/1 looks great to me
3/1 seems attractive, as does 9/4 the draw.
If anything I would expect the price to fall, The availability of Hawkins in particular and Greg Bolger should see some new money going down on Dundalk. Up to the weekend there was a lot of nervousness with no recognised centre half available and injury doubts about Osbourne who was earmarked to play there.
Although Linfield had a fine 4-0 win against Dungannon Swifts a week ago that was sandwiched between two poor home draws - 0-0 against Ballymens and last Saturday a 1-1 against junior side Dunmurry Rec.
I went for the draw. Linfield have a good record in this at home but I think Dundalk are strong enough for the draw at least.
eL Bettor
14/02/2011, 10:21 AM
Lisburn to win or draw versus UCD looks great value to me.
14/02/2011, 11:30 AM
Lisburn to win or draw versus UCD looks great value to me.
Hard to know. Depends on whether Distillery field their strongest side. No pressure on UCD.
14/02/2011, 11:37 AM
Depends on a fair few things. Our pre-season's gone quite well - decent wins over Longford and Monaghan, and the college football means we'd arguably be in better pre-season shape than most teams. Glenn Ferguson played the whole 90 minutes (http://blue.srv2.com/~lisburn/Lisburn%20Distillery%20Fixtures%20+%20Results%20.h tml#Cupr6) for Distillery on Saturday; hard to know if he can manage another 90 today at his age; would be a big boost for us if he was on the bench. We'll have a full team out anyway bar a couple of injuries - it's basically another friendly for us. Distillery's Cup replay against Ballinamallard means they're up to ten games in Feb alone.
KUFCMan
14/02/2011, 12:39 PM
What will your team be like Stu,can u give us your probable starting 11 please
Im thinking of backing yous at 5-4
14/02/2011, 12:55 PM
We've only played two friendlies - with some line-up changes - and there a fair few inexperienced lads, but it'll probably be something like -
Barron
Harding
Nangle
Leahy
Boyle
Corry
Creevy
Marshall
O'Conor
Rusk
Meenan