View Full Version : Roy Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

DeLorean
06/10/2009, 12:48 PM
I should really read some more. Twas mainly the conclusions I looked at.

06/10/2009, 1:17 PM
There are a couple of time he glosses over an event and reads something more into it than was there, as part of the case against Roy.
Like when the squad, Connolly in particular, decided to put an end to it and get focussed on the job in hand.

The only way to have gotten Keane on a world cup pitch, would have been to continue to treat him differently from the others and fly him out on private jet some 3 or 4 days before the first game.

06/10/2009, 1:22 PM
It's a little bit more than that because he seems to have problems with some people from Cork also because they're not from the right part of the city. He is always quick to point out that Denis Irwin was from the 'wrong' side of Cork and that Stephen Ireland is not from Cork - 'he's from Cobh'.I think the "other" side of the City thing is primarily for us Corkonians, merely banter.
When it comes down to it a Corkonian is a Corkonian, unlike the lad Ireland who is from Cobh.

06/10/2009, 1:34 PM
To us on the outside, the line between a Cobh thing and a Cork thing is very thin.

06/10/2009, 1:50 PM
To us on the outside, the line between a Cobh thing and a Cork thing is very thin.I couldn't even begin to explain the difference only to say its vast.

SunnySweeney
06/10/2009, 2:24 PM
I couldn't even begin to explain the difference only to say its vast.

I disagree - Cork and Cobh are really one and the same.

I think you are being parochial in the extreme. Maybe you should get out more !

07/10/2009, 10:24 AM
Cork and Cobh are really one and the same. I disagree strongly.

Maybe you should get out more !I'd love to get out more but with 2 young kids it ain't that easy.

Soccer Mom
07/10/2009, 1:29 PM
There are a couple of time he glosses over an event and reads something more into it than was there, as part of the case against Roy.
Like when the squad, Connolly in particular, decided to put an end to it and get focussed on the job in hand.

The only way to have gotten Keane on a world cup pitch, would have been to continue to treat him differently from the others and fly him out on private jet some 3 or 4 days before the first game.

That was where McCarthy got it wrong - bringing Keane to Saipan in the first place. Then again why did Roy go? He knew he couldn't stand McCarthy.

The clincher for me is that the Saipan Incident says that if Keane really wanted to play for his country all he had to to was ring McCarthy and say that he wanted back in. No public or grovelling apology was needed. McCarthy had been backed into a corner by Niall Quinn, the FAI, the media, and public opinion. Keane never made the call even though his agent was sure that he would right up to the last minute.

The Legend
07/10/2009, 4:20 PM
All in the past, and for the record... Cobh is still in Co. Cork lads, but not Cork City... if that helps ye! ha!

rebelmusic
08/10/2009, 7:54 AM
Cobh is like a different country. I wouldnt say it's even remotely like cork

Ozymandias
08/10/2009, 9:07 AM

is the correct answer

Soccer Mom
08/10/2009, 9:28 AM

Maybe Stephen Ireland has declared for that country - Cobh ;)

ofjames
20/10/2009, 9:20 PM
another last minute goal conceded tonight to prevent ipswich recording that first win of the season

keano's having rotten luck

GypsyBlackCat
21/10/2009, 8:38 AM
another last minute goal conceded tonight to prevent ipswich recording that first win of the season

keano's having rotten luck

He's not unlucky, just a bad manager. The team he has is good enough to be challegning for the play-offs at least. He spent close to £10m in the summer which is a lot of money. Thats more money than Preston, Blackpool even Newcastle and WBA. He has no man-management skills or knowledge of tactics. Keane has been found out. To most he was found last season at Sunderland. He got lucky at the SoL. Managers have gone for less.

No wins in 14 game in all comps is not unlucky but time to sack the manager before its to late.

brine3
21/10/2009, 10:00 AM
That was where McCarthy got it wrong - bringing Keane to Saipan in the first place. Then again why did Roy go? He knew he couldn't stand McCarthy.

The clincher for me is that the Saipan Incident says that if Keane really wanted to play for his country all he had to to was ring McCarthy and say that he wanted back in. No public or grovelling apology was needed. McCarthy had been backed into a corner by Niall Quinn, the FAI, the media, and public opinion. Keane never made the call even though his agent was sure that he would right up to the last minute.

Jesus, all Mick McCarthy had to do was go somewhere with football training facilities and not have a stupid clear the air meeting... basic preparation and man management.

seanfhear
21/10/2009, 10:15 AM
This management lark is not as easy as some people (Roy !) think !

Drumcondra 69er
21/10/2009, 10:34 AM
Jesus, all Mick McCarthy had to do was go somewhere with football training facilities and not have a stupid clear the air meeting... basic preparation and man management.

How many times does it have to be said that Saipan was not a training facility but a rest and recreation stop over. Trust me, RK would have found some way to get out of that World Cup regardless of any 'clear the air meeting', he didn't want to be there and had been trying to leave from the moment he arrived, nothing would've been good enough for him, he was in a sulk because Man U had won nothing that season and his head was wrecked over it.

As for his future at Ipswich, 14 games with no win tells a story, conceeding late on once can be put down to bad luck, doing it regularly (as we've done in the past) comes down to more then luck.

ofjames
21/10/2009, 10:38 AM
He's not unlucky, just a bad manager. The team he has is good enough to be challegning for the play-offs at least. He spent close to £10m in the summer which is a lot of money. Thats more money than Preston, Blackpool even Newcastle and WBA. He has no man-management skills or knowledge of tactics. Keane has been found out. To most he was found last season at Sunderland. He got lucky at the SoL. Managers have gone for less.

No wins in 14 game in all comps is not unlucky but time to sack the manager before its to late.

good manager or bad manager, that has little or nothing to do with conceding 4 or 5 last minute goals in the last month or so. Thats just bad luck. It's not his lack of man management skills that caused richard wright to drop the ball in his net in the last minute or defenders to do daft things, or shots to hit the bar.

If not for the last minute goals they wouldnt be too far from the playoffs. watford manager admitted last night that his side didnt deserve anything from the game.

I'll take your point regarding blackpool and preston but the newcastle and west brom comparison is nonsense. for relegated clubs, both (especially west brom) have pretty much managed to retain their premiership squads from last season. they didnt need to spend a penny to be the best in the league

21/10/2009, 10:46 AM
How many times does it have to be said that Saipan was not a training facility but a rest and recreation stop over. Trust me, RK would have found some way to get out of that World Cup regardless of any 'clear the air meeting', he didn't want to be there and had been trying to leave from the moment he arrived, nothing would've been good enough for him, he was in a sulk because Man U had won nothing that season and his head was wrecked over it.

:rolleyes: Might be a good idea to train and sort out set pieces before something like a world cup, dont you think!!!!!

Drumcondra 69er
21/10/2009, 11:17 AM
:rolleyes: Might be a good idea to train and sort out set pieces before something like a world cup, dont you think!!!!!

They went onto a state of the art facility in Japan for their preparatory training beforehand you utter moron.

Emmet7
21/10/2009, 11:28 AM

I'm no great fan of Roy Keane but I think it's bizarre that a Sunderland fan is complaining about Roy Keane.

If it wasn't for Keane Sunderland without a shadow of a doubt would still be in the Championship and given the state it was in when he took over, Sunderland would more likely be in League One as that was their standard when he took over.

Sunderland fans should go down on their knees and worship the ground Keane walks on every day of the week. There are supporters of teams in the Championship and League One such as Leeds who would give their right arm for what Keane done for Sunderland.

As for Ipswich, they don't seem to have great players and it's hard to do anything with players of limited ability. You cannot turn them into world beaters overnight.

I think though Keane is making an impression at Ipswich and slowly stopping the rot. He deserves time to turn Ipswich into a team who can challenge for promotion.

21/10/2009, 11:43 AM
Jesus does a lot of weeping on this thread.

seanfhear
21/10/2009, 1:08 PM
Keane inherited an average Ipswich team, spent a fair amount of dough for the championship and signed some players for free and so far turned them into a very bad team.

If he gets another 5 games with similiar results then Ipswich will have shown great patience with him but he will have to jump or be pushed.

I would like any Irishman to be sucessful as a manager but apart from his first season at Sunderland Keanes record is no great shakes.

Emmet7
21/10/2009, 1:22 PM
He kept Sunderland up the second season which is in itself a major achievement.

I have no time for fly by night fans and Chairmen who want to dump the manager as soon as the team hit a bad patch.

Similiar idiots were calling for Alex Ferguson's head 20 years ago and now they are the same bandwagoners who have to be at every Champions League final Utd are at.

No time for fickle fans at all.

Duggie
21/10/2009, 1:25 PM
i think keane will be ok at ipswich. a few wins and they can climb the table fairly quickly. just to get that first win would be huge. playoff's is still a possibilty if they can just put a run together. but the championship has a lot of good teams in it this year and it will be tough.

seanfhear
21/10/2009, 1:29 PM
Historically Ipswich are very patient with managers but they have a new owner and we will see how it goes.

He would be already sacked at a lot of clubs.

Morbo
21/10/2009, 8:03 PM
Trigger, get your walking boots on.

Serb
21/10/2009, 10:32 PM
He would be already sacked at a lot of clubs.

Agreed, and Gareth Southgate is walking proof of that. That's a tough one to understand actually, sticking with Southgate even through relegation from the Premier League, then sacking him when they are 4th in the Championship have just overturned a run of 3 home defeats.

Emmet7
22/10/2009, 1:35 AM
Agreed, and Gareth Southgate is walking proof of that. That's a tough one to understand actually, sticking with Southgate even through relegation from the Premier League, then sacking him when they are 4th in the Championship have just overturned a run of 3 home defeats.

It was a decision based largely on financial reasons I would say. Boro had a record low attendance at their last home game before his sacking. Fans were beginning to desert the club in droves.

They still have a high wage bill and unless they are certain or promotion it's hard to pay that bill.

Keane on the other hand I'm sure gaurantees large attendences and is box office. Large attendences give you financial muscle.

Those in charge of Ipswich are probably assessing the situation week by week.

Colbert Report
22/10/2009, 3:51 AM
Keane is going nowhere. It's a matter of time before he wins his first league match with Ipswich. He would have been long gone already if the new owner didn't love him.

22/10/2009, 8:07 AM
They went onto a state of the art facility in Japan for their preparatory training beforehand you utter moron.

Thanks, very constructive argument there:rolleyes:
They went there because ray tracey got it on the cheap, and the FAI had a nice junket
Go to a place with a football team where there are no football pitches before a world cup - yeah your right its clever:rolleyes:

dr_peepee
22/10/2009, 8:58 AM

But with the lowest attendance ever at the riverside....

Drumcondra 69er
22/10/2009, 9:11 AM
Thanks, very constructive argument there:rolleyes:
They went there because ray tracey got it on the cheap, and the FAI had a nice junket
Go to a place with a football team where there are no football pitches before a world cup - yeah your right its clever:rolleyes:

You clearly haven't got a clue what you're on about and have swallowed the RK hype about Saipan so I'll leave you and your rolling eyes there.

Lenny82
22/10/2009, 9:22 AM
He's drawn 5 of his last 7 games and one of those defeats was to Newcastle, the other was to a Barnsley winner 6 minutes into injury time. They were 3-2 up at Doncaster when Quinton Fortune scored a very rare goal with 5 minutes remaining, 3-1 up at Sheff Utd until they got an equaliser in injury time, and then they conceded an injury time equaliser against Watford on Tuesday.

If football was 80 minutes long he'd be up at the playoff places!!;)

As a player at Manchester United, he and the players around him worked their socks off for the 90 minutes plus 7 or 8 minutes injury time and were renowned for getting late goals. His luck has just turned as a manager but I've no doubt he will turn things around.

Too many draws and too many goals conceded late. They've only lost 2 games more than Middlesborough. I hope he gets his team in order cause I always liked Ipswich and they always gave Irish lads a chance.

irishfan86
22/10/2009, 10:17 AM
I hope he gets his team in order cause I always liked Ipswich and they always gave Irish lads a chance.

Would you mind telling Roy to give Garvan a chance?

22/10/2009, 10:21 AM
I hope he gets his team in order cause I always liked Ipswich and they always gave Irish lads a chance.
Sold Billy Clarke
Dropped Owen Garvan
Shane Supple left football completely (not necessarily Keane's fault, but happened during his stewardship)

Deckydee
22/10/2009, 10:33 AM
Ipswich have collapsed under Keane

22/10/2009, 11:06 AM
One of the reasons for the poor results has been the form of their keeper, Richard Wright who was dropped for the last game. Pity Shane Supple didn't stick around.

seanfhear
22/10/2009, 11:19 AM
Keane is going nowhere. It's a matter of time before he wins his first league match with Ipswich. He would have been long gone already if the new owner didn't love him.
If he does not get some wins he will be going somewhere. No club not even Ipswich will keep a manager with these results. Ipswich fans will not keep turning up and as Gareth Southagate has found out "thats curtains"

Fans may start asserting their will in this manner more now that they know its a good way to oust a manager.

Hopefully he will prove his doubters (me and many others) wrong and make himself a success as a manager. Ipswich are definitely giving him a good go at it.

Duggie
22/10/2009, 11:32 AM
If he does not get some wins he will be going somewhere. No club not even Ipswich will keep a manager with these results. Ipswich fans will not keep turning up and as Gareth Southagate has found out "thats curtains"

Fans may start asserting their will in this manner more now that they know its a good way to oust a manager.

Hopefully he will prove his doubters (me and many others) wrong and make himself a success as a manager. Ipswich are definitely giving him a good go at it.

im not a doubter but i do hope he gets that win this weekend. a couple of wins can shoot them up the table and take a bit of the pressure of. then maybe he can add to the squad in jan(and get rid of a few). come on roy!!

Colbert Report
22/10/2009, 11:38 AM

The new Ipswich owner is an arms dealer billionaire. I don't think he's worried about a few thousand supporters staying away from a handful of matches.

Lenny82
22/10/2009, 11:45 AM
Sold Billy Clarke
Dropped Owen Garvan
Shane Supple left football completely (not necessarily Keane's fault, but happened during his stewardship)

You can't blame Keane for Shane Supple packing it in.
Owen Garvan being dropped is a big surprise alright. I'll give you that.
Billy Clarke wasn't sold, he was released after spending about 3 years going out on loan all the time. Was hardly an established world beater in the Ipswich team.
I wasn't talking about Keane as such giving Irish lads a chance (although he has done), I was talking about Ipswich in general.

Morbo
22/10/2009, 12:49 PM
You can't blame Keane for Shane Supple packing it in.
He didn't blame Keane to be fair, he used the qualifier 'not necessarily Keane's fault'. I personally think it was probably more than just a coincidence that he happened to retire under his management and I wouldn't be at all surprised if Keane was a factor in his retirement.

SunnySweeney
22/10/2009, 2:07 PM
He's drawn 5 of his last 7 games and one of those defeats was to Newcastle, the other was to a Barnsley winner 6 minutes into injury time. They were 3-2 up at Doncaster when Quinton Fortune scored a very rare goal with 5 minutes remaining, 3-1 up at Sheff Utd until they got an equaliser in injury time, and then they conceded an injury time equaliser against Watford on Tuesday.

If football was 80 minutes long he'd be up at the playoff places!!;)

As a player at Manchester United, he and the players around him worked their socks off for the 90 minutes plus 7 or 8 minutes injury time and were renowned for getting late goals. His luck has just turned as a manager but I've no doubt he will turn things around.

Too many draws and too many goals conceded late. They've only lost 2 games more than Middlesborough. I hope he gets his team in order cause I always liked Ipswich and they always gave Irish lads a chance.

I agree with all of this - they have lost less games than the 5 or 6 teams above them in the table.

The fans at Ipswich seem to be really getting behind the team and manager now - they gave the team a standing ovation at the end of their last game (Watford) and were chanting Keane's name through out the game as well.

If this was the stock market, I'd say that ITFC is an undervalued stock and a screaming good buy !!!

I hope RMK is successful at Ipswich - for me at least, keeping track of it is certainly a nice mindless distraction

Emmet7
22/10/2009, 10:53 PM
I have never been a big Keane fan but I respect him on football and his knowledge. Getting Sunderland from bottom of the table to top of the Championship, well has any other manager every done that, and I don't mean after the first round of games but after 6 rounds of games. It was a great achievement.

Likewise at Ipswich you have people writing Keane off. But if Ipswich jump up the table and are in contention for the Premiership, some of the people writing him off will be wearing Ipswich jerseys and telling everyone how they always believed in Keane, just as with Sunderland. When they hit a bad patch the same fans will be writing him off again and calling for his head.

brine3
22/10/2009, 11:01 PM

They should have been there earlier. They could have done plenty of R 'n' R in Japan along with football training at world class facilities. There's some great hot springs in Japan for relaxing in.

I disagree with flying to Japan, and then flying another 10 hours halfway across the Pacific to laze about in a hotel for a week, just cause Mick's friend said it was a nice place.

The German team would never do something like that. Maybe that's why they keep getting so far with mostly average players.

Roy Keane was an obsessive professional, this is why he became such a world class player, even though he was still playing for Cobh Ramblers aged 19. He worked his arse off to get where he did. And then he is at the World Cup, a seriously weak World Cup I might add, and the Irish team's main form of preparation involves a week of golf in a resort. Of course he went mental...

23/10/2009, 7:54 AM
You clearly haven't got a clue what you're on about and have swallowed the RK hype about Saipan so I'll leave you and your rolling eyes there.

Me! Your the guy who thinks its a good plan to start a world cup with a rest:eek:

Drumcondra 69er
23/10/2009, 12:01 PM
Me! Your the guy who thinks its a good plan to start a world cup with a rest:eek:

I'd say that's the norm rather then running the players into the ground at the end of a long season. Light training, team bonding and then down to serious business in Japan for the week before the first game.

All getting very groundhog day here mind.....

23/10/2009, 12:22 PM
I'd say that's the norm rather then running the players into the ground at the end of a long season. Light training, team bonding and then down to serious business in Japan for the week before the first game.
About the same as Brazil's preparations.

23/10/2009, 1:13 PM
I agree with all of this - they have lost less games than the 5 or 6 teams above them in the table.

That's a good point actually. They're dropped points late in a few games that'd have them higher than they are.

James Lawton wrote a good piece on Keane in today's Indo.