View Full Version : Roy Keane
The Fly
15/05/2011, 12:07 AM
Never liked Chicago but I can understand people who do. Eskimos? Silly argument anyway, they call themselves "The Second City." Who calls themselves that? Its the Brussels of the US.
Surely Washington is the Brussels of the US?
My point is I don't think many "Irish-Americans" portend to be as Irish as people born and raised in Ireland.
For the ones that do.....how, and when, does their prediction become realised?
I enjoy watching the Irish team and will continue to do so and if Admin wanted to ban me due to the Xenophobia that is perpetrated by some of the slower readers on here, he would have done so many posts ago.
Why would that fella Admin ban you for the supposed xenophobia of others?
I have a good auld Irish last name. Im proud of it.
Auld is a Scottish word.
Crosby87
15/05/2011, 12:19 AM
Shouldn't you stay in the (Dont quote vids) section Fly? WTF is that? And who is staying on top of you these days? :bulgy:
Fly is also known on the other website, YBIG. Often in a not so good way.
Crosby87
15/05/2011, 12:46 AM
Sku, if the Canucks make it, may they open the finals to something like this, which was incredible.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3OhK1EGRZIc
The Fly
15/05/2011, 12:48 AM
Shouldn't you stay in the (Dont quote vids) section Fly? WTF is that?
I just decided to get off the wall and reply to your strange, and somewhat incoherent, post.
And who is staying on top of you these days? http://foot.ie/threads/116551-Roy-Keane-It-s-Saipan-all-over-again-wahey/images/smilies-void/bulgy.png
Fly is also known on the other website, YBIG. Often in a not so good way.
That's a different fly.
Crosby87
15/05/2011, 1:05 AM
That's a different fly.
Mom's basement?
Im all around..Im the Fly...Im....Stop. If you are 16 fine. But why the BS? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GI6CfKcMhjY
Last chance.
The Fly
15/05/2011, 1:21 AM
I vote for Chicago as well.
Sku, if the Canucks make it, may they open the finals to something like this, which was incredible.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3OhK1EGRZIc
im still ****ed with the canucks for knocking the hawks out but that clip is quite awesome. I actually remember it - Alanis had them eating out of the palm of her hand though.
theworm2345
15/05/2011, 6:40 AM
Never liked Chicago but I can understand people who do. Eskimos? Silly argument anyway, they call themselves "The Second City." Who calls themselves that? Its the Brussels of the US.
Second to whom? Most think Vegas and LA are better so wouldn't that make it "The Fourth City?" (At least)? I know a lot of people, including Grant Achatz, rate San Fran better on food alone.
Surprise, surprise, it was a loud, obnoxious (I should've included arrogant in there too) New Yorker who gave us that name. Yet people here aren't so pretentious as to be bothered by names like this or the originally derisive name of the Windy City.
Next time we have the misfortune of having you in town I hope you come spouting off more of your **** (you can wear green so you can feel Irish and show off how much more "intuned" you are if you want so everyone will know) and I'll be happy to show you why we've also been described as "stormy, husky, brawling City of the Big Shoulders"
gastric
15/05/2011, 10:44 AM
It's the American Civil War. I never realised Roy had started that too.
How does one know though really how a particular player might feel at any point in their life unless the player concerned actually comes out and says something on the matter? As has been mentioned earlier, it's very possible that a sense of Irishness can develop as a second or third-generation individual matures and seeks to learn more about their heritage. Maybe their parents didn't instil a sense of pride in heritage from a young age, but should they necessarily be chastised for this if willing to investigate? And what about Barry Maguire, for example?
And it just happens to develop when the realisation that they won't get capped by England and Scotland sinks in? Give me a feckin break...
15/05/2011, 12:09 PM
Yep, McGeady & McCarthy realised they'd never get capped by Scotland when they were teenagers.
15/05/2011, 1:00 PM
Clark was capped for England, had prospects of more and it didn't make a blind bit of difference to his preference.
Yep, McGeady & McCarthy realised they'd never get capped by Scotland when they were teenagers.
In fairness, they were exactly the kind of cases I had in mind... :rolleyes:
DannyInvincible
16/05/2011, 1:21 PM
In fairness, they were exactly the kind of cases I had in mind... :rolleyes:
Who do you have in mind exactly?
Pennant is the obvious current example, but it was sickening to see Ireland supporters fawning over Kevin Nolan a couple of years ago too (as he came without the pennant style baggage, it didn't seem to be a problem). You know your nationality and/or the importance of your heritage at least before you're 20. No one could doubt the likes of Kilbane, but they suffer both in terms of getting in the team, as well as by association, with the acceptance of careerist players who decide late to declare for "the republic".
SwanVsDalton
16/05/2011, 1:58 PM
Pennant is the obvious current example, but it was sickening to see Ireland supporters fawning over Kevin Nolan a couple of years ago too (as he came without the pennant style baggage, it didn't seem to be a problem). You know your nationality and/or the importance of your heritage at least before you're 20. No one could doubt the likes of Kilbane, but they suffer both in terms of getting in the team, as well as by association, with the acceptance of careerist players who decide late to declare for "the republic".
Surely these guys - who have yet to come near a cap - are the exception rather than the rule. When Keane, and to a certain extent yourself, make comments about careerists it suggests some kind of endemic problem in the Ireland team, like the squad is full of multi-national mercenaries. Which is quite unfair to suggest since the majority of non-Ireland born in the squad have been very proactive (McCarthy, McGeady, Clark, Kilbane etc).
DannyInvincible
16/05/2011, 2:59 PM
Neither Pennant or Nolan are Irish players, and if Pennant is to be believed, there's been no contact of which he knows from the FAI, so it's not as if we're tripping over ourselves to get these types involved. The general reaction on the forum to Pennant's original declaration of "interest" was a rather unenthusiastic one.
Why the specific mention of Scottish-born players earlier? Have we had any Scottish-born players in recent years whose decision to play for us could be even remotely suspected of being close to the mercenary or careerist category?
16/05/2011, 9:22 PM
I don't recall any "fawning", the reaction at the time was "if he does qualify, he could be what we need in midfield"
16/05/2011, 10:15 PM
im still ****ed with the canucks for knocking the hawks out but that clip is quite awesome. I actually remember it - Alanis had them eating out of the palm of her hand though.
Can we take this talk to the appropriate forum (http://foot.ie/threads/142200-Ice-Hockey-NHL-Road-to-Stanley-Cup-2011).
It's lonely and there's wolves... well Sharks after me.
I don't recall any "fawning", the reaction at the time was "if he does qualify, he could be what we need in midfield"
When it should've to tell him to stick it.
Why the specific mention of Scottish-born players earlier? Have we had any Scottish-born players in recent years whose decision to play for us could be even remotely suspected of being close to the mercenary or careerist category?
I wasn't trying to make it specifically about either English or Scottish born players tbh, same criteria (if there was to be one) should apply to both.
17/05/2011, 11:40 AM
When it should've to tell him to stick it.
I wasn't trying to make it specifically about either English or Scottish born players tbh, same criteria (if there was to be one) should apply to both.
There is a criteria - the Stutts' gut test.
ArdeeBhoy
18/05/2011, 1:12 AM
Except if they're eligible why not pick them? They can always say 'No', which in the vast majority of cases turns out to be 'more fool, them'.
DannyInvincible
28/05/2011, 6:07 PM
Roy Keane doing punditry for ITV's Champions League final coverage this evening. Is this his first job as pundit?
Sullivinho
28/05/2011, 6:34 PM
Roy Keane doing punditry for ITV's Champions League final coverage this evening. Is this his first job as pundit?
RTE commentary and ITV punditry it is for me then 'cos this...I have to see.
28/05/2011, 7:32 PM
First I can recall anyway.
Be interesting to see what he has to say, some controversial shyte no doubt :p
Noelys Guitar
28/05/2011, 8:46 PM
Any interesting comments from Roy on the Barcelona romp?
Sullivinho
28/05/2011, 9:06 PM
Fairly good-humored and insightful tonight is Roy, I can see a future for him in this punditry lark. He can reach some pitch on that Cork accent at times, fair play to him. We county lads can only aspire to those heights.
Doesn't seem to have fallen out with anyone else in the studio either but I s'pose 2 hours or so is a meager enough incubation period for simmering tensions..
28/05/2011, 9:36 PM
Any interesting comments from Roy on the Barcelona romp?
He said Barca were a load of shyte who didn't know how to kick a football :p
28/05/2011, 11:42 PM
I watched the whole lot on RTÉ. Bawlls! I clearly missed out. And sterilized Souness was over on Sky... one day we'll have the dream dream team...
DannyInvincible
29/05/2011, 12:25 AM
He didn't really say anything contentious, but what could any pundit do other than admire the executors of such a one-sided masterclass? He did pass a comment about how it shocked him that the Barca players even seemed to like their manager, probably a subtle reference to the often-tense relationships he's shared with his managers and later players down through the years, but I took it to be mostly in jest.
Drumcondra 69er
29/05/2011, 12:36 PM
Fairly good-humored and insightful tonight is Roy, I can see a future for him in this punditry lark. He can reach some pitch on that Cork accent at times, fair play to him. We county lads can only aspire to those heights.
Doesn't seem to have fallen out with anyone else in the studio either but I s'pose 2 hours or so is a meager enough incubation period for simmering tensions..
Dyed hair, clean shaven and uttering banalities on ITV???? Must have been an imposter, anyone see Mario Rosenstock anywhere??? :)
05/06/2011, 7:27 AM
Damien Delaney tells a court that Keane was an "unreasonable boss". (http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Roy-Keane-blamed-by-Ipswich-Town-ace-Damien-Delaney-for-speeding-fine-article744461.html)
Surely no judge could find him guilty? :)
DannyInvincible
05/06/2011, 11:44 AM
Delaney trying to shirk responsibility here. In fairness, players turning up late for training isn't on, just as turning up late for any job isn't on. If Delaney had wanted to make it to training in time and spare himself the inevitable wrath of Roy Keane, couldn't he have made it his business to leave a little earlier? You can't blame your boss for you being late in the first place.
EastTerracer
05/06/2011, 2:53 PM
Delaney trying to shirk responsibility here. In fairness, players turning up late for training isn't on, just as turning up late for any job isn't on. If Delaney had wanted to make it to training in time and spare himself the inevitable wrath of Roy Keane, couldn't he have made it his business to leave a little earlier? You can't blame your boss for you being late in the first place.
Ordinarily I think I'd agree with you but, ordinarily, being late for work would just result in a bollicking from your boss or a nasty comment in your annual review. Delaney's concern seemed to be that he would be fined 2-weeks wages if he was late. I think that sort of action by your boss would be deemed unreasonable by most people.
theworm2345
05/06/2011, 3:00 PM
Thousands of pounds for doing 44 in a 30 mph zone? **** what would I get for doing 90 in a 45 mph zone (Lake Shore Drive) :shock:
05/06/2011, 3:02 PM
Thousands of pounds for doing 44 in a 30 mph zone? **** what would I get for doing 90 in a 45 mph zone (Lake Shore Drive) :shock:the chair
05/06/2011, 3:32 PM
Ordinarily I think I'd agree with you but, ordinarily, being late for work would just result in a bollicking from your boss or a nasty comment in your annual review. Delaney's concern seemed to be that he would be fined 2-weeks wages if he was late. I think that sort of action by your boss would be deemed unreasonable by most people.
I think Stutts was referring to the chances of the defense excuse for speeding, finding a sympathetic ear from a football knowledgeable magistrate.
Does fear of a dressing down from Roy Keane not qualify as "special circumstance" to the same extent as Beckham's fear for life when he claimed that he was being followed by a man with a camera.
I think Roy will be disappointed at the lack of legal consideration given to the fear of his withering stare, that it does not carry the same legal weight of "special circumstance" as a paparazzi on the prowl.
Roy should appeal.
Thousands of pounds for doing 44 in a 30 mph zone? **** what would I get for doing 90 in a 45 mph zone (Lake Shore Drive) :shock:
nothing better than cruising down Lake Shore Drive on a summers day driving a car with a Saskatchewan reg. :)
Fergie's Son
06/06/2011, 12:22 AM
$90 fine and probation for two years. Another offense within this time and your fine is doubled. A third and your license is taken away.
They typically wait just after Belmont going south and before North and LaSalle going north.
Stunning day in Chicago today (weather has been amazing for two weeks now). Took the boat out and then crusied LSD on the way home. No better place than Chicago in the summer.
06/06/2011, 1:12 AM
Don't do drugs son.
theworm2345
06/06/2011, 4:12 AM
$90 fine and probation for two years. Another offense within this time and your fine is doubled. A third and your license is taken away.
They typically wait just after Belmont going south and before North and LaSalle going north.
Stunning day in Chicago today (weather has been amazing for two weeks now). Took the boat out and then crusied LSD on the way home. No better place than Chicago in the summer.
Haha seems you have some experience with it. Have had my license five years and I've never picked up a ticket (I did get caught by a camera but that doesn't go on your record) you just have to be smart about it and have some luck (fingers croseed that continues). Its not like its my daily commute but I'm on LSD fairly often.
Anyway, an Ireland victory Saturday and that for a Sunday sounds to me like a cracking weekend.
Don't do drugs son.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t_HVBeNnvWM
As for Delaney, I think I remember a couple of Sunderland players getting dropped for tardiness including Liam Miller, not sure if they were docked wages.
Noelys Guitar
18/06/2011, 1:12 AM
A fair few reports tonight saying Keane is going to take over at Watford.
...Keano is travelling tonight on a plane
I can see the red tail lights heading for Vicarage Road
Oh and I can see Keano waving goodbye
God it looks like Keano, must be the clouds in my eyes...
Noelys Guitar
18/06/2011, 1:45 AM
Is that you Mr/Mrs White?
22/06/2011, 9:50 AM
]...Keane is returning tonight on a plane
I can see Triggs' tail wagging, heading for Manchester
Oh, I can see him waving Ireland goodbye
God it looks like Keane, must be Saipan in my eyes
05/09/2011, 4:11 PM
With Keane possibly heading to Iceland and Kerr in the Faroes, as a friend said to me, perhaps it's Stan for the Outer Hebrides or even Rockall (or something perhaps that rhymes with that).
05/09/2011, 6:49 PM
David O'Leary for Svalbard!
theworm2345
05/09/2011, 7:24 PM
David O'Leary for Svalbard!
Nah, they're moving west...I've heard Greenland are thinking about joining UEFA (or CONCACAF) and Saint Pierre and Miquelon played their first matches last year in France.
Spudulika
06/09/2011, 6:02 AM
Greenland, they've been looking to be full FIFA members for a while now. It's like St. Brendan all over again. We step all the way to America from Ireland, what's the bet that at least one Irish manager ends up agreeing to manage Whales, not realising the additional letter means something (those who know the Brendan story will get it, dumb as the joke is).
07/09/2011, 9:24 AM
I have heard that The Falklands Islands have come in with a counter offer for Keane. They'll match Iceland's bid and throw in a few sheep and unexploaded landmines.