View Full Version : Roy Keane
Drumcondra 69er
23/04/2009, 4:17 PM
Ya but it's a relatively cheap wkd on the lash, with the excuse of a passing interest in a match involving an Irish owned and managed club. Don't think they'd turned into die hard Sunderland fans. I could be wrong and I'm sure there were some freaks that signed all their loyalties over to the Black Cats, but surely not many.
I don't really mind McCarthy but of course in a lot of cases the manager of a club is going to determine whether you want them to do well or not, especially if it's a club you don't otherwise care about.
Course they didn't, they'll be following Ipswich next year. Personally I just found it embarrassing and the total opposite of everything that being a football fan should be about.
Fair point about wanting a club to do well because you like their manager but actively going over to see them play regularly is way too much....
23/04/2009, 4:31 PM
Setanta Ireland are screening the press conference live at 6pm although the Ipswich website says the conference is at 4pm.
Fcukin hell like!
Only waiting for them to tell us what are the bookies odds on him playing for Ireland again. :D:eek::rolleyes:
lionelhutz
23/04/2009, 4:35 PM
Rubbish, there was a huge amount of people travelling over nearly every week ffs. I know one of the tour operators running trips and he made a fortune out of it. Plus a massive casual interest from your average Man U fan who went from despising Sunderland when McCarthy was the manager to having them as their 2nd favourite team,
A "paranoid bunch". :rolleyes:
Myself and a few friends headed over there last season on a dirt cheap ryanair flight. It was basically a weekend **** up and the only interests I had in the game was the fact Andy Reid and Daryl Murphy played and I'd a small gamble on it. Newcastle is some spot for nightlife. I see no reason why I should be embarrassed about going to an EPL game as part as a weekend away with the lads.
And I regularly go to Jackman Park to Limerick games to answer your next question.
23/04/2009, 4:36 PM
Just booked flights to Stanstead. only forty miles from Ipswish Happy Days :) Come on the Keano.
23/04/2009, 5:23 PM
It'll be interesting to see how he does at Ipswich.
He won't have the money to spend and there'll be a similar amount of expectation. This job will really show how good he is as a a manager, imo.
23/04/2009, 5:26 PM
I honestly wonder whether he will be able to look back and see the mistakes he made at Sunderland, and see how he should have done some things differently. We imagine all managers do this, and I imagine most will dobut is Keane that kind of reflective character? Will we see a new smarter manager at Ipswich, or will we see the same Keane?
yeah, that's what I was trying to ask above and what'll interest me next year at Ipswich, in addition to keeping a regular watch on the Irish players at Portman Road.
I think Razor's comment about Steve Bruce was good.
I want Keane and Garvan to do well so by association I want Ipswich to do well. There's not a thing wrong with that.
can i just ask why is it you want Garvan, the Championship player, to do well yet you dont seem to want Fahey to do well or Coleman for that matter? You consistently put them down.
Why the difference in what you wish for Garvan and Fahey?
TheBoss
23/04/2009, 5:48 PM
I think this is a clever decision by Keane, he was successful at Sunderland, considering he got them promoted and stayed in the division in his first season there. If he does something similar with Ipswich, which is a harder task than the Sunderland job, Keane would be expecting a call from the top teams.
It'll be interesting to see how he does at Ipswich.
He won't have the money to spend and there'll be a similar amount of expectation. This job will really show how good he is as a a manager, imo.
By all accounts it sounds like he will have 10 to 15 million to spend!:eek: A lot of money IMO, especially in the Championship
weldoninhio
23/04/2009, 7:47 PM
I'm amazed that a Championship club has taken a gamble on him. HIs handling of players at Sunderland, and his walkout would be black marks against him IMO. The following quote sums up how bitter and twisted he is. This was 3 days after Antonio Puerta (Seville) had collapsed and a few hours after he had died.
""On a night we got beaten in the cup by Luton, the staff came in and said, 'Clive Clarke has had a heart attack at Leicester'. I said, 'Is he OK? I'm shocked they found one, you could never tell by the way he plays'."
Thankfully Clarke survived, but never played football again.
23/04/2009, 7:59 PM
"On a night we got beaten in the cup by Luton, the staff came in and said, 'Clive Clarke has had a heart attack at Leicester'. I said, 'Is he OK? I'm shocked they found one, you could never tell by the way he plays'."
It was in very poor taste, and his obvious pride in his joke doesn't speak well of him. There is some context though - Keane felt that Clarke had betrayed him by claiming in public that Keane had lost the dressing room at Sunderland. Doesn't excuse it, of course, but I think it's important not to just leave quotes in a vacuum.
23/04/2009, 8:03 PM
I'm amazed that a Championship club has taken a gamble on him. HIs handling of players at Sunderland, and his walkout would be black marks against him IMO. The following quote sums up how bitter and twisted he is. This was 3 days after Antonio Puerta (Seville) had collapsed and a few hours after he had died.
""On a night we got beaten in the cup by Luton, the staff came in and said, 'Clive Clarke has had a heart attack at Leicester'. I said, 'Is he OK? I'm shocked they found one, you could never tell by the way he plays'."
I thought his quote about Clarke was a disgrace but to bring in the Puerta aspect of it is misleading. He gave the quote this Winter about 2 years after it happened. I am not defending the comment but you trying to make it sound worse than it is.
irishultra
23/04/2009, 8:25 PM
You first said Fahey would not get a move from Pat's, you then said he wouldn't play when he did join, he has now become a fan favourite and scored twice, this after a long domestic season. Seriously Ciaran:rolleyes:
Also what the hell are you talking about? Fahey ok, he's kinda old, be tough to break into the team but Coleman is our bloody under-21 right back FFS. Do you actually think they put him there for the laugh?
Its absolutely retarded you come on here talking about how none of us know anything outside english league, yet you have this sort of complex when it comes to the league of ireland. you're blinded by sky sports i think. garvan has been playing for ipswich for the last three years with rumours of a move to an english premier division team every so often but nothing comes of it, coleman actually gets the move to a top 6 team in england, coming from a club outside their country(not as obvious to recognise) yet you don't see him as a prospect for the 'forseeable future'. come on like.
weldoninhio
23/04/2009, 8:36 PM
I thought his quote about Clarke was a disgrace but to bring in the Puerta aspect of it is misleading. He gave the quote this Winter about 2 years after it happened. I am not defending the comment but you trying to make it sound worse than it is.
It is a quote. This is what Keane himself is claiming he said about 7 hours after Puerta died.
John83, in Keanes version of events Clarke said that Keane had lost the dressing after this.
"On a night we got beaten in the cup by Luton, the staff came in and said, 'Clive Clarke has had a heart attack at Leicester'. I said, 'Is he OK? I'm shocked they found one, you could never tell by the way he plays'. Clarke later goes and does a piece in some newspaper telling the world that I have lost the dressing room. How does he know? He wasn't there! Clown."
Blue Man
23/04/2009, 8:36 PM
I never said I didn't want Fahey or Coleman to do well. :rolleyes:
I think they're both overrated on this site and I wouldn't consider either of them as international prospects in the foreseeable future. It's not that I don't want them to do well it's that I don't think they'll do well.
Get a grip Ciaran. Ive lost all respect for you as a poster since the Dave Langan thread. Fahey would walk into any midfield that Garvan was playing in. Dont get me wrong, I think Garvan has the potential to be a class act but Fahey is streets ahead in maturity and skill.
Also you think Coleman is over rated? All you ever seem to do is give LoI players stick. Coleman was one of the most exciting talents in the league, so talented that a top 10 Premiership club have signed him at 19 which is generally 4 years too late for players from here going over.
Greenbod
23/04/2009, 8:37 PM
It was in very poor taste, and his obvious pride in his joke doesn't speak well of him. There is some context though - Keane felt that Clarke had betrayed him by claiming in public that Keane had lost the dressing room at Sunderland. Doesn't excuse it, of course, but I think it's important not to just leave quotes in a vacuum.
Vacuum or no vacuum, it was a sick joke. It could probably be excused as just an off the cuff unthinking quip if he didn't feel the need to repeat it just to show what a hard case he is. Instead he just demonstrated what an a...hole he is.
23/04/2009, 8:47 PM
There is some context though - Keane felt that Clarke had betrayed him by claiming in public that Keane had lost the dressing room at Sunderland. That's how Keane described it in the Times interview. What Clarke actually said was that all Keane did to motivate the squad was to shout at them.
Regardless, what the whole thing suggests to me is that Keane can't take the digs he likes to give out.
Weldoninho has a point. I think Keane is going to have to show more respect for his employers, for the people who pay substantial amounts of their money for taking a calculated risk on employing him. Can he do this for any period of time?
There have been plenty of great footballers who haven't cut it as managers and plenty of not-so-great players who have become great managers. Keane would do well to recognise that he is now Roy Keane, young manager not Roy Keane ex-great player. I think it''ll be interesting to see if the penny drops.
23/04/2009, 8:51 PM
I think Garvan has the potential to be a class act but Fahey is streets ahead in maturity and skill. I was going to disagree but I suppose if Fahey was U21 eligble he'd be in the U21 team quite easily. I think "streets ahead" is an exaggeration but pound-for-pound right now there's not much in it. I expect Garvan to be capped first though.
23/04/2009, 8:52 PM
It could probably be excused as just an off the cuff unthinking quip Between them I don't think Keane & Humphries can do anything that's not calculated to some degree.
Its called "dark humor". I really doubt Keane really wishes any real bad will upon Clarke.
Twas funny IMO
Blue Man
23/04/2009, 9:00 PM
I was going to disagree but I suppose if Fahey was U21 eligble he'd be in the U21 team quite easily. I think "streets ahead" is an exaggeration but pound-for-pound right now there's not much in it. I expect Garvan to be capped first though.
Ok poor choice of words, maybe not streets ahead but I definately think he has the edge. I dont think Fahey's international time has passed just yet. I think Fahey at the moment is a better player because hes got that bit of class that can turn any game. I just dont get Ciaran's opinions though about Fahey and Coleman being over rated
Ciaran must simply believe that he is a better judge of a player than Moyes and McLeish.
Thats what it boils down to. Added to the fact that he has probably never seen either player play.
23/04/2009, 10:10 PM
SkStu must think the requirement to get on the national team is less than that of a championship side or the Everton reserves. :rolleyes:
to rephrase.
Ciaran,
James Wallace doesnt qualify for Ireland. I would politely suggest doing some research on such matters prior to posting.
Secondly, please point out where i stated that either player should be in the national team? I simply pointed out that both Moyes and McLeish believed that both these players could make and add to the Everton and Birmingham teams. You seem to think that you are a better judge of a player than both these managers. I beg to differ.
I would also like to point out that every sane "LOI" fan would agree that Coleman and Fahey have made a step up in their careers. The same posters might take issue with the fact that you judge players not on what you see but on what your footballing prejudices perceive. I think that in itself is worthy of the criticism you fairly receive on this site.
*deep breath*
PS - the infraction was well worth it.
23/04/2009, 10:35 PM
One thing I agree with Keane on is his view on Cascarino.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/5209907/Roy-Keane-on-fiery-form-from-start-at-Ipswich-Town.html
23/04/2009, 11:24 PM
I expect Garvan to be capped first though.
Agreeed, Garvan's in the U-21's and played (briefly) against Forest, Trapattoni is at least aware of him. Fahey hasn't even been linked to the squad by the press yet
irishfan86
23/04/2009, 11:50 PM
I think both of them will find it hard to play for Ireland unless Trap changes his system.
The fact that Fahey is playing a wide position for his club gives him a better chance of breaking into the squad IMO.
SilkCut
24/04/2009, 4:26 AM
to rephrase.
Ciaran,
James Wallace doesnt qualify for Ireland. I would politely suggest doing some research on such matters prior to posting.
Secondly, please point out where i stated that either player should be in the national team? I simply pointed out that both Moyes and McLeish believed that both these players could make and add to the Everton and Birmingham teams. You seem to think that you are a better judge of a player than both these managers. I beg to differ.
I would also like to point out that every sane "LOI" fan would agree that Coleman and Fahey have made a step up in their careers. The same posters might take issue with the fact that you judge players not on what you see but on what your footballing prejudices perceive. I think that in itself is worthy of the criticism you fairly receive on this site.
*deep breath*
PS - the infraction was well worth it.
Ha Ha Ha I love that people actually get wound up by this Ciaran guy! Ciaran you do sometimes make a tit of yourself but its great that there is a place for you to do that. Everyone else ITS AN INTERNET FORUM stop banging your keyboards and relax or Roy Keane will be making jokes about the forumer who keeled over from a heart attack www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8pR1rZZHEs (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M8pR1rZZHEs) . This brings me to my point, what Keane said was a joke, a joke in bad taste yes, but a joke none the less. Has no one on this forum ever made a joke in bad taste?? Popes Death, 9/11 etc. etc..
SunderlandBohs
24/04/2009, 8:17 AM
You don't support a football club just for the players or managers. You support them because you have a connection with the club, the fans, the city and the people. Players and managers come and go.
I've two kids and when they grow up, they'll support Bohs and Sunderland. In 20years time they won't remember Roy Keane but Sunderland A.F.C will still be there for years to come.
If Kevin Hunt, who is my all time hero, took over Limerick F.C tomorrow I'd like to see them doing well for his sake but I won't support them or travel down to see them play or buy the jersey.
I feel sorry for all the Ipswich fans over here pre-Keano because they'll be labelled with the 'new Ipswich fans'. Take it from experience, most people will think Ipswich Town Football Club was founded on Wednesday 22nd of April 2009. That's the way it was with us.
Off Ireland's foremost traitor goes again, insulting people for the hell of it:
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-ive-no-respect-for-tony-cascarino-1718473.html
This from the man who felt it necessary to have a go at Shay Given for the mortal offence of always being available for Ireland when fit. Classy guy.
Drumcondra 69er
24/04/2009, 9:20 AM
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-ive-no-respect-for-tony-cascarino-1718473.html
This from the man who felt it necessary to have a go at Shay Given for the mortal offence of always being available for Ireland when fit. Classy guy.
Only found out this morning that he was at the Ipswich reserve game on Tuesday sealing the deal while Magilton was still manager, Magilton then took a call informing him of his sacking while visiting his sick mother up the north on Wednesday. Classy indeed.
Cas's response is here.
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/sport/football/football_league/article6159507.ece
Keane
“There has been lots of things said about me over the years. I am happy to comment on people’s opinion in football I respect, but Tony Cascarino is a man I certainly do not respect, for a lot of reasons, and if I told you, you would be shocked. So the day I worry about Tony Cascarino will be a very sad day of my life.”
Why? “It is a very long story. If you ask me about what ex-team-mates have said and tell me one, I will tell you I respect some of them, respect a lot of them. Just not the one you mention.”
Cascarino
“Roy Keane’s got ‘shocking’ information about me? I’d like to know what that is. Tell the world, Roy. I’ve got nothing to hide.
“But I know plenty about you that would shock quite a few people. If Roy’s trying to intimidate me, it won’t work. You can’t bully me, Roy — Keane versus Cascarino is a fight that will go the distance.
"As for him not respecting what I say, I couldn’t give two hoots. I won’t lose a minute’s sleep. It’s funny, I never had a fallout with Roy over a decade as Ireland team-mates, but as soon as I started writing my honest opinion about the way he behaves, he didn’t like it.
“Roy needs to look at his own behaviour, not mine. He needs to ask why rumours spread within the game about why many players at Sunderland weren’t happy while he was in charge there.
“He should look at why he left Sunderland in the lurch, just like he did with Ireland.
“Will the same thing happen at Ipswich?”
24/04/2009, 9:27 AM
Its called "dark humor". I really doubt Keane really wishes any real bad will upon Clarke.
Twas funny IMO
That's about it, good black humor. The blacker the better.
But it's as Stutts says, he can't take it when it's thrown back at him, or he directs it at people who have stood up to him.
Is Keane going to buy a house there?:D
Drumcondra 69er
24/04/2009, 9:28 AM
Interesting take, as ever, from James Lawton below.
http://www.independent.ie/sport/soccer/keane-must-show-more-guile-1718479.html
Almost everyone defers to Roy Keane -- even the bookmakers who yesterday installed Ipswich Town as favourites to win the Championship as a reflex reaction to his appointment.
It's a habit of mind, untouched apparently by his shameful exit from Sunderland when the going got tough and is hardly surprising when you consider the meaning of all his years at Old Trafford and his initial impact at the Stadium of Light.
But sometimes you have to separate an aura, however ferociously well established the reputation that has made it, and the reality of performance.
When you do this, Ipswich's reclusive billionaire owner Marcus Evans cannot be said to have invested in a sure thing.
It is the gamble that Sunderland chairman Niall Quinn made when he overrode his own personally -- and painfully -- acquired evidence that Keane's greatest obsession will probably always be himself and his own convenience and saw the wager collapse in a dereliction of commitment and loyalty that still leaves a bitter taste.
The indictment against Keane, however much you recognise his days as arguably the most influential player in the history of the Premier League, and his superb contribution to Ireland's cause right up the moment of ultimate betrayal in Saipan in 2002, is not easily withdrawn as he takes up his duties in the footsteps of the football knights, Alf Ramsey and Bobby Robson -- men who made indelible marks on the history of the club because of their knowledge and, above all else, their understanding that a football club is about rather more than your own sense of importance and destiny.
It is about nurturing the character and the self-belief of your players. It is to do with an understanding of strengths and weaknesses and the best way of developing potential.
It rewards working close with your players, understanding their strengths and their weaknesses. It is about proving to them that you are there for the long haul, for those disappointments and failures which inevitably come before the moments of success.
It is never about quitting when things are going not quite as you hoped -- or when the man who pays your wages, and gives you more or less everything you have ever asked for, demands a little time to talk over his concerns and get a little measure, maybe, of how you are standing up to, say, a humiliating 4-1 thrashing by Bolton Wanderers.
Those of us who had few qualms about predicting a serious managerial future for Keane based our optimism on the sense of the player and the remorseless leadership and influence he exerted on the field for Manchester United, a role that even the all-seeing, all-powerful Alex Ferguson was happy to celebrate.
But then along with that promise was the nag of Saipan, where Keane made the interests of the team he had helped so magnificently to reach the World Cup finals so secondary to his own frustration about how the team was being prepared.
The trouble with the Sunderland episode is that it produced so many echoes of the one in Saipan.
It spoke of a man answerable only to his own moods and whims -- and prejudices. It suggested someone who could make a virtue in his own mind of behaviour which would strike another only as outrageously impulsive and self-involved.
When Sunderland picked up the challenge of survival in the Premier League and fought bravely to a narrow defeat at Old Trafford, Keane's temporary replacement Ricky Sbragia was at pains not to besmirch the name of his departed boss; of course Roy Keane would emerge as a major figure in the game; of course he had the right stuff.
But Sbragia, no doubt necessarily, was less illuminating when asked to explain Keane's role, and the extent to which it had been hands-on. The reality was evident soon enough.
Keane had often been the absent, squire. He had affected some of the style of his one-time mentor Brian Clough, but without the certainty of his effect. There was no insurrection, no pleadings, when Keane made the telephone call that said it was all over.
What was over, precisely? It was the time when Keane could ride with all the glory of of a warrior -- and a winner. A time when no player could look at Keane the manager and doubt his right to make demands on what he perceived to be the limit of available talent.
One wave of Keane's hand to a crowd yearning for success was enough to provoke thousands of dreams. However, that was before the manager submitted himself to the test that has been applied to every manager football has ever known: the test of his nerve and his staying power.
When he left Sunderland, Keane made something of a philosophical statement, albeit one to provoke a string of questions, the most important one concerning his own motivation -- and the sense of what he could do and what he couldn't.
Keane said: "Alex Ferguson comes out and says, 'You never know what he is going to do next.' What did he think I was going to do? Go backpacking around Mexico. I have five kids. Football is in my blood. I'd just had enough at Sunderland. End of bloody story."
No, of course, it wasn't the end of the story -- merely an opening chapter of disquieting implications.
The most serious is that Roy Keane is not a man for all seasons, only those which suit his mood of the moment. It is a luxury he cannot expect now when he comes back to deference that, as a manager, he has not begun to deserve.
DeLorean
24/04/2009, 9:33 AM
I feel sorry for all the Ipswich fans over here pre-Keano because they'll be labelled with the 'new Ipswich fans'.
Why would they care? anybody that knows them would know they were Ipswich fans all along and who cares about people that don't know them. Presumably many of them would be happy with the appointment anyway.
24/04/2009, 9:44 AM
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=36426
“I am quite happy to comment on people’s opinions in football I respect, but Cascarino is a man I certainly do not respect, for a lot of reasons, and if I told you, you’d be shocked. The day I worry about Cascarino will be a very sad day in my life.”
Quite intrigued by this...
DeLorean
24/04/2009, 9:46 AM
Keane isn't really one for keeping a lid on it so he probably has nothing.
Den Perry
24/04/2009, 9:54 AM
One thing I agree with Keane on is his view on Cascarino.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/football/5209907/Roy-Keane-on-fiery-form-from-start-at-Ipswich-Town.html
Fair play Neil....I can'y believe I am agreeing with you again!!
Cascarino is a ****
24/04/2009, 10:05 AM
Who did he insult there only Cascarino and he has every right to insult Cascarino. Cascarino comes on TV and radio and when talking about Keane he talks about his character and his personality rather than his ability. This from a guy who led a double life on his wife and is involved in the dodgy world of poker where he has turned up to games blindfolded so he does not know where the game is etc and is taken away in a blindfold.
He did not insult anybody else in that interview you link.
24/04/2009, 10:12 AM
I found it hard to disagree with anything in Lawton's article.
24/04/2009, 10:14 AM
Cascarino is a man I certainly do not respect, for a lot of reasons, and if I told you, you’d be shocked. The day I worry about Cascarino will be a very sad day in my life.”
This will be series 4 episode 1
Lowest trick in the book, lower than any stunt Cas ever pulled.
Cas has challenged (the cowardly) Keane to say it all out loud as he has nothing to hide.
This will keep me occupied until The Wire gets going again on the BBC.
24/04/2009, 10:21 AM
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0424/1224245295712.html
http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/sport/2009/0424/1224245295695.html
I agree with Lawtons article too but I also agree that Keane gives a fair assessment of his managerial career so far. What he says about his on managerial career should be taken into account when looking at what he said about Bruce and Hughes and Ince and Robson. Its not as if he is saying I am great but the other lads have only done ok. Typical newspapers making a headline out nothing.
Drumcondra 69er
24/04/2009, 10:25 AM
Who did he insult there only Cascarino and he has every right to insult Cascarino. Cascarino comes on TV and radio and when talking about Keane he talks about his character and his personality rather than his ability. This from a guy who led a double life on his wife and is involved in the dodgy world of poker where he has turned up to games blindfolded so he does not know where the game is etc and is taken away in a blindfold.
He did not insult anybody else in that interview you link.
Please Neil, give the moral high ground BS a rest, Keane essentially assualted a fellow pro in a pre-meditated fashion and ended his career. Your line about Cascarino smacks of Dunphy's laughable insult thrown at Rod Liddle when he dared criticise RK ('I'll tell you who wrote the article Bill, Rod Liddle, the guy who left his wife for a young one!'). Amusing yes but not serious debate.
Cascarino is prefectily entitled to express his opinion on Keane's character when is relevant to issues such as his walk out from Sunderland etc. It was Keane who started this 'fued' in any case with attacks on Cascarino's character once Cascarino was critical of him in a professional context.
24/04/2009, 10:32 AM
Please Neil, give the moral high ground BS a rest, Keane essentially assualted a fellow pro in a pre-meditated fashion and ended his career. Your line about Cascarino smacks of Dunphy's laughable insult thrown at Rod Liddle when he dared criticise RK ('I'll tell you who wrote the article Bill, Rod Liddle, the guy who left his wife for a young one!'). Amusing yes but not serious debate.
Cascarino is prefectily entitled to express his opinion on Keane's character when is relevant to issues such as his walk out from Sunderland etc. It was Keane who started this 'fued' in any case with attacks on Cascarino's character once Cascarino was critical of him in a professional context.
I am not defending Roy Keanes actions when he injured Haaland. Disgraceful, absolute thuggery in my view. Cascarino has taken his analysis of Keanes career to his personality and he is rent a quote when it comes to Keane, I wouold nearly think he rings up the media bodies to offer his opinion on him. He had a go at Keanes character and his personality and said that Keane assaulted him in a cublice in Heathrow. What I am saying is, that if Cascarino wants to go down that road, he is on dodgy ground and he is a low life and you can read in his book. Not only that there have been recent incidents that have appeared in the papers also.
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article2048546.ece
He is out on bail at the moment and this is an alleged assault.
Finally if you think me commenting on the moral high ground, what are you doing when havin a go at Keane for his tackle All opions on someones behaviour is in some way taking the moral high ground.
lionelhutz
24/04/2009, 10:40 AM
I feel sorry for all the Ipswich fans over here pre-Keano
I feel sorry for him too
24/04/2009, 10:43 AM
Yeah I know the lad. Lives in Westmeath I think. :)
Drumcondra 69er
24/04/2009, 10:51 AM
Finally if you think me commenting on the moral high ground, what are you doing when havin a go at Keane for his tackle All opions on someones behaviour is in some way taking the moral high ground.
I was using the Halaand incident as a counter point to your argument about Cascarion's personality, it was purely made to show how ridiculous it was to bring the fact that Cascarino was an adulterer and played cards with some dodgy characters into a discussion about Roy Keane when he's got plenty of unsavoury incidents in his past himself.
Cascarions is paid by The Times and Today FM to name but two media outlets, to suggest he's straight on the phone desperately trying to get his opinion out there as soon as Keane's in the news is farcical.
lionelhutz
24/04/2009, 10:54 AM
I don't want to start a debate on this but can someone tell me was Cascarino charged with assaulting his wife/ex wife or were those accusations dismissed?
24/04/2009, 10:56 AM
I was using the Halaand incident as a counter point to your argument about Cascarion's personality, it was purely made to show how ridiculous it was to bring the fact that Cascarino was an adulterer and played cards with some dodgy characters into a discussion about Roy Keane when he's got plenty of unsavoury incidents in his past himself.
Cascarions is paid by The Times and Today FM to name but two media outlets, to suggest he's straight on the phone desperately trying to get his opinion out there as soon as Keane's in the news is farcical.
You can add Sky Sports News and Setanta News too to that that he contributes when something happens with Keanes career.
You dont get it do you. Cascarino comments on Keanes personality and behaviour when it is not relevant and it is like the old expression those in glass houses should not throw stones. If you want to come on to any media outlet that will have you and comment and judge Roy Keanes character, well then you need to be pretty clean yourself. Not lead the life that Cascarino lives.
By the way I am not defending Keane. I am pointing out the double standards and the dodgy ground that Cascarino is standing on when spouting his character judgement of Keane.
It is possible to live in a world, where you dont either hate or love Roy Keane. It seems that people in Ireland struggle with. I would fall into that category where I admired the player but have problems with lots of behaviour.
Drumcondra 69er
24/04/2009, 11:08 AM
You can add Sky Sports News and Setanta News too to that that he contributes when something happens with Keanes career.
You dont get it do you. Cascarino comments on Keanes personality and behaviour when it is not relevant and it is like the old expression those in glass houses should not throw stones. If you want to come on to any media outlet that will have you and comment and judge Roy Keanes character, well then you need to be pretty clean yourself. Not lead the life that Cascarino lives.
By the way I am not defending Keane. I am pointing out the double standards and the dodgy ground that Cascarino is standing on when spouting his character judgement of Keane.
It is possible to live in a world, where you dont either hate or love Roy Keane. It seems that people in Ireland struggle with. I would fall into that category where I admired the player but have problems with lots of behaviour.
Like it or not, he's a journalist (or columnist at least) now, and as an ex team mate of RK's is going to be asked for his opinion. My point is that it's Keane that's made all the running in this feud, Cascarino has said very little in real terms. The fact is that if, as a manager RK has developed a reputation as a bully who sulks when he doesn't get his own way then someone who has experience of this who works in the media is entitled to comment on it.
You can't compare like with like when talking about journalists and football managers in any case.
And I would have had the utmost admiration for Keane's ability as a player, I just think he's a pretty awful human being.
24/04/2009, 11:15 AM
Nobody mentioned Saipan yet..... whew.
It feels like a long long way back.
Whatever happens in a dressing room should stay in the dressing room
but the Keane intimidation on Cas while he was trying to do his business in the sanctity of the public toilet is fair game for Cas to illustrate the bully in the boy.
http://holyroodpr.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/cascarino1.jpg?w=299
24/04/2009, 11:15 AM
Awful human being? Because he made a joke about somebody who had a heart attack? The Haaland incident? You'd think the guy went on a mad raping and killing spree. He's not a saint but he certainly isn't the maniac that some portions of the media portray him to be.