View Full Version : Roy Keane

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

newrynyuk
29/05/2009, 11:19 AM
German league is best run in Europe but ironically suffers in the Champions league as a result. All based around the fans experience, safe terracing, cheap tickets, live football on terrestrial tv, everything that the Premiership isn't.

In the Bundesliga, it's only one match at the start of the season and one match after the winter break that's shown live on terrestrial television. The rest are live only on the Premiere pay channels.

The said, Premiere's coverage urinates all over Sky Sports. Every single match in the top two divisions available live. Plus a "Konference" channel that cuts from game to game showing the goals immediately after they've been scored. I loved it went I briefly had Premiere on my not-strictly-legal satellite.

Anyways, back to the main topic. I understand Keano was on the Late Late recently? What did he say?

SunderlandBohs
18/06/2009, 8:02 AM
Found thid on the net. Funniest thing you'll read:p

backofthenet.wikia.com/wiki/... (http://backofthenet.wikia.com/wiki/Roy_Keane)

18/06/2009, 9:05 AM
Very very said individual who wrote that to be honest.

Drumcondra 69er
18/06/2009, 9:36 AM
Very very said individual who wrote that to be honest.

That doesn't make sense? The individual said 'Very very'?

And anyone who has a problem with a mildly amusing spoof bio of a public figure on a joke website should possibly get out more.

18/06/2009, 11:24 PM
That doesn't make sense? The individual said 'Very very'?

And anyone who has a problem with a mildly amusing spoof bio of a public figure on a joke website should possibly get out more.

sorry it should be very very sad individual. I do not have a problem with it, I just think its sad to go to that amount of trouble and to be so bitter about someone who does not even know you exist.

19/06/2009, 8:21 AM
sorry it should be very very sad individual. I do not have a problem with it, I just think its sad to go to that amount of trouble and to be so bitter about someone who does not even know you exist.
I think you'll find they are indiscriminate in their "bitterness" in just about every article on that site :D

19/06/2009, 9:02 AM

Doesn't it work the other way as well that it's sad to hero worship and write paeons of praise for someone who does not even know you exist? A lot of life is about love and hate and it doesn't make the individual sad. Should we not write articles condemning actions by individuals just because they don't know us? In which case a lot of people would have had an easy ride in life.

Drumcondra 69er
19/06/2009, 9:31 AM
I think you'll find they are indiscriminate in their "bitterness" in just about every article on that site :D

Exactly, did you see the Lawrenson and Cascarino entries?! It's not fall off your chair funny but it's humourous enough.

Gets my goat the way that anything taking the p1ss out of RK is seized upon as heresy by his disciples (apologies Neil if you don't consider yourself amongst that number). This whole handwringing 'how dare they' attitude :rolleyes:, it's good to take the mick out of sacred cows once in a while.

Anyway, enough bible analogies for now.....

19/06/2009, 12:25 PM
I think the ones about all the players are pretty sad to me. I said before the pro and anti Keane brigade at the exrtremes are as bad as each other. Shower of gob****es the lot of them in my view.

19/06/2009, 1:42 PM
You mean you regard that wiki spoof as a serious piece of work?

19/06/2009, 3:27 PM
Doesn't it work the other way as well that it's sad to hero worship and write paeons of praise for someone who does not even know you exist? A lot of life is about love and hate and it doesn't make the individual sad. Should we not write articles condemning actions by individuals just because they don't know us? In which case a lot of people would have had an easy ride in life.

Yeah I agree it works the other way too. What part of that I think both sidces of this are wrong do people not get. Extremes are the problem

08/07/2009, 9:01 AM
Well done the mighty Finn Harps! :D

Scram
08/07/2009, 3:12 PM
Well done the mighty Finn Harps! :D

Keane's star has thankfully dimmed, 1,200 attendance. Let's hope that Irish Keanophile fans are finally copping on to themselves.

macdermesser
15/09/2009, 9:31 AM
Saw this quote from Keane .. seems to me that he is still hurting that he never played in the 2002 World Cup

"Keane expects things to be different in South Africa next summer if manager Trapattoni can steer the Republic to a runners-up spot in their group with wins over Italy or Montenegro and then reach South Africa via the play-offs in November.

Keane said: 'Fingers crossed, they will get there, but once they qualify it will depend on their mentality.

'If they go there with the same lacklustre attitude the last time they were in the World Cup - cutting corners on hotels and travel - then obviously they won't do that well.

'But if they have the right mentality - like you would hope their experienced manager's got - and they say, "We're going over there to do as well as we can", then why not? You would expect them to have a training pitch that's at least been watered and without any potholes and I wouldn't have thought they would be getting four connection flights.

'I don't think he will be accusing his players of faking injury a week before the World Cup, either - but that's just my guess.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1212866/Keane-reopens-Ireland-wounds-Roy-takes-swipe-McCarthy.html#ixzz0RALyUMU4

15/09/2009, 11:41 AM
Saw this quote from Keane .. seems to me that he is still hurting that he never played in the 2002 World Cup

"Keane expects things to be different in South Africa next summer if manager Trapattoni can steer the Republic to a runners-up spot in their group with wins over Italy or Montenegro and then reach South Africa via the play-offs in November.

Keane said: 'Fingers crossed, they will get there, but once they qualify it will depend on their mentality.

'If they go there with the same lacklustre attitude the last time they were in the World Cup - cutting corners on hotels and travel - then obviously they won't do that well.

'But if they have the right mentality - like you would hope their experienced manager's got - and they say, "We're going over there to do as well as we can", then why not? You would expect them to have a training pitch that's at least been watered and without any potholes and I wouldn't have thought they would be getting four connection flights.

'I don't think he will be accusing his players of faking injury a week before the World Cup, either - but that's just my guess.'

Read more: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1212866/Keane-reopens-Ireland-wounds-Roy-takes-swipe-McCarthy.html#ixzz0RALyUMU4

Fairly consistant at what he said at the time to be honest. He is in a bad mood at the moment anyway cause ipswich are doing crap, but they probably have a great training pitch.

GypsyBlackCat
15/09/2009, 12:18 PM
Keane on Adebayor's celebration.

"I don't think I'll ever have to worry about that as my strikers don't look like they will ever score"

Way to go to build up confidence Roy. Gone by Christmas. The Mach 3 is firmly locked away.

youngirish
15/09/2009, 12:58 PM

I notice he keeps refering to ROI as they and not we in the article. Treacherous ba*tard. Where's real Irishmen like Andy Townsend and Mark Lawrenson when you need them?

amaccann
15/09/2009, 1:02 PM

I know it could be contextual (the interviewer might have set him up with a spiked question), but that quote makes Keane look awfully bitter.

15/09/2009, 1:18 PM
I know it could be contextual (the interviewer might have set him up with a spiked question), but that quote makes Keane look awfully bitter.
No surprise there he went onto RTE trying to get back over to Japan. He desperately wanted to play. My memory is foggy but wasn't the entire 6.1 news taken up by that Keane interview?

ArdeeBhoy
15/09/2009, 1:38 PM
Sure hasn't he mellowed in his old age.

Lol.

15/09/2009, 2:34 PM
No surprise there he went onto RTE trying to get back over to Japan. He desperately wanted to play. My memory is foggy but wasn't the entire 6.1 news taken up by that Keane interview?
it's on youtube in 4 parts:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VvZ12AhXkZw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyRQw1tile0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cODcy8i7s4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dj12CVWQjWE

I think he did want to play, but wasn't prepared to compromise his values on the setup. When he replied with "take me back, take me back??" to the interviewer, I knew it wasn't going to happen.
Don't think the entire 6-1 news was taken up with it, but it did end early and the interview was from 6:30 - 7:00.

incidentally, here's the Aprés Match p!ss take after Dunphy was kicked off the RTE panel for being "tired and emotional": http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=grOzKrpJVXw

15/09/2009, 2:57 PM

Nothing to do with "desperately wanting to play". Pure PR stunt with the interview by a Man U fan, Tommy Gormless.

Slaps wrist! Don't get back in to this stuff.

15/09/2009, 4:42 PM
More like wrap yourself around a 20m chain and get it padlocked.

Drumcondra 69er
15/09/2009, 5:57 PM

Oh give it a rest Roy and stop trying to deflect attention from your managerial faults. He never even made it to the traning pitch anyway, I spent more time on that facility then he fukkin did.

15/09/2009, 6:16 PM
You were in Saipan?

Drumcondra 69er
15/09/2009, 6:28 PM
You were in Saipan?

Saipan was R & R, the actual training facility in Japan was first class.

seanfhear
15/09/2009, 6:29 PM
Oh give it a rest Roy and stop trying to deflect attention from your managerial faults. He never even made it to the traning pitch anyway, I spent more time on that facility then he fukkin did.
If things don't start improving results wise and quickly then Roy Keane's managerial creer may becoming to an end.

MeathDrog
15/09/2009, 6:34 PM
If things don't start improving results wise and quickly then Roy Keane's managerial creer may becoming to an end.
Hopefully not.

It's quite entertaining.

Irish_Praha
15/09/2009, 6:36 PM
Saipan was R & R, the actual training facility in Japan was first class.

I often thought that the Irish team looked as fit as any at that WC and actually finished the game against Spain looking the fitter team after 120 mins of football. Although that may have had to do with them being down to 10 men for the extra time.

Anyway they looked liked they acclimatised to the hot weather and humidity very well, which would indicate that McCarthy and his team's preparation wasn't so bad.

15/09/2009, 6:45 PM
I often thought that the Irish team looked as fit as any at that WC and actually finished the game against Spain looking the fitter team after 120 mins of football. Although that may have had to do with them being down to 10 men for the extra time.

Anyway they looked liked they acclimatised to the hot weather and humidity very well, which would indicate that McCarthy and his team's preparation wasn't so bad.

i didnt think that, i thought they were ran ragged for long times in that game

Drumcondra 69er
15/09/2009, 9:59 PM
i didnt think that, i thought they were ran ragged for long times in that game

Must've been watching a different game then I was at so, we dominated the second half and all of extra time even when they had 11.

youngirish
16/09/2009, 9:45 AM
Still no sign of Garvan at Ipswich. He wasn't even on the bench last night. Keane is probably trying to destroy the career of one of our current most exciting prospects just to get back at the FAI for Saipan. Hopefully he'll be sacked soon and fade into obscurity.

Unfortunately even if he gets sacked I see him resurfacing on the RTE panel for the World Cup with Dunphy, Souness and Giles.

Ozymandias
16/09/2009, 9:57 AM
Still no sign of Garvan at Ipswich. He wasn't even on the bench last night. Keane is probably trying to destroy the career of one of our current most exciting prospects just to get back at the FAI for Saipan. Hopefully he'll be sacked soon and fade into obscurity.

Unfortunately even if he gets sacked I see him resurfacing on the RTE panel for the World Cup with Dunphy, Souness and Giles.

Garvan has come out and said he has to work harder...He was poor for ipswich anytime I saw them on the box this year.

youngirish
16/09/2009, 10:44 AM
Garvan has come out and said he has to work harder...He was poor for ipswich anytime I saw them on the box this year.

He only started one league game and was taken off at half time so to single him out and relegate him to the reserves is ludicrous considering Ipswich had been just as sh*t in their previous games and have continued in that vein.

Keane definitely has it in for him. All the other players many of whom have been more responsible for those poor performances are still floating about the first team.

smasher
16/09/2009, 10:49 AM
Found thid on the net. Funniest thing you'll read:p

backofthenet.wikia.com/wiki/... (http://backofthenet.wikia.com/wiki/Roy_Keane)
Absolutely brilliant! Says it all.

16/09/2009, 11:18 AM
Must've been watching a different game then I was at so, we dominated the second half and all of extra time even when they had 11.

well been at the game and all, but spain could easily have scored much more than what they did

16/09/2009, 11:39 AM
Yes, because they were a better team. But the argument was about our fitness. We finished the game full of energy and purpose. We were stronger in ET too, but did have an extra man for part of it.

D69er is spot on when he points out that the facilities in Japan were top-class. That's the tragic irony of the whole thing.

16/09/2009, 12:19 PM
Don't WC squads have a serious enough pre-training camp?
By pre-training camp standards, Saipan was poor preparation.

16/09/2009, 12:43 PM
So basically the foreplay was crap but the penetration was great. So basically Roy Keane is just a mid 30s female cosmo reader, giving out about the foreplay.

16/09/2009, 1:12 PM
Don't WC squads have a serious enough pre-training camp?
By pre-training camp standards, Saipan was poor preparation.
There was probably no need for a separate R&R trip, especially one so far away, no matter how nice it was. A few days of easing themselves into the full on WC preparations all at the same place would make more sense to me.

16/09/2009, 1:12 PM
Yes, because they were a better team. But the argument was about our fitness. We finished the game full of energy and purpose. We were stronger in ET too, but did have an extra man for part of it.

D69er is spot on when he points out that the facilities in Japan were top-class. That's the tragic irony of the whole thing.

we had feck all chances as well.........so much for all the bags of energy, and jesus even the penos were half assed

Sapain was a joke of a place to stay, all thanks to R Tracy (and the FAI getting back handers probably), imagine not even a pitch to train on

dr_peepee
16/09/2009, 1:27 PM
So basically the foreplay was crap but the penetration was great. So basically Roy Keane is just a mid 30s female cosmo reader, giving out about the foreplay.

Ha!!:D You totally went there...

16/09/2009, 2:16 PM
Id say this great term R & R was more for the FAI gang and the hangers on than it was for the players being honest.

16/09/2009, 2:22 PM
So how should we prepare for SA?

shot rings out

aargh

seanfhear
16/09/2009, 2:29 PM
So how should we prepare for SA?

shot rings out

aargh
If we qualify and Roy keeps producing results like he is at Ipswich then I can see Roy having some spare time on his hands to get the preperation right this time.

amaccann
16/09/2009, 2:33 PM
Oh god it's happening again ...

*duck and covers*

16/09/2009, 2:42 PM
If we qualify and Roy keeps producing results like he is at Ipswich then I can see Roy having some spare time on his hands to get the preperation right this time.

i honestly read that as "penetration" :o

Drumcondra 69er
16/09/2009, 4:33 PM
Id say this great term R & R was more for the FAI gang and the hangers on than it was for the players being honest.

From speaking to a number of the players all bar one were perfectly happy with it, think that was part of his nibs' problem....

16/09/2009, 5:58 PM
From speaking to a number of the players all bar one were perfectly happy with it, think that was part of his nibs' problem....

you mean the yes men

The Fly
16/09/2009, 7:10 PM
Leaving aside Keane's treatment of Owen Garvan and its perceived harshness in some quarters for a moment, there has been some serious over-stating of said player's ability on here. I have seen him play quite a few times, and while he is good player, he is nothing special or exceptional.