View Full Version : Liverpool

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18

endabob1
10/07/2009, 2:07 PM
I love the Alonso Comments, this is the same Alonso Rafa was touting around Europe last summer to try & get the funds to buy Barry who'd spent the rest of his time tapping up!!!!

The guy is a grade A ______. let's go for hypocrite as this is a family show

KK77
10/07/2009, 2:12 PM
I'd a feeling it'd turn into a Pool v United discussion alright. I genuinely had time for Benitez before last season. Thought he just focused on Liverpool and didn't get to the petty stuff like Ferguson, Winger or Mourinho. I think he actually after surpassing those guys in the last year though. In fairness Barry was pretty much messed around by Liverpool last summer (although not by Rafa) so you could hardly blame him for cashing in this summer and avoid all the agro. I don't think it's any of Rafa's business why Barry chose City and he definitely shouldn't be cutting him up to the press just cos he's bitter.

Could have sworn he was asked about Barry in the press conference yesterday:confused: What should he say when asked? That Barry moved to City for Champions League football??

Ahh sure no harm in speaking the facts:D

KK77
10/07/2009, 2:13 PM
I love the Alonso Comments, this is the same Alonso Rafa was touting around Europe last summer to try & get the funds to buy Barry who'd spent the rest of his time tapping up!!!!

The guy is a grade A ______. let's go for hypocrite as this is a family show

He gets to you anyway FACT:D:D:D:

DeLorean
10/07/2009, 2:28 PM
What should he say when asked?

Something along the lines of-

He's a good player and we would have liked him here, but it wasn't to be

Do you just back Rafa up for the sake of it or do you actually believe he handles every situation perfectly? I support United but can see when Ferguson is acting the maggot, which has been a lot over the years.

KK77
10/07/2009, 2:51 PM
Something along the lines of-

He's a good player and we would have liked him here, but it wasn't to be

Do you just back Rafa up for the sake of it or do you actually believe he handles every situation perfectly? I support United but can see when Ferguson is acting the maggot, which has been a lot over the years.

So he should tell lies?? Barry said he would only leave for Champions league football;) Who's telling porkie pies then:)

Your a Utd supporter would never have guessed:p

DeLorean
10/07/2009, 3:12 PM
So he should tell lies?? Barry said he would only leave for Champions league football;) Who's telling porkie pies then

How is saying what I suggested telling lies, he is a good player, Liverpool did want him and it didn't happen:confused:

Ok Barry did say he wanted Champions League football but that was obviously just to have an explanation for the Villa fans, when really he just wanted to move on after countless seasons of underachievement. Although City don't have Champions League football I think their billions do promise exciting times for the club.

Your a Utd supporter would never have guessed:p

Maybe I do have a natural, unintentional bias on certain things but at least I try to see things objectively.

KK77
10/07/2009, 3:14 PM
How is saying what I suggested telling lies, he is a good player, Liverpool did want him and it didn't happen:confused:

Ok Barry did say he wanted Champions League football but that was obviously just to have an explanation for the Villa fans, when really he just wanted to move on after countless seasons of underachievement. Although City don't have Champions League football I think their billions do promise exciting times for the club.

Maybe I do have a natural, unintentional bias on certain things but at least I try to see things objectively.

If you honestly think Barry went to City for anything other then money well then your fooling yourself.

Next you'll be telling me Terry is considering City because he want's a fresh challenge.

10/07/2009, 3:27 PM
If you honestly think Barry went to City for anything other then money well then your fooling yourself.

Players who move far anything other than monetary reasons are few and far between.

KK77
10/07/2009, 3:39 PM
Players who move far anything other than monetary reasons are few and far between.

Correct.

DeLorean
10/07/2009, 4:00 PM

Of course he left Villa for City for the money but I'm not as sure that he would have snubbed Liverpool for that reason alone. He obviously wanted to join Liverpool last season and I think he would have if they hadn't f*cked him around, even if City offered him more money at that stage. However, with Liverpool indecisive and City offering him an amazing amount of money he decided to cash in and I don't blame him.

papa-j
10/07/2009, 4:21 PM
Of course he left Villa for City for the money but I'm not as sure that he would have snubbed Liverpool for that reason alone. He obviously wanted to join Liverpool last season and I think he would have if they hadn't f*cked him around, even if City offered him more money at that stage. However, with Liverpool indecisive and City offering him an amazing amount of money he decided to cash in and I don't blame him.

Liverpool didn't fcuk him about. They refused to pay over the odds for a player with one year on his contract.

DeLorean
10/07/2009, 4:35 PM
Liverpool didn't fcuk him about. They refused to pay over the odds for a player with one year on his contract.

Ok that's true, but I can see why he would choose a club that were willing to meet his valuation and pay him huge money, over a club that that had been humming and hawing over whether or not to sign him the previous summer.

DeLorean
30/07/2009, 1:03 PM
Alonso Hands In Transfer Request (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/0730/alonso.html)

We'll will be seeing a lot more of Lucas by the looks of it.

KK77
31/07/2009, 1:01 PM
[QUOTE=DeLorean;

We'll will be seeing a lot more of Lucas by the looks of it.[/QUOTE]

Don't bank on that;)

DeLorean
31/07/2009, 1:27 PM
Don't bank on that;)

Ha, I know. Surely if Alonso does hit the road ye'll use the money to get in something better than that fella. It's good money seeing as he's 28 but he'll be very difficult to replace.

eamo1
31/07/2009, 3:15 PM
Lucas is the biggest waste of space ever to grace the Anfield turf.he's up there with Kvarme,Babb,Nunez,Torben Pitcnik(Greame Souness player),Ferri(Houllier's first signing who paul Ince described as the worse player he ever trained with),Traore and a few others.
Liverpool NEED Alonso,simple as.

Roadend
31/07/2009, 3:17 PM
Ah sure, they needed Keegan before he left, we'll see what happens.

31/07/2009, 3:28 PM
I won't here a bad word said about Torben Piechnik :mad:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torben_Piechnik

4tothefloor
03/08/2009, 2:05 PM
Lucas is the biggest waste of space ever to grace the Anfield turf.he's up there with Kvarme,Babb,Nunez,Torben Pitcnik(Greame Souness player),Ferri(Houllier's first signing who paul Ince described as the worse player he ever trained with),Traore and a few others.
Liverpool NEED Alonso,simple as.
Lucas is an over-rated pile of $hite alright but to be fair to the lad he's not being allowed to play his normal game at Anfield. Lucas won player of the year in Brazil and was signed as a box-to-box attacking midfielder (He still plays in this position when picked for Brazil and did so at the last Olympics) and was the main star in getting Gremio to the final of the Copa Libertadores that season. At Liverpool Benitez has turned him in to a defensive possession retaining midfielder with limited attacking freedom. While I have good time for Benitez, there are things that I don't like about him, and this is one of them - not playing players in their natural positions. Dossena is another one, an attacking wing back who has rarely played as a full back in his career, yet this is where he is expected to perform for Liverpool. Why buy players like this and force square pegs in to round holes? Benayoun, Bable and Kuyt are others rarely played in their natural positions. If Lucas was allowed to play his natural game with the shackles off, he might surprise a few people.....

old git
03/08/2009, 2:52 PM

yet they had no problem paying over the odds for a certain robbie keane :ball:

papa-j
03/08/2009, 3:32 PM
yet they had no problem paying over the odds for a certain robbie keane :ball:

I agree but strikers are generally more expensive than midfielders and Keane still had a few years on his contract. Its widely reported that the club executives overruled the Barry signing in favour of Keane. Interesting that both Keane and the man who pushed it through are no longer at the club.

Closed Account 2
03/08/2009, 4:09 PM
I won't here a bad word said about Torben Piechnik :mad:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Torben_Piechnik

A class player, but if we're honest he was always a poor man's István Kozma.

swinfordfc
04/08/2009, 8:04 PM
bye bye alonso .....

brianw82
04/08/2009, 9:35 PM
Lucas is an over-rated pile of $hite alright but to be fair to the lad he's not being allowed to play his normal game at Anfield. Lucas won player of the year in Brazil and was signed as a box-to-box attacking midfielder (He still plays in this position when picked for Brazil and did so at the last Olympics) and was the main star in getting Gremio to the final of the Copa Libertadores that season. At Liverpool Benitez has turned him in to a defensive possession retaining midfielder with limited attacking freedom. While I have good time for Benitez, there are things that I don't like about him, and this is one of them - not playing players in their natural positions. Dossena is another one, an attacking wing back who has rarely played as a full back in his career, yet this is where he is expected to perform for Liverpool. Why buy players like this and force square pegs in to round holes? Benayoun, Bable and Kuyt are others rarely played in their natural positions. If Lucas was allowed to play his natural game with the shackles off, he might surprise a few people.....

Good post. He then ships most of these players out once they're not performing in their 'round hole', look at the number of full backs he's gone through already.

old git
04/08/2009, 10:05 PM
I agree but strikers are generally more expensive than midfielders and Keane still had a few years on his contract. Its widely reported that the club executives overruled the Barry signing in favour of Keane. Interesting that both Keane and the man who pushed it through are no longer at the club.

fair point and it seems beneitz proved his point with both these people.. what's your feeling on alonso leaving... 30 million is good value for a 28 year old who was reportely up for sale last season for 15 million.. my worry is he will be very hard to replace one of liverpools better players last year and may cost them the chance of winning preimership this year ... and maybee mascherano will get itchy feet to leave now as well.. :ball:

old git
04/08/2009, 10:15 PM
at least liverpool fans have something to smile at .... cross-city rivals everton have had lescott request a transfer to (looks like man city) and everton now in talks with arsenal to sign as his replacement philip
senderos :D:D !!!

04/08/2009, 10:17 PM
at least liverpool fans have something to smile at .... cross-city rivals everton have had lescott request a transfer to (looks like man city) and everton now in talks with arsenal to sign as his replacement philip senderos :D:D !!!
While Senderos is a bit of a donkey IMO, it would be like David Moyes to turn him into a half decent player.

old git
05/08/2009, 12:37 AM
While Senderos is a bit of a donkey IMO, it would be like David Moyes to turn him into a half decent player.

i doubt that ... even arsne wegner could not work that miracle :D

Closed Account 2
05/08/2009, 1:56 AM
Alonso is a big loss, not just to Liverpool, but the premiership will be poorer for his departure. He was a very elegant player who would take the time to pick out the perfect pass and I would always enjoy watching him play - he was the sort of player young kids should watch to really learn how to master the game. You can't blame him for leaving, Benitez wanted to ship him out last summer. Maybe £38m is good business for them but I dont think his age is a major factor as even if his pace goes 90% of his game will remain intact. He could easily play at the highest level for another 6 years (age of 34).

reder
05/08/2009, 9:00 AM
Alonso is a big loss, not just to Liverpool, but the premiership will be poorer for his departure. He was a very elegant player who would take the time to pick out the perfect pass and I would always enjoy watching him play - he was the sort of player young kids should watch to really learn how to master the game. You can't blame him for leaving, Benitez wanted to ship him out last summer. Maybe £38m is good business for them but I dont think his age is a major factor as even if his pace goes 90% of his game will remain intact. He could easily play at the highest level for another 6 years (age of 34).

I loved watching Alonso play. He is a fabulous footballer, the best passer of a ball in the PL in my opinion and I hope he has all the success in the world at Madrid. Interestingly, only 2 players from Rafa's CL winning side are now present at the club.

I dont think Aquilani is a suitable replacement for him personally and I suspect that either Gerrard will be pulled back from his forward roll, with obvious consequences for the Gerrard/Torres partnership or Lucas will start to appear on a more frequent basis which will delight all the other PL sides because he is _____.

However, I still think the title will come to Anfield this season, unless Owen and Valencia turn out to be surprisingly successful at United. Chelsea have their eyes on the CL this season. Arsenal will be the best footballing team in the league but will get muscled out of it by the likes of Bolton, Blackburn, Stoke ..........

Closed Account 2
05/08/2009, 11:34 AM
I think if Arsenal sign a decent striker - Kalou would be a very good signing - and have no injuries to key players (Fabregas, Arshavin, Eduardo or Van Persie) they might win it - but they really lack cover. If any of those players are out for a long spell the wheels will come off. I think Man Utd are in transition and with the loss of Ronaldo and Tevez they will struggle to set up and score goals this season. Also I think this is a season too far for Van Der Saar and it will start to show, despite him having a very good defence in front of him I think he'll be exposed this season. Chelsea have a good squad but are in transition with Ancelotti, had Hiddink stayed I'm sure they would have coasted the league, but Ancelotti may tinker with the system and this could dent their chances. This leaves Liverpool as, in my opinion, the clear favourites. Alonso is a big, big blow, and if Benitez drops Gerrard back to a midfield role then I can see big disruption for Liverpool. If he signs a good replacement for him (maybe Van Der Vaart, Lavezzi, Sessegnon, Misimovic, Kranjcar, Srna) then they will win it.

reder
05/08/2009, 11:52 AM
I think if Arsenal sign a decent striker - Kalou would be a very good signing - and have no injuries to key players (Fabregas, Arshavin, Eduardo or Van Persie) they might win it.

Arsenal need to strengthen at the other end. They will have no problem scoring goals with the players they have in attack but need to strengthen at the back.

Agree with you in relation to Hiddink, if he stayed, there would have been no title race.

papa-j
05/08/2009, 3:49 PM
fair point and it seems beneitz proved his point with both these people.. what's your feeling on alonso leaving... 30 million is good value for a 28 year old who was reportely up for sale last season for 15 million.. my worry is he will be very hard to replace one of liverpools better players last year and may cost them the chance of winning preimership this year ... and maybee mascherano will get itchy feet to leave now as well.. :ball:

He is a huge loss in terms of the current system Liverpool play. Benetiz wont get a similar type player as there are none at his level out there. I think he had intended to change the system anyway and 30 million of the queens money is a good deal for a player who was going for 16 million last year. I think benetiz will only move Gerard back if he signs an Aguero or Villa, otherwise Gerard will stay up front and he will sign an Aquilani(central) and silva( left winger) type player with Mascherano sitting and everyone else licence to get forward. Lucas is improving but not consistant enough yet but he will be a very good player imo. This will be Benetiz's biggest transfer deal yet and will define him as a manager. I will miss Alonso, probably my favourite Liverpool player since Rush, Barnes Beardsley era.

Infadel
05/08/2009, 4:55 PM
Liverpool moved quickly to replace the Alonso departure with the fee agreed with Roma to sign midfielder Alberto Aquilani.
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N165312090805-1649.htm

old git
05/08/2009, 10:35 PM
Liverpool moved quickly to replace the Alonso departure with the fee agreed with Roma to sign midfielder Alberto Aquilani.
http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N165312090805-1649.htm

have i missed something here am i the only one who seems to know nothing about this aquilani... canot remember him even playing for roma in any champions league games .. why all of a sudden he is a class act... why are roma letting him go so .. why did one of the so-called bigger italian teams not sign him or even madrid/ barcelona go for him :ball:

Ciprian Marica
06/08/2009, 8:29 AM
He is a huge loss in terms of the current system Liverpool play. Benetiz wont get a similar type player as there are none at his level out there. I think he had intended to change the system anyway and 30 million of the queens money is a good deal for a player who was going for 16 million last year. I think benetiz will only move Gerard back if he signs an Aguero or Villa, otherwise Gerard will stay up front and he will sign an Aquilani(central) and silva( left winger) type player with Mascherano sitting and everyone else licence to get forward. Lucas is improving but not consistant enough yet but he will be a very good player imo. This will be Benetiz's biggest transfer deal yet and will define him as a manager. I will miss Alonso, probably my favourite Liverpool player since Rush, Barnes Beardsley era.

Why do you think Lucas will be good as a matter of interest? From what I've seen he appears very ordinary and has no passing range whatsoever.

DeLorean
06/08/2009, 9:14 AM
From what I've seen he appears very ordinary

And that's being incredibly generous. You're right he has shown no signs of potential so far and I think 90%+ of Pool fans would agree with you as well.

Infadel
06/08/2009, 9:57 AM
have i missed something here am i the only one who seems to know nothing about this aquilani... canot remember him even playing for roma in any champions league games .. why all of a sudden he is a class act... why are roma letting him go so .. why did one of the so-called bigger italian teams not sign him or even madrid/ barcelona go for him :ball:
Roma are letting him go because they're not in the champions league this year and Aquilani hasn't played much for Roma because he is injury prone- Harry Kewell II anyone?

eamo1
06/08/2009, 10:26 AM
Roma are in up to their eyes in debt.More players will leave them before the start of the season.He's one of their highest paid players so he had to go.He will be centre of midfield for Italy against us in October or whenever that game is.
Liverpool will not win the league this season.It will be Man Utd-Chelsea-Liverpool-Arsenal,same 4 different season.

papa-j
06/08/2009, 5:10 PM
Why do you think Lucas will be good as a matter of interest? From what I've seen he appears very ordinary and has no passing range whatsoever.

few reasons why

1. His pedigree - Captained Brazils u20 team to Sth American championship, won footballer of the year in Brazil at age of 19. So he has a proven pedigree, as much as any previous South American footballer at his age which by the way is 22 years old

2. Experience and playing style - he is entering his third season of playing in the premier league and from watching him towards the end of last season he is steadily getting stronger, sharper awareness and more comfortable on the ball. Added to this, its no coincidence that when Liverpool play a more fluid attacking game rather than a tactical defensive, counter attacking game, based on squeezing the life out of teams then he is at his best ie: Newcastle away and Man u away last season( incidently Alonso did not start either game). His natural position is as an attacking midfielder and with Alonsos departure and the possible change of tactics by Benitez, he will have more freedom and get to show his natural game.

3. I'm an optimist:) that said its a massive year for him and if he doesn't have a consistantly good season then it cold be his last in a Liverpool shirt. I think he will have a big season and prove a lot of doubters wrong. This is all based on what I have seen, have watched him live a few times and his first touch control and movement are excellant. He seems to be getting stonger and more confident so hopefully it will all come together for him. Time will tell:ball:

Real ale Madrid
06/08/2009, 5:17 PM
Liverpool could only scrape past Dunmanway 1-0 today.

Noli
06/08/2009, 5:53 PM
From what ive seen of Lucas he has improved but still everytime he gets the ball i automatically cringe! i dont know what it is but i cant help it, maybe the fact hes come from Brazil and like another poster has said hes captained teams all the way through for the national side, his game has improved but hes just average doesnt do anything spectacular or anything really disasterously.

To be fair to lucas he was in a midfield with Gerrard,Mascherano and Alonso all of which are kwality so its made him look worse than what he was, he was also very accomplished at old trafford back in March ;)

I think theres more of him yet to come,but us liverpool fans have had 20 years of waiting!

DeLorean
06/08/2009, 8:13 PM
have i missed something here am i the only one who seems to know nothing about this aquilani

He must be doin something right:D

http://www.corrieredellosport.it/images/31/C_3_Media_707531_immagine.jpg

old git
06/08/2009, 10:38 PM
He must be doin something right:D

http://www.corrieredellosport.it/images/31/C_3_Media_707531_immagine.jpg

nice one ... looks like he is doin yer one on the right ..:D:

old git
06/08/2009, 10:41 PM
Liverpool could only scrape past Dunmanway 1-0 today.

what liverpool teams was it though... don't think any first team players would have been risked for this.. probaly reserves/ young players :ball:

07/08/2009, 10:56 AM
what liverpool teams was it though... don't think any first team players would have been risked for this.. probaly reserves/ young players :ball:
As far as I heard, they were planning to play one lad who got a run in the Champions League once. You won't recognise any of the Liverpool team unless you follow English football.

DeLorean
07/08/2009, 11:00 AM
This is the closest I could get to anything like a report on the match. No team sheets but there is a photo of the line-ups if ye can recognise anybody!!

Dunmanway 0-1 Liverpool (http://bigredbench.blogspot.com/2009/08/dunmanway-town-0-liverpool-1.html)

07/08/2009, 11:04 AM
This is the closest I could get to anything like a report on the match. No team sheets but there is a photo of the line-ups if ye can recognise anybody!!

Dunmanway 0-1 Liverpool (http://bigredbench.blogspot.com/2009/08/dunmanway-town-0-liverpool-1.html)

Pacheco , Bruna and Nemeth are all good prospects

KK77
07/08/2009, 2:51 PM

Yet he played in probably all three of Liverpools best away league performances last season. 3-0 away at West Ham, 5-1 at Newcastle and the slaughtering of Man U 4-1 at Old Trafford.

DeLorean
07/08/2009, 2:56 PM
Yet he played in probably all three of Liverpools best away league performances last season. 3-0 away at West Ham, 5-1 at Newcastle and the slaughtering of Man U 4-1 at Old Trafford.

I didn't see the West Ham match properly but I thought he was nothing more the average in the other two, despite the excellent results or slaughterings if you will:rolleyes: