View Full Version : Tonights latest

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15

17/10/2008, 10:17 PM
give me 30 minutes Sinead, its only 4.15 here and im still at work... ill have a pint for derry and a can for Bohs.

Sinéad K
17/10/2008, 10:26 PM
Well enjoy, just having a nice chilled Coors tonight myself. Here's to next season, cheers.

17/10/2008, 10:29 PM
same to yourself - have a good one. cheers.

HarpoJoyce
17/10/2008, 10:31 PM
????

Makes no sense.

U23 game is not until next Tuesday so why wouldn't O'Shea be available to Galway tonight

Luckily the FAI provide more teams than Senior and U23.
There was an U21 friendly on Tuesday in Vilnius....that's in Lithuania.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3703
"...It was one-way traffic for most of the second half, with Ireland dominating the game and enjoying great space down both flanks through the lively Scannell and debutant Jay O’Shea.

The two wingers combined on 50 minutes and almost broke the deadlock when Scannell pulled the ball back for O’Shea, whose shot from eight yards was well saved. "

Both Journalist and Hack.
I cannot provide you with the answers to all the questions you asked, because some of your questions didn't include words "..????...".
I cannot and won't help you.

Clear a path and apologise to both Galway Utd. supporters and Bray Wanderers football supporters who may have an answer for me.
You don't.

17/10/2008, 10:50 PM
So what was the question again harpo because like soccerc I couldnt understand what you were saying either?

HarpoJoyce
17/10/2008, 10:53 PM
GUFC 4-0 Bray

Just 2 points behind harps now with the game in hand !

I would just like to also thank bray for giving us Jay O'Shea !

You applauded Bray for Jay.
So did Bray make Jay availabay?

17/10/2008, 10:58 PM
You applauded Bray for Jay.
So did Bray make Jay availabay?

O.K. I applauded bray because they let go O'Shea and let us pick him up on a free. The lad is a little genius and has great things coming to him if he continues his form. Thank God we already have him contracted for next season.

17/10/2008, 11:26 PM
Thank God we already have him contracted for next season.

will he stay though?

17/10/2008, 11:31 PM
very doubtful, but I would expect Leeson to get an offer that would greatly benefit GUFC financially. He off to birmingham city for trials when the current season ends.

WoodquayBoy
17/10/2008, 11:33 PM
Not a notion will O'Shea stay, unfortunately, but he might well give us the present of top flight survival before he goes.
As for the brandishing of handbags between Bohs and Derry fans after tonight's result, I really have to wonder if Derry fans have any grasp of reality. Doesn't matter if ye beat them 10-0 in yer 4 meetings, they strolled it to the league title, ye picked up the league cup - third in importance of 3 domestic trophies. Ye can still win fai cup, but . . . . Bohs cantered to the league. We trounced Bray tonight, knocked them out of 2 cup competitions, but they still look like being a Premier Division side next season, we are still in relegation trouble. Think I'll take any comfort from results between the sides? Not a chance.

17/10/2008, 11:50 PM
Harps are terrible. None of the bottom 4 teams deserve to stay up.

17/10/2008, 11:58 PM
I really have to wonder if Derry fans have any grasp of reality. Doesn't matter if ye beat them 10-0 in yer 4 meetings, they strolled it to the league title, ye picked up the league cup - third in importance of 3 domestic trophies. Ye can still win fai cup, but . . . . Bohs cantered to the league.

WoodquayBoy, any particular reason that you're taking one post by ONE Derry fan and then tarring the rest of us with one big brush? :confused:

18/10/2008, 12:12 AM
Both teams visited Flancare recently and Limerick genuinely impressed me a good deal more even though Waterford beat us 3-0 and Limerick 2-1. Limerick are playing really good football at the moment.

Limerick are coming next year lads.

First Division watch out.

Genuinely a cut above since we got our squad sorted, absolutely wee-weed on Waherfurr tonight.

Happy Days are here again :eek: :D :D

18/10/2008, 12:52 AM
What's particularly impressive is that I heard a figure for your wage bill and all I'll say is you're definitely the best value for money side in the division at the moment (well I suppose I'll exclude Wexford as they're amateur). It was no great secret that there was an awful lot of young lads playing football in Limerick but ye seem to have got a good lot of good young players to come and play for ye for little money this year as opposed to previous years. We'd be looking to operate the same model but it's harder obviously when the surrounding population is less. Having said that there's been a few lads have shown that they want to make a career for themselves if given the chance.

18/10/2008, 1:16 AM
What's particularly impressive is that I heard a figure for your wage bill and all I'll say is you're definitely the best value for money side in the division at the moment (well I suppose I'll exclude Wexford as they're amateur). It was no great secret that there was an awful lot of young lads playing football in Limerick but ye seem to have got a good lot of good young players to come and play for ye for little money this year as opposed to previous years. We'd be looking to operate the same model but it's harder obviously when the surrounding population is less. Having said that there's been a few lads have shown that they want to make a career for themselves if given the chance.

Think 2,000 yo yo.

Now subtract a bit and you're there or there abouts.

I kid you not people, I know for a fact.

Of our starting eleven tonight (which wee-weed all over Waherfurr just to remind ye again) nine of the lads were local with the two exceptions being from Waherfurr and Galway (No Jackeens, an important point for most self respecting Limerick fans)

Of that starting eleven, nine players were aged 22 or under (Wayne Colbert is 22)

Another thing we have going for us in Limerick is the fact that we have players of the calibre of Tommy Barrett, Wayne Colbert and Pat Purcell who would have waltzed on to any team in the First Division but chose to play with Limerick for a relative pittance because it's their local club and they're bloody well proud to do so.

At the moment we have head and shoulders the best midfield in the division, with the four lads having a combined age of 78!!

We also have two whippets upfront and in this division defenders haven't a notion what to do when faced with pace and balls along the floor. The four Waherfurr lads tonight were made to look like monkeys.

Also word around town tonight (from far more reliable sources than usual) of yet another ground move next year.

Happy Days are here again. :D :D :D *

* Traditionally we have always found a way to balls these things up so no need to quote me in twelve months time when we are languising in midtable thanks!!

18/10/2008, 2:02 AM
The oddest thing about our rise this season is that I can actually see what Galway were talking about 2 years ago when they were talking about leaving the deadweights behind them :confused:

18/10/2008, 2:05 AM
The oddest thing about our rise this season is that I can actually see what Galway were talking about 2 years ago when they were talking about leaving the deadweights behind them :confused:

Ya but they had Ciaran Foley and Fran Carter lowering their culture rating by approxiamately 619%

18/10/2008, 3:03 AM
I wrote "I suppose we'll hear the usual excuse."

Right on cue :D

Chapter 1 of the Drog-esque slide completed. :D

Only one place left for Derry to visit in the league. See yis in 3 weeks. ;)

Candystripe
18/10/2008, 4:50 AM
Not a notion will O'Shea stay, unfortunately, but he might well give us the present of top flight survival before he goes.
As for the brandishing of handbags between Bohs and Derry fans after tonight's result, I really have to wonder if Derry fans have any grasp of reality. Doesn't matter if ye beat them 10-0 in yer 4 meetings, they strolled it to the league title, ye picked up the league cup - third in importance of 3 domestic trophies. Ye can still win fai cup, but . . . . Bohs cantered to the league. We trounced Bray tonight, knocked them out of 2 cup competitions, but they still look like being a Premier Division side next season, we are still in relegation trouble. Think I'll take any comfort from results between the sides? Not a chance.

Look Wood boy........we as Derry fans don't worry about lower yoyo table teams.

If you cared to watch posts from both sets of fans over the past few years you would realise that Bohs gave us no credit when we beat them in last years LC final. That was there only chance to qualify for the Setanta cup.

They were not happy chappies at the time. This year we won it for the 4th time in a row and we beat the BIG club 4-1 in the 1/4 final. Since that they have only called us the "minnow club" etc, so why would we now go and congratulate them after taking crap for over a year?

They have failed to beat us in Dalymount in FIVE years, and once again we disrupt there party.

They even take 5 flags of our younger fans at the game tonight incase the camera's pick up whats on them.

So the record this year for the BIG club V us minnows is

Derry V Bohs 2008

Played 4

Derry won 2 drew 2

goals for 5 against 1

And if Bohs had beat us last year in the "minnow cup" they could haqve played in this years Setanta cup..........Maybe thats too minnow for them as well.

Derry= holding our own financially.2008

Bohs= €2.1 million overdrawn.2008

JC_GUFC
18/10/2008, 9:31 AM
Did the commentator just say Paul McTiernan is one of the young guys to get his chance?:confused:

Yeah heard that too - he's was absolutely shocking as a commentator - he didn't know any of the players at all!

At the very end Rico was trying to say something to wrap it up - probably something like "I find it hard to see how Harps are actually not bottom playing like that" but he cut over him TWICE!

brianw82
18/10/2008, 9:43 AM
My neck was sore from agreeing so much with Roddy. That worries me.
He was looking surprisingly sharp, too. Like he'd just come from a job interview or something.

bohs til i die
18/10/2008, 9:50 AM
Derry= holding our own financially.2008

Bohs= €2.1 million overdrawn.2008

That along with the guard of honour last night and your mickey mouse cups proves your only minnows. :)

JC_GUFC
18/10/2008, 9:53 AM
My neck was sore from agreeing so much with Roddy. That worries me.
He was looking surprisingly sharp, too. Like he'd just come from a job interview or something.

So it's true then - Cook to Shams - Roddy to Sligo - Scully to Shels - Keely to Dundalk - Gill to dole

brianw82
18/10/2008, 10:53 AM
So it's true then - Cook to Shams - Roddy to Sligo - Scully to Shels - Keely to Dundalk - Gill to dole

Purple monkey dishwasher.

18/10/2008, 11:15 AM
:o:o:o

HAHA, Brilliant.

18/10/2008, 11:16 AM

Good move for Gill. I hear there will be a lot of people joining the dole next year and that with government backing it's sure to be on the rise.

Duffman
18/10/2008, 3:24 PM
I dont know where the press got that one unless they know something I don't

If a team fields an unregistered player it is a fine and points deduction. The points are never awarded to the opposing team as far as i know

Whats the craic with this today? I can find nothing about it anywhere
Someone got their wiress crossed somewhere ?

stann
18/10/2008, 4:10 PM
I too would be surprised if we were given the points, even if the rules apparently do say they MAY be awarded. For that to happen the FAI would have to deliberately decide it, and the potential repercussions of that decision are way too messy for that.
However, the facts seem to be that our manager was told, by an FAI source, before the Limerick match that the points had been awarded, with the decision to be confirmed this week, which would seem to shoot down my theory of the two stories (this and the twilight saga) getting smeared together somehow.
The Wexford situation was dealt with by the Disciplinary Committee though (I think it was in their mail-out but I'm not at home to check that now) and this wasn't, and you'd have thought it would have been.
Funny one! :D

18/10/2008, 4:13 PM
- Roddy to Sligo -

if that happens,our average attendance will be in the 10's

JC_GUFC
18/10/2008, 8:29 PM
Athlone beat Mons 1-0 tonight.

Latest in the Prem

Cobh 2 UCD 0

Rovers 1 Pat's 1

Cobh out of the drop zone with 3 games to go assuming they hang on.

Cobh would be on 26, Harps 25, Galway 23 with a game in hand and UCD on 21.

After last night's result Galway's GD is easily the best of the bottom 4.

dublinred
18/10/2008, 9:39 PM

Cook is the latest of a long line of fine mangers and players to come from a special Sligo Rovers source in the UK , the source is a legend and hopefully will continue to help the bit of red.

The Lilywhites
19/10/2008, 1:58 AM
GUFC 4-0 Bray

Rumours of match fixing on...

http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8798

Any truth to it?

Maroon 7
19/10/2008, 2:44 AM
Rumours of match fixing on...

http://www.thebohs.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8798

Any truth to it?

Looks a fairly soild case. Someone call Matlock.:D

Jeebus
19/10/2008, 3:50 AM
Looks a fairly soild case. Someone call Matlock.:D

I would have put McGarnacle on the case..................

.......... or at worst Sean Connor

19/10/2008, 2:59 PM
Any truth to it?

It can't be proven but it's not the first time this season that I've heard suspicious tales.

19/10/2008, 5:35 PM
Just a little insurance in case they didn't get paid that week. Understandable ;) .

geezer
19/10/2008, 6:38 PM
to be said that bray did look like a team that hadnt been paid they were brutal. Utd can only play against the 11 that are put in front of them. St Pats V Cobh last week was a bit strange as well with so many out "injured" for pats.
You would wonder if they were 3 points behind bohs at this stage of the season would there be that many out "sick"

19/10/2008, 11:54 PM
Wouldn't surprise me if I woke up in the morning to find out the whole damn enterprise was fixed.

There is always, ALWAYS, a chinese guy with a transistor radio at First Division matches

L37Ultra
20/10/2008, 12:08 AM
There is always, ALWAYS, a chinese guy with a transistor radio at First Division matches

Don't worry, he was just ringing in my order for Chinese Palace on the way home :p

20/10/2008, 12:34 AM
Wouldn't surprise me if I woke up in the morning to find out the whole damn enterprise was fixed.

True, I meant to comment on that before. There's always a Chinese guy with a radio in Flancare for every match. Must be a bit of money being put on somewhere because he certainly isn't there to be entertained this season.

20/10/2008, 9:56 AM
There are people at most games who do commentating for betting websites all over the world. Alot of them are chinese but there are others too.

20/10/2008, 10:05 AM
St Pats V Cobh last week was a bit strange as well with so many out "injured" for pats.
You would wonder if they were 3 points behind bohs at this stage of the season would there be that many out "sick"

Of those who didn't play v Cobh, only Damian Lynch played the 90 minutes v Rovers. Quigley came back too early and had to go off at half time. O'brien was suspended (not injured) and came back

Pats players have been playing 2 games a week for the last 2 months so its pretty obvious that a lot of players would pick up niggling injuries.

Mr Maroon
20/10/2008, 6:55 PM
There are people at most games who do commentating for betting websites all over the world. Alot of them are chinese but there are others too.
That must be how Xscores.com and the like work... I'd always wondered

GuisaSaigon
20/10/2008, 7:12 PM
Galway 1-0 UP Faherty!

kev mcq
20/10/2008, 7:15 PM
FFS :rolleyes: That's it....lie down again Pats

gilberto_eire
20/10/2008, 7:23 PM
FFS :rolleyes: That's it....lie down again Pats

Thanks... we hope so too!!

20/10/2008, 7:32 PM
9 changes in the St. Pat's team! :eek:

20/10/2008, 7:32 PM
Pats make NINE changes from Saturday. FFS.

20/10/2008, 7:34 PM
Pats make NINE changes from Saturday. FFS.Can't really complain when your own team aren't playing good enough to stay up anyway. It's in Pat's own interest to rest their best players for cup game so naturally they're gonna do it.

20/10/2008, 7:35 PM
Well said, sligoman. I was just coming on here to say that.