View Full Version : Tonights latest

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

06/10/2008, 8:48 PM
Wallace saying all the Lk players were happy to warm up anywhere as long the game went ahead, 19:20 was when he relented, 40 minutes is more than enough for a warm up.

Warm up, team talk and working through last minute instructions?

Splurge
06/10/2008, 8:49 PM
Wexford manager Mick Wallace was furious after the postponement:
'Limerick refused to warm up on our second pitch and asked to train on the match pitch. In our 18 month history in the First Division, no team in the league has warmed up on the match pitch before the game.
'Limerick have been here five times and warmed up on the second pitch on each occasion. Our match pitch is the best pitch in the league and our second pitch is the second best pitch in the league.

'Limerick refused to warm up on the second pitch and threatened to leave, so at 7.20, I informed them that they could in fact warm-up on the main pitch.
'This is against our policy but I did not want to cause trouble and there was about 500 supporters here who I wanted to be able to watch a game of football but at that stage they decided there was not enough time left to warm up.
He added: 'This seemed a crazy scenario seeing as Wexford Youths had not started to warm up. Teams generally take 20 to 25 minutes for a warm up and that would still have allowed Limerick back in the dressing room at 7.45.

'It does appear that Limerick did not want to play the game. We had noted that it was strange that two of their better players, Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were not in the starting 11 for some reason. Maybe there were problems that we didn't know about.'

06/10/2008, 8:49 PM
Wallace now insinuating that Limerick had an ulterior motive...

See here... (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2008/1006/wexford_limerick37.html)

Splurge
06/10/2008, 8:50 PM
Warm up, team talk and working through last minute instructions?

yeah, and we hadnt started warming up either, beats the **** out of throwing your toys out of the pram and going home

Smooth move from Wallace :rolleyes:

Splurge

'It does appear that Limerick did not want to play the game. We had noted that it was strange that two of their better players, Gary Sheehan and John Tierney were not in the starting 11 for some reason. Maybe there were problems that we didn't know about.'

L37Ultra
06/10/2008, 8:51 PM

Thats not good.. :mad:

06/10/2008, 8:51 PM
yeah, and we hadnt started warming up either, beats the **** out of throwing your toys out of the pram and going home

Or being childish and not affording visiting teams the same respect in regards to your facilities as they do to you, wouldn't be Wallace's pathetic attempts at mind games would it :rolleyes:

06/10/2008, 8:52 PM
Derry 3-0

Farren (hattrick) :D

06/10/2008, 8:54 PM
Derry 3-0

Nobody cares, the real story is in Wexford tonight! :p

Derry 3-0

Quiet you, no one cares about your small potatoes cup

:p:)

EDIT: SLK, Blast!

Splurge
Or being childish and not affording visiting teams the same respect in regards to your facilities as they do to you, wouldn't be Wallace's pathetic attempts at mind games would it :rolleyes:

Wallace allways gives the visiting team a full meal afterwards and offers them full facilities, its not like our lads were on the good pitch or anything. We train there all yr round and it's fine.
LK should be hit hard for this.

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 8:55 PM
A lot of L37 fans V Youths fans here and none of us have the truth yet. Perhaps we should wait until some sort of referees' report of FAI observers' report comes out before comments get out of hand.

In any event, neither club is covered in glory and league members reflect the league itself.

06/10/2008, 8:56 PM
In any event, neither club is covered in glory and league members reflect the league itself.

Agree with that.

L37Ultra
06/10/2008, 8:56 PM

Really?

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:00 PM
Really?

the guys on Newstalks off the ball were also of this opinion.

06/10/2008, 9:01 PM
Quiet you, no one cares about your small potatoes cup

:p:)

EDIT: SLK, Blast!

Sorry lads - flame away :D

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 9:02 PM
Agree with that.

Ah Jebus, I can't agree with you agreeing with me

L37Ultra
06/10/2008, 9:02 PM

Them guys havn't a clue. They probably don't even though who Wexford and Limerick are. They were just agreeing with Wallace. His comments were bit over the top aswell. :ball:

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:04 PM
A lot of L37 fans V Youths fans here and none of us have the truth yet. Perhaps we should wait until some sort of referees' report of FAI observers' report comes out before comments get out of hand.

Whatever about the rights and wrongs of it, LK should have accepted the 20 past 7 peace offering. For refusing that alone they should be punished.

06/10/2008, 9:05 PM

If the pitch in question is adequately lit (and I mean to some sort of official standard as opposed to Splurge's own) then Limerick do have a case to answer both to Wexford/FAI and our own fans who'd travelled. Conversely if the field is poorly lit then Limerick are 100% in the right IMO and Wexford Youths should be held culpable for failing to provide a suitable spot to warm up in. At that stage it's totally irrelevent if Waterford, Watford or Juventus gave them the thumbs up. Is there an official requirement?

Spot on. On both counts.

Oh well they're informed experts that were there so that clears it up... :rolleyes:

06/10/2008, 9:06 PM
Whatever about the rights and wrongs of it

Are you for real man? The whole issue is about the rights and wrongs of it! :D

06/10/2008, 9:08 PM
Yeah it does seem strange that they'd insist on it tonight when they never did before. Either way I expect Limerick will be hammered as I said already. You can't just feck off on the bus like that whatever your grievances. I feel sorry for the fans of both teams who turned up to watch but particularly Limerick. Just in relation to the warming up on the pitch issue, I think Derry used to make us warm up on a side pitch before the game. I may be wrong but I think that was the case. It was never a big issue really anyway.

that is true longfordian from my experiences of goin up to the brandywell I always saw the town players warmin down on the trainin pitch afterwards...:)

06/10/2008, 9:10 PM
Sounds like Wallace acting the b0llocks and getting his bluff called to be honest. Token fine for both teams and refix the game would seem the most judicious decision.

06/10/2008, 9:11 PM
Sounds like Wallace acting the b0llocks and getting his bluff called to be honest. Token fine for both teams and refix the game would seem the most judicious decision.

I'm inclined to agree with you. Gut feeling is less positive though. :o

Youths4Ever
06/10/2008, 9:14 PM

The match delegate at the game would not comment to press so up FAI will probably wait till tomorrow to make a statement when then hear from ref and match delegate.

Can see both teams getting in trouble but can anyone clarify have Wexford broken any rules?

This was not a first from Limerick then asked at last home game to warm up on main pitch but was denied as under18 cup final on pitch on the Sunday as well.

When then where told to then could warm up at 7.20 why not do so?
It was enough time I have seen plenty of teams warm up this year home and away the majority for no more than 20 mins. Most teams come out at 7.25 7.30 till 7.45 7.50 for 8pm kick off.

Also Limerick in no real position to take moral high ground on facilities not sure if in this forum but teams refusing to change in dressing rooms twice this season was mentioned.

Hope all the fans got back ok as was told not sure if true that some Limerick supporters had traveled down with team but team left without them.

oriel
06/10/2008, 9:17 PM
We`re not that used to playing on grass, can we apply to warm up around 2pm next Friday for our match in Wexford ?:D

06/10/2008, 9:18 PM
Players warm down on the side pitch in Derry but warm up on main pitch...or at least we do when playing up there anyway.

06/10/2008, 9:25 PM
Also Limerick in no real position to take moral high ground on facilities not sure if in this forum but teams refusing to change in dressing rooms twice this season was mentioned

Not the issue. If we had better changing rooms we wouldn't stop you using them, as it is this is one aspect Kerley is trying to improve at Limerick as he focuses on getting the best standard of facilities for the players.

Wexford had a perfectly lit pitch available for use but wanted to shove us up to a 'not great' one. Saying he doesn't want the grass damaged is nonsense to be honest, he was trying to play mind games and had his bluff called

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:29 PM
Not the issue. If we had better changing rooms we wouldn't stop you using them, as it is this is one aspect Kerley is trying to improve at Limerick as he focuses on getting the best standard of facilities for the players.
Wexford had a perfectly lit pitch available for use but wanted to shove us up to a 'not great' one. Saying he doesn't want the grass damaged is nonsense to be honest, he was trying to play mind games and had his bluff called

Mind games!! He does this for every game, and he "shoves" our lads onto it aswell. We train on it all year round, it's perfectly ok to train on and to warm up on.
Either way the sulk paid of and WYFC agreed to let youse on 40 minutes before KO, we hadnt started to warm up yet either so we were in the same boat. But i read somewhere that the referee called LK37 out at 7:55 and they wernt there so there has to be only one outcome.

06/10/2008, 9:30 PM
Mind games!! He does this for every game, and he "shoves" our lads onto it aswell. We train on it all year round, it's perfectly ok to train on and to warm up on.
Either way the sulk paid of and WYFC agreed to let youse on 40 minutes before KO, we hadnt started to warm up yet either so we were in the same boat. But i read somewhere that the referee called LK37 out at 7:55 and they wernt there so there has to be only one outcome.

So we left at 7.35 and the ref hadn't realised this at 7.55 :rolleyes:

06/10/2008, 9:31 PM
quit with your mind games nonsense. all teams have warmed up on the other pitch for last 2 years.

06/10/2008, 9:32 PM
quit with your mind games nonsense. all teams have warmed up on the other pitch for last 2 years.

So what?

Inside Man
06/10/2008, 9:32 PM
Can't help but laugh. I have to wonder why the hell i support this rubbish and spend so much money on it every year. And have to stick up with all my mates blabbering on how the league is a joke. Well at times like these its hard to defend it in any shape or form.

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:33 PM
So we left at 7.35 and the ref hadn't realised this at 7.55 :rolleyes:

It's obvious this is the treashold where LK37 didnt fulfill a fixture. We'll get the pts and you'll get a kick in the hole.

Battery Rover
06/10/2008, 9:34 PM
Dont see what all the fuss is about. All teams warm up on the second pitch The surface is as good as the main one and the lighting is fine for warm ups.

Youths4Ever
06/10/2008, 9:35 PM

Very much the issue as Limerick refused to warm up due to health and safety reasons on the second pitch so surely inadequate changing rooms are a matter of health and safety.

Wexford also going to warm up on to a "not great" one as you put it of which the playing surface is equal to if not better than the pitch in Jackman. I will admit that the floodlights would not stand up to a match but are adequate for warming up otherwise teams at this of year or later last year would have complained.

no mind games no visiting team has warmed up on the main pitch expect Derry and that was FAI decision.

06/10/2008, 9:36 PM
It's obvious this is the treashold where LK37 didnt fulfill a fixture. We'll get the pts and you'll get a kick in the hole.

Couldn't care less about the points, as long as the FAI tell your lot to either light the training pitch adequately or let teams warm up on your main pitch I'll be happy

Very much the issue as Limerick refused to warm up due to health and safety reasons on the second pitch so surely inadequate changing rooms are a matter of health and safety.

Wexford also going to warm up on to a "not great" one as you put it of which the playing surface is equal to if not better than the pitch in Jackman

The FAI have looked at them and we are improving them, not much more we can do this season. The Youths on the other hand seem to pulling this trick for no good reason

And I didn't say it was a 'not great' pitch, your fellow fans did a few pages back

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:38 PM
It's sort of a good will gesture aswell from the away team, to keep the pitch in as good shape as possible BOTH teams warm up on the perfectly adequate training pitch
As LK decided to act the ****** WYFC gave in, but then LK inexplicably left.

The FAI have looked at them and we are improving them, not much more we can do this season. The Youths on the other hand seem to pulling this trick for no good reason.
And I didn't say it was a 'not great' pitch, your fellow fans did a few pages back

Not the point.
We gave in in the end, but that still wasnt good enough, 40 minutes is adequate for both teams to warm up. LK ****ed off, LK should be hit.

06/10/2008, 9:41 PM
So what?

So what you whining on about. Poor victims of mind games.

06/10/2008, 9:41 PM
It's sort of a good will gesture aswell from the away team, to keep the pitch in as good shape as possible BOTH teams warm up on the perfectly adequate training pitch
As LK decided to act the ****** WYFC gave in, but then LK inexplicably left.

A goodwill gesture is something you offer, we obviously didn't offer to train on a pitch that only has lights for half of it, that even then are of a poor standard, and even then are usually facing away from the pitch to the car park. This is what a Wexford fan said that pitch is like a few pages back and it sounds like something you wouldn't see in schoolboy football

So what you whining on about. Poor victims of mind games. Havent heard such crying since I left the maternity ward 11 yrs ago.

Still obsessed with taking cheap shots at Limerick people I see :rolleyes:
Thanks for your startling contribution Magicme

Youths4Ever
06/10/2008, 9:44 PM
The Youths on the other hand seem to pulling this trick for no good reason

What trick are you talking about?

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:46 PM
A goodwill gesture is something you offer, we obviously didn't offer to train on a pitch that only has lights for half of it, that even then are of a poor standard, and even then are usually facing away from the pitch to the car park. This is what a Wexford fan said that pitch is like a few pages back and it sounds like something you wouldn't see in schoolboy football

Fair enough, even though i and the rest of the country agree that the pitch and the lights are fine.
Problem is the LK37 whinge paid off but then you stormed off in a huff. Bitch all you want about our pitch with the lights facing the other way(???) but you sulked your way onto the main pitch but then fecked off. This is where the offence has occured. The ref called both teams out at 7:55, once wasnt there.

Monkfish
06/10/2008, 9:46 PM
Whats this **** wallace is saying about us having problems cause two of our better players are on the bench? get over yourself mick, there needed for a much bigger game this Sat night and after having given the Fingal defence the run around for 90mins the previous friday im not so sure starting them on the bench is such a bad call from Mick Kerley.

Lighting on the training pitch was poor im to beleive, not the first time Wexford have had issues with lighting now is it? :rolleyes:
however Kerley should not have stormed off on the bus.

Oh i cant wait for Wexfords first visit to Limerick next year. :)

adamd164
06/10/2008, 9:47 PM
Limerick are dead right. Wallace is acting like a muppet. I saw his moanings over Derry training on it before the LC final and he just sounds like a bitter, overly obsessional fool.

Splurge
06/10/2008, 9:48 PM
What trick are you talking about?

The mind games, by making LK train in a pitch 7 miles away, with floodlights facing into the next door girls boarding school dorms where it happens to be underwear swap night and then puncturing the tyres on the bus before they returned.

Youths4Ever
06/10/2008, 9:48 PM
Oh i cant wait for Wexfords first visit to Limerick next year. :)

should be entertaining

Monkfish
06/10/2008, 9:49 PM
So what you whining on about. Poor victims of mind games. Havent heard such crying since I left the maternity ward 11 yrs ago.

Shouldnt you be living your life on the off topic section of this site with the rest of the weirdos instead of having a go at us again?

Monkfish
06/10/2008, 9:50 PM
could be back in Wexford again yet this year

Hopefully ;)

06/10/2008, 9:50 PM
Fair enough, even though i and the rest of the country agree that the pitch and the lights are fine.
Problem is the LK37 whinge paid off but then you stormed off in a huff. Bitch all you want about our pitch with the lights facing the other way(???) but you sulked your way onto the main pitch but then fecked off. This is where the offence has occured. The ref called both teams out at 7:55, once wasnt there.

I've already said we don't come out of this in a good light and I believe Kerley should have stuck around til at least 8. I do agree with him not playing if Wexford aren't providing us with a suitable place to warm up (in our teams eyes, not yours) especially if there's a good pitch that's well lit sitting empty right in front of you.

As for the lights not being turned the right way, it's what one of your fellow fans said a few pages back, I've never been to Ferrycarrig that's why I was asking earlier on what the standard of pitch is and what the lighting is like, and what I printed above is the answer I recieved a few pages back