View Full Version : Tonights latest

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

03/10/2008, 9:01 PM
stuff

kdjac

Considering the crowd ye dragged from inchicore for a final a few miles away it was a joke. That intercity traffic, awful stuff.

03/10/2008, 9:03 PM
Great results for Galway and UCD tonight. The relegation battle will go down to the wire this year.

kdjaC
03/10/2008, 9:42 PM
Considering the crowd ye dragged from inchicore for a final a few miles away it was a joke. That intercity traffic, awful stuff.

Would you say we had 4000 at it? or maybe more?

kdjac

03/10/2008, 10:16 PM
Bohs were brilliant in the first half, not so in the second. I think they kind of relaxed too much in the second half. Some really bad defending in that game tonight, from both sides.

03/10/2008, 10:27 PM
enough slagging about crowds lads, attendances throughout the whole league is an embarrassment - and its not the fault of the fans, its the fault of the soccer mad irish public.

brianw82
03/10/2008, 11:17 PM
Yeah, this slagging of crowds is just pathetic at this stage. It's like someone boasting they have a 3-inch willy and you've only a 2-incher.

sonofstan
03/10/2008, 11:27 PM
Bohs were brilliant in the first half, not so in the second. I think they kind of relaxed too much in the second half. Some really bad defending in that game tonight, from both sides.

Think I'd replace the word's in bold with 'adequate' and 'dreadful' myself - fair play to Bray though, caused us more problems than other, more vaunted sides have this year (I'm looking north, about 30 miles, in particular)

Rovers fan
04/10/2008, 12:08 AM
could mention the sparse crowd i saw for your Cup Replay against Fingal the other day - but I won't

Eh,you did mention it......

04/10/2008, 12:38 AM
Great results for Galway and UCD tonight. The relegation battle will go down to the wire this year.

Harps are still 7 points clear aren't they? I hope it gets a wee bit more interesting but I think it's all over to be honest..

04/10/2008, 12:59 AM
one all between Limerick and Fingal tonight. Limerick battered um. Could have been 10 1 and thats no joke

HarpoJoyce
04/10/2008, 1:08 AM
Harps are still 7 points clear aren't they? I hope it gets a wee bit more interesting but I think it's all over to be honest..

No, 4 points (UCD) and Galway (5 points plus a Pat's away game in hand).

There hasn't been much movement down there for a while, except from Harps of course. But Galway and Cobh pulled off some good draws before tonight.
With the huge gaps in talent in the table it's difficult for poorer sides to get the (expected?) unbeaten runs together.

I think Galway's win against Cork is the best result from an underdog so far this season. At least since Bray v. Drogs or Derry but Bray showed they were a Mid-Table standard around that time too.

04/10/2008, 10:06 AM

Am seriously wondering about you.Harps are 5 points ahead of us with 1 game more played and have to play us in terryland.They are 4 points ahead of UCD.

04/10/2008, 11:27 AM
No, 4 points (UCD) and Galway (5 points plus a Pat's away game in hand).

Harps are 5 points ahead of us with 1 game more played and have to play us in terryland.They are 4 points ahead of UCD.

Aertel had Harps seven points clear when I checked it last night when I got in (they still haven't updated it actually). I'd no reason to think it was wrong. Anyway that does change things alright. Good wins for Galway and UCD last night. They should show that Galway - Harps match on TV..

Am seriously wondering about you.

I'm seriously wondering about me too. This promotion race stuff is an emotional roller coaster.

HarpoJoyce
04/10/2008, 11:38 AM
Aertel had Harps seven points clear when I checked it last night when I got in (they still haven't updated it actually). I'd no reason to think it was wrong.......

That's right I noticed that early this morning when I got in too. I use Aertel an awful lot.
The table hasn't being updated yet, but Drogheda Zero is gone. Probably waiting on the Cobh-Shamrock Rovers game and trying to save paper.

04/10/2008, 11:43 AM
That's right I noticed that early this morning when I got in too. I use Aertel an awful lot.
The table hasn't being updated yet, but Drogheda Zero is gone. Probably waiting on the Cobh-Shamrock Rovers game and trying to save paper.

They're usually the quickest at updating the table in fairness to them. Plus the table says Oct 3rd on it which gives the impression that it was updated.

adamd164
04/10/2008, 8:46 PM
Cobh beat Rovers 1-0 tonight to leapfrog Galway once again.

5 points between the bottom four... getting very interesting indeed.

The Lilywhites
04/10/2008, 8:58 PM
Good to see Galway back on bottom :D :D :D

05/10/2008, 12:29 AM
Great weekend for the relegation battle, except for Harps obviously. Good to see things liven up.

05/10/2008, 1:45 AM
5 points between the bottom four... getting very interesting indeed.

Last week, we had posters crying that the relegation battle was over. :confused::rolleyes:

gilberto_eire
05/10/2008, 2:51 AM
Good to see Galway back on bottom :D :D :D

Thanks Maxi

viagogo
05/10/2008, 10:59 AM
Great win for Cobh last though Rovers were clearly the better team. Very unlucky with a shot off the bar near the end but Cobh hung on. The relegation battle is looking very interesting.

The Lilywhites
05/10/2008, 12:27 PM
Thanks Maxi

Is that the best you could come up with?

Happy Relegation! :p

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 6:38 PM
Just heard that the L37 team have left Ferrycarrig Park 'cos Mick won't let them warm up on the pitch....................

06/10/2008, 6:43 PM
Just heard that the L37 team have left Ferrycarrig Park 'cos Mick won't let them warm up on the pitch....................

Eh? Could you elaborate please when you have more info?

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 6:48 PM
I wasn't able to go to the game myself but my wife and son are up there. All teams (incl Youths) have always warmed up on the adjacent pitch. Seemingly, the ref must wait until 8pm and the Youths must take the field. This isn't going to end pretty. I'll update later

06/10/2008, 6:52 PM
A walkover ?

ForzaWexford
06/10/2008, 6:54 PM
I'm up in Dublin but my brother just rang me there a few minutes ago. Basically it's rainging in the sunny south east and Limerick 37 said they wanted to warm up on the front pitch. Mick said no you can warm up on the back pitch like everyone has for the last 2 years. Limerick decided they would leave if they weren't allowed to warm up on front pitch. When Mick wouldn't budge, they started to pack up and get back on the bus. Mick said alright then ye can warm up on the front pitch, they still fecked off.

Nonsense really. By right I think Mick should let teams warm up on the front pitch but I suppose he wants to keep it in as good condition as possible. On the other hand it's not as if Limerick 37 have never played in the feckin place before.

Would be a pity if the game doesn't go ahead. Particularly for any Limerick fans that may have travelled down.

06/10/2008, 6:54 PM
If the don't play the game they'll be deducted points and probably Wexford given the game too. Though I'm sure it wont come to that. One of those infamous delayed kick-offs no doubt.

06/10/2008, 6:56 PM
Crazy stuff, is there an ulterior motive for Limerick not wanting to play?

06/10/2008, 6:58 PM
Crazy stuff, is there an ulterior motive for Limerick not wanting to play?

Not that I'm aware of, I think most of our players (if not all) got time off work. Our people in charge are pretty level headed as well so this doesn't sound right at all. I'll try and get full details from our end of things

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 6:59 PM
Sick to the stomach at the thought of the fallout here.

Youths coming on the pitch as we speak

06/10/2008, 7:00 PM
Hopefully just a delayed kick-off so, the league has had enough bad press recenlty.

06/10/2008, 7:09 PM
Any update?

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 7:11 PM
Apologies, our players didn't come out, just officials who then went back inside. The crowd are drifting away

ForzaWexford
06/10/2008, 7:12 PM
Brother reckons they're not coming back. Wouldn't see the likes of this in the Playsport 365 Wexford Football League! :o

06/10/2008, 7:12 PM
What an absolute joke, no doubt there'll be some nice fines handed out here.

06/10/2008, 7:13 PM
Seems very petty but will wait to hear what the full story is. Cant imagine clubs want a fixture pile up. I'd imagine that away teams are entitled to warmup or train on the actual pitch prior to kick-off.

06/10/2008, 7:15 PM
I'd imagine that away teams are entitled to warmup or train on the actual pitch prior to kick-off.I'd say so too but the fact Limerick team left before kick off then both clubs will prob be in trouble. Surely the ref had right to tell Mick Wallace to let them train on main pitch?

sligofan4ever
06/10/2008, 7:17 PM
I'd say so too but the fact Limerick team left before kick off then both clubs will prob be in trouble. Surely the ref had right to tell Mick Wallace to let them train on main pitch?

Why would both teams be in trouble ? its not wexford yths fault the match might be called off.

06/10/2008, 7:18 PM
Feel sorry for anyone who travelled up from Limerick. It seems very strange that this has never come up before with an away team.

oldyouth
Floodlights being turned off

Well if what the Wexford fan above says is true and that Wallace agreed to let them warm up in the end then Limerick seem to be more to blame. I'd expect them to be hammered if they refuse to play.

06/10/2008, 7:20 PM
Why would both teams be in trouble ? its not wexford yths fault the match might be called off.Both of my reasons are in the post if you read it.

06/10/2008, 7:22 PM
Match is off according to Aertel. The FAI will not like this one little bit.

ForzaWexford
06/10/2008, 7:25 PM
Well if what the Wexford fan above says is true and that Wallace agreed to let them warm up in the end then Limerick seem to be more to blame. I'd expect them to be hammered if they refuse to play.

Well my brother isn't exactly in the inner sanctum of Wexford Youths, but according to him when Limerick were boarding the bus Mick gave in and said that they could warm up on the main pitch. Maybe he didn't say this. Maybe he did. Either way it's pretty pathetic that the game couldn't go ahead, particularly for any Limerick fans that travelled down.

oldyouth
06/10/2008, 7:26 PM
Feel sorry for anyone who travelled up from Limerick. It seems very strange that this has never come up before with an away team.
It came up last week in the League Cup final. Mick criticised Stephen Kenny for being the only visiting manager who insisted on warming up on it. I'm not taking sides till I hear all the facts but I think this was L37s 6th visit in 2 years to the pitch.

Gutted for any fans who travelled. A wicked Monday night to do so

06/10/2008, 7:29 PM
I can understand him wanting to keep the pitch in good condition, but that seems a bit weird to not let any team use the pitch prior to kick off. I wonder is there any preceedence for this. Unfortunately I sure this will be used as another stick to beat the league with by the media.

06/10/2008, 7:29 PM
Yeah it does seem strange that they'd insist on it tonight when they never did before. Either way I expect Limerick will be hammered as I said already. You can't just feck off on the bus like that whatever your grievances. I feel sorry for the fans of both teams who turned up to watch but particularly Limerick. Just in relation to the warming up on the pitch issue, I think Derry used to make us warm up on a side pitch before the game. I may be wrong but I think that was the case. It was never a big issue really anyway.

Gareth
06/10/2008, 7:32 PM
We have a story up on the Limerick sitauation. We cahtted with Mick Wallace.

Battery Rover
06/10/2008, 7:34 PM
Seems very petty but will wait to hear what the full story is. Cant imagine clubs want a fixture pile up. I'd imagine that away teams are entitled to warmup or train on the actual pitch prior to kick-off.

We ask all teams to warm up on our main pitch not even for the internationals they warm up on the training pitch. No one has ever refused. It shows respect for the facilities to agree with this.

Expect a 10k fine minimum for refusing to play if its true