31/10/2008, 8:09 PM
3-2 Bray
tippex
31/10/2008, 8:09 PM
Get in 3-2 bray. Gary Cronin.
tippex
31/10/2008, 8:14 PM
still can't figure out how we are still in this game never mind winning (no smart comments about putting the ball in the net more than cobh please)
Mental Man
31/10/2008, 8:23 PM
Blues 2, Kildare 0
Vinny Sullivan, Dave Warren
The Lilywhites
31/10/2008, 8:32 PM
So is Stephen Parkhouse :p
Goughy is a legend :eek:
FIX !!!!!
Just thought I get it in early !
31/10/2008, 8:36 PM
4-1 to Monaghan against Longford.
sligofan4ever
31/10/2008, 8:38 PM
Drogheda must be playing badly if there not able to keep a lead against Finn Harps :eek:.
31/10/2008, 8:41 PM
make that 5-1. Thank you Mr Hand!!
The Lilywhites
31/10/2008, 8:42 PM
Go on Harps! :D:D:D
The Lilywhites
31/10/2008, 8:43 PM
make that 5-1. Thank you Mr Hand!!
Goalkeeping errors? Should have stuck with Gally in goals.
31/10/2008, 9:55 PM
All sympathy I had for UCD and it's fans has jumped out of the window on fire tonight - having received a good number of threatening emails from what purported to be some of their fans after the game tonight.
Enjoy the First Division - you deserve it
galway -v- harps the live broadcast next week.
31/10/2008, 9:59 PM
having received a good number of threatening emails from what purported to be some of their fans after the game tonight.
Ehhhhhhhhhhhh?:confused:
31/10/2008, 10:09 PM
All sympathy I had for UCD and it's fans has jumped out of the window on fire tonight - having received a good number of threatening emails from what purported to be some of their fans after the game tonight.
Name and Shame !!!!!!!!!!
sonofstan
31/10/2008, 10:10 PM
Battling for survival and you had fewer than 100 fans there? at least some people care about Harps/ Cobh/ Galway.
31/10/2008, 10:13 PM
LOL @ threatening e-mails (not at Reitoir, just the idea of them..)
31/10/2008, 10:14 PM
the battle is over sonofstan, with ye beating them tonight and harps winning they are relegated. They have 2 games left and are now 7 points behind harps who are fourth from bottom.
31/10/2008, 10:17 PM
The important thing is for them to finish last, with the Drogs/Cork situation they might be reprieved otherwise. Réiteoir - pass 'em on the guards, or better yet post them up here!
31/10/2008, 10:18 PM
How threatening can a UCD fan possibly be?!?!
:D :D :D
Damn them and their flagrant obeying of the rules to hell!!!
31/10/2008, 10:20 PM
Name and Shame !!!!!!!!!!
I've communicated with Reiteoir about the name and e-mail. Doesn't seem to be anyone I've ever heard of.:confused:
the battle is over sonofstan, with ye beating them tonight and harps winning they are relegated. They have 2 games left and are now 7 points behind harps who are fourth from bottom.
Our battle ended when we lost to Cobh a fortnight ago.
31/10/2008, 10:20 PM
Battling for survival and you had fewer than 100 fans there? at least some people care about Harps/ Cobh/ Galway.
People care about UCD aswell though
Is a UCD fan who goes to every game any less of a fan than a Cobh fan who goes to every game just because Cobh have more fans??*
*Having briefly looked at that bad joke in the Carlisle Grounds tonight, I'm not sure anyone cares about anything anymore!
31/10/2008, 10:22 PM
UCD v Limerick is going to be an awful love-in next year. LTID and SLK won't know which blues to support.
31/10/2008, 10:25 PM
UCD v Limerick is going to be an awful love-in next year. LTID and SLK won't know which blues to support.
The shifty looking ones. ;) :p
Will be refreshing to watch an actual game of football in the First Division anyway. :ball:
sonofstan
31/10/2008, 10:37 PM
People care about UCD aswell though
Is a UCD fan who goes to every game any less of a fan than a Cobh fan who goes to every game just because Cobh have more fans??*
No, but the point was this; I've been at games in UCD where they've had way more of their own than tonight, but this is the first time I've been there where as much hung on the result for them* - whereas I'm sure the other 3 relegation battlers would muster all of their support for the last ditch.
* if they'd won tonight and Cobh and Harps had lost, they would still have been in with a chance
31/10/2008, 10:40 PM
No, but the point was this; I've been at games in UCD where they've had way more of their own than tonight, but this is the first time I've been there where as much hung on the result for them* - whereas I'm sure the other 3 relegation battlers would muster all of their support for the last ditch.
* if they'd won tonight and Cobh and Harps had lost, they would still have been in with a chance
Still genuinely struggling to see any sort of point??
sonofstan
31/10/2008, 11:09 PM
Still genuinely struggling to see any sort of point??
Assuming UCD have a support base, however small, of slightly more than the 50-100 that were there tonight, I would hope that for any club in their situation, everyone who counted themselves as any kind of fan would show up for what was certainly their last chance of staying up. They didn't. Which suggests that much of their already slender support is pretty casual. And while I accept that a sincere UCD fan is as sincere as any similarly sincere fan of any other club, a club needs a certain critical mass for the singular enthusiasms of a few nutters to become a fan base; and, perhaps more importantly, there needs to be a geographical connection with an area that can be marshalled as a reserve army in times of trial. Put it this way; if Harps or Cobh survive, everyone in Ballybofey or Cobh will know it, and most will rejoice, even if they never go to games (true to a lesser extent in Galway) ..... a situation that does not translate to the rest of Belfield, never mind Dublin 4.
01/11/2008, 1:03 AM
It was Halloween. Parents have different stuff to do with their children (eh, eh). Our crowd of 100-150 was no more reflective of our usual support than Bohs' (frankly pathetic, but hey, we'll skip over that) support of 200-250.
If Bohs win their court case on Tuesday, will the celebrations be long and hard in Phibsboro? No they won't. No Dublin team has any major connection with their locality.
Surprised at the tabloidesque reaction from Reiteoir, letting one e-mail from someone I've never heard of colour his views.
Still, we'll have a club next year. It's not every eL fan can say that for certain.
On the game, thought Bohs were very poor. I appreciate they didn't care as the league was wrapped up, but I was genuinely surprised that a team who've strolled through the league could actually play as badly as that. Still, roll on re-grouping in the First.
stu, this kind of post is the very reason why plenty of loi fans w9ill be glad ye are going down, its bitterness at its best... i understand you may be upset because your team is going down but at the end of the day your team had a chance to stay up tonight and yet ye couldnt even muster up 100, thats not good going!
but yet all you do is give out about the fact that bohs did not bring more fans ( to a meaningless game for them on a night where there was a fair chance that they couldnt find their penis for a while afterwards)
belfield isnt a great place to go... get your own fans and dont be whinginging
sonofstan
01/11/2008, 7:36 AM
It was Halloween. Parents have different stuff to do with their children (eh, eh). Our crowd of 100-150 was no more reflective of our usual support than Bohs' (frankly pathetic, but hey, we'll skip over that) support of 200-250.
Meaningless game for us and the worst away trip in Ireland. Seriously, I was out in Belfield anyway and it took a major act of will to stay for the match, whereas I'll gladly drive to Cobh next week. It was anything but menaingless for you lot.
If Bohs win their court case on Tuesday, will the celebrations be long and hard in Phibsboro? No they won't. No Dublin team has any major connection with their locality.
Get real - maybe UCD fans would celebrate a court case, just like you celebrate your solvency - if we win the cup though, people in D7 will know all about it
Surprised at the tabloidesque reaction from Reiteoir, letting one e-mail from someone I've never heard of colour his views.
YOu must admit, its a bit off the radar from a UCD fan....
Still, we'll have a club next year. It's not every eL fan can say that for certain.
So will we.
On the game, thought Bohs were very poor. I appreciate they didn't care as the league was wrapped up, but I was genuinely surprised that a team who've strolled through the league could actually play as badly as that. Still, roll on re-grouping in the First.
Brennan and Fenn were left out because they arrived late. It was McGill's first start (I think) - Singh hasn't played in an age. Cronin hasn't started in long time; nor has Oman - my guess is, a lot of players were being looked at in light of next season, and their future at the club. Agree it wasn't pretty, but you should have seen us against Pats last week when it counted....
No Dublin team has any major connection with their locality.
I disagree with this
I can see why people are complaining about UCDD crowds, but in fairness, if Bohs can only muster up 200-250 for a match being played across town, its not UCDD who should be worrying about their support !
01/11/2008, 9:53 AM
I can see why people are complaining about UCDD crowds, but in fairness, if Bohs can only muster up 200-250 for a match being played across town, its not UCDD who should be worrying about their support !Agree with that, terrible crowds from both sides to be honest. You'd expect it with UCD though but Bohs have plenty more fans than that, and regardless of whether the league is wrapped up or not, there's no defending that turn-out.
topia
01/11/2008, 10:37 AM
Agree with that, terrible crowds from both sides to be honest. You'd expect it with UCD though but Bohs have plenty more fans than that, and regardless of whether the league is wrapped up or not, there's no defending that turn-out.
nobody has said bohs shouldnt have had more at the game,
the point is this was a relegation scrap for ucd yet they didnt even muster up 100 fans and then their fans come on here giving out about the bohs crowd???????? makes no sense
sullanefc
01/11/2008, 10:45 AM
Delighted they've been relegated. :D
01/11/2008, 10:53 AM
Delighted to be certainly up for next year. Our longest run in the Premier continues...for another year at least.
It was great that RTÉ managed to pick the most entertaining Bray match this year to cover.
01/11/2008, 10:56 AM
nobody has said bohs shouldnt have had more at the game,
the point is this was a relegation scrap for ucd yet they didnt even muster up 100 fans and then their fans come on here giving out about the bohs crowd???????? makes no sense
You'll find sonofstan, a Bohs fan, was the one who came on here moaning about UCD's attendance.
sonofstan
01/11/2008, 11:09 AM
You'll find sonofstan, a Bohs fan, was the one who came on here moaning about UCD's attendance.
And you'll also find that i never said anything about whether our crowd was satisfactory or not until Stu criticised us (for having twice as many fans there as the home team....)
01/11/2008, 11:15 AM
And you'll also find that i never said anything about whether our crowd was satisfactory or not until Stu criticised us (for having twice as many fans there as the home team....)
The whole petty discussion has its origins in you moaning about our home crowd.
01/11/2008, 11:17 AM
Nope, it has its origins in me pointing out Bohs' appalling travelling support last night. The difference, of course, is that we fully accept our crowds are small, whereas Bohs have some delusional notion that they're the "Big Club", and yet they can barely muster 200 for a trip across town to watch the champions?
topia
01/11/2008, 11:21 AM
jesus its like being in school...he started it!
the bohs crowd wasnt good, the ucd crowd was pathetic at best for a game of such importance to them...we should just agree that the crowd was not good and let ucd prepare for the 1st division
01/11/2008, 11:23 AM
The game was of no importance to us.
topia
01/11/2008, 11:26 AM
Nope, it has its origins in me pointing out Bohs' appalling travelling support last night. The difference, of course, is that we fully accept our crowds are small, whereas Bohs have some delusional notion that they're the "Big Club", and yet they can barely muster 200 for a trip across town to watch the champions?
bohs fans all accept that the crowds are not good enough but i still dont understand why you feel the need moan about it when you didnt even have 1/3 of the crowd there yourselves, how was it of no importance to you lot? you had a chance of staying up didnt you? i think if any other team had been in your position last night it would have attracted a decent crowd
01/11/2008, 11:31 AM
Getting away from the sad discussion on crowd size (can we all agree that eL attendances are a disgrace and move on please)...
Who was that goon you had at right full last night, and what right has he to call himself a footballer?
01/11/2008, 11:32 AM
Brian Shortall. Why?
And we were down long before last night, so it was no importance. I'd say three wins from the last three games wouldn't've kept us up.
cheech
01/11/2008, 11:36 AM
Fair play to Bray. Did us a massive favour.
Between us and Galway now.
01/11/2008, 11:42 AM
Brian Shortall. Why?.
Are you saying you don't know why?
Kicked Harpal Singh about the place for fun, and openly and repeatedly went out of his way to threaten him. Not that the highly-trained officials took a blind bit of notice. I'm glad he, like you, is resigned to going down.