View Full Version : Tonights latest

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15

08/10/2008, 8:22 AM
Referee and his/her officials usually only use the perimeter of a pitch anyway as teams are often warming up on the pitch. Anyway, of course it is up to the owner to decide what is done at their ground within reason and the rulebooks.

Doubt if walking the pitch would be a big deal but as has been stated somewhere already, warming up on the pitch does cause alot of damage particularly in the goal mouth areas where teams like to spend alot of time doing set pieces etc.

wexfordned
08/10/2008, 10:11 AM
Mick Wallace has an article in today's Irish Independent. Feels its hypocritical of Limerick to criticise training pitch in Wexford when compared to facilities available in Limerick

Also has support from John Gill who states he will will have no problem warming up on the training pitch on Friday.

08/10/2008, 10:39 AM
The more Wallace talks the more I get the impression he knows well that he was out of order. Limericks facilities, what has happened in the past, some ulterior motive for Limerick- all irrelevant to the fact that they were well within their rights to warm up on the main pitch.

Limerick leaving so early was seriously dumb as well mind you.

WoodquayBoy
08/10/2008, 11:08 AM
Ah Jaysus, Gill sticks his oar in now

08/10/2008, 11:22 AM

What he doesn't mention is that Dundalk looked for all the world like they were going to warm up on the training pitch down there but then suddenly lost the plot at the last minute and collapsed.

shep
08/10/2008, 11:33 AM
What he doesn't mention is that Dundalk looked for all the world like they were going to warm up on the training pitch down there but then suddenly lost the plot at the last minute and collapsed.

Now now Mr A,those comments are off topic,please try to concentrate on the fact that your own team,having looked safe might "bottle it"

08/10/2008, 11:37 AM
Now now Mr A,those comments are off topic,please try to concentrate on the fact that your own team,having looked safe might "bottle it"

Yep, bottling is losing 1-0 to the team in 2nd position in the league. Harps are a DISGRACE!

08/10/2008, 11:47 AM
I dont recall either Cobh or Limerick having any grievances about warming up on the astro turf, where there is hardly enough room to swing a cat never mind warm up, in Whitehall when both played Dublin City. And both club's keepers had to warm up on the adjacent VEC GAA pitch which I can honestly say is a deathtrap. Surely these are bigger health and safety issues than warming up on a perfect pitch with 'decent lights'?

Different Limerick management structure I'm afraid, and aren't we trying to change the league anyway? This parochial nonsense some clubs spout is what is holding us back as a league to be fair. Wallace acted in the wrong, so did we don't get me wrong, but the initial fault lies with Wallace and his attitude, so I'm thinking both of us are going to get a slap on the wrist. Whether that's fines for both clubs, or a fine for Limerick and Wallace being told by the FAI that a visiting team has a right to warm on the pitch that they will be playing I don't know.

Either way I'm happy we made a stand against Wallace, and I'm equally delighted that Wallace is making such a tool of himself in the media. Honourable and decent man indeed :rolleyes:

08/10/2008, 11:54 AM
The Wallace interview in the Indo is certainly cringe worthy at best. I'd imagine Wallace will face some sort of "bringing the game into disrepute" sanctions for his suggestion that Limerick never wanted to fulfill the fixture. Wexford will be awarded the points due to the fact that Limerick left the ground before kick off and Limerick will probably get a fine. Wallace will get some sort of fine and we should also get clarity from the FAI with regard to warm up's being conducted on the main pitch. Wallace is never a man to back down from his principles and even though this one seems incredibly petty he won't just walk away, that pitch is his field of dreams and means more to him that a filed ever meant to the Bull McCabe.

Louth4sam
08/10/2008, 12:18 PM

Maybe he's looking for the Wexford job next season. Fingers crossed.

08/10/2008, 12:21 PM

OrielWeb working for you L4S? :confused:

shep
08/10/2008, 2:23 PM
Yep, bottling is losing 1-0 to the team in 2nd position in the league. Harps are a DISGRACE!

See the word might in my message Dodge,not have bottled,or in the process of bottling.

I was simply saying i wouldnt be slagging Dundalk off before they are safe themselves

Louth4sam
08/10/2008, 2:36 PM
OrielWeb working for you L4S? :confused:

Nope hopefully they are fixing the multiple post problem.

Battery Rover
08/10/2008, 2:54 PM
Just logged in there now and the new look is impressive

Duffman
08/10/2008, 3:23 PM

In fairness its one of the biggest jobs in Irish football, the facilities are 2nd to none, there is a proud history and a great tradition there. Plus its not too far away from Dublin and it is a challenge to get teh club back to where it belongs :cool:

Aye Orielweb is being updated, Colin hopes to have it back up this evening.

dublin_owl
08/10/2008, 3:30 PM
In fairness its one of the biggest jobs in Irish football, the facilities are 2nd to none, there is a proud history and a great tradition there. Plus its not too far away from Dublin and it is a challenge to get teh club back to where it belongs :cool:

You forgot to include the words "sleeping giant" and "massive fanbase". :D

jinxy lilywhite
08/10/2008, 4:06 PM
You forgot to include the words "sleeping giant" and "massive fanbase". :D

or the "Players will never get it as good as they do here".
or who can forget "it's not time to bring out the ferror rochet yet"
or the classic " pressure is for tyres"

Candystripe
09/10/2008, 1:20 AM
About 4,000 at the Derry V Celtic game. No Derry player who started the Linfield game were involved. If Derry had a full team out we would have thrashed the Celtic team that was sent over.

Now that would have been embarrassing for all the Celtic geads that turned up. BTW season ticket holders got a £5 discount on what ever ticket they bought.

wexfordned
09/10/2008, 10:02 AM
About 4,000 at the Derry V Celtic game. No Derry player who started the Linfield game were involved. If Derry had a full team out we would have thrashed the Celtic team that was sent over.

Now that would have been embarrassing for all the Celtic geads that turned up. BTW season ticket holders got a £5 discount on what ever ticket they bought.

I'd say the Celtic fans where more ****ed off at paying 25 pounds into watch a glorified reserve game even if they had lost.

I'm sure they will all come back for the second game as they got such value for money.

09/10/2008, 10:25 AM
I'd say the Celtic fans where more ****ed off at paying 25 pounds into watch a glorified reserve game even if they had lost.

I'm sure they will all come back for the second game as they got such value for money.Who cares about the Celtic fans? They'll hardly stop supporting Celtic over it.

Its the Derry fans that got ripped off that are the problem.

CharlesThompson
09/10/2008, 10:35 AM
What really happened at Ferrycarraig!..... (http://www.grapheine.com/bombaytv/index.php?module=see&lang=uk&code=0d80e6d9fd461c22d7d06606d9f6c6e3)

finnpark
09/10/2008, 10:40 AM
What really happened at Ferrycarraig!..... (http://www.grapheine.com/bombaytv/index.php?module=see&lang=uk&code=0d80e6d9fd461c22d7d06606d9f6c6e3)

Funny :D

srfc1928
09/10/2008, 10:55 AM
Quality:D

Sunny Jim
09/10/2008, 11:55 AM
Now that's funny.

09/10/2008, 12:36 PM
Haha quality. yer man even looks like Wallace.

Louth4sam
09/10/2008, 12:39 PM

Out of the 3,000,000 of those i've seen that is by far the best!
Quality:D

oldyouth
09/10/2008, 1:29 PM
Spot on :D:D:D

09/10/2008, 1:52 PM
brill!!

Youths4Ever
09/10/2008, 2:19 PM
very good

oldyouth
09/10/2008, 2:21 PM
Are they making as sequel?????:D

L37Ultra
09/10/2008, 2:40 PM

LOl :D Fair play thats brilliant :D

Monkfish
09/10/2008, 3:58 PM
LOl :D Fair play thats brilliant :D

Pile of w@nk tbf

Only joking. :)

ForzaWexford
09/10/2008, 8:46 PM
Ref paints us in a bad light in his report. Can't speak highly enough of Kerley and how he acted on the night. Seemingly. ;)

09/10/2008, 9:05 PM
thats top class brilliant!!!:D

oldyouth
09/10/2008, 9:49 PM
Ref paints us in a bad light in his report. Can't speak highly enough of Kerley and how he acted on the night. Seemingly. ;)
Yep, heard that myself. Though I think the game plan was laid out and Mick fell in to it

09/10/2008, 9:53 PM
Yep, heard that myself. Though I think the game plan was laid out and Mick fell in to it

I too heard that the ref comes down 100% in our favour :)

09/10/2008, 10:19 PM
I too heard that the ref comes down 100% in our favour :)

Nice edit. ;)

11/10/2008, 12:13 AM
Maybe splurge can tell us more about the refs report! Splurge! Splurge are you out there? :rolleyes:

oldyouth
11/10/2008, 8:30 AM
Ye see Splurge, and myself for that matter, may be aware of the detail in various reports but at this stage we can't (and shouldn't) substantiate them publically. Now Jebus, on the other had appears to be in possession of a copy of the referee's report and has being quoting FACTS so if he gives us a look, I can confirm or deny if it coincides with my information

WoodquayBoy
15/10/2008, 9:24 PM
Trying to find rule in relation to clubs going into Examinership - checking to see if they will be refused licence next year, saving our hides - and I came across this in FAI rulebook.
Will be interesting to see if FAI apply the rule:

RULE 87. FAILURE TO PLAY AND ABANDONMENT
If a team refuses to play a match or refuses to continue playing one which it has begun, it shall be sanctioned with a fine and shall forfeit the match
RULE 126. FORFEIT
Teams sanctioned with a forfeit are considered to have lost the match by 0-3

oldyouth
15/10/2008, 9:54 PM
Trying to find rule in relation to clubs going into Examinership - checking to see if they will be refused licence next year, saving our hides - and I came across this in FAI rulebook.
Will be interesting to see if FAI apply the rule:

RULE 87. FAILURE TO PLAY AND ABANDONMENT
If a team refuses to play a match or refuses to continue playing one which it has begun, it shall be sanctioned with a fine and shall forfeit the match
RULE 126. FORFEIT
Teams sanctioned with a forfeit are considered to have lost the match by 0-3
Somehow, I don't see the FAI applying the full letter of the law in this one. Something must be going on behind the scenes as the decision was due out today

By the way, an award of a 3-0 win would equal the best result of the club in its short history:D

oldyouth
16/10/2008, 7:40 PM
Dundalk 1-0 up at half time, Mulvenna on 24 mins

16/10/2008, 8:43 PM
2-1 Dundalk

16/10/2008, 9:16 PM
Good win for us tonight, we played well for most of the game and deserved it.. Hopefully that's an end to our rough patch.

Unfortunately the scorer of our first goal Tiernan Mulvenna is out for the rest of the season after an horrendous tackle from Brian Kelly, who somehow got off with a yellow card. :mad:

The Lilywhites
16/10/2008, 11:34 PM
That's the third time in four home matches that we've had that ref. And what a KUNT he is.

:(

boris
17/10/2008, 12:06 AM
from the opposite side i thought we deversed a draw tonight, esp with the clear penalty not given for the handball on the line near the end, but then away teams dont get them in the last few minutes. we started poorly playing like a team that were waiting for it to happen for them and then were 2 down before playing as we have recently in the second half, would agree with a ref assesment though, including for that foul, but then a few bad late tackles went unpunished on both side so maybe he downgraded every foul!!!. me thinks another season in the first for us.

jinxy lilywhite
17/10/2008, 7:22 AM
That ref was a joke. Kelly went for Mulvenna to take him out of the match.
Good result for us but we should of scored more. I thought we would of rued Farrells miss in the second that would made it 3-1.

Hopefully thats the end of the rough patch and roll on Waterford next wk

The Lilywhites
17/10/2008, 6:23 PM
Limerick 37 forfeited the match (0-3) and fined €1,000 for failing to play their eircom League of Ireland First Division fixture v Wexford Youths (06.10.08)

Boo_Boy
17/10/2008, 6:43 PM
Seamus Coleman will be sent off tonight, watch.

17/10/2008, 6:54 PM
The Bohs security Gestapo strike a blow for free speech by illegally removing Pat the Rat banners from young City fans for being "offensive". Video will be on Youtube later.

Wouldn't want to spoil the bankruptcy party... :)