View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

azceltic
16/04/2009, 11:29 PM
congrats to joe carrig and the lads from newmarket B, nice to see them win especially after the A's won last year

CousinSylDolan
17/04/2009, 7:19 AM
Well done to Joe and all in Newmarket B on winning the 3rd.

Rats B look forward to doing battle again next season in the 2nd division.

celts1888
17/04/2009, 12:03 PM
premier league finishes may 3rd. bank holiday weekend so should be a good sunday for some teams. beat of luck to the 3 teams that remain in the hunt for the titkle it would be nice to see a 3 way finish... and to teams fighting to stay up... good couple of weeks ahead pints will be flowing then!!!!!!!

plasticpitch
17/04/2009, 12:25 PM
this weekend is the most important weekend of the season for avenue and lifford. nothing else other than wins for both will keep the title racr interesting
bunratty v lifford on the final day will be a cracker if its still all to play for

celts1888
17/04/2009, 12:38 PM
ya lifford will have a tough one against struggling bridge but are on agreat run though avenue take on ahigh flying rineanna a betting man would expect avenue to show up all guns blazing and if they take 6 points between noe and tuesday i would install them as favs bunratty have 2 extremely tough away games and 4 points mite not even be enough to hold on if that is the case. any predictions for the weekend and midweek games ?????

b777b
17/04/2009, 12:59 PM
lifford to beat bridge
avenue and rinneana too close to call depends wat team avenue
have different team every week
bunratty have thrown away the premier league they wont win there last
two gameshttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon4.gif

talisman
17/04/2009, 1:20 PM
Yes well done Newmarket. Lads, what is the story with Mickey Madden? Is he for real? Heard after he got sent off yet again tonight in the Kilkishen v Manus game

what do ya mean whats the story with mickey madden?? fair enough he was red carded last night but the man is playing in a league below his standard and thus just gets frustrated like he did last nite. hes been a fantastic servant to clare league soccer over the years and im not the only one who thinks that hes wasted playin in the third division, maybe should be playin prem if not div 1 anyway. no disrespect to div 3 i play in it myself but mickey is one of the great players to play in clare

newmarket had the bit of luck you need to win league title, we dropped silly points and failing to beat them in our 2 encounters has proved costly to us but we set out to get promoted at the start of year so our goal is achieved at least

ILuvFootie
17/04/2009, 1:24 PM
Yes well done Newmarket. Lads, what is the story with Mickey Madden? Is he for real? Heard after he got sent off yet again tonight in the Kilkishen v Manus game

Was at the game and in fairness to Mickey he was after running his ass off the last few games only to be let down by some of his team mates.He really wanted to win something in what he says is his last year and to see all his effort go to waste last night just ****ed him off.He'll probably get done with a big fine and suspension again because of his reputation.

Congrats to Newmarket B anyway.Were the best team over the season.

Nutz4dCupz
17/04/2009, 1:30 PM
[quote=b777b;1145167]lifford to beat bridge
two gameshttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon4.gif[/quote

Bunratty there prob better away than at home, there pitch doesnt suit them for whatever reason and both Newmarket and Lifford have big wide pitches so should be 2 great games. League will be deceided on the last game of the season v Lifford i think, will be a VERY close end of season

plasticpitch
17/04/2009, 1:36 PM
lifford to beat bridge
two gameshttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon4.gif
diagree completley.. bunratty have points in the bag.. they still are favourites.. maybe if avenue win their 2 games then that might change but it is a big ask rineanna sunday and then 2 days later a huge game against newmarket. its a big ask but i think they will still be in there on the last day of the season. a lifford bunratty draw on the last day would probably see avenue as champs

celts1888
17/04/2009, 2:16 PM
avenue had newmarket (2-1) last tuesday, its rineanna sunday then bridge this tuesday bunratty have newmarket on wednesday thats a massive one all right but sure they are all as big at this stage. trying to figure out is it possible for a 3 way playoff that would be a mad one ah????

MikeBassett
17/04/2009, 3:51 PM
Anyone know what sort of a team Newmarket put out last Tuesday I heard they were missing a few. Will they all be back for bunratty game or is the interest gone after cup loss.also any truth jimmy houlihan broke his leg against lifford and was told stay on the pitch.i wish him a speedy recovery.:ball:

Against Avenue Tuesday night we were missing Docca, Eoin Hayes and Jimmy Houlihan. To tell the truth we were unlucky to leave empty-handed, Avenue dominated opening 25 - 30 minutes after that it was all Newmarket.

Jimmy suffered a broken ankle against Lifford, he tried to run it off then realised there was serious damage to it and when he told that to the management he was told come off.

rainman
17/04/2009, 4:32 PM
avenue had newmarket (2-1) last tuesday, its rineanna sunday then bridge this tuesday bunratty have newmarket on wednesday thats a massive one all right but sure they are all as big at this stage. trying to figure out is it possible for a 3 way playoff that would be a mad one ah????
From what I can make out, If Rats draw their last 2 games they'll finish on 37. If Lifford draw with the rats and win their other 2 games they'll also finish on 37. And if Avenue win 3 and lose 1 of their last 4 they'll also finish on 37 leaving a 3 way playoff (I think:confused:).

mr miyagi
17/04/2009, 6:59 PM
what do ya mean whats the story with mickey madden?? fair enough he was red carded last night but the man is playing in a league below his standard and thus just gets frustrated like he did last nite. hes been a fantastic servant to clare league soccer over the years and im not the only one who thinks that hes wasted playin in the third division, maybe should be playin prem if not div 1 anyway. no disrespect to div 3 i play in it myself but mickey is one of the great players to play in clare

You may not be the only one who thinks Mickey is wasted in the 3rd Division
but you're certainly in a minority :)
I'm sure he has been a fantastic servant over the years,
but is that a get out of jail free card against the hot-headedness and lack of judgment he's prone to showing?
(from experience playing with and against him)

But enough on that.
Congrats to Bunratty B on promotion.
And good luck to Kilkishen in the playoff (should they get there....)

Come on the B-team :D

b777b
17/04/2009, 9:27 PM
lifford A V lifford b played in tulla sat 6 00
rinneana V shannon oly played in newmarket sunday
cup semi finals who's goin to call them

ILuvFootie
17/04/2009, 11:17 PM
mickeys not wasted in 3rd division..he's simply a waster:) who plays in the 3rd division

You wouldn't say that to his face Special 1 so don't be coming on here mouthing about him if you haven't the balls to do so.

MikeBassett
18/04/2009, 12:41 AM
[/B]

not much truth in that, he finished out the game..also heard that newmarket haven't even contacted him to see how he is.or to offer to pay hospital bills..:mad:

special one get your facts right before coming on here.

The FACTS are Jimmy did not finish out the game, like I said earlier he tried to run it off for a while and then when he realised there was serious damage done to it he informed the management and was told to come off. We finished out the game playing with ten men. If you were actually at the game you might have realised that. Newmarket Celtic don't leave hospital bills from injuries sustained by it's players to be paid by the player. The Treasurer spoke with Jimmy regarding the bills and they'll be looked after.

avenueC
18/04/2009, 7:49 AM
who the hell is mickey madden?
if its true that nwmrk management havent contacted jimmy houlihan then why was same player laughing and joking with nwmrkt management at the recent avenue game,
special one u shouldnt believe everything u hear or try an spread the rumour thru this thread
but i suppose paper never refused ink

rineanna to beat oly
lifford a to beat their b team

celts1888
18/04/2009, 9:31 AM
lifford a v b will be very close to call it will be a belter though ... rinneanna should beat olympic providing they are still on form come next week?/,,,,,, lifford A in serious contention to break their duck in the trophy cabinet this season . lets hope it doesnt come true ha hahttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon12.gifhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon10.gif... any predictions for topmorrows games

First
18/04/2009, 4:06 PM
[/B]

not much truth in that, he finished out the game..also heard that newmarket haven't even contacted him to see how he is.or to offer to pay hospital bills..:mad:

I thought posting rumour and unfounded accusations was against the rules on this forum.

mastermind1
18/04/2009, 6:58 PM
lifford a v b will be very close to call it will be a belter though ... rinneanna should beat olympic providing they are still on form come next week?/,,,,,, lifford A in serious contention to break their duck in the trophy cabinet this season . lets hope it doesnt come true ha hahttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon12.gifhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon10.gif... any predictions for topmorrows games
Ya agree wit u celts 1888,lifford a and be should be a very close game, may even go all the way to pens, lifford a and b have good teams and i expect both teams to be very tough and very fair and i m sure the football should be good aswell! predictions for tommorows games are lifford win, avenue and rineanna draw, newmarket and moher draw and bridge celtic win

Carotheplayer
19/04/2009, 2:56 PM
congrats to both rock and olympic.
Surely an addition to the Premier League. Rock have made some strides in their short history and won't go back down.

Olympic will also stay up if they play to the best of their ability next season. Moher won today in Newmarket and are still in with a fighting chance to make the third place play off.

Interesting times alright.

:rolleyes::rolleyes:

celts1888
19/04/2009, 3:42 PM
wins for avenue 3-1 and bridge 1-0, lifforrd look out of contention at the moment and could hold players back for the cup on wednesday, newmarket look as if they couldnt care at this stage after loosing 1-3 to 2nd bottom moher. so bunratty mite have 2 easier games than they expected on the run up to the climaxhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon5.gifhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon5.gif

Carotheplayer
19/04/2009, 7:15 PM
From CDSL website

Saturday 25/04/09
Prego Menswear Cup Semi-Final
Cragg Tulla: Lifford A V Lifford B
Referee: P.Sutton 6.00
Assistant Referees: J.Stanford, M.O`Brien

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penalty’s if necessary.

Sunday 26/04/09
Prego Menswear Cup Semi-Final
McDonagh Pk: Shannon Olympic A V Rineanna Rovers
Referee: M.O`Brien 2.30
Assistant Referees: D.Hehir, D.Brosnan

Note: In event of a draw 10 mins e/w extra time and penalty’s if necessary.

smellyfeet
20/04/2009, 8:24 AM
The Posts about Jimmy Houlihan being told to play on and not being looked after is total sh1te. Whoever posts that sort of stuff are idiots.

First
20/04/2009, 10:21 AM
The Posts about Jimmy Houlihan being told to play on and not being looked after is total sh1te. Whoever posts that sort of stuff are idiots.

Hacker and Special 1 anything more to add.
Newmarket have always looked after their players and in fact were one of the clubs to instigate an insurance policy to protect players against loss of earnings and hospital bills while other clubs were still fcuking about on some farmland provided and passed off as a pitch.

Think before you post innuendo and rumour here , especially when it comes to a player getting an injury.

Side Cutter
20/04/2009, 11:19 AM
Hacker and Special 1 anything more to add.
Newmarket have always looked after their players and in fact were one of the clubs to instigate an insurance policy to protect players against loss of earnings and hospital bills while other clubs were still fcuking about on some farmland provided and passed off as a pitch.

Think before you post innuendo and rumour here , especially when it comes to a player getting an injury.

Lads jimmy is being well looked after by Newmarket.Also he was told by management to come off the pitch against lifford b but said he wanted to stay on.He came off shortly afterwards cos he was having difficulty walking!!
lets move on from this now....:ball:

out red
20/04/2009, 11:35 AM
Any player who has got injured while playing for newmarket celtic has always been looked especially in terms of hospital bills or doctor visits. This rubbish being posted by the special 1 is well wide of the mark, sad individual considering we know you.

First
20/04/2009, 12:44 PM
Hey relax first I simply made a comment that I was told he was told to stay on the pitch.thats all I said. I also wished him a speedy recovery cause as I know jimmy longer than you I know how much it annoys him to be injured. As for the farmland pitch thing you keep throwing in rineanna's face. Change the record it's getting worn out. Ye have a super facility in Newmarket but it took ye a long time to get it.and ye also played on farmlands in the past.so let's leave it at that.and I must applaude Newmarket for looking after jimmys bills fair play to ye I wouldn't expect anything else from ye.I know the club has looked after other players in the past like all good clubs should.

Where did I mention Rineanna in my post?

ILuvFootie
20/04/2009, 1:32 PM
So what do the Newmarket B lads think of the local newspapers not even bothering to send a photographer to Sundays game to take a few pictures of ye recieveing the cup.Personally i think its a disgrace.Once again the 3rd division gets ignored.

First
20/04/2009, 1:53 PM
Well you were refering to me. So obviously your were refering to rineanna.

"while other clubs were still fcuking about on some farmland provided and passed off as a pitch"

This is what I said , if you feel this was directed at you and Rineanna that is your issue.

You were the one that intially brought it up , you were having a dig with "what you heard" because it is your way on here . You like to try and have a go at Newmarket when you can.

To clarify my point Newmarket Celtic have always been to the forefront regarding improvements in the Clare league , own ground , dressing rooms and showers and insurance for players , willingness to allow players a transfer when they ask and not being petty, while other clubs have made no progress , no matter how small. If the cap fits as they say. Having people , and to clarify I mean you , the individual, plus the Special 1 posting stuff that is not true about Newmarket Celtic you can expect to be pulled up on it everytime. As you have said you know the man along time why didn't you just ask him, but that would have taken the chance of a cheap shot away.

manalishi
20/04/2009, 2:51 PM
Hey relax first I simply made a comment that I was told he was told to stay on the pitch.thats all I said. I also wished him a speedy recovery cause as I know jimmy longer than you I know how much it annoys him to be injured. As for the farmland pitch thing you keep throwing in rineanna's face. Change the record it's getting worn out. Ye have a super facility in Newmarket but it took ye a long time to get it.and ye also played on farmlands in the past.so let's leave it at that.and I must applaude Newmarket for looking after jimmys bills fair play to ye I wouldn't expect anything else from ye.I know the club has looked after other players in the past like all good clubs should.

I have to back newmarket up here as they have always treated players well
and are making a great efforts off the pitch with their facilities but rumours can do a lot of damage to anyones reputation on here.

CousinSylDolan
20/04/2009, 3:08 PM
This debate seems to be really about nothing as everyone agrees that Newmarket have great facilities and treat their players well.

Being a former Bunratty player I hope Jimmy has a speedy recovery from his injury.

I hear "The Pub" was rocking last night with the Newmarket B team celebrations.

el_nino84
20/04/2009, 3:14 PM
Congrtas to Shannon Olympic on promotion yesterday.

CousinSylDolan
20/04/2009, 3:28 PM

Here Here...

Well done Papa J on a superb 1st season as manager.

old git
20/04/2009, 8:38 PM
get over it lads itr was only a rumour going around..jesus i didnt start it only posted it..chill out..i appologies if it hurt anyones feelings..at least it got this thread going again..

so smellyfeet i heard jimmy and malley signed pre season contracts wit park:p

are you starting another rumour . or just stirring the s**t...:D

old git
20/04/2009, 11:49 PM
Here Here...

Well done Papa J on a superb 1st season as manager.

yes congratulations jason & all involved with olympic and who knows might finish season with league winners & cup winners double yet :ball:

Trevor Mcnurkey
21/04/2009, 7:17 AM
Congrats To Avenue B on Promotion. Great win against Lifford B

mr miyagi
21/04/2009, 7:28 AM
So what do the Newmarket B lads think of the local newspapers not even bothering to send a photographer to Sundays game to take a few pictures of ye recieveing the cup.Personally i think its a disgrace.Once again the 3rd division gets ignored.

Yeah, a disgrace, but I'm not surprised.
Maybe next year when we're getting the 2nd Division trophy :D

By the way, who was that cook in Tulla?
I'm not feeling too well today.... :(

First
21/04/2009, 8:02 AM

Congratulations to Olympic , especially to Jay , Glen and Noel. Who said you get nowhere with old one's.:p

smellyfeet
21/04/2009, 8:20 AM
get over it lads itr was only a rumour going around..jesus i didnt start it only posted it..chill out..i appologies if it hurt anyones feelings..at least it got this thread going again..

so smellyfeet i heard jimmy and malley signed pre season contracts wit park:p

Whats a pre season contract? never heard of it before:cool:

Anyway, we're trying to take steps forward at Park. No room for old fellas or looney bins.

ILuvFootie
21/04/2009, 9:57 AM
Yeah, a disgrace, but I'm not surprised.
Maybe next year when we're getting the 2nd Division trophy :D

By the way, who was that cook in Tulla?
I'm not feeling too well today.... :(

Was it the food now or all the alcohol drank??:)Well if ye keep the training up there's no reason why ye cant challenge next year.Best of luck anyway.

Nutz4dCupz
21/04/2009, 10:50 AM
Well done to the Specials for promotion, looks like it could go to a playoff between yourself and Rock Rovers to decide the First div champions, that would be a good game

mr miyagi
21/04/2009, 11:32 AM
Was it the food now or all the alcohol drank??:)Well if ye keep the training up there's no reason why ye cant challenge next year.Best of luck anyway.

Alcohol? What do you take us for? :rolleyes:

We'll go up and give it a shot alright.

Ye've got a decent squad as well, good mixture of youth and experience.
Good luck next year. And the two games remaining.
(Stop Kilkishen getting the playoff maybe. :D )

club-divided
21/04/2009, 12:47 PM

this is a local derby rite? tough game for kilkisken, tulla have nothing to lose.

celts1888
21/04/2009, 1:18 PM
rite lads how we expecting rock and olympic to fair out in the premier next season cant see them doing any way worse than corofin this season, althought corofin were a great cup team as well over the last few seasons. anyone reckon rats will drop points against lifford or newmarket both out of contention?? cup games at the weekend any shouts Lifford b and rineanna for me .. anyone care to pick a team of the year ????? could be a dodgy one this term

ILuvFootie
21/04/2009, 1:34 PM
this is a local derby rite? tough game for kilkisken, tulla have nothing to lose.

Yeah its a local derby alright so the slagging started already.Myself and 3 other lads are from Kilkishen so we're looking forward to it.

Planners
21/04/2009, 1:37 PM
rite lads how we expecting rock and olympic to fair out in the premier next season cant see them doing any way worse than corofin this season, althought corofin were a great cup team as well over the last few seasons. anyone reckon rats will drop points against lifford or newmarket both out of contention?? cup games at the weekend any shouts Lifford b and rineanna for me .. anyone care to pick a team of the year ????? could be a dodgy one this term[/QUOTE]

Olympic are a see-saw team and have a habit of going up and down - rock don;t know enough about them - Rats / NOF = local derby everyone wants to upset possible champions I can see the Reds getting something out of this or they could be drawn into a play off to see who goes through to the play offs - cup could go anyway as we've seen through out this years and every years comptetion - team of the year = mixture of Rineanna's 11 and Bunratty's 11 :D

ILuvFootie
21/04/2009, 2:11 PM

We played ye on a good day.Normally we'd be missing a few (hurling).2 tough games to finish. Manus tomorrow nite and then the big 1. Kilkishen on sunday.Im sure my friend FunkyPlunkett will be on reading this later so im not going to slag Kilkishen.They'll be gunning for us as it is.

Planners
21/04/2009, 2:23 PM
:cool:
Hey enough of the see-saw comments.:

Strange tactic Hacker - supporting your opposition in the cup or is it you:p taking the blame for Olympics failure to be consitant in your reign as their manager ?:p