View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09
azceltic
11/09/2008, 3:55 PM
lifford lost that game two years ago because they played terrible football, whatever about newmarket, Lifford should have won that game and relegated newmarket but hey they didn't. I know lifford people will say that The referee cost them the match but we all know lifford should of had that league wrapped well up before that game against newmarket
celts1888
11/09/2008, 6:33 PM
yes lifford should have had the game wrapped up ,, that still does not condone pushing the referee ,, especially since it was one of the most respected players in the clare game who did it
azceltic
11/09/2008, 7:06 PM
which one is it manhandling or pushing but I for one do not condone either but that was 2 years ago why bring it back up again.
out red
11/09/2008, 9:09 PM
[quote=First;1019276]
lifford lost 2-1 on the last day of the season 2 years ago.. missed a penalty, a certain newmarket lad was manhandling the referee we all know who iam talking about..its a joke would have been relegated only for intimidating the referee.. correct me if iam wrong???????http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon5.gifhttp://foot.ie/images/icons/icon10.gif
celts1888 sounds like u have alot of sour grapes, lifford lost to a newmarket side that had 5 b team players in the first 11 that day. so lets get it straight if they couldn't beat newmarket that day they didnt deserve to be crowned champions. as to the certain player manhandling the referee i would love to know who your talking about???
[/B]
alot of ex newtown lads gone to bunratty..
Cheeky and derek byrne.......who else?? :confused:
out red
11/09/2008, 9:23 PM
Rineanna have suspended jimmy for 10 days to futher slow up his transfer to nmkt. So it has left us with no option but to bring them to the munster council as they are in breach of the following rule:
Rule 79: A club, in membership of the LEAGUE, which withholds a players transfer without having valid claim against such player, when the transfer has been applied for by the player or on his behalf, by a club, the club withholding the transfer will be reported to the Executive Committee who, after investigating the matter, may make an order for the transfer of the player. The order must be complied with within three (3) days of being notified to the withholding club. A club found guilty of unreasonably withholding a player's transfer will be dealt with as the Executive Committee may deem fit.
for the record the way rovers have handled this matter has been nothing sort of shambolic.
azceltic
11/09/2008, 9:46 PM
Rineanna have suspended jimmy for 10 days to futher slow up his transfer to nmkt. So it has left us with no option but to bring them to the munster council as they are in breach of the following rule:
Rule 79: A club, in membership of the LEAGUE, which withholds a players transfer without having valid claim against such player, when the transfer has been applied for by the player or on his behalf, by a club, the club withholding the transfer will be reported to the Executive Committee who, after investigating the matter, may make an order for the transfer of the player. The order must be complied with within three (3) days of being notified to the withholding club. A club found guilty of unreasonably withholding a player's transfer will be dealt with as the Executive Committee may deem fit.
for the record the way rovers have handled this matter has been nothing sort of shambolic.
The only way they can hold up his transfer is if he owes money, Only the clare league can suspend and stop his transfer.A club suspension doesn't effect a transfer going through. Don't know what's the story there.
azceltic
11/09/2008, 9:53 PM
For all those complaining about some pitch's here are a couple of things you should be thankful for. Not having to play in Our lady's :) with Paddy,Carl and Noel as officials, oh the good olde days
Keyser Soze
11/09/2008, 11:11 PM
Yeah your right Rineanna are going very well....Another few points now and that should see them safe for another season in the premier!!
i hear theres some hothead playing for them, fancies himself
as a bit of a hard man, apparently he has christened himself
the "Rineanna Vinny Jones" and has even shaved his head
to be more like him ??
:eek::eek::eek:
Clifford
11/09/2008, 11:21 PM
ive seen enough to know who will be fighting for honours at the end of season and who wont ;)
yes but what games have you seen this year???
Clifford
11/09/2008, 11:35 PM
its obvious that avenue will be on most of our list for favourites. 100% record and they are scoring goals for fun, watched there games against corofin and lifford, they look very impressive, but they always fade away in the concluding stages even though i heard the have been doing some serious pre season training so i will not doubt them to take the honours this season,, their main rivals will be bunratty who have been showing some decent form and were unlucky against newmarket who will go no where this season infact they shouldnt have even been in the premier last season,http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon13.gif, lifford will be up there fighting come the end if the get the results they deserve (rineanna robbed them of rthe points) .. bridge united for the drop
avenue had a better start last year winning the first 4 and drawing 1 all with newmarket, who were at least five points behind. any team under shires and pudding will fight till the bitter end. nwkt down through the years have shown they have the bottle. lifford and bunratty will have their say as well. no cups given out in september. it will boil down to the usual 5 or 6 games left five will be in contention for title others will be for relegation. squeaky bum time-beware the ides of march
the hoops
12/09/2008, 12:41 AM
lads is daryl eade playing with avenue this year?
Avenue1990
12/09/2008, 6:12 AM
yes but what games have you seen this year???
A few of Avenues A and B team Games
2 Lifford Games
A couple of Premer league games on Setanta
Kilkenny Vs Waterford (waste of time)
I hope to watch Kerry vs Tyrone (should be a good one)
I watched a few NFL games last weekend cos I wasnt out.
Oh yeah and I watched the Olympic GAMES! Does that count?
Hope that satisfies you Cliff.Do you want to know what iv eaten for my dinner also for the last week too!;)
old git
12/09/2008, 10:56 AM
[quote=First;1019276]
lifford lost 2-1 on the last day of the season 2 years ago.. missed a penalty, a certain newmarket lad was manhandling the referee we all know who iam talking about..its a joke would have been relegated onkly for intimidating the referee.. correct me if iam wrong???????http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon5.gifhttp://foot.ie/images/icons/icon10.gif
first i have ever heard of a team getting relegated for a player manhandling a referee... if true player should have been suspended for a long while by clare league .. he gets punished ( supposed to ) and not club ... newmarket won game 2-1 lifford missed penalty end of story history now :D
old git
12/09/2008, 10:58 AM
them were the days:)
good days indeed many of fond memories ,,, not of the refs you mentioned above though :D:D
lads is daryl eade playing with avenue this year?
No I don't he has signed for anyone. Heard he is coaching badminton instead this year, but might be signing for Rock as his bother plays for them.
its obvious that avenue will be on most of our list for favourites. 100% record and they are scoring goals for fun, watched there games against corofin and lifford, they look very impressive, but they always fade away in the concluding stages even though i heard the have been doing some serious pre season training so i will not doubt them to take the honours this season,, their main rivals will be bunratty who have been showing some decent form and were unlucky against newmarket who will go no where this season infact they shouldnt have even been in the premier last season,http://foot.ie/images/icons/icon13.gif, lifford will be up there fighting come the end if the get the results they deserve (rineanna robbed them of rthe points) .. bridge united for the drop
I wouldn't really count the Corofin game as been impressive as that was a really poor Corofin team they played. Good result against Lifford alright but I still won't say they where impressive, solid maybe and definitely the fitter team as the game went on. Lifford play some good football but seem to lacking a bit when the game get physical, a bit like bunratty who have some good footballers but seem a little soft as a team which will probably cost team some points as the weather gets even worse.
papa-j
12/09/2008, 2:34 PM
Good result against Lifford alright but I still won't say they where impressive, solid maybe and definitely the fitter team as the game went on. .
would agree with that. Avenue are a very physically strong side. Solid defence and wont concede too many goals. The midfield is workmanlike with grafters rather than really skillful players and the 2 lads up front play on the break. They are very dangerous from set pieces as Lifford found out.
They look like the team to beat this year - have proved they can score easily against the weaker teams and grind out a result against the better teams like Lifford. It will take a team who can match them physically and then move the ball quickly in midfield to beat them.
Clifford
12/09/2008, 10:38 PM
A few of Avenues A and B team Games
2 Lifford Games
A couple of Premer league games on Setanta
Kilkenny Vs Waterford (waste of time)
I hope to watch Kerry vs Tyrone (should be a good one)
I watched a few NFL games last weekend cos I wasnt out.
Oh yeah and I watched the Olympic GAMES! Does that count?
Hope that satisfies you Cliff.Do you want to know what iv eaten for my dinner also for the last week too!;)
not really just the avenue a and lifford games please
Clifford
12/09/2008, 10:55 PM
would agree with that. Avenue are a very physically strong side. Solid defence and wont concede too many goals. The midfield is workmanlike with grafters rather than really skillful players and the 2 lads up front play on the break. They are very dangerous from set pieces as Lifford found out.
They look like the team to beat this year - have proved they can score easily against the weaker teams and grind out a result against the better teams like Lifford. It will take a team who can match them physically and then move the ball quickly in midfield to beat them.
easy lads. their midfield has been combo of herlo, gary flynn, anthony whyte, aidan keane ritchie neylon and david smyth. all six footers plus (not) and shoot balls of fire from their arses. there are a lot bigger fitter physical teams in bunratty, moher, burren, newmarket wont be short either in that stakes. as for bridge and corofin teams, they were weakened and i'd even say most clubs b teams would have taken points off them on those particular days. everyone thought they were the team to beat last year as well and avenue won nothing. the avenue lifford game could have swung either way. those derby games are always very close and form usually goes out the window in them. clubs will start to get full strength in the next month so then will be the test for every team. dark horses moher
avenueC
13/09/2008, 6:40 AM
good to be back, reading all the interesting predictions
good start by the avenue,few footballers to join em in a few weeks as well but long way to go yet.
n/market / lifford 2 games lost thats gonna hurt by seasons end
rineanna will take points off the top teams but never raise it for the mediocre games an that will be their down fall
corofin / bridge to go straight down
seems clare league tryin to get the season over by xmas again, 3 games in 7 days , prob be a period of time where a team wont get to play for a month due to weather
any news on oscar traynor? any interest?
easy lads. their midfield has been combo of herlo, gary flynn, anthony whyte, aidan keane ritchie neylon and david smyth. all six footers plus (not) and shoot balls of fire from their arses. there are a lot bigger fitter physical teams in bunratty, moher, burren, newmarket wont be short either in that stakes. as for bridge and corofin teams, they were weakened and i'd even say most clubs b teams would have taken points off them on those particular days. everyone thought they were the team to beat last year as well and avenue won nothing. the avenue lifford game could have swung either way. those derby games are always very close and form usually goes out the window in them. clubs will start to get full strength in the next month so then will be the test for every team. dark horses moher
True enough Moher could be the dark horses especially now as the football season draws to a close their team is going to get a lot stronger.
I think if you combine the Avenue midfield and their defence together they have a fairly physical team. They will have David Russell back as soon as Eire og are out of the championship which will add even more bite to their midfield, along with Aidan Keane who hasn't kicked a ball for the last 18 months I think they will be more than a match physically for any team in the middle of the park.
Its one thing having a physically big team but the players have to be able to use it, and I don't thing Bunratty can, I would even think newmarkets midfield isn't that powerful. Centre midfield Niggles I don't see him winning many 50/50 balls on a cold wet sunday morning.
out red
14/09/2008, 6:25 PM
nmkt 3 corofin 1, lucky enough didnt play all that well and corofin hit the bar a couple of times when the game was nil nil. they will feel unlucky not to have picked up anything from the game. any reports on the other games??
Bossman
14/09/2008, 7:05 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
CousinSylDolan
15/09/2008, 7:23 AM
Good performance by Bunratty who led 3-0 early in the 2nd half. From what I hear it was a close game and Bunratty 'keeper did well to keep Avenue out.
First
15/09/2008, 10:06 AM
[QUOTE=celts1888;1019475]
first i have ever heard of a team getting relegated for a player manhandling a referee... if true player should have been suspended for a long while by clare league .. he gets punished ( supposed to ) and not club ... newmarket won game 2-1 lifford missed penalty end of story history now :D
Old Git this quote is from Celts1888 and not from me .
bigguy
15/09/2008, 1:01 PM
Burren 0-0 Bridge Utd..Real scrappy contest in very soft ground and long grass..burren down to 10 men just before half time, bridge dominated the game and funny it was burren had the better clear cut chances.. Bridge scored a perfect goal from a corner keeper dropped the ball behind his back while on the line and defender cleared from a foot or two behind, terrible decision when the ref was 5 yards from it and in clear view..bridge need a striker but on the positive side its a clean sheet after conceeding 10 goals in 2 games.bridge will get better but need to score goals as i said need a striker:
david russell is useless are you telling me he can use the ball..only if its in the air..how many times did he get sent off last year???answer that
aiden keane is a great player good to hear he is back..
as for bunratty are you telling me the likes of evan glynn,noel and con
collins cant play ball...
You're having a laugh mate. "David Russell is useless" because a player has a discipline issue doesn't making him useless. Go around and watch any game on a sunday morning and count how many times the ball is in the air? We don't play good flowing football like the limerick or dublin leagues so teams in clare can do quite well where they have a physical presents in midfield.
I never said anything about Bunratty not been able to play ball, I actually think thay have some fine ball players and going on yesterdays result they could well a have a great season.
What I did question was could they match teams physically? (Last year in the Cup Final they where found wanting in that department) If they can this could be their season.
Avenue1990
16/09/2008, 2:45 PM
Hacker, what is the field like for sunday? I suppose the grass is lovely and long and the livestock will be in on friday to trim it?;)
old git
16/09/2008, 2:49 PM
Hacker, what is the field like for sunday? I suppose the grass is lovely and long and the livestock will be on friday to trim it?;)
excuses already avenue 1990 pitch is the same as it always was :D
Clifford
17/09/2008, 10:42 PM
excuses already avenue 1990 pitch is the same as it always was :D
avenue 1990 what lifford games have u seen this year??? or is it a trade secret. what have you made of em? strenghts weakness????
sure ye must know by now lads as well if its not the pitch that screwed avenue then its the ref and when that fails we´l blame lydon the fixture secretary because its all a conspiracy.
Clifford
17/09/2008, 10:58 PM
david russell is useless are you telling me he can use the ball..only if its in the air..how many times did he get sent off last year???answer that
aiden keane is a great player good to hear he is back..
as for bunratty are you telling me the likes of evan glynn,noel and con
collins cant play ball...
this is a first special one agreeing with you because its usually horse manure you talk, but two out of three aint bad. aidans quality and bun boys are no mugs and would grace most prem teams. they will be in the running for all cups in clare this year and play some super football. but david russell been useless??????
i know one thing and thats i´d prefer to be playing with (soccer lads soccer) russell than against him. if lifford had him they´d probably have won the holy grail by now as they have been missing one ingredient from their dream team and thats balls which russ has in abudance. so as it stands russ has more league medals than the whole lifford team together oh pa wilson and aussie have medals cause they played with russ and the avenue. not a cheap shot(i´l leave that to you) at lifford cause i´ve great respect for them but special one you make me want to hate them (bit like avenue1990, whose not from or played with avenue i might add)
talisman
19/09/2008, 5:14 PM
Hacker, what is the field like for sunday? I suppose the grass is lovely and long and the livestock will be in on friday to trim it?;)
its like a mud bath after the lifford game last week..any rain could put it in doubt but weather promised good..
Avenue1990 just to clear things up, Rineanna's 'pitch' is never in a good state. When there's grass on it its normally too long and the rest of the time its mainly mud with a few clumps of grass sticking up here and there. It'd be a close call between that field and Corofin's for the worst in the Premier this year. I think if Rovers had a nice pitch like Lifford or Newmarket etc they'd do worse, its so bad that the sides who like to play football and get the ball down rarely enough get points there or if they do not many. You cannot play soccer there so I reckon Rovers will maintain a solid start to the season and get at least a point from Sunday.
talisman
19/09/2008, 5:27 PM
The Premier League looks like it's going to be a close four-horse race this season between Bunratty, Avenue, Newmarket and Lifford. The Ennis derby 2 weeks ago was tight but Avenue's greater determination won it for them, they've been training like dogs for the last couple of months.
Munster Junior Predictions:
Corofin A
Burren
Bunratty
Newmarket and Bridge Celtic to be decided in extra-time or pens
mr miyagi
20/09/2008, 4:13 PM
as it stands if i was picking avenue team if russell had to play it would be centre half as he dives into tackles in midfield..
Better off he dives into tackles in the box is it?
Bossman
21/09/2008, 5:35 PM
www.claresoccer.net updated
Avenue1990
22/09/2008, 8:45 AM
rineanna 1 avenue 2
good game rovers missing a few bodies but avenue deserved to be ahead at half time.(half time 2-0).maybe not by 2 though.rovers much better in second half could have got a point battled hard til the end..fair play to avenue very organised team..well able to play it around..opens up the league again wit every team exept bridge celtic having lost a game..
Yea i think we deserved it alright,,ye may have snuck somethin in the end.what did u make of the sendings off?
out red
24/09/2008, 8:49 AM
any one like to predict, its gone very quiet..
Corofin Harps A V Bunratty A
Newmarket Celtic A V Bridge Celtic A
Burren United V Moher Celtic A
Planners
24/09/2008, 9:22 AM
Predictions - Rats / NOF / and Moher wins -
I think it quiet because nobody wants their head chewed off for giving an opinion !
By the way how is skinny and skinner getting on with the reds ?
out red
24/09/2008, 12:31 PM
Predictions - Rats / NOF / and Moher wins -
I think it quiet because nobody wants their head chewed off for giving an opinion !
By the way how is skinny and skinner getting on with the reds ?
training well, two good additions. only eligible to play this weekend so thats why they have'nt figured so far.
talisman
24/09/2008, 3:16 PM
any one like to predict, its gone very quiet..
Corofin Harps A V Bunratty A
Newmarket Celtic A V Bridge Celtic A
Burren United V Moher Celtic A
Cant look past Bunratty and Newmarket Celtic but Burren and Moher will be hard to call so I'll go for a draw there
manalishi
25/09/2008, 8:22 AM
training well, two good additions. only eligible to play this weekend so thats why they have'nt figured so far.
Only eligible to play this weekend? What a joke.Colm ryan,rineanna and the clare league have made fools out of themselves.Rineanna were told to sign the forms last week at the league meeting.Its turns out that the day the lads asked for a transfer,colm ryan rang the league secretary to ask if they would be able to play against rineanna the next game.He was told yes so all phones off.Then they sent jimmy a letter saying he was suspended from the club to hold up the transfer.The league also said at the meeting that the ban doesn't stand and they had to sign the form.The lads have missed 4-5 games because of rineanna breaking the rules and the league decided that no punishment was required.Maybe im wrong but surely clubs should be fined over this??:ball:
out red
25/09/2008, 10:32 AM
Only eligible to play this weekend? What a joke.Colm ryan,rineanna and the clare league have made fools out of themselves.Rineanna were told to sign the forms last week at the league meeting.Its turns out that the day the lads asked for a transfer,colm ryan rang the league secretary to ask if they would be able to play against rineanna the next game.He was told yes so all phones off.Then they sent jimmy a letter saying he was suspended from the club to hold up the transfer.The league also said at the meeting that the ban doesn't stand and they had to sign the form.The lads have missed 4-5 games because of rineanna breaking the rules and the league decided that no punishment was required.Maybe im wrong but surely clubs should be fined over this??:ball:
the whole affair was a bit childish to be honest, the lads are eligible now though so lets move on. what goes around comes around, relationships between the two clubs have always been excellent so i only hope it continues
Planners
25/09/2008, 12:23 PM
Manaleshi - we have gone through already - the lads transfers were held up because they had not paid their affilations etc -end of ! - - try to keep up !
smellyfeet
25/09/2008, 1:17 PM
Manaleshi - we have gone through already - the lads transfers were held up because they had not paid their affilations etc -end of ! - - try to keep up !
This should be good:D
CousinSylDolan
25/09/2008, 2:45 PM
Good God go easy lads....
There will be all out war in the Parish:mad:
manalishi
25/09/2008, 4:40 PM
Who has gone through this already? It wasn't because of money because the lads had the money available the day they asked for the transfer.Dont be talking through your hole planners:o
smellyfeet
25/09/2008, 4:46 PM
Good God go easy lads....
There will be all out war in the Parish:mad:
When are Newmarket and Rineanna due to play each other.
I'll have to try and get down to watch that one:eek:
LazyLegs
25/09/2008, 8:23 PM
fact 1 ask the players had they ever approached our secretary with form or money,
fact 2 jimmy was also at that meeting last monday week.and couldn't have the money available untill the thursday after.
fact 3 my phone never got turned off as i had nothing to hide from..
fact 4 yes i did ask league would he be eligable to play..this was after jimmy went back on his promise when he said he didn't want transfer untill after newmarket game..
fact 5 would newmarket have signed a form for one of there players before playing rineanna..i think not..
fact 6 for ye that don't know after we beat newmarket jimmy approached me leaving the field..looked around to make sure nobody was looking and shook my hand with a great big smile and said great f...ing result.
fact 7 skinny's transfer was never brought in to question he simply couldn't pay his money..or maybe waited until jimmy's transfer went through..
fact 8 no club should have to take the verbal abuse that jimmy threw at rineanna officials after the newmarket game..
fact 9 the few newmarket players who called our club a disgrace after that game should maybe look in the mirror and see how they acted after game..some of them wouldn't even shake hands with players from rineanna..(real sportsmen) 1 club man told me to f.ck off when i offered my hand..should be gracious in defeat like we were in our pitch last year...
fact 10 ..stop hiding behind a name putting up stupid posts... you should keep out of something you obviously don't know the full facts about
rant over
A lot of facts there Hacker but you have to admit that Rineanna, as a club acted very unprofessionally and should have been dealt with by the clare league.But instead they brushed it under the carpet. I think Outred posted rule a rule relating to the matter already.
On the other hand the behaviour of the newmarket players after their game was terrible and they let themselves down. This stuff should be dealt with off the pitch and for you to say that Jimmy pulled you aside is clearly a ploy to upset jimmy at his new club.Was talking to him the other day and he is delighted with his eventual transfer to a team that hopefully will be fighting for honours instead of relegation.Think the rovers are safe now though so maybe it could be their year!!
Avenue1990
25/09/2008, 10:33 PM
Come on lads can we please get back to talking about Clare SOCCER and forget about the who done whats and why. Ye are all beginning to sound as paranoid and defensive as poor oul Clifford.:D