View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09
chappie
20/03/2009, 1:46 PM
you said it cous. Nothing was ever won on a forum.
Plenty was lost on them all the same ;)
ILuvFootie
20/03/2009, 2:07 PM
[/b]
in all fairness when premier teams play lower division teams they always raise their performance..as for the gulf between the two teams last week..the pitch was a disgrace..ours is definately no carpet..but you couldn't take the ball down to pass it if you did it would bobble away on the bumps..the pitch was obviously made smaller as the box was only 16 yards either side.and the side line only about 10 yards outside that..it was never going to be easy kilkishen played with 5 in midfield..never easy to play against
if lower division teams put in that effort every week and improved they're fitness then they would move up the league's..
Hacker please thats just a lame excuse.Ive played on yere pitch and it isnt much better..
rovers pitch on a wet day is prob b worst in clare ........ave &newmarket threw to the next round of the cup lifford b for the first big upset
ILuvFootie
20/03/2009, 8:39 PM
its a hell of a lot better than kilkishens pitch was last weekend..why are you on here defending they're pitch when your now a tulla man..how is that expensive pitch now:D..is it still closed:o
Ha ha. Its only closed to the B team.The superstars of Tulla A can use it freely.I may be with Tulla but i still keep an eye out for Kilkishens results.And i just thought on the day bad pitch or not they more than matched ye.Clare People thought so too:p.Anyway hacker im sick of this so lets move on.
b777b
20/03/2009, 11:21 PM
they were banging on about 3rd div soccer not up to scratch wit prem football when most of thrid div teams hav dressing rooms and soccer pitches unlike 2 or 3 "prem" teams. and dont try to call a cow field wit grass on it and a shed more than a 100 metres away "premier" soccer factilies
funkyplunket
21/03/2009, 11:43 PM
its a hell of a lot better than kilkishens pitch was last weekend..why are you on here defending they're pitch when your now a tulla man..how is that expensive pitch now:D..is it still closed:o
well dat must be the funniest thing ive ever read someone from rineanna having to blame the pitch why they struggled to beat a 3rd div team. esp when they play on the side of a hill.
here is another great result lifford b 2 mountshannon o anyoneone no how newmarket got on
MikeBassett
22/03/2009, 5:43 PM
here is another great result lifford b 2 mountshannon o anyoneone no how newmarket got on
Newmarket Celtic A 6-0 Bridge Celtic B
who knows what the draw will bring .......maybe they'll get rinneanna at home this time and get some revenge for last year ????? lifford b look to b enjoying there season top of their league won thier shield should b tricky for any team
great result for lifford b.well done..what are chances of drawing your a team in next round..:ball: that would be a good game
avenue knocked out today does this make newmarket hot favourites for the cup????????? lifford a newmarket thats wat everyone wants to chttp://foot.ie/images/icons/icon10.gif
you've got it spot on home draw vital..... especially for the two div 2 teams!!! midweek games startin after nxt week will prob effect alot of teams wit college and work big sqauds are needed now to c out the season
MikeBassett
22/03/2009, 7:57 PM
avenue knocked out today does this make newmarket hot favourites for the cup????????? lifford a newmarket thats wat everyone wants to chttp://foot.ie/images/icons/icon10.gif
Before today's 3 games, as far as I know, Avenue were the favourites at 3/1, Lifford 7/2, Newmarket 7/1...
No easy games in the cup, from here on in anyone can beat anyone. Everyone will want a home draw ya. Favourites tag means nothing, Olympic caught Avenue today when no-one expected it so...
CousinSylDolan
23/03/2009, 7:27 AM
Manus Celtic B P-P Newmarket Celtic B
Kilkishen Celtic P-P Hermitage B
Anyone know why these games were called off. Its hardly pitches.
come on lads any report on the avenue cup game,??starting line ups?? big big upset and nothing been said about it.!!!!:eek:
old git
23/03/2009, 9:36 AM
come on lads any report on the avenue cup game,??starting line ups?? big big upset and nothing been said about it.!!!!:eek:
excellent result for olympic and away to the mighty avenue as well :ball:p
anybody else notice how avenue posters are always missing everytime they get beat on a sunday.. they are usually all over the thread when they win or rubbing it in when lifford get beaten.:confused:
b777b
23/03/2009, 10:04 AM
Anyone know why these games were called off. Its hardly pitches.theres was a death below in clarecastle as far as i no so
b777b
23/03/2009, 10:09 AM
excellent result for olympic and away to the mighty avenue as well :ball:p
anybody else notice how avenue posters are always missing everytime they get beat on a sunday.. they are usually all over the thread when they win or rubbing it in when lifford get beaten.:confused:
this sunday avenue lifford 11 o clock can avenue bounce back after been knocked out of the cup lifford have something to prove after losing to newmarket THE BIGGEST TOWN DERBY OF THE SEASON should be good
aliG2daE
23/03/2009, 3:04 PM
go on olympic there hope for the double still kept alive!!!! bet avenue didnt see that coming.......:eek::eek::eek:
Avenue1990
23/03/2009, 3:37 PM
Well done to Jason Sretton and the olympic lads. No complaints can be had from us. Before this game i had a feeling this result was coming.No excuses. Best of luck to Olympic now.
old git
23/03/2009, 4:47 PM
Well done to Jason Sretton and the olympic lads. No complaints can be had from us. Before this game i had a feeling this result was coming.No excuses. Best of luck to Olympic now.
at least get his name right. jason stretton :D:D
ILuvFootie
24/03/2009, 12:25 PM
Anyone know why these games were called off. Its hardly pitches.
Think Kilkishen had requested a free weekend but im not sure
club-divided
24/03/2009, 12:55 PM
Think Kilkishen had requested a free weekend but im not sure
ya i think thats true but i cant understand the clare league our club corofin b requested a free weekend last week due to one of our players were christening his daughter and we were turned down, and we've only one game left to play in the league, whereas kilkishen have 7games in hand over us!
ILuvFootie
24/03/2009, 1:00 PM
ya i think thats true but i cant understand the clare league our club corofin b requested a free weekend last week due to one of our players were christening his daughter and we were turned down, and we've only one game left to play in the league, whereas kilkishen have 7games in hand over us!
I think they requested the game off a good while ago.In fairness they have a really tough run in.Their next 2 games are Bunratty sunday and then Newmarket midweek.Yeah it's amazing ye got all ye're games finished so quickly.I suppose ye're pitch is nearly always playable?
club-divided
24/03/2009, 1:19 PM
I think they requested the game off a good while ago.In fairness they have a really tough run in.Their next 2 games are Bunratty sunday and then Newmarket midweek.Yeah it's amazing ye got all ye're games finished so quickly.I suppose ye're pitch is nearly always playable?
it shud be an interesting few weeks in the division in fairness. our pitch is holding up well given that theres 2teams playing on it now, but we did a bit of work on it at the start of the season re-sodding goalmouths and centre circle , just have to get rid of the hill now!!
ILuvFootie
24/03/2009, 1:35 PM
it shud be an interesting few weeks in the division in fairness. our pitch is holding up well given that theres 2teams playing on it now, but we did a bit of work on it at the start of the season re-sodding goalmouths and centre circle , just have to get rid of the hill now!!
Look at it this way.At least ye have the points in the bag.With midweek games coming up teams are going to be missing players with work,college etc.Plus playing 2 games in the space of 3 or 4 days will be tough.Sure we'll see ye sunday.Cmon Tulla B.
CousinSylDolan
24/03/2009, 1:42 PM
Seems a bit ridicilous that some teams get lots of lg games played early in the year and then have to wait for other teams to catch up at the end of the season.
Case in point is Bunratty A (and to a lesser extent Bunratty B)
Got lots of games played early in the year and now have no game last Sunday or next Sunday. They are at a serious disadvantage for the next game after not playing for 3 weeks.
In fairness to the lg I would not blame them. Hard to know if they should go gung ho and give teams games every week. This way some teams might have 7/8 games in hand though.
mr miyagi
24/03/2009, 3:06 PM
It's definitely going to be an exciting run in.
Kilkishen could be out of the running come next Tuesday,
or be a long way towards winning it.
chappie
24/03/2009, 3:20 PM
Seems a bit ridicilous that some teams get lots of lg games played early in the year and then have to wait for other teams to catch up at the end of the season.
Case in point is Bunratty A (and to a lesser extent Bunratty B)
Got lots of games played early in the year and now have no game last Sunday or next Sunday. They are at a serious disadvantage for the next game after not playing for 3 weeks.
In fairness to the lg I would not blame them. Hard to know if they should go gung ho and give teams games every week. This way some teams might have 7/8 games in hand though.
Presume your boys would rather be playing on pitches that are some bit solid rather than muck and sh1t they have probably had to play in earler in the year
mr miyagi
24/03/2009, 3:43 PM
They are at a serious disadvantage for the next game after not playing for 3 weeks.
Newmarket B had an 8 week lay off at one stage,
and I'm sure Kilkishen and other teams have had some lengthy breaks.
So if you want to look at a break as a disadvantage,
Bunratty aren't the only team who have suffered this season.
CousinSylDolan
24/03/2009, 3:50 PM
Bunratty aren't the only team who have suffered this season.
Never said they were the only team to suffer. I said Bunratty were a "case in point..."
Just made them the example as I know more about their fixtures than anyone else.
Never said they were the only team to suffer. I said Bunratty were a "case in point..."
Just made them the example as I know more about their fixtures than anyone else.
rats are'nt suffering by having all games played better to have points on the board rather than playing catch up ..........clare cup quarter finals to b played on april 5 !!!! alot will b decide that sunday in clare leagues aswell
Planners
25/03/2009, 8:35 AM
CS - getting knocked out of every cup early on is the reason ye are ahead :p-
CousinSylDolan
25/03/2009, 8:44 AM
I was waiting for that....:):):D
Planners
25/03/2009, 9:01 AM
1-0:ball:
Lads
Is Jason Stretton playing with Olympic or has he moved into management.
If he is still playing fair play as he must be at 50 at this stage.
papa-j
25/03/2009, 10:34 AM
Lads
what did you say sonny, my eyesight isn't what it used to be
b777b
25/03/2009, 10:58 AM
does anyone know if olympic pitch playable this weekend
butcher
25/03/2009, 12:30 PM
does anyone know if olympic pitch playable this weekend
Ya should be playable if it doesnt downpour everyday between today and saturday
Stanley
25/03/2009, 1:39 PM
Lads
Jason is manager of Olympic A, is registered as a player and has played at least 1 game this season...
old git
25/03/2009, 3:52 PM
what did you say sonny, my eyesight isn't what it used to be
jesus jason at this rate you will be older than jimmy rocks soon :D
old git
25/03/2009, 3:54 PM
Jason is manager of Olympic A, is registered as a player and has played at least 1 game this season...
plus take about 13-14 years of fifty to get a bit closer to real age :D
great news for the clare league they have final got a offical to watch refs he will b attending games from this weekend on. he is from limerick,so at least now refs will have to answer to somebody and not just 1 of their own :)
papa-j
25/03/2009, 9:00 PM
jesus jason at this rate you will be older than jimmy rocks soon :D
I could do with one of his wigs!
smellyfeet
26/03/2009, 8:16 AM
great news for the clare league they have final got a offical to watch refs he will b attending games from this weekend on. he is from limerick,so at least now refs will have to answer to somebody and not just 1 of their own :)
is it DANGER.:eek:
If so things can only get worse:D
old git
26/03/2009, 8:57 AM
if it is " DANGER " the clare league is flucked :D
Planners
26/03/2009, 9:08 AM
It might knock out the favouritism that some teams get from particular refs -
why wud it b "danger" there is a couple of refs that need to b accessed !turnin up for games half ****ed if the players can stay in on a sat nite so should the refs after all they are geting paid to do a job
smellyfeet
26/03/2009, 9:50 AM
why wud it b "danger" there is a couple of refs that need to b accessed !turnin up for games half ****ed if the players can stay in on a sat nite so should the refs after all they are geting paid to do a job
Thought Danger was a Referree Inspector, he was at one time and he Refs in the Limerick League. Some players do stay in but there are some that don't, Same with Refs i suppose. Anyway Danger will put a stop to any nonsence;) But is there anyone one going put a stop to his:confused:
smellyfeet
26/03/2009, 10:33 AM
For anyone involved with School Boys the Kennedy Cup Draw has been made.
CSSL have tough draw.
Draw as follows
Group 1: NDSL, Wexford, NEC, Longford.
Group 2: Donegal, Athlone SL, Limerick County, Carlow,
Group 3: DDSL, West Cork, Mildands, Cavan.
Group 4: Cork, Dundalk, Clare, North Tipperary.
Group 5: Waterford, South Dublin, Mayo, Inishowen.
Group 6: Kildare, Kilkenny, Limerick Desmond, Roscommon.
Group 7: South Tipperary, Galway, Drogheda, Sligo Letircm
Group 8: Kerry, Limerick District, Wicklow, West Waterford/East Cork.
Kennedy Cup Quarter-Final Draw:
Group winners: 3 v 6 (A), 8 v 7 (B), 1 v 2 (C), 5 v 4 (D).
Cup SF: D v A, B v C.
Kennedy Plate (losers of Kenendy Cup QFs): B v D, A v C.
Kennedy Bowl Quarter-Final Draw:
2nd placed teams: 1 v 2 (A), 4 v 3 (B), 8 v 7 (C), 5 v 6 (D). SF: D v C, B v A.
Kennedy Shield Quarter-Final Draw:
3rd placed teams: 7 v 3 (A), 5 v 2 (B), 4 v 1 (C), 6 v 8 (D). SF: A v B, C v D.
Kennedy Trophy Quarter-Final Draw:
4th placed teams: 1 v 6 (A), 2 v 4 (B), 3 v 7 (C), 8 v 5 (D). SF: D v B, A v C.
The draw for positions in the Bowl, Shield and Trophy sections is: A v D, B v C.
Article Resources
E-mail this to a friend
Bookmark this Page
Newsfeeds
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Goalpost Safety
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
FAI News
Download It Now (5.21 MB)
old git
26/03/2009, 1:46 PM
Thought Danger was a Referree Inspector, he was at one time and he Refs in the Limerick League. Some players do stay in but there are some that don't, Same with Refs i suppose. Anyway Danger will put a stop to any nonsence;) But is there anyone one going put a stop to his:confused:
smellyfeet .. seen a small notice in clare champion today .. paddy collins is name of the referee inspector :ball: