View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09
thats not a bad lifford B team they should be first division bar all the points that were taken off them last season. still expect a newmarket win. wonder if newmarket see them as playing a lifford A team then i would be worried bout the outcome its like 2 different clubs. A team think is there right to walk all in front of them (donty know why) while the B team who hate the A team are a dogged hearty team with some quality footballers. its like 2 different clubs. infact i would like to see the winners of this one get liffordA at some stage??????
What ya think
HATE is a strong word after all they are the 1 club ,from wat
i know there is alot of mates playin on both teams and a and b team players drink togethar,i pesume u meant a healty rivalery like all a and b teams ,if lifford b some how pulled of a result here i doubt they mind who they got
Super psychology there on the B team and their hate of the A team in Lifford. Not true however. And don't forget the supreme A team haters are still in with a shout. I am sure the mighty Tage:rolleyes: would love a shot at the Lifford A team. Unless the Nanas take care of them. We will have to wait until the weekend results and see who draws who? ;)
Arivat
07/04/2009, 8:32 PM
There sure is a a lot of mind games going on here, good to see. Might catch Newmarket A out after what they did to Lifford A a few weeks ago.
But seriously Lifford B are a seriously good team, if Newmarket are any bit off their game they will be in trouble. Best of luck to both teams.
There sure is a a lot of mind games going on here, good to see. Might catch Newmarket A out after what they did to Lifford A a few weeks ago.
But seriously Lifford B are a seriously good team, if Newmarket are any bit off their game they will be in trouble. Best of luck to both teams.
off course lifford b are'nt a bad team,they wud b in the quarter finals if they were they beat a good mountshannon team and beat them well to get there! i dont think afew comments will catch newmarket out
they'll do there talking on the field, maybe if FIRST plays for newmarket
lifford might have a chance he seems easily wound up wit some of his comments left on this forum, roll on sunday no more said
Better warn Lifford B, Newmarket play as much of the game off the pitch as on. Last time they played the A's they turned up very close to kick off time and turned up ready!!!
Isn't that what I meant by "ready" Hacker!!! Even the ref switched off 10mins before ye appeared. Done and dusted.
Heard Avenue were on their own this evening in Lee's Road????
Prem Rep!
08/04/2009, 8:28 AM
How was Lee's Road unplayable last night with all the dry weather lately? Even our pitch was playable and we were one of the teams forced to concede home advantage earlier in season.
Planners
08/04/2009, 8:50 AM
A stroke by Ave lastnight - heard Eire Og were training lastnight - was this the reason ? - Rineanna had everyone availble
Any comments from Avenue - this could have been easily been changed to Rineanna's pitch - Are they waiting for Rineanna to play the rats and then see what they have to do themselves ?
off course lifford b are'nt a bad team,they wud b in the quarter finals if they were they beat a good mountshannon team and beat them well to get there! i dont think afew comments will catch newmarket out
they'll do there talking on the field, maybe if FIRST plays for newmarket
lifford might have a chance he seems easily wound up wit some of his comments left on this forum, roll on sunday no more said
No I don't play for Newmarket , haven't in a long time , and yes you are correct I am easily wound up when it takes at least 3 efforts to decipher any post that comes from you lot in Ennis. You would think that with Ennis being the Broadband Town for the 21st century or some such title , that at least a few of ye would be able to master a keyboard.
As for the game on Sunday , yes like in any game where 2 teams are in direct opposition both teams have a chance . Though Lifford B's chances would hardly be on par with Newmarkets;) . We'll see on Sunday , but I think I'll head off to the point to point , could be more interesting.
CousinSylDolan
08/04/2009, 9:55 AM
A stroke by Ave lastnight - heard Eire Og were training lastnight - was this the reason ? - Rineanna had everyone availble
Any comments from Avenue - this could have been easily been changed to Rineanna's pitch - Are they waiting for Rineanna to play the rats and then see what they have to do themselves ?
Have ye not played Avenue at home already? Why would ye play them at home again.
Its only our Premier Champions 07/08 that can play a team twice in the lg at home.:p
guvnor
08/04/2009, 10:14 AM
Its only our Premier Champions 07/08 that can play a team twice in the lg at home.:p[/QUOTE]
And its only our premier champions (in waiting) of 08/09 that cant provide a different set of gear when playing at home! :rolleyes:
Sorry Hacker my ye's and they's are getting mixed up. Goes with the grey hair I think.:)
gaiscíoch
09/04/2009, 11:20 AM
Cragg Tulla: Tulla United A V Bridge United B
F.Coote 10.30
Note: This match was earlier abandoned in the 70th minute with the score 2-1 in favor of Tulla the remaining 20 minutes will be played out in two 10 minute halfs
Just seen this on the claresoccer.net.
Man it's a funny old game......
Cragg Tulla: Tulla United A V Bridge United B
F.Coote 10.30
Note: This match was earlier abandoned in the 70th minute with the score 2-1 in favor of Tulla the remaining 20 minutes will be played out in two 10 minute halfs
Just seen this on the claresoccer.net.
Man it's a funny old game......
I thought the rule was that a match abandoned after 70 mins , the result stood
Subprime
10/04/2009, 8:50 AM
I thought the rule was that a match abandoned after 70 mins , the result stood
Did the original referee not get paid for the 70 mins? Does this mean that the clubs have to pay on the double? :cool:
Anyone clear this one up for me? On the rules page of the CDSL site at the top which has just appeared, it says matches can only be postponed for a direct relative of a player. That's fine but what if the President or Chairman etc. passes away and they have no one playing, is it expected that matches will go ahead regardless? Should there not be a little more leaway to show respect to those who work for the clubs outside of playing matches?
old git
11/04/2009, 10:04 PM
Anyone clear this one up for me? On the rules page of the CDSL site at the top which has just appeared, it says matches can only be postponed for a direct relative of a player. That's fine but what if the President or Chairman etc. passes away and they have no one playing, is it expected that matches will go ahead regardless? Should there not be a little more leaway to show respect to those who work for the clubs outside of playing matches?
from clare league website...
In order for a club to get a match off for a bereavement it must be a mother, father, brother or sister of a player in your club. Matches will only be postponed for a player's grandparent living in the local area.. ?? would grandparents not also be classed as direct relatives... !!! usually most clubs are a close bunch of players / supporters / commite members.. if any relative dies most of the club would do there best to support the player involved by attending funeral / etc if possible and if it is the president or chairman of club i personally think matches should be called of as a mark of respect ... :ball:
Carotheplayer
12/04/2009, 8:47 PM
Lord,
A shock. Lifford B win on penalties and put Newmarket A out. A super result for them. A, A V B team Cup clash is still up for grabs.
Any report on the game. Did they deserve the win ?
Lord,
A shock. Lifford B win on penalties and put Newmarket A out. A super result for them. A, A V B team Cup clash is still up for grabs.
Any report on the game. Did they deserve the win ?
the best 0 0 draw i,ve ever seen fair play to newmarket, congratulatin lifford b after the game meant alot to the team,i think over the 110 mins lifford deserved it.they gave a good acount of themselves maybe now they might get team of the month. 21 games on beaten in all competions surely they deserve to be reconised
Great win Lifford B. It would be great for ye to win team of the month because yer A team lost their title of most Disgraceful Manager yesterday that title was taken over by Burren Manager. :D
mastermind1
13/04/2009, 1:14 PM
wat a superb performance from lifford b considering they lost 2 players in the warm up and 2 in the first 20 mins of the game! they were running on tired legs but they got a second wind and deserved the win:)! commiserations to newmarket!
guvnor
13/04/2009, 1:20 PM
Well done to Lifford B. I think it puts to bed the debate going on here recently about football outside the top 2 divisions and how its not worth talking about. A well deserved result and best of luck going forward in the remainder of the season in both league and cup.
I would also like to wish Rineanna best of luck in their semi final also.
mastermind1
13/04/2009, 6:40 PM
[/b]
you cant make a coment like that without telling all:ball:
was at the lifford game yesterday and both sides of the line were arguing and it was actually the burren lads that kept it going! more handbags than anything else! ya 4 good sides left in the cup,every team has a great chance
[/b]
you cant make a coment like that without telling all:ball:
You will have to go to the next match and see for yourself. That s if the Burren have their socks washed in time for it.:p
Planners
14/04/2009, 8:20 AM
Rineanna on a good run over the last few games - dominating their opposition at the weeknd coasting to an easy win - looking good to continue their run tonight against the RATS -
mastermind1
14/04/2009, 11:05 AM
Rineanna on a good run over the last few games - dominating their opposition at the weeknd coasting to an easy win - looking good to continue their run tonight against the RATS -
ya rineanna are playing well at the moment and are a tough side to beat so should make it very difficult for bunratty! just looking through the amount of goals scored in the premier this season and theres quite alot...this can only be good for soccer in the county!
plasticpitch
14/04/2009, 11:27 AM
one thing is for certain, rineanna will have a big say in where the league goes. bunratty i think will need 4 more points to clinch the title.
with avenue at the weekend they have 2 tough games.
Planners
14/04/2009, 11:41 AM
one thing is for certain, rineanna will have a big say in where the league goes. bunratty i think will need 4 more points to clinch the title.
with avenue at the weekend they have 2 tough games.
Newmarket could roll over for the RATS too - ;) - keep it in the parish !!
mastermind1
14/04/2009, 1:34 PM
Newmarket could roll over for the RATS too - ;) - keep it in the parish !!
If theres 1 thing i ve learned in my time playing against newmarket is that they never lie down and die or let teams beat them easily, if ur gonna beat newmarket then u have to be at it right from the first whistle till the end and you ll know youve been in a game wen u ve played em! should be an exciting end to the season starting from this evening....roll on 6.45 i say
Planners
14/04/2009, 2:00 PM
It's been a while since I've been up against them - but comparing them to last years team they seem to have aged and the introduction of "younger" players hasn't gone as steady as they had intended :eek: - hence the reason they didn't really treaten contention this season in both the league and failing yesterday in the cup against " lesser " oposition :eek::eek:
Surprised not to see any comments from the Reds !1
out red
14/04/2009, 5:00 PM
It's been a while since I've been up against them - but comparing them to last years team they seem to have aged and the introduction of "younger" players hasn't gone as steady as they had intended - hence the reason they didn't really treaten contention this season in both the league and failing yesterday in the cup against " lesser " oposition
Surprised not to see any comments from the Reds !1
By Awhile do you mean about 3 months.;) they have aged alright but are still a good bit younger than you planners. as for sunday you win some you lose some. best of luck to ye in the cup
Carotheplayer
14/04/2009, 8:09 PM
Rineanna took it tonight.
They deserved the win and played better football. Bunratty had a man sent off for 2nd booking.
The sooner the rats get that pitch widened the better. Tis killing them. They coudn't get passes going tonight.
Work on the pitch widening has started & should be ready for next season.
Rineanna should be safe if they get anything from their remaining games.
mastermind1
14/04/2009, 8:53 PM
Fair play to rineanna, they could have won it by another few goals tonight, they had 3 ruled out and also hit the post! it looks like its gonna go down to the final day of the season! as for the red card it was a poor tackle and could have been a straight red card!
thought it was crazy that bunratty kept playing the long ball when the two rineanna centre halves were winning everything in the air, should have tried playing a bit more football on the ground
Planners
15/04/2009, 10:50 AM
Good win lastnight - took the game to the RATS who had no response - looked very average but maybe its because Rineanna dominated the game from start to finish - should have been alot more than 2 goals for a finish - can't see how they are at the top with that performance - looks like fitness is an issue but then again they only used the Astro this year - alot to be said when it comes to running the hills of Snn :D - - Question - Why would a manager play his midfielder in the defence and take off their most effective player on the night - is he { the manager } burnt out ? - -
Greaves
15/04/2009, 11:21 AM
Rineanna played well last night and got the goals to win. They needed the points to stay out of a relegation dog fight. If they played like that all season they would be in contention for the league themselves. I don't speak for the manager, but I would assume that the player in question has been playing well in defence and deserved to play there. Bunratty didn't get going last night but they still have the league in their own hands. If they win their final two games, they win the league. As you know Planners(Hugh), with your huge expanse of managerial experience, points on the board determine who wins leagues and who finishes mid table. You can't play well every game! You would need to ask the Bunratty manager if he is burnt out. Maybe you should manage a team yourself, organise training and select players for each game depending on the availability of players, then let us know how you get on. Rineanna deserved their win and I wish them well in the cup.
Planners
15/04/2009, 11:55 AM
As you know Planners(Hugh), with your huge expanse of managerial experience, points on the board determine who wins leagues and who finishes mid table.
FYI - PLanners is not an individual opinion - but more of a grp that represents different teams -
We agree that being manager is not an easy job - jesus they deserve a medal for the amount of work done but its a long season and when your not playing week to week things can get a bit stale -
Kicks
15/04/2009, 11:57 AM
i think that bunratty have been the best team in the league this year and despite the result last night they should go on to win the title although lifford should gived them a good game
CousinSylDolan
15/04/2009, 12:55 PM
Fully deserved victory for Banana Rovers last night. Too many Bunratty players had an off night but credit to Rovers they played well. Will need big improvement next week to get anything in Newmarket. Looks like it could all go to the last day.
Planners
15/04/2009, 1:46 PM
Fully deserved victory for Banana Rovers last night. Too many Bunratty players had an off night but credit to Rovers they played well. Will need big improvement next week to get anything in Newmarket. Looks like it could all go to the last day.
"Banana Rovers!" - could be the one ye slip up on !!
Bit of a habit - the RATS having an off night when it comes to the important stages of any tournament !! i.e 2008 cup final :p
Greaves
15/04/2009, 2:16 PM
Agree with you Hacker, deserved to win last night. Bunratty didn't play as well as they can. If Rineanna play like that all the time, why can't they go on and win the cup. I think we all forget that it is an amateur game and everyone works, you can't always play well or at a high level every game. There are no easy games left for either Bunratty, Lifford or Avenue. Who ever keeps their nerve will go on to win the league. As for the cup, it is to close to call.
Their will be no easy game for the four remaining teams. That is the beauty of cup football, anyone is capable of winning on the day, league position doesn't really count at the later stages of the competition.
Planners
15/04/2009, 2:20 PM
Totally agree with you bd - best of luck over the next few weeks
Woulfe Park
15/04/2009, 5:00 PM
"Banana Rovers!" - could be the one ye slip up on !!
Bit of a habit - the RATS having an off night when it comes to the important stages of any tournament !! i.e 2008 cup final
Coming from one whose team have their name carved into the league and cup how many times?:p:p:p
Local derbies can always go any direction and Rineanna have made it their business to wreak havok on the title run in for teams challenging for the title since the early nineties - nothing strange in that result. Avenue, Newmarket, Newtown and Bunratty have all been landed on their asses by that BANANA skin before (I'd say Avenue more than most have been cost a league or two)!!
mastermind1
15/04/2009, 8:56 PM
ya rineanna have made it difficult for alot of sides and think they will have a good finish to the season.......i think it will definitly go to the final game of the season.....cup draw should be interesting:)
Stanley
16/04/2009, 11:59 AM
P W D L F A GD PTS
Rock Rovers 15 11 2 2 37 15 22 35
Olympic A 15 11 2 2 35 16 19 35
Tulla Utd 16 8 2 6 30 25 5 26
Turnpike Rov 15 7 2 6 22 19 3 23
Mountshan 13 6 3 4 19 21 -2 21
Hermitage 16 5 4 7 27 27 0 19
Kildysert Cel 15 5 1 9 22 47 -15 16
Connolly Cel 14 3 3 8 14 22 -8 12
Kilrush Rang 14 3 3 8 17 26 -9 12
Bridge Utd B 13 1 4 8 15 30 -15 7
Two 0-0 draws at the top of the 1st division league last night. Olympic look by far the best team in that league to me, but good to see such a competitive finale to the season....
They will win and it probably will be easy. Happy now?
well FIRST looks like u got that one wrong did u go to point to point
or watch one of the best clare cup quater finals in along time
i think we surprised newmarket and everyone else wit the
football we played,were lookin forward to the draw tomor nite
well FIRST looks like u got that one wrong did u go to point to point
or watch one of the best clare cup quater finals in along time
i think we surprised newmarket and everyone else wit the
football we played,were lookin forward to the draw tomor nite
Didn't get to the game. By all accounts it was a great game . I was told that Lifford wanted it more.
All the best with the rest of the season.
mastermind1
16/04/2009, 5:38 PM
well b777b ye definitly deserved to win last sunday and were by far the better and more hungrier team on the day.........ye won again last night so thats a very impressive 23 games unbeaten..........the cup draw should be interesting tommorow night, some very good sides left in it! some massive games in the premier this weekend at the top and bottom of the division.........does anybody know if the rule wit third bottom against third top still stands for promotion/relegation?
MikeBassett
16/04/2009, 9:56 PM
Congratulations to Newmarket Celtic B on winning the Third Division :ball:
studsup
16/04/2009, 10:15 PM
ya well done..i believe they trained very hard this year...well deserved:ball:
Yes well done Newmarket. Lads, what is the story with Mickey Madden? Is he for real? Heard after he got sent off yet again tonight in the Kilkishen v Manus game