View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28

Ice-man
18/05/2009, 6:16 PM
Lifford B will get their revenge against Rineanna next year in the 1st Div!

old git
18/05/2009, 8:13 PM
Lifford B will get their revenge against Rineanna next year in the 1st Div!

a bit ahead of yourself as rineanna still in preimer league at the moment and would fancy them to beat mountshannon in the playoff :p

plasticpitch
18/05/2009, 9:41 PM
Congrats to all the players and mentors of rineanna rovers on yer clare cup win. lets hope ye can stay in the premier!!

plasticpitch
18/05/2009, 9:49 PM
In fairness to Rineanna they were easily better team yesterday and deserved their win. It must have been a close call between Jocks and Steven Kelly for Man Of The Match.

The 'sore loser' attitude came out in some of Lifford's players yesterday, ie. a Rineanna player was genuinely down injured when they were up 2-1, Lifford had the ball and when one of their players put it out he was given an amount of abuse for not playing on. Then after the final whistle about four Lifford players went to the dressing rooms and had to be coaxed into going back on the pitch for the presentation by their manager. Then to show the club's true colours, just before Rineanna were being handed the cup all of the Lifford squad went to the dressing room bar one player and the manager.

Is it true that the reason Marty O'Regan didn't play because Doora/Barefield were playing the following day in the hurling?

Thats very bad form that the players left before the presentation of the cup. lifford b are a young team and need to learn how to loose. all in good time i feel.
as for the player been injured, the referree can stop the game... the players do not have to put the ball out.
i remember we were `playing newmarket in the league decider and one of their players got injured. ball was in newmarket half when play was stopped.
when the ref dropped the ball the newmarket player kicked the ball into touch near our corner flag. i was non too pleased... but on reflection the newmarket players did what was necessary to get a result.... sporting or not

bigguy
19/05/2009, 6:20 AM
Will the Clare area cup final go ahead in Tulla on wed evening?very bad weather we are having..

celts1888
19/05/2009, 7:36 AM
congradulations to bunratty Rock avenue B and Newmarket B on triumphs in their respective leagues. Rineanna for their cup Win. looking forward to the football next season as for now http://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon14.gifhttp://foot.ie/forums/images/icons/icon14.gif

Ice-man
19/05/2009, 9:12 AM
a bit ahead of yourself as rineanna still in preimer league at the moment and would fancy them to beat mountshannon in the playoff :p

I'm well aware, I’m predicting a Mountshannon win obviously.

Planners
19/05/2009, 9:19 AM
Great coverage in the Clare People today - highly recommend a read if not for the interviews alone - Ryan is a legend

CousinSylDolan
19/05/2009, 9:30 AM
Great coverage in the Clare People today - highly recommend a read if not for the interviews alone - Ryan is a legend

The highlight has to be Babs breaking into song shortly after Jason was presented the cup...

Stuff of legends:D

Is playoff going ahead in county grounds??? Are the Rovers sober yet???

mastermind1
19/05/2009, 11:00 AM
In fairness to Rineanna they were easily better team yesterday and deserved their win. It must have been a close call between Jocks and Steven Kelly for Man Of The Match.

The 'sore loser' attitude came out in some of Lifford's players yesterday, ie. a Rineanna player was genuinely down injured when they were up 2-1, Lifford had the ball and when one of their players put it out he was given an amount of abuse for not playing on. Then after the final whistle about four Lifford players went to the dressing rooms and had to be coaxed into going back on the pitch for the presentation by their manager. Then to show the club's true colours, just before Rineanna were being handed the cup all of the Lifford squad went to the dressing room bar one player and the manager.

Is it true that the reason Marty O'Regan didn't play because Doora/Barefield were playing the following day in the hurling?

First of all i d like to congratulate rineanna on their victory...well deserved!

Vidic class wat a load of rubbish your talking there, liffod were gracious in defeat and waited until their captain lifted the trophy and then headed for the dressing room and as for playing the ball out, they didnt have to but they did out of good sportsmanship and then rineanna knocked the ball to the corner flag when play resumed! Lifford seem to recieve an awful lot of bulls..t reports at games and the truth never seems to come out! Anyway best of luck to rineanna in their playoff and looking forward to playing wat i thought was a very good rineanna side next year in the premier!

Brazil Nut
19/05/2009, 11:43 AM
Team of the year 2009

GK Lifford Lad
RB Shane Byrnes Bridge Celtic
LB Steven Carroll Bunratty
CB Stephen Kelly Rinneanna
CB Derek Byrne Bunratty
RM Davy Smith Avenue
LM Ryan Kelly Bunratty
CM Dave Russell Avenue
CM Dave McCarthy Lifford
CF Mike Mahoney Avenue
CF Johnny Daly Moher

MikeBassett
19/05/2009, 12:53 PM
First of all i d like to congratulate rineanna on their victory...well deserved!

Vidic class wat a load of rubbish your talking there, liffod were gracious in defeat and waited until their captain lifted the trophy and then headed for the dressing room and as for playing the ball out, they didnt have to but they did out of good sportsmanship and then rineanna knocked the ball to the corner flag when play resumed! Lifford seem to recieve an awful lot of bulls..t reports at games and the truth never seems to come out! Anyway best of luck to rineanna in their playoff and looking forward to playing wat i thought was a very good rineanna side next year in the premier!

I wasn't criticising Lifford for putting the ball out mastermind, I was saying their was no need for one of the Lifford strikers to eat the head off the player who was just being sporting by putting the ball out.

As soon as the cup was handed over to the Rineanna captain the vast majority of the Lifford squad headed to the dressing room. I saw what I saw. I will eat my hat if Mountshannon win tomorrow night although it would be funny

MikeBassett
19/05/2009, 12:56 PM
Team of the year 2009

GK Lifford Lad
RB Shane Byrnes Bridge Celtic
LB Steven Carroll Bunratty
CB Stephen Kelly Rinneanna
CB Derek Byrne Bunratty
RM Davy Smith Avenue
LM Ryan Kelly Bunratty
CM Dave Russell Avenue
CM Dave McCarthy Lifford
CF Mike Mahoney Avenue
CF Johnny Daly Moher

Surely that's not the Lifford A keeper you have there?

b777b
19/05/2009, 1:52 PM
its wrong to say that we wer'nt sportsmen like after losing the cup final some of the lads are very young 18 to 22 year olds that just wanted to get out of there straight away after the pain of losing.when asked to come back out for the presentation they did so.This was just down to inexperience on there behalf,as for kicking the ball out of play it was kicked out and if some1 did eat his head off that was just 1 player and his want to win a cup final the same player would be the first to kick out the ball in any other game he just got caught up in the moment.I think to call them sore losers is wrong they sould be congraulated on a great performence and good football played that day.lastly i again want to congradulate rineanna on their cup success they were the better team on the day and were deserved winners.WELL DONE

irish tricky
19/05/2009, 2:11 PM
Who's looking for a game Wednesday

I will throw the boots in the back of the car so :D

CousinSylDolan
19/05/2009, 2:44 PM
Lads on behalf of rineanna rovers it was a very sporting game. No sore losers in lifford. Some of the lifford lads even came into our dressing room to congradulate us afterwards. Fair play to them for a good sporting game

Have to agree. From what I saw the Lifford B team are a credit to their club.

Keyser Soze
19/05/2009, 5:48 PM
http://i42.tinypic.com/2uemr28.jpg

Keyser Soze
19/05/2009, 5:56 PM
Lads (& Ladies), after watching various matches over the season
taking in all teams ive come up with an 11, now some of them
might be out of place but here's the 11 that i thought were outstanding
this season

1. Moher Lad
2. Gearoid McGee (Bunratty)
3. Billy Maxwell (SMB)
4. John Keane (Corofin)
5. Simon Ruddy (Avenue)
6. Tadgh Keogh (SMB)
7. Anthony White (Avenue)
8. Sean O Connor (Rineanna)
9. Mike Sierney (Newmarket)
10. Albert Finnan (SMB)
11. Kevin Danagher (Burren)

as i said its the best 11 players.

gossipboy
19/05/2009, 8:31 PM
Lads (& Ladies), after watching various matches over the season
taking in all teams ive come up with an 11, now some of them
might be out of place but here's the 11 that i thought were outstanding
this season

1. Moher Lad
2. Gearoid McGee (Bunratty)
3. Billy Maxwell (SMB)
4. John Keane (Corofin)
5. Simon Ruddy (Avenue)
6. Tadgh Keogh (SMB)
7. Anthony White (Avenue)
8. Sean O Connor (Rineanna)
9. Mike Sierney (Newmarket)
10. Albert Finnan (SMB)
11. Kevin Danagher (Burren)

as i said its the best 11 players.

Ha ha, some laugh!! Me thinks the above is a list of those who should be blessed to have a team in the premier that registered them!! Also, how one of the above has a premier medal is beyond me:eek:

Keyser Soze
20/05/2009, 7:24 AM
hey kaiser i see your mother and sister are in the front row supporting rovers:D

yip, signed up members of the Rinenanna Supporters Club :cool:

I see yours wandering about behind them ;)

Ice-man
20/05/2009, 12:29 PM
Any predictions ?

Rineanna 1 - 2 Mountshannon.

talisman
20/05/2009, 1:20 PM
Ha ha, some laugh!! Me thinks the above is a list of those who should be blessed to have a team in the premier that registered them!! Also, how one of the above has a premier medal is beyond me:eek:

your right there gossipboy haha what a dream team!!... some shockin info here, from my calculations there is at least 3 clare cup medals and at least 4 prem league medals within that 11!!

talisman
20/05/2009, 1:21 PM
http://i42.tinypic.com/2uemr28.jpg

keyser you are a gas man. too much time on ur hands i think!! redneck rovers ha

Prem Rep!
20/05/2009, 1:38 PM
your right there gossipboy haha what a dream team!!... some shockin info here, from my calculations there is at least 3 clare cup medals and at least 4 prem league medals within that 11!!

Bridge boys have 2 prem league medals each and are as good as any in their positions. I suppose Keysor, you have won it all and would be on everyones first 11??

Keyser Soze
20/05/2009, 8:25 PM
2 penalties at the end saw mountshannon off

Well Done Rovers

old git
20/05/2009, 8:42 PM
2 penalties at the end saw mountshannon off

Well Done Rovers

good result for rineanna to finish of a good week for them :D congrats on securing preimer status :ball:

MikeBassett
20/05/2009, 10:34 PM
Mountshannon were fairly poor but Rineanna were much the better side. How Mountshannon finished third I don't know. Their centre-half wearing 5 was a complete lunatic, how did he manage to escape gettin a yellow card? He was launchin himself into tackles left, right and centre. The red card was one of the highlights of the game.

Heard a rumour that Davy McCarthy is on his way to Rock, any truth in this mastermind1?

CousinSylDolan
21/05/2009, 7:27 AM
Well done again to the Rovers on a great season.

Highlight of the game last night was the half time show provided by Planners. Very entertaining. It was like watching an episode of "Reeling in the Years":D

Keyser Soze
21/05/2009, 7:31 AM

Highlight of the game last night was the half time show provided by Planners. Very entertaining. It was like watching an episode of "Reeling in the Years":D

more like fawlty towers

Planners
21/05/2009, 8:28 AM

Thats whats in the armoury lads - its always the wannabees that have to critise :D - but to come on at 1-0 change the game completly and finish off a good performance with a well deserved goal says it all :rolleyes:- at least we'll be around next year and who knows the Rovers might be contesting the league at the top rather than scrapping for points

Kicks
21/05/2009, 9:11 AM
strange having a play off mid week when there was so much at stake, would have been fairer to play it at the weekend so that there would have been more of a chance of every player being available

Planners
21/05/2009, 10:12 AM
strange having a play off mid week when there was so much at stake, would have been fairer to play it at the weekend so that there would have been more of a chance of every player being available

Just a note that both teams had to pay €70 each for the refs and linesmen - surly its the leagues responsibility to cover this cost after all they have designed the league this way

CousinSylDolan
21/05/2009, 11:24 AM
Premier

Avenue
Rock Rovers
Lifford
Bridge Utd
Shn Olympic
Bunratty
Rineanna
Bridge Celtic
Newmarket Celtic
Burren Utd

1st Division

Moher
Lifford B
Avenue B
Sporting Ennistymon
Corofin
Mountshannon
Turnpike
Kildysart
Tulla
Hermitage

2nd Division

Kilkishen
Newmarket B
Bunratty B
Kilrush
Connolly
Bridge Utd B
Shn Oly B
Cratloe
Rhine Rovers
Kilmaley

3rd Division

Cooraclare
Manus A
Manus B???
Ruan
Moher B
St Pats
Inch Crusaders
Tulla B
Corofin B
Bridge Celtic B
Hermitage B

Prem Rep!
21/05/2009, 12:52 PM
Connolly instead of Cooraclare in 2nd Syl

mastermind1
21/05/2009, 12:56 PM
Mountshannon were fairly poor but Rineanna were much the better side. How Mountshannon finished third I don't know. Their centre-half wearing 5 was a complete lunatic, how did he manage to escape gettin a yellow card? He was launchin himself into tackles left, right and centre. The red card was one of the highlights of the game.

Heard a rumour that Davy McCarthy is on his way to Rock, any truth in this mastermind1?

There will be alot of rumours going around over the next 2 months and who knows he could well be going there but i think davy mccarthy will be a lifford player next year! Rock will be a very good side and i think the premier will be at its strongest ever next year where any 1 of about 5 or 6 teams could win the league! First division players might get upset here but i seen alot of games this year and its a very poor league!

Ice-man
21/05/2009, 10:23 PM
hey ice man must get a tip of ya for grand national next year:rolleyes:

I never back the fav!

Congrats & well deserved but ye should never have been in that position but thats soccer.

avenueC
25/05/2009, 7:18 AM
[QUOTE=Avenue1990;1005983]1st - Avenue
2nd - Bunratty
3rd - Lifford
4th - Corofin
5th - Newmarket

Relegation - Moher, Rineanna, Bridge Utd

That was a fair prediction at start of season, u got the top 3 right!!!!

CousinSylDolan
25/05/2009, 8:41 AM
[QUOTE=Avenue1990;1005983]1st - Avenue
2nd - Bunratty
3rd - Lifford
4th - Corofin
5th - Newmarket

Was fair off the mark with that bit though...

Avenue1990
25/05/2009, 8:54 PM
[quote=avenueC;1166434]

yeah looking back now it seems crazy to understand why would you place them in 4th!!

Syl - will the rats build on their success this yr and sign more players or are this years squad capable of doing what no team has done for a long time and win back to back? Is the field under development also?

YNWA
25/05/2009, 9:24 PM
[quote=CousinSylDolan;1166457]

yeah looking back now it seems crazy to understand why would you place them in 4th!!

Syl - will the rats build on their success this yr and sign more players or are this years squad capable of doing what no team has done for a long time and win back to back? Is the field under development also?
ive heard that big daddy is bringing a few lads in from limerick dont know how true this is but if they keep all the players they had this season id fancy them again.

Carotheplayer
25/05/2009, 11:00 PM
Yeah the field is being widened.

It appears they are digging a chunk out of the side of the hill on the right of the pitch as you come up from the dressing room.

It will probably only add bout 5-10 yards (I stand corrected on that). It can only be good for the team. The small pitch is killing them. They play passing football, and a bigger pitch will benefit them in the long run.

Should be ready for the new season in August. Ah miss it already !:p

Carotheplayer
25/05/2009, 11:02 PM
[quote=avenueC;1166434]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avenue1990
1st - Avenue
2nd - Bunratty
3rd - Lifford
4th - Corofin
5th - Newmarket

Not a bad stab at it. (Barr Corofin)
Interesting to see next years predicitions.

CousinSylDolan
26/05/2009, 8:11 AM
[quote=CousinSylDolan;1166457]

I'm sure Big Daddy and Stef will be looking to add 2/3 players to keep things fresh but the core of the side will remain the same. Very hard task to retain the title as has been proved year in, year out.

There is some devlopment work going on in Woulfe Park but mostly on the training pitch for the moment.

First
27/05/2009, 12:54 PM
[QUOTE=CousinSylDolan;1167143

I'm sure Big Daddy and Stef will be looking to add 2/3 players to keep things fresh but the core of the side will remain the same. Very hard task to retain the title as has been proved year in, year out.

There is some devlopment work going on in Woulfe Park but mostly on the training pitch for the moment.[/QUOTE]

2/3 players to an already good side. Should be interesting to see who Donal and Steff can tempt away from other teams. I am sure there are a few around that will be off on their annual migration to "their new club":). I wonder will nepotism be a factor in it;)

YNWA
29/05/2009, 12:05 AM
Bunratty won't win the Premier League next season and thats a fact

Prem Rep!
29/05/2009, 8:13 AM
CDSL AGM will take place on Monday 8th June at 9PM in the West County Hotel.
Below are a few motions we have submitted to provide some more transparity to area of fines and suspensions.

1) Motion : Youths / U17 fines reduced to €20 from €40 for straight red card offences. Automatic 1 game suspension - further suspension depending on severity of offence and at discretion of the league.

2) Motion: Youths / U17 fines reduced to €15 from €40 for straight red following professional foul ie. Hand ball on line or last man back. Automatic 1 game suspension

3) Motion: Youths / U17 fines reduced to €15 from €40 for red card as a result of two yellow cards. Automatic 1 game suspension

4 ) Motion: Junior fines reduced to €20 from €40 for straight red following professional foul ie. Hand ball on line or last man back. Automatic 1 game suspension

5 ) Motion: Junior fines reduced to €20 from €40 for red card as a result of two yellow cards. Automatic 1 game suspension

6 ) Motion: Reduction of Registration fee from €40 to €30 for Junior players in an attempt to generate more funds at club level.

Stanley
10/06/2009, 11:33 AM
Ah, it's gonna be great to see Park Rangers/Park/Newtown/Shannon Hibernian and all the big names, back where they belong next season...

Clare 3rd Division... :D:D:D

gossipboy
10/06/2009, 12:03 PM
So any transfers, signings, rumours for the new season.

Heard james carrig may be newmarket manager, anyone care to shed light on this?

old git
10/06/2009, 4:07 PM
Bunratty won't win the Premier League next season and thats a fact

already rumours of ryan kelly / cheeky mc donald leaving to join park / shanon hibs for next season :ball:

out red
10/06/2009, 4:22 PM
So any transfers, signings, rumours for the new season.

Heard james carrig may be newmarket manager, anyone care to shed light on this?

rumour i heard was jimmy rocks and jim toomey. but wont know until agm friday night