View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09
hoop4life
25/02/2009, 5:56 PM
alright lads,
anyone here know anything about tulla united u16s? what are they like?
we (castlebar celtic) are playing them on sunday in last 32 of national cup.
bigguy
25/02/2009, 6:24 PM
alright lads,
anyone here know anything about tulla united u16s? what are they like?
we (castlebar celtic) are playing them on sunday in last 32 of national cup.
Because its the clare league forum i bet we know alot about them..but wouldnt you think they would have a better chance the less you know ;):D
old git
25/02/2009, 10:55 PM
fair play to olympic great sportsmanship...
as for you old git...what are you on,,can you honestly say that if you were involved in managment or committee of a club..and a team beat ye with an illegal player who might have been involved in the winning goal..that you wouldn't be pi**ed with that team and report it...why should teams get away with breaking rules..if sent off its an automatic 1 game ban..
..yes would be pi**ed but commenting as an ex player only hard as it is accept result and try to move on .. as others already mentioned team broke rules with genunine mix-up and bad advice.. i have already mentioned numerous teams get away with breaking rules each year .. can you honestly say you have never played against any team with illegal players over the years .. so why are they getting away with it. :ball: hacker do you committes other managers also tell your players not to dive / cheat / break rules during matches and if they do you punish them for this after game :ball:
old git
25/02/2009, 10:58 PM
We should all know at this stage that Old Git has to get a moan off his chest every now and again. Let him have his fun in peace.
He has admitted before that he is appropriately named.:D::D
the nurses have just called to give me my happy pills... hopefully they are extra strong ones :D:
old git
25/02/2009, 11:01 PM
lets agree to disagree - personally I dont think it could or should have been handled any differently by Olympic. Replay should be a cracker. Big motivation on both sides.
yes definatly adds a bit of extra spice to replay now .. :D
lets agree to disagree - personally I dont think it could or should have been handled any differently by Olympic. Replay should be a cracker. Big motivation on both sides.
Out of curiosity will the player that was illegal be available for the replay or was there a caveat on the agreement for the replay?
Fair Play to Olympic , its good to see that at last common sense has prevailed.
Old Git , I know where you are coming from , I have played in teams where It was known that the opposition had illegal players playing but no one ever seemed to take issue with it. When it was brought to the Clare league it went unnoticed because as you say members of the CDSL were involved in some of these teams. We usually got the answer ye won anyway so what are ye moaning about::) . In fairness I think most clubs are trying to toe the line these days not like when we played back when shin guards weren't obligatory.
Maybe the way Olympic and Tulla have handled this will be the catalyst that improves things in the league as it is a clear sign of clubs wanting guidelines that are known by all and are adhered to. This can only improve things in the future.
Prem Rep!
26/02/2009, 7:57 AM
From what I hear the illegal player will not be allowed play in the replay.
doitfortherats
26/02/2009, 12:44 PM
what??? thats a disgrace......the illegal player not allowed to be played:p:D
old git
26/02/2009, 2:44 PM
what??? thats a disgrace......the illegal player not allowed to be played:p:D
no disgrace sure he already got to play :D:
the real deal
26/02/2009, 6:09 PM
no disgrace sure he already got to play :D:
ya beans is a great player isnt he???:confused:
Bossman
27/02/2009, 7:33 PM
Now on www.claresoccer.net
funkyplunket
27/02/2009, 10:24 PM
Well any predictions for the cup
AVENUE UTD V TULLA........HOME WIN
BRIDGE UTD A V ROCK ROVERS......HOME WIN
COROFIN V HERMATAGE......HOME WIN
KILKISHEN V RINENNA......HOME WIN
LIFFORD A V ENNISTYMON.....HOME WIN
LIFFORD B V MOUNTSHANNON.....AWAY WIN
MOHER V RHINE.....AWAY WIN
NEWMARKET V BRIDGE CELTIC......HOME WIN
U
Avenue utd v tulla........home win
bridge utd a v rock rovers......away win
corofin v hermatage......home win
kilkishen v rinenna......away win
lifford a v ennistymon.....home win
lifford b v mountshannon.....away win
moher v rhine.....home win
newmarket v bridge celtic......home win
hoop4life
28/02/2009, 5:02 PM
Because its the clare league forum i bet we know alot about them..but wouldnt you think they would have a better chance the less you know ;):D
fair enough, have to respect your opinion. 11 v 11 on the day and i guess none of us will know anything about each other. hopefully we should do the business and progress into last 16!! we're fairly confident of winning up here!! ;)
bigguy
01/03/2009, 1:07 AM
fair enough, have to respect your opinion. 11 v 11 on the day and i guess none of us will know anything about each other. hopefully we should do the business and progress into last 16!! we're fairly confident of winning up here!!
Makes for a very good game then..with confidents high i hope ye wont be too down at the end;)
On a serious note tho..at this stage of the comp and at this age group form goes out the window,you dont get what you might out of young men week in week out. too many distactions:)..o to be young again haha.
Best of luck to both teams.:ball:
hoop4life
01/03/2009, 6:27 PM
well done to tulla united u16s.
ye wanted it more on the day and in the second half when the going got tough, our lads didn't want to know.
best of luck in the next round. ye have a nice easy one away to cherry orchard!!!
CousinSylDolan
02/03/2009, 11:14 AM
Any report on the Avenue Moher game??? Any late goals or anything
Planners
02/03/2009, 2:22 PM
Were the rats thrown a life line ??
devilfish
02/03/2009, 9:20 PM
Were the rats thrown a life line ??
Not sure what you mean considering its up to teams behind them to catch up. How come Rineanna game was called off, did ye use a life line? Maybe it was the phone-a-friend one?? ;)
studsup
02/03/2009, 9:24 PM
Not sure what you mean considering its up to teams behind them to catch up. How come Rineanna game was called off, did ye use a life line? Maybe it was the phone-a-friend one?? ;)
Ya heard it was 'a fast one' by Rovers to get the game off
Planners
03/03/2009, 8:27 AM
Nothing behind this lads - both teams caught and showing good spotsmanship { nice to see it again } both teams agreed to postpone the game - with consent of the Clare league may I add - As you know Rineanna are not involved and never are in any under handed tactics -
chappie
03/03/2009, 5:33 PM
Lads does anyone know whether there will be matches scheduled for Paddy's day.....
Carotheplayer
03/03/2009, 6:03 PM
Have it on good authority that there is going to be a full list on Tuesday 17th.
MikeBassett
04/03/2009, 12:54 AM
dont know the full story behind the cancellation of this game but it looks like it was agreed wit both teams and league so where's the problem
what about the burren v lifford game.
i see in the people today that lifford are writing to the clare league about this..in fairness what can league do if ref won't play the game..burren manager stated that he knew 40 mins before game to change socks..he tried 2 other clubs but wit no luck..in all fairness when has this rule ever been applied before..i'd say never.didn't they play each other twice last year and nothing was said.the refs have a thankless job, but bringing in these rules in the middle of the league is madness...i know the ref involved and i think he is the best ref every to ref in clare..and with his ability as a ref he would have had no problem refereing this game.if lifford get awarded this game.the league will turn into a shambles..it will give lifford 3 easy points.and the burren will have to be docked 3 points as per the rules.putting them into relegation zone..
Burren v Lifford being called off was a joke. Does anyone know who was reffin out in Janesboro Sunday? The Limerick and Tipp lads on the other forums are slating them.
But regarding the clash of colours I doubt there were will be points awarded or docked with Burren and Lifford, similar incident last season with Newmarket and Bunratty. The game was re-fixed and The Rats just lost home advantage. If points weren't awarded then, there is no hope of Lifford getting a handy 3 for this
Prem Rep!
04/03/2009, 7:50 AM
Have it on good authority that there is going to be a full list on Tuesday 17th.
:(
Disappointed that there are fixtures to be honest. Not necessary!
Avenue1990
04/03/2009, 8:48 AM
Totally seperate point here but just looking at the fixtures for the weekend - is it not a bit harsh on Moher travelling down to Bridge town for a 11am kick off on sunday?:eek:
Planners
04/03/2009, 10:06 AM
I'm surprised they didn't leave it for a midweek game :rolleyes:
Carotheplayer
04/03/2009, 9:34 PM
It is a sad day when a Clare League Premier Division Club cannot manage to gather alternative socks. Everyone in the entire league knows Lifford wear Red and low and behold they have an entire white kit too to ensure what happened in Doolin does not happen in Cassidy Park.
The fixtures are posted online on a Sunday evening, Tuesday in the Clare People and for good measure Thursday in the Champion. Can't say you couldn't see it coming.
Terrible shame the Burren manager didn't bother to pick up the phone, contact Lifford and avoid the problem. Easy blame the Referee at the 11th hour. ...
They'll have alternative socks next time I bet :rolleyes:
Carotheplayer
04/03/2009, 9:50 PM
was speaking to a lad from newmarket. they played burren in newmarket 2 weeks ago both teams ad red socks (youths league i think).
referee was m. o' brien. he told them he would not play the game with both teams in red socks. newmarket changed as they were the home team, were prepared and wore a different colour sock. d. garrihy was there.
Subprime
05/03/2009, 9:55 AM
Burren v Lifford being called off was a joke. Does anyone know who was reffin out in Janesboro Sunday? The Limerick and Tipp lads on the other forums are slating them.
But regarding the clash of colours I doubt there were will be points awarded or docked with Burren and Lifford, similar incident last season with Newmarket and Bunratty. The game was re-fixed and The Rats just lost home advantage. If points weren't awarded then, there is no hope of Lifford getting a handy 3 for this
The two teams must wear colours that distinguish them from each other and also the referee and the assistant referees. This is the rule in the law book. Burren knew well in advance of the problem and did nothing about it so why should Lifford be penalised? If Burren can't be bothered keeping up standards just as the other teams do then should they get away with it? It's the home team that has the responsibility and Burren have been around long enough to know they should have 2 sets of gear in case they have to change. The ref wasn't the problem and the league should only enforce the rules and show that we have a standard to maintain. By the same token the referees branch should enforce the consistency across the referees. At least that way we wouldn't end up with this situation.
Prem Rep!
05/03/2009, 11:20 AM
With all due respect, I think this is the first time a game has been called off in Clare because of similar socks. At the start of the season each team provides their club colours but not their shorts or socks colours, why? Because it has not been an issue until now. Another ruling that sits in the ever expanding 'grey area' book of rules I think!
I think the grey area is a good thing , and referees making these calls will soon enough bring things in to the black and white areas which is what is needed. This decision though it seems to be controversial will help to focus teams on the little things , like the colour of the oppositions kit. In the long term if you take out all the little doubts then in the whole things can only improve. I bet Teams will be focussing more on their kits for their next games.
CousinSylDolan
08/03/2009, 12:10 PM
Bunratty 1-0 Bridge Utd
aliG2daE
12/03/2009, 9:08 AM
avenue playing newmarket at weekend...massive one..wonder who the rats are shouting for;)
celts1888
12/03/2009, 9:55 AM
am sure theyll be going for a newmarket double against the avenue and lifford on tuesday, cant see that happening, avenue neeed a big result to keep on track and lifford are banging in goals for fun of late, they stepped up to the mark but u would wonder in a tight game do they have the cohonies, history says no but i am really enjoying the football they are playing at the moment and are clearly t6he on form team. Bunratty are expected to get over the bridge hurdle but it mite be a case of Big Zeb itis and hit that fence. as for all teams i am not sure who will be missing u21 hurlers as that championship starts paddys day as well. Any interesting opinions on the 2big days coming up, anyone hear when tulla u16 are playing cherry orchard???
aliG2daE
12/03/2009, 12:55 PM
yes i tinkif avenue want league bad enough they will certainly have to show it against newmarket in the 50 50's!!i tink lifford will beat newmarket durin week and keep theor title shot alive. they really snuck under the radar, everyone talkin bout avenue and bunratty, if lifford win games in hand they are 2 points behind the top. do lifford have to play bunratty again?
celts1888
12/03/2009, 1:36 PM
ya travelling to cassidys is a tough task and the best side on the day generally win cause the pitch is second to none in the county. lifford have to take the long journey to lees road as well ha ha, correct they have slipped under the radar but again when push comes to shove u have to doubt them althought i woukldnt hold it against them to win some thing :eek: nice bunch off lads the team that is not the management ha
Carotheplayer
12/03/2009, 2:10 PM
That game is on Sunday Ave V Cherry Orchard.
Don't know the venue though
celts1888
13/03/2009, 9:45 AM
any predictions for the weekend ?????????:ball::ball:
rainman
13/03/2009, 5:25 PM
any predictions for the weekend ?????????:ball::ball:
Il go for 3 draws on sunday. Rinneanna, Avenue and Newmarket wins on tuesday. what you think yourself celts?
celts1888
14/03/2009, 7:56 AM
any other year i would have said newmarket but home form this season is poor so ill go 1-1 or 1-2,, rats 1-0, or 0-0. other score draw, tuesday lifford avenue wins,,,
studsup
15/03/2009, 1:10 PM
Newmarket 2-2 Avenue. A goal each in the last five minutes.
Newmarket have to give Lifford a walkover on Tuesday now though which is a pity. Reason being they can't field 11 players at 11am due to lads working Paddy's Day so really have no option.
MikeBassett
15/03/2009, 3:04 PM
Newmarket 2-2 Avenue. A goal each in the last five minutes.
Newmarket have to give Lifford a walkover on Tuesday now though which is a pity. Reason being they can't field 11 players at 11am due to lads working Paddy's Day so really have no option.
I spose a draw was probably a fair result in the end today but thought we could have nicked the 3 points which would have been great as now we are only going to end up with a point from the 2 games this week.
Yes studsup, we won't be fielding a team on Tuesday morning which to be honest is very frustrating for us. We have close to half our squad working Tuesday as their employers don't go by Irish Bank Holidays and there is nothing we can do about it.
Lifford are refusing to switch the kick-off to the afternoon which is not very much to ask of them in all fairness. 2 years ago (August 27 2006 to be precise) Newmarket were down to play Lifford, Lifford asked the league could the Junior game be switched to the Monday because they were playing Limerick in the Eircom U21 the Saturday, of course Newmarket kindly obliged when Lifford and the Clare League came knocking on the door and did Lifford a favour, the game was played on the Monday. It later emerged that the U21 game didn't actually go ahead at all and that Lifford were just abusing the situation. Now when the shoe is on the other foot Lifford won't return the favour. I hope the 'mighty' Lifford take great pride from taking a walkover on Tuesday in their quest to win a first meaningful trophy in around thirty-something years at junior level
CousinSylDolan
15/03/2009, 4:48 PM
Bridge Celtic B 2-4 Bunratty A.
Good away win for Bunratty coming back from 2-0 down to win 2-4.
Ice-man
15/03/2009, 4:59 PM
I spose a draw was probably a fair result in the end today but thought we could have nicked the 3 points which would have been great as now we are only going to end up with a point from the 2 games this week.
Yes studsup, we won't be fielding a team on Tuesday morning which to be honest is very frustrating for us. We have close to half our squad working Tuesday as their employers don't go by Irish Bank Holidays and there is nothing we can do about it.
Lifford are refusing to switch the kick-off to the afternoon which is not very much to ask of them in all fairness. 2 years ago (August 27 2006 to be precise) Newmarket were down to play Lifford, Lifford asked the league could the Junior game be switched to the Monday because they were playing Limerick in the Eircom U21 the Saturday, of course Newmarket kindly obliged when Lifford and the Clare League came knocking on the door and did Lifford a favour, the game was played on the Monday. It later emerged that the U21 game didn't actually go ahead at all and that Lifford were just abusing the situation. Now when the shoe is on the other foot Lifford won't return the favour. I hope the 'mighty' Lifford take great pride from taking a walkover on Tuesday in their quest to win a first meaningful trophy in around thirty-something years at junior level
What about ye're B team players, a lot of young fit lads can surely play two games in one day.
Typical from Lifford, disappointing to see, but not supprised.
tulla b
15/03/2009, 5:16 PM
lads anyone know how avenue u13 got on against cherry orchard. as for above players jobs at the end of the day are way more important than any football game especially in the current climate. whats clare leagues stance on this, have ye told them about lads working?
studsup
15/03/2009, 5:55 PM
What about ye're B team players, a lot of young fit lads can surely play two games in one day.
Typical from Lifford, disappointing to see, but not supprised.
But shur what about Lifford's B team players 2 years ago when the shoe was on the other foot. Ya typical from Lifford is right.
mr miyagi
16/03/2009, 7:23 AM
The B-team have a league to win I'm afraid....
aliG2daE
16/03/2009, 9:00 AM
cant beblieve that the clare league wouldnt re-shceduele the match
. what a disgrace they really need to lokk at themselves.....
if it was lifford who couldnt field a team because of their jobs i guarantee the league would look at the predicument differently......then again what are chances of more than half of lifford team having jobs:D:D:D
plasticpitch
16/03/2009, 10:37 AM
cant beblieve that the clare league wouldnt re-shceduele the match
. what a disgrace they really need to lokk at themselves.....
if it was lifford who couldnt field a team because of their jobs i guarantee the league would look at the predicument differently......then again what are chances of more than half of lifford team having jobs:D:D:D
drugs are bad and go to school!!