View Full Version : Clare League Season 2008/09

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

talisman
03/12/2008, 11:00 AM
has anyone heard anything from the delegate meeting last night? just curious what the outcome of the tulla bridge b game will be.

the bridge lads not impressed at all with the way the ref handled the match and he's down to do our game sunday with kilkishen which will have a major bearing on our league title hopes

ILuvFootie
03/12/2008, 3:15 PM
has anyone heard anything from the delegate meeting last night? just curious what the outcome of the tulla bridge b game will be.

the bridge lads not impressed at all with the way the ref handled the match and he's down to do our game sunday with kilkishen which will have a major bearing on our league title hopes

Oh yeah talisman.Been reading from the Alex Ferguson book of psychology have you:)Trying to influence the ref??I'm sure it was a 1 off event.Surely it cant happen 2 weeks in a row.Just in case we've been playing 7 vs 11 in training anyway.

talisman
03/12/2008, 4:06 PM
Oh yeah talisman.Been reading from the Alex Ferguson book of psychology have you:)Trying to influence the ref??I'm sure it was a 1 off event.Surely it cant happen 2 weeks in a row.Just in case we've been playing 7 vs 11 in training anyway.

well i have never played in a game where this referee has been reffing in all my years so sunday will be a first in that instance for me. hopefully it was a one off ILuvFootie, have ye regrouped after sunday's defeat? try and influence a referee on this forum, pull the other one for god sake! we let our feet do our talking!

mr miyagi
03/12/2008, 4:12 PM
well i have never played in a game where this referee has been reffing in all my years so sunday will be a first in that instance for me. hopefully it was a one off ILuvFootie, have ye regrouped after sunday's defeat? try and influence a referee on this forum, pull the other one for god sake! we let our feet do our talking!

That ref is dodgy at the best of times...

Just keep in mind lads...nothing but a win will do
No pressure... :D

Planners
03/12/2008, 4:53 PM
Guys
Can we get back to Premier league chit chat - B team football is only for the nearly boys

talisman
03/12/2008, 5:19 PM
Guys
Can we get back to Premier league chit chat - B team football is only for the nearly boys

Planners how many medals have you with rineanna????

at least myself and my teammates might have a medal at the end of the season to add to my collection from my 'A' team days, same can't be said for ye. in fact id fancy a crack at ye in the cup i reckon we'd have every chance of taking yourself and your lads down! not sure if we'd be able for the big guns of the premier league though!

talisman
03/12/2008, 5:23 PM
That ref is dodgy at the best of times...

Just keep in mind lads...nothing but a win will do
No pressure... :D

miyagi pressure is only for tyres:D

Sweetchips
03/12/2008, 8:46 PM
Hi All,

SHANNON OLYMPIC are holding a texas holdem poker classic in the GAA club Shannon this Friday at 8pm.

All support would be very much appreciated.

Hope to see you there.

mr miyagi
03/12/2008, 10:23 PM
in fact id fancy a crack at ye in the cup i reckon we'd have every chance of taking yourself and your lads down!

Newmarket B gave them a good game in the Holly tournament... ;)

as for saying you might have a medal at end of season..best of luck to ye in that but no league won in december..

League can certainly be lost in December though...
Just hope the Rats B and Kilkishen boys realise that :D

ILuvFootie
04/12/2008, 7:42 AM
Newmarket B gave them a good game in the Holly tournament... ;)

League can certainly be lost in December though...
Just hope the Rats B and Kilkishen boys realise that :D

Oh the mind games are on now.Just remember mr miyagi ye still have to travel to Fortress Kilkishen:D Planners no ones stopping ye from talking bout the Premier.Just seems no one wants to.

old git
04/12/2008, 9:54 AM
Guys

get a grip .. a lot of current preimer players probally played a bit of b team football at some stage and will play it again ... and must add some of the current preimer players should still be playing b team football .. so don't knock it some clubs do treat it very serious and unfortunatly some others don't. but without b team football a lot of clubs would not exist :eek:

Planners
04/12/2008, 12:25 PM
Have to agree with you Old Git on the clubs without b team football a lot of clubs would not exist but personally I have never played on a second best team and have finished at top level - IMO if a player cannot play at a top level when in the twilight of his / her career then it's time to hang up the boots - you can forget the medals , serious injury is all you'll end up with -

CousinSylDolan
04/12/2008, 12:44 PM
IMO if a player cannot play at a top level when in the twilight of his / her career then it's time to hang up the boots - you can forget the medals , serious injury is all you'll end up with -

Another beauty from Planners...:D

How exactly did you come to this conclusion:confused::confused:

Buzzer
04/12/2008, 1:37 PM
Have to agree with you Old Git on the clubs without b team football a lot of clubs would not exist but personally I have never played on a second best team and have finished at top level - IMO if a player cannot play at a top level when in the twilight of his / her career then it's time to hang up the boots - you can forget the medals , serious injury is all you'll end up with -

With all due respect Planners, you're talking through you're hole. I've been playing on our "B" team for the last 8 years or more and i have also played with our "A" team. I have won 3 medals with our "B" team and 1 with our "A" team. Some "B" teams are better than some of the "A" teams in this league.

Planners
04/12/2008, 1:58 PM
don't diagreee with you Buzzer but I was giving MY opinion - fair play to you but in the long run when it's over at one level it over - finish at the top and be remembered for that !!!!

old git
04/12/2008, 2:22 PM

planners ... a medal is a medal wheter its for preimer / 1st division / 3rd division a team / b team / c team .. you still have to earn it ..

hell of alot of good players out there playing b team football maybe they cannot get onto elite first team because manager does not like them or manager has his 5-6 favourite regulars who will play week in week out untill their late 30ths !!! .. ok some of them don't want the commitment of playing for an A TEAM .. if so good luck to them

a lot of so called clubs out their are just surviving on poaching players of other clubs or getting unhappy players joining from other clubs.. nothing better than having a good club set up with a & b teams supporting each other and helping their clubs grow & progress..:ball:

leather
04/12/2008, 2:26 PM
agree with old git..

butcher
04/12/2008, 2:29 PM
With all due respect Planners, you're talking through you're hole. I've been playing on our "B" team for the last 8 years or more and i have also played with our "A" team. I have won 3 medals with our "B" team and 1 with our "A" team. Some "B" teams are better than some of the "A" teams in this league.

So wud your B team beat yer A team??

Buzzer
04/12/2008, 8:06 PM
So wud your B team beat yer A team??

Ya, our B team have beaten our A team. For the last 2 years when there is a break in the league because of unplayable pitches, our B team have played our A team in a "challenge" game and the B team have won both times. They were competitive games because neither team wanted to lose to the other. Bragging rights and all that.

Avenue1990
05/12/2008, 8:48 AM
best of luck to all involved this weekend. Am i right in saying that clare must win to advance? Going by the managers words they seem to have a strong squad this year so it will be interesting to see them play. Is doora in bad shape that the match is on in lifford????

CousinSylDolan
05/12/2008, 9:00 AM
best of luck to all involved this weekend. Am i right in saying that clare must win to advance? Going by the managers words they seem to have a strong squad this year so it will be interesting to see them play. Is doora in bad shape that the match is on in lifford????

Yeah there was 2 games in Doora last weekend so lg decided Cassidy Park was the best option.

This is the last game in the group. As it stands

Roscommon Pld 1 Pts 3
Clare Pld 1 Pts 1
Donegal Pld 2 Pts 1

So a draw will see Roscommon thru. Clare need to win. Best of luck to them.

chappie
06/12/2008, 3:11 PM
According to Clare FM Clare lost 3-2.....They were winning 2-1 at half time...

butcher
08/12/2008, 9:30 AM
Ya, our B team have beaten our A team. For the last 2 years when there is a break in the league because of unplayable pitches, our B team have played our A team in a "challenge" game and the B team have won both times. They were competitive games because neither team wanted to lose to the other. Bragging rights and all that.

Sounds like there is something wrong with ye'r A team if the B team is better? Surely the A team are better?? what team is it may i ask?

Prem Rep!
08/12/2008, 9:45 AM
Presume he is referring to Bridge United. B team have beaten A team in a few light hearted friendlies over the last few years in the astro turf. Both sides are fairly balanced with the view to competing well in the Prem and 1st divisions. Both managers have a good relationship so no grieve or aggro between squads. B team definitely capable of challenging most teams on their day, They ran Lifford close in the Munster Junior this year and Lifford comfortably beat our A side.

Buzzer
08/12/2008, 11:23 AM
Did anybody see the Bunratty v Kilkishen game? 4-3 to Bunratty.

butcher
08/12/2008, 11:41 AM
Presume he is referring to Bridge United. B team have beaten A team in a few light hearted friendlies over the last few years in the astro turf. Both sides are fairly balanced with the view to competing well in the Prem and 1st divisions. Both managers have a good relationship so no grieve or aggro between squads. B team definitely capable of challenging most teams on their day, They ran Lifford close in the Munster Junior this year and Lifford comfortably beat our A side.

Given that they have been played on the Astro and not a pitch the B team must have a bit of football in them so and its not all about bone-crunching tackles and "ugly" soccer?

CousinSylDolan
08/12/2008, 11:57 AM

Yep...Decent game. Was 2-0 and 3-1 to Bunratty.

ILuvFootie
08/12/2008, 12:00 PM

Yeah i did unfortunately.Exciting game with chances for both sides.Felt we could have got a draw.We missed enough in front of Goal.Bunratty went 2 nil up,2-1,3-1,3-2,4-2, and then4-3.For all the stick the ref got he handled the game well.Bad result for us but we'll keep going

Prem Rep!
08/12/2008, 12:36 PM
Given that they have been played on the Astro and not a pitch the B team must have a bit of football in them so and its not all about bone-crunching tackles and "ugly" soccer?

Agreed, B team play good football

CousinSylDolan
08/12/2008, 12:58 PM
Yeah i did unfortunately.Exciting game with chances for both sides.Felt we could have got a draw.We missed enough in front of Goal.Bunratty went 2 nil up,2-1,3-1,3-2,4-2, and then4-3.For all the stick the ref got he handled the game well.Bad result for us but we'll keep going

I agree the ref did a good job. Kept good control of the game. Game could have gone either way but young Shane Meehan up front was the difference. He had 3 scored by ht.

Ref had an offical apology on Clare FM over the weekend admitting he did get things wrong last week. Lets give him some credit for admitting this in fairness.

talisman
08/12/2008, 1:05 PM

massive win for us yesterday, played the full 90 minutes with heart and determination from everyone plus we were missin a couple of lads. good match by all accounts. 2 defeats in a row on the road for kilkishen now is a bit of setback....

raining goals in woulfe park for the second week in a row so if your looking for a good game you know where to go. hadnt had that ref before but after all the moaning and groaning about him last week i have say he was decent yesterday bar a questionable penalty he gave to kilkishen but overall he was fine, only one of our lads was booked.

ILuvFootie
08/12/2008, 1:19 PM
I agree the ref did a good job. Kept good control of the game. Game could have gone either way but young Shane Meehan up front was the difference. He had 3 scored by ht.

Ref had an offical apology on Clare FM over the weekend admitting he did get things wrong last week. Lets give him some credit for admitting this in fairness.

Yeah he finished well.Fair play to him (the ref) alright for going on Clare Fm and admitting he got things wrong.He said as much to the Kilkishen players before the match calling last weeks game the worst of his reffing career.Best moment of the match though was when Bunratty player took out the linesman.Brilliant

Buzzer
08/12/2008, 1:30 PM
massive win for us yesterday, played the full 90 minutes with heart and determination from everyone plus we were missin a couple of lads. good match by all accounts. 2 defeats in a row on the road for kilkishen now is a bit of setback....

raining goals in woulfe park for the second week in a row so if your looking for a good game you know where to go. hadnt had that ref before but after all the moaning and groaning about him last week i have say he was decent yesterday bar a questionable penalty he gave to kilkishen but overall he was fine, only one of our lads was booked.

I agree. He had a better game than last week. He was good in the first half but i think he did shy away from some decisions when cards should have been produced and as you said he made a bad decision for Kilkishens penalty which brought them back into the game at a crucial stage in the game. Paul Murphy scored a nice free-kick for Kilkishen but he should have seen the line for a bad challenge towards the end of the game when he was already on a yellow card. Bunratty seem to have good heart, every time Kilkishen got a goal back they picked it up a gear and responded.

ILuvFootie
08/12/2008, 1:38 PM
I agree. He had a better game than last week. He was good in the first half but i think he did shy away from some decisions when cards should have been produced and as you said he made a bad decision for Kilkishens penalty which brought them back into the game at a crucial stage in the game. Paul Murphy scored a nice free-kick for Kilkishen but he should have seen the line for a bad challenge towards the end of the game when he was already on a yellow card. Bunratty seem to have good heart, every time Kilkishen got a goal back they picked it up a gear and responded.

Yeah penalty was soft but in fairness ye're 2nd goal was offside.He kinda lost the head alright and was very lucky to stay on.

CousinSylDolan
08/12/2008, 1:45 PM
Best moment of the match though was when Bunratty player took out the linesman.Brilliant

Hey that was painful... Nothing funny about it.;):(:ball:

Buzzer
08/12/2008, 3:10 PM
I'd say it was painfull but it was very funny.

ILuvFootie
08/12/2008, 3:10 PM
Hey that was painful... Nothing funny about it.;):(:ball:

Yeah it looked that alright.Still pity our poor captain who took one straight into the goolies in the 1st half.Now that was painful.

MikeBassett
08/12/2008, 5:30 PM
Bunratty B need to get John Liddane fit and back playing ball for them if they are going to be serious contenders to Newmarket B for the title

Prem Rep!
10/12/2008, 9:01 AM
Any transfer activity lined up for the winter window??

MikeBassett
10/12/2008, 11:58 AM
Any transfer activity lined up for the winter window??

I'd say there could be a few Corofin lads looking for a new club, heard that all their teams have been thrown out of the league! Not sure if it's actually the case but their Youths team were thrown out by the CDSL Committee. Maybe someone knows the story

CousinSylDolan
10/12/2008, 1:16 PM
I'd say there could be a few Corofin lads looking for a new club, heard that all their teams have been thrown out of the league! Not sure if it's actually the case but their Youths team were thrown out by the CDSL Committee. Maybe someone knows the story

I have not heard anything official about this but according to the lg site they had given 2 walkovers. Maybe they broke this rule although on the site it says they have only given 2 walkovers.

Rule 47: Teams failing to fulfill fixtures shall be fined €125 and deducted 3 (three) points for each failure. A team who fails to fulfill a fixture on 3 (three) occasions, shall be automatically suspended from the League for the rest of the season and the following one.

I imagine this applies only to their youths team and not their 2 junior teams, unless there is problems with the fine or something.

butcher
10/12/2008, 4:10 PM
I have not heard anything official about this but according to the lg site they had given 2 walkovers. Maybe they broke this rule although on the site it says they have only given 2 walkovers.

Rule 47: Teams failing to fulfill fixtures shall be fined €125 and deducted 3 (three) points for each failure. A team who fails to fulfill a fixture on 3 (three) occasions, shall be automatically suspended from the League for the rest of the season and the following one.

I imagine this applies only to their youths team and not their 2 junior teams, unless there is problems with the fine or something.

Oh so thats why their youths team has been kicked out...bad form to kick them out just becos they cudnt fulfill three fixtures.

Prem Rep!
10/12/2008, 4:26 PM
€375 in fines would hurt most clubs, probably best to pull them out.

CousinSylDolan
10/12/2008, 4:58 PM
As I said lads from the lg site it only says they gave 2 walkovers (and recieved 1) so I'm only guessing this was the problem Maybe someone more in the know could confirm.

I imagine havin to pay out fines like that would hurt most clubs.

Young fella's for you:mad::mad::mad:

mr miyagi
11/12/2008, 10:27 AM
Pats to dent Bunratty B's title aspirations this Sunday...:D

CousinSylDolan
11/12/2008, 11:24 AM

For someone who is involved with Newmarket B you seem to want to mention Bunratty B every week Miyagi...

We are only down the road from you and the transfer season is open if we interest you that much:)

talisman
11/12/2008, 12:20 PM

miyagi i think it would be more in your line to concentrate on your game with bridge celtic rather than trying to get a silly rise out of us about our trip to kilmihil. i suppose we'll be seeing ye back in kilmihil at our game too will we? we'll probably stick to our guns of keegan's 'we're going to score more than you' policy its been going well the past two games:D

gaffer
11/12/2008, 1:23 PM
miyagi i think it would be more in your line to concentrate on your game with bridge celtic rather than trying to get a silly rise out of us about our trip to kilmihil. i suppose we'll be seeing ye back in kilmihil at our game too will we? we'll probably stick to our guns of keegan's 'we're going to score more than you' policy its been going well the past two games:D

No need to worry about the game with Bridge Celtic this weekend I hear there B team is in a mess. Manager has walked away and if you look at there last few results you can see why.

mr miyagi
11/12/2008, 4:50 PM
No need to worry about the game with Bridge Celtic this weekend I hear there B team is in a mess. Manager has walked away and if you look at there last few results you can see why.

They're trying to inject some youth into the side but it isn't working I heard...

We are only down the road from you and the transfer season is open if we interest you that much:)

Now there's an idea....

A bad idea... :rolleyes:

shelbourne1904
11/12/2008, 5:04 PM

Has this anything to do with the forged youths transfer form and I dont mean the players signature..but the other clubs official's signature!!!!