View Full Version : Bulgaria Away - 6th June 2009

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20

reder
28/04/2009, 11:50 AM
Anybody got the application form for tickets yet?

eaststand85
28/04/2009, 11:54 AM
Anybody got the application form for tickets yet?

Not yet. Sent in the application for an application form couple of weeks ago but the closing date for these wasn't until yesterday so would imagine they'll be sent out shortly.

Sumac
28/04/2009, 11:55 AM
Not yet - When are they supposed to send it out

JT,New'09
28/04/2009, 12:06 PM
Not yet - When are they supposed to send it out
:ball: Myself and My brother applied for 4 tickets each.
My brother got his reply today for the F.A.I Ticket master.
He got the four tickets €43.00 including levey €3.00
So €10.00 euro a ticket, however my letter didnt arrive :(
Hopefully tomorrow. :cool:

Polster
28/04/2009, 12:41 PM
Five of us staying in the Raddisson,

Out the Thursday morning from London, so good run at it. Hope BA have plenty of drink on board.

Waiting on the app form from fai for the tickets.

28/04/2009, 1:10 PM
:ball: Myself and My brother applied for 4 tickets each.
My brother got his reply today for the F.A.I Ticket master.
He got the four tickets 43.00 including levey €3.00
So €10.00 euro a ticket, however my letter didnt arrive :(
Hopefully tomorrow.

How tall is your brother :)

28/04/2009, 1:18 PM
Five of us staying in the Raddisson,

Out the Thursday morning from London, so good run at it. Hope BA have plenty of drink on board.

Waiting on the app form from fai for the tickets.

is there not 6 of us?!

JT,New'09
28/04/2009, 1:20 PM
How tall is your brother :)

:( My brother was winding me up !!
No letter came , just wrecking my head !
Anyone got any ideas of when we will know about the tickets ? Really only 5-6 weeks before we go

My brother is a 6ft Gobsh**e

Polster
28/04/2009, 1:23 PM
is there not 6 of us?!

Hope not, cause we only booked flights and accom for 5

Sligo Hornet
28/04/2009, 2:56 PM
is there not 6 of us?!

Bad form paul.......looks like you've been dropped!!:D

prince20
28/04/2009, 3:58 PM
Folks,
Apologies if this has been asked already but has there been a confirmed kick off time for this fixture yet?

corkboy360
28/04/2009, 4:00 PM
Dad and a few uncles going to this we all went to the home game but I have exam around that time.Gutted I can't go!

28/04/2009, 4:22 PM
:( My brother was winding me up !!
No letter came , just wrecking my head !
Anyone got any ideas of when we will know about the tickets ? Really only 5-6 weeks before we go

My brother is a 6ft Gobsh**e

I dont think you pick up my poor attempt at a joke. The ticket application will come any day soon I reckon but sure ring the FAI and ask for Cian or Emma who are both very good.

JT,New'09
30/04/2009, 11:49 AM
I dont think you pick up my poor attempt at a joke. The ticket application will come any day soon I reckon but sure ring the FAI and ask for Cian or Emma who are both very good.

:pah sorry i missed that one.
5 Weeks to the day and off on my footy hols I am , yipeee ;)

Paulie
30/04/2009, 4:44 PM
I was talking to the FAI ticket office earlier and they said that all applications for tickets for this game would be sorted. They have been given an allocation of 4,000 with 2,000+ taken from fans so far. Two or three years ago, we'd have brought four or five times that. While the effect it can have on the players to see so many Irish fans in the stands might be diminished, that's probably the only bad thing about it in my view. Over the past few years there were just one or two, too many a*seholes going to away games for my liking. It seemed as though because there was so much money available and people could take more holidays, they were just latching on to the away games as a bit of fun. It's not that I was seeing fights or anything as obvious as that, just there seemed to be a lot more people who if something was to start, would be up for it, as opposed to trying to stop it. That has not been the case on the away trips on this campaign. There's a lot less money around so the people that are going on the trips now are the real genuine supporters, are there to support the team, and would not do anything to jeopardise the good name of Irish fans which has been built up over the past number of years. I don't want to give the wrong impression here. My trips have always been 99% positive. It just seems that in the past five or six years there was a tiny percentage of supporters travelling to games that we could do without. Now that the money has dried up, they thankfully appear to have crawled back into their caves.

Sorry for going off topic here. I only intended on posting about the tickets for the Bulgaria game!

eaststand85
30/04/2009, 5:07 PM
I was talking to the FAI ticket office earlier and they said that all applications for tickets for this game would be sorted. They have been given an allocation of 4,000 with 2,000+ taken from fans so far.

Did the FAI give any indication of ticket prices Paulie? Thanks.

Paulie
30/04/2009, 5:12 PM
Did the FAI give any indication of ticket prices Paulie? Thanks.

I stupidly forgot to ask. I'd say they will be in the 10 - 20 Euros bracket though.

Polster
01/05/2009, 7:59 AM
Well men, any word on when the actual application forms for the tickets are being sent out?

Junior
01/05/2009, 4:25 PM
anyone done any research lately for cheap routes at the moment? preferably from the UK somewhere?

Might be able to make this one, so any help in keeping the spondoolies to a minimum would be much appreciated!!

Cheers, Jnr

green army
01/05/2009, 8:30 PM
I'm in the Renaissance right in the city center. Reasonable enough too.

3 of us booked into this hotel. seems fairly central.

HarpoJoyce
03/05/2009, 7:12 AM
It is my dream.

http://www.eaf-armwrestling.com/?page=euro2009
"..19th EUROPEAN ARMWRESTLING CHAMPIONSHIPS
SOFIA, BULGARIA
June 1st to 6th 2009"

Claret Murph
03/05/2009, 8:19 AM
Now if you think that's good we have the world championship for stone throwing been held in Corofin Co Galway today .
Lets see someone throw out a better one than that today .

Colie
03/05/2009, 11:41 AM
I wan't to be in the presidents box for this one. I had to get a bloody courier to bring my ticket application up to Abbotstown; cost me €25! Still gonna work out cheaper than the home matches I guess.

Greenforever
04/05/2009, 12:53 AM
I wan't to be in the presidents box for this one. I had to get a bloody courier to bring my ticket application up to Abbotstown; cost me €25! Still gonna work out cheaper than the home matches I guess.

Don't quote me, but I' sure if you rang Cian or Emma in the ticket office they'd give you a few days grace to post it in or accept it by email or phone on an odd occassion. They are both very helpful.

04/05/2009, 12:55 AM
Yeah I agree on that. Both very nice and helpful to deal with.

Polster
05/05/2009, 10:19 AM
Well men,, I just got the ticket application form. Tickets are a fiver each which includes a 2 euro handling charge, so face value is 3 euros.

05/05/2009, 12:16 PM
Well men,, I just got the ticket application form. Tickets are a fiver each which includes a 2 euro handling charge, so face value is 3 euros.

Fair play to the Bulgarian FA as they are obviously charging us the same as their own fans.

JT,New'09
05/05/2009, 12:32 PM
Fair play to the Bulgarian FA as they are obviously charging us the same as their own fans.
Ill have to check the post when i get home :)

Sumac
06/05/2009, 12:20 PM
€3 for a crucial international qualifier. €50-€70 for the corresponding game in Ireland. Is there such a large gap in the standard of living or do we just get ripped off? I think its the latter

06/05/2009, 12:53 PM
Summary page is updated up to page 12 of this thread now with links for flights, pubs, hotels, etc. Will have it fully updated this week hopefully.

AidoP
06/05/2009, 1:02 PM
Anybody else staying here:

http://www.sofiahotels.net/sofiaprincess.shtml

Its near the main train station so convienent enough AND theres a casino there too :)

06/05/2009, 1:58 PM
€3 for a crucial international qualifier. €50-€70 for the corresponding game in Ireland. Is there such a large gap in the standard of living or do we just get ripped off? I think its the latter

It's a sad state of affairs, but it shows why all the Bulgarian support for the game in Croker, was based here.

06/05/2009, 5:30 PM

its the main source of income for the game in this country. no one is getting rich on the back of the €50 i pay to attend home games. it compares very favourable with the rugby and bigger gaa matches so for now i'm happy enough to pay it for now

EastTerracer
06/05/2009, 6:31 PM

I don't think we'd be let in the gates of Croke Park if the FAI only had €210,000 (70,000 x €3) to cover rent, insurance and all the other costs of running an International match. Similarly, the FAI could never hope to own a share in Lansdowne Road without generating substantial revenue from the 4 or 5 internationals they host every year.

As for the standard of living in Bulgaria, there is a very big gap between there and Ireland (it's less pronounced in Sofia but like 1930s Ireland in the rural areas).

SouthAfrica2010
06/05/2009, 7:59 PM
I paid online using my booking reference is that all I have to do.

Do I also have to send in any more forms?

SouthAfrica2010
06/05/2009, 8:06 PM
I saw the ticketholder option also.

Great I`ve answered my own question! :)

Colie
06/05/2009, 9:28 PM
If anyone is still stuck for flights at this stage I just booked mine on Monday through Bravofly (www.bravofly.com). €370. Worked out cheaper than booking them through Lufthansa direct.

Friday leave Dublin midday via Munich arrive Sofia 11pm
Sunday leave Sofia 6pm via Munich arrive Dublin 11pm

This time 1 month we'll be celebrating a glorious away victory.

lopez
07/05/2009, 10:16 AM
...It seemed as though because there was so much money available and people could take more holidays, they were just latching on to the away games as a bit of fun...Now that the money has dried up, they thankfully appear to have crawled back into their caves.

Sorry for going off topic here. I only intended on posting about the tickets for the Bulgaria game!Absolutely right there, although this has been equally a consequence of the weekend games as much as more cash in the pocket from the Celtic Tiger era. I'm, for one, glad to see the back of this type of 'fan', even if only for a while.

Also would like to thank the Bulgarian FA for not trying to rip us off (unlike the Cypriots of years gone by).

newrynyuk
07/05/2009, 10:26 AM
Also would like to thank the Bulgarian FA for not trying to rip us off (unlike the Cypriots of years gone by).

And this coming September too, no doubt.

JT,New'09
07/05/2009, 12:55 PM
Absolutely right there, although this has been equally a consequence of the weekend games as much as more cash in the pocket from the Celtic Tiger era. I'm, for one, glad to see the back of this type of 'fan', even if only for a while.

;) Is there some kind of Initiation needed to be accepted as a so called "Porper Fan" ? :ball: Or if you cannot make every single away game does that mean your less of an Irish football fan or even 1/4 or 1/2 a fan ! ?:rolleyes:

07/05/2009, 2:13 PM

As in 2005 and 2006. also Wales 2007 - £35 for us in the corner - £15 for the Welsh on the halfway line.

There are rules about this but some countries just ignore them and appear to get away with it.

Polster
07/05/2009, 2:15 PM
;) Is there some kind of Initiation needed to be accepted as a so called "Porper Fan" ? :ball: Or if you cannot make every single away game does that mean your less of an Irish football fan or even 1/4 or 1/2 a fan ! ?:rolleyes:

well said, when was the last time any irish away support got bad press? Surely the more support the better, are some people saying that the 40k+ supporting ireland in the giants stadium were partly blow ins? and shouldn't of went because they probably hadn't been to many away games before that. Lets face it, pre 88 and 90 we struggled to fill dallymount most times, would ye prefer we went back to that? Just look at 'The Van' for a realistic example of your good time irish fans, and I say fair play, they were happy days, i'd love to see 40k in sofia just like in paris, and what an atmosphere that was, and that also involved a lot of non regular irish game attendees popping over the water for a bit of a break, and the craic, as well as the self anointed die hard followers on here privileged/lucky enough to be able attend most games.

Come on the boys...

Newryrep
07/05/2009, 2:44 PM
well said, when was the last time any irish away support got bad press? Surely the more support the better, are some people saying that the 40k+ supporting ireland in the giants stadium were partly blow ins? and shouldn't of went because they probably hadn't been to many away games before that. Lets face it, pre 88 and 90 we struggled to fill dallymount most times, would ye prefer we went back to that? Just look at 'The Van' for a realistic example of your good time irish fans, and I say fair play, they were happy days, i'd love to see 40k in sofia just like in paris, and what an atmosphere that was, and that also involved a lot of non regular irish game attendees popping over the water for a bit of a break, and the craic, as well as the self anointed die hard followers on here privileged/lucky enough to be able attend most games.

Come on the boys...

I think the point was directed at those 'fans' who attended aways games in recent years who didnt particularily give a monkeys about the football/team/result but were just there on a **** up with the lads. The number of games attended had nothing to do with it.

07/05/2009, 2:50 PM
I think the point was directed at those 'fans' who attended aways games in recent years who didnt particularily give a monkeys about the football/team/result but were just there on a **** up with the lads. The number of games attended had nothing to do with it.

and who were beginning to cause hassle for the locals like in paris '04

Polster
07/05/2009, 2:52 PM

I got that, still don't see the harm in having good numbers of support away from home if it will at least add to the atmosphere, which will help the team, irrespective of whether they particularly are overly concerned by the outcome. And I think the whole idea of this might be overplayed anyway, why would many people who don't care about football at all follow ireland to obscure parts of the world, when they could easily get a cheap package deal somewhere else? Surely they just wouldn't bother with the football trip?

I think some fans like to place themselves on a pedestal as far as supporting the country goes. Fair play to the supporters that do make huge efforts, but lets not begrudge any Irish person (unless they cause trouble) from following and cheering on the team.

Newryrep
07/05/2009, 3:09 PM
I got that, still don't see the harm in having good numbers of support away from home if it will at least add to the atmosphere, which will help the team, irrespective of whether they particularly are overly concerned by the outcome. And I think the whole idea of this might be overplayed anyway, why would many people who don't care about football at all follow ireland to obscure parts of the world, when they could easily get a cheap package deal somewhere else? Surely they just wouldn't bother with the football trip?

I think some fans like to place themselves on a pedestal as far as supporting the country goes. Fair play to the supporters that do make huge efforts, but lets not begrudge any Irish person (unless they cause trouble) from following and cheering on the team.

Numbers dont make an atsmosphere otherwise Croke Park would be like a fortress:) With the advent of cheap flights the world particulary Europe isnt that big anymore and travelling has never been easier/cheaper. The problem is currently minor but tends to be more prevelent at the handy glamourous fixtures, Amsterdam/Paris/stuggart/even Mainz had the village idiot running onto the pitch. Good reputations are easliy lost

JT,New'09
07/05/2009, 3:24 PM

:) Nice Reply !! Bottem line is were all going for the same reason to support the team with the hope to win , and add points to the board to qualify for the World Cup.
Im going for the reason stated above .......oh and for a break from this country and the depression of this bluddy recession, its a trip to look 4ward too , for the atmosphere , the build up , the match , and the crack , the weather, the beer and good clean fun :cool:.........

07/05/2009, 3:39 PM
I think Lopez was not having a go at anybody who is even on this site because if you are on this site you are obviously showin an interest in football. There was a small element that was in Paris and Stuttgart that are not really there for the football and would not be shy about throwing a few digs etc. I think that is what lopez and Newryrep were alluding to.

Everybody has to start somewhere so its not an elitist thing at all.

Polster
07/05/2009, 3:39 PM
Numbers dont make an atsmosphere otherwise Croke Park would be like a fortress:) With the advent of cheap flights the world particulary Europe isnt that big anymore and travelling has never been easier/cheaper. The problem is currently minor but tends to be more prevelent at the handy glamourous fixtures, Amsterdam/Paris/stuggart/even Mainz had the village idiot running onto the pitch. Good reputations are easliy lost

Come on, Amsterdam, Paris and Stuggart, I would say right up there with the greatest Irish atmospheres for an away game or any game. The Croke Park thing is a seperate issue, and I fully expect the atmosphere to be restored when we get back to paddy cullens chicken goujons and pints.

I'd love to see 10k+ in sofia if we could of, because you can be guaranteed it would add hugely to the atmosphere and help the boys.

JT,New'09
07/05/2009, 3:41 PM
Come on, Amsterdam, Paris and Stuggart, I would say right up there with the greatest Irish atmospheres for an away game or any game. The Croke Park thing is a seperate issue, and I fully expect the atmosphere to be restored when we get back to paddy cullens chicken goujons and pints.

I'd love to see 10k+ in sofia if we could of, because you can be guaranteed it would add hugely to the atmosphere and help the boys.
How many would you reckon from experience should make Sofia ?? :confused: